Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. North Yorkshire hotel reviews
  4. Scarborough hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Grand Scarborough

Reviews of The Grand Scarborough

St Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough, YO11 2ET, United Kingdom

#28 of 28 hotels in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 8916 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    5.0
    Room was a dingy basement bedroom, stuffy, smelly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a dingy basement bedroom, stuffy, smelly. You could hear running water throughout the night. Walls were paper thin so you could hear everything.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    7.5
    .Pleasant ianf just about OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one person serving in the bar and he was worked off his feet. We were denied access to the Ballroom as a private St Patricks Day party was being held. The organisation of the Bingo session was a bit chaotic and the singing duo played for only 45 minutes.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    8.8
    A lovely and tasty evening meal .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waiting time at reception to check in could have been quicker. The service at the bar in the evening was not good had to wait 40min in a queue ti get served wityh a drink.

    A lovely and tasty evening meal .dining room nice and light and clean friendley staff.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar hadn't enough bar staff .

    Beds were comfortable and lovely bed linen. Fab room looking over the sea very spacious too.the only fault was not enough bar staff had to wait ages to get served.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    6.7
    not easy to find rooms, rooms without windows costrafobic, not enough parking for hotel guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    requested to be same floor as friends, room given to other guest in error so not where asked to be. unable to find a seat in Reception or Bingo room so unable to eat at the property.

    Nice room due to booked room being given to other guest so given a Premier room.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    4.6
    Hotel not fit for purpose and will not stay again. Massively run down and major damp and leak issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was run down and not fit for purpose. Stains and leaks all over the building. First room was full of stains and had a leak so did the hallway. Room and surrounding area smelt of damp. Second room that we were given wasn’t even made up. Long check in cues and long cues at the bar. Only one bar and not enough staff. Filthy glasses and poor quality food.

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    5.4
    Seafront view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we was in first was terrible, bathroom door handle was falling off, the floor was uneaven with a glass table wobbling on it and bed was horrendous. Had not been cleaned properly as there were bits of rubbish all over carpet and the room smelt damp. Was offered another room but was only given a 3/4 bed, as I’m 3 month pregnant the hotel deemed a 3/4 suitable for a pregnant person so my partner slept on the floor! Had breakfast on the 1st day but didn’t go on the 2nd day as I did not enjoy it and wasn’t able to get a refund. Hotel really needs updating. Another 2 couples complained at the same time as us and they were given luxury rooms with free breakfast and dinner throughout there stay and they paid less for their room. all I wanted was a clean room and a bed that my partner and I could sleep comfortably in ☹️.

    Seafront view

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    8.8
    Mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room with no window but then I can't really complain because this was explained and I could have upgraded.

    Location was perfect. Price was good and value for money . Staff lovely.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    5.4
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff usless fight broke out next room at 2 am after going to recetpion 3 times at 4.15 we phoned police doors was ripped off head being smashed against wall nife threats not one member of staff did out we phoned police they left at 5.45 then had drive 200 miles ome wiv no sleep not gud

    Hotel nice for money

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    7.5
    Overall we loved our stay, a few disappointed bits in the room but the view and scenery make it up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bef wasn't a double but 2 single pushed together so a gap in the middle appears and the beds were solid causing discomfort to me and my wife, also the furniture was in a poor condition and hot water out the sink was very slow

    The view was exceptional and the hotel is grand, also the place is our favourite

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    7.1
    Been staying at this hotel over seventy years efforts to renovate much appreciated. Still love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom needed much renovation. All rusty and horrible The ques at the reception are horrendous and well known for this at this hotel Perhaps should be a separate desk for collection of keys only May have been a shortage of staff at this time many were booking in and not enough staff to sort them all out.

    We were allocated a room near to the lift as requested. Nice comfortable room but the bathroom was disgusting

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    7.1
    Mostly good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a 3 night stay for our friend Jims 80th birthday. He has had a stroke so finds it difficult getting about. Last night decided to have a meal in the bar. Fish chips and peas. All batter hardly any fish and the chips were so pale we thought they were still raw. If they can't serve good fish and chips at the coast don't bother. We won't next time we stay.

    On Sunday we had the afternoon tea. Very nicely served. Enjoyed.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    4.2
    would not go back if they offered me a free stay over for a week
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    what a dump, old 70s formica furniture in the room, which resembled walking into a dungeon, old tired décor, crappy looking carpet, the bathroom had someone elses toothpaste on the taps !!! whoever painted the doors whenever that was must have used a yard brush, as some was on the floor, broken towel rails, annoyed and angry is not the words. I know it was a cheap room but if I wanted a hostel id have paid for it. I booked the grand as it advertises grandeur and history. It should be called the " Letdown " pay a bit extra and go stay somewhere else, possibly bert and ida,s B&B. what a DUMP

    the location was ok,no parking available. staff unhelpful with a place to park. THey suggested an NCP car park somewhere, had to queue 15 mins just to book in as there was one girl on rec eption.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    6.3
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was filthy, very uncomfortable, no tea/coffee making facilities,sink was full of mucky water, obviously it hadn't been cleaned since previous guest, no towels in room, I literally could feel every bedspring in the mattress, I have stayed here several times but this visit will make me look elsewhere.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    6.7
    We will not be returning. Only good thing is location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room wasn’t ready on arrival at 3pm (check in time) we had to wait for 10 minutes for a chambermaid to arrive. We were in a rush due to a family occasion at 3.30pm so my husband had to get changed in the bathroom. This was not ideal. The room was old and tatty. The tv was tiny and old. The whole room looked old and dated. Also 3 times during the night we were woken by the heating system making a really loud humming banging noise and we had to move the radiator dial each time. In the end we turned it off and our room was cold. Also very loud in our room when the cabaret started.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.9
    IT WAS A NICE STAY WE WOULD GO AGAIN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It,s in need ofa lot of work to be done in side and out.IT,S A GRAND Hotel in much needed work. Work must be done before it,s to late or you will lose customers.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    4.2
    Outside of the hotel, excellent. Inside of the hotel, disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The initial location of the room on floor -2 was right next to the kitchen and the smell was absolutely abysmal. Once we complained we were told we could move to another room which was disgusting.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    2.9
    With room 0002 in the mouse cage terrible springs in the bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid a lot of money for a lovely premiere room .we were put down in the sticks.bed so bad complained to the manager at 5am Saturday morning. At 5pm was moved to another room still down on the terrace. Have a holiday booked for 20th December please cancel it .wasted our £324.00 plus £21.00 car parking.plus £ 49.00 upgrade to Premier dining its disgusting.them who paid £85.00 on coach holidays got a far better deal than us with booking.com.

    With room 0002 in the mouse cage terrible springs in the bed telling 3 different managers it was the worst break ever .we have booked a few with you but we were let down big time .We will also be in touch with Brittania tomorrow.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.1
    Centre to every thing,but parking not very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking terrible and we had a problem with television in room it broke and so did the kettle,when it got reported no one came to fix them

    Centre to every thing,but parking not very good

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    9.2
    Good value food and accommodation at this fine historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have fish available at breakfast.

    Superb location overlooking the beach & harbour. Good quality breakfast, with excellent porridge. Pleasant room with huge radiator to keep toasty.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    7.9
    Will return in time shortly as like the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not a central light fixture,therefore there was only aside lamp with small wattage,light over bed small wattage. The room was in the dim light at all times. Very hard to negotiate around the room Higher wattage bulbs needed for safety sake.

    Clean bedroom,and bedding A room with a view.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    6.7
    Great location. Decor very tired and out of date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was really bad. The hotel was really busy and it appeared buses had come in just before us and the queue went all the way down the hall. Secondly, while the room was of a standard setting, it was very tired looking and needed redecoration. The floor squeaked every time you walked on it and I was conscious they may have irritated any guests who were below or above you.

    Location of hotel is great.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in took 45mins then had problems with rooms so had to que again to complain ended up taking from 2.30pm till 4.30 to get rooms sorted so wasted our social time.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    5.0
    Beds are too hard !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds far too hard! Unable to sleep as the bed were too hard. Breakfast was inedible and not nice. No veggie option.

    The entertainment was good, and the location is fab

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    7.5
    The staff were all friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is quite dated but there remains alot of lovely features. Breakfast wasn't great. The area wasn't kept very clean and it was clear cheap products were used in the hot breakfast

    The staff were all friendly and helpful. Absolutely fab location and the views from the terrace were beautiful. Good atmosphere in the hotel with lots of events going on.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    4.6
    Needs million's spending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is really run down. I can approach it would cost millions to do up. But really is needing it desperately. Carpet missing , radiators need washing and was really loud , walls, You had to go from one lift to another , for different floors. Shower/bath wasn't hot. The beer was as flat as a pancake. Be carefully of parking . The staff advised us of parking ticket of £7.50 And we ended up with a £50 parking fine.

    The local of the hotel is great. The hotel was probably beautiful back in its day. Its got a lovely view of the sea front.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    4.2
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked this hotel in December for them to move me on the actual day to the royal this isn't acceptable I had booked my room so far in advance to avoid anything

    Close to the sea front

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    3.8
    Everything was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was awful. Black mould in the bathrooms, beds hard as rocks with springs poking out, rats in the ceilings and walls...the lost goes on and on

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    6.3
    The check in time is ridiculous waiting nearly 1hr 30 in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in time is ridiculous waiting nearly 1hr 30 in a long q then the bed was not a double it was a 3/4 far too small for two grown adults I’ll stick to the royal in future

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    7.9
    Stay was good I would stay there again my boyfriend wouldn’t as he had to pay £25 parking fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having had to queue we only had two minutes to get to the car to put ticket on car hence not reading the back receptionist should point out that there is only limited carparks take these tickets

    Read reviews after booking!!! Anon refundable room was dreading the stay was pleasantly surprised building was amazing.Obviously hard to maintain But you can see there is lots of work going on to improve. Friendly staff and entertainment was good. Could’ve given 10 out of 10 for staff but on arrival we booked the parking which realising the next day when we have got a parking fine That The parking ticket was for Pacific parking places. Had the receptionist told us we would not have got a ticket. Was our own faults as we didn’t need the back of the ticket as we were in a hurry the next day having had to queue on the reception of the ticket and we didn’t want to get a fine so just went out to the car and put the ticket not realising that that carpark wasn’t valid so having Got a ticket that spoilt our stay.I think if All reception staff should advise customers to read the back of their ticket and that would help it takes two seconds to tell customers

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    5.4
    Claustrophobic. Panic attack.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were 2 floors below ground. The room wasn’t signed in the corridor. No air. No windows. It felt like a tomb. I had a panic attack. No way to get through to reception and no WiFi. Terrifying.

    Great shower though.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    4.2
    Nice hotel, but dirty and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got charged £18.75 for 2 double pink gins and lemonade? The room was tiny and dirty the fan didn't work, the lamp shade was broken the bath wasn't clean the sheets was mucky.

    The staff were lovely the hotel is set in the heart of scarbeough

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    3.8
    Bloody awful,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was not properly prepared, no coffee and not enough towels, there was scaffolding in the building, from which a bracket was dropped as I stood near by with my baby boy. There was a half eaten biscuit under the bed, which my baby boy found, it was a chocolate biscuit and he has a dairy intolerance. Communication between the staff was poor, not passing on messages such as, don't knock on the door our baby is asleep! Reception did nothing to resolve our issues and though they said, they would pass our concerns on to the hotel manager, we never heard from them. Breakfast was not a great start to the following morning, cheap bacon and sausages on the counter and over stretched staff on the floor. I have contacted the hotel's customer service but they have said they will no longer discuss the issue, I said the offer of a reduced price night and dinner was not acceptable.

    The location, this is the one thing the hotel has in it's favour.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    5.8
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was quite dirty and had not been cleaned recently. The breakfast was a poor imitation of what it used to be a couple of years ago.

    Staff friendly & helpful Beds reasonably ok

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    7.5
    Wouldn't return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom light not working, reported to Danny on reception who said he'd get it fixed, still not working on departure. Breakfast too expensive at £12 and dinner menu unappealing

    Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    6.7
    Little upset with how this offer was made with the booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My booking said to add breakfast for £7.50 each when I get to the hotel, so I did just that i went to book breakfast as I collected keys, they charged me £12 each as they decided to up the prices, considering I could of just upgraded with breakfast included which would of been cheaper, so felt I was a little robbed by the way I was made to believe was an offer of booking with the grand hotel

    The location and the food was nice, staff was lovely room little pokey but was ok for the one night

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    6.7
    The room was nice and comfortable although there was some...
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was nice and comfortable although there was some sort of sauce up the side of the wall which could of easily been cleaned and down by the bed could of done with a good clean. There was also a lamb that was provided which didn’t work..

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    5.8
    Booked 2 nights come back for the second to find my new electric tooth brush and phone charger gone
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thief cleaners that stole my items and the stupid management that haven’t made any effort to contact me Absolute joke don’t stay here

    Quiet room that’s all

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    4.6
    Close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ridiculous check-in queue which took over an hour. Hotel very old and not that clean. Smelled of sick in the room where there was a live show. Not the best experience but you get what you pay for.

    Close to the beach.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    5.8
    Average,good for price but wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Took 45 minutes to check in,couldn’t find staff about or at reception during the 2 night stay,bed was awful to sleep in,due to old building windows not secure the curtains was blowing with the wind so was very noisy couldn’t sleep

    Powerful shower,good location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    7.1
    Accommodation was clean & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entertainment was poor were not informed that tickets were required for main act so missed lt which was very disappointing to my self & partner this should have Been told on arrival not on nite not enough information about local trip. To long to check in

    Accommodation was clean & comfortable. Hotel really local to all things

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    5.0
    I'm will not be stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was not good, the hotel is old and needs attention

    I was put in an awful room that had not been cleaned I complained and offered to pay for upgrade but manager sorted me a better room so I appreciate that

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    5.4
    Shambolic! Won't be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We checked in at 2.30 but was not allowed the key till 3m? We went for a meal then when we came back there was a queue of about 100 people after waiting a while I went to reception and was given the key.The room was in the basement no window and stifling hot even with the radiator turned off.we booked the breakfast which we were told had gone up That Day from £7.50 to £12!! The breakfast (served on 8 inch plates!) Was barely averageand certainly not worth £12! I went to get a plate for bread and the top plate was dirty(it looked like a spider had been squashed on it -literally! When we did book the breakfast we wer'nt told we needed the form which should have been stamped to get breakfast.We had to go back to the room then to get said form and get it stamped!

    What croissants?? The room waa clean and the bathroon spacious

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    5.4
    Our room was a good size and we had a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Large queue at reception to book in, bars close early, our room was cold, could just do with an overall refurbishment and some changes to the hotel would make it a great place to stay

    Our room was a good size and we had a nice view

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    8.3
    It was as I expected given the price it was more than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the lifts were small which meant a wait but understandable given it is an old victorian hotel

    It was as I expected given the price it was more than adequate

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    6.7
    Good location, walking distance from town and the bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s took 1 and 1/2 hours to check in. The queue was silly and people in groups was just walking in front and booking in with friends. Only one toaster worked at breakfast.

    Good location, walking distance from town and the bay

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    4.2
    Don’t get blinded by the fact it’s cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here a few times before, and I’ve reviewed it highly in the passed, based on the fact that it’s very cheap and generally I’ve had no issues before. However this stay was very different! Upon arrival to our room, noticed that the shower had been ripped from the wall. Reported this and was immediately put into a different room with a broken shower, a dirty toilet, a tv with a battery less remote control, light bulbs not working, only one towel and no bath sheet, WiFi not connected to Internet - I think they were the obvious issues. Not disheartened, went to the bar to buy a drink, bit noisy for our liking so took our drinks to the closed coffee bar, where some imbecile who thought he was Freddie Mercury was parading around a stage with a p.a turned up to full blast (this wasn’t a hired act, just a drunk guest with his idiot girlfriend), and staff letting them get on with entertaining themselves. 2nd day, came back from a walk and our room door was open!! Housekeeping hadn’t closed it properly. Thankfully nothing had been stolen, but at this point we made a complaint. We told the duty manager that we would never be returning, only to be offered some money off our next stay!!! Unbelievable. However, we were eventually given 50% of our total stay back. Later that day, same imbecile with idiot girlfriend, playing piano and singing in the cocktail bar. Being a nuisance to everyone around but staff again, letting them get on with it. Went through to where the actual entertainment was going on, only to realise that the idiot was actually more entertaining, so went back to the cocktail bar - that incidentally does not sell cocktails. The most remarkable thing about this place is that even the staff don’t have a good word to say about it, and freely acknowledge that the place is a dump. Which it really is! It’s such ashame, as the building itself is beautiful. Seriously in need of some big pounds being spent on it. It is literally crumbling in some places.

    The building

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    7.5
    Location and it was really cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the 3rd time stopping here and again it took an hour to check in! Waited til 5 to check in aswell and didn’t get the keys til 6!! It’s a disgrace, this day n age there’s faster ways then this

    Location and it was really cheap

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    3.8
    Evrythin outside the hotell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude staff no welcoming atmosphere grotty roon freezin cold wallpaper hanging off holes in wall and our third bed wasnt a bed at all wont be going back anytime soon not worth the money

    Evrythin outside the hotell

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had an hours wait just to check in, only 2 out of 3 computers were being used which is ludicrous giving the size of the que. the room was in the basement where the corridors stunk of vomit. I don’t know how they can even charge for such a tiny awful room! There was a hole in the bottom of the door letting light in, it stunk of wee as soon as we walked in and when trying to use the hot water for a bath and shower the noise that came from the bath room was horrendous! We could hear staff on their radios walking the corridors talking very loud considering the time of night. Would never return! Have stayed in the Royal before and Would expect similar standards but this is clearly not the case.

    It’s close to beach

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    5.8
    Left our bags as check in wasn’t until 3pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Left our bags as check in wasn’t until 3pm. Everything was fine and staff friendly. We went out for the day and came back around 8pm, we checked in (we did have to wait a little but let that go) we finally found our room after asking several members of staff and getting lost each time. When we got there we could hear the shower on inside. I tried the key in the door and it opened the room! I decided to knock and just as that a lady came to the door. She had already been given that room and had been in there since 3pm! Luckily I knocked or I would have walked in on her partner having a shower!! Not best pleased, we walked back up to the reception area and had to wait again for our room to be sorted. We were then given a small basement room, with no windows. It was 10 o clock by the time we finally got our room. After all of this we decided to just go to sleep. When we turned the light off, it was a bright green light that came on. (Image attached) We had a terrible sleep because the room was lit up bright green, and noise from the rooms around us. We got up at 7:30 and left as quick as we could to get home. We have used the Grand hotel several times in the past but will definitely not be using in the future.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    7.5
    Had a good night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was quite small we had a window but couldn't see anything out of it cos of one of the domes was right in front of it but for what we paid it was good enough for one night stay

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    5.8
    After waiting over an hour to check in we ended up with 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After waiting over an hour to check in we ended up with 2 rooms 6 floors apart even though they were booked together we were upgraded as they weren’t together but never realised how far apart they were when getting to the rooms room 1 had a faulty lock therefore couldn’t lock room 2 had been broken in too before we arrived maintenance sorted that lovely man he was but then came an awful smell so I the end spoke to the duty manager lovely lady named Ann who refunded 1 room and we shared the other the shower was faulty as the head blew off and nearly smacked my sister in the face could of been fatal as some force behind also would like to thank the housekeeping assistant for all his help didn’t catch his name I’m afraid

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    7.1
    Was fair and not to expensive some of the staff wee ok and others would oblige some residents and no
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff would oblige some residents and not bother about others that’s the biggest complaint I would have otherwise stay was good

    The bed was really comfortable but the shower was not much good as was fixed head and you couldn’t alter in any way

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    5.8
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The creaky floor boards which kept us up all night. The mattress was very uncomfortable so all in all had a terrible sleep. It was very old and run down and I'm desperate need of a refurb

    The location was good.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    3.8
    It was shorter than expected we planned if hotel room was good to stay but could not get out quick c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty room , dirty bed sheets birty carpet , thread bare carpets health and safety issue on steps around the hotel Dirty windows smally room damp. AWFUL ROOM!!!!!

    The architecture is pleasing in reception area and large space .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    7.9
    Love staying at the grand hotel lovely friendly staff and location stop on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was too small this time .but 9 out of ten it's normaly stop on

    We have stayed loads of time it's location and the feel of the place good entertainment friendly staff clean .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Put on floor -3 but lifts to that level were broken so me, my partner, my child and elderly grandfather had to walk down some very steep stairs to get to room. Corridor was full of double mattresses and a washing machine and had to climb over the mattresses to get to room. Room cold and very noisy

    Room was clean

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    6.0
    Great location, beautiful 19th century building, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough staff on desk or restaurant; bathroom dirty and edge of bedroom carpet full of dust. 3 hour check in queue. Some of no window basement rooms had no phone signal and no working phone on that floor. Badly maintained building.

    Great location, beautiful 19th century building, friendly atmosphere with guests laughing about state of the hotel now as opposed to what it used to be like in its heyday.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    6.3
    Faded glory from another age, gives a glimpse of Victorian splendour. Great location, lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very small and even though I paid to upgrade to a bigger room, the second allocation was no bigger so I gave up. We included dinner and breakfast but the food was decidedly poor to average and and not worth the extra, machines ran out of drinks both at dinner and breakfast and tea/coffee not provided for dinner. Bit disappointed really.

    Good views, entertainment on site was good, coffee in the Java lounge was nice and reasonably priced. The bedroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. Plenty of sitting areas for guests.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    9.2
    be back again at that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young lad on reception did great to adhere to our needs,

    The check in was slow as only one lad on the desk. The young lad did us well he kept his cool and did a great job, well done young man and he did well , Thank you. Darren possibly? .worked Friday all day front of house.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    2.5
    Dangerous dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid for a family room we got a tiny room with two beds. After 5hours and many complaints we got 2 camp beds. We then couldn't get to the bathroom or out of the room without moving them. In a fire we would have had significant problems This was reported as a health a safety issue but was ignored. The duty manager agreed but customer services did not. APPALLING

    Nice view

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    8.3
    As previous visit an enjoyable break away with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room were not ready at check in time.

    Spacious, comfy hotel with fantastic views over the bay. Grandchildren love the self service restaurant. Great location for town centre shopping. Added bonus evening entertainment.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    5.8
    An awful experience
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced at £70. We couldn't wait to leave.

    Obviously "at a distant time in the past" The Grand Hotel. I'm sorry to say the whole place smelt of paint and damp. Our room was miles away from reception and similar to a prison cell. The only place I've been to in a long time where you have to pay £7 for the wifi.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    9.6
    Was a wonderful stay will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a wonderful stay will definitely return. My daughter loved having the entertainment to see on a night. Close to the town and the front. We were lucky staying on the hottest Feb's to record so it was nice that there's a terrace over looking the sea to enjoy a drink. Was able to spend a full day after checkout because there was somewhere to leave are case. It is a beautiful building was not expecting how grand it was going to be, reminded me of inside a ship. Rooms were a good size beds a little hard.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    6.7
    Prime location, once wonderful interior unfortunately now...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small and cold room on 6th, the top, floor in the eves of the roof (which was probably staff quarters in its heyday). Wooden window frame was so rotten the window could not be closed. Slanting ceiling over bath meant I could not stand upright under the shower.

    Prime location, once wonderful interior unfortunately now reduced to ‘faded elegance’.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    4.6
    the location is really the only thing thats great about this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    dirty room was wrong and then we had to change in to another room with totally different description to the one i booked and paid for! staff were not happy to help us, just gave us another key said thats ur new room! it smells constantly in the hotel carpets and decoration dirty and dated need attention a lot!!! Not enough staff to help guest or even to ask for help! overall disappointed at this time stay dont think we will be back here but the location of the property and price is tempting just to even get a bed for the night

    the location is really the only thing thats great about this hotel, as its old dates, dirty, tacky, run down and staff seems to have given up on all cases sad to see such great building being treat this way!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    5.8
    Room rubbish grand is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This time no TV working went down to tell the staff they said someone will fix it nobody came. They ask u to close bathroom door when have a shower, but you carnt if there is nothing to close it with in the door wall paper coming off in bathroom all the time we have stayed there that was the worst room we have ever stayed in dont think the lad on reception was any good.

    We always like stopping at the grand near the beach and the shops everything is around the grand for your needs.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    9.2
    It’s still the GRAND.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are obviously need an up cycling, a new life for this Grand building.

    It’s still the GRAND. I really enjoyed my staying, even the facilities not a new. Amazingly friendly and hard working team goes to serve this old-gentleman-building. Beautiful location!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    8.8
    hotel highly recommended to a wide range of people from couples to weddings to families to singles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could have stayed longer one snag was we needed to put are bags away as our train was not due until later the bags were put in a looked room we had to wait 30 mins to get them out the staff behind reception do a great job but need more staff porters to help when coaches arrive as they seemed overwhelmed

    the location was great with a spectacularly romantic views over looking the sea from the roof terrace packet of crisps in one hand a pint of beer in the other (£2.20p a pint make the views even better there was a wedding at the time when we were there and they seemed really happy with haw everything went rooms at great price to will definately go again

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    4.2
    Very disappointing and we will most definitely not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having stayed at the hotel a couple of years ago we decided to book a last minute night away. We didn't even consider booking anywhere else than the Grand as we had no trouble there last time. Unfortunately, that has most definitely changed and judging my the number of people complaining, both through the correct channels at the reception desk and to each other in the bars, I don't think we will be the only ones who take our custom elsewhere in the future. We booked a room without a window, which we fully expected to be in the basement, as it was last time we stayed. Incidentally, the room we had this time was actually far nicer than the one allocated to us last time, however, the public areas of the hotel are a shambles. We had to take the lift to -2 then walk the rest of the way. We struggled to get passed the number of mattresses stacked up against the wall just outside the lift (I counted 7, a mixture of doubles and singles!) and then when going to try to get back up to reception, found that all lifts were out of service. Being the rabbit warren it is, it just wasn't possible to find the original lift we came down in, so took the stairs. The stairs we took were absolutely soaking wet, to the point that you could see the water pooling around the carpet when you stepped on it. At one point, we even ended up in the kitchens, despite following the signs for the stairs! Moving onto other communal area's, the fact that check in took so long was an absolute joke. It seemed that, like us, people just didn't even bother waiting in the queue and headed for the bar instead, in the hope that the queue died down. This obviously resulted in the bars being busy with not enough bar staff.

    The location was fine and the weather was lovely :)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    3.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty.. Furniture in rooms dated... Floors in rooms un-eveven non-existent views... Queue for check in abysmal as was the queue for the overpriced bar. Parking charges and availability disgusting

    The location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    5.0
    Variety of food options and the guy on the reception on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a double room, was given a twin to which we was double charged. Room wasn’t serviced and after requesting towels we still didn’t receive them until after check out time. The rooms on -2 were very basic (didn’t book this) and there was a very strong smell of cannabis.

    Variety of food options and the guy on the reception on the evening handled our complaint well including meal and wine.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    6.3
    Disappointed with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived the booking in at reception took a long time there where a couple of people in front of us , this was at 8.15 at the evening, when we finally got seen to the computer actually took ages to sort us a room ( new one soon apparently) we then went to our room and they gave us a double, when I booked a family room , so I had to go back down stairs , left my daughter and my two grandchildren 18 months and 5 , on the second floor save carrying everything down again , there were a few people in front of me again so this took ages again, eventually they offered us room 145 family room , but needed cleaning would take half n hour ! It had apparently been used as a kitchen as there was a wedding on .They compensated us with free breakfast although I would have preferred us just being able to go in our room at 8.30 as we'd been travelling for a few hours but we had to wait so we eventually got in the room at 9.30 ! It was pretty noisy we understood as there was a wedding on just above on the left , but was told it be be finished by twelve , fair enough we thought. Then we settled down about 12.30 to be woken every ten mins by someone knocking loudly on a door nearby ! I was so tired I really couldn't be bothered to investigate! Also every now and again someone running briskly up the stairs presumably staff , and things clattering I presumed they were putting the room in order after the wedding . Also the mattress was very lumpy with the raised springs , terrible, couldnt get comfy at all , so all in all a terrible nights sleep !!! We went down to breakfast which wasn't fantastic by any means , im really glad we didnt pay £7.

    The lovely building I've always admired the grand , I've stayed before with some hassles normally wrong room . The family rooms are lovely and spacious. The price is very good compared to other hotels . We wanted to stay overnight so we didn't have to drive there and back in the same day , and be refreshed in the morning ready to enjoy our day ahead! Or not refreshed as the case may be .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    7.9
    Good place to stay at right money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room (141) carpets and decor throughout are in serious need of replacement / overhaul.

    We enjoyed our stay and loved the entertainment. The building is fantastic and very Grand as the name suggests

    Stayed in February 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Grand Scarborough Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: