Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grant Arms Hotel 3 stars

25 The Square,, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3HF, United Kingdom

#18 of 24 hotels in Grantown on Spey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Telephone outside lift on floor two, covered in dust, need to be a bit more aware of issues like this.

    Breakfast was very good, dinner good a bit basic, but ok. Really think there should be a dress code in restaurant at dinner, t.shirts scruffy shorts and trainers worn by a couple of guests not acceptable in my view. On the whole hotels was good staff very good, one barman needs to learn his prices was overcharged twice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A credit to Scottish hotels in general, lovely setting, fantastic staff and a sense of being in a proper traditional hotel . My dining experience was outstanding the quality of the locally sourced food and service was fantastic. Breakfast was superb, it was the best porridge I’ve had in 10 years of working in Scotland and the cooked breakfast was superb too .. Lovely well equipped room with en suite with a bath too , I can’t say enough about how great this hotel is and I would thoroughly recommend that if anyone is in Grantown on Spey - stay here !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the evening meal menus were rather too fancy for our pallet.

    the breakfasts were very good & plenty to choose from the bedrooms were very clean & comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only wish I could have stayed longer!

    Booked a single b and b rate so wasn't expecting the lovely spacious double I was given. Good quality furnishings. Toiletries proper brand and flannels. Didn't have to fiddle with heating as set at ambient temp. Best of all the fact that the BW and W group on site. Attended talk by Iolo Williams and took advantage of the free guided walk around the woods. Simon was so knowledgeable and I saw my first red squirrels!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Stayed here before, very good food and a good selection of whisky and gin in the bar. Great place to stay if you are into wildlife watching with the "club room" Comfortable and friendly hotel - will definitely be back !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar closed early seemed to close early both nights we were there which were a Friday and Saturday. We were woken up twice to see if we wanted to have breakfast before they stopped serving in 15 minutes. If we haven't made breakfast by 9:45 then I don't think we'll be coming. The cleaner knocked on the door to check if we vacated the room at 9:45 so she could clean. The elevator was in one section of the building and then we had to leave and carry our cases up and down stairs to make it to our room. As we were in an older part of the building the hot water took quite a while to make it to us. There was a sign posted so we were aware to wait

    I liked the location. It was at the end of the town and a perfect location for the event we were there to attend. There was an elevator which most older hotels do not have. The front desk called to see if we would be taking in breakfast both mornings. I would rather sleep than eat so skipped the breakfast both days. The hotel has potential.....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more chicken dishes on the menu, there was one - Thai Chicken which was excellent, but would have liked to have seen at least another chicken dish, not all guests are into game meat etc

    Comfortable and cosy hotel with excellent food and very nice staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the restaurant (too bright) and background music. This was not too much of a problem though as I had no trouble arranging for my dinner to be served in the bar area.

    The staff were very friendly and cheerful and the reception area was pleasant and comfortable. Perfect for spending time with a drink and the paper. The food was good. Substantial breakfast and a dinner menu with plenty of choice and daily changes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel public rooms are very spacious but unless they are full, the hotel lacks some atmosphere. Cocktail bar needs some imaginative work - lacks atmosphere. Live music perhaps?

    We had dinner and breakfast, both were very good Scottish fare. Service was friendly and efficient and surroundings comfortable and pleasant. Newly refurbished en-suite with quality fittings. A typical good quality highland hotel. Good coffee on offer free throughout the day and evening in the bar. Free street parking outside the door (first come first served).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for shower or bath in the evening of Oct 24th in room 205. Very poor flow in hot tap and none in shower. Recovered in the morning. Hotel are trying to fix this. Expensive room if using double for single occupancy-£150

    Comfortable, clean, excellent staff and outstanding evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not comfortable. Breakfast was only okay. Few choices.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was nice, good size. Parking was terrific, right in front of the hotel. Location is quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no information booklet in the room (or elsewhere in the hotel) detailing other events, restaurants in the area.

    Great location, spotlessly clean rooms, pleasant staff. If you're into birdwatching it's probably the nearest thing to paradise. The birdwatching fraternity produces a daily 'what's on' leaflet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way of regulating heat in bedroom

    Relaxed atmosphere in the bar/lounge area. Spacious dining room Free wifi Good standard of food in restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to report

    Friendly atmosphere, good location for what we wanted to do and helpful staff. Especially in the bar. Very helpful. Dinner was nice and good value. Super breakfast. Well beyond expectations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find a fault or improvement

    Best Hotel breakfast I have had for a long time, fresh, hot, couldn't ask for anything else , and the Breakfast staff, in particular the supervisor were all just lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a similar hotel of a similar age to the one I had stayed at in Perth the previous night but noticeably more expensive (both B and B and dinner).

    The staff were welcoming and there was easy parking. The location was central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food superb, lovely large room, very clean, incredibly helpful staff. Very pet friendly. Second time staying there in four weeks and will be returning. Cannot stress enough how good the food was

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad choice of carpet colour in main walking areas and bedroom which were pretty stained in places making it feel a little un clean actually

    The booking went without any dramas

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was slightly uncomfortable, but apart from that all was good.

    The staff were very friendly and very accommodating. Right from the beginning they made us feel at home. The hotel was situated in a nice village with shops, pubs, restaurants walking distance. Rooms were very clean and had a nice traditional feel to them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent warm room; perfectly quiet; staff welcoming; dinner excellent value and good cooking of fish, vegetables and sauces. A very good traditional breakfast choice with very good ingredients. Also a reasonable continental selection available, with fruit mixtures and yoghurts. The public spaces are comfortable and pleasantly laid out so that you may be as private of as sociable with other guests as you like. Other guests tend to be interesting, moderate and well-mannered folk with an interest in wildlife.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the food and the staff in the restaurant could definitely be improved. (The rest of the staff was great though).

    Nice room and good location. Very nice whisky bar, and a free laundry for guests that came in handy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bar prices to high compared to local bars as a result we didn't use it. Shame as bar and lounge are very cosy.

    Staff fantastic, breakfast great top notch local product.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could there be at least 1 feather pillow in each room

    The standard of the food was excellent and beautifully presented. Breakfast buffet very extensive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was a wild party raging in the room nextdoor that went until 4 am complete with techno music and kids hanging out on the fire escape out the window. It did not seem like the place for a teen party, so we were very surprised. Kept the entire family up all night.

    The room was excellent and we loved the food in the restaurant. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoyed my stay. I was told the lift was traditional, it's the old style with gates and I think it just adds to the style. The whole hotel was clean and fresh and staff very friendly. I would definatly stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the bed was really small - comfy, but small.

    The staff were really friendly and welcoming and they were so relaxed about us bringing our dog into the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely rude and unprofessional talking about guests behind their backs, within earshot and leaving areas unattended. At times their were no Service

    The surrounding area and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent could not have asked for better, room clean and well kept. Accepted the dog into the hotel as though it were there own, really nice to see. Restaurant a little limited on choice, but the quality and service were excellent. Breakfast enough to feed an" army"

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No musical entertainment in the area.

    Very comfortable bedroom. Good hospitality tray in room. Breakfast excellent. First time I've had a buffet breakfast which was actually hot and plates were hot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you sell an array of certain spirits like Gin, the bar staff should know what garnish goes with each gin and also keep those garnishes. GAH did neither. No soft closures on the room doors, lots of doors slamming closed. Very old "service type" lift with sliding doors, used once and not again.

    Location was spot on and breakfast was good offering something for everyone. Wifi connection was good and consistent. I also liked that we got the same table in the restaurant for the duration of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had such a nice stay at the Grant Arms, we had booked ahead through booking.com on 2 separate bookings, but we were given the same room for the duration of our stay, and close to our daughter too. The manager and staff in the restaurant were all so friendly and helpful, and my vegan daughter even had her own customised dinner menu each evening. At breakfast she got her non-dairy milk already put on the table for her. Plenty of choice at breakfast for us all, the the bowl of berries was especially delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although my wife disagreed with me, I felt the cereal was off and so was the milk at breakfast time. It is very difficult to get plain fair at meal times in hotels and this hotel was no exception. If like me you have a medical condition eating out can be a challenge so the range of meals did not suit me and we ate outwith the hotel.

    The décor in the hotel was fresh and it was a pleasant atmosphere. Staff were helpful and it was a pleasant change instead of standing at a machine making your own toast as so often is the case in hotels at breakfast time, the service was of a high standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could find nothing to fault the hotel.Each time we go never a problem.

    Very friendly staff food fantastic especially the breakfast best we have had even better than five star hotels compliments to the chef.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shocking to find such a lovely hotel serving what tasted like orange squash at breakfast (calling it orange juice). Coffee was weak but tolerable when drunk black. Such poor quality products give a very negative impression. Rest of breakfast was ok.

    Amazing resources for birdwatchers and those interested in nature. Very friendly and efficient staff Having a window in our bedroom and bathroom. Comfy beds and good quality, clean linens

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very comfy and friendly. The wildlife room was fantastic with lots of useful info and inspiring photos. Guides were available during breakfast to give free advice on where to go for best wildlife walks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit traditional in style for us but which no doubt suited the many foreign guests.

    Great location on town square. Offers really interesting nature-watching holidays with expert and we'll known guides.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the food was exceptional I had the same meal three night on the trot ( it was that good ) the staff were pleasant and helpful and kevin in the bar was friendly and offered me a fantastic selection of Gins. the breakfast was well worth the extra money and a large selection available. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price I paid hard to argue with what's on offer although breakfast could be improved by providing more than one fresh fruit, 'real' coffee and the ability to cook toast yourself - having cold pre-cut toast brought out once seated isn't particularly appetising. Given the quality of breakfast offerings I chose to eat elsewhere for dinner.

    Stayed here for several nights whilst travelling on a small group tour of Speyside whisky distilleries having booked my accommodation independently. Seems to be the 'go to' for bird & nature enthusiasts- a daily "Chirp" newsletter is provided at breakfast, tours & talks advertised in reception etc. Room was reasonably basic but comfortable considering I was really only there to sleep: strong wifi, tiny shower but strong hot water, space for luggage etc. I didn't utilise hotel facilities but staff were friendly and helpful at check in/out and breakfast. Breakfast was included in my stay - pretty basic but I appreciated the eggs cooked to order.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Twin beds in room were so uncomfortable was impossible to get a proper sleep ! Wallpaper hanging off wall. ! Trickle of water from shower ! Hole in Bath rim ! Night porter was abusive as we could not get key to work in front door and we were requiring assistance as wife suffers from epilepsy and had a seizure . He totally refused any kind of help to assist her to her room. Thankfully other residents helped ! On check out no one asked if we had enjoyed our stay and only took keys back and said thank you !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant in the hotel was overpriced and aside from one main dish of venison the food was uninspiring, especially the salads which were wilted and overdressed.

    Location was convenient. Venison was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    variety of menu and changed each night and questions answered and solved quickly.excellent for bird watching extra lectures and films an added bonus along with experts Sue and John.All staff were extremely obliging and

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was in the annex which meant that I couldn't use the lift to get my heavy fishing luggage to the room. At my age it was a struggle up the stairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift or porter. Very long walk to the room with three flights of stairs.

    Immaculate and tasteful furnishings. Interesting history well portrayed and excellent wildlife pictures. Great ambience. Quality local food and whiskies!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tay side is in a small village with nice walks, fishing, and an interesting historic mill. It is not the place for anyone needing excitement, entertainment, or shopping. So we loved it. The library where you can borrow and exchange books was an added treat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While our bedroom on the third floor was adequate for an overnight stay, it was small, and we were grateful to have small bags with us. Bathroom was beautifully refurbed but again, small. If we were big people, then sitting on the toilet could have been a challenge.!

    Helpful friendly staff. A very nice dinner and a perfectly cooked breakfast with plenty of choice. Great wifi in room and plenty of tea, coffee and shortbread etc on our tray.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner and breakfast a bit expensive.

    Very comfortable. Centre for bird watching and nature activities - lots of good information on what to see and do - would have liked to stay longer to take advantage of it! Convenient location in centre of town - we ate in restaurant which was very good but there seemed to be plenty of other dining options nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the staff, especially some foreigners, were very rude & totally unable to accomodate differences to their normal routine! Also, one of my party had to complain about the lack of cleanliness to her room!

    Some of the staff were excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bar closed almost an hour early as barman had to leave. Nobody else was available to keep it open. A shame for us and a loss of revenue for the hotel as there were quite a few residents looking for a drink.

    Staff were fab, food was terrific, location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could be a problem for the less able bodied due to stairs to the upper floors.

    The most impressive points are the superb attention of the restaurant staff. The excellent food. On the day I was there a superb beer was available - Cairngorm "Trade Winds" on tap. A variety of main street establishments provide alternative eating and drinking places. There was a very good set-up available for the bird watching afficionados.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really think of anything!

    Everything about the hotel was great, the staff were really helpful and friendly and the BWWC people were really helpful. Food was excellent at all times

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little worn and squeaky. If you need accessibility, this is an older building with steps on various floors. Parking is off the main road, but not in a parking lot.

    The bathroom is very spacious in the single room in the main building, almost the same size as the room. I stayed on in the main building, facing the street. I thought as I settled in that I would be bothered by the street noise, but the town is so quite that I never noticed it when I slept. There is free washer and dryer for your clothes after a long day outside, as well as boot washes. The staff were very attentive to questions. Nice big bathtub and shower, and I treated myself to a hot bath after a day in the cold Scottish weather. I met many fellow travelers who return year after year. This is noticeable in the mornings at breakfast, which is served until 10am. I was pleasantly surprised that my booking quote through this site included full breakfast (both cooked and cold). I had cream tea in the bar/cafe, which is a cozy space to unwind with games. The location is wonderful with a smaller town feel than the touristy Aviemore. One day I took at short hike to the river Spry and a trail through town. As a solo traveler I felt very safe, both in the hotel and around town. The character of the hotel is the strongest suit, and while some may see it as a bit dated, but I soaked it in as authentically a part of the area. My favorite part was the classic French lift. I was ready for some 20th literary character like Miss Marple to strike up a conversation with me over tea.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we liked everything about the hotel and staff

    staff were excellent. first bedroom was not so good as double bed was very small. We were moved for our 2nd night and it was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was amazingly spacious and warm but able to cool it down. Felt very welcome here and "at home" Food was delicious and service too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked on line . There were only 2 expensive rooms available yet the hotel didn't seem to be that full !

    It was our second visit. We felt comfortable and at home. I

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the charge for a dog was £20. I booked online and there was no mention of the cost only that there MAY be a charge for pets. She slept in the car. I also stated that I would be bringing a dog but this never got through to the hotel.

    The whole atmosphere of the hotel. My room was excellent and very comfortable. The food was ok, nothing exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room location was on the third floor despite a member of staff saying that the hotel was not busy at the time. The bathroom was very clean but cramped with a very poor over-the-bath shower. The booking process online could have been clearer as we ended up with breakfast not included (probably my fault but it happened).

    The food at dinner was excellent although limited in choice particularly for someone who has to follow a strict (and necessary) gluten-free diet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a grand building with a long history and I think some other reviews have been a bit unkind. Yes, the occasional floorboard might squeak but this is more than compensated by the mellow ambience, pleasant staff and onsite owner. Although I had a room facing the main road it was quiet and I slept undisturbed. There was a good choice at breakfast and an individual sheet giving the days national headlines and local tourist options.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spacious room. Added bonus of self laundry facilities and parking. Lovely dinner and coffee after. What stood out was the immaculate room and bathroom. We had a lovely view. Restaurant staff were very friendly and food was superb. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not one single thing we didn't like.

    The Hotel catered for everything and we couldn't ask for more, great setting,lovely interior,very clean, staff very helpful,great food and our dogs loved the garden and the welcome goodies on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was easy to see why the cafe bar was empty every evening. £10.50 for a pint of beer and a glass of wine is excessive compared to all the other establishments in Grantown. It was a shame because we would have stayed at the hotel for our meal and drinks every night instead of going elsewhere.

    The room was big and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't sleep the first night because of rattling Windows . The toilet was also not clean. The next morning I asked if we could have another room which we got and was great. When I was telling the receptionist about our problem with our room she started to speak in Polish to one of the staff which was very rude which I told her.

    Food was excellent breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like at this hotel.

    The room was of good size and the bed very comfortable. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel on both days and the quality was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are nice walks from the hotel, through the woods and down to the river. The hotel was busy but it was very quiet at night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat dated style, more in-keeping with country hotel style than simply being in need of upgrade

    Very comfortable, spacious room and end suite. Ample cupboard space

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lighting in the bathroom was very low which did not suit my partially sighted wife. Very slow to build up to what seemed to be full power

    all you could ask for the breakfast buffet.A wide ranging choice for dinner which met all the requirements. excellent meals. A wonderful location to explore the north and east of Scotland

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for two nights my room was not serviced very well bed was made but bathroom was not touched. Tea cups not washed. Not the end of the world still enjoyed my stay.

    Breakfast was one of the best I've had, i use hotel on a regular bases this on real dose stand out as Google value. Staff were all very help full.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet bathroom had no facilities to store Toilet Bags/Toiletries & wash hand basin was extremely low in the room we were in due to placement at the window.

    Excellent location, Good Food in Restaurant, Clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting bags through the revolving door at the front a little tricky.

    Very comfortable stay in a traditional large hotel. Staff were helpful and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom had shower cubicle next to the toilet so anyone rather cuddly would have a bit of squeeze between the cubicle and toilet seat. breakfast put in hot trays, self service. We got there at 7am so it was freshly made, just our preference to have it cooked to order.

    good location, nice looking hotel, paint work bit tired on the stairs but that didn't matter as the rooms were spacious, beds comfy, room warm, good wifi, staff friendly at reception and at breakfast. lots going on in the hotel for bird twitchers. nice ambience about the place. no noisy revellers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could do with a brighter light in the bathroom probably over the wash basin

    We had a quiet room which was comfortable and clean, the bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom--lovely.Enjoyed reading the information re wildlife sightings.Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite dated and despite emailing in advance to say I was vegan, and getting a response to say this was fine, there were no provisions made for me at breakfast, so I just had fruit salad.

    The hotel offer a free bird watching walking tour to the nearby forest, which was really great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had minimal facilities relating to room cost.

    The layout of the dining room,distance between tables and size of table especially for two diners was very good.Excellent and well presented buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because the weather was quite warm when we stayed, we had the windows open overnight. Although it is a non-smoking hotel, we had a problem with smoke drifting into our room from the courtyard below. I provided this feedback directly to hotel staff on our departure.

    The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The facilities for people interested in local wildlife were exceptional. The free tea and coffee after dinner was an unexpected bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would like to have had just a bar meal, rather than a full three course meal in the restaurant, but unfortunately the bar wasn't doing meals the night we stayed, which meant we had to go out and eat.

    I liked everything. Only there for one night, but disappointed we didn't book it for two nights. The breakfast was excellent, the restaurant and the restaurant staff excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Excellent all round especially good for anyone interested in birds and wildlife. Good facilities, a great historical hotel. good food and free coffee lounge

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Definitely recommend.

    Great location, in centre of town. Lovely big room and bed. Great breakfast! Loved the selection of Scottish gins as well as whisky.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grant Arms Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: