Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grasmere House Hotel 3 stars

70 Harnham Road, Salisbury, SP2 8JN, United Kingdom

#24 of 26 B&Bs and Inns in Salisbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1082 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, a picturesque short walk to The Close and Salisbury Cathedral and Town Center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The large flat bed was quite hard and uncomfortable, compared to any other places I stayed during my trip. 116 GBP or the equivalent of about $200 for one night for i person was a higher price for me to pay than other accommodations.

    The Reception Staff were wonderful and welcoming, they even consented to storing my friend's luggage (who were booked at The Three Crowns nearby where check-in was only between 5 - 8 pm and they were going to be on a 5 hour walking tour of Stonehenge until about 8:30 pm). My room was large and on the ground floor. The dinner was good, with kitchen staff asking "What would you like in your salad?" and making it up special order and very fresh! Breakfast was delicious! The best I had during my 3 week trip around England and Scotland. The Kitchen Manager, Cooks and Waiters were all awesome, and specially made everything to my complete satisfaction... including preparing a tasty filet of fresh poached fish with capers, gluten free toast and fresh brewed decaffeinated coffee. The views of the garden from the dining room windows were peaceful and lovely. Staff at the front desk also printed out everything I needed for the continuance of my trip and future reservations for free. Great Service!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Great stay. Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First room we were in had a very bad sewer smell coming up from the sink trap. Got moved to a larger, brighter room. No odour.

    The setting was idyllic. On the River Avon, swans swimming by, Salisbury Cathedral in the distance. Restaurant was good with excellent staff, especially David. Walking distance to the centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.3
    Absolutely shocking !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ! From uncooked breakfast to rude staff and a dog yapping its way threw the night it was awful, the car would have been warmer the radiator attatched to the wall in the bathroom fell apart and hit me as the temperature knob sprung off and for a deluxe service I would have phoned reception to complain but surprise surprise the phone was broken. I dread to think what a standerd room would be like.

    The check out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Grasmere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfriendly staff. No attempt to engage at all. Staff appeared totally disinterested from reception through to dinning room. Wouldn’t recommend the restaurant. Food very unimaginative. Breakfast not included in room rate. Our room was on the lower ground floor - very strong smell of mildew.

    Delightful room opening on to garden with view of the cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful location overlong the river and a view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location overlong the river and a view of the cathedral. The gardens and hanging baskets were lovely. The breakfast was really good (gluten free toast available on request).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice views, friendly staff, electric charging point and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance and reception area could do with a refresh, no air conditioning in the bedroom

    Nice views, friendly staff, electric charging point and on-site parking, lovely floral gardens

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    excellent hotel great staff fantastic breakfast great over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs updating some of the furniture dated and the fixtures a bit run down.

    excellent hotel great staff fantastic breakfast great over sized Bed that we wanted to take home view was stunning nice chill in the garden by the river. would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location and pretty gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Emailed ahead with a request to which I received no reply property very shabby daily cleaning in the rooms was good but the rest of the hotel was a bit undesirable would not stay here again

    Great location and pretty gardens

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Awful - Being run into into the ground. Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Torn sheets, cracked plaster, wedged open fire doors, duvet was handing about 30cm out of the cover, damaged lamp, worn furniture, poor staff attitude and unapologetic management. Being run into into the ground.

    Nice view, nice four poster bed. But with all the damage to the room there is no way I'd call it a 'superior' room. To pay £150 a night for it was a disgrace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Defiantly five stars.....great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a gem of an English hotel. Wonderful staff, beautiful building, comfortable room and good food. We will certainly use it again on our next visit to Sailsbury.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    One of the best hotel that I have stayed at and would certainly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tree in front of the hotel sign needs to be trimmed so that the sign can be seen earlier. The bathroom mirror needs to be replaced. It looks a bit aged. Real ale should not be cooled.

    There staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good lots of choice. The bar sold real ale. The view and the rear lawn had were lovely. Plenty of car parking spaces. The hotel was close to the ring road but there was no traffic noise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Tired and in need of TLC, our room was 23 Deluxe Family room, not. Sad to see it has gone downhill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very tired, have not been for 19 years and the room we had smelt damp and strong damp smell in corridor outside, needs some TLC. Breakfast- Bacon was rock hard, as was the fried bread, sausage and egg nice. Bed was comfy but the two little beds for kids were very narrow camp beds and wobbly. They removed the bedside cabinets to make room for them so nowhere to put drinks clock etc. Not really enough room for a family deluxe, would not like to see what non deluxe was like.

    The staff are very friendly and the hotel has nice grounds and outside area. We had a ground floor room so a bonus was the patio area outside the room. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.5
    Appalling!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked single accommodation and was put in an atrocious room which was tiny, dirty and did not even have curtains. After complaining , I was upgraded for the remaining 3 nights of my stay in a room which was bigger but very shabby, bedside light not working, bathroom door didn’t shut and the hairdryer kept overheating. I cannot believe that I was put in such a dreadful room on the first night. I wouldn’t stay ever in this dump again or recommend it to anyone. It is an affront to the English Tourism Industry.

    Nothing. An absolute rubbish hotel. The worst I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location, find somewhere else to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant could be improved - the food was not particularly stunning, we ate elsewhere after the first 2 nights Why do hotels persist in saying "we won't wash your towels unless they're in the bath, to be ecological" & then change them anyway?

    Lovely staff - really appreciated the room being changed so we didn't have so many stairs to conquer. Also appreciated the recompense from the manager for the various inconveniences re bedding Ample parking, lovely views over the river

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.6
    Great location but let down by price and interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tired looking and needed a brightening up, get rid of old wood chips paper and replace carpets. The floor covering in the bathroom did not meet the edges of the room. There was a general untidiness around the place outside. Price was expensive for a three star

    Staff were pleasant and helpful. The location was great and the grounds down to the river were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.2
    Charming from the outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rainwater entering our room through the roof. The personele treating it as it was business as usual, which probably is the case.

    The outside charm

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    I lovely beautiful hotel and romantic
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s just nothing bad to say

    I loved everything about this place and would loved to come back they gave me an extra fan extra coffee everything I requested and it’s a beautiful hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Amazing building, grounds and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking area is clean and capable of taking a large quantity of vehicles. The lady on reception was very welcoming. The room was really nice, clean and very comfortable. The views were incredible, and the grounds are very well maintained. Breakfast at the hotel is a must, the staff were welcoming and friendly, the variety of food on offer was very good and the quality is amazing. I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic little Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From being in a great location with friendly staff through to a wonderful apartment room with a view of the Cathedral and a delicious dinner we would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Good restaurant service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little difficult. Loo and bathroom under the eaves with very little headroom. Very hot and no air conditioning.

    Good restaurant service. Lovely view of river and cathedral.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was beautiful- close to Salisbury itself and by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor a bit ‘tired’ and some of the staff a bit vague & unhelpful at breakfast time

    The location was beautiful- close to Salisbury itself and by the river. Lovely to sit outside in the evening!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely return to Grasmere House, the bed being the most comfortable we slept in in UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at breakfast on our 2nd morning were inexperienced and unaware of what guests needed so we had to keep asking (eg. no milk, teapot with faulty lid which spilt everywhere, no bowls for cereal). That said they did make a great effort. Reception staff excellent.

    Lovely Grasmere House met all our expectations plus more. Large carpark, peaceful gardens and excellent views overlooking the cathedral. Staff were pleasant, breakfast great with tables on the patio overlooking the gardens as well. Very comfortable bed with a bay window and brand new bathroom. Also plenty of room for paring.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Staying at GRASMERE HOUSE HOTEL was a real treat !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The English breakfast was very good. But to have it every morning was a slight problem - five times. The option of some cheese and sliced meat would have been appreciated !

    The very best was this excellent , always extremely helpful waiter ! His name is DAVID and he is a true gentleman. One of the best waiters we have ever met in our lifetime ! Eva from reception and her colleagues were also very good ! Congratulations to GRASMERE HOUSE HOTEL that they work for them ! Then this absolutely fantasic view of SALISBURY CATHEDRAL from our hotel ! It was such a joy to stay in this splendid hotel ! We are indeed looking forward to returning GRASMERE HOUSE HOTEL soon !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    Whole hotel is now feeling a little dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whole hotel is now feeling a little dated. Room was large, clean and had a nice view but again needs some maintenance/upgrading. Breakfast staff not very welcoming and breakfast is adequate. Shame as we have stayed here a few times but think its time to try another hotel in the area now. Overall: average hotel but still ok to stay in but needs investment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful stay, location excellent, Loved staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no air conditioner for hot weather, but they aren’t use to this extreme weather.

    The comfort at this hotel and the staff were excellent, location excellent, easy walk into town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Room very large and clean but dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very large and clean but dated. Bathroom tiles and bath panel cracked and grouting needs redoing. The hotel is perfectly located for Salisbury town centre and the staff are wonderful. The gardens are lovely but it could do with a major facelift especially in the dinning areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    A great way to end our two week stay in England. Restful and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good.

    This is an exceptional hotel. Lovely rooms; comfortable bed; helpful and kind staff; views of the River Avon; easy bus ride to the center of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Adequatate. The hotel needs updating. It was a 20 minute walk from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a major updating. Everything is shabby and needs to be brought into present time. When I ask for ice, they ask me if it was included with my room!

    I liked that I could open the door and the windows. I got the air I needed at night. The room was large.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but perfunctory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service was a butt quick and perfunctory. Very small range of drinks for such an establishment

    Very easy walk to Salisbury Cathedral and old town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    A really comfortable stay.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had only booked for one night and there were no dislikes

    We were really pleased with our room which was on the ground floor overlooking the garden. The lawn went down to the river and there was a fine view of Salisbury Cathedral. The bathroom was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    The family room had a large terrace and it opened to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was in the basement and it smelled a bit musty.

    The family room had a large terrace and it opened to the beautiful garden. You can enjoy a nice dinner on the terrace of the hotel with a lovely view of the gardens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Not very impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we were told that our room had been upgraded. We asked for a double bed, we had two singles. The room in fact was for disabled use as was evident by the sink in the bathroom. and sign on the door.There was no ventilation in the room which became very stuffy. There was no window to open and no air con. Breakfast was average, had to wait for fried eggs etc.

    The view was lovely, although outside our door was a table that had not been cleaned for sometime and an ash tray full of cigarette ends,parking facilities were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Quiet location- short (10 - 15 minutes) pleasant walk to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike as far as I was concerned.

    Quiet location- short (10 - 15 minutes) pleasant walk to town centre. The staff were universally pleasant and helpful. I didn't eat evening meals but the nreakfasts were excellent(buffet style) when I stayed the weather was warm and sunny and I able to breakfast on the patio overlooking gardens down to the river with view of the cathedral. Thoroughly reccomend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely staff, but there will be better places to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior of the hotel really needs some serious upgrading! The room we stayed in looked like it hadn't been decorated since the 1970's. The bathroom was a bit smelly, and the room smelled of stale cigarette smoke even though it was a non smoking room. The headboard had a big sweaty mark on it. The ladies bathroom in reception smelled awful and the facilities were generally very run down. It was quite expensive, bearing in mind this.

    Lovely staff, very helpful and friendly. Beautiful outdoor space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    A rural out look close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet was a bit patchy in our room but worked well in other parts of the hotel.

    Our room was beautiful and huge! it opened out to the lawn over looking the river Avon (with people punting! and so clear you can see the trout). We had a rural out look with green paddocks, sheep grazing and a view of the cathedral but it was only a short stroll to town. The public areas in the hotel were very comfortable and accessible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice view over to the cathedral and ideal for one night stop to break journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast choice. Garden room with door to outside very pleasant but only one window to open. Walk into Salisbury was very pleasant taking about 20 mins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    It was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attention to detail was poor, e.g. the iron was in the shared sitting room and the flex was too short for the ironing board, there were only 5 tissues left in the tissue box, the tassle was missing from the bedroom curtain pelmet and the bathroom was sink surround was in need of repair. The restaurant decor looked like a wedding marquee, and the premier dinner and breakfast prices led me to expect fresh, well presented food, but instead it was bland, unimaginative or looked like convenience food.

    The house, gardens and the view from the gardens were lovely, the room decor was tasteful and the location great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    2.5
    Terrible place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. I was given an attic room. It was very hot. One window didn’t open and a fan wasn’t supplied. The bathroom floor was dirty with someone else’s hair and the towels were frayed. I went for an evening meal at 8.45 which was late as the restaurant closed at 9.30. The staff were setting breakfast and I felt an inconvenience for being there. It was not at all friendly or welcoming and I couldn’t wait to leave. Breakfast was buffet style and the food wasn’t good. I don’t recommend this place to anyone!

    I actually didn’t like anything. It wasn’t friendly, the room was old, tired and dirty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we booked was not available - double booked. No email to let us know so that we could rearrange. Very dissatisfied. Deluxe room was dated.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel. Stunning grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bar had an awkward atmosphere. I was alone during my visit and a friendlier more relaxed atmosphere would have been welcomed but it wasn’t there. The staff were pleasant enough, but pretty much ignored me unless I got their atrention.

    When I checked in and I was told I was in the basement. I thought...here we go! But I was very pleasantly surprised that my room was large, airy, and had a wonderful terrace and access to the gardens. Everything was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    The room was spacious yet cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was spacious yet cozy. The view from our room was of the back garden, then the river, then the meadow with the sheep, then the cathedral tower. Exquisite. We highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place to start trip to UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Value for lodging very good, but meals were way too expensive - especially breakfast - found better priced alternatives in town. Bath tub a little hard to get in and out of.

    Excellent parking lot, spacious room, comfortable bed, excellent location, beautiful landscaping, beautiful view, easy walk to downtown if you are in good health. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are task focussed and a little abrupt. Requests outside of the norm seemed inconvenient. The restaurant was overpriced for what we ordered.

    The bed was super comfortable. We were upgraded so that was a nice surprise. We liked the 10 minute walk into town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Large room and bathroom,good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel tired and in need of refurb.,towels in bathroom threadbare and very thin ,breakfast below average,hotel generally in need of some TLC.

    Large room and bathroom,good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation & services except for the lack of thought in not contacting me re medication
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left important medications behind. I didn't realise this until it was time to take my next medication. By that time I was getting ready to fly out to another country and could do nothing about it. Had reception rang me as soon as the medication was discovered by staff in the room I could have gone back and got it and saved some very uncomfortable pain and trying to find a doctor in a foreign country on a public holiday to right prescriptions for me! Staff would have noticed my medication only an hour or two after us leaving, but no-one bothered to contact me.

    Old world charm! Beautiful rooms. Shower cold water not working properly in room, staff immediately upgraded us to a better room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    Not worth it for the money they charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was not welcoming and it took about 15 minutes to check in after speaking to 3 people. The walls were incredibly thin so we were woken up at 7am by the room next door shouting and letting their kids run around the hotel corridors

    Comfortable bed. Big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    We can't wait to return, and we plan to tell all our friends who will be visiting to stay there!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were overwhelmed with the beauty of the property--right on the river Avon! We had views from our rooms that were stupendous. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, and the single person who had a four-poster canopy bed in her room felt like a princess. :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Shall stay again another year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast plates were cold and hot food cooled too quickly. Not sure of two small duvets being zipped together-disturbed my night a bit. Quality of hangars and WIRE one in the reception! Perhaps it was too early in the season for the patio area to have been swept. Floor in wet room a little "bouncy" in entrance. ?floor. Reception on TV very poor - hence low score on facilities.

    Love the situation, views over the river towards Cathedral. Staff friendly and efficient. Excellent off street parking. Just right place to stay for visiting Cathedral once a year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    My stay at Grassmere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was kept awake all night by a barking dog in the next room and some kind if water pump gong off every couple of minutes. Then asked waiter at breakfast if we could eat outside on the verander was told because everybody will want to and he couldn't be bothered to go out to clear the tables.

    Stunning views and good size clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The online pictures of the hotel only show the old part of the building. A large part of the hotel is a newer extension which is pretty charmless. I paid for a ‘superior’ room but it was very standard and not very big. Certainly not the charming ‘superior’ room the pictures lead me to believe I was paying for. It felt like a Travel Lodge/Pemier Inn room. The walls were very thin and we could hear EVERYTHING people said and did in adjacent rooms. We didn’t sleep well because of this. When I mentioned this to a member of staff on checking out, he just said ‘ these things happen’. Staff were not unfriendly but not exactly friendly either. However the room was clean, bed comfortable and water was hot. The location and car park is good. We were disappointed with the room so decided not to risk breakfast at £9.50 pp. We walked into Salisbury for breakfast instead.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the location was good. A nice 10-15 minute walk into the city centre. Big car park. Kettle in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Shocking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain hanging off. Broken socket in bedside table draw; loose screw hanging out of bath panel which caused toe stubbing; bath filled whilst showering. Dirty pots not replaced or taken to the kitchen when we had our morning room clean. Came back after a nice ride out for the and the dirty dinner pots with left overs were still in room which i dumped at reception; coffee cups left dirty; out of date cream hidden under in date cream. Like the little pots had been stacked dileberatley to hide the out of date stock. Both stacks of cream the same so i call deliberate; coincidence maybe but i dont think so. Staff were rude and abrupt with very little english. Way way way overpriced; 100 a night; trust me after a search we found better. My only mistake was paying on arrival because if id have paid on departure they would have got what it was worth; 50 a night tops. No way on earth would i stay there again. Heres a tip; theres a lovely place up the road called the pembroke in wilton i think. Poor show from the Grasmere House Hotel. Once bitten. Never again

    The river at the back of the property; although it had a few rusty bicycles at the bottom of the garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.2
    Glad to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything

    The whole building was dowdy and in need of refurbishment. The bed linen was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean, but had dirty corners and surround areas., The menu for the evening meals were expensive and gave little information as describing the meal, also vegetables were another expensive extra, we did not eat there. The staff were the same as the surroundings, lacklustre. Although the outlook from our room was lovely, looking over the river. The patio outside our room needed brushing and cleaning, very dirty. We would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.6
    Fit for purpose - you get what you pay for with a 3 star hotel. However cleanliness could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interiors are vastly dated - and not just because it is a period property. Cleanliness within the room was adequate. Cobwebs adorned the curtain veil, bedside lamp shades beginning to fray. Hallways were left full of bedsheets both nights rather than tidied away. Would suit a certain generation.

    Great location and excellent views of the cathedral to the rear. Ample parking. Lovely traditional external frontage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Iffy to say the least.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To find someone with all her personal stuff when arriving to `our` room. We presumed she was a member of the staff as when unlocking the Iffyroom, the phone rung and she was rushing to gather all her things including two houseplants. Very basic and `tired` room, which we paid a lot. It would have been ok as we arrived late on Easter bank holiday weekend without the extra `guest`.

    Breakfast fine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Totally relaxing stay. Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a beautiful view overlooking the grounds river and Cathedral. Plenty of tea/coffee to be had. Great shower. Ironing board/hair-dryer all in the room if needed. Hotel situated a pleasant 10 minute walk to the Cathedral and city. Buffet breakfast at extra cost but thoroughly worth it. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful building, shame about the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a quiet room so I could get a good night's sleep. I was given an upgrade on arrival, which was a nice gesture, but I was put on a corridor with a group of people who it seemed were together as they were in and out of each others' rooms every few minutes up until about 2.30am - talking in the corridor, people knocking on doors, doors slamming as people went in and out of rooms. I could also hear the people in the room next door talking until 2.30am. Consequently I couldn't get to sleep and got no sleep at all. There was also a strong smell of stale smoke in the room in general and the bedding in particular, which was unpleasant (there was a non-smoking sign in the room).

    It is a beautiful building with fabulous views across the water meadows at the back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    I liked the cooked breakfast, the friendliest staff the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there wasn't a print out of a evacuation route and also there wasn't a WiFi code inside the room to connect to the internet, that is why I had a problem getting my phone to act as my sat nav directions to where I wanted to be

    I liked the cooked breakfast, the friendliest staff the view of back looking out onto a river and how quiet it was and printing me directions to Stonehenge as my phone had stopped working as a sat nav

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for citybreak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for a citybreak as easy walk to town centre and cathedral. Hotel has lovely garden with river and cathedral views.plenty of parking. Didn't eat there so can't rate the food.Classic 3 star hotel .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Super hotel, good location with picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral at the rear
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On our way in to breakfast we were asked by a member of waiting staff for our room number and if we would like tea or coffee. We were told to sit at any table that was laid up and there was cereals, toast, yoghurt and a hot buffet to help ourselves to. The restaurant area in use was quite small as the larger side room was taken up with a bridal party having a group breakfast. We served ourselves to cereals, juice etc and while sitting eating a man, I later found out to be the Restaurant Supervisor and can liken him only to a grumpy Basil in Fawlty Towers, grabbed the wine glasses on our table and dumped them on the next table and in the process banged into our table, knocked the spare chair and huffed as he walked away. He only needed to ask if he could take the glasses out of our way. He continued to huff and puff clearing tables and moving wine glasses onto clean tables as tho it wasn't his job. Wake up Basil: there is no "I" in Team! Our tea hadn't arrived by the time I went up to the hot buffet so I asked a waitress if we could please have our tea (unbeknown to me, my friend had also asked the same question of another member of staff). My request was overheard by the Supervisor who butted in (rudely) saying that they were bringing it. Perhaps it was he who my friend had asked, however I don't and won't tolerate this behaviour from anyone, let alone supposedly senior staff. I do hope the poor waitress didn't get into any trouble since there was obviously insufficient staff working that day and she and us seemed to bear the brunt of his displeasure and frustration.

    We booked this hotel as we were attending a wedding at another around the corner, but didn't want to encroach on the wedding party or the family. From our arrival through to our departure all of the staff, with the exception of one (see what I didn't like) were friendly, helpful and made us feel value. Our bedroom was spacious and the beds were amazing. I was tempted to take off all the bedding to find out the make and firmness of the mattress! The best night's sleep I've ever had on a first night away - in fact even better than at home! Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful and despite the small area allocated we didn't feel pushed to leave as soon as we had finished. I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future should I visit the area again. I would also recommend the hotel to my friends. From the hotel its around a 20 minute stroll into the city centre, but currently all car parks are free so if the walk is too far then its worth taking advantage of this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious. The family room was large and well laid out as well as being very clean. The large garden backing onto the river was wonderful for the children to enjoy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Road trip stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and a nice walk into the town with some nice views along the way. Wonderful view of the cathedral from out room. Food was fantastic- great wine. Staff were friendly and approachable. A great night away with my other half

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Very happy with room and location but slightly spoilt by rather indifferent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Limited choice and quality not great. We had expected more.

    Very happy with room. Excellent location and parking. Beautiful views over cathedral meadows. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Aside issues with some noisy guests the hotel exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being awaken throughout the night by some guests and having to deal with them myself at 3am as there was no night porter.

    The restaurant food was excellent and staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, room, common area with leather armchairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit odd, hard to communicate with and restaurant seemed overpriced for average food. I would recommend staying there but going out for food

    Beautiful hotel, room, common area with leather armchairs and fireplace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Easy walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was quite adequate, although no cereals were provided and croissants only appeared when asked for.

    Large, comfortable room with pleasant view over the water meadows. Welcome tea making facilities and biscuits in room were a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Not a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed in 2 other rooms this week room 18 & 35 I found them dated but comfortable. Room 16 a single room this is badly in need of refurbishing, the shower handle is broken making it difficult to turn on and off, the room in the shower is totally inadequate, and no shelf in shower, very small cubicle, I am only slim but a larger person would not get in there. There is a 9 inch gap between the mattress and the bed head, so couldn’t sit up in bed and read. Reading light inadequate by bed. Breakfast nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Good value, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge needs a tv and maybe a book/games shelf so that guests can congregate and relax. We would have had a few more drinks in the bar if there had been something to do in there.

    clean and comfy, excellent buffet breakfast. Only a short 20 min walk to the cathedral and town centre. Loads of free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views stunning my bed was so big and comfy Food was lovely Parking was great and hotel was lovely and welcoming Had everything you need in your room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    A very comfortable, characterful hotel, in an excellent location near to the City Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, spacious room, en-suite facilities excellent. Breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Large car park, and beautiful location looking across the meadows to the cathedral. An easy walk into the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value in a lovely characterful hotel with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful bedroom, with a very comfy bed and lovely clean soft bed linen; a good breakfast with a gorgeous view of Salisbury Cathedral from the dining room. A great stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    easy walking distance into city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    outside light on all night above bedroom window

    easy walking distance into city centre friendly welcome plenty of space in car park reasonable choice at breakfast hot shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel and close to the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two single duvet inners in a dbl cover which ended up being a tug of war for warmth. Realised in the morning that they were not zipped together when the bed was made up.

    Family room was great, we had a garden room so the kids could run outside. The breakfast was very tasty and the coffee was really good. Beautiful garden setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely quaint hotel. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing water in the shower. It warmed up enough to be allured into a false sense of hope. I soaped up, then that was that. No more warm water. Icy.

    Most comfortable bed I've slept in, in a long time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little away from town we both can't walk very far so used car to get into town

    Lovely and quiet pleasant and friendly staff lovely view of the catherderal and river Avon right at the bottom of the garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Salisbury
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 4 needs an updated bathroom and definitely a decent fan - it didn't smell great.

    Fab breakfast, room 3 was lovely , excellent views, comfy bed and beautiful bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grasmere House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: