Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Grange Country Guest House (Non Smoking)

New Road, Burton Lazars, Melton Mowbray, LE14 2UU, United Kingdom

#2 of 8 hotels in Melton Mowbray

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 354 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, quirky, friendly and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was in corner of room but once you get used to that it’s fine and was a good shower.

    Beautiful views, lovely to have facilities for cooking in the room and breakfast supplied. Very comfortable bed. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and would definitely stay there again. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I am partially disabled I found the height of the shower cubicle to be too high for me. However, my husband said it was good.

    Beautiful building with lovely gardens at the back. The room was delightful, fitted out with high quality furniture and furnishings. A small kitchenette attached with a fridge and a small hob. Very useful. An excellent continental breakfast was also included. Best one I have had.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Peaceful, clean, calm and very nice little continental breakfast....my favourite yogurts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Gorgeous spot. Lovely lady working hard to run it but do her a big favour and keep her informed about your time of arrival! If you can’t get there call her and keep her informed. She is doing a brilliant job, and I will certainly revisit this lovely village and guest house........

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Fantastic setting with a great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    Excellent place to stay with a clean and comfy room with additional kitchenette complete with complimentary cereals, milk, bread, jam and butter and a couple of cakes too as well as the usual tea and coffee. There were even frying pans so you could cook your own breakfast in the morning if you had time, sadly we did not. The setting of the place is amazing with fantastic gardens, which you are welcome to walk around or have a picnic in with a great view. Would love to come back here again for a more leisureable short break so we could enjoy it more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    A love relaxing weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a great break. The bed was very comfy. and big! Everything was very clean and the 3/4 rooms we had were very spacious. We loved the breakfast choices and had plenty to eat!! This was our third visit and certainly not our last.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.2
    Once again a nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like, although if full, there would be inadequate parking.

    The self contained apartment was adequate and comfortable, with excellent views across the valley, local convenience store 1 mile away was even open on Sunday evening, very convenient. This was the third time I have stayed here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful house and huge garden backing onto fantastic countryside. Warm welcome and a lovely room with kitchen area and en suite. Situated in small village off the main road convenient for Rutland water, Melton Mowbray, Oakham and Stamford.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Great stay. xxx
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lovely welcome and a very comfortable room. Garden is beautiful to walk round. Kitchenette is a great bonus with fridge,cooker and microwave. Very quiet location about 2 miles from Melton Mowbray. Will stay again when working that way.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    First class, bit out of town but we walked into Melton Mowbray in 40 minutes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The place was first class. Gorgeous building with a huge garden overlooking the wolds. The idea of doing your own continental breakfast by providing everything in your room was perfect. Meant you can do it at a time to suit you. The kitchenette, although not used, was fab if you wanted to make a snack. Really could not fault it - met and exceeded all our requirements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant but quirky layout to room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchenette in bedroom was not expected. Thought breakfast would be in a dining room. Shower also in bedroom so if sharing no privacy. Toilet sink way too high. Discarded mattress in garden. No mirror in bedroom near socket to dry hair.

    Gardens and views. Quiet surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little dusty.

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast selection. Flexible check in, extended checkout as the room was not booked after my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    The room was well equipped and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem we had was a very unpleasant smell which became worse when the door and windows were closed. We finished up having the windows open throughout the night to try and lessen the smell.

    The room was well equipped and clean. Fantastic views out over countryside. Easy parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent just let down by the lack of internet in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet non existent in the yellow room despite booster being nearby. The boosters need to be updated. If I went to the top of the stairs I could get internet. It is irritating with no internet in the room.

    Lovely room well equipped. Great little kitchen bed and shower. Super views from bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    5.4
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was quite unfriendly my room was dusty and the kitchen sink taps had black mold dropping out of it. The curtains were old and had a musty smell. Said maid service everyday it's not at all. Ask the owner questions just was like didn't want to communicate. Would I stay again ... NO..

    The area was brilliant location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    8.8
    A lovely stay, hope to be back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet could flush better.

    It suited us to have the breakfast facility in the room. Comfortable beds, all the facilities we needed. In a good position to meet our needs, very quiet, beautiful views. Parking right outside the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent would recommend 😀👍
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the 3rd time we have stayed here it’s been excellent each time! The continental breakfast left in your room each day is very good. Beds comfy clean towels each day what more could you ask for 😀👍

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant, quiet, no Wi-Fi in room, lots of stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Second Floor Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't have Wi-Fi in our room No breakfast provided Many stairs to get up to the room

    Large bedroom, plus an additional tv /kitchenette room. Very clean Nice location, close to town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay in an individual property with a warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unable to regulate temperature on the radiator - it was a bit too warm.

    Facilities within the room. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful building in beautiful country side, with friendly guests an a simple room and facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm and comfortable. close to the venue required.

    I was a little disappointed at the facilities for breakfast. Also the shower could have been bettered if it was a power shower. Whilst 3 star, attention to these details would have helped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.2
    Warm, comfortable, and convenient amenities in the room for someone travelling on their own.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was useful having a kitchen in the room so that I didn't have to go out looking for somewhere to eat on my own. Breakfast available in room for when I wanted it. Very warm, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.1
    Uncomfortable sleep but a great breakfast to set you up for a busy day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The twin beds were very narrow and squeezed between built in wardrobes so every time you moved you hit yourself on them. The pillows sounded like they were filled with straw - so noisy!!! The room was very hot but it did not feel safe to open the window for ventilation as it opened straight onto the road in front of the hotel. Finally, the shower did not work at all and as we were leaving early we could not let the owners know.

    Croissants were actually brioche buns, but the breakfast was very, very generous and having a kitchenette is excellent, but a few basic utensils would be helpful, i. e. a kitchen knife and wooden spoon as there was only cutlery to cook with. Lady who welcomed us was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, comfortable, no frills stay at an affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a room at the front overlooking the road - very pleasant and quiet but I believe views may be nicer to the rear over the garden. Buffet breakfast is provided in the room - reasonable choice but not as nice as a restaurant/dining room facility.

    Very comfortable bed. Warm and fair sized quiet room. Facilities available for self catering - electric rings, kettle, fridge and cooking equipment - useful if on a budget/not wanting to go out for meals every night. Friendly owners and staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The warm welcome, lovely comfy bed & continental breakfast provided in kitchenette in room which meant I didn’t miss my breakfast even though I had an early start!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location, interesting old building, great if you have a car but otherwise a bit cut off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Second Floor Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no phone in the room to enable me to ring reception, which would have been handy as I was on the top floor. The hairdryer didn't work, but the owner quickly replaced it for me. The mirror over the bathroom basin is too low for adults, due to the slope of the ceiling above it, so another mirror placed above the towel rail would be nice. Several flies appeared in the room now and then, but they did not come from outside as I barely had the windows open (just to air the room each morning, as it was very cold). No flies came in when I opened the window to air the room, but they mysteriously appeared later, so I believe there is a colony of flies living in the eaves of the building which kept finding a way into the room. I would have liked to explain this to the owner direct but didn't get the chance before I left.

    The top floor apartment was spacious and had the most amazing view to the huge garden. At night the place was incredibly peaceful and I could barely hear any sound from the other rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was smart and modern.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    6.3
    Warm, hot water, lovely setting but flat in no way suitable for elderly, small children or mobility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very high step up and steep stairs to appartment. Very basic . cupboard door fell off in my hand. Settee uncomfortable. Was expecting breakfast as in the main house bedrooms where we stayed before. Also steps within flat, to bedrooms and toilet. Not advertised as unsuitable for elderly or people with any mobility problems.

    In a lovely location. Beds comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed from the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tired decoration, smell when entering room.Uncomfy sofa Dirty light pulls broken toilet seat which pinched leg and left large bruise.Never saw owners older lady gave us keys when we arrived as they were out.These issues have all been raised in previous reviews. This was room 5 pink room. Could be a nice room with a little TLC and attention to detail.The pink cover over the bed had certainly seen better days all giving to this tired feel of the room.The en suite the same with peeling lining paper and awful fittings which were covered in paint. Wouldn't take much to tile it all and replace broken holey tiles where other things had once been fitted.

    Comfy bed lovely views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money - would definately stay there again. Bring your own fan!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a good temperature because the heating wasn't working - even so, I needed the window open all night! My colleague's room was unbearable - so hot!!

    It was great that there were basic self-catering facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    Just a short break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very squeaky floorboards from the room above very early in the morning

    The compact kitchenette Breakfast was included The room was just right for a couple of days away with my mum

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    8.8
    A friendly homely and welcoming guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed the independence of having the kitchenette area so we could prepare our food when we wanted. Everything was supplied and very organised. Very homely and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    We were only there for a very short ime but was an enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As the photo of the guest house was taken from the rear of the property and it was dark when we arrived it was a little difficult to locate.

    Nicely furnished - very comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    10
    Excellent self-catering accommodation. We would use it again if we were ever in that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were totally happy with our stay. Nothing bothered us at all.

    A great self catering set-up in a lovely clean room. Wonderful back garden which we would have used if it had been summer. Hosts were very welcoming and helpful with cases etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    Quiet accommodation, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Weak shower, but goes very hot if desired. My preference is for a more powerful shower. Nothing else negative to mention

    Exceptionally quiet location and totally suited our needs for the evening we stayed. Great value, warm and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is good but you need to book a taxi early for going out in the evening.

    I loved the kitchenette in the room, especially fresh milk in the fridge for making hot drinks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    6.7
    Never again, we'll drive on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower ran very cold or just cold, no warm, no hot, no good - suspect thermostat was jammed. Hand towels smelled cheesy, probably not properly dried. Bed was a regular double and the sheets smelled so strongly of fabric conditioner it was nauseating.

    It was in the right place on our route

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    9.6
    Overall, a nice B&B.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot; even with the heater turned off & the window open, too hot. If you like your room hot - ideal!

    The hotel was quiet & convenient - overall nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    6.7
    We needed an inexpensive room for the night and that's what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wash basin wasn't in the bathroom and the toilet seat was very loose. Tried to speak to staff at check out but gave up as no-one answered the bell.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a few cobwebs but not enough for us to feel the need to complain.

    The yellow room was really nice, and value for money. We couldn't get the full use, of the balcony as the weather was horrible - Obviously not the hotel fault! The bed was also VERY comfy, struggled to get out of it in the morning ! :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    Friendly people and peaceful place
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly owners,we were staying there for a funeral and the owner let us have our rooms two hours early so we could shower and change after a long trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    10
    Wouldn't hesitate to book again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was sooo comfortable that I was late getting up both mornings! Loved the kitchenette so that I could cook a 'ready' meal and watch 'Strictly' after a hard day at a dressage competition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    We will be back and will recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Having visited the Grange earlier this year, we returned and everything was excellent as before. Wonderful countryside views from our bedroom windows made us feel at home. The owners and staff were so welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    6.7
    Peaceful location in somewhere that with a few tweaks would have been perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have marked this as fair rather than good as it was inconsistent. No hot food but continental breakfast provided. No two days the same re making up of room, always something not done. We took our own milk and the one they left in fridge was 3 days out of date when we left. Lack of detail in finishing i.e. seems bathroom recently redone but evidence of shortcuts as wood not rubbed down leaving rough edges. Heating depended on whether owner remembered to turn it on! Insufficient information provided re what was available before we went so took stuff with us which was unnecessary.

    View from room was good. Nice and peaceful with easily accessible access to main routes

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    10
    Would definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor upstairs wad exceedingly creaky.during the late afternoon it sounded like furniture was being moved and we could hear every step.

    Bedlinen was superb. Really highbthreadcoynt and really crisp and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable and good value , will rebook if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water power in the shower was a little weak.

    The warm welcome and the views out of the windows. It was a quiet location which is important to us. Breakfast was provided in the room but there was suitable space for eating it . If staying longer there were cooking facilities and a fridge in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Quiet, clean and comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mobile reception not good. Also, a tray to use would have been useful, but otherwise had everything I needed.

    Quiet, clean and comfortable room. Housekeeper friendly and helpful. Breakfast simple but plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower room and bed area was on the small side but perfectly adequate for a one night stop.

    A mini kitchenette was well stocked with fresh milk, bread etc.. Very friendly owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.5
    Surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surroundings I was kindly given a pint of milk because I had not realised milk and breakfast were not provided in the basic price. self catering also means remembering to buy your own salt and pepper.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    9.6
    Tranquil stay, down a quite country lane, with lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen equipment could have been better quality and there could have been more choice with regard to fruit juices and teas, and the instant coffee could also have been better quality. Pepper and salt would have been useful. The bathroom and shower room liquid soap was not particularly classy. I don't know how to use a microwave: there were no instructions.

    Lovely large, comfortable double bed, cotton sheets, with many pillows, in an equally lovely room, overlooking a beautiful, well-tended garden and gorgeous views. All 14 rooms have cooking facilities with a microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge, sink, breakfast materials, fresh milk, bread and butter, yoghurts, fruit juice, pain au chocolate, coffee and tea, jams, honey etc. No noise from neighbours. Very very good value. Charming helpful Manager!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay in Melton Mobray
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the little breakfast area as I was able to eat at 3.45am before an event without bothering anyone else. Only wish I could have stayed longer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    9.2
    We'll be back definitely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I can say that disappointed my hubby was there is no cooked breakfast on offer,but not me there is plenty of choice in the breakfast bar in the room to fill you up.

    Just outside Melton,the guest house is great value,it's very clean,lovely rooms,garden is just beautiful,highly recommend to anyone wanting a nice peaceful place to rest your head.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing.

    studio we had was very good, and well furnished. Continental type breakfast supplied was more than adequate.friendly meeting upon arriving , and constant care from manager throughout our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    A gem in the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Second Floor Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The location was excellent, set in a small village which was very quiet. Good car parking and staff very friendly. Top floor apartment, bigger than expected with large flat screen TV with good reception. Bed was king size and comfortable and good views out into the garden and beyond. The hotel was very quiet and really didn't hear other guests even though the hotel was full.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    Loved it....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Second Floor Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in the penthouse fabulous views of the magnificent garden and fields..very comfortable apartment,everything we needed..would definitely book again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    6.7
    Room misrepresented so avoid room 4 referred to as 'the blue room'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This stay looked very impressive on the website but sadly the room we stayed in was awful. The hot water in the bathroom was scaldingly hot to such a degree that we didn't risk having a shower and anyone with any mobility difficulties would have been at risk due to the height of the shower floor. The beds were in danger of collapsing, the tiling in the bathroom was the worst I have ever seen, the very small kitchen area in the bedroom had seen better days with a fridge that made ridiculous noises all night. Within the room there were no drawers and the 'wardrobe' was a cupboard that housed iron, ironing board, fan, and plug in radiator leaving very limited space for any clothing. Apparently this is the only twin bedded room in the accommodation and was misrepresented in the website presentation. In my view it should be avoided at all cost. In fairness I have no comment to make on other rooms as I did not have access to them and they may well be correctly represented. Breakfast was very limited but again in fairness it was indicated that it was a simple breakfast so if anyone wants access to a reasonable breakfast i wouldn't recommend this B&B.

    Beautiful gardens and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay for access to Melton Mowbray
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there wasn't anything we didn't like.

    everything you needed was provided in the room, breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful, would recommend for a stay , the gardens were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    4.6
    Oh dear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stair to the rooms is steep with only one handrail and worn/loose carpet (each vertical tread has holes ... an accident waiting to happen). The fabric headboards of the beds in our room were badly stained. The cupboard in the kitchen area is the outer case of a fridge, and the actual fridge was in dire need of defrosting. Breakfast is not delivered to the room so much as left there the day before (sliced bread in a plastic box in the fridge, instant coffee, cereal, long life croissant, but real milk) The piece de resistance, however, is the bathroom. There were dirt trap gaps in the tiling and door surround and there was a cracked floor tile by the lavatory. The silicon sealant from the windowsill tiles dangled floorwards. The showers recess was disgraceful - so badly fitted it would be very difficult to keep clean, even if anybody tried! You get the picture...

    There is a lovely big garden and stunning views across the surrounding countryside from the front of the house. Unfortunately, our room was at the back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable, relaxing and friendly, including the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like but what I would do on another visit, which is very probable, I would book a room with the garden view if we was to spend more time there.

    Made welcome on arrival, the little poodle pet dog was adorable! Jude was friendly, approachable and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble. I spoke with the Gentleman owner who was informative of the area and gave good advice on the markets in the area. The garden at the house was very pleasant and relaxing if you did not want to go out. It was nice to have continental breakfast in your room which meant you could eat breakfast at leisure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    9.6
    Ideal place to unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful Grounds. Fantastic view across the valley. Delightful owners and staff. Bed was incredibly comfortable, proper large bathroom containing a bath ! Great kitchen with all necessary facilities. Whilst very quiet and peaceful we were only five minutes away from Melton. Can thoroughly recommend the Tuesday market.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    10
    The property was conveniently located to enable travel to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can honestly say there was nothing we didnt like - all we needed was there - and whilst the room was quite small it met all our needs.

    The property was conveniently located to enable travel to the North and South of Melton Mowbray and only a 15 mins away from the centre of the town. The peace and quiet of the guest house The views of the country side from the room windows were stunning as were the gardens The variety and the good quality as well as the quantity of the breakfast of the breakfast offerings were superb

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    3.8
    Don't do it!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was dirty, it's is really self catering with breakfast put in fridge night before Tiny room in total need of renovation. No areas to relax out of the room . Would not stay again. Owners very nice people, could be very nice with a huge input of funds

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    7.5
    On arrival I was greeted by a lovely lady who quickly put me...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I noticed that the lamp shades in the room hadn't been clean for several weeks they were full of dust and when I went for a shower the bath wasn't clean ant that put me off having a shower.

    On arrival I was greeted by a lovely lady who quickly put me to my ease and was very helpful. . The view was lovely from my room and the room was a good size

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing, would not stay again, would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not as clean as it should be, extractor fan in kitchen was filthy, the hob rings smoked when used, due to grease. Only basic kitchen equipment, no scissors, No salt and pepper, no kitchen hand towel or soap. Uncomfortable bar stool eating arrangements, no sofa to sit together. No hair dryer, I did ask, she was going to see if she had a spare one, never came back to me, I borrowed one from my daughter. No brush pan and brush, no fruit bowl or jug to make gravy had to buy one. No cleaning cloths or jiff. Kitchen and dining room windows too high to open without a chair. Could not connect to WiFi. No hooks in bathroom for towels or clothes. No mats for drinks or plates. Not very good customer service. Bottom sheet on bed was very worn and rough, pillows very soft, no choice of firm pillows. Chest of drawers very poor quality. Radiator did not work in the bedroom, the valve had seized up. No anti slip shower mat, no toilet roll holder. No conditioner for washing machine, just enough powder, in a dish for about one load.

    Very little would not stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    10
    The Grange - Quality, value and the best place to be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not found anything I could complain about!

    I stayed at the Grange as I was looking for good value, high quality accommodation as I was starting a new job in Melton Mowbray (2 miles away). This place ticks all the boxes, the room was spacious, extremely well appointed and excellent value for money. The staff could not have been more helpful, not only with the booking, but have provided advice on where to go for food, drink and even a better route to my new place of work. The village is extremely quaint and I have enjoyed walks every evening admiring the views, indeed the view from the hotel garden is to die for. I can imagine some fantastic Summer parties on the highly manicured lawns. Would I recommend to others, yes! I have already booked the next 4 weeks, such is my confidence that I have found THE place to stay in this area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    4.6
    Unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room I am sorry to say was quite poor. There was a large gap around the entrance door to the room. The heating was so high that we had to manually turn it off and leave a window open for a few hours before it was at a comfortable level. The bathroom was verycramped and the toilet seat was not fitted correctly so when you say down, it slipped left and right. The bedroom itself was also quite cramped but the worst thing was the cobwebs that covered a majority of the upper walls and in conjunction with a pest control plug was quite off putting. I would be unable to recommend this hotel / lodge to any friends or acquaintances.

    The location was good and had great views over the countryside and the village was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor shower height over bath,but was acceptable.

    Large rooms,view from other room when we stayed last time was superb.Staff very friendly,accommodation was self catering.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    9.2
    A great place; friendly and very helpful staff; good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry, the croissant wasn't one (I had been looking forward to it) but a pain au chocolat, not the same thing at all. The bathroom sink was large but had an annoying and cold tile section in front of it; you should be able to lean over the sink directly, not have to stretch and to have the cold edge touching your bare flesh or forcing water to splash over you if you're short. Room was a bit cold, especially as it was really cold outside, particularly at night

    Great idea to have a self-contained room with breakfast provided so you are independent, even to possibly being able to cook simple meals. Bed comfortable enough (though the whole room would not really be suitable for two people - a bit of a squash). Great view of the gardens and the lovely countryside, deceptive as the front looks like an ordinary residential property in any road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place. Great welcome. Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of the softener on the bedsheets was overpowering. A little less would be great!

    Super friendly welcome. Great idea to have breakfast in the room, all provided the night before.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    8.3
    Our two night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot waterto kitchenette tap Shower? Extremely poor water flow and water only Just warm enough. No hot water! Pictures on the web site showed a lovely garden view which was why we booked this accomodation. I was quite disappointed that our room looked out over the road especially when beyond the garden was a lovely landscape. someone in another room burnt their toast and our smoke alarm went off when the wife was in the shower!

    Friendly staff. Thought the continental breakfast was well organised. Everything was supplied for breakfast in your room. The room was clean and beds very soft but were comfortable and didnt cause us back ache! Lack of drawers but only an issue for a long stay. Free wi-if was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    10
    Welcoming and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.....not even the weather!

    Very clean and well presented, balcony was a bonus as was the view. Bed was large and very comfortable, bathroom facilities were excellent. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. The staff were friendly and welcoming and also very good at their job because no faults what so ever. Definitely will recommend!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    5.8
    Okay if you don't mind roasting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating was turned up full blast and couldn't be turned down or off in the room. This made the room uncomfortably hot and we had to keep the window wide open the whole time. Very creaky floorboards in kitchenette area.

    Kitchenette facility. Bed fine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    10
    A Haven of Peace and Tranquility with Lots to do!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    We loved everything about this place - the views from the room, the breakfast bar with fridge, microwave and hob; the friendliness of Jude, the manager, and the silence.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    10
    Good value, fantastic setting, looking to come back again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike about this stay!

    Very friendly staff, and we were up-graded to the balcony room. What a wonderful view to wake up to in the morning. Would book again without a second thought.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2017

    10
    Amazing location in a quiet little village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Second Floor Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving

    Loved everything about the guest house, staff amazing, friendly and welcoming. Nothing was to much trouble for them. Definitely will be going back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    8.8
    A country stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower could be improved in the gold room where we stayed, poor flow and fluctuated between too hot and cold.

    Everyone was friendly and helpful it was quiet and well placed for our visit to Melton Mowbray.plenty of breakfast items in the room to suit yourselves.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very hot had to have fan on continuously we had no heating on but the lady did explain room was near the main boiler so he did get warm that's why the fan was available to use ! Would be terrible Summer months!!!!

    Every thing was replenished with the continental breakfast each day and plentiful 😀Nice clean towels each day 👍

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    10
    A weekend at Burton Lazars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!!

    The welcome and the facilities were above my expectation. This was the first time we had stayed in this type of accommodation and it was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: