Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Grange Guest House

48 Grange Road, Bishops Stortford, CM23 5NQ, United Kingdom

#7 of 16 hotels in Bishops Stortford

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 256 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Warm reception of the owner Paulette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm reception of the owner Paulette. Very nice decoration of the room with all facilities. Even a Nespresso Coffee machine in the room - very much appreciated. Very happy Paulette could accomodate our wish to have our 2 daughters joining for breakfast so we could start my birthday with a homecooked family breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    A very warm welcome from Paulette, a very relaxed atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very warm welcome from Paulette, a very relaxed atmosphere and a great breakfast, made for a good stay at the Grange. I would wholeheartedly recommend a stay there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    4.6
    My stay at Grange Guest house was the.worst stay me and my daughter ever experience! Worst service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is very unhelpfull and they showed from beginning to end that they was not interested in mine or my daughter needs. The room was very basic and the take away breakfast was very poor! Very unwelcoming atmosphere!

    The all experience was the worst I ever had! I felt not welcom and the landlady was not interested to meet our needs! I booked Grange Guest house because I liked the look of the garden, but I when we arrived we realized that the garden is not accessible and there is not a suitable place to seat and enjoy the sun. I advice to anyone that is thinking booking to this guest house to look else where! The atmosfere and facilities are under the expected standard!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    The hostess was supernice and the breakfast was delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostess was supernice and the breakfast was delicious! I ended up here after having been stranded at Stansted Airport, and I had one of the best sleeps of my life.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, convenient for a short stay before an early morning flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As expected, stayed there the night before an early flight, few minutes walk from the train station which is 10 mins direct to Stansted. The beds were comfy and the shared bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable night in a cozy Victorian home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints about our stay! I would mention for other visitors that the guesthouse is best located by the address itself; there's only a small sign on the front door that could be easily missed.

    We only stayed a night, but it was extremely comfortable and homey. The host went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of, including having a breakfast to-go in the morning for a very early departure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    8.3
    Nice place for quick access to Stansted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The onluissue was that the beds were very creaky, so each time one of us moved it woke the other up. Perhaps a bit of WD40 would help.

    A great location for Stansted airport with access to the local town centre for restaurants, etc. The owner was very friendly and the place was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.8
    It was very nice to have takeaway breakfast since my friend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very nice to have takeaway breakfast since my friend and had to catch an early flight and couldn't enjoy the freshly made breakfast. The takeaway breakfast was generous. The room looks exactly the same as the pictures. The bathroom and the toilet were clean. Wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    It works in so many ways the parking is secondary.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing you can do about it but the parking is pants. I got lucky this time but not easy to leave your car nearby.

    I’ve stayed here before and will again. Handy for the town, warm welcome, great art on the walls, good full English breakfast, best value in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    7.9
    Comfy place for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably the room was a little bit small but for one or two nights was not a big deal.

    We had the cozy attic with a very confortable bed and clean area. The lady was very friendly and helpful. As we were leaving soon in the morning she packed us a picnic breakfast bag. Close to all amenities and train station to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    10
    Best escape I have had in years
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I just loved the whole experience

    I LOVED my room, I stayed there 2 nights after a stressful period followed by an emotional funeral. My plan was to hit the charity shops, buy lots of books and relax. My room was perfect for this purpose, small, cosy, wonderfully decorated. It was like a haven. I liked the ceiling at night :) The breakfast was wonderful, Paulette recommended another village that has a huge charity bookshop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    A lovely place with friendly owners at affordable price. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Guest room. The cosy room downstairs lined with books, family looms, old pictures and vintage decor was very inviting. Family and friends can come and visit you there at any time during your stay. We absolutely loved it and during meal times the whole house fills up with aroma of delicious food, cookies and pie. Just like home 😊

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    Comfortable accommodation, friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a fantastic trip , there was nothing we disliked.

    The owners of guest house was really friendly and made us feel very welcome. It was a really cold weekend when we visited and I was worried about being cold at night but room was lovely and warm. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    Feels like home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking has occasional limitations if leaving a vehicle at the property during the day

    Homely, comfortable house. Tastefully decorated, clean and warm. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.2
    Good place to stay! I would stay there again.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is situated up a hill, was no problem for me, but if one had difficulty with mobility it could be a problem.

    The room was lovely. Bed very comfy. Breakfast made to order. I was able to leave my heavy suitcase in the living room so I didn't have to carry it upstairs. Not far from station and the town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    The breakfast was excellent, not too big, just right.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is an issue but I knew that before I booked and worked around it. Paulette the owner is charming and helpful.

    The breakfast was excellent, not too big, just right.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.8
    Nice home, one train station away from Stansted
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although a lovely home and hostess, this isn't really a great choice for the business traveler, staying one night, for the sake of proximity to Stansted (my case). Which they never claimed it is. But I wasn't paying close attention and didn't realize it is actually someone's house, and she is a lovely hostess but I think it works better for people with just a little more time. On the other hand it isn't too far from the train station (about 0.5 km) with one stop to Standsted. I was fouled up though in the fact that my train out of London did not stop at this station and I had to double back from the airport. Again, not the fault of this place, but something to know.

    Lovely house and hostess

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.6
    Overnight stay in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave so early in the morning that we were unable to enjoy their English breakfast! But the host was kind and prepared take-away breakfast for us.

    Hosts were very nice and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay. Our room was charming with a private bathroom. The train station was pretty close and very easy to get to Stansted airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.2
    Half way between a B&B and a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sloping ceiling and not much room to pass by the bed meant I banged my head, but only once.

    Friendly staff. Offered to let me park my motorcycle off road. Quirky decor items in the room. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting in hallway during night time. I had to leave early to catch a flight and had to use my phone as a torch to show me where stairs were and where lock was on front door.

    Being able to use dining room in the evening to eat food that brought with me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I shou have asked but I needed a night light so I didn't have turn on a bright light to use the bathroom.

    Close to the train station and the local shopping area. Takeaway breakfast was a life saver.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    Comfortable, cosy and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super comfortable room and facilities. Although arrived late, were made to feel welcome. Lovely feel to the place, perfect after a days travel. Very close to a rail station with only one stop to stansted airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    8.8
    Room was very comfortable and nice decoration inside.
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very comfortable and nice decoration inside. We have had tea, coffee, water and biscuits inside the room and all the things needed in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My disappointment has been breakfast. When I was booked accommodation I was looking for cooked breakfast. On the pictures the breakfast looking great, reality was not any breakfast, because they serving breakfast from 8.00am...... So no cereals, coffee with milk..... When I was check in in the evening and find out that there will be no any breakfast so I was asking to get money back for the breakfast which I did not get as the " lovely lady " has pointed to the booking policy. Definitely I will be avoiding this accommodation. To not forget to mention that you can hear all noises in the house.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.9
    The property and hosts were as explained in the booking, a personal touch is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to say all was o.k.

    The location was perfect for our needs, the owners made us welcome and answered all our questions, breakfast was very good to set us up for our day ahead. Thank you and should the need arise again would use again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    10
    Was very late arriving due to a delayed flight however was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was very late arriving due to a delayed flight however was still made to feel very welcome. The room was cosy with excellent facilities. Would have liked to have stayed for longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    9.6
    quirky, romantic, practical and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    mini fridge in room would have been the icing on the cake

    stylish house - very arts and crafts. Great books, art work, and decor. So pleasing to find a period home that's not been painted olive and grey, it's very cool. Bed was a little firm for me, but would suit those who like that. Facilities and breakfast excellent, a very peaceful house, clean and restful, though very close to the centre of the old and interesting town. Wifi excellent, coffee superb, lovely owners Was really sad to only be staying the one night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    10
    A proper B & B where you were made to feel as if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water in the shower was warm enough but not really hot.

    A proper B & B where you were made to feel as if you were staying in someone's home. The facilities were superb, fabulous breakfast and well furnished room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, great value, friendly and welcoming reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shared bathroom, but for £60 B&B on the outskirts of London who could complain!

    We arrived at the property very late following a much delayed flight. The owners made it clear normal check in was before 11.30pm. However they were very understanding and kept in constant communication with us. On arrival, the lady could not have been more helpful or courteous having just got her out of bed she led us to our room and made us feel very welcome. After a long day of delays this was very much appreciated, thank you. The property was well located, within easy reach of London. Nicely kept and the breakfast included in the price was delicious. Would definitely recommend and we will use again if in the area. Thanks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and conveniently situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite is just beginning to look a little tired (attic room) but that's being very picky.

    Friendly welcome. Comfortable bed. Very close to town centre and railway station yet situated in a very quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    7.1
    The location was good only 10 mins from the centre and train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If arriving at night be careful as the street has really poor lights so ita practically pitch black so hard to see!

    The location was good only 10 mins from the centre and train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    5.0
    Paying guest or just an unwanted hassle??
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pretty appearance of this Victorian Terrace is in complete contrast with the host's unfriendly attitude. She made me feel that I was an unwanted nuisance from the moment I arrived and throughout my stay. Room was fine, squeaky floors and thin walls and smell of old cooking permeating through can all be tolerated. However, in my opinion, this isn't a guest house at all, just a private home where the owner lets rooms to paying guests who really are a nuisance to her.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    10
    Lovely weekend in Bishop's Stortford
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great!

    It was a lovely stay in Bishop's Stortford. The room was very clean and tidy, breakfast was good as well. Despite being located near to the airport, it was very quiet inside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    8.3
    Overall a nice, friendly choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is an old Victorian house. While lovely, the house has thin walls and wooden doors. We were lucky to have quiet fellow guests but could still hear comings and goings. The room was pretty but cold.

    Very friendly and welcoming owner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    10
    Excellent, cosy and hospitable stay very close to Stansted airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For those with cars: parking not guaranteed: there were quite a few yellow line spaces which run out at 9am, otherwise the street was packed with cars.

    Wonderful hospitality, very comfy bed, really lovely decor - hand painted designs on wall and ceiling, made it feel really homey

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    10
    Great location and lovely home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely landlady, comfortable bed (VERY - and we are buying a topper!), great shower, fabulous breakfast and very reasonable. Quiet road for a close to town centre location. We have recommended to our local friends and will be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    6.3
    Unfriendly Host - missed the British Hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating in the room wasn't great. But all that is not as bad as the Host was. I am traveling around the world since over 30 years now. I was in 5 star Hotels, Guesthouses and B&B's all around the Globe. But never before I was treated so respectless as from the french Lady, Paulette, the Host! Very unfriendly and with no understanding for anything. She made me feel unwanted and uncomfortable in every way. I definitely missed the english charm in this pretty B&B! Never felt this way before in England.

    The room was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2016

    10
    Great place, close to Stansted Airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's been great to catch an early flight; it's really convenient to get to from Liverpool St, and the coach / train service to Stansted Airport is a 10 mins walk. The place & service is fantastic though, I wish I had more time to stay!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2016

    3.0
    Just say no.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not eat in room, landlord stopped me at the door when I brought a pizza in. Not really that close to airport. Mattress/pillow smelled so bad I didn't sleep well. Felt like I was staying at a mother in law's house.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    9.2
    Very happy, would go there next time if going there again
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast - you should not be in a hurry when going for a breakfast :-)

    Very nice lady owner, cosy and very "english" style house - we loved it. Very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2016

    8.8
    bed was comfortable good to have tea and coffee making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check in time could be earlier although you can leave your bags there

    bed was comfortable good to have tea and coffee making facility nice shower.good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2016

    5.5
    not as convenient to the airport as you might think.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    not as convenient to the airport as you might think. Rather cranky staff if you come late, which you can understand, but if there is a chance you might arrive after 11, I'd go for a proper hotel. They're about the same price and more convenient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2016

    8.8
    Lovely guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's definitely a place to stay on the way to somewhere, not a romantic weekend away type place. The takeaway breakfast wasn't that great.

    The house was beautiful, like an old boarding house and the owners were very friendly and helpful. It's only a few minutes walk from the station and much nicer than a generic hotel. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2016

    8.3
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walking distance to train and shopping. Good size room, nicely decorated with lively colours and an interesting ceiling. Quiet location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    6.7
    1. The location is near to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    1, Is a bit scary to walk alone via dark street in the morning and night alone. 2. The room is a bit dark with some drawing which make me feel uncomfortable and can't really sleep well.

    1. The location is near to airport. 2. The owner is warm and details.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    5.8
    You are not welcome
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived at 15.35 which is 25 minutes before check in time which is 16.00. The lady was reluctant to let us wait in the building. She wanted us to go for a walk. We have a 7 month old baby. We were tired. She insisted though that that was their house and that until 4pm it was 'their time' when they are not to be bothered by guests. People who stay there are tired travellers. Particularly those with babies deserve a little more empathy. When she let us wait and finally showed us to our room she warned us not to eat in the room. So we ate our sandwiches out in the cold. We just did not feel welcome here.

    It was very clean and the shower was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2016

    9.2
    Useful place to stay for the train station / airport and very friendly landlady.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps an extra pillow for the bed would have been good but I think that there may have been some in the cupboard.

    The landlady was very helpful and made up a breakfast bag for me to take away as I didn't have time for breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    10
    A Comfortable and central accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location not far from station which connects to Stansted airport ( 1 stop) A nice bedroom with ensuite up the stairs, a substantial breakfast and a great host made this a comfortable stop.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2016

    8.3
    Very welcoming, comfortable night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    .Liked the breakfast, but not very big portions!

    Lovely interesting house. Comfortable bed. It's location, it was in a quiet area and just a short walk into town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Very cozy and beautiful house with lovely hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Very cozy and beautiful house with lovely hostess. Delicious breakfast. UThe location of the guest house is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location and how helpful our hostess was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, helpful people, quiet room, comfortable bed. A great experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.9
    Good value accommodation within easy reach of town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value accommodation within easy reach of town centre. Very friendly host.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    Great stay. Great location. Enjoyed the town as well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house staff were very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly and helpful owner. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.6
    Most pleasant stay
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Fantastic host. Charming ‘retro look’ house.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    Cozy Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The style / decorations

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    7.9
    The English breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The English breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    very enjoyable would reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very laid back and pleasant landlady

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.2
    Just the ticket!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly a firmer mattress.

    Lovely house, and owners. The house is full of interesting art and has a very comfortable feel about it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Paulette runs a beautiful comfortable guest house and is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paulette runs a beautiful comfortable guest house and is very welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    7.5
    very warm welcome and help (journeys local restaurants) from...
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very warm welcome and help (journeys local restaurants) from owners :) I recommend it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean, good breakfast and host was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    6.7
    Dirty mats on floor in bedroom and bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty mats on floor in bedroom and bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    8.8
    Authentic English home
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress of the bed could be better.

    Authentic English home

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    8.8
    Only there for one night going to a party. Convenient reasonably priced goo English breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No toilet in room

    The single beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    9.6
    Great place, nice and friendly people, close to the airport,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place, nice and friendly people, close to the airport, good connection to the center of London

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    9.6
    The beds were so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The beds were so comfortable. Easy access to the station for Stansted. Packed breakfast was given due to the early start which was very kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    5.0
    Unfriendly welcome. Felt like it was too much trouble to leave breakfast out early for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manor of the owner

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    Very convenient and very welcoming in our stay. Recommend if flying from stansted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very welcoming and friendly service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    Very nice place and lovely and friendly staff, thank you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly the wifi did not seem to work in my room

    Very nice people and very helpful, I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect end to a wedding weekend. Friendly staff and wonderful room in a homely environment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    3.3
    not for me
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got the feeling i was an inconvenience to the proprietors

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    10
    wonderful place to stay, almost sad i had to fly out after one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room (with Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    lovely hosts, even got a packed breakfast for my early departure

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: