Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grange White Hall Hotel 4 stars

2-5 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, Camden, London, WC1B 5BU, United Kingdom

#551 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 573 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    A good small hotel with very friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only instant coffee and breakfast not included

    Friendly and helpful staff, great location for the theatre, good tea making facilities with lots of choices but only instant coffee in room. Room small but nice and a very comfy bed. Lovely bathroom with good selection of toiletries.Lovely garden. Breakfast not included but I would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Exceeded expectations, comfy, nicely appointed, posh area, amazing location, will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful and I'd stay there again, but there did seem to be a bit of confusion on arrival and check-out. Wrote ahead to say I'd arrive at 11:30 p.m.; when I arrived I was told that the room had been cancelled when the shift changed at 11 because of lack of credit card information to hold the room (which I think normally is shown through booking.com but, benefit of the doubt, perhaps it is a valid thing?). Thankfully though, room still available, so not a problem. So, I paid that night and when I went to check out the next day, the woman at the front desk said I hadn't paid. I was going out and said I'd give my card for pre-payment again just as a placeholder and reconfirm if it had been all cleared when I got back later that day. I came back later that day and the woman at the desk said, hmmm...there is no problem, it shows you have paid. So, lesson learned: even if you want to save the earth by not getting the paper print-out of invoice/receipt - just do it. Just in case! And again, all of the staff, including management, were very friendly and worked hard to sort the issue.

    The property exceeded my expectations and the location is fantastic. Given the area, it is difficult to find a hotel that isn't extremely expensive or very basic with the shared bathroom options. This was a great in-the-middle option that was comfortable, nicer and newer feeling than the pictures, with a nice restaurant with 24 hour room service, etc. So, overall it exceeded my expectations. (That said, some things were dated, like the TV/remote if that is important to you). Based on other reviews, it may depend on what nightly rate you get and where the room is in the hotel. For me, I was in a basement room so it was cool (no A/C) and quiet and the furnishings were nice and comfortable. (Bed is wimpy soft though as others have mentioned). Small bathroom but not out of the ordinary for this part of London. The room (double room) though was spacious. I got a great rate (£75) so perhaps that made the value for money seem exceptional, far above what one would get for that usually in the area. I would think £125-£150 per night would still be a reasonable/good price in terms of value for money among the options in the area. Breakfast cost is very high but lots of options for breakfast outside of the hotel, in the surrounding area. And some nice parks and restaurants all nearby as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is very good,and we got free upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air condition in the room,so it was very hot in the room during the summer. We had to open the window in the evening when we slept.

    The location is very good,and we got free upgrade. The staff there are helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    Cheap, shoddy, would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Multiple problems with the room: - broken tile in the bathroom was a trip hazard - broken toilet seat slid all over the place - broken window catch meant the window was not safely secured when open Despite the kitchen being open until 9.30pm we were told at just after 9pm that they could only accommodate 3 out of 4 of us and only then if we ordered a two or three course meal as they had hosted a large luncheon earlier in the day and had run out of most food. As we only wanted a snack they suggested the pricy room service menu despite advertising that the bar was open 24/7 and served light snacks. A member of our group also came across printed information concerning other guests and their bills abandoned on the bar (we hope you enjoyed your luncheon Deidre) and they had to point this out to a member of staff. Would not stay here again and will actively warn friends and family from doing so.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was EXTREMELY hot, so stifling we had to have the fan on all night, the bathroom was a bit tatty with black around bath, the bath mat a little mouldy.

    The bed was really comfy and we had a great sleep, it was in a good position with a short 20min walk to Trafalgar/Leicester square, staff were helpful an friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was there was no tea or coffee provided in room, which would have been very welcomed after a night on the town!!!

    Comfortable and clean, and my room was surprisingly spacious! For a London hotel not bad value for money...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    The room was at the back facing the garden and so it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift didn't work. We had three long steep flights of stairs to climb. The room was very small. There was no air-con in the room and it was unbearably hot.

    The room was at the back facing the garden and so it was wonderfully peaceful and quiet. The sash window opened allowing the air to circulate and the room to cool down (no air con). The bed was very comfortable. Good Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location & very quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Myself & my husband have stayed twice before. So I chose this hotel for us & our 2 sons. Staff have always been friendly & hotel very clean. It’s close to Covent Garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Great location, great value and worth a stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although on third floor, the secondary glazing didn’t close completely and the road was very noisy (I suppose it is city centre after all)

    Warm welcome, lovely Room with good facilities and plenty of complimentary toiletries

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    London style facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom didn't have neither windows nor fan A

    London style facilities Tea service Big windows (it is able to open though it looks stuck) Good bed and big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.3
    It was a horrible experience. Room was very small with bad smell. Bed very uncomfortable, widow brok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything It was a horrible experience. Room was very small with bad smell. Bed very uncomfortable, widow broken, toilets sits broken and also the wall by the door was cracked!!!! Tv didn’t work, even member of staff couldn’t fix it!!! For what I paid I expected a 4 star but this hotel doesn’t even deserve 1 start!!! Please avoid

    nothing!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    Average hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old, tired. Scratched furniture in bedroom. Corridors and public areas not well kept and somewhat dirty.

    Location great - next to Russel Square and British Museum

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Quaint and friendly was upgraded to kingsize room from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't think it was 4star pics did not match to the rooms shown on booking

    Quaint and friendly was upgraded to kingsize room from double but was still only medium size room... nothing like the pictures shown for supreme double or kingsize

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.8
    Good location but I wouldn’t stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed in my room was one of those beds you can store up against the wall. There was no head rest and a massive gap between your head and the wall so you could not sit up in bed and the pillows kept falling down the gap :-(

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    Good array of toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately was placed in room 108 which was right next to the elevator. The noise level from this is quite high.

    Good array of toiletries. Bed is quite comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice location
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ridiculous to pay 15£ more for a late check-out of an hour, when the cleaners did not even come to our room. It had never happened to me before

    The hotel is located at the heart of London, the location is perfect: few steps aways from the British Museum, Covent Garden and Oxford Street. The room was nice, clean and of a good size (a bit old).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.2
    Tired furnishings and no hot water. Not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water two mornings in a row. Furnishings in general were cheap and tired, including loose floorboards, cracked tiles and the garden which is actually astroturfed. Great location and most of the staff were pleasant but some of the fundamentals were very poor and I won't be going back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar service on the night we were there, despite being told “someone would be with us in 5 minutes”, absolutely no one showed.

    Amazing location, good price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    Ordered cab and it didn't turn up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered cab and it didn't turn up. Ordered room service and had to return to reception to pay. The tray was not taken from outside the room for at least 4 hours and stunk the hallway out. Communication skills of staff not acceptable, level of english was not high enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, comfy beds
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows were really thin and you could hear every noise outside. It was fine because it is a quiet street, but the street sweepers in the morning will wake you up! Also, we booked a twin room and the beds were about 1cm apart, so that was funny. If you're concerned about rubbing feet with your roommate, I would consider booking elsewhere.

    The room was really comfortable, the beds were soft and the sheets were really nice. The curtains were heavy and blocked out all of the light. The location was perfect for visiting the museum and a conference at the Senate House. Pubs and cafes nearby. Close to tube stations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff at the hotel were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com allowed a booking for a family of 4 to book a room with one double bed. So on the arrival there was the frustration and inconvenience of having to sort this problem. The expectation was a double for 4 meant 2x double beds in the room.

    Staff bent over backwards, to rectify a mistake by Booking.com

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Great base for getting out and about in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the bar was a little slow and felt like bar staff didn’t quite know what to do.

    Good location next to British Musuem. Good sized bedroom and en suite. Excellent cafe in nearby Russel Square, and easy access to the tube.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far too noisy with heavy footsteps all of the time from above. Too hot in bathroom. Very disappointed at being put on a lower ground floor room tv channels rubbish and a remote that barely works. Never again

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    I would certainly stay at this hotel again but I would choose another deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small. There were many choices of tea but no coffee. I felt that breakfast should have been included in the price.

    The location was excellent, staff efficient and friendly. The room was comfortable, clean and warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay hope to go back again sometime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very comfortable clean and bigger than anticipated Quiet and very convienant to tube at russell square We had day tube ticket which made it easy to travel around city which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being asked to pay almost 25 per person per night for breakfast. The bed was maybe too soft, woke up with a really sore back after the first night. TV guide didn't work and it was also stuck on zoom and couldn't be changed. No toilet brush!

    The location was perfect. The bed was super soft, also a bad point. The bathroom was lovely and the was nice and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Service overall was good and we were made to feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a couple of things with the room that couple have been better but overall nothing to really worry about

    Service overall was good and we were made to feel welcome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Staff was extremely nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not included in our deal, but had it anyway the first morning. It was not worth the price and we had breakfast elsewhere the other days.

    Staff was extremely nice and helpful. We first had a room that was great but noise from some machinery was too loud at night. The second room was not as comfortable (beds) and the internet connection was poor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Convenient basic and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very uneven to the point if you put a drink on the table it would slide. From the bed looking at the rest of the room it was really slanted. The room was also small but i suppose this is london

    Staff very welcomming and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but ok for a night if we was staying long would have upgraded off course to a much larger room : Overall it's a beautiful hotel with 24hr food and drinks till 11 :: whisky bar and Japanese restaurant yesssss

    Value for money lovely staff provided chargers dental kits and ( AND THE BREAKFAST IS TOP STUFF , sausages are Tasty

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Good location and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been more neatly decorated. Maybe offer luggage service to room.

    Comfortable, quiet room, good size and view.Staff were helpful and friendly. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    We had a good time in London see a show and meeting up with friends. But would not book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping knocking at the door twice wanting to clean the room. This happened at 9 and again 945 approx. Check out was 11

    Location but that was down to us doing the research on the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    And accessible place, particularly for my wife’s mobility scooter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took experimentation with the heating to get a good temperature in a relatively cold November. Otherwise the room was excellent and spacious.

    Nearby enjoyed Pastries at the cafe in Russell Square, the British Museum is round the corner and access to precious places like Covent Garden a shortish walk away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.3
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and a struggle for two people. There was a lot of noise in the park outside at 9am on a Saturday (leaf blowing) and the windows did not block the sound. The TV was faulty and the only colour was blue. The bathroom tiles were extremely slippery. A window cleaner came on Sunday morning whilst we were still in bed and the hotel gave no advance notice. They had no umbrellas for guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.0
    Okay, but way to expensive for the space (or lack thereof)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although equipped with a double bed, the room was just big enough for single occupancy, strenghtened by the fact that there was only 1 glass in the bath room. (I had to ask more then once for a 2nd glass) The room gave us a cramped poky feeling. On top, the windows didn’t shut out the street noises (and there was plenty). The room with 2 seperate beds was nicer though ( booked by friends for the same price) We really feel ripped off! Btw, breakfast for 23£.... the guy at the desk was embarrassed even proposing it.

    I really liked the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.5
    Big room, friendly staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure how this is 4*, maybe 15 years ago but this hotel is dated and grotty. The rooms are clean but very tired and worn. £23 for breakfast is crazy- even for London!

    Big room, friendly staff and good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    good location. not the best service or best room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was right next to the elevator so could hear all night. Limited selection of channels. Needed hairdryer and information sheet in room stated if need more powerful hairdryer call reception, called and was told they don't offer more powerful hairdryers. also had to call reception for shower gel as none provided in room.

    Location, comfortable bed, free wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely comfy beds and a nice quiet room at the back of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on a slope and not as nice as other rooms we have stayed in on previous trips. There were no bedside lamps or headboards, the radiators did not heat up very well and made a lot of noise!

    Lovely comfy beds and a nice quiet room at the back of the hotel, however the room was on a slope !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    2.5
    Appalling treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff charged me twice for my room I was on my own with my little girl as a treat for her birthday to see Matilda and they asked me what i wanted them to do about it and left me stood there i had no more money in that account as it was solely for my trip. They rang the bank to discover I was right and they would give a refund immediately in my account I still don't have the money. I have had to ring them today no compassion and my daughter has anxiety and she was sobbing. It was absolutely awful. Manager more helpful needs a rethink in receptionists

    Hotel room lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and dinner, but needs a little sprucing up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was way over priced, and beds were way too soft for my taste. Room was quite small with limited room for luggage. Electrical outlets were at a premium and it seemed like the whole hotel was overheated...

    Fabulous food for dinners was a real find that no one else seemed to realize!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    No key cards available to get into room,felt bar staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No key cards available to get into room,felt bar staff were not trained as they struggled with drink orders room was very small I thought for 187.00 for one night without breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stale smell of tobacco in room (in fairness this was likely to be from a former guest). The room was a little dated.

    The bed was comfy. The room was a good size. Tea and coffee making facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The difference of the price per night after i decided to extend my stay at the same hotel, having reserved the first night with booking and then exteding my stay there for one additional night.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    it was close the the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not mind that is small but my room was in a strange shape and i could not wander inside comfortably.

    it was close the the station. The staff was lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed not what I booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put into the adjoining hotel, not happy about this stayed at the grange white hall before which is why I rebooked but in the blooms hotel and very disappointed

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Made a great Bank holiday into a perfect bank holiday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault them at all.

    Staff were excellent, very friendly and extremely helpful. Would highly recommend them and will defiantly return one day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    British Museum/Russell Square calm hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location- good sized rooms for location. Quiet even on the road side. Quite content with a lower ground floor room - plenty of light considering. No car park but cheap undercover 24 hour available at nearby Imperial hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    I don't know how this Is a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst bed in the world! A wall bed that was about 7 inches off the floor. The noise from passerby's and other hotel guests were so bad we eventually got to sleep just after 3!!

    It was very clean and the staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel very convenient for UCL and the British...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A menu option for breakfast would have been nice rather than the set £17 or more full breakfast.

    Pleasant hotel very convenient for UCL and the British Museum We would have liked to stay longer to sit in the garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind. Good value for the cost.

    Very good location, just next to the British Museum and short walking distance to underground stations. Ideal place to stay while discovering London.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location and a smart hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue was the price but then again I'm not used to paying so much. I understand that a smart hotel in central London doesn't come cheap but for the amount I paid I would hope for a bigger room and a better bed.

    Smart and clean. Very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    I like the size of the room, it was quite big, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with two beds. One of the mattresses was really comfortable and soft, the other one unfortunately was quite hard.

    I like the size of the room, it was quite big, and everything was really clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location for West End . Within walking distance of all theatres, China Town, Soho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of toilet cramped. No English tea in room second day. 😤

    Location. Pleasant staff. Easy to check bags before rooms ready and on day of leaving.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay, especially as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. All staff were friendly and professional throughout and the room was clean and nice. They also kindly provided us with a complementary cot for our son to sleep in. Overall we had an amazing time!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Book reservation that I made was twin room and they said they got a wrong room reservation. so check your reservation with the Hotel after booking.

    Great location. near the British museum. Oxford St. 5 Min walk. Covent Garden 10 Min walk

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process was very slow and made us run late for a booking we had made after. The rooms didn't have air conditioning and was very hot! we had one fan for 3 of us which didn't do a lot.

    The location was good and we could walk easily to Covent Garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Could do with refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area was shabby and disorganised.... The glass lift, while being the centre piece of the hotel..... the glass and shiny bits could do with a clean... £17.99 for a continental Breakfast!!!!! And no air conditioning boiling hot!

    Reception on arrival and departure were very helpful. Room was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    convenience of the Hotel to transport, theatre and other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was too expensive. I try to stay in this hotel every time I visit London, I found that the room was in need of maintenance in the bathroom, large wet patch on the ceiling and the shower recess needed re-grouting or cleaning properly. Mould. The bed needed to be change very old and worn, plus the mattress protected was for a single bed and not a double. No ironing board and iron as standard. £70 for breakfast well out of the ball park for this Hotel. Was not as expensive as this the previous times I stayed in this Hotel. I will not be returning.

    convenience of the Hotel to transport, theatre and other venues.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Short, focussed trip to London
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the peak Summer months I imagine the rooms would be quite hot.

    The location was excellent for the purposes of our trip which was to visit the American Embassy and meet up with a family member. The hotel was good value for money and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.2
    Stay away
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The room was full of flies when I got inside. There was no air conditioning and since the place was hot they left the window open. All very well, then buy a flies screen. My room was close to the elevator and the wall made a lot of noise when the elevator was functioning (waking me up constantly during the night), the carpet was dusty and the bathroom was in desperate need of redoing. They should not call it hotel, and not charge more than 50 pounds per night. I believe even hostels would be more glamorous than this.

    The position is the only reason of being of this place. Stuff quite nice at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey a bit. Breakfast was 20 pound! So we didn't bother with that. No other complaints. Beware of the noisy bottle disposal across the road once a morning though.

    Bed and pillows were comfy, room was super clean, perfect for our 3 night stay, would stay longer. So quiet near a beautiful little Park. Near central and picadilly line walking distance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Grange White Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice helpful friendly staff we were able to store our suitcases whilst out shopping. We were upgraded to a better larger room, the facilities were very good nice products in the bathroom and tea/coffee facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bathroom floors are really slippy.

    The Beds are comfortable. We asked to stay the Main Hotel and we were put in the main hotel which was good. Staff were happy to help get a Taxi for us when leaving the Hotel. The street is quiet and its easy to get to sleep. Ask for a room overlooking the gardens for a great view. We didn't book a Breakfast but the service is Buffet style to suit everyone. every year when we stay in London we book this Hotel and will continue to its location if brilliant and the area is quiet. But within easy walking distance of bars, restaurants and Russell Square Tube.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff and excellent location in leafy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound insulation between floors wasn't so good - we could hear movements of the occupants of the room above us. Otherwise the room was quiet overlooking the back of the British Museum to rear.

    Friendly and helpful staff and excellent location in leafy area just off Russell Square -15 mins walk from Euston and again 15 mins to theatre (purpose of our visit) & 5 mins walk to Russell Square tube to connect to further parts of city. Lots of places around this area for breakfast (a lot cheaper than the hotel breakfast which wasn't included in the room rate)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.5
    The room was extremely small, little space in the wardrobe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, ease to get there and the park across the road, the bed and pillows were to die for.

    The room was extremely small, little space in the wardrobe and the television was inadequate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Hotel with a fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great little hotel in a fabulous location, 5 minutes walk from Russell Square tube and easy access to central London attractions. Area is beautiful and quiet, the hotel reception areas are clean and classic and the staff are friendly and helpful. The room was a decent size with very comfortable beds, only down side was that it was very warm, but the windows opened so not a real problem. The bar prices were also surprisingly reasonable for central London.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 22:30 on a Sunday evening. I had specifically booked this hotel because I had stayed in other Grange Hotels and had great experiences and I wanted a 3 bed room, not a pull-out sofa bed. The description of the room and photos showed 3 proper beds but when we arrived I found a double bed and a pull-out sofa bed with an awful metal frame and no mattress. When I enquirers about the discrepancy I was told "I'll just finish cashing up and sort it out". We also wanted something to eat and when I asked at reception I was shown a website of fast food places that will deliver to the hotel. I asked if there were any restaurants nearby that would still be serving food. I was told "I don't really know". Seeing as how we couldn't go to sleep because of the lack of the 3rd bed, we decided to take a short stroll to see what we could find. Within 2 blocks of the hotel we found a lot of restaurants with last orders at 1am. How can front desk at a hotel not know the surrounding area? Customer service by the night staff was completely unacceptable. Overall, the hotel is fairly run down and tired and it was not at all what I expected from a Grange Hotel.

    Not very much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Lovely boutique hotel right next to the British Museum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, quiet side street right next to British Museum. Comfy, large room, fresh air nd large windows looking out onto the back garden. I rate this an excellent "10", a great bargain for the money. Terrific walkable neighborhood with many restaurants, boutique shops and pubs to visit. Nice bar and restaurant downstairs In hotel, super helpful staff, easy access to anywhere in the city. Tube stops nearby, Russell Square 1/2 block away. I will be staying here again! Loved it!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a hair on my bed and a couple in the bath. Also TV guide on tv didn't work which made it tricky to find what is on (being picky though).

    Comfy bed, very friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Such good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really helpful. The bar was open 24/7 and the rooms were well kept with all the extras you would want from a hotel. The offer that I got from Booking.com was exceptionally good value for money, given the location (so close to Covent Garden) and there was a beautiful park a minute walk down the road. Compared with the other prices of other hotels in the same area, this four star hotel was amazing for the price I got.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    The room was small but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the price of the breakfast, and also when the person upstairs was having a shower the noise was horrendous thankfully it wasn't too early in the morning.

    The room was small but nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed for one night. Big room with bath and shower. Good selection of tea and coffee in the room. Comfortable beds and clean. Trouser press in room which I used. Staff were so helpfull!! Very quiet rd for London. Only thing is we couldn't figure out how to keep the window open as it kept sliding down and couldn't see a catch. But room was a nicer temperature anyway. Highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Ideal for the British Museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basement room would have felt very small for more than a single guest.

    Ideally situated for the British Museum, and an easy walk to the West End. 24hr reception useful. Bar adequate but loads of alternatives near by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    good location, nice interior, professional staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    thought breakfast would be included given the price. not enough power plugs in room for kettle and charger.

    good location, nice interior, professional staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    A very pleasant start to a lovely weekend .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As only stopping for one night , could find no dislikes.a very pleasant

    Well located , very clean , beds very comfortable . Well presented toiletries . Excellent range of complimentary tea and coffee . Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grange White Hall Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: