Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Green Gables Hotel 3 stars

West Bank, Scarborough, YO12 4DX, United Kingdom

#19 of 28 hotels in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 919 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Close proximity to Dalby Forest and the staff allowed us to keep our bikes in a locked room overnight. The apartment was clean and the staff were really helpful. The hotel is only a short walk from the beach too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    The hotel was basic which is understandable with the price,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was basic which is understandable with the price, but as we were leaving I was fixing the covers on the bed to find a bag with fruit and juice stuffed under the sheet in one of the kids beds. When I showed the reception they informed me a school were using our room for a week. This meant the bed sheets had not been changed for our stay !! Not a nice thought.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    The 2 bed apartment was very clean, the beds were very comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was slightly dated, but the cleanliness makes up for this.

    The 2 bed apartment was very clean, the beds were very comfy and the kitchen had a microwave, oven with hob, fridge with small freezer and plenty of cupboard space. Pool was available 7-9 pm on the evening we spent there. Bar serves pizza, lots of local takeaways deliver aswell

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a 2 bedroom appartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is further out and parking difficult at busy times.

    We had a 2 bedroom appartment....very spacious,spotless and comfortable.Staff lovely as always,pool great. Love Green Gables!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent. Had really lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel us amazing. Very spacious rooms. Very polite and helpfull staff. Very very clean. Games room for kids and swiming pool. We visited last weekend. 7th july 2018. Will deffo be booking to go back again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    good location, parking a plus, staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing as the time we were there we had no issues.

    staff friendly, room was basic but adequate for our stay, the singing chef was a surprise when we went for breakfast and the waiter stefan was very alert and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Cheep and it shows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells a bit. Bed was very uncomfortable. Decorations was around 1980s. Broken window in bathroom. Pool only open for a couple of hours due to swimming lessons on all day. You think guests would come 1st. Toilet seat wobbly. Tv very poor signal. Sharp edges next to bed side table. Shower was terrible.

    Was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    One night break, good place to rest up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woodchip wallpaper and the cracked/peeling laminate wood bedside table.

    We weren’t expecting much at that price point, but it was clean and tidy and that’s all that we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.0
    Cheap, dated and needs a makeover
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival there were no parking spaces - due to swimming pool guests and a private party.. so parked on the road. Rooms on 3rd floor were very dated, tired and although serviceable, not brilliant.. apart from the bathroom which had been refitted quite recently. TV in lounge could not be tuned in (didn't report to reception as it was late, and used bedroom ones instead). Main double bed sloped badly, and made for a very uncomfortable night. Yes it was one of the cheaper hotels we had found, but next time will pay a bit more for a better stay, elsewhere.

    We stayed in a 2 bed apartment, it was spacious with a newly refitted bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    The property was very clean, spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine, everything you could need in an apartment. Thoroughly enjoyed and staff were very approachable, pleasant and very accommodating.

    The property was very clean, spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, retro and quirky. Come early to avoid parking issues! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was an issue for us especially having young children, I’d recommend getting there early as possible. There was an event on in Scarborough this weekend and I think that may have had an effect on how busy it was. My only criticism is the parking.

    The room was very clean and roomy if a little dated, it was very retro and I liked that about it. I know the hotel are gradually updating the rooms at the moment. Beds are comfortable and the staff are very polite and helpful it was a bargain for the last minute booking we made very close to Scarborough itself around a ten minute drive to sea life and the main beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    It was OK, could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above. Also we had a right job trying to find this hotel. Not as near to the sea front as we thought it was.

    The staff were friendly, hotel did seem nice. However, we did not have a bath room light and we could not lock our bedroom door from the inside. Could lock it when we went out, but not when we went to bed. We had to put our case's behind the door so that if anyone did try to come in we would hear them. Also there was no phone in the room, as we would have called the reception desk about this. We only stayed over night and as there was no one at the desk in the morning when we left, we could not inform any one about the door.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Very spacious room, had it’s on kitchen, lounge, bathroom...
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get hold off by phone, shower not very powerful.

    Very spacious room, had it’s on kitchen, lounge, bathroom and bedroom. More like a furnished flat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Basic ,but very clean,we were only there for 1 night in a 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out .

    Basic ,but very clean,we were only there for 1 night in a 2 bedroom flat.So was ok for 1 night .Was further out than we thought ,so a long walk to peasholme Park.Receptionist was very friendly .There was refreshments in the kitchen which wasn’t expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    Faulty Towers will never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel because of the on site parking. On arrival all fine, went out to eat when we came back part of the car park was cordoned off.. We went to ask why we were unable to use the spaces, to be told they were waiting the arrival of a bus. Thought I would park my car when I got back from the concert. Wrong, said car park now full. As this hotel was at the end of the road the bus could have parked on the road, without impeding any one else. Hotel was very shabby and dated. Bathroom light came on some times and not others. Toilet seat not fixed properly and moved when sat on.

    Coffee and tea in rooms, but not much else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Spacious, had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, had everything we needed. The staff were fantastic and very helpful and let us leave our bikes and bags in a safe locked room, even after we had checked out so we didn’t have to walk around Scarborough all day with them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    A beautiful mansion and a perfect night away
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This deserves much more than the three stars. This is a hidden gem.

    The rooms the house itself the pool the value for money. The customer service is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    2.9
    Diabolical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirtiest hotel . the worse I have ever known if I could get money back I would came away a day early dye to state of hotel.the swimming pool was a disgrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    The family atmosphere has changed with new owners, we felt ignored and not paying guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no toilet paper and took 30 hours and three requests before i found a cleaner and got my own. Parking is difficult when busy.

    the hotel was a favourite we have stopped in every room over the years.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    The manager and his wife was so nice, helpful and so hard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lockers in swimming room could be better. And microwave didn't work

    The manager and his wife was so nice, helpful and so hard working. I am sure they are going to do very well . Already looking forward to return soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice holiday location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picking at straws here ,the parking can be a pain but there's plenty of room at the side of property

    Its great to have a pool in the place and nice scenic park at the back of property with lots of space and hills for kids to play about (adults too lol) have a decent variety of alcohol in the bar the room had everything we needed ,no hairdryer ask the staff at reception for one they were great defiantly reccomend its not miles from town and its rather a quiet location some takeouts deliver to the property too which is great if you wanna lazy day lol

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Was okay for some of us
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No good for anybody that is disabled and needs their buggy all the time. Had to ask for towels, no wifi in the room. I couldn't have a shower as it was over the bath no good for me

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    More youth hostel than hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuck in the 80's. Ancient uncomfortable beds. Not the cleanest. Noisy.

    Cheap. 'Flat' had lots of space. Bonus having a kitchen and living room. Games room and pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff seemed really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't appreciate being moaned at because our young children (aged 1, 5 and 8) were apparently moving around too loudly for the people downstairs in our 'family room'. As I am sure anyone with young children will fully appreciate, whilst on holiday children are excited to be getting up, getting ready to go out, visiting the pool downstairs, going to play in the games room or even just getting ready for bed. Children are children and getting them to not move in our room during the day like a collection of statues avoiding the floor is impossible and a completely unrealistic expectation. I do not believe for a second their movement was excessive and therefore did not warrant a knock on our door leaving us feeling like scorned teenagers.. We felt like we were treading on eggshells for half of our stay and constantly telling our children like parrots to sit on the bed and not to walk on the floor - Crazy! This was was a real shame. We did notice a loose floorboard that made noise when walked on - Not our fault but perhaps this should be fixed to lessen the noise echoing downstairs? - Just a suggestion.

    Staff seemed really friendly. We loved spending time in the pool as a family after breakfast and before bed. We loved the park right next door. The games room was really fun too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.3
    Great property, bur say in need of a lot of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a bad location to far away from everything. We ended coming home a day early, because I work up feeling very itchy one morning at around around 5:15 to fine my head had 2 little bite marks on my head. Also the 2 sofas in the room smelt very fusty and we very badly stained, in the end I told my son not to sit on them In case, it was something that had come off those. Told the manger about and that we was leaving and he gave the the money back for the night we didn't stay and was very apologetics, but sadly it spoilt the holiday. The whole thing needs money throwing at it to bring it back to its former glory.

    Very old and looked nice, but it was in need of money throwing at it, in side and our.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and comfortable I can’t wait to go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no complaints it was a great place for family holiday

    Bed very comfy. Hot water for bath and shower when ever I wanted. Play park right outside the hotel car park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Near enough to the sea to feel like a seaside stay for the kids, but a bit quieter that the seafront
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit shabby round the edges, but basically clean. It is what it is and for the price, nothing really to complain about.

    Games room for children, indoor swimming pool and a park across the Lane, Grandsons thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Staff very friendly, fairly basic other than that but a good combination of rooms and apartments therefore we could get everyone accommodated in a range of family rooms, twin rooms and doubles. Ideal for the whole family for a one night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    relaxing and enjoyable and wishing to return as soon as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi only available in public areas.

    this was a wonderful building with a great room, lift available to upper floors. breakfast excellent, staff great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Green Gable Green from me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas showed their age such qs communal carpeted areaa but all was clean. The room had been refurbished and could tell new carpets and beds and done to a good standard. Will definately be returning as its a good location with free parking to explore Scarborough and surrounding areas

    Lovely place to stay and a treasure trove of a building! Some grrat communal areas could relax in and also has it own swimming pool which was great for the little one!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, Fab, great break at the Green Gable. Will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration could do with updated which Ower was in process of doing the rest, breakfast could be included in the hotel price but if not the price is reasonable.The lift can be scary or sometime run slow but a really good hotel.

    The hotel apartment was peaceful with everything you would need in a kickten, bath and shower room, living room, a large hallway and a bedroom with one double two single and swimming pool Monday to Sunday from 9am till 9.30pm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for a money in a roomy apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs a mirror in the bathroom (looks like the old one has been recently removed). No sharp knives for chopping in the kitchen - at least one would be useful.

    Basic furnishings but large apartment with all the essentials covered - crisp, white bed linen and towels, new bathroom suite with lots of hot water and excellent rainfall shower. Modern flat screen TV of a decent size. Excellent value for money. Extra parking at the rear of the hotel off Springhill Road which with easy access (compared to the front car park which is better for smaller vehicles). Daughter loved the pool and was in their twice a day, morning and night. Staff extremely friendly and personable, accommodated my request for an extra night efficiently and with good communication.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    I would stay again. Good value for money. Comfortable. 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were a little stained in the communal areas but this didn’t really bother us that much, the room carpet was new. It was difficult to find the room as it is, like a maze,however I am not great at following directions. The parking was split into 2 areas. It was a little difficult manoeuvring out of the main car park to the second one as there wasn’t much of a turning circle which just meant had to be extra careful.

    We didn’t eat or have coffee at the Green Gables apart from in the room, this was fine. I can’t comment on anything else food wise. The staff were friendly, helpful and informative. The bed was comfortable and clean, slept like a log: The facilities available were excellent, unfortunately we didn’t get chance to use them as we only stayed for one night. This hotel was great for children. It is a huge old building in leafy surrounding which appeals to me. Loved the mosaic floor tiles in the entrance hall.I would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under new management and it will take a considerable amount of time to refurbish. It is a lovely old building and they are retaining features as they refurbish it. Our apartment was very rundown and dated but very clean.

    Very clean and able to park. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking available. On site parking is one of the reasons we booked this hotel. But the parking is limited and we had to park 2 streets away.

    The staff were very friendly. Room was good size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing quiet stay in characterful old building.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave so soon.

    This hotel is a little gem. Wonderful old building with history and a fabulous park right next to it; Ideal for travellers with dogs, ours slept like a log. Very clean and free parking. Highly recommend. Friendly owners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    Basic, was ok but probably wouldn't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication, didn't get a reply to a email I sent prior to our stay and struggled to contact them via phone therefore they wasn't prepared for our arrival with us requiring a travel cot and bringing our dog.

    Good for children as the property has a small swimming pool and is situated next to a park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    We only stayed overnight but it was excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows very dirty, not only in bedroom but in many public areas, this doesn’t give a good impression. Unable to use plug in wash basin.

    Very friendly staff. Good value breakfast. Plenty hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Found the manager very pleasant...had trouble connecting to wi fi ...in the end he loaned us his wi fi dongle for our stay..Our room was basic but clean & comfortable..Breakfast was ample.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Descent place to stay for just a night but wouldn't stay for longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More food served at the bar, only option is chicken nuggets or pizza and too over priced

    Was a flat rather than just a room as expected! Pool area nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a little update but it doesn't spoil the great time we had. Car parking is a bit of a lottery but again loads of street parking

    Brilliant old hotel Loads of nooks and Crannies to explore The kids loved it and exploring all the corridors and empty rooms Little out of town but real easy to get into town centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful old building and yes the décor is a little dated but it was exceptionally clean. The room was compact but the bed was very comfortable and there were extra pillows if needed. Shower nice and hot too. Breakfast very good and all staff we met were very friendly. We were staying over to meet up with family and will use again when we are in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    3.8
    Save your money and book elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny cramped room, upgraded only to be put in a room which took ages to clean and had what can only be described as kitchen benches behind the bed, resulting in a few bumps during the night. Very dated decor and staff that didn't seem to care.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Our stay was ok but wouldnt return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very small for a couple. The bathroom was also small. The shower door didn't keep closed. The sink was far too small as we couldn't even fill the kettle from it. The bar wasn't open on Sunday and we were too late to get a drink on Monday.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Great to view this old Hotel, I had checked it out prior our stay, all was as I had seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was too small for the double bed, in fact it might have been a small version of the double bed.

    The room was spotless and tea and coffee were refreshed each day. Bed made too. Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant place - brilliant staff - would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were so helpful and accommodating - the venue was very clean - breakfast was great - loved the facility... it was quirky and had everything you could want.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic value... don't judge the hotel from the external appearance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on our double bed was a little soft.

    We loved the hotel and our apartment was huge for a one bedroom apartment. The pool was fantastic. As we were in Scarborough for a si-fi event at the spa complex we didn't have a huge amount of time to spend in the hotel. We used the pool on Friday evening and wish we had time on Saturday to use it. We will definitely return to green gables again as a family and book another apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant for family's, game room, pool etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the rooms are very out dated and the beds. If these where changed the hotel would definitely be 10/10.

    Brilliant for family's, game room, pool etc. Everything in the room we needed. Very modern bathroom facilities. the shower and bath are amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Love this little gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldnt stay longer.

    Clean cosy room. Own bathroom. Great staff. Good value. This hotel is old fashioned but great! Doesnt need updating - its charming!. Theres a lovely family feel to it. We cant wait to go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable beds for my three boys, good size rooms for all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom/room needs updateing and the breakfast was good apart from the quality of the sausages

    Comfortable beds for my three boys, good size rooms for all of us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Homely, welcoming and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Another resident left their dog in the room to bark and howl for an hour when they went out early, which woke everyone on the corridor up, but that wasn't a fault of the hotel, more the resident being inconsiderate!

    As a family it ticked all the boxes for us. It's an older property, so don't expect anything modern or streamlined, and in parts the decor could be considered by some as being a bit tired. But the building was beautiful, and had loads of character, the rooms were large and airy, everywhere was clean and tidy and the hotel offered lots of freedom for the children. It's right next door to a park and play area, has parking, and is within walking distance of the town center. The Hotel Manager and reception staff were really friendly and welcoming. I loved it and would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was good, would prefer grilled bacon though. The room was modern and updated. This place is massive and has some very dated lounge rooms. the swimming pool is good, as are the games rooms. the hotel has a dated look, but you can tell the owners are trying to modernise the place. I would stay again and for the price, you cannot go wrong. Although I tried for an early checking, the room wasn't quite ready and was given the key, so we parked the car and headed to the sea front.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was dated but still clean. The heating was on a timer so the rooms were a little cold when we arrived however it soon warmed up- the heating was all through the night and made sleeping quite difficult despite the comfortable beds.

    Very spacious apartment, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service, nice, very spacious rooms, a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Excellent customer service, nice, very spacious rooms, a bit outdated but clean. Swimming pool is a bonus when you travelling with children. I have stayed with my whole family over the weekend and they have all enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic family hotel, kids loved the indoor swimming pool and games room. Great family room - much bigger than expected with a sea view - had a brilliant night away!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    a lovely, comfy stay. reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a distance from the sea front but fairly close to the city centre.

    Spotlessly clean. Good facilities. Nice big apartment with full kitchen. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite stark, could do with some pictures on the walls.

    The hotel is quite basic and needs a bit of an upgrade but it is good value for one night and was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Used hotel as a base to visit East Coast staff were all friendly and helpful so enjoyed stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely modern bathroom but nowhere to put toiletries apart from round the bath. Also need to take coat hangers to hang coats/clothes etc none provided.

    Very child and dog friendly hotel. Enjoyed the breakfast each morning it filled us up ready for our busy day. Son enjoyed the swimming pool inside the hotel, it's little but enough for him. There is a lovely little park next to hotel ideal for morning and evening walks with your dog. Lovely warm and comfortable in room and shower was hot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place with wonderful people (staff). Just love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was great.

    The staff was amazing- so nice helpful and supportive, accessible 24/7. I felt like home at my apartment. Just wonderful place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Our 1 night stay in Pril 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is dated but would cost a fortune to do it all up in one go. It was extremely clean and staff were lovely so no real bad points.

    The quirkiness of the building, still having some of its original features. Rooms were off a good size. We were in a 1 bed apartment with everything we needed for our 1 night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Fun. Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is slowly undergoing refurbishment. With some areas still requing modernisation

    Great facilities for kids Friendly and helpful staff Clean and comfy room Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    One night stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small car Park, when park on outside roads residents of the street uses sarcastic comments such as I love when hotel guests park outside your house. Could do with a little more room in the bar everyone spaced out so make it arkward to find a seat.

    Good facilities such as Swimming pool and games room, opening hours were perfect on each of these gave every guest chance to use without being overcrowded alot of space around the hotel/waiting room to wait for people of your group when going out. Lovely idea for the map on the wall to point out places of interest. Not a fair walk from town centre although with the weather had to drive due to being at the top of hills. Good bar area with good selection of drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant, comfortable with an added bonus of the pool, which is why I chose this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel really needs refurbishing. The walls are paper thin and a resident woke me up at 4 am talking very loud, I presume she was using her telephone.

    My granddaughter's loved the swimming pool that was larger than expected. The beds were comfortable and the room was adequate for our needs. The breakfast offered a good variety and was substantial.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean, basic hotel - excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, but the room for us was too hot to sleep in comfortably

    The hotel is in a large, rambling building with a somewhat dated decor. The present management have not been there long and they are gradually decorating and updating the building. Our room was large, clean and very quiet with a good refurbished bathroom. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    The staff were good, appeared that we were the only guests...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were good, appeared that we were the only guests but they were very attentive. Delivered up tinned fruit instead of fresh fruit for breakfast as per the menu but rectified it with a banana and apple. All in all very good and good value for money recomended

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.0
    Won’t return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitudes! Very unprofessional. Left a review on trip advisor as well within our rights to do so, feedback from management was lies stating we was rude to staff at breakfast, absolutely not! Even when they served 2 out of the 4 breakfasts as was delay with the poached eggs. We did not complain or grumble and as ever manners was used at all times. Even when speaking to locals around the area the bad attitude of staff is very common knowledge

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff and very good value for money! Pool good for the children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited admission to the pool due to private use. We couldn’t take our young children into the pool until 7 pm although a problem we had the pool to ourselves for an hour!

    Excellent value for money. Large refurbished family room which was very comfortable. The pool was great for the children. The staff were excellent, very attentive and helpful. Good breakfast experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and comfortable. Perfect for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor, shower lacked oomph, mattress saggy in the middle and the bedside tables are sharp n fixed to the wall. I was worried my youngest would roll over n bang his head on a corner.

    Very spacious apartments with most of the things you need for self catering and spotless. Pool warm and clean. Great for keeping kids entertained in the games room & with the park on the doorstep. Parking good. Staff helpful. Really warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    In a good location near park and shopping close by .Only 15 min walk into main town.Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment is a bit dated.Bed too soft.

    Helpful and friendly staff.Stayed in apartment which was spacious and clean.Swimming pool was small but still had fun with our granddaughter.Also the hotel was near a park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.6
    Ok for a cheap stay but avoid the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold breakfast. Room was freezing on arrival, this was later resolved though. Tiny room and bed The hotel had an unpleasant smell Bed sheets were stained.

    Price was reasonable,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Great budget place and pet friendly, spacious
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can’t control the heating so went off around 9.30pm and was then freezing

    Was a really big apartment and great we could bring the dogs, lots of space for everyone

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Had a lovely overnight stay with my 5yr old Grandson and Daughter,would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey children when we were trying to sleep around 10-11pm.

    A last minute breakaway on a budget,so it fitted the bill,very basic but nothing to complain about,everything you needed,my Grandson had a fab time in the lovely warm pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    2.9
    Shouldnt be open yet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was half way through refurbishment no heating in changing rooms. No wifi. Bpiling hot or freezing shower then to top it off firealarm went off at 1am. came away ill

    Swimming pool was warm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Budget and basic but welcoming & comfortable with added bonus of indoor pool for family enjoyment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think there needs to be some benches or seating in the pool area as children under 14 need to be supervised at all times when in the pool but no seating and floor was too wet to sit on. Breakfast menu was basic as was the plates/cups etc but was tasty and well cooked, plenty of tea & toast.

    Value for money, comfortable beds. warm room, children loved the swimming pool and games room Easy parking and attentive staff. lift to room so no need to climb stairs carrying heavy bags.hotel is a bit dated but clean and what you would expect for price charged.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Never want to go home!
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brill location,lovely staff ,old quirky ex hospital turned into a hotel ,lovely veiw of the park,being renovated at Xmas ,stayed here lots of times as its great value for money and a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Cheap and cheerful, hard pushed to find better at the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpets are a little tiered, lino needs replacing but it did not put me off!!

    For the price this is a good hotel. It has everything you need (including the swimming pool) The staff are freindly. To be honest, I did not realise just how big the place was....Many rooms downstairs. Yes, it needs a bit of TLC here and there. but overall good and worth the money

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: