Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Great Hallingbury Manor 4 stars

Tilekiln Green, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7TJ, United Kingdom

#13 of 16 hotels in Bishops Stortford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1091 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in annexe across the road from main building so had to trudge from car park with cases and then up one floor. Very noisy due to planes taking off though with windows shut it wasn’t too bad. Less than half a roll of loo paper in bathroom - had to use our own tissues when it ran out ( assumed there would be extra rolls but cleaner must have forgotten to replace). A dirty towel was in the bottom of the wardrobe.

    Beautiful setting, lovely landscaped grounds. Comfortable if compact room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a slightly different breakfast than the buffet and the young friendly lady supervisor was more than helpful , she arranged for our eggs to be poached and no probs for the 🥓 bacon to be a bit crispier , the rooms are very clean and spacious !! Every member of staff gives excellent service , the gardens and lake are relaxing and parking is easy !! The planes are to be expected obviously 🙄 all the hotels and b&b,s around any airport can be heard derr 😎 even the ducks 🦆 really friendly 👍 big thumbs up from the lads from Wolverhampton

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very basic room for money £108. One light bulb gone over the bed, bathroom extractor didn't work.. no sink plug... you had to climb under a table to plug hair dryer etc in. No fridge but bottles of white wine left for us to buy.. I will stay in premier Inn in future. ! more comfortable and user friendly...

    Breakfast was good...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, can understand aircraft noise but there was a 40th Birthday Party which was very very noisy til 1.30am with shouting and banging doors and fire alarm going off No air con Restaurant shut at 9pm

    Great location for Stansted Airport Lovely building Lovely room with large ensuite Clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing can be done about the aircraft noise..........but it is a showstopper for me for ant future visits

    Room was very clean and tidy, staff were fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom Wasn't 100% Clean - Found Hair on the Shower walls and coming out of the bathroom plug - The plug was also the source for a nasty smell that filled the bathroom. The road in-between the main building and the rooms weren't the best lit which was dangerous with the cars speeding down the road.

    Nice Exterior

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room in an out building, which they didn’t tell me so took a while to find my room. Very noisy. Not just the air craft noise but could hear people talking and walking around the rooms up stairs and next door. Couldn’t open the windows as on the ground floor so room was hot and stuffy. Due to being in an out building I couldn’t order room service, which is half the reason I booked this hotel

    Location was close to the Airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    planes flying over is an issue! but then to be expected to close to the airport. good pair of earplugs was provided, thanks!

    very close to airport, very warm welcome, super comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed previously but felt standard in all aspects dropped dramatically since 2017 stays. Major problem caused us not to use restaurant and Charge suggested for leaving car amounting to 140 pounds plus 50 pounds taxi transfer out of this world and a complete rip off i felt so we cancellled second night and booked elsewhere also paying 41 pounds to airport park for a week.Final straw fire alarm went off at 5am which got all visitors up and bad start to day travelling.

    LOCATION ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only drinking water available in rooms (in my case for taking medication) was priced at £3.95 per bottle!! The whole of the mini-bar is best avoided TBH - as usual, its a rip-off. Bit close to Stansted airport (although, isn't that the idea?) and planes were flying until midnight ish, but all in all was not a problem.

    All staff genuinely friendly and extremely helpful. Hotel is in a lovely rural location but just 5 mins drive from Stansted car parks. Late night snacks (sandwiches etc.) were accommodated by the kitchen with no problems. Room was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to cross a busy road ,without a crossing with my cases. The doors were very noisy in the annexe which disturbed sleep. No shuttle service , the hotel could perhaps organise shared taxis for airport?

    The meal and staff were very good , beautiful setting even though planes passing overhead

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I don’t like ! I like it all.

    The staff are excellent I am a regular customer I go back there because the staff always can’t do more than what they do now ! So excellent service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need earplugs to get a good night's sleep, orherwise you hear every plane landing at Stansted. Apparently, you can get a pair at the reception, which we found out at the check out, so don't hesitate and ask.

    We had stayed for 1 night as we took early flight from Stansted. Room was nice and clean, generally very good standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the short distance to Stansted airport you have to deal with lots of aircraft noise.

    We had a very nice stay. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Needed an early check-in at 7 a.m. for one of the rooms we booked and they made it happen. Very nice lakeview setting. Close to Stansted airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff at the reception and in the restaurant. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Great shower and a huge room. Really excellent breakfast. I arrived late from the airport so didn't get a chance to walk around the grounds, but from the conservatory where I ate breakfast they looked lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love it here!Can't you tell?!;)

    I have stayed at GHM a number of times and this time was for purpose of travel from Stansted. The single room across the road from main bock was very nice for a single room, comfortable bed good sized room and nice bathroom with shower((not bath ) as in other rooms so I was pleasantly surprised-excellent value at £62 booked relatively late notice. The best thing was the General Manager who was overnight portering and multitasking impressed me with his personal approach and made me a take away breakfast as I was leaving very early and it was lovely and kept me going on the plane to Shannon!A nice touch. The lovely staff Cal and Valentina as always .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traveling alone, I don't like staying on a ground floor. Fire door remained open all night - safety concern. Staff unable to move me. The door to my room did not close properly. There was no soap in my room.

    nice shower, good food at dinner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a bit of a muddle. Parked behind the hotel. Clocked in with reception and then sent across the road to an annexe. No big deal but it was all a bit of a jumble.

    Close to Stansted Airport. Clean and simple room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains coming down, no shower gel only moisturiser and conditioner. Bathroom dusty.

    Only had a very brief stay. Some tlc needed in the room but overall ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities in the room were Body Lotion and Conditioner (where's the shower gel and the shampoo?).

    Great location, with lots of green area around, nice place to spend the weekend. The staff were friendly and professional, the checkin was quick and smooth. The room was clean, great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Listed as 4-star but annex we stayed was no more than 2/3 star. On arival, receptioist was a little offhand and despite it being 11pm and dark, did not trouble to make sure we could find the annex. Also on arrival in the room found there were three (out of four) "secured" clothes hangers missing, and a used towel had not been removed from the room. Fould two packs of earplugs in a drawer with a note staying to use as there was "occasional" aircraft noise. In fact landing jets passed directly over the building at about 500 ft every 5 mins until 1 a.m. and started again at 5am every 1 minute.

    Price for B&B

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were accommodating in the detached cottage, even if I was staying with a child, also we couldn’t keep curtains open at anytime because facing car park directly, so had to keep light on at all time even if it was a sunny day! Found stains on the wall from previous guests that might have split drinks on the wall, and found a couple of little insects in the bed! My 9 years old son couldn’t go to the bedroom on his own because our room was across the street from the main building, not easy to cross the road because of car coming at quite high speed and just after a blind bend, with no signs in place for crossing! I needed to call reception at 1am to find out how to turn the heating on, we were cold! I don’t know why they didn’t tell me at the check in I had to turn the radiator nob by myself.

    The girl at the restaurant was very polite, kind and professional, food was excellent and she welcome us warmly and made our dinner a lovely one, the kids even had a free ice cream! Thank you to all the restaurant staff!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean rooms , good WiFi , aeroplanes are not as bad as ppl have said in other reviews, it is near stansted 🙄!!! Plus the staff are very friendly especially the girls in the bar area 👍👍 Gracey & Georgie

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being under the flight path of a very busy airport, hotel busy with travellers entering and leaving during the early hours

    Grounds were very beautiful, staff terrific🤗 Good value food well cooked 👍👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No-one in reception to check in, the phone in reception saying 'ring this number for attention' rings in the empty office behind the desk. It took me over 20 minutes to find someone to check me in

    Staff were friendly and helpful, room was quiet and comfortable and the hotel is very close to the airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was unfortunately in room 24 and so was awakened at 6.00am by the very noisy ventilator of the kitchen, about 1 meter form the window. Apart fron this, fine.

    The room and the bathroom were totally renovated and very cosy, Ideal location near the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was across the road in a building separate from the main Hotel and as an older woman on her own , I would have preferred to have been in the main building. The fried eggs at breakfast in the heated tray all had hard yolks and there were no bread rolls only sliced bread .

    The hotel is beautiful with fabulous grounds , the rooms are very well appointed with everything you could need . The dining room looks over the lake while there are numerous seating areas for a drink. All the staff encountered were extremely pleasant and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service is a total disaster at the hotel. staff rarely picks up the phone at all, often rude and incompetent. In my experience, rooms are nothing similar to what shown in the pictures, my room was small, unclean and in need of refurbishment. Big difference with staff at the restaurant who seems to be kind and helpful, however lack organization and management i.e. there rarely seem to be anyone at the bar, it takes long time to take an order and be served.

    convenient position close to Stansted airport but feels close to the countryside. beautiful building with great potential

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ant problem Told reception got excuse that we are in country side, Not a big deal but I imagine others won’t take to kindly to this issue

    Spacious room and french doors which on a hot day was great to have open. Clean very well furnished and a fresh smell when entering the room Great hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proximity to Stansted airport and particularly the end of the runway means it is overflow regularly.

    Beautiful room looking out onto a mini woodland scene. Beautiful to wake up to in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unheated bedroom. Housekeeping failed to turn on heating and therefore an unpleasant evening. No bar facilities as advertised. All remnants of a function not cleared away. Had to eat in somewhat expensive restaurant rather than enjoying bar food. No bar staff. A totally parsimonious atmosphere throuought the establishment. Sadly not a pleasant stay.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some aeroplane noise as planes fly overhead but not too disruptive as they did not come by too often!

    I arrived quite late at night, but the staff were very welcoming and friendly. My room was very comfortable and quiet. Good, generous checkout time with breakfast included and staff were very accommodating when my taxi was delayed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bad point that let this place down for us, was due to the plans it was so LOUD..!! other then that loved it 😊

    Amazing place absolutely beautiful! Staff are very friendly and very polite!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    rooms small beyond small single room I could literally only fit a case. Fine if for one night but I booked for 9 nights stayed one and moved to much bigger and far more costly room. However the noise from the panes no wonder ear plugs supplied.

    checking out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was located across the road from the main building, not ideal when it's raining as it was when I checked in. There is a mini bar in the room but it is extremely expensive. There is some aircraft noise but this is to be expected so close to the airport, there is a note in the room to say earplugs supplied in drawer.

    The room was well appointed with everything needed supplied. The evening meal in the restaurant and breakfast were very good and priced well. Good shower and a comfy bed. The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tin ashtray at entrance with dog ends and yellow water. Stairs were wet, no carpet. Old brown coffee stains on lobby window sill. Bed light broken. TV hanging off wall and would not work because remote had bo back. Secondary double glazing had been removed from the filthy windows so noise of aircraft unacceptable. Wardrobe would not completely close. No hand soap in bathroom. They had spare rooms but would not change ours unless we paid a supplement .

    Promis of a full refund

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arriving in our room we were treated to a glorious view was of 2 large propane tanks and a small bog that had formed around the back of the building. Due to being an old building the windows are single glazed meaning you heard every individual spin of the turbines on the planes which fly directly overhead. In addition to the planes the harsh wooden noise reflecting corridors meant that trying to sleep was a similar experience to having all the other guests walk around our room in clogs. Even worse than this was when the guests above us came back to their room. Once again due to being an old building there is basically no noise insulation between floors or the walls so we could hear their footsteps so well you could almost diagnose the podiatry needs of them both (pretty sure one of them had a peg leg). Our room was incredibly hot, for almost no reason that we could discern, all radiators were off and there was no temperature control other than to open the window (see above issue why this was not ideal!). Once we had begun to doze off we were woken by the kitchen staff sneaking out to the the large propane tanks to have a smoke. Numerous reasons why this is not a great idea. Now deprived of sleep for an entire night we hoped the breakfast would pick us up however it was a complete scene of chaos with not enough seating or food! In review, although a lovely old building, it makes a terrible structure for guests to sleep in and is placed directly on flight paths resulting in a terrible night sleep for all involved.

    The building itself is very pretty from the outside with it's wooden beam construction, small lake and enjoyable countryside surrounding it sadly that's about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to stay in an annex building across the road where the lighting was poor. The main building was obviously not full so why? Just because we paid a cheaper price? This discourages me from staying there again, why do hotels do this?

    Buetifully situated close to Stansted Airport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff ( aside from the waiting staff) were rude..the receptionist was especially rude,and borderline passive aggressive.No-one showed me to my room so i got lost, and with 2 kids and just myself ,I was left to haul luggage up 2 flights of stairs.When I eventually room, there were another family staying in there so i had to run around with kids to find someone to help.Again,trying to find another room i was left to my own devices.The room was not very clean and was cold....and the complimentary earplugs seemed to be missing....so it was a noisey night for me.The food was awful, my daughter had sausage and mash...2 sausages and bland ,greasy mash for £6.50...no veg and no gravy....and a small glass of flat Pepsi for £1.75 that was only 3 quarters full.We were told to sit in the small bar/lounge area...on dirty tables ,and left there for 30 minutes before I had to call someone to come and serve us...All and all very disappointing. So much promise,but such a bad experience. I normally stay in the Hampton by Hilton but treated my sister and son (who also had a bad experience) to what i thought would be a unique and up market experience. Unfortunately it was a huge let down.

    The waiting staff were lovely and friendly to my children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plane noise, but I did not hear the planes at night, not until 0530/6 am. It was the only thing which was loud. Inside the hotel it was mainly silent. I stayed only for two nights so it was not such a big deal.

    The receptionist who was there when I checked-in was really kind and helpful with everything. The girls from the bar were also very kind and sweet. I liked the big shower, the zoom mirror for the make-up, it was warm and cozy. The mixed salad with fish was also delicious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor of the restaurant at breakfast still had food on it from the previous night. Our room was clean but lots of stains, marks and scuffs on the walls, furniture and curtains. Bedding and towels were very clean though.

    Great sized carpark with beautiful grounds. Staff at breakfast were very friendly and efficient. Lovely looking property and helpful staff. Would stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the safest of road crossings to the rooms over the road. Staff should never say your room number out loud when checking in and there are other guests around. The stairway leading to the room was not very clean with many ‘mug circles’ and a dirty mug on the side on the way up to Rm 55. Restaurant has a reception venue feel rather than a restaurant e.g ugly roller shorter serving hatch, reception chairs and tables. Lacking in atmosphere. Only showers, which was overhead and non adjustable so it would be handy to have a shower cap. Carpeting in the rooms would be preferable.

    Good location. Ear plugs provided for the planes at Stanstead. I was in the cheaper rooms across the road and they were good and well stocked. Lovely bathroom albeit only a shower. Food was lovely. Restaurant and bar staff good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So badly signposted. Doors are shut! With no signs anywhere. Even the front door isn’t clear it’s the front door. (It looks locked all the time )

    Nice little hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was too far away from the room, and we had to walk on muddy unpaved surfaces to get our luggage to and from the room. The bed, although new, was not comfortable and the sheets were scratchy and uncomfortable. The lighting in the bathroom was behind where one stands in front of the mirror, so it did not shed light on the mirror - difficult to put on makeup, etc. There is nothing else in the area - to eat elsewhere requires a drive. The airport is a 10-15 minute drive and very complicated.

    The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shame the weather was not better to explore the gardens ducks and setting, and I had picked up cash to pay for my stay, and had to pay with card, which for me travelling back to Germany with loads of pounds was not so good.

    The room was lovely and warm,although the beast from the east weather conditions were bad, the breakfast was great, I did have one small problem but was sorted with a great blond member of staff thankyou so much for that. lovely hotel, some people have problems with aeroplane sounds but there are great complimntary earplugs for that, and at night time the planes are not to hear. Great Pillows comfy bed, good breakfast, helpfull staff, warm and cosy setting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of bedroom right by engines of planes taking off all night, the flat pillows, the dirty flooring in room and bathroom, the urine smelling bathroom, the thin walls, draughts from windows, lack of customer service skills of reception staff members

    High room temperature to accommodate snow storm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    aircraft noise was a nuisance but the hotel provide ear plugs :) the room I was in could do with a lick of paint and a bit more lighting. Also the bathroom could do with some work being done on it as in the the shower doors being replaced.

    Really comfy bed and nice big room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the computer system had crashed so we had a long wait before they were able to give us keys to our room. The staff were very apologetic.

    It was close to Stansted for an early get away

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from reception constantly throughout the night my room was next to stairway and front door and reception room 15 Breakfast was £10 and barely warm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change room 3 times as the heating wasn’t working or not on, they could not find key to boiler room to check, the shower was freezing and the bath water so it was all in all a horrible experience, the staff tried very hard to rectify the situation but couldn’t. I think it smacks of a hotel that is cutting costs

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on reception upon arrival couldn’t have been more cold if she tried - barely managed to get a hello out of her and upon returning my card to me she was too busy chatting to her colleague and ended up just flinging it on the desk. The noise from the planes landing at the local airport is disturbing if you weren’t ready for it (nothing when booking mentioned it) and we didn’t get a good nights sleep either night we stayed due to the noise of the staff going in and out their entrance which was right by our window and the wooden doors right by our room to access the corridor which have no soft close hinges on them. All in all I felt worn out as did my partner after our stay - such a pity as it is an amazing building and a good location. I will not be coming back - pity as we were looking at the hotel to hold our wedding

    The location is great - as long as you don’t mind the noise of the places landing at Stansted

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On flight path to the Airport so constant noise from flights overhead.

    Location to airport is good for travellers and nice country location. Restaurant was very good and the menu gave reasonable choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time my TV did not work, although I had no time to watch it anyway.

    This is my standard Hotel staying at Stansted International. Just a little further then the big mass Hotels but always good service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Shame there was no secondary glazing. Know it’s listed but it is possible! Shame that there was no carpeting so voiced & footsteps carried Dining room & bar area soulless so didn’t bother with eating there but clean & convenient & the room was fine & good shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at 12am and had to leave at 5am for a flight I just wanted to go to bed. The receptionist insisted I had to pay £25 incase I used the mini bar. I told him several times I just wanted to go to sleep. Then the neighbouring room kept making loads of noise slamming doors I didn't get any sleep until around 230am also plains flying over making a lot of noise. Waste of money to be honest, I asked for a quiet room and got the noisest room in the place, receptionist was an idiot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good but the plane noise could be a problem for some, we were OK with it.

    Room was fine, restaurant was fine and the location to Stansted airport was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a lot of aircraft noise once the early take offs commence from nearby Stansted. We didn't use it as an overnight for the airport but as a leisure break so take this into account when booking. Car essential nothing within walking distance.

    Very nice room on ground floor annexe, 100 yards from main building, huge bedroom, more like a suite, bathroom with walk in shower, could have done with a doormat at the entrance but otherwise excellent space with king size bed, and very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Noise. Tired room with noise from kitchen and a noisey fan just outside the window. Breakfast very poor. Staff attitude poor apart from the lady at breakfast who did her best.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the end Stansted runway the noise was unblivable you could feel the building sake when the bigger planes took off, would never stay their again but only for that reason.

    Very clean, staff friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room: need a light over the table with the mirror for make up. Bathroom: only one shampoo for two people? Breakfast: very poor. Buffet was either under cooked or over cooked. Ran out of coffee, got coffee then no milk. When complained told we could have had a fresh cooked breakfast but we were not informed of this on entrance.

    Room is excellent size and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst part about the property was that when we first arrived, my wife and I tried to shower and there was no hot water. We called the front desk and they said they would send someone to look at the boiler. They did that, a man came to the room and said give it 20 minutes and the water will be good. We gave it about 40 minutes total and still no hot water. Just not something I wanted to deal with after traveling for the past 24 hours.

    The property itself was very nice and the restaurant had great food and a great staff. Very friendly and inviting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could have done with better sound proofing against the sound of aircraft taking off and landing.Surprised that there is not an airport shuttle service as hotel is off the regular bus route.Not sure why a security charge was required at reception on check in ?

    I liked that breakfast was cooked to order, the hotel offered spacious, clean rooms with en-suite bath/shower room, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly very positive but temperature regulator in shower faulty. Reported it and staff noted it for repair. We only stayed a night so not a big issue for us. Dined in and were pleased with the food and service. Felt they could do more to enhance the atmosphere a bit and created a few nice places to sit and relax with a drink, perhaps an open fire as it is a manor house. Excellent location for Stanstead airport and very good value. Would recommend

    Lovely room. excellent decor, large ensuite beautifully decorated. Hotel was nicely presented with plenty of character.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The signage was dreadful. Wasn't sure where to go to park the car and having found the car park there were no sign to direct us to reception at the front so we were wandering around the back of the hotel with our cases in the dark.

    It was perfect for an overnight stop before flying out of Stansted as the airport is only a few minutes drive away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing not good could hear lot of noise late in the evening was using the hotel as near to Stansted for a 3.30am check in so was asleep early in the evening but a lot of noise from from downstairs and wooden floors

    Lovely old building room was big great bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuffy unventilated ''superior rooms''. ( sealed windows/no aircon). Poor quality fittings - especially lamps. Pillows were hard foam. Restaurant tatty in parts and overloud raucous music, very off putting for an intimate meal and especially at breakfast. Dining tables unstable and wobbly due to poor design. restaurant coffee - forget it!

    Location near to Stansted very useful, and not your typical airport style hotel. The building is stunning and the grounds look nice althought the gates for the lakeside walk were locked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Lack of onsite management/decision takers. 2. Breakfast tables dirty. Observed one table being relaid with no cleaning at all. 3. Rancid milk/water in pot labelled Hot Water by tea facilities. 4. No bin in self service breakfast area. 5. Hot breakfast fairly cold. 6. Breakfast bill not added to account at time of checkout - I had to tell reception. 7. Cost of breakfast different to that advertised on websites. I had checked the day before with reception that there was no differences between pre-booking breakfast and just turning up. Poor English of staff possibly an issue.

    The room was generally fine, roomy and with separate space for table and chairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proximity to the flight path but when you stay close to an airport what can you expect

    The room was very spacious but it was away from the main building. This was our 5th visit to this hotel so I think that speaks for itself.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel, room was delightful! Shaz at the check in desk was incredibly polite and friendly, she really made us feel welcome! Can't wait to stay again. Ben

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no light on the side table, so quite dark. The holding deposit of £200 was taken but on paying bill had to pay the full amount and wait for the holding deposit to be paid back by bank.

    Staff were great. Room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was buffet style but was cold. Couldn't eat it but staff were good and brought us a freshly cooked, warm breakfast on request. Obviously if you are a light sleeper then this probably wont be the hotel for you as on flight path from Stansted. Didnt bother us and hotel does supply ear plugs.

    Nice hotel, lovely big room with comfortable bed and modern bathroom with huge double shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from airport (largely unavoidable), heating on full blast so the room was incredibly hot and quite uncomfortable as tiny windows made it very hard to cool down.

    Good location,ample parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired, bathroom particularly - Dent in ceiling from bathroom door. Kettle didn't work, unable to replace it. Excessive airplane noise

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was short and planned at short notice as we missed our outbound flight. The stay over compensated for our annoyance. Homely, pleasant atmosphere and friendly efficient staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although nice that the hotel is very close to the airport, there was much noise from airplanes flying very closely over the hotel. Staff told us that it would stop at 11pm, but that wasn't the case. Also annoying noise from some kind of airconditioning. Cushions were very hard. Didn't sleep well.

    The distance to the airport is great. We also got a bigger room than expected. Room and bathroom were nice and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: