Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Greetham Valley 3 stars

Wood Lane, Greetham, LE15 7SN, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Greetham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 97 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - how about using free range eggs? Also how about a two tier price system. I try to eat ethically. I only eat free range eggs and I’m vegetarian. So I ate only a “continental breakfast” of cereal fruit snd toast but still paid full price of £8,00. Plastic: why the plastic in bedroom bins, when we know the impact of single use plastic on the environment. So unnecessary.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath was not a proper shower bath - so very narrow to stand in and very slippy. They provided a mat but this was too big and rumpled up, so not very comfortable to stand in.

    Very comfortable bed. Very quiet location so slept really well. Didn't have breakfast or use the bar so can't comment on those.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The friendliness of all the staff on reception and in the Dining Area nothing was to much trouble . The views were spectacular and particularly on this occasion as the area was covered in snow .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact my phone couldnt connect to free WIFI. When i asked staff why it wouldnt connect, they were clueless and not really that helpful. Breakfast-either have a regular buffet or order feom the kitchen every morning. Stained bed sheets-all be it clean, no one wants to see black marks on their duvet. Manority of accomodation is overlooked directly by the car park. 0 attempt to obstruct views from these rooms from anyone going to the driving range or going to their car. It seemed to alternate which i personally found annoying. Given the choice i prefer to pick my own food. Cleaners werent very clean..noticeable dirt within my room such as stationary behind chairs that wasnt spotted through out my stay.

    Free WIFI on my laptop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was awful. The double was two singles zipped together, both of which were very tired so you rolled into one of the sagging singles. If they had the beds from Premier Inn this place would be great.

    Stopped here a few years ago so could see where a few improvements had been made. Excellent wifi, breakfast good but could be hotter, bar meals excellent and general bar/tv/fire area excellent. Great shower and large rooms. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast we were not given menu and waitress refused to let us sit near window when we asked what cooked choice was still no menu just told full English / after breakfast we saw there was a menu. Second waitress was more accommodating

    Good food in bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed to turn the heating down but couldn't work out how to do this

    Loved the location. V handy for Burghley. Staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. We would stop here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to comment on.

    On arrival we thought we were in the United States! Large clean room with a great view overlooking an eighteen hole golf course. Cheerful and helpful staff too. On this occasion it was good value (but the next reservation is costing almost 20% more...)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cold options at breakfast.

    Breakfast options that were not cooked were poor. We had to ask to be seated with our party as they were going to allocate us table with the golfers! Although used as a wedding venue it is still primarily a Golf Club.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of £100 for double room is ok if sharing but bit of a blow if single occupancy

    There for a Golf Day and overnight stay which I was organising all went well from start to finish so no problems and no complaints from those who attended, staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar at the wedding reception was a shambles, very expensive drinks and the beer didn't work because the staff didnt understand the cellar.

    Large comfortable bed. Decent breakfast, plenty of choice and well cooked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - for the price it was great!

    Staff were lovely, even sending a quick, polite response when I sent an email query about the room having a bath. The breakfast staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble, and all with a smile! The bed was super comfortable and we slept really well and the breakfast was just lovely!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    Tremendous value for money! Spectacular views of Greetham Valley. Ideal location for visiting Oakham. Attentive and helpful staff as I had mobility problems.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a small point. The sink in the bathroom was cracked and it didn't drain very well - there may have been a blockage.

    The hotel was in a lovely location with great views from the bedroom. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was lovely. Overall it was great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful room, views, welcome from staff in all areas, food, location, , convenient parking. One of the best hotels in which we've stayed. Easy access to surrounding area. We don't play golf but heard many positive comments from friendly golfers.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are a little tired and could do with some attention.

    I've stayed at Greetham a few times now as I work in Oakham and live quite far away so this is very convenient. The rooms are huge with plenty of wardrobe space. The bathrooms are bright and spacious too. The gym is great and always very quiet. Always very helpful staff and plenty of parking too!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff appeared uninterested in the check in and questions that were asked. The receptionist didn't know how much the breakfast was and if we had it as a package with the room. A little more knowledge would have been nice.

    Location was great, room was lovely, view was stunning. Very peaceful and relaxing. Cleaning staff and bar staff were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor standard of breakfast; some menu items not available. Eggs looked disgusting in hotplate. Very limited Continental breakfast.

    Close to A1. Roomy comfortable bedroom,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was perfect for our requirements - an overnight stay for a wedding reception. Breakfast was fantastic, as was the evening meal in the golfers' bar. Good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dated and the bedding had a slight damp smell.

    Food was lovely and very reasonable. Very large room with a wonderful view over the golf course and lakes

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness in the bathroom was very good apart from one issue.

    The view and the friendly staff. Very comfortable bed. Availability of quiet rooms away from the main reception. Sausages at breakfast - really good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The waiting table staff were excellent throughout my stay and they were really neat and efficient but one waitress in particular kept saying "not a problem" which I found unnecessary. I think a general call to restaurant staff not to say this would enhance professionalism. Of course, you may have a different view.

    The attention from staff was excellent. My room with facilities for people with disabilities was one of the best designed I have experienced. It was also well appreciated when one meal I complained of was not cooked properly and was taken off my bill without any argument,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, staff slow in cleaning tables so we could sit down and eat, food was poor quality. Not all advertised facilities were available - e.g. archery

    Overall, reasonable value for money. It suited our needs and meals were generally good. Staff were typically friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bar snack in the evening lots of choice but our food wasn't great. We finished with an Irish coffee which we couldn't drink which is quite unusual for us!! Breakfast - again lots of choice but not great food mainly due to the fact that the cooked breakfast had been waiting around for sometime which is never good.

    Good location for visiting the bird fair. Comfy bed and large room. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No table service in the restaurant, check out time was too early. Kids at a wedding going on were running up and down upstairs corridor and playing in the lifts, which was disturbing.

    The bed was comfy, the food was good, the staff were generally good!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not serviced at all, food wasn't as described on the menu (Rocket Salad had no rocket, breakfast with black pudding had none, ciabatta garlic bread wasn't ciabatta)

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was positioned next to a conference room that had a terrace. Each day we stayed at the hotel people (possibly staff) went to this terrace to smoke and this came into our non-smoking room. We had to shut our windows.This puts us off staying at this hotel again.

    Bed was comfortable. Room was quiet. Staff on the whole are very courteous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really nice place.Friendly staff and the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little squishy this time, some have been firmer though

    Its just so quiet and the rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room was very outdated

    Very nice room, with a nice view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food

    bed was vey comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were amazing and the location was beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Excellent customer service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Overall it was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No negatives everything was really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was massively overpriced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets and pillows smelled of grease, stain on quilt cover, furniture was dusty. Breakfast wasnt great.

    Staff were good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms food and most of all staff

    All of it u were so kind to us all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice relaxing place. Alone in the green area. Good GYM and very good WIFI connection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Restaurant service , table dirty with one member of staff had no idea about serving and setting up a table

    Good for the area we wanted to see

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful setting, friendly staff and excellent food. We would go back again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the 2nd we have stayed at Greetham, superb rooms and service. Next time it would be lovely to have a room facing the golf course

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looking over golf course, while enjoying a lovely meal.

    Lovely receptionist & lovely food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very courteous, polite and helpful at all times. They couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too thin

    Nice size room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept dropping out Room 109

    Friendly and helpful staff competent to handle any enquiry

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable !

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.Food in the bar was restaurant standard and 2 courses for a £10 was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff. Great times.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful, fantastic food and reasonable prices. Great view over golf course

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very well presented. Breakfast very good and staff in both the evening and morning were attentive and courteous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room overlooking golf course. Bed really comfy. Lovely meal in restaurant, and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu hopeless for vegetarians. Bar staff useless and favoured locals.

    Breakfast was great and views from room plus very convenient

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The workmen on the lawn mowers started work very early. Also the coffee and tea facilities could be improved.

    The clean bed linen.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic views across the golf course and nice spacious rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very peaceful . Convenient for Burghley Fantastic view Can we book for next year ??

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly & welcomeing staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good for me as I had friends nearby but it's quite remote.

    Breakfast. View over countryside. Free easy acces wi fi. Spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious bathroom, lovely location fantastic view in the morning when woke up, great breakfast, great value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit secluded. Ok for some i guess

    Pleasant stay Wedding was on during our stay. Looked well catered

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved our stay, but if I was to mention anything, it'd be that the bathrooms could probably do with a bit of an update. Wouldn't stop us staying here again though

    Great view overlooking the golf course, wonderful meal in the restaurant and they organised a 'happy birthday' dessert for my husband with very little notice. Really comfortable beds and lovely peaceful surroundings

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was there for a large family party of 50 relatives which I organised.I had all the help I needed plus more from the staff at Greetham and look forward to going again. The party contained 4year to 90 year olds!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tired bathroom. Dirty restaurant carpet. Bedroom overlooking large busy car park.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful landscaped gardens & golf course.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not adequate shampoo and shower gel considering it was double occupancy. bed was soft. receptionist not very friendly at check in. do not temper having been given a choice at time of booking if we wanted golf course or car park view. ended up with car park view - no privacy

    location was good. checking out was easy. breakfast was great. receptionist was helpful

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee machine in residents lounge often not working, due to staff removing a part during certain hours of the day. Why do they have it at all?

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When my ball went in the lake on the 18th! None - all was good.

    Very friendly staff, particularly at the front desk and at breakfast. Excellent breakfast. Lakes golf course a good test and golf pro really welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room didn't smell to great, perhaps slightly damp. Decoration was dated and plain. Wifi signal on our bottom floor room (overlooking the car park) was also poor.

    Room and bathroom were a good size and bed very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friday night - wedding and disco was OK, the sound barely carried to the room. Saturday night - the unch unch invaded everywhere until midnight. Then at 1am a crowd of loud mouthed laughing shouting revellers came along the corridor. One savverner in particular shouthed, laughing "Don't worry if the effing fire alarm goes off, it'll just be me 'avin' an effing fag ha ha ha". Great respect for other residents. But no signs anywhere reminding people to respect other residents in the hotel Will not be staying again.

    The room and the view

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close to function room with a wedding party lasting past midnight, so it was very noisy.

    Views from the room over the golf course. All you can eat buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow bar staff, mediocre breakfast, room allocated among wedding guests, so a little noise once the party had finished. Cleaners trolleys and 'stuff' left in corridor for most of the day.

    Beds were comfy, good sized rooms. Food in restaurant was good. Ok if you play golf!!

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really enjoyed the experience, because both golf courses were in good condition for the time of year. Excellent breakfasts, with a good choice of food throughout the day. One to try!!

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room spacious and spotless. Bathroom excellent. Staff are amazing as arrived as restaurant closed at 930pm. The staff on duty arranged for sandwiches to be made and served in the bar. Thank you to those very special people for going the extra mile.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole atmosphere was.first class we are not golfers but did'nt feel out of place. Our second stay but hopefully not our last.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: