Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grange Strathmore Hotel 4 stars

41 Queens Gate Gardens, Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW7 5NB, United Kingdom

#546 of 1,031 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1262 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is located in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is a little bit too small and the sound insulation was poor.

    This hotel is located in a perfect location. Easy to find supermarket and subway. Staffs are very friendly and the style of the building is very Engliand.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rather compact, not much space between the desk and the bed, we had originally been given another room, but needed to have a bathroom with a shower cubicle not a bath, the original room was slightly bigger, but the windows were high in the wall, so you could not see the view. Some of the sofas in the bar/lounge area would benefit from an overhaul or replacing, as some of the springs were in a poor state.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They made sure you didn't struggle up or down the steps with your luggage. We were given a complimentary continental breakfast, which was very nice. We had decided to go back to the railway station by bus and they printed out the route and gave us the directions ,much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    A great 2 days in London!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower gel in the bathroom - other toiletries were provided - thank you!

    Perfect location for our needs - we had booked an evening @ the Royal Albert Hall to see Cliff Richard - it was easy to walk to the venue! Loved the historical Victorian building & the Royal connection!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    welcoming staff, nice location, room was perfect and my family loved it, price was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    welcoming staff, nice location, room was perfect and my family loved it, price was decent as well so totally recommended. Thank you Mounaf Al Habbal

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool

    We were upgraded upon arrival much to our delight. Lovely room, helpful concierge staff who were able to store luggage with a smile. Comfortable beds, cot available in room as requested.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, very handy for Albert Hall, Kensington and Hyde Park
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were in the basement, so didn’t have much of a view, however we did have a super king bed which was extremely comfortable and air conditioning. My daughter was on the 4th floor with a nice view but only a double bed with no air con. Parking is free outside the hotel after 1.30 pm Saturday to 8.30am Monday. This was a nice surprise as parking is expensive in London. 10 mins walk to Albert Hall, very handy and the reason why we booked this hotel. Excellent stay and would book again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, with friendly staff, ideally located. Would definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, cramped really. Don't know if they're all the same ( I suspect not based on other photos ) but there was barely enough room to walk around the window-side of the bed.

    The location was excellent - short walk to the Albert Hall. Lots of choice regarding restaurants locally. Premises was clean and very tidy and the noise levels were quite low, making for an undisturbed night's sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Our room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was beautiful. The building has a lot of history too which is what we were after. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. A stones throw from Gloucester Tube Station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Tiny but cozy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It can't be helped the width of bed. When I tossed about on the bed, I almost fell off it.

    Though the standard single I stayed is tiny in common with rooms in London, it is decorated smartly and cozy. The ambiance of public lounge is traditional and lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Clean rooms and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed breakfast by minutes and they wouldnt allow me to get anything delivered to my room

    Clean rooms and staff were friendly. Locatiin and price were a bug factor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor very tired looking. Old badly chipped furniture. Bathroom extremely small. Some dirty marking to ceiling which looked like water damage or damp which needs to be rectified.

    Excellent location, although off a very busy main road the hotel is quiet and still very convenient for local shops, cafes and the tube. Five to ten minute walk from the Natural History & Science Museums. Short walk to Hyde Park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    The refurbishment since we last stayed at the Grange...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a small amount of damage to the upper corner of the ceiling and the room seemed to have not been used in some time, with a few cobwebs in the cornices. However, the cobwebs were gone after the first room cleaning, and everything else was spotless.

    The refurbishment since we last stayed at the Grange Strathmore in 2011 has modernised the decor while still maintaining classic British style. Check in and checkout was quick, efficient and easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    The room was extremely small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small. We were moved to another twin room described as superior but with two people and two suitcases in the room there was no room to move around. I work in the tourist industry and know that there are room size requirements to attain 4 star grading so I would be very surprised if this room could either be described as superior or 4 star. There was nowhere in the shower cubicle to put toiletries so they had to be put on the floor. Basically charging £165 per night for a box room could be described as sharp practice. I have stayed in other grange hotels and enjoyed the stays so this was disappointing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Central friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were so hard Very drab in the sitting room and dining room. Needs bright colours to liven it up Bathroom very small with huge bedroom. Tv round the corner from the wardrobe so couldn’t be seen in bed

    Central

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely come again :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a little comfier but that was it

    Hotel was lovely and clean, really warm welcome on arrival by reception. Upgraded to a family room on arrival which had two extra single beds but we didn't really need these as it was just myself and my partner. Shortly after arriving we had a knock on our door, with cake for our anniversary which was a nice little touch. Room was clean, spacious included everything we expected. Location was brilliant, 5 minute walk from tube and shops.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.0
    Great location, good staff but rooms need a rethink.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with far too much (chipped and scratched) furniture. Having to sidestep round the bed, tv and table, God knows how bigger people cope. Limited window opening and airless, a fan was provided and was on all night. We stayed here two years ago and it was on the turn then, the place needs renovating as on the whole looks very tired.

    Location, history of the building. Very helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom and room smaller than expected but not uncomfortable. Bar area quite small though so was very busy on Saturday night, we took out drinks to our room, little like organised chaos down there.

    Beds very comfy, staff extremely helpful, nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    Too bad we had to stay in a basement...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was given a basement room with no view at all and barely any daylight. Very disappointing...

    Very well located, this is a comfortable place and rather quiet. The equipment is fine. I just kept wondering what the view could have been like had I been given a proper room, not a cellar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, clean hotel situated on a great location that is easy accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were a bit firm to my taste but seeing that we were one of their younger guests, we understood that others might need more support. Also, the room was smaller than we expected.

    Beautiful hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff. Hotel is situated on a great location that is easy accessible by public transport and cabs. Quiet environment. Close to Natural History Museum, V&A Museum and department stores such as Harrods.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable will come and stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the bar at Lunchtime was a little slow at first but improved

    Excellent pillows - so often they are disappointing in hotels, but not here. Also beds very comfy. Nice relaxed atmosphere and very clean and tidy. Food also good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant but a bit disappointing because of above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we didn’t have breakfast included apparently because we had booked through booking.com. Didn’t like the location of the room in the basement which was very noisy and wondered if all booking.com customers got put down there. Furniture had seen better day. It was cheaper on the hotels website by £18 for the night and included breakfast!!

    Comfortable bed and liked the general feel of the hotel and lovely area and very convenient for everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    In future for a 12 day stay I will be renting an apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hot airless room .The window could only open 6 inches . The small fan offered little relief

    I had booked a double room and had to wait to be given a presentable room. The bathroom was very tight .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and thin quilt Requested an extra quilt but no response from hotel staffs very disappointed Feeling cold over two nights and couldn’t sleep well

    Close to tube station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value hotel staff very pleasant and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was noisy at night due to its proximity to the road and it had no air conditioning .The hotel makes the excuse that it is a listed building and therefore cannot have air conditioning .This is NOT correct as many other listed building hotels have air conditioning installed.

    Breakfast was good and proximity of the hotel to the Natural History museum ,Royal Albert Hall and Kensington was useful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent time at the Grange Strathmore. I stayed there twice while in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. Everyone was nice and accommodating. There is no air conditioning, but they have a fan in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely traditional hotel, situated in a very quiet street, within walking distance for Victoria & Albert museum, Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Palace. Staff very pleasant and helpful We booked a superior room which was well equipped but quite small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    10/10 would recommend for the winter.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    The staff were so accommodating and kind. They went above and beyond the call of duty! They are a credit to their hotel. They printed out my documents and more. They brought us an extra fan but unfortunately it was still too hot. Perfect for 2 people They left magazines for us to read.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Great staff, good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you plan to hang out in the hotel during the day wouldn’t recommend it, No A/C so if you come in the summer your gonna sweat all night like its a Sauna.

    Great staff, good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the middle of summer and my room didn’t have cooling. They did however provide a fan.

    This is a great hotel. The staff are friendly, the rooms are well appointed and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a quiet neighborhood near South Kensington
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was broken for the short stay I was there, not too much of an inconvenience for me , but hope they fixed it.

    The hotel staff was super nice, check in time is at 3PM, but they were able to give me access to my room by 1pm. This was greatly appreciated after being on an overnight flight. I liked the decor in the room and hotel lobby. This hotel is located in a neighborhood with beautiful white buildings and good restaurants just one street away. The Tube stop is about 3 minute walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay with very helpful staff would happily return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    London was very hot for the 2 days we were there. So in turn the room was very warm, there was a desktop fan provided and it was sufficient for the night. A room of that size would benefit from a tower style fan but as we were only staying for one night it wasn’t an issue.

    Size of the bedroom was exceptional, extra tall ceiling. Firm comfortable bed and all the staff were very helpful and professional. 24hour room service was available. In a nice location and also very well priced for central London. I would return to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, there's no air conditioning.

    A nice place in the heart of London! Just a couple of minutes from the Natural History Museum and ten minutes walk from Hyde Park. The staff is very friendly and healpful! The interior is lovely! We had all we needed in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely old-fashioned hotel with wonderful service in a beautiful leafy part of London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As we were a family of 5, we booked a family room which was a wonderful size, and also a twin room. The twin unfortunately was very small, with not a lot of room to move around.

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of London. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly - as a guest, it was obvious that customer service and satisfaction was a high priority for them. We particularly liked the bar for relaxing in the evenings. Easy access to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park and close to Albert Hall. Just around the corner from lovely cafes and eateries. We loved our stay and would go again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location but the hotel doesn't meet 4 star standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at a room on 5th floor and the elevator was broken. Room was tiny and the windows were strangely high up so that there wasn't any view at all. Went during London heatwave and the hotel doesn't have any a.c. Instead they provided tiny fans. No complementary water bottles provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    There are no a/c in the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no a/c in the hotel. It’s was very hot in London at that time and we could barely breath in the room. Nights were awful. We were swimming in swet in our beds and plus it was impossible to open the window. Breakfast is very poor and not good. So second morning we just went to prêt à manger to eat. There is no gym in the hotel and actually no facilities at all. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny (No 111) with a very small wardrobe which wasn’t even big enough for 1 person let alone 2. No air conditioning though we were given a fan which was good. Continental breakfast disappointing.... not enough fruit.

    Location. Atmosphere and history of the hotel which was very clean with comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, very close to Gloucester Road Metro station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture a bit old, it could use some restoring. No AC

    Great location, very close to Gloucester Road Metro station (Picadilly line), and Natural History Museum, very nice neighbourhood. Friendly staff I could leave my bags after check out until it was time to go to the airport. I had a single room, they upgrade it to double room without extra charge. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Would visit again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only down side is the room size. It was small, but that wasn't a major issue for us.

    The location is great and the staff wonderful. It is a boutique style hotel and has a wonderful feel. We stayed here on a previous visit. Very close to Natural History and Victoria and Albert Museums. Lots of cafes & restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. Close to Gloucester Road Station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great staff and a comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a hot weekend in July and the lack of air conditioning in the room was an issue - the hotel provided electric fans but it remained an issue as the windows have restricted opening. Having said this, it was a period of exceptional weather for London and, at any other time of year, this would not be an issue.

    Great location, a short walk from Gloucester Road underground and less than 10 minutes to the Natural History Museum and the Royal Albert Hall. We had a really nice welcome from the helpful and friendly staff, and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a family room which was perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room which was perfect for us. Location was great. Close to Gloucester tube and not far from south Kensington tube. This building is very beautiful and full of history. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    All of the staff were extremely helpful, from the guys on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    All of the staff were extremely helpful, from the guys on reception to the bar staff that served us at 1am when getting back to the hotel! Rooms were very nice as was the rest of the hotel, bargain for the location too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Great staff and location, small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small rooms, expensive breakfast, gloomy decor upstairs. We could barely see out the window in our room (5th floor) so asked for a change which was accommodated for the next two nights, the staff were lovely to deal with.

    The staff in the hotel were lovely and the location is great. Close to Gloucester Rd tube, shops, Hyde Park and the museums. Good wifi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Room is hot. Don't cotroll teamperature.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have no aircondition. Broken table is very dangerous. I had scratched my foot and blood....

    Breakfast very excellent. Position is conventional and near by museum. Reception is kindly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Hot hot hot night in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the exceptional days of English heat it’s air conditioning that counts in hotel stays and without this in Strathmore the rooms were stifling hot. But an exception as noted. Sadly to compound the heat it took an hour to have water bought to the rooms so am assuming short on staffing to cover room service. Should have gone down and collected myself !

    Great memories of stays for Christmas shopping. Generally always clean and welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    It is a lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was so so hot, we were provided with a small fan and had the windows open. It is a listed building so they can't put air conditioning in. The bath was very high to climb into for a shower.

    It is a lovely old building. The staff were friendly. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    A great stay for us. Would not hesitate staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little small for a double, but not a problem. Shower was very small for me (over 6ft man and I'm not overweight ) so anyone of a larger persuasion will be a little cramped.

    Really good for us and a great location with lovely aspect over Queens Gate Gardens out of our room. Staff courteous and helpful, room clean and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in a lovely building with friendly professional and welcoming staff...thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid a very reasonable rate of less than £100 for our stay. We felt that for this money the hotel exceeded our expectation and there was nothing we found to dislike. We would stay again in a moment.

    Lovely hotel, loved the decor but in particular we loved the friendly and professional staff. Nice people and very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Heatwave disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and no fan it was so hot in the room we didn't sleep at all . We left early morning just to get out of that room . No fridge meant we couldn't keep a bottle of water cool.

    Very good location comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was great and the hotel was quiet and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a good stay here. The only issue was that the room was far too hot and it was hard to sleep. It wa every hot weather but there was nothing to help cool the room. Even a plug in fan would have made a huge difference.

    The location was great and the hotel was quiet and relaxed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly helpful staff, great location in quiet street close to Tube and a short walk to eateries in South Kensington and museums. Well appointed bathroom and plenty of room for two large suitcases. Our new best value stay near Gloucester Road tube

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    2.9
    Misleading
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nothing like the photos.

    Rooms were absolutely tiny and nothing like the photos. No air conditioning and the building and rooms were tired and tacky. Location is great but I would never stay here. Carpets were also stained. Extremely disappointed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was awful, positive note is that I complained and they did not charge me for it. The room was on the fifth top floor, no air conditioning, the place was boiling, the mattress quality was horrible, with my shoulder problem I had pain all night which I don't have in other hotels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    a great location for a few nights stay but not in heat of Summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot Hot Hot, 1 fan in the room was not enough, no air conditioning, roasting hot all night long with window open, fan on it was still far too hot!

    Great price for a beautiful location with decent shops and eating places locally. very quiet area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great small hotel, with good service, comfy beds and terrific location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A frig for the room! I live on yogurt and wanted to buy some and keep it cool. Fortunately, the night was chilly, so I put some next to our window that we opened slightly. Oh and the pillows could be better... Both pillows on each of the beds were identical -- rather too big for people like me who sleep on our backs.

    Terrific hotel in a fabulous location, steps from the Gloucester Road tube stop, the V&A and Natl History Museum and walking distance to Knightsbridge. The room was smallish, but had everything one needed (well, except for a fridge), and was immaculate. Our window looked out on the lovely houses in the Square, and had great historic details. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't speak for the breakfast, etc. (we went a block away to Paul's and had croissants and coffees), but the staff was incredibly helpful at arranging for a shared van to Stansted -- basically going out of their way to hold the company to its commitment. The night staff left a note for the morning staff, and all were great with communicating and following through. My daughter and I would definitely stay again... and I've already recommended the hotel to others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Extremely small room, no place to hang towels after showering because there was literally no space to hang them, super little bathroom. Quite noisy in the morning as close to a big road

    Friendly staff; very clean; great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Recommended if you need to stay in Kensington.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More towel racks in the bathroom would make it even more comfortable. Also the battery in the TV remote control was low. Otherwise everything was very good.

    Good location, quiet street with a garden nearby and 5 min from the tube. Beautiful staircase in the building, clean and comfortable room. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly. The room was comfy. The hotel couldn't have been better situated. The price was excellent because we got it discounted I am not sure what the normal rates are.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Tiny room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, hot and you cant open window more than 15 cm. Cooked breakfast £24 so I didn’t bother. Horrible pillows, and the chair is far too low to work at the desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect..went to a concert at the RAH and this was in walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the bedroom and the lovely sash window only opened a fraction, would have been nice to open it fully.

    The staff were all helpful and the hotel was clean and cosy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Airy rooms with high ceilings and the bar downstairs also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airy rooms with high ceilings and the bar downstairs also looked very welcoming. An excellent location for the museums, as well as Kensington High Street and Hyde Park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff friendly and always available to help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little on the small side and the breakfast is way way over priced, £24 for a breakfast , I mean, I know it’s London but come on.

    Staff friendly and always available to help. We had to change rooms as initially down in the “basement area” the toilet was so small that you couldn’t sit on it. This was mentioned to staff who straight away found a replacement. Location wise , excellent. A 2 minute walk to the nearest tube station. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very successful trip to London and a lovely hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem which I reported to reception on the morning that we checked out, was that the kettle and hairdryer in our room ( both on seperate plugs) had faulty connections/wiring and so only worked ad-hoc-if at all. The receptionist apologized. (Room 512A )

    Very comfortable room, tasty 5 course breakfast, peaceful location, lovely elegant hotel and very historic, being the Earl of Strathmore's original home. ( The Queen Mother's Father). Also not far from The Royal Albert Hall where my friends and I were singing on our first evening stay. Perfect hotel location, great restaurants just around the corner for late evening dinner and the Gloucester Road tube station was very convenient, only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    A long weekend in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and we didn’t have control of the temperature. This may have been because of the beautiful high ceilings but the window was also drafty.

    The location was great! Close to the tube station and numerous good restaurants. Also walking distance to Kensington palace and the park. The room was cozy and clean. Room service was available but we didn’t have it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast at £25 each too much but plenty of places around to eat.

    Lovely building and friendly staff. Perfect location, near to tube and restaurants and a short walk from Hyde Park. Small room and bathroom but ideal for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for the area I wanted to be in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t make the TV work, even after someone spent ages sorting it out. I had to turn it off at the wall at night as it stayed on with adverts playing. There was no shower gel as they ran out. The room was v small - nowhere to store your cases and as a double room only just manageable for me alone. Also, a tiny wardrobe and almost no drawer space. Still, a great location and the staff were friendly.

    Location is excellent - central and easy access for the tube and walking to South Kensington and Knightsbridge if I wanted to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Great property in a perfect London location, it was the quintessential boutique London hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a little hard to access with a stroller, getting up the entry steps and in the elevator. Also, wish there was a mini fridge in the room, ice machine, more body wash/ hand soap provided in the hotel room. We also had a few problems with our key and had to get it re-keyed twice.

    I loved the location. Very convenient to lots of museums, the Tube, Hyde Park, etc. I loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the history of the building. All of the staff was great, and was quick to remedy any concerns or issues that we had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing! The reception staff (Kimberly and Mila) were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kimberly and Mila were some of the best staff I’ve ever had with a hotel! They were attentitive, happy, easy to talk to, and an overall pleasure! We had a bad Airbnb expierence and they turned a bad day into a good one! Must stay place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Great, quality hotel in perfect position for The Royal Albert Hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm disabled & the steep steps from the street to the front door were difficult to negotiate.

    The night staff were very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location close to the Tube at Gloucester Rd and many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very small, our TV didn’t work the whole time we were there. Staff tried to help but the message didn’t seem to get passed on successfully during shift change. Very expensive for not much amenity at all. Never anybody st concierge desk, we arrived and there was nobody to assist with luggage, all inside chatting at 7.30pm. When we left no assistance with bags either (some 10 steep steps)

    Great location close to the Tube at Gloucester Rd and many eateries around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.3
    Cramped and uncomfortable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial room I was shown was in the attic with Windows above eye view, I asked to be moved and was given a room on the third floor which was so small that we could hardly get round the bed. There was a leak in the kettle which was dangerous. Neither of these rooms could be described as a superior double which is what I had booked. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and will never go back!

    the hotel was quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small.

    Beautiful decor and we enjoyed sitting in the bar area relaxing. So close to the Royal Albert Hall (why we stayed) and a good price for the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    overall very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only thing I did not like was that breakfast was included for those who booked directly with the hotel but was extra for those like me who booked through Booking .com

    the location was perfect for what we wanted as it was close to the museums and to the underground

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    It was a really good location for the function I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free upgrade was good, but it came with a few problems. Some of the items in the room needed a little bit of TLC or a little bit of maintenance. Couldn’t turn the tv on or off standby to see any news and when I went to sleep I had to turn it off at the wall!! Perhaps the batteries needed replacing in the remote.

    It was a really good location for the function I was attending the night I stayed and had a close tube network. I was really pleased to be given a free upgrade to a double room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.0
    A great quiet place for walkers-around-the-town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the bathroom were pretty tiny and tight, which reminded me of hotels in Japan.

    I liked the location and the cleanliness. It's a safe and nice area, nearby the subway and the nicest museums in the city. Perfect for walking around the neighborhood and to some of the main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    My room was towards the park, woke up to birds singing in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was broken, couldn't regulate it to cool, also no place for luggage (in single room).

    My room was towards the park, woke up to birds singing in the morning, very nice. Staff was nice and friendly and very helful. Location was very convenient for me, tube stop 2 minutes walk away, cafes, restaurants and supermarket just around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: