Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Gresham Hotel Bloomsbury

36 Bloomsbury Street, Camden, London, WC1B 3QJ, United Kingdom

#939 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2247 hotel reviews

5.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.2

  • Comfort

    4.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    4.4

  • Staff

    5.7

  • Value for money

    5.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    8.8
    Cheap and (mostly) cheerful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drab decor, archaic check in system. Overall, the general feel of the hotel was a bit of a downer.

    For the price, which was cheap, everything was in line with expectations. The bed and towels were clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    4.2
    Only thing going for it is the location, this should be marketed as a HOSTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything else- hot rooms, very noisy from about 5.00am as the hotel behind has dustbin lorry EVERY DAY!!! , very cheap beds, no cleaning during stay or beds made, cheap towels, no soap, or no anything !

    Location is the only thing going for it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    5.4
    Appalling. Probably the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in, and I’ve roughed it in 3rd world countries.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whole place was so run-down and shabby, it didn’t look as though it had had any decorating, maintenance, or renovation in 40 years — certainly no love or care from the owners. I booked to have wi-if, but it is only available in the reception area, not in the rooms. Bed was either broken or on a slope: it felt like I was going to roll off in my sleep. Broken window pane (not just a crack — the glass was actually broken). Curtains unhooked at top, so couldn’t be drawn properly. Panels under the sink partially pulled away, so nails/screws protruding. Dried splashes of some unknown substance *shudder* on the painted walls. I should have taken photos, but I was too dispirited to bother. I would have cancelled and moved, but arrived too tired from travelling to realise until too late how very bad it was, and then couldn’t find other accommodation in the area at such short notice, so was stuck with it :-(

    Staff were pleasant (just one person at a time on reception — no other staff visible at all). Clean sheets. Sash window opened nice and wide (it was a hot week). Location good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    2.9
    One of the biggest shame out there, this place is like a low grade hostel. Don’t get your hopes up w
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything, especially the fact that I felt like I was in the barracks

    Nothing the worst place I have found ever. I would prefer the street to sleep on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    5.0
    Wouldnt rush bak
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Family Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very basic for the price, three flights of stairs limited facilities. Tv never worked the room was stuffy and bare minimum, tierd and bar the sheets nothing looked clean.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not what I expected, very dingy, not a hotel, no room service, room was in attic, no tea making facilities, no shower get, shampoo etc, this is more like a low rating hostel, this should not be on booking.cim, toilet didn't flush properly and shower over flowed

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    4.2
    Not recommended at all. Booked at short notice and unsurprised now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything: Room decor, Room facilities, Filthy windows, overgrown and filthy garden, filthy and unfit curtains, flooring warped, no soap/ shampoo, no tea/ coffee or bedside light, only one socket, storage really overused and outdated and as a result, really, really overpriced.

    Location and 24 hour staff only

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    4.2
    Cost is too high for what you are getting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities, the “ friendliness of the staff”, and the noisy street.

    Worst hotel for the money and the street is very loud all night, although that is not the hotels fault.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    6.0
    Very low cost for London albeit very basic too
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very low cost for London - booked last minute at 9pm - clean bed but shared shower-room - reasonable value for what I paid - close to Tottenham Court Road

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    3.8
    Exclusively location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Extremely old building that looks like it is never cleaned. Carpets, decor, etc at least 30 years of age. Misleading to call it hotel when rooms do not have en-suite. Light bulbs missing, broken glass in windows. The pits.

    Exclusively location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    4.6
    It is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn’t comfortable, the rooms are very basics. Only had one pillow and no kettle in the room so wasn’t able to have a cup of tea in the morning.

    It is in a good location. Ok if your only staying for the one night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    3.3
    NOTHING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING, as above, DID BOOKING.COM EVER CHECK THIS PROPERTY? I am a long time loyal customer of Booking.com and am disappointed and very annoyed you have it on your site. I am considering checking other sites for future bookings, I am that disappointed with you.

    NOTHING. the outside was dirty, windows dirty. no remote for tv, room window dirty, curtain was hanging by 2 hooks, no hot water. I did ask for remote and for the curtain (?) to be fixed but nobody even checked the room on my second day. The only good thing I can say is the bed linen and towels were clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    5.0
    Good if you don't have to spend much time at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet didn't work. Staff not very helpful, nobody cares.

    Good if you don't have to spend much time at the hotel. Alright if you need a place to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    3.3
    The most disgusting hotel I have EVER stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most disgusting place I have EVER stayed in. The whole place needs to be gutted. As soon as I stepped in the front door I knew it would be horrible. The entrance had a huge stain strewn across the carpet which was buckling and probably over 30 years old. The man who checked us in was very unconcerned about us being there. Our booking was at this point non refundable so he had no reason for concern or to even be helpful. The whole place smelled bad, and our room smelled like urine and excrement. Everything was dirty, the walls, the carpets, the covers, the TOILET PAPER had stains on it. There was a used condom outside my kid's bedroom window. This hotel has been totally neglected. I will be posting pictures on TripAdvisor. I put a "sad face" on every option Booking.com gave me except the area because it was a convenient, safe location which bumped the rating up from 2.5 to 3.3. In my opinion it should be ZERO! I will NEVER ever recommend this hotel or ever stay here again, and have contacted Booking.com to let them know of the horrific conditions.

    Absolutely NOTHING!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    3.3
    WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Worst place I have ever been. Rude staff, very unfriendly and unprofessional. Told me to wait will they check what was the problem because there was no hot water and I waited 10 minutes nearby the bathroom and when I have enough I went down and the staff member was sitted on the reception watching videos and laughing. I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS PLACE AT ALL! The place is really dirty, no air conditioning at all - in some places they had heater on and it was really hot. They even tried to put me out the hotel when I said that is not acceptable to not have hot water. Also, no wi fi in 2018 is just ridiculous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    4.2
    Good location very poor rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Badly needs refurbished, floors and rooms dirty 90% of the staff are lovely but the manager I’ve never come across anyone with such bad people skills in my life

    Location about 300 yards from oxford street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    Decent value for money, if you just need to get your head down for the night this is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good price for London, pretty basic but you get what you pay for! Perfectly reasonable if you just want somewhere to get your head down for the night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    4.6
    Location only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dirty run down hotel more likely to charge them to stay there next time I visit London. I guess that’s why it’s so cheap compared to others?? You get what you pay for in London and £55 don’t get you much..

    Location only.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    4.2
    I WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND THAT ANYONE STAY HERE. Its very unclean, toilet and shower facilities are awful. Disgusting carpet stains everywhere. Cracks and holes in the wall. Front window of reception being smashed didn’t create a good impression from the very start.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    4.2
    Cheap, shabby and awful. Don't bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful shabby room in an awful shabby building. Hot, stuffy, very old fashioned and basic. Nothing of comfort. It was clean. It was a very warm day and the only air flow was on opening the window. As it was central London that wasn't feasible all night. I decided not to stay, so that was wasted money. I would NOT recommend this place.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.8
    Basic delapidated run-down hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very smelly blocked shower drain in one room, and extractor fan didn’t work. One wardrobe door was missing. TV didn’t work in other room, and a loose glass light fitting fell off the wall and smashed onto the floor. Wi-fi was only available in reception, and was intermittent. At least 2 power cuts during our stay.

    Great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    6.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lifts. Top floor no air con or fans on really hot day and night had to try and sleep with with Windows open in a city centre!! Curtains were torn and shabby and paper thin so as soon as sun was up so were we! Bathroom had not been cleaned thoroughly- semi used bar of soap in shower cubicle and the instruction leaflet from a durex packet on pipes behind toilet.

    Location: only 5 minute walk from theatre, shops and restaurants. Needed cup to take medicine in water and reception was kind enough to provide paper one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    5.0
    The location was good, but it was very loud from restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could feel the springs in the bed as you slept on the very hard pillow. The attendants were not very hospitable and even stayed in the little back room as we tried to check out. Our hostel we stayed at a few nights before was much better than this place.

    The location was good, but it was very loud from restaurants late at night. We asked for the toilet to be fixed, and it was, but an entire 24 hours later.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    4.2
    Paid basic room price but i do expect to be able to sleep, which i didnt.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot night window broken, alarm went off all night , complained to reception, they said it was going to be fixed, it was not fixed until I complained again in the morning at 0745.

    Location great, some good restaurants nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    3.8
    The location is excellent close to amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is smelly and dusty; cleaning done every other day cheap carpet on top of broken woods in the bedroom. Tv was not working even after informing staff nothing was done. Bed squeaks!

    The location is excellent close to amenities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    5.0
    Dark, Dated & Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole place was dark, dated & most concerning of all, dirty. There were lipstick smudges on the walls of our room, and what we were pretty sure was blood on the wall on the staircase. A good clean, a lick of paint and some new carpets would have worked wonders.

    The location was great as the main purpose of our visit was to see a show at the Dominion Theatre. The room was a good size & there was a good full length mirror, which is sometimes lacking in hotel rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    5.0
    Great position, but I wouldn't recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are small and the hygiene is not great. Wifi is available only at the reception. If you need to leave the room and wish to leave your luggage at the reception they will charge 10 GBP! One receptionist was nice and friendly, others were very unkind. They recommended that I should leave the key at the reception. Next time when I got back to the hotel, there was no one at the desk. I rang and waited for 10 min. Keys were unattended and anyone could come in and take any key from the reception!

    The position of the hotel is great. It is very close to the British Museum, Covent Garden and shopping area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.0
    The staff were not very polite or hospitalble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were not very polite or hospitalble. It was quite awkward to check in to be honest. The room was big but the bed was a cheap plastic frame that squeaks and a very old mattress. There is no lift in the building and we had to leav our keys every time we left which made me uncomftable. The showers and bathroom are shared and went very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    5.0
    Room was clean but bathroom is shared.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ambience of the hotel is poor. In our room there were 4 lights but only 1 was working.

    Room was clean but bathroom is shared. Location is good. Hotel is located at cebtral London. Hotel is okay to stay only if you want to sleep at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    5.8
    It is a relatively cheap place to stay given its superb location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very down at heel and grubby. The room hadn't been painted for a long time. There was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. It was all very basic indeed.

    It was very good value for money on account of its location which is just 10 minutes walk from Covent Garden. There is a plethora of international restaurants closeby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    7.5
    Great a hotel, shame about staff. A smile wouldn't go a miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not feel welcome, the staff do not look at you when you walk in, they then continue not to look at you. I witnessed this with other guests too. You're made to feel like an inconvenience. I found the cost of £10 for me to keep my luggage there before and after check in fairly steep.

    Amazing location so I'd put up with the rude staff for that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    4.6
    Thank god it was just one night
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doors and entrance in disrepair,Stains all over the carpet in the lobby, extremely rude and unhelpful staff (I was actually in shock at how unhelpful and rude they were being like I was annoying them by even staying there)

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.1
    It's a humble place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a humble place. Bed and towels are clean, carpets are old and maybe not so clean, toilets and showers are shared. Take your own shampoo! The best about it is the location, couldn't be better!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    3.3
    Terrible, don’t stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place was terrible to be honest 5 flights of steep stairs to reach a dusty threadbare room, no breakfast facilities, no tea or coffee making facilities dirty bathroom with no facilities to wash your hands had to go back to your room to do so. Receptionist was mediocre at best and rude at times. Overall bad value for money and whole place had a damp smell.

    Tube was within 5 minutes walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.3
    It was just what was needed and I had a very pleasant stay. I would definitely stay here again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was unpleasantly surprised to find that I was constantly bashing my leg/ shin against the single bed, metal frame legs which jutted out from under the mattress and which were covered by the bed cover. An excruciatingly, painful experience, especially when you don't expect it!! I alerted the staff on duty of this very dangerous H&S problem and suggested they get it sorted before someone breaks a leg or is seriously injured. I also didn't like the toilet and shower set up facility which were outside of the rooms and shared. These were clean, but could do with an upgrade - which would no doubt reflect in a raise in the rooms tariffs. Overall, for the purpose of my visit, the room was excellent for my need over 2 days, where I was happily and perfectly, centrally located.

    What I liked first and foremost, was the location. Second, I loved the central, overlooking, street view from the room I was given. The staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful; and joyously - immediately, immensely likeable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.3
    If you want this location and don’t have expectations for anything too grand this is the place for u
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a VERY small single room but perfectly adequate otherwise. As mentioned great location but this has a downside to with lias street noise until late and starts early

    Amazing value for its exceptional location. Great for theatre land and in my case the business meetings I needed to attend. Way cheaper than most in the area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.3
    The value of the money's okay and location and and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The value of the money's okay and location and and cleaning in rooms....but what i doesn't like the noises from outside and from the next doors of the hotels... but in rest was okay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    5.0
    For emergencies only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is grim. I mean really grim. None of the decor or furniture has been touched in many, many years. Carpet was black with grime. Furniture falling apart. Light fittings barely clinging to walls/ceilings. Mattress was totally warn out and impossible to sleep on. You could feel every single really cheap coil spring digging into your back/side.

    Location. Still had vacancies a few hours before I wanted to sleep there (I wonder why....)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    5.8
    Only just given a pass mark!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor was dated and a bit shabby. Carpets from the 70/80s! Shower tray was very very slow to drain.

    Needs, i'd say, a major overhaul and some modernising/updating. I was on the 4th floor of the annexe building...narrow stairs so NOT good for anyone with mobility problems and if you have heavy luggage. Clean enough but decor rather old and a tad shabby. My room cupboard had only one door and the shower tray didnt drain very quickly at all. I'd recommend this hotel for a very short stay...but only just. Bed comfy and controlled front door entry very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    5.4
    - The second building (some rooms are not in the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The second building (some rooms are not in the main building) is being opened from the reception. If no people on reception it's not possible to get into the room. I had to wait about 15 mins in the night shifts. - Absolutely no soundproofing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    5.8
    The private bathroom for twin room is good, big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast provided, no hairdryer in the room (but can be borrowed from the front desk), no wifi access in the basement. In some case guests need to share public bathrooms with others which should be noticed when booking.

    The private bathroom for twin room is good, big and clean. Beds and pillows are clean to rest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    5.0
    A very basic and tired hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Such a worn, depressing place. I wish they just spent a little bit of money to refurbish it. The reception area looks really grotty too.

    Can't beat the excellent location, with a bus stop outside the door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    4.6
    1st room I was given hadnt been cleaned from previous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    1st room I was given hadnt been cleaned from previous occupants. Was given a poor substitute room. Desk staff asked if I wanted to pay an extra £10 for an en-suite bathroom but both rooms I was given had en-suite bathrooms anyway (though the light in the bathroom didnt even work) and were not in a particularly clean standard. Very basic rooms. Expected a lot better for 1 night @£75

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    5.0
    You get what you pay for! I wouldn't go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at the entrance, my exact words to my friend was 'I don't think I can do this!' You couldn't even see through the windows they were that filthy. The lady on reception checked us in. I've never experienced a receptionist with smelly wind. She wasn't at all bothered and carried on throughout check in. The smell was horrendous! We were in a room in the Annexe. It was very dated and in need of some tlc. But we were only there for 1 night, so could put up with it. In the morning we were up and off quite early as we needed to get out of the room. Although I read the reviews, I didn't expect it to be this bad. I wouldn't stay here again.

    The Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money - avoid....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They say, you get what you pay for... In this instance I need a refund, the room was not worth £70 a night As the hotel is in Bloomsbury, you’d expect it to be better looked after, I’ve stayed in backpackers hostels that were better maintained. I arrived a the guy at reception was abrupt - there was no ‘welcome’ or hello or anything like that - just ‘fill this in...’ The room was filthy, the shower didn’t drain, there was a tv, but no antenna cable, door handles missing from the wardrobe and someone else’s nail clippings on the floor, the walls were dirty I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - EVER...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    4.5
    only the price is right. You get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    where to start. Looks like this hotel hasn't been painted in 20 years. It feels very un-clean. This is a very basic hotel in need of major renovation.

    not much except the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    4.6
    Not to be repeated.
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    Sheets and towels were clean. Relatively quiet if at the back. A place to sleep, nothing more. Needs to put some freshening to walls and floors. A very unwelcoming place. Felt more like camping, with two shower closets and two shared toilets per floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.8
    It was close to the train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Basic Family Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was small. Enough for what we needed, but a little uncomfortable. The room was a little warm and the windows were a bit hard to move.

    It was close to the train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    4.6
    Comedically bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything else. Was there with my 10yr old daughter as a birthday treat. Found in arrival that the were shared facilities, but could pay extra for en-suite but had already exceeded budget. The room had water/drip stains on the walls, polyfiller slapped into various dents in the walls and ceiling, there was rubbish left under the bed and the lock in the shower on our floor was literally hanging off by its 4 screws.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Chosen on price, should have looked into the hotel in more detail, before choosing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought a hotel in this area would be less hostel. Toilet, shower and washing facilities were in a cubicle within the room. Worse still, I was not told when booking, that I was in an annexe. I am sure it it ok for non business travellers.....

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    2.9
    rubish would not stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room could really do with a make over. the "bathroom" was tiny with not enough room to stand in the shower. the shower head fell off the holder when the water was running. the room was very noisy when the toilet was flushed in the next room.

    its in the centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    3.8
    horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i could have got what i ordered the rook i was given shoukd have been cheaper

    i booked an en suite was given a shared bathroom on the ground floor on the main road the traffic was horrific i had no sleep and was affraid to use the shared facilities so no shower in the morning there was no double glazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    5.8
    The location of hotel was great, hotel Staff were helpful but needs decorating of room.
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom needed painting and decorating and needed new carpets. The ensuite bathroom was lovely it looked brand new.

    The Staff were helpful and accommodating. The location of the hotel was good in regard to restaurants and cafes and to visit places of interest including the British Museum and the Cartoon Museum. Also buses were located right outside hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    5.8
    OK, but not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny! With a tiny tiny bathroom. It would have been fine, but I didn't think it was worth the money. You can get better places with normal sized rooms, internet and breakfast included in the same area for the same price. The most ridiculous thing though, was the curtain which wasn't long enough to cover the whole window! I had a put a blanket over the bottom part to block out the light and the view of people on the top deck of buses passing by!

    The receptionist was friendly and the location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    4.6
    Very bad experience and I would not suggest anyone to try this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no quilt in my room. The reception staff works with a bad temper. The bed is bad with no any support so that you would feel like lying on the abyss. The window cannot be opened. The toilet and bathroom shared are very poor. You cannot find somewhere to put your shampoo on in the bathroom. If you wanna save your baggage at reception you will be asked to pay 10 pounds and if your baggage is stolen, it is your own risk.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    2.9
    Horrible. Can I send the photos of the room?
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like anything about this hotel. ,the room was very dirty, with drosophilas inside, with a broken closet, at the 4th storey. The door couldn't be locked, the ceiling was wet. The sink was smelling urine and I thought I had thrown my money to the trash.

    Just the location unfortunately :(

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    5.0
    eh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good price for the area, but desperately needing simple and achievable improvements. Start with a check bag fee at reception for 10 pounds. Move then to replacing 30 year old, torn, stained and smelly carpeting... You get what you pay for, but by first world standards I'm disappointed. I would not recommend this hotel for anything beyond a budget Solo traveler.

    The shared bathrooms were the cleanest part of the experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    4.2
    Just as well it's central. If it was in the suburbs, the hotel would never get any customers
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is as little helpful as possible and almost agressive. You sometimes have to wait almost half an hour at the desk to get your key, and get in your room in the meanwhile. My room hasn't been clean a single day during my stay!! There is not wifi in the rooms. You have to pay £10 to leave a small bag in hte hall on your departure day, knowing that it's not secured and and anybody walks in and out at any moment. ANd on top, the shower water was cold.

    The price considering the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    5.0
    It just about did the job - we needed to stay overnight in roughly that area. Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very basic - that's fine. But no plug is the washbasin, broken shower screen, no light in en-suite. These last two were fixed, but the light then could not be turned off. Reception staff very off-hand. Won't be going there or anywhere similar again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    3.0
    Please do NOT stay at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing, I was in the annex which was a few doors down. The property had no staff in it and at 21.30 the door was wide open to the street. My room was so basic just one bed sheet, no plug in the sink and there were two pairs of curtains both missing off the track. Very uncared for. A horrible night spent feeling scared.

    Absolutely nothing, I was in the annex which was a few doors down. The property had no staff in it and at 21.30 the door was wide open to the street. My room was so basic just one bed sheet, no plug in the sink and there were two pairs of curtains both missing off the track. Very uncared for. A horrible night spent feeling scared.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very grubby and lacked facilities. Extremely hot in the roof room with no air con. Very loud traffic noise. No kettle or cups. No shower gel. Unable to fill up water bottle in tiny sink.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    4.2
    Due to its location, the hotel has potential, but quality is not worth the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even though I don't have high needs and the price seemed reasonable compared to other hotels, the quality of the room, bed, shower, toilet was that poor that I wouldn't dare to positively recommend this hotel to anyone.

    The location of the hotel enables you to visit many landmarks by foot. If you like to go out in Soho, it's definitely nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    5.4
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needs a lot of work and refurbishment. Inside the room, nothing of great interest apart from the bedding. Cloths wardrobe, tables, and parts of the shower require rennovation and maintenance. The Front desk staff upon check-in has shown unpleasant manner when discussing with him my sudden change of plan to reduce my stay, and the way he insisted for extra amount to be paid because of this change.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing as no rest which a traveller very much needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was in the annexe room 62. Very steep stairs for an older person. Noise hard to detect but finally decided it was to do with TURNING ON WATER SUPPLY. All night long this sound woke me and I became very exhausted. No one in reception understood my dilemma. I have written to management so will see if they bother to respond. This NOISE must have happened to other guests as it was not my room that was turning on water supply all night long. Second no wi-fi in the annexe not really good enough in this day and age.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    5.8
    I pd £55 for single room with shared facilities. I think there could be many simple improvements.
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating was on full, unable to adjust. Unsure if I was safe, going along corridor to use toilet but I can say there were no issues and all fine. I am just not used to this environment.

    The bedding was clean and fresh. the standard is what you pay for with shared toilet and shower. I’ve never stayed anywhere with this standard and shared facilities but it was purely to sleep and catch the train at Euston and did not wish to pay OT for a single room ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    3.8
    Night from hell!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in girl when I arrived was rude and not helpful at all. The heating was on full blast and could not be turned down, the radiators were broken, I opened a window but the noise from the traffic was so loud. I did not sleep due to the heat and the noise and I when I complained the next day the guy behind reception just shrugged his shoulders! STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!!

    The location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    5.0
    Would only stay 1night no longer very much like a hostel.
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs painted inside and out ,new carpets in hotel and annex very dingy ,hotel manager not very pleasant,No tea /coffee making.facilities

    Nothing about this hotel in need of upgrade on all of this property,only good thing about it is location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.8
    Great price, but you get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too warm and up 4 flights of stairs with no lift. Would not be suitable for some. Bathroom could have done with a better clean and did not want to use the shower.

    The location is great, not far from Euston and easy to get to most places in London. This hotel is pretty cheap for central London

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    5.0
    Great price, great location, shame about everything else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel clearly was last decorated in the early 1970’s. The radiator in the room was jammed on, and couldn’t be turned down. The general feel of everything in the room was very grubby: walls, doors, light switches, carpets, curtains all need a deep clean or ideally replacing. The shower was the least appealing one I’ve seen since Psycho. The drains need a good clean through in the en suite as there was a noticeable odour coming out of the sink. The mattress was not comfortable, and the sheets scratchy. Doors and walls are paper thin, so you can hear everything in reception.

    Excellent location smack bang next to the British Museum, a very short walk to Tottenham Court Road station and Oxford Street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    4.2
    The staff was unapproachable, not even a smile when you come...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was unapproachable, not even a smile when you come in. The room and property itself was needing extreme revamping. The curtains did not fully cover the windows and were not hung properly, the bedding was awful quality and the paintwork and furnishings needed to be changed as they were dishevelled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    3.3
    Not going back for sure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was dreadful.. no hot water to shower. They charged us extra 10 pounds to get room with bathroom and not using the shared. They said we booked for standard.... we payed cash we didn't got any receipts w/e

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    4.6
    SCAM ARTISTS, RUDE, OBNOXIOUS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are rude, obnoxious and try to play games with credit cards. I arrived at 11am, the only thing the clerk said when I walked in saying I had a reservation was "3 o clock", I stared and said nothing he said you can leave your luggage in the lobby but we are not responsible. I then asked to be placed no higher than second floor due to knee problems, I was told talk to them at 3pm. I came back at 3pm, checked in , filled out many forms and paid in advance with my credit card electronically, The clerk then insisted that my card was not signed, after I paid and he could not accept it. I checked it and signature was faded. I was afraid to sign a second time while the first was still partly visible. He insisted, despite the fact that the transaction had already been approved and gone through that I give him cash or another credit card. I started screaming, He wanted to make a copy of my credit card. I took the key off the desk and said I was going to my room, He came around the desk trying to come at me to get the key and threatening to call the police, I yelled at him to call the police. He did not, I finally gave in and let him xerox my card, I was afraid these people would use it elsewhere. So nasty, I prepaid for three days, on the second day another clerk asked me if I wanted to extend for a third night and pay for it. These people are scam artists and nasty. DO NOT STAY HERE. THIS PLACE SHOULD NOT BE ON BOOKING.COM.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    3.3
    See above. A poor experience that ruined a weekend and accomodation not in keeping with booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stated in e-mail requesting refund. Room dirty, peeling wallpaper,dirty carpet, loose electric plug socket, rotting window frames, dirty curtains, dirty unlit communal shower and communal toilet with no light and no hand basin inside. Receptionist rude and unaware of room location - no lifts. The worst stay anywhere we’ve ever had.

    Nothing about the property was clean or welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    5.0
    Tired, unloved and uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed really uncomfortable; curtains far too short, there was about a 30cm gap at the bottom, so the street lights shone on me all night keeping me awake; also very scruffy and dirty, well overdue some maintenance work compared to similar hotels nearby; receptionist seemed to be going for a speed talking world record so could barely follow what she was saying

    Location is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    3.8
    Not even worth the little amount you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude Receptionist, I called in advance to secure a different room and agreed to pay the higher price but apparently no record of this. Room was uncomfortable and dirty.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gresham Hotel Bloomsbury Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: