Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Great John Street Hotel 4 stars

Great John Street, Manchester City Centre, Manchester, M3 4FD, United Kingdom

#9 of 93 hotels in Manchester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Innovative design, classy decor and a real feel of informal luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We Sat at a table and were asked to move to the mezzanine because it was reserved. We ordered some food and were then told we would have to move in half an hour because of a drinks reception.

    This place is a real gem, such a refreshing change from the usual suspects. It’s a lovely old school building that has been tastefully renovated to provide a relaxing base for visiting Manchester. Check out the roof terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Everything else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive frustration at the lack of access to the rooftop facilities. I've stayed here a few times and have NEVER had access. I don't believe it should be advertised as a facility when it's rarely available.

    Everything else! Great bar, great room, great location, wonderful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    In correct tv remote in room
    • Couple
    • Luxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In correct tv remote in room Don’t stay on the 3rd floor very noisy if a party on roof top bar..no access to roof top bar due to other commitments organised by the hotel...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location, so peaceful, chic and luxurious, unusual...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to use the roof top terrace for both nights that I was a resident as it had been hired for private functions. The weather was lovely and I had arranged to invite guests especially to use this facility. Perhaps informing guests when they book that not all facilities will be available to them in advance would be fair.

    Amazing location, so peaceful, chic and luxurious, unusual rooms and very generous sizes. Knowledgeable and welcoming staff, I will go back, but next time I'll check regarding all the fabulous facilities available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    I usually love this hotel but it wasn't up to scratch on this occasion.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a hurry and was given the wrong room type. I had to wait a long time for them to sort it out and so had about ten minutes to get ready for a black tie dinner. There was also a very ominous stain on the sofa and the furniture looked tired.

    The bathroom was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    One of the best I’ve stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say every member of staff that we came across were so lovely and couldn’t do enough for us. Can not fault this hotel at all. Felt very welcomed and very well looked after. Immaculate attention to detail in the room too, beautiful. Slept like a log. Breakfast was yum. A Perfect time. Definitely will come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    The suite was very nice. The view from our window was not nice though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did book the suite with the bath next to the bed but it wasn't the one we were given. Car parking was expensive

    The room was lovely and very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a surprise to see the window cleaner at the window in the morning! The manager was very apologetic and we had a free breakfast.

    Lovely romantic evening Breakfast delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully Presented Rooms, Warm Welcome and Very Helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - for the price we felt like we were treated with respect, the rooms were perfect and the welcoming and overall customer service was exceptional.

    Room was beautifully presented and very well thought out - the honesty policy is a breath of fresh air (in terms of the mini-bar) , valet parking made things so much easier and we were able to leave the vehicle there whilst we shopped around and had something to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Great boutique hotel with friendly staff and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to have a choice of pillows as my husband found his to be too soft.

    The room was really nice, enjoyed the little touches and it was very comfortable. The breakfast was particularly good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    We will look forward to our next visit - the fact that we want to return says it all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing everything was superb.

    That everything I asked for happened - the rose petals on the bed, the champagne and the chocolate strawberries dipped in dark chocolate (as requested)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a bin downstairs in the suite, rather than just one up in the bathroom

    The bed was amazingly comfy. Super king size and amazing mattress!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel, walking distance from everywhere and right next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, walking distance from everywhere and right next to a number of bars and restaurants! Lovely room and got a nice free upgrade on check in to a King room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Great two storey room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Eclectic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely soft pillows which may not suit all. Maybe my luck but it could hear other guests in the early hours, I found it very difficult to sleep. Expensive parking at hotel.

    Great two storey room His and her bath tubs Attentive staff who want your stay to be perfect Valet parking underneath hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Looks much bigger on the website. The common areas and rooms are quite pokey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for its roof terrace only to find that I couldn’t access it due to a wedding being held there. I found the hotel very dark and oppressive.

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Perfect romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little hot and we couldn’t work out how to cool it down, but this was so minor compared to all the positives and did not spoil our stay.

    This was part of an anniversary treat to ourselves (29 years! We married young !!) and it did not disappoint . We were upgraded to a beautiful room arranged like a loft appartment. If it had had a kitchen I would have moved in! Lots of thoughtful details :- well stocked mini bar including champagne, a fridge with a tiny carton of proper milk not UHT , creamer or powder (yuck!!!) , furniture and fittings which you might have chosen yourself. This is a beautifully curated hotel and the attention to detail really matters . We are already plotting our next stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall lovely hotel and great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room through booking.com I received an email an hour later from the hotel saying that the oyster bar and another bar we unavailable to use due to two functions that we going on. With this I contacted the hotel who did their upmost to resolve the situation.

    The baby grand room was excellent with a mezzanine with the bath overlooking the room. Nice quiet hotel room. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    the level of service provided by the staff was excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the level of service provided by the staff was excellent they always had a smile and were genuinely interested in your plans and how your day was going

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    nice but needs more attention to detail and functionality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    instant coffee no shower cap. poor 24 hour food menu - ordered an egg mayo sandwich as only veggie option (no lettuce/salad on sandwich or on side as garnish, appeared to be on relatively cheap white bread, no option for type of bread, no option of crisps/salad side, huge three layered slab of white bread which was impossible to eat comfortably because it was so high. nice coleslaw but not great side for egg mayo). the kettle had nowhere to be plugged in near the cupboard it was stored in and the sink to fill it was upstairs. was a bit of a faff to dig the kettle out from the back of a cupboard, behind the tea and coffee jars, go upstairs to fill, move to desk next to bed to plug in and carry back to mugs to make a drink. just get a decent coffee machine and have it plugged in filled and ready to use.

    decor nice. communal areas nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful room and hotel that needs a lot of work....
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was uncomfortable warm even when we adjusted the temp in the room. It stayed like this all night and did not cool down until the next morning. The walls were very thin and we could hear the couple next door being intimate which was not what we would have expected for the price we paid. The woman at the front desk was extremely unhelpful when we wanted to vallet our car.

    Facilities and room were great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    A hotel that is different and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we did not like about this hotel.

    We fully enjoyed our overnight stay at this hotel. Very warm welcome on arrival. excellent room and certainly different from many run of the mill hotels. The design of the hotel was what first attracted us, together with the very good reviews and we were not disappointed. The location is excellent, close to the Opera House and although we were at the front of the hotel there was no noise or disturbances during our stay. we would certainly visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and extremely enjoyable night in superb surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace was booked but we were told there was a resident only area. When we went up to the area, it was unlit, open to the elements, no heaters or blankets

    Lovely ambience, extremely comfy beds, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more people would use mini bar if was more reasonable prices

    Room was gorgeous . hotel beautiful. Double baths and huge comfy bed which fitted 6.4 boyfriend! Not like an average corporate hotel room x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Quirky yet classy, with great staff and comfortable luxurious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved this place! Quirky yet classy and the room was fabulous with.....Fresh milk!!!! We attended the NYE dinner dance which I would love to do every year now, it really was a nice way to see in the new year, we saw the New Year in on the rooftop watching the fireworks across the city. The twin baths were great, clean and comfortable room. Would visit again in a heartbeat. Wanted something special due to it being the day after our wedding and going on honeymoon the next morning, this was just perfect for that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The bed was so big and comfy,and the bath was amazing,the atmosphere of the whole hotel was so relaxing,can't wait to return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was rather disappointed with the room given the price. It was called a ‘baby grand’ but felt rather dark and chlostrophic on the ground level as the ceiling had been lowered over the bed to accommodate for the bathroom above. Not a room I wanted to spend much time in.

    Bed was extremely comfy, excellent shower and the breakfast was lovely. The staff in particular were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Lovely touches throughout our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed at GJS before in a “baby grand” room at the end of the corridor, we booked a larger “boudoir grand” room 36 this time but the standard of the baby was better?? Overall lovely stay though

    Lovely touches throughout our stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint is that the hotel appeared quiet and there was no offer of a room upgrade I have stayed in so many hotels and the free upgrade is always a nice gesture

    Really nice staff lovely room enjoyed will be back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Perfect and luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfect, huge comfy bed, bed night sleep. Huge bath big enough for two and the most amazing shower. The hotel was spotless and there’s a great view of Manchester from the rooftop terrace. Staff were welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a wonderful stay here with my husband for our anniversary. We requested an upgrade and were allocated a suite which was beautiful. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Manchester and the roof top bar in the hotel is fabulous, great views and heated outdoor area. All the staff were friendly and helpful, they even let us borrow an umbrella as it was raining! This is my favourite hotel in Manchester, we will definitely be back. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Luxury, class and stunning rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rang up the hotel whilst I was on a night out to check that the night menu was still on for when we got back. However when we did get back the person on reception couldn't find menus, then advised us not to go for the "pre-made" sandwiches and told us to order a takeaway instead. - if I had known we were going to be told to have a takeaway I would have had dinner at a restaurant in town instead.

    Fabulous hotel, stayed before and didn't disappoint this time. The room was stunning, lovely homemade Christmas cookies on arrival in the room. The shower is huge and fantastic. The bed is probably the comfiest I have stayed in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was cold. Tried to turn up the heating on the thermostat and it wouldn't work, did not sleep all night. My personal preference i guess but the pillows were not firm enough for me. Also tried to get a deal on the room as we booked a party at the venue and had staff that didn't seem like they wanted to try to help me with that. They were nice enough but I wanted more help really.

    Room was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Very lovely stay in a very lovely Hotel marred by housekeeping issues!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On first entering the room sadly it had a rather stale smell a little like smelly feet!...plus please see above for comments.

    The general feel and decor was great but sadly incredibly let down by all of the continued site of laundry and housekeeping on show whenever we were entering and leaving the rooms...it felt ever present, even the rooms where it/housekeeping was kept were constantly open and on show and huge amounts of dirty Linnen parked on corridors for a great deal of the time, taking the stairs didn’t bring any relief as this was also being used apparently!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Top quality luxury executive stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Eclectic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was amazing from reception to concierge room absolutely top class. Couldn't recommend this highly enough amazing service cool locations top class unique room staff couldn't do more to help. Absolutely going back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Good wasn’t going to go back but lady on reception at check out changed our mind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    service at bar and that it was shut all afternoon and evening and then when we went in at 1030 we couldn’t get served as we was ignored.

    Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.2
    The Hotel has lost its Mojo.......
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is certainly not what it was and I will not be booking meeting rooms nor hotel rooms again

    Workmen constantly around the breakfast room. A strong smell of damp around the hotel. I was on the second floor room 20 and the toilet had a strong smell of urine didn't feel clean at all. I do not use lifts therefore took the staircase (girls) and it was just full of furniture and laundry trucks which we had to move out of the way on the stairs to even get passed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    great value, super location, lovely staff, we had a very happy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the free standing bath in the room was very noisy! water was running and gurgling through the pipes all night. we reported it to reception and they were very apologetic.

    the room was superb. very roomy. well equipped. very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    The rooms were fantastic, the level of service was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing!

    The rooms were fantastic, the level of service was excellent. I miss placed my phone and the staff could not have been more helpful in trying to find it. I recommend to anyone, a great location for a night out in Spinningfields.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Excellent. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more instruction as to what facilities there were, and how to enjoy them would have been nice. The residents lounge, for instance, is unstaffed and you have to call for service, however there is no guidance for this.

    The rooms are AMAZING. Staff extra helpful and polite. Fantastic decor throughout

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Fancy, friendly hotel, but drinks with service charge a no no.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive bar with service charge on drinks. Please pay your staff a decent wage and allow customers to tip at own discretion. Was really put off eating in the hotel because of this policy.

    Good friendly staff, interesting but comfy split level bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    3.3
    The room was way too hot and there were no sockets by the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was way too hot and there were no sockets by the beds. The decor was tired and worn out. The layout didn't work for me, with the wardrobe being downstairs and not by the bed or by the bathroom. Very poor value for money overall

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Excellent and worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We actually stayed at the sister hotel King Street townhouse as St Johns was full but this hotel was excellent. Nothing at all to fault. Staff particularly Tom was extremely helpful and accommodating. Food was excellent & the best breakfast we have ever had at an hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    It was very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough shower gel, bottle too small for two.

    We had greeted by some friendly staffs, and had a free upgrade room which was very nice touch, the room was beautiful, highly recommended, definitely will be back ....thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Interesting place, very friendly staff, very comfortabe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Layout of room, with bedroom/bathroom on mezzanine floor, but clothing storage on ground. Narrow staircase, so not practical to lug luggage to bedroom area.

    Quirky and interesting pace - was originally a school

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Love this hotel and I always stay here when I'm in Manchester
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not usually have the breakfast as it is not terribly good I'm afraid

    The pillows are lovely and soft, the beds just right and I love the baths!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    I really enjoyed my stay and would happily recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out took a while and took two people to sort out.

    The room was lovely. Particularly liked the mezzanine floor with the roll top bath. very convenient for the Science Museum.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Exactly what we needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There weren't any plug sockets near the bed to charge our phones over night.

    The room was lovely, the bed so comfortable and when we arrived the lights were on and the radio was playing lovely music. The bathroom was glorious and we loved that the WC was separate so I could have a long bath without feeling guilty! The staff were so helpful and accommodating when we asked for extras and advice. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Fulfilled my need for a comfortable hotel close to the venue where I was working
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dim lighting couldn't see well enough to work in the room Difficult to see to put make up on Dining a bit awkward siting in Mezzanine Room mini bad extortionately expensive I felt a little uncomfortable in the lounge as a single female guest

    The bed and pillows were super comfortable The rom was very large Room service good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Good option for Central Manchester
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from adjacent rooms. During my stay various bars were closed so a little frustrating. Sky TV was a bit of devil to get working.

    Hotel in a nice location. Lots of character. Big spacious room. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    A truly perfect weekend get away, hotel is stunning and staff are adorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect! Nothing to dislike

    Close to amazing bars and places to eat, close to fantastic places like Castlefields and wonderful architecture and industrial heritage. Retail therapy within five minutes and the best Belgian beer in Manchester

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Amazing service and hotel! Great job guys!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an anniversary stay and let the staff know ahead of the time and got a complimentary upgrade as well as a welcome treat which felt very special!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    beautiful building, and so many original features retained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were a little bit inexperienced/casual. Polite, but not quite up to scratch for the price of the hotel.

    beautiful building, and so many original features retained. Tall ceilings, really nice décor, lovely mezzanine bedroom, great design.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    this was my 3rd time staying here and it was amazing as always, the best hotel in Manchester by far! We upgraded our room and on arrival and it was amazing couldn't of asked for better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great location, fantastic staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One small improvement would be complimentary bottled water in the room.

    Lovely hotel, great location, fantastic staff. When we had an issue with the bathroom lights fusing and we were offered a complimentary breakfast while they were fixed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel and facilities, would recommended to friends and I would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Absolutely beautiful hotel, perfect location.

    Bath robes supplied, and an amazing bath. Very comfortable bed and everything was extremely clean and well presented. Even offered fresh milk for with tea / coffee which most hotels don't. Staff were very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Stunning Romantic hotel but not as practical as I'd prefer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didnt work properly + problems changing channels on tv in bedroom. Also plugs aren't in logical places to work from.

    Stunning rooms and ambience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Service was a little slow Quite a walk from the train station

    Large Bath Comfy King Size Bed Cosy Room Huge Duplex Room Friendly Staff Rooftop Terrace Super Clean Romantic Nice Area of Manchester

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Classy boutique must stay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was getting served at the bar when we returned late evening. It took 15 minutes to get acknowledged when there was only one other couple waiting to be served. There was a corporate function on the roof terrace so we did expect a short wait as the staff seemed fully absorbed on this, but when we asked for a cocktail menu the waiter completely ignored us. However I would not let this stop me going back as it is a wonderful hotel.

    A wonderful boutique hotel, in a great location for local manchester attractions. The room was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great minibar, tea, coffee, snacks and drink options. The roof terrace is a great place to sit and enjoy a cocktail, which we're very enjoyable. Tom was very welcoming, polite and helpful as was Alan. Really enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location, a stylish place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast was a bit pricey, £18 per person. Neither of us likes a full English in the morning, so it would have been too expensive for a bowl of porridge. Thankfully, there are hundreds of much cheaper alternatives just a few yards away.

    There is a lovely park just across the road and the area was very quiet despite being close to the city centre. Friendly staff. A room full of character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Perfect room / Almost Perfect service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof terrace was shut to the public as it was being used for an event, a jacuzzi was available but no staff members were pressent to advise me and my partner on how to use it, as well as this it was surrounded by empty bottles and cigarette boxes from I'm only presuming people from the event.

    The hotel looked amazing both inside and out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Great rooms but a bit noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was noisy at night, with a faulty air-con which wouldn't turn off and banging doors. They forgot to take my room breakfast order from outside my door at night, but dealt with it speedily when I contacted reception in the morning.

    Great rooms in this old school. This is the reason I return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a lovely terrace one of the reasons we booked it. Most of the terrace was closed off for a private party night if our stay, not good. Other guests should get discount if this happening. The private party went on quite late and was noisy, in such a small hotel we could hear this and disturbed our night.

    Lovely staff. Very clean. Great location for shops, bars etc. Quirky style. Good bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    would definitely return and already planning our visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    all wonderful

    superb staff who were extremely helpful- delivered cocktails to roof, provided late check out and room upgrade for a reduced fee. All décor in keeping with an old school. Valet parking - wonderful in inner city Manchester! A walk away from the restaurant we were eating at (The French at the Midland). Fantastic location and luxurious place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    An amazing little gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service here is second to non, beautiful Decor with excellent attention to detail. It's our second visit and will definitely will not be our last.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Another fantastic stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only negative is not in the hotels control, the ability to phone and pay for parking outside the hotel has gone due to new ticket machine. £30 to park at the hotel is a little steep.

    As usual impeccable standard throughout the hotel in the common areas and the room. The roof facility is fantastic when the sun shines.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location - restaurant service rather disjointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed with the service for an afternoon snack. Spent too long waiting for the staff member to discover what desserts were on offer- the tea was cold by the time we eventually found out and had gone off the idea (maybe a plus for our waistlines though? )

    Delicious breakfast selection - especially the fresh fruit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Would have liked to go to the rooftop bar but there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No USB points

    Would have liked to go to the rooftop bar but there was a private party. We were told that we could go up. It we were met by someone hosting the party who said not. We went to an alternative venue for a drink

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    A nice hotel but sadly disappointing. The Lowry offers better value and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boudoir Grand Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi code didn't work and the staff couldn't help. The main bar was closed the day that we arrived and yhere were no staff at the upstairs bar.

    The bed was very comfy and the blackout curtains made it very easy to sleep in!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    A great city centre boutique hotel with fab rooftop bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'm being uber picky the Soundproofing between the rooms could be improved. Limited on-site parking meant we had to use nearby NCP so recommend contacting hotel early to arrange.

    Stayed over for a wedding and were impressed with the really welcoming reception staff and event team who went above and beyond. There are some nice touches in the boutique rooms including homemade biscuits, real milk for coffee, good toiletries and huge towels in the mezzanine bathrooms ( we stayed in a Baby Suite- room 34) The mini bar was also well stocked and reasonably priced. Rooftop bar with hot tub is a brilliant space and ideal for a quirky event. Food very good, both Wedding Bbq and breakfast ( great Eggs Benedict)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to check out

    Customer service excellent nothing was too much trouble from a late night drink at the bar to getting drinks and food ordered to the room I've stayed at many hotels in Manchester and this is defiantly the best!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    City centre luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor so we could hear the early morning commotions going on outside ( could have been a delivery or something like that ) of people talking quite loudly but it didn't last too long. The roof top bar was closed when we got back to the hotel later on, that could of just been because of the time of year but would of been nice to have had a drink and see Manchester at its finest.

    The extra large bed was amazing and the bath robe was a nice touch. The mini bar was well stocked and had some lovely treats. The option to have room service was also a bonus

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Birthday Treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer was no good but a very minor point should have just taken my own.

    Gorgeous room more like mini apartment,free upgrade,fabulous bathroom, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don't get tips directly, yet promoted as that and auto added to bills. Management say it goes into a pot to pay for 2x yearly staff parties, discretionary vouchers but overall don't like the auto add

    Love the boutique style, very home from home

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel a little worn in a few places but it is 11 years old now. Overall a lovely hotel, gorgeous decor and in keeping with the aunthentic feel of the old school. The water stopped working in the morning for a short time, so the staff took off the cost of a room service beverage which was appreciated. A little over priced I think (£150 for one night in baby grand) however certainly glad I stayed and enjoyed my experience overall.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    Duplex Room with Roll top bath, great selection in the mini...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfy Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic Wardens hot as hell got a ticket 3 minutes after ticket expired!

    Duplex Room with Roll top bath, great selection in the mini bar. Cocktails were excellent as well

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Great John Street Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: