Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grove End 2 stars

73 Bushey Hall Road, Watford, WD23 2EN, United Kingdom

#19 of 23 hotels in Watford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quiet room with a comfortable bed and linen. Had two large windows making it bright and cheery with nice views. Friendly, helpful staff - basically everything I wanted plus free parking. Have already booked up to stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked breakfast.

    It served our purpose well as we were on our way from LHR to the east coast and needed to rest for the night after 10 hour flight fromthe USA..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold and draughty single glazed windows , the wind was howling through the gaps during my stay .had to put a towel across the window.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road outside towards Watford is quite congested in the morning so allow a little extra time when travelling.

    Very easy to get to and with great parking. Great value for money too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The slatted bathroom windows let in a draught which in December was quite cold.

    Great wifi, perfect for working in the evening, very comfortable beds and linen, nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival there was no one to check us in, here was however a phone number displayed on the door. (Which no one answered for 30 mins) on answering we were informed that there is a pass code entry system. Surely an e mail with this information would be a much easier system. Once in, we wanted to grab a sleep before working (we are in he entertainment industry) however more people arrived to chapping the door and ringing the bell to no answer. This went on for hours, Terrible management of their entry system, disgruntled guests obviously pissed off at waiting outside then making lots of noise inside to display their displeasure. You could not pay me to stay at his property, granted it’s cheap but far from cheerful. Avoid at all costs.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very basic hotel for the price. Ridiculous that the vanity light over the basin cannot be switched on at the same time as the automatic bathroom light. Not very warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Evening meal available, no breakfast available, not licenced, taxi into town centre every night to eat. Not B&B just Bed.

    Good car parking, easy access to M1. Very polite owner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No option for breakfast and a good 10 minutes walk from nearest shops.

    Good, if uninspiring accommodation with en-suite shower. All nice and clean. Tea and coffee in room. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi signal was weak in the room but this may have been a temporary glitch with a repeater.

    parking and room facilities; friendly & helpful manager

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet was extremely heavy and too warm. The taps in the bathroom were very loud and could hear the taps being used in next doors room.

    The design of the room and bathroom was lovely, not the biggest but exactly what we needed for the night. Room was very clean and tidy on arrival. Overall a nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor could be updated in some area

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and tidy. The car park gates are shut at night. The hosts are friendly The garden is spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor could do with updating

    The room, communal bathroom and toilet were clean. The car park was good, with the gates being closed over night. The rear garden was pleasant with a seating area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only criticism I have was the shower .The large shower head was fixed to the ceiling which is not so good if you don't want to wash your hair .

    Very comfortable bed, shower in en suite was very good and plenty of hot water . Lovely back garden .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to see from the outside or at check in but I could not have asked for a better room. I had booked a single room and expected a single bed in a narrow room but I found myself with a lovely big double bed that was very comfortable. It was so fresh and clean. The ensuite was fabulous with a lovely big rain shower. Tea/Coffee making facilities, Flat screen TV (which i never used), hairdryer and plenty of sockets which is something small but glad to have at the same time. Tim, checked me in and he was very friendly and helpful when I asked for advice about the area. I'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one single socket which was 2 meters away from my bed. Not having my own ensuite, missed not having my own facilities.

    Shower was great. Plenty of space for parking your van and was able to leave it there all week resulting in saving money on parking costs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the value of the money it's underwhelming. There is only one plug socket in the room, the pilllows were way too hard and the tv service cut in and out. I would pay around £35 a night for the room and service I had. Expected more for the prices if I'm honest.

    I liked that it was a quiet place, it was a nice stay, the hotel manager was polite, the facilities were always clean which was nice and I was able to come and go as I pleased. I feel it's a hotel for a cheeky get away or a one/two night stay to get away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe would be idealt to have food on site or even just breakfast

    The owner there was really nice, and when we arrived we were upgraded to an ensuite room which was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was old fashioned. Needs a face lift. Noise of traffic and other guests arriving in late.

    How close it was to my training venue. Also within walking distance of shops.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff good,... upgraded me to a double room,.....No Food served in hotel, bit of a walk to get cooked food,.. only five minutes in car to bushy or watford,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bar no food and nowhere near to walk to to get food I did not realise it was just acomadation as it looks like a old Pub that has rooms I would not go there again

    rooms were small but clean and presentable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems. Had a long walk to find hotel but helpful man on the desk told me about bus routes. I will be staying again.

    Quiet room despite being near a busy roundabout . Comfy bed. Helpful reception/ welcome .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "hotel", felt and smelt damp. The room was cold and I was told "the heating does not get put on until next month" Reception was also frosty. No food. Expensive for what I was not getting Avoid. P. j.

    nothing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car gate in the morning was closed as well as main entrance, so came at 9 am, check out is at 11, everything was closed, could not get in. Took me 10 minutes of knocking and phoning tofind someone. Then I was told that they cleaned the room already as I did not leave my stuff in the room I did not understand why I had to leave something in the room. Otherwise I liked the room

    Clean bathroom, not too far from the town centre (on the car).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated. Far too expensive for room only. Room was boiling despite windows open all night. No hair dryer or shampoo.

    Man at desk was accommodating and helpful. Beds were comfortable. Shower was hot.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that I couldn't connect on the wifi and couldn't find someone to ask for help or if there was a problem. I agree the walls are a bit thin and could do with sound proofing. the bathroom was clean but the shower curtain was a problem, it would have been better with the original door.

    Didn't book breakfast so cant comment on the catering

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate toilet, but acceptable for the price

    Rooms were clean and well kept. The facilities simple but clean and practical

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast available but we made other arrangements and it worked out well.

    Close to the motorway and the attraction we were visiting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired, smells musty.

    Car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Peace and quiet perfect back drop for London Secure Parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Draughty and cold room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike maybe food would be good but not a problem because there are take always close by

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, plain but comfortable accomodation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no heat in the on suite bathroom

    Very clean and neat, great hot shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Na

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and clean accommodation. Nice sized room and decent bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Comfortable and warm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Good location, good parking, clean & comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast

    Great value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    WiFi, very close walking distance to Watford.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    at the time there was a wifi signal problem but it may be ok now

    bed & bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    tv size too small + personally, I found the public rooms did not look welcoming (more like a retirement home).

    the bathroom, shower and hot water

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Comfortable bed and nice room size

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast

    Close to Watford high street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed Comfy Room perfect size for one person. Location very quiet .Area very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service and spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    price as no food bar or any facilities

    friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or restaurant

    The room was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The room was comfortable and convenient to where we needed to be.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included, no ensuite, room not exactly sound-proof. I don't think I got good value for money.

    Very comfortable bed, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is a bit slow

    Quiet and clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All really good. Nothing bad about this place

    Great place to stay with pets

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for shower!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    very dated and bathroom grubby, lots of old

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast available at all.

    Decent shower, comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was pleased with the overall presentation of the unit. Clean and bright. It was a last minute choice but a good one.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    as others as mentioned - overpriced for what you get, the entrance to the hotel was tight

    easy to find with free wifi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Good service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, clean comfortable Good quiet location near businesses.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fiery helpful staff, comfortable bed, Very quiet area businesses are walking distance

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old windows single glazed, heard traffic at night, ofcourse that's the front of hotel

    Friendly receptionist, clean room.tea facilities

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quit well kept large secluded garden, ideal for relaxing and taking coffee

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I arrived a few minutes too early for check-in. Nevertheless I was checked in immediately, and given a map of the town. I was also given advice about where to get the trains I needed. The best part was the room. The walls were kind of peach colored. The furniture had character and fit well with the age of the building. There was nice art work on the walls. The head end of the bed was recessed into a little nook and gave it a cozy feeling, and the room contained a sink and a wardrobe. It was very comfortable. I very much enjoyed my stay there.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. Excellent value for money. Rooms are lovely and very clean! The Garden is a hidden gem and we enjoyed sitting out in the sun. I would recommend Grove End to anyone looking to stay in Watford.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No breakfast included. The place is a bit old fashioned but one might say: stylish and typically British. Next to a busy roundabout. It's two stars, that tells a lot.

    Not far from town centre. One could manage even by walk. Free parking always available. Wi-Fi with an amazing speed of over 90 Mbits!! Good value for money. Overall cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a thing!

    The friendliness from the moment I walked in the door was great. Such a great spot and would definitely stay there again when I return to that area! Room was perfect and clean and I had a shared bathroom and it was perfectly clean! Very happy with everything 😊

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My van was broken into even though it was parked in the hotel secure car park with cctv. Also no breakfast available which I was aware of when I booked.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Advertised continental breakfast but it was cereal and toast,but that's a minor quibble at this value for money Would def use again

    Lovely comfy bed great staff ,pub and takeaway easy walk ,good parking ,ideal

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old stained carpets, shag pile carpet in shower, curling of the wall. Shower mouldy, stained sheets and pillow cases, very very dated and very very tired. Paid 96 without breakfast!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Manager was uncompromising, abrasive & downright rude. No Wifi 1st night for work. No hot shower 2nd night after work. Bathroom had toilet roll dispenser instead of roll & lights/vent came on automatically which destroyed my eyes in the middle of the night then stayed on for 10 minutes afterwards keeping me awake. Room only very expensive (£99pn) & very small with 1980s décor. I will never stay at this hotel again!!

    parking facilities Shower when it works

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a lot.

    Friendly chap in charge, off raod parking, quiet, yes it's ona roundabout but hey, it's watford! If you want premier inn and Sir lenny bleedin' henry then pay three times the amount and see if they have room...

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean, tidy accommodation and despite being on the corner near a roundabout was surprisingly quiet so a perfect nights sleept was had! Helpful staff offered assistance with directions to local shops.

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: