Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grosvenor Hotel Rugby 3 stars

81/87 Clifton Road, Rugby, CV21 3QQ, United Kingdom

#9 of 11 hotels in Rugby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 355 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks to the staff, friendly, informative and welcoming. Under new management and investment in some areas telling ie bathroom was new and we'll designed, dining area looked great as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit out dated needs a good makeover. Stayed in hotels with excellent decor at the same price, definitely needs the stairs looking at! Walked up them my foot went down into the stair carpet!

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel I felt didn't seem to do much business. Although okay for us to have the service. Wondered how it can survive. Perhaps it needs to be refreshed too.

    The staff were friendly. Very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor in that the selection for continental breakfast was extremely limited and the cooked breakfast was average.

    The staff were extremely accommodating and couldn't have done more to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The day receptionist and night porter both went above and beyond to help me. The meal provided late at night was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included in the price would have been useful. Also a later check out time would be good, as I had to request it.

    Nice room, clean bathroom facilities. Also an iron and hairdryer which was very useful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING

    STAFF WHERE VERY EFFICIENT AND ATTENTIVE TO ANY REQUESTS OR HELP NEEDED VERY HARD WORKING THE RESTURUANT WAS EXCELLENT QUALITY FOOD SERVED AND THE BAR WELL STOCKED THE LOCATION VERY CONVENIENT FOR THE STATION SEVEN MINUTE WALK AND ALSO THE TOWN CENTER TEN MINUTE WALK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plug in sink would not stay down. Mattress a bit too firm. No shelf for toiletries in en-suite.

    Nice room with original features. Iron, ironing board and hairdryer all in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was a bit dated and we couldn't leave the window open had to wedge with a towe. Bed wasn't very comfortable a new mattress is needed as it dipped in, but was fine for the one night.

    Gentleman who greated us was very helpful and took us to our room. Was adequate for a one night stay. Breakfast was very nice and when I asked for more toast they were happy to provide.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable - matress sagging in the middle. Coffee was stewed and cold-not a good way to start the day!No milk on table.Over priced for what it was.

    Staff is the only positive asset

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower doesn't contain water well at all and so there was a huge puddle after taking a shower that went into the room and all over the bathroom floor. Hopefully they get that looked at!

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating, everything was smooth and they even made us something from scratch for breakfast when we couldn't find what we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    I got a £50 charge for a stain on the bed of wine which I will not pay as I stripped the sheet a told staff so I will take this action further as I asked if any damage and said no it's in wash. Even towels get stains on how can they justify this

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The birds in the roof the maze to get to our room also the floor creaked and we were worried in case we went threw the floor as there seemed to be what appears to have either boards missing or broken there was a kettle base hanging from the wall between the two single beds it's a good job we were travelling with teenagers not younger

    The room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is cold inside the room. I asked about additional blanket. It is very small standart room, it doesn't cost 60 pounds.

    It is old authentic building. There is very friendly polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was as hard as nails. If you want to sleep before the bar closes downstairs make sure you don't have a room at the front to the hotel, there's some old cooler or something that clunks away. Also, they left the floodlights on all night and no matter how I tried, I couldn't stop the light shining through the curtains. Butter with toast would've been nice.

    A nice touch is being taken to your room on check-in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful, more lumps and bumps than anything and was so small, the shower was weak and the bathroom in general was far too small. Also the curtains barely closed, I had to carefully place them in position for them to fully cover the window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Per paying for staff was a little time consuming having to fill out paperwork and then send it back with photo id etc. even though we stay there on a regular basis. - over the phone card details would be much better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small but ok - lovely shower room: the TV was placed on the dresser so couldn't watch it in comfort while laying in bed - the bed was a little weak in the centre, so not the comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most comfortable beds. Shower lacked any power. Breakfast too expensive. Decor of room tired and in need of a refresh.

    Friendliness of reception staff on check in. Location of hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was cold maybe due to the window being opened all day before I got there which isn’t ideal in the winter especially if you can have guests turn up at any time . The heating didn’t work and I was too tired to go complain so I just covered and slept under the duvet . The floor made a lot of noises when walking throughout the room which meant you can hear every crack from the room above . The walls seems to be thin as I can hear the person from next door snoring

    The location and availability

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets are pretty grubby

    Basic rooms, could do with a good makeover or deep clean. The newly fitted bathroom was lovely but just missing some finishing touches.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a bit shabby but staff very friendly and helpful. Cooked breakfast was fine but continental limited. Steaks on Steak night were very good - better then expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and comfortable ,the hotel is being renovated,just needs a little extra soft Furnishing's to make the hotel that little bit more luxurious in the bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was right at the top of the hotel with no lift facilities and with a month old baby having to climb to the top of the hotel via numerous flights of stairs I did not find suitable. Nor were there any facilities suitable for people with disabilities.

    The hotel offered a family room at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lift. The communal facilities ie bar and dining room were not very warm.

    The bed rooms were very light and warm with good tea and coffee facilities. There was always someone available to help if needed. Good parking. Both staff on reception were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t get back into the property without ringing a bell and getting a guy who worked there our of bed not good at 3.30 in the morning There was a discarded Chinese takeaway outside of our door which was left by a guest. It smelt revolting. The shower had hairs stuck to the wall before we’d even used it The room was very dingy and cold and wasn’t all that clean

    Bathroom was new and the shower was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable with a big divot in the middle, also it creaked a lot. Just felt a little awkward as we seemed to be the only ones there.

    Nice place, clean room. The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of elevator.

    Location was excellent, cleanliness and value for money. Very good full English breakfast for low price. Spacious parking at the back, very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil of note

    The property is well decorated and furnished clean throughout the establishment. The staff are attentive and friendly and professional. The single room I booked was clinically clean with the usual facilities you'd expect from a good hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was bitterly cold the window was rotting and need paper wedged between to keep shut but the draught was bitterly cold in late October evening

    Friendly staff and the location for what we needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom had recently been refitted, modern and minimalist - looks great, but not very practical - no shelves in the bathroom or shower, slippery floor. Breakfast not included.

    room was clean and comfortable, location and facilities were good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not sure. We did not explore the downstairs lounge. Neither of us drink so... and the TV was great! Neither of us has a TV!

    We did not eat at the hotel. We never eat in hotels. How can anyone eat a huge breakfast???? You can't get reasonably priced rooms if you also want fancy meals. Busy kitchens means potentially poor air quality. One of us - sisters - is really fussy about cleanliness, air -- ability to open a window, space around the bed at least, and some sense that the place is secure.. Asking too much? I don't think so. I always place the 'do not disturb' notice outside my room and expect the room to be left as it is when I go out. Nice building but clearly would need a lot work to invest, in a shower for example. Showers in baths are fine but...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really ,Oh yes no draught bitter

    The reception contact,a Romanian guy was excellent, very helpful. Also served in the bar and restaurant. Better English than mine and I am English. Would stay again. Adrian

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was in dire need of re-decorating, very poor soundproofing throughout, small bed for size of room with a very cheap mattress. Very expensive for the standards provided at £70 per night, breakfast was extra at £9 per person

    Large size room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blind in the bedroom had to be tied down with string leaving a chink of light (a longstanding issue), the ceilings had enormous watermarks, peeling wallpaper and broken kettle, dirty carpets, squeaky flooring

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful in trying to resolve our issues. He could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel guests arriving home at 4:30am after a night out, and continued talking loudly for another hour in room next door, phoned staff to resolve but it took them over an hour to sort it - unreasonable and i got no further sleep. Failed to offer me anything off my bill when asked. Can't read the menu hardly in the restaurant as it's too dark. The salad in the Ceasar salad had seen better days.

    The staff member who greeted us was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very confusing hotel , has potential to be very good but is lacking detail and care massive damp marks outside room on ceiling , air freshener spray at head height on stairs . trouser press didn't work blind to sky light broken , so woken to daylight early every morning broken head bed on childs bed Iron board was a travelling one and badly stained. A proper board is only £5 more

    parking was good, location for our needs excellent . welcome on arrival was nice . DVD TV in room and free strong wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not a fancy hotle and some things need repairs like noisy stairs. In general need refurb. But value for money, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere modern nice bathroom, lots of parking space. 5 minutes walk to shops

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No enough staff on at breakfast so every thing took to long.Reason the waiter was also manning reception for checking out. Quality of breakfast was very poor.

    Staff pleasant ,room clean ,bed comfy and draught peroni

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entire room floor creaked which made it impossible to rock the baby to sleep or move at all without making a lot of noise. When mentioned to reception in the morning he acted like he'd never noticed! Family room was furthest from reception and up several flights of stairs. Both single beds were broken. Hot water took forever to reach the room. Blind on velux had to be held closed by a bit of strong and a nail.

    Location and free Wi-Fi. Room size good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    paper thin walls you can here everything on the street due to the wooden window frames and the creaky floorboards, nearly £10 for a full English which my kids could have polished off

    Friendly staff, clean, comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wall paper peeling from the wall, very dated decor

    the bathroom was very nice and modern but the room itself was very dated with wall paper peeling from the wall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very 'tired' hotel, not many choices of hotel in Rugby, so it will get bookings. I won't ever be stopping there again. Dining room smells of cigarette smoke due to smokers outside by windows :(

    Fairly close to Railway Station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds although very comfy are just small!

    The staff, the male member of staff more, he was friendly, accommodating and warm. they way he dealt with us was lovely, he had remembered me phoning previously which gave it that lovely personal touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a drag upstairs to the top floor with cases. If you want style and imaginative decor, this is not the hotel for you, but for a night or two it is perfectly adequate.

    Very convenient location and good car park. The staff were helpful and friendly. Could not fault the cleanliness. The restaurant here is good, we had a very nice evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't use dining facilities so can't rate. Looks a bit shabby from outside but rooms clean and beds comfy

    Bathrooms recently renovated and fabulous

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is so old! Mattress was hard and lumpy. Single room with a double bed so very cramped. Tv only played radio stations. Fixtures in bathroom hanging off. Windows were filthy. Very noisy place. I could here other people talking from room next to mine! Very over used loo brush in the bathroom which was rank! Bath towel was very small too! My visit was awful for £70!!!

    Nothing positive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't serve breakfast until 7am - too late. Colleague had to turn up with credit card when credit card had been used on line - very poor in this age of technology.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a slightly wider entry to the shower.

    Clean, tidy, efficient. Well presented room. Comfortable bed. Good range of amenities and Peroni on draught!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hot tap on the bath wouldn't turn on, the radiator valve in the bathroom was broken and so couldn't regulate the heat and the room was too warm. i felt £70 per night should have included breakfast. £15 each per night per dog was too dear on top of £7.95 each for breakfast. overall it cost £232 for 2 nights for 2 adult and 2 dogs for b&b.

    location was good. they accommodated dogs. breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was very dated and the radiator didn't work the hair dryer cut out every 2 seconds. I clearly didn't get one of the nicer rooms shown. It all needs a good revamp everything is worn and rundown. New chairs carpets and a lick of paint would not go amiss. It is however clean and the staff are friendly.But pushing to be a 3 star Hotel.

    Staff friendly. Meal was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lots of stairs, over priced , and very basic,

    room itself was lovely and big, the walk to our room and stairs to climb was downfall and should of been explained b4 booking as having 3 young children plus luggage was bit of a nightmare like crysta lmaze up to the top of the hotel by stairs , decor need updating a little in bathrooms, just thought this was over priced for two night stay, breakfast was lovely and staff friendly , great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The full Engl breakfast could've been much better - sausage didn't have much taste, only one egg, just expected better for the price.

    the staff were very, very accommodating and friendly, very helpful, it was an easy walk into town and probably to/from train station (I just had heavy bags so took a taxi) - property a little run down but still a value and as clean & comfortable as it needed to be.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anything the beds are a little soft so if you prefer a firmer mattress you may find them a little uncomfortable

    Excellent location, large rooms, clean and quiet, the staff are very attentive, reasonable prices

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were really uncomfortable. Needs updating. Tired all a bit grubby. Reception uninviting, not the staff just overall not very welcoming.

    Dinner in the evening very nice and staff really helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water stain marks on the wall in Room 6. and the bed slides away from the wall when you sit up. Hot water takes ages and is only warm.

    parking facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked due to train cancellation due to storm Doris, we were over the moon as this is a lovely hotel, room was FAB!. The restaurant food was excellent as it was curry night, the staff couldnt do enough for you, they were so nice. Would definately stay here again. Didn't do breakfast as we had to catch a very early train the next morning but if the evening meals were anything to go by I'm sure it would have been good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a bath to a shower. We considered the price of £15 per dog per night was rather excessive. The price was not made clear to us at the time of booking.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small but comfortable. The hotel allowed pets.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't blame the hotel but very low key atmosphere in the dining room as I was the only occupant for dinner and breakfast. The bedroom furniture was somewhat dated.

    The bathroom was immaculate.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was poor, unappealing warm fruit,tasteless cheap cheese and ham... you managed to mess up the yogurt, keep it in a fridge, don't be so air headed.

    The cheap crispy croissant from Aldi... it was something I guess. I like the view from the window and the size of the room and bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had a dip in the mattress... prob comfortable for a single occupant but challenging for a couple....lovely clean fresh bedding!!!

    Lovely breakfast! Clean environment! Close to train... walkable!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was expensive and didn't live up to expectation.We ordered from the breakfast menu but got coffee when we requested tea, and the mushrooms didn't arrive "because they had not been delivered".

    Evening meals were very good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better quality pillows Advice on number of stairs prior to booking Gloomy atmosphere in the dining room No atmosphere in thd bar Reception scruffy

    Location wad goid fir where we were going

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area and restaurant had no atmosphere whatsoever... Was asked to prove my identity and show ID. Odd set up and need to review their checking in procedure.

    Couldn't fault the room, cleanliness, service or food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor to the superior room was dated and really ugly (bright yellow paint and red!). I felt over charged for such a plain room. I felt I was being charged that much alone just because the bath room had been updated, but even that had faults with the window exposing you in the shower due to there being no blind. The blind had been previously broken by the looks of it when my husband investigated it and never replaced. The breakfast menu was confusing? It said buffet? There was no buffet, even though we paid for one? And we were still charged for it! Instead a very polite young girl kept interrupting us asking if we wanted more toast?! Which came out as one slice cut into two on a toast rack made for five slices? If you wanted more you had to ask? The continental breakfast was a bizarre combination of packet ham, a mountain of potato salad and huge chunks of different cheeses with a slightly burned roll? This all took about 20-30 mins to be served?!?! There were four other people in the dining area at that time? I was very disappointed about the breakfast and annoyed I was charge £5 for two slices of toast and an orange juice? The bedroom doors also had unsafe locks on them that required a strange manual locking system from the inside every time you wanted to leave the room?! There were no key cards? There were also signs asking us to leave keys in reception every time you left the building, this in turn convinced me that they only had 1-2 keys per room? (which we never did I didn't completely feel I could trust to do so). I was really disappointed by what I was charged in regards to what I was paying for? I paid £170 for a superior room for two nights (which is reasonable) but when you saw the room it's self - I should have just booked a standard double and saved my self the money. I won't be staying there again.

    The entry way was light and spacious and looked very luxurious. The staff were friendly. The bathroom to the superior room was nice but was a shame there was no blind over the window - the shower was right infront of the window to the street so if anyone looked up while you were showering they would have seen a bit more then necessary! Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a lick of paint. I ordered the continental platter which was described as 'meats and cheese' but just came as cheese and nothing else with one bread roll. Hotel then tried to charge me for the more expensive full English which I didn't even have so I've marked staff down slightly despite a friendly service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy staff with children when try to get to sleep around 10.30 No facility to check out early Single beds very hard

    Good location for travelling to Silverstone Good size family room Lovely food in restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough milk supplied for tea/coffee No bar facilities for tea/coffee in am No bar after 11pm on Saturday night for giests

    The peacefulness, the rooms were of a reasonable size

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I had to leave early there was no opportunity for breakfast. More importantly, I had to call down to reception due to 2 noisy rooms across the hall who kept me awake during the night. When night porter went over to room it was full of people, they argued with night porter (loudly) and had been smoking in the room. If I had not had to leave early to make my first appointment I would have asked to speak to manager and pushed for refund.

    the receptionist gave me a pleasant welcome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only 2 croissants on the hot plate and hardly any fruit and no staff about, nobody came to see if we wanted more coffee and we had 1 cold hard slice of toast which came with my overcooked scrambled eggs. Bed was really hard and bathroom miniscule. Definitely over priced, we have stayed in hotels for less with breakfast included.

    Lady on reception was very helpful and friendly, and we had secure parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had stains all on the wall from a previous water leak, no mirror in the bedroom, plastic sheeting on the bed made for an uncomfortable nights sleep, bed old and tired, difficult to lock the door... not worth the price we paid im afraid and would not stay again...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little cold as weather was poor on the saturday

    Large room good food from adjoining restaurant and bar with sky tv close to town centre large carpark to rear of hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    outside area appalling. no atmosphere in bar area. staff complaining about hotel. everything is dated and tired. no night porter, so you have to ring a phone number to wake them up.

    close to town centre, restaurant excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little tired but is being updated.

    Our room had a shower and after a very long hot day at the ladies open (golf) I would have liked a bath ,the hotel was full the young man on duty rang and told us he had a room with a bath bliss , we had a walk round the town then returned to have a meal at the hotel that was excellent .The staff had multiple jobs and all were carried out with enthusiasm and a smile and a quick chat. There were so many original features what a magnificent building it must have been so much better than all the chrome and glass you get real character .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar facilities after 11.30 on a Saturday night. Unable to buy a coffee in am despite a "we sell coffee sign" outside hotel door. Very little milk supplied compared to the amount of coffee sachets

    The location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a make over, apart from that it was ok we were at a wedding in rugby so we only needed a bed for the night.

    Close to the town , parking on site

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: