Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand St Leger Hotel 3 stars

Bennetthorpe, Doncaster, DN2 6AX, United Kingdom

#13 of 21 hotels in Doncaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff issues shouldn’t come into guest experiences. Im happy to provide further details to the property direct.

    Property was in a location that suited our needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing and sad to see the fall of the Grand St Leger. Its (flat) race has been run
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The last time we stayed the breakfast, a `full breakfast' was really good and well-prepared, albeit the service was slow. This time the breakfast, which was eggs benedict, was almost inedible. I think we were the only guests, but the service was still slow and poor. The breakfast table had not been laid, with no fruit, no milk-jug, no yoghurts, no croissants, just cereals. The bedroom was a good size, but the bed was too soft, the carpet was dirty and the fittings very tired looking. The carpet on the stairs has also seen better days. The hotel needs complete refurbishment, but it is unlikely that this will happen. I think it is holding on for the St Leger meeting, but would not be surprised if it closed down soon afterwards. It is such a pity because it has a grand history, but significant investment is required to bring it back to a reasonable standard. I feel sorry for the staff, because they are trying to keep up-beat, but fighting a losing battle. The opening of a Hilton hotel on the site of the racecourse is likely to be the nail in the coffin for the Grand St Leger. I think it is time to lay this hotel to rest.

    The location suited our purposes, but otherwise our experience was not good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    A hotel with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in my room wasn’t exactly powerful and took a while to get hot but, hey, it’s an elderly building so I can live with that!

    Staying in this hotel made such a lovely change from experiences in charmless, impersonal chain establishments. The manager, Anne, does an excellent job and leads a friendly team who are eager to please.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable value for money. Convenient location (for us) and `full breakfast' was well prepared.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has been very grand in the past, but is a little tired these days, in terms of internal decor and infrastructure. For example, the history of the building and some of the original features give it an appeal, but the lack of air conditioning in our bedroom and the old sash widows, which were not double-glazed, meant it was noisy and uncomfortable because of the heat and location, near to a busy roundabout. We chose the hotel because of its location, but it is clear that investment is required to secure a grand reference from all of its future visitors.

    The location suited our purposes. The staff were friendly. The service at breakfast was slow, but the quality of the freshly prepared breakfast was excellent when it arrived.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Very faded glory only go if you are going to the races !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the outside in the car parking area at the back of the hotel it looked dirty and derelict with some old half destroyed stables on one side and crush control barriers round the exterior .It only just passed my wife's I'll go inside and see test and I felt uncomfortable leaving the car in the car park over night

    The restaurant service and food was perfectly O.K. The reception area and restaurant looked better than the rest of the Hotel and the reception staff were pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Everything else was fine and staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too hot in room so I had to sleep with the window open and noise from road and broken fan kept me up most of the night

    Everything else was fine and staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient and welcoming heritage hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little soft, and because hotel is on a roundabout it is best to sleep with window closed, but because of fan that was possible

    Location of this hotel was superb for us as we were attending Doncaster races and it is just a short walk to the course. The staff were really helpful and we liked the tasteful way the heritage property is maintained. We were also able to get very tasty dinner quite late in evening, with good service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely property with great staff and good meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most comfortable bed I've slept in and a lot of traffic noise in the room we had but it was a Saturday night.

    Lovely property with great staff and good meals

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Establishment was in a good location for getting to town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Establishment not clean enough. Old betting slips in draws. Hole in bath room door.

    Establishment was in a good location for getting to town centre. Reception staff lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    4.6
    Slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the front facing rooms from the roundabout very loud...room twin was basic and very hard beds

    Downstairs stunning spent money...staff very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    A great place to stay when enjoying an evening race meeting at Doncaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really hot day [hottiest of the year I think, not the hotels fault] and our room was really hot throughout the night despite opening windows etc. I fan would have been great.

    Our room was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    Nothing special about the hotel considering the price of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok, just a shame that the cleaner did not remove the condom packet which was in the dusty dried flowers in the bathroom. Also parts of the bedroom had not been dusted And even thou two of us was booked for the room only one set of towels, and it was a shame that even thou a phone was in the room, they was no information on how to contact the reception, so had to walk down and back to the room

    Nothing special about the hotel considering the price of room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed, used for 3 years, will not be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor, no staff to cook breakfast. Doors could not be opened until 8.00am, still no food by 8.55am. Left without breakfast. Chef disappeared on Friday didn't turn up on Saturday. Will not be back. Very disappointed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.8
    NOT so grand st leger
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without the racing this place wouldn't survive. They cater for it and as a guest at hotel paying £150 on race night you get no benefit from them. We sat in their restaurant for 40mins without drink or food arriving, we walked out in the end, this was lunchtime. The main waiter just ignored us in the end as he was probably embarrassed but we found it very rude. The massive queue thru the hotel to their tiny bar was awful, this was made up mainly from the guys on mini-buses being dropped at the drop point outside. We avoided it and when straight to racecourse which was fab. Our executive room , very basic and with an old sliding wooden window which wouldn't stay open was absolutely boiling and the tiny fan they supplied did nothing to help. I dread to think what the basic rooms were like. We expected so much better, this felt more like somewhere you go with the lads, certainly not your wife. On top of this when i requested a charger to be posted to me i was told to ring them to arrange payment for the postage charge!! After the treatment the night before i decided against it and felt they could have handles it better. As a guest paying a huge amount for a fairly horrid one night stay i expected much better from them. Won't be staying there again but Doncaster races is fantastic !!!!!!

    Very convenient for racing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    the staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was on the front of the hotel, so the traffic was really noisy. The bedroom was very basic even though we were told we were upgraded??? There was mould in the corners on the walls, the shower cubicle was dirty, the coffee table hadn't been cleaned, neither had the mugs for our tea and coffee I had to give them a good clean before we could use them.

    the staff were lovely. the place was ideal for what we wanted as we were going for a day at the races. the bathroom was fine apart from it being dirty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant, amazing, unforgettable and will be staying there at St Ledger again
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could of been better as the staff through out the property were always on hand. I've just celebrated my wedding party there and the day was amazing and special.

    Hotel was an amazing experience as we have stayed there many times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.3
    Would not book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was old with wallpaper coming away from the wall. Although I didn't mind that the floor was uneven (to be expected with a property of that age) it would have been good if the bed could have at least been leveled off. The jacuzzi bath was old with one of the controller buttons broken and the pump was on a cupboard in the bedroom and was so loud it was crazy. The decor was a mix of the old period style with new pine headboard, mirrors and cabinets, not really in keeping with the drapes. But the worst thing was that there was absolutely no air flow through the room at all and once we had showers it was so hot we were sweating!!! I certainly would not have paid the rate we did for what we got and that is probably why we had to pay on arrival, fortunately it was only one night otherwise I would have asked to be moved. Breakfast was mediocre my poached eggs and my partners fried eggs were both solid which wasn't great. Overall not a good stay, would have been better off going to holiday Inn.

    The dining room and downstairs looked nice, shame about upstairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Another great stay at the Grand St Leger!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My second stay and will stay again! The staff are an absolute delight and go the extra mile to make sure everything is perfect for you. The food is good and the rooms are well equipped. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only reason I gave comfort a good and not excellent was the room was so hot even though the heating wasn’t turned on.

    The staff were super helpful. The lunch was very good value for money. Our room was clean and spacious with plenty of storage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    St Ledger Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was very noisy due to some inflatable assault course thing on at the racecourse. People were shouting and swearing and very loud, when complaint was made to the manager, his answer was that he was closing the bar early to get rid of them!!!! Disappointing reply for guests.

    Food in restaurant is excellent and reasonable prices. Bedroom was spacious and clean and comfortable I booked a double deluxe room. The decor downstairs is fresh and welcoming. Staff very friendly and helpful on arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for an overnight stay for the races
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lunchtime meal and although this was good the hotel was playing very loud music in an outside bar which was conflicting with the music in the restaurant would have appreciated one of these to have been turned off. There were stains on our bedroom carpet

    Hotel was excellent for our purpose of going to Doncaster races which is 5 mins walk away..the breakfast was very good. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The property has since been changed when we were last there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no faults, apart from no Salmon on offer for breakfast and there was no haddock on the day leaving.

    The property has since been changed when we were last there and for the better. Bedrooms and bathrooms been updated much more hotel boutique feel. Very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Satisfactory but poor surroundings for this class of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The car park was largely rough, loose material and front apron was badly in need of weeding and clearing of cigarette butts and general rubbish. The appendages and outbuildings were in need of upgrading. The rear view was blighted by derelict, uncleared land, probably racecourse property. The bedside lamps were feeble and there was a crack in one of the washbasins. The "cold" washbasin water tap ran very hot for several minutes, meaning that a considerable quantity of water (and time) was wasted each time we wanted a cool drink. The internal corridors were very poorly lit, and there was no lift for the disabled. The self-closing doors slammed if released. Nobody offered to carry our suitcase and other luggage up the stairs

    The beds were comfortable but the pillows were all too soft. the location is very convenient for the racecourse. Loads of parking space. The rearward-facing rooms were quiet at night. The meals were good but rather expensive, but the building (internally) was a pleasure to behold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    satisfactory and would stay in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extractor in bathroom not working. first choice at breakfast not available

    staff were friendly and helpful .beds were comfy and adequate. decent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Probably the quickest check in we have ever had ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a complaint but the drinks were quite expensive but that seems the way of the world at present.

    Probably the quickest check in we have ever had / likewise check out. Very impressed with the room we were given and overall thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.3
    Avoid at all costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival the reception staff were very slap dash . We then went into our room it was filthy , cobwebs , dust , hairs in the bed and then when the sheets had not been tucked under the mattress the stains on the mattress was absolutely disgusting it nearly covered the whole mattress . I have some pictures if any other travellers would like to view them. We was in a executive room at £115 per night not including breakfast I would not of let a dog sleep on that mattress ! The spa bath was so filthy particularly around the jets that I did not use it for that reason . It was such a shame the description of the property did not meet any expectation.

    location to racecourse

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic noise in the morning made it difficult to sleep and food says till late but is actually only till 9pm

    The view from the room was lovely.. the staff were very friendly especially a woman with blonde hair

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Bad first impression spoils a perfectly reasonable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior of the hotel does not create a good impression, looks dowdy and is in desperate need of repair and decoration. The car park surface is appalling and their is a lack of signage for entry to the building from the car park at the rear of the building. The front forecourt of the hotel is dirty and was strewn with litter. It is a shame that this first impression spoils what is actually a perfectly good and value for money establishment. Problem at checkout where the guy on reception didn't seem to know what he as doing, tried to charge me for dinner the previous evening which had been paid for at the time. He made phone call and got manager out of bed to verify this, after call went on system and yes in fact it had been paid. Totally unnecessary and frankly embarrassing. Unable to print a copy of my invoice at checkout, but in fairness I did receive an email copy later in the day

    The interior of the hotel is very clean and decent décor, rooms are not luxurious but at the price are more than acceptable. In general the staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    I recommend a stay at the St Leger hotel *****
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious rooms. comfortable beds. |Attentive staff. The food was superb. I left my phone at the hotel and they went above end beyond to secure its return. Very kind people. I would stay again any time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Very modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very hot the heating was full blast and became uncomfortable to sleep at night. The service in the restaurant was a little slow but good still.

    Very modern and clean. Rooms were nice and simple perfect for an overnight stay and the food was fantastic and very good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Super friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...all great

    So friendly, great staff, really helpful & informative about the area. Clean, tidy & a great atmosphere... I would strongly recommend. Even down to a phone call later in the evening, after checking out, letting us k ow one of our party had left a shirt & they're posting down to us free of charge...fantastic service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay, racecourse just across the road. 15 minutes i to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room a little dated but comfortable, ours was situated at front hotel on a main road. Staff slow cleaning away breakfast dishes but was rectified the following two mornings.

    staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location. Not so perfect hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the look of the hotel. I thought the pictures were a far cry from the actual look. Listed building. No escalator!!!

    The location was excellent for an event at Doncaster Racecourse. Literally 3 mins walk. Fantastic staff. Very warm and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.8
    Horrendous hell hole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you walked upstairs it was 100 degrees absolutely boiling !!!! The room was disgusting ! Very very shabby in fact it was dirty ! The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have even tried to sleep in - it was so hot I had to open the window to get rid of the horrendous heat - then you couldn’t sleep because of the road - an awful experience from start to finish

    When you walked in the front door it was very pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Fab weekend, would definitely stay again and would recommend it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the mattress on the bed was very soft and a bit lumpy!

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful and huge! The food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast was amazingly good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice rooms, quiet, comfortable and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great in quality, and only served after 0800h on weekends - not good when having to leave early for work.

    Nice rooms, quiet, comfortable and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my first days in Yorkshire before moving in in the area and I have initially booked 2 nights at this hotel. The personnel was extremely nice and helpful. One of my luggage was lost during one of my flight connection, and several employees called constantly the airport to help me with this issue, and I finally got my luggage. When I had a question, there was always someone to answer. The room 204 is big, spacious and has a jaccuzy. The restaurant is also very good. Because I felt so well in this hotel that I have booked an extra day at the hotel to give me some time to move in progressively. Thank you for these very good nights at this beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.8
    Evening meal very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to walk through rubbish to get through the front door! Tin cans rolling about all night, keeping us awake, Too hot in room (January) Hot water very slow, Couldn't work TV. Bed too soft. Awful grey decor

    The staff were great; The meal in the restaurant outstanding, The chef too good for the hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Good place for a New Years stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was an issue with our door and we couldn’t lock it but this was seen to by the staff.

    The staff where really helpful and pleasant, they couldn’t do enough for you. The room we stayed in was very nice, especially the jacuzzi bath. We also enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, it was quick to come out and vegetarian options where available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant the staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took ages for the hot water to come through the taps, the tap on the sink kept turning off when I had it on cold and the toilet is far too close to the wall.

    overall everything was great but the food was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    The hotel had a very welcoming homey feel, looking forward to my next stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything, friendly attentive staff, good selection of food in the restaurant, which was really good and very reasonably priced. Rooms were comfortable and kept very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    just one word will do brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    we was welcomed by a very nice woman on the desk told us everything we needed to know sorted the taxi for us , room clean and tidy , went to the bar for a drink and made welcome , , checked out pefect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.8
    Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room over looked a very busy main road. The windows were single pane (one was cracked) and let all the noise through. The curtains weren't lined and didn't cover the whole window. The bathroom extractor didn't seem to work.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good. There were good sized mugs in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Generally a good stay. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was poor - shower head needs descaling. The rug in the bedroom didn't look as though it had been hoovered.

    Bedroom was lovely. Dinner at the restaurant was superb (not included in the price)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Generally a good stay. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was poor - shower head needs descaling. The rug in the bedroom didn't look as though it had been hoovered.

    Bedroom was lovely. Dinner at the restaurant was superb (not included in the price)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    I would stay here again but would request a different room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No small windows to open to ventilate the room. Kettle lead too short to reach plug point so we had to boil the kettle on the floor. TV turned itself on several times during the night.

    Breakfasts exceptionally good - nice range of menu choices, lovely food, freshly cooked and hot!. Dinners good - food fresh and tasty. Staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel a convenient walk from the racecourse.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing.
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beneath our expectations for an executive room. Breakfast order not one of the four was correct.

    The place was very warm. A member of staff carried our bags upstairs to our rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Shangri-la
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we were going to be picky the bed was not that comfortable but everything else was perfect

    The room was excellent large and spacious. staff were friendly and helpful especially Anne and the food was excellent. We went to Doncaster races and it was so convenient for the course

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    3.8
    Will never stay there again b&b’s in Blackpool for £25 a night are better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a joke totally past there sell by date and the bedroom was dated. The Manager next morning was not interested with the issue.

    The bar and restraunt area was good and the food good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money with a good restaurant. Would stay again.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were allocated a small double room even though the hotel was quiet on that night. Could the visitors not be offered the better rooms first?

    Allocated room was small, but we were offered a really good alternative,large and pleasant. The staff were excellent and everything was done with a smile.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed the stay it was just what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had noisy occupants in room above uncontrolled children stamping around until 10.30 pm. No fault of hotel mind more like a weak parent

    Well furbished room nice dining area and good food,we stayed after attending Doncaster races just a short walj from hotel,ideal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.2
    Our stay was okay issues which shouldn't have been there to start with ....the quilts mainly but sta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean quilts would have been nice ours was stained really bad need to buy new ones !! No hot water sat night till 9pm .too warm in the room no ventilation at all only a small fan

    The breakfast and staff hospitality

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    It was adequate but I didn't get much sleep due to the mattress.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not particularly nice and the mattress was the most uncomfortable I have slept on.

    Staff fantastic, facilities great. The restaurant food was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Lovely boutique hotel with bar and restaurant downstairs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the breakfast was quite expensive although very tasty.

    The location for the Racecourse was superb. The staff were all really friendly and the room had everything you could want. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness of rooms, quality of food and drink, the very tired rooms, the wasteland setting of the hotel. Would not stay here again under any circumstances.

    Proximity to Doncaster Race course.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, great customer service, fantastic food overall wonderful value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, who even volunteered to iron my shirt after a very long day that offer was very welcome. I had dinner in the evening with a colleague and we both said it was the best steak we have had for a long time. Definitely will stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Warm welcome, attractive inside, bedroom comfortable, food top class, and staff great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside wants improving.

    The Grand St Leger does not look anything from outside, but inside is welcoming, clean and tidy. The bedroom was very roomy and light with the bathroom excelling in cleanliness. There was a bath tub and shower. The restaurant is welcoming and set out well. Food was excellent and not costly. Staff are so helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    2.5
    Never again it was all ghastly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. The so called music in the breakfast room was appalling. Politely asked to heave it turned down to no avail. The breakfast was the worst breakfast we have ever had in an hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.0
    Won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music is public areas was too loud and unpleasant. Breakfast service was poor. No fruit offered on buffet. Awful coffee. Paint peeling off the walls in our room. Window could not be opened.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.8
    Bedrooms need refurbish and bringing up to date but breakfast OK
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor in the bedroom was "tired - large patch of paint flaking off the wall ( room 108), the lighting in the rooms was quite dim and the heating was not on, so was quite cold at night. Another guest said she had to cover herself with towels to keep warm. The TV was quite old / square and used a Freeview box for channels. The bath did not have a safety shower mat which could cause a nasty accident if someone slipped, and the bed was not at all comfortable. Hope this is helpful

    TBH nothing particularly stood out as being good in the room, although the breakfast was fine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall though the staff were very pleasant and helpfull and the rooms were clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the hotel next to the busy road and with no double glazing it was quite noisey with traffic on a busy Saturday night so well worth getting ear plugs from the reception.

    The room was clean and tidy and modern appliances.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Location fantastic for day at races
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and the pillows very flat, the rooms are ready for little upgrade but had everything we wanted for our stay

    The restaurant for both breakfast and evening meal was marvellous. Generous portions and very tasty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.8
    Cheap & handy but heading for 2 stars not 4 !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirt & poor signage outside hotel. Needs to be painted badly, weeded and a sweeping brush used. Room ( no. 99 ) needs more light in the bathroom, a hand rail for getting out of the shower which by the way is too low on the wall. Sinks plugholes need to be cleaned so that water can go down quicker.

    Very cheap accomadation. Handy for racecourse and town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    A brief but lovely experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms just a little bit larger but don't think you can do much about that.

    Staff at reception and bar were lovely. We did not eat in but have before and it was fine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    A happy stay and was made to feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like leaving , because we enjoyed our stay so much

    I really can't fault the hotel and the staff make the stay memorable , because they are so friendly and can't do enough. The manageress Anne is so professional and friendly and doesn't matter how busy she is , she always makes time for a friendly chat , she is the best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exposed parking for cars. It appears not to be very secure. Noisy ducting from kitchen if in a back bedroom.

    Room we received was exceptional. Staff very friendly. Interior very smart and well kept despite external appearance of hotel and it's position beside busy roundabout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok but not sure I would stay again because of the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of noise from room above. I thought it was thunder. My daughter thought it sounded like a washing machine. This went on until 1.30am. Stain in one of the mugs and on one pillowcase. Booking.com said I would pay at the hotel but payment was taken when I booked. Not knowing this I paid again at the hotel. They did ring me to apologise and sad they would credit the amount.

    Helpful staff. Bathroom very clean. Nice tea and coffee. Location good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    comfy beds, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    that the doors were locked so you couldn't go out after a certain time, the check out time was early, requested for a later check out but no respond.

    comfy beds, nice room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very helpful and I was moved to an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was extremely cold and the room didn't have a heater and as it was August the central heating wasn't programmed to go on.

    The staff were very helpful and I was moved to an alternative room which was much better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    A hotel we would be very pleased to stay in again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior could do with some colour, pots and hanging baskets.

    Not the best exterior but a transformation inside. Fabulous hotel; we don't normally eat diner at hotels but the menu was terrific and we ate there both nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok. A little slow in crab n moo in the evening but food was good and very accommodating about changing our time to eat.

    How close it was to Doncaster races.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    Stayed two nights here but we wont be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't serviced. We put the do not disturb sign on the door handle whilst we had breakfast, turned it over when returning and left for a day at the races. We returned to our room to freshen up to find the room untouched. Reception was contacted and we were told that because the room had a do not disturb notice, the cleaners wouldn't come back. Bed wasn't comfy and the bacon undercooked.

    Purely that the location was right.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    4.6
    Poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Too noisy was right above the bar when phoned they didn't turn it down bathroom was very poor shower didn't work and when did was so slow dripping

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    A comfortable stay in Doncaster.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small beds and obviously quite old as they were hard and lumpy. Also I paid for 2 double rooms and they were different, one had a large tv and one had a computer screen, one had a fan and the other didn't, one had a bench and the other didn't. If they are both standard double rooms at the same price then should they not offer the same things?

    Quaint decor. Very tidy and well presented inside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    Enjoyable stay, great breakfast, but certainly not the 'grand' experience we'd expected.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed in our room wasn't the comfiest you could hope for, and the bed clothes had been put on in a very hap hazard way. I had to strip off the duvet and remake the bed in order for it to feel more comfortable and for the duvet to actually reach the pillow area of the bed - odd, seeing as the duvet had to be tucked UNDER the mattress to about half way up, it was so long! The shower didn't work in our room. There was no pressure to the water so it dribbled out, and the shower head was broken at the side so the water came out of there rather than through the holes of the shower head. The shower head holder on the wall was also broken, so we were unable to 'hang' the shower head up in order to shower properly, and had to hang it over the bath taps until using it by hand to wet or rinse off. When booking out, the receptionist seemed to usher us along almost, she didn't ask if we'd had a good stay or whether everything had been to our liking at all. We reported the shower to her, and she made a note, but there was no apology for the maintenance issue. There was a distinct lack of drawer space - for t-shirts/underwear.

    There was a good variety of breakfast choices, and the ones that were cooked seemed to be cooked 'to order'. The food was very good and tasty. Our waitress on our first morning at breakfast (18th July) was excellent. She was polite and courteous and nothing was too much bother. The television in the room was huge! The extra items such as a suitcase stand/iron and board/fan were welcome additions to the room

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: