Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Groarty House/Manor 3 stars

64 Groarty Road, Derry Londonderry, BT48 0JY, United Kingdom

#18 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Derry Londonderry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 427 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Amazing b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing this place was amazing.

    We stayed here for five days as we were attending the Foyal cup from the moment we arrived we knew we picked the right place. Owners were so nice and gave us infomation on places to eat and places to see. Our room was first class as was the breakfast which set us up for a day watching football. The location was perfect and after a long day out and about we got great night sleep in this peacefull location. If we every return to Derry this is where we will be staying and would recommend to all my friends and family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent - all that I could have wanted from my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Owners were exceptionally generous with their time even to extent of spending significant personal time and effort removing a stain from some clothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely out of town location, quiet and relaxing, with warm and welcoming hosts and environment. The room was spacious and comfortable with an excellent shower (big plus for that!). Breakfast was good. Only one chair in a large room for two people was a minor quibble but overall excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Eleven out of Ten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly hosts who treated you like family.Cosy rooms.Top breakfast.Excellent location 2 miles outside Derry where John and Margaret supplied us with a spin into town in their luxurious land rover.Toured North Donegal from this location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had a funny smell when you walk in Carpet in room could of done with a clean too

    The ground was lovely, & beautiful view The breakfast was good, comfortable bed & a good shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Excellent, and a lovely warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome from Margaret and John, rooms were massive with on suite, spotlessly clean, only 2 miles from Derry, beautiful country location with ample parking, tv in room and guest lounge, provided us with ice cold water from the fridge. Full Irish breakfast, You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Many Thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Loved it, I'll be back.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower cubicle itself was a bit small but that was overcome by the niceness of the water.

    Shower was lovely (hot and good power), Margaret and all staff were just brilliant. Breakfast was fab. Lots of space in the room. I'll definitely be booking again. Lovely view overlooking Derry from my window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit out of town, but the quietness made up for it.

    Margaret was very friendly and helpful, she gave us maps of where to go for dinner. Accomodation very clean and good bed. Quiet at night, so easy to have a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    poached eggs requested, hard and horrid delivered
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only thing I noticed was en-suite had not been cleaned thoroughly where floor meets wall? Unusual for me to notice this so it must be bad!!

    poached eggs requested, hard and horrid delivered

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Warm welcome with professional attention to each guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome with professional attention to each guest. Lovely breakfast. Beautiful setting. A bit further from the city centre than we'd expected but a beautiful location. We'd definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, large room, great shower, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Very friendly staff, large room, great shower, good breakfast. Rural setting but still minutes from the city. Lounge for guests. Lovely property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Pleasantly surprised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small fridge in the room to keep refreshments/snacks cold.

    Quiet, peaceful & rejuvenating. My room had 2 twin beds with an ensuite, tv, coffee/tea kettle. Still plenty of room to walk within the room. The room tastefully decorated & bed was quite comfortable. View was overlooking fountain & a night the lights of a small village in the far distance. Breakfast very good. Nice chatting with other guests. They have great travel reference books for the area and made very helpful suggestions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    I cannot praise this establishment highly enough, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot praise this establishment highly enough, excellent and friendly staff, made me feel welcome as soon as I arrived. Breakfast was superb ! I can thoroughly recommend this B+B. 10/10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    A lovely spot a little out of town but as we had a car that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely spot a little out of town but as we had a car that was fine. Large spacious room, fresh and clean. Great breakfast. Great accommodating hosts for our late arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Bonus to our time in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we didn't like.

    The room was very spacious,the bed was so comfortable. Very quiet location,plenty of parking and very friendly.located outside of the town but a good list of taxi available and very helpful book of things to do and see during your stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great property and host in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location only 3 miles from Londonderry yet out in the quiet countryside. Absolutely wonderful host with a good sense of humour and extremely helpful. Great places to eat dinner a short drive away and a wonderful breakfast supplied in the mornings. Rooms very large and the bed and pillows the best I have slept in/on in 6 weeks in the UK. Thanks Margaret

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Another wonderful full-score B&B in Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Another wonderful full-score B&B in Ireland. Our hosts were helpful, forthcoming and went beyond our expectations to help us with tire difficulties. A delightful place, slightly off the beaten path but in an easily-accessible area to see the amazing city of Derry. Thumbs-up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Groarty Manor review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower needs a bit of updating. In generel, nothing was to dislike. I will certainly visit again!

    Good location to visit North Donegal, a few miles to Derry city centre for restaurants and bars. Host was very welcoming and polite. Bed very comfy. Good size bedroom. Breakfast was very nice. Plenty car parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Turn on your GPS:)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water in the shower! Tried to run some more water but no help, had to have cold shower.

    We got a family room for 2 of us. Very spacious, clean, towels new. The lady very helpful and informative. The location is quite remote from the city, impossible to find without gps, but who doesn't have one today. ..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The B&B was in a lovely location, surrounded by open fields. The host was very welcoming and she couldn't do enough to help one of our group, who has to have everything gluten free. The rooms were very clean, spacious, warm with very comfortable beds. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Warm welcome, warm room, excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome, warm room, excellent breakfast. Everything that you would expect for an excellent stay, been coming back a few times and will continue to do so.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay with lovely breakfast served. recomend highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes only the weather.

    The bed was extra comfy in a lovely clean bedroom en suite. An excellent breakfast was served by friendly staff. Look forward to our next visit Groarty house. Will recommend to many travelling that way.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful & friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host, Margaret, was amazing. Very friendly & helpful. From providing an amazing breakfast when it suited us to a great recommendation for a pub for dinner. She made us feel special & very welcomed. It was a simple B&B but very clean & looked after. The location was an easy drive to Derry. I would stay here again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money, lovely rooms and service from the family. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - had stayed before and returned due to the service and accommodation provided.

    Very accommodating at short notice and a lovely breakfast as well

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic value for money - clean and comfortable.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of space for parking. Nice quiet location. Comfy clean room. Friendly hosts - above and beyond what is expected. Mr Hyndman even kindly gave my friend and I a lift into the city centre on Saturday night to save us getting a taxi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    great location and warm friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was clean and warm. breakfast was fantastic. A good friendly atmosphere and it was quiet and relaxed. location is great , only 5 minutes from city centre , but placed in the countryside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    The staff were great craic, very accommodating &...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set in a beautiful location and worked great for us as we had a car but might be helpful to know that you would need your own transport.

    The staff were great craic, very accommodating & friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Really big and confortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Curtains didn´t avoid light through in

    Really big and confortable room Good mattress Good breakfast, full Irish, fruit, juice... 7 minutes driving to Derry city 10 minutes driving to Grianan of aileach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.6
    Nice people but wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 3pm to be advised there was no one on site and we couldn't check in until 5pm. This was supposed to be on booking.com but we certainly didn't see it. The shower only has a curtain which results in water spraying across the bathroom. Breakfast was poor in comparison with other B&Bs. Bacon overcooked even though cooked to order, fruit not fresh. Room was excessively hot and we slept with the window open all night as we couldn't adjust the room temp. Our overall impression was this was the end of the season and the care factor had dropped.

    The hosts were friendly and assisted us to book dinner at a local venue.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Our first time staying in Derry. Won't be our last!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lovely welcome from Margaret! Also the warmth of the house on what was a blustery evening. The fabulous view from our room - especially that of the Derry city lights at night. Magical!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Quality service, facilities and really nice people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Still haven't noticed anything that i didn't like about this place.

    I've been back a few time to this place and every time I've received nothing but a great service. Very clean facilities, comfy bed, good breakfast, excellent staff & service and any room I've stayed in was very spacious. It's only a short drive from the city, to far to walk but not to far for a reasonable taxi fair.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    It was a very comfortable and hassle free stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. There was plenty of room for luggage etc. The bathroom was a great size also. The bed was comfy and our host Margaret was lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was very nice and prepared you for the day ahead. I liked the location as it was very quiet. It was a little out of town but it was an inexpensive taxi ride to town if you didn't want to drive in yourself. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    I always think the acid test is "Would you stay there again?" and the answer is a resounding "Yes!".
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Something as basic as a swing in the garden would be great for young children.

    Very spacious double room with en-suite shower and thermostatically controlled heating. Views out of bedroom window over countryside and mature beech trees. Each room is named after a type of tree. Breakfast was very satisfying with plenty of choices. Full English beautifully cooked with quality ingredients to your requirements with everything you would expect. Choice of seasonal fruits, cereals but not the cheeses and meats that some Europeans might expect. The lounge dining area has a wide screen TV and sofas to relax on if you do not wish to be in your room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location - a few miles outside Londonderry, with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Ideal location - a few miles outside Londonderry, with a great view down to the city! Good for people travelling onwards to the north-west of Ireland! Really nice staff! Very helpful! Thanks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place, would highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spacious bedroom. Friendly staff. Very quiet setting, easy to unwind and relax after a very long day. Great en suite / shower. Great location to the city. Very tidy property, very well cleaned and well maintained facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    Warm welcome, good location, but an uncomfortable night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself was spacious and clean, but the mattress on the bed was sagging so badly that it felt like sleeping in a hammock. We felt that it was too late to ask to change rooms so we gave it a try, but by 2am we gave up, moved the bedclothes to the floor and slept there for the rest of the night.

    The staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful with advising us where to go in the city. It's a ten minute drive out of the city, which suited us as it was quiet and still easily accessible. The breakfast was great too, just enough to start the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place, close to city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a ground level room with disability facilities that we didn't require. Being ground floor also meant we weren't comfortable opening our windows overnight and room was a bit stuffy.

    Place was lovely and close to city but still private

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice position overlooking Londonderry. Lovely facilities with dining room for own use in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small area at breakfast and many guests.

    Quiet area in the countryside but not far from Londonderry. Nice living room and dining roon where we could eat our own food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.6
    We had to pay extra in my son's case over 100£ and I paid 45£ more than Booking.com told us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location, transport not always available,e to get into city. When we ask for breakfast at 7-00am we were told not possible but could have toast and tea. Didn't understand that.

    Clean rooms,friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    A quiet and enjoyable countryside retreat with good food and easy access to the City or Donegal.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    Good sized room with comfortable double bed, ensuite, TV and tea and coffee. Very clean and presentable. Good breakfast included in the price. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Close to Londonderry/Derry but far enough away to be out in the countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    Country retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather and having to dodge the rain to get next door for breakfast. Not really what we expected from on line photographs but this can be quite normal.

    Out in the country and quiet. Unfortunately it was very wet which dampens the enthusiasm for everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good sized room and bathroom, big bed, decent water pressure in shower, plenty of breakfast, nice country location but only a couple of miles to the city centre. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    This was our best stay during our trip. Wished we could stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was well done.

    Wonderful experience from top to bottom. Great hosts. Wonderful breakfast. Very pleasant accommodations. Would have enjoyed a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    A comfortable, cleanly B & B out in the country near Derry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    B & B out of town in the country which was positive but would be difficult to stay without a car.

    Very friendly host. Anxious to make us comfortable. Gave us a good tip about a historical walk in Derry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great room, great owners,great staff,thourghly enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was,no fridge in my room because I drink alot of tea,I needed to keep milk in fridge.but when I asked for milk they gave me it freely.I don't really want to moan about it because their hospitality far outweighed not having a fridge.

    The rooms were very comfy, slept easily in bed.lovely walk in shower.great breakfast everything you could think of for breakfast. The staff were very acomadating.nothing was too much trouble.very excluded area so no loud noises at night.the owner picked us up from airport and took us into town when we needed to go. It was very refreshing to meet such wonderful helpful people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    We loved this B & B. It was in a stunning, quiet location with beautiful views. The bed was comfortable, room large, bathroom excellent and breakfast was very good. Nothing negative to say!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay outside Derry
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house outside is a manor and is really beautiful. Rooms and furniture inside remind more of a hotel. I would perhaps have expected more of an "atmosphere " bb inside

    After driving miles we were relieved to have found a nice accommodation in very large room. Bathroom was big too! I personally appreciated the comfortable bed and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    3.8
    The room had not been cleaned with black hair in shower and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had not been cleaned with black hair in shower and after 20 minutes of attempting no hot water in shower. When discussed with owner she complained that it had just been replaced and should be working. Others in same building had same problem. Owner DID NOT WANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE PROBLEM. Breakfast room vertical blinds were covered in food splatter. Property in need of litter TLC.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful twin farmhouse property close to Derry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tricky to find even with satnav & roads are narrow/hilly. Still close to town but in the country so no big deal really.

    Lovely rural property a bit off the beaten track but actually just 10/15mins drive/taxi ride from Derry city centre. Husband and wife property owners couldn't be any more helpful. Free WiFi. Lovely gardens and actually 2 separate country houses (stay in either).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice grounds and easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely hard to find, bad back roads with little signage, no dedicated residents lounge, was asked by member of staff to pay before leaving even though we had paid on arrival.

    Nice grounds and easy parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Quiet Get-Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Groarty House is in a lovely, relaxed country setting. The grounds are landscaped beautifully with flowering bushes and trees. It was very relaxing and quiet there. The facilities were excellent, tastefully decorated, comfortable and cozy. Great hot water and soft fluffy towels. Breakfast was excellent and tasty. Everyone we spoke with at Groarty House was very friendly and helpful. We had a very restful stay there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    This B&B was one of the few places we stayed in Ireland that was worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The B&B was outside of town with no public transportation, other than taxi, into derry.

    We were booked intro a big beautiful room with great views of the farm fields and a big clean comfortable bathroom. Because of the winding roads and country location of the B&B the nearest pub/restaurant was difficult to get to without knowing the area. The proprietor kindly volunteered to drive us to the nearest pub where we had dinner and drinks. We took a taxi back to the B&B

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    A definite must place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bill and Margaret were very freindly and couldn't do enough for us. Lots of breakfast options. Rooms were large and very comfortable. I like to sleep with fresh air and I was able to open the windows.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Great Guest House just outside the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendliness of owner and staff. Large bedroom. Set in nice grounds with lovely country views. Nice breakfast. Excellent value. This property is about 2 miles from the city centre, in the countryside. Taxis into city very reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Comfort Off the beaten path!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is off the beaten path and a car is necessary for restaurants/pubs.

    Margaret and John were excellent hosts! Breakfast was wonderful and ranged from full Irish to oatmeal/porridge to cereal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Awesome place and awesome customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better. Awesome.

    Awesome place to stay ! The owners couldn't do enough for us, let us keep out motorcycles in there garage, lent us tools to make a repair to one of the bikes, even gave us lifts into Derry every night. Phenomenal people, phenomenal place! Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    A beautiful and peaceful setting to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You need a car as there was nothing within a short walking distance as out in the countryside

    A very quiet and peaceful place. Pleasant staff, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Very nice surprise in Derry. This is a great little place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything here is good from the TV, to the Wifi, the bed, the shower, the view, the comfort and it was quiet. The owners are just perfect hosts. Highly recommended, you cannot go wrong here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    The bed was very comfy and the wheelchair accessible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing wrong with the breakfast however it would've been nice to have the option of having a full ulster fry up in: sausage bacon egg black pudding white pudding soda bread and potato cake; This is just a personal preference as I am originally from Belfast and I realise that not everybody is well enjoy all those things for their breakfast(I'm just greedy and Irish and used to a full fry up LOL)

    The bed was very comfy and the wheelchair accessible bathroom was one of the best I've used., I am a wheelchair user and John and Margaret were extremely helpful and some people might find the fact that this B&B is in the country a "put off"however I really appreciate that it is in the countryside and it only cost 5 pound or just over to get a taxi into the city I love this place and would recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    DREAM B&B! A must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't stay longer!

    This B&B was a DREAM! The couple who ran the property were so welcoming and the surrounds were absolutely gorgeous. I stayed at the front of the home and the view, sunset/sunrise was so beautiful. The room itself was spacious and there was tea and coffee facilities, as well as a hairdryer, fabulous WIFI and the bed was SO comfortable. In the morning I was welcomed with a delish fresh Irish breakfast- incredible! The city centre was an easy 10 minute drive. Initially I was worried it would be too far out of the city center- but it is worth the wee drive. Wish I could have stayed longer- Margaret gave some incredible suggestions to eat and visit- and I loved them all!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Lovely and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was in the mornings you could hear people talkingfrom the breakfast room as there was no door to this.

    The room was spacious with a cosy bed. Powerful shower and enough tea to keep me going. Lovely breakfast each morning as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    3.0
    We were shown to the old house - there are two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    We were shown to the old house - there are two. Most of the photos on the website were for the new house which was totally different and more modern. When we mentioned this the owner said that the room we were given was on the website. There was a picture of the bed and wall behind it but not the room. We were extremely disappointed with the condition of the furniture, the size of the room and the cleanliness of the entire place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Groarty House Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Visitors need to have a car and sat nav, as a little off the main route but well worth it

    Very clean and comfy. Fantastic staff, and owners made us feel very welcome really lovely. Would make this a first choice for return visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    The staff is extremely nice, and even gave us in the morning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location isn't ideal if you want to move often between the city center and the hotel. But on the other hand it is only a 10 min ride with a car, and the location is peaceful and quiet.

    The staff is extremely nice, and even gave us in the morning a ride to the railway station when we asked if they could get us a taxi. Staff and service 5/5.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    excellent stay at this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had everything we needed so there wasn't anything we didn't like.

    The friendliness of the staff. Excellent breakfast. The location was perfect for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Perfect country get away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really helpful, providing interesting facts and recommendations about the area. The facilities were spot on, exactly what we were looking for! Great stay overall!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    John and Margaret were very welcoming and I felt quite at home! Lovely room and good cooked breakfast. Out in the country so nice and quiet but only 10 mins to town, no shortage of taxis which are not expensive. Would stay there again. Thank you John and Margaret for making my stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.6
    A modern b&b with conveniences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    A b&b that is a newly-built "home" where everything was planned for comfort. The hosts have been hosting for many years and knew what they were doing. There are plenty of electrical outlets, the room was comfortable all the time, but my favorite was the spacious walk-in shower with fixtures that worked. The breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.6
    My kind of B&B!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tricky to find the first time

    I love this B&B. It's not really a "home", it is a newly constructed house with all the modern conveniences, plumbing, toasty warm...even your own thermostat! Made for hosting. Hosts have done it for 30 years, efficient, friendly, and responsive. It's November and I am not afraid to get up to a freezing house! Huge shower! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Return trip - everything as good as remembered.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Been here twice - different staff both times but both extremely welcoming and the young couple on this occasion were incredibly friendly and interested in our business - couldn't do more for you. Breakfast was light as neither of us like a full Irish before bed and everything there was to our liking. The bed was as comfortable as I remember (it was the same room) and the shower was great with lots of towels. I wouldn't say it's a dislike so I won't put it in the dislike box but for us it's a little more than we'd normally pay for a room and the location was on the other side of Londonderry from where we wanted to be but these are not really dislikes or niggles as I say.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent 3 nights here. Great position overlooking farm land and over the bay. 10 mins easy drive to the city centre but far enough away to be lovely and peaceful. Breakfast, bed and shower all great. Host lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Value for money cozy manor in Derry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything in the place is perfect. Breakfast was a bit off the mark but excellent. The host are very welcoming and everything was perfectly managed. There is onsite parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.9
    Bedroom super comfortable and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the website it is not clear that the double room was for only 1 person for that price. So I had a surprise when I got and had to paid more than I was expecting

    Bedroom super comfortable and clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.3
    Excellent B and B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only (minor) point, would be to provide better directions / map of how to get there.

    Staff, breakfast, informative map of the area, and comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly amd helpful host amd a spacious comfy accommodation makes you feel at home immediately and you would like to stay longer.The rural location grants you a peaceful and calm night. The solid and tasty irish breakfast does the rest for a beautiful time near Derry.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: