Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grove House Hotel 4 stars

Grove Road, Woodbridge, IP12 4LG, United Kingdom

#5 of 12 hotels in Woodbridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good and my room was fairly quiet considering...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a restaurant but I arrived at about 20:30 to be told it was closed,

    Breakfast was good and my room was fairly quiet considering the hotel is on a busy main road. The staff were helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    The staff were helpful and will try to help you,Room was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my opinion the staff don't interact enough .There for two nights and each night two different people to greet you.Can honestly say i'm not sure who owns the bed and breakfast.

    The staff were helpful and will try to help you,Room was a good size and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Very Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel very pleasant and perfect for our needs. Clean, comfortable bed, good shower and excellent breakfast. Hosts very hospitable. Would definitely return if we need that area in the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were not enough coat hangers in the wardrobe. We were too hot at night because of the weight of the duvet and so didn't sleep particularly well. The same vegetables (cauliflower, broccoli and carrots) were served with the evening meal each night.

    The breakfast was cooked to order, well presented and of high quality. The hotel was on the main road so ideally placed for travelling to surrounding areas. Windows were triple glazed so there was no disturbance from traffic noise at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road outside was very busy at rush hour and could be a challenge to leave the hotel, but of course the road is very convenient for Suffolk attractions.

    We liked the position of the hotel in relation to Woodbridge We liked the welcoming atmosphere of the staff. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast freshly cooked

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Super Suffolk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property on busy A12. However double, or maybe triple glazing meant we really weren't aware of any traffic.

    Friendly proprieter, spotless facilities and lovely breakfasts. Close enough to Orford, Minsmere and Dunwich. Ideal for a weekend break.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    All very comfortable. Booked the rooms without breakfast but had some on the last day - nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower in my room wasn't brilliant - bit cool on the first morning, then too hot, unable to control the temperature. I think it needs replacing!! But I didn't say anything to the staff. My mother found her bathroom cold every morning. But she is elderly after all!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise hotel on a very busy main road although room had triple glazing so didn't bother us but if weather had been hot wouldnt be able to have window open at night.

    Manager friendly breakfast good bed comfortable only trouble was hearing the person in next room snoring all night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay. Hope to return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite a walk into town, but then we are in our seventies! Take it at a steady pace, it is well worth the effort.

    Bathroom was huge, with bath and shower! Bedroom was very big, comfy bed, athough the duvet was rather too thick for the warm weather. I believe we could have requested alternative bedding but as we were there for only 3 nights, we didn't bother. Breakfast and dinner was very good, plentiful and well cooked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel and one we hope to return to next year if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing could have been improved upon as far as we were concerned. The staff were all lovely and kind and helpful. Even the bedroom being situated on the ground floor was a bonus we were not expecting. Usually we have to climb at least a few stairs.

    The bedroom was very large and airy with plenty of cupboard and drawer space. The bed was very, very comfortable as were the pillows. Excellent breakfasts so plentiful no further food was required until the evening apart from the occasional cream tea maybe. We loved the location of the hotel and although situated on the A12 there was no traffic noise at all just wonderful peace and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Short but comfy and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The card machine crashed so had to find a cash point to pay bill. Obviously not down to the owner but was quite an inconvenience.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfy. Breakfast was lovely. The rooms were quite small but perfect for this trip. We only spent one night as attending a wedding. We did not have the opportunity to use other facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Good for personal travel, but not for business.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very dodgy. Managed to get connected after manager reset modem, but could not connect the following morning. Was travelling for work, so wifi access was very important. No desk for working, but not really expected I guess, although I did search for business style rooms on booking.com

    Room was comfortable and shower was good. Staff very friendly and professional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.8
    Really upset about this stay. We had to pay with cash no cards taken really upset about the whole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to bang on a guests door at 1am to turn the tv down that they had up full blast! Best part of £20 for 2 double gin and tonics was told the restaurant was only open Monday to thurs??. I thought the value for money was absolutely awful.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.0
    We didn't know the area as we were attending a wedding, won't be visiting again, sorry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lacking in atmosphere, it was a bit detached and boring.

    It was very hot in the rooms. They were rather small. we were downstairs on the ground floor but our family were on first floor and found it very claustrophobic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.8
    Very average, more guest house than a hotel. Very tired and in need of an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is tired and dated and in need of a refurb, although it is clean. The road the hotel is on a very busy and windows need to be closed to get sleep, sleeping with the windows closed in hot weather was difficult. The bathroom flush did not work properly. The shower pressure was extremely weak. The bedside lights were very bright and no particular ambience to the room. Felt as though we were in an elderly peoples home when we saw the plastic covered wooden table at the top of the stairs! Only positive is that the hotel is walking distance into Woodbridge. Cooked breakfast looked decent enough.

    We didn't particularly like anything about the hotel and wouldn't stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Thanks to Paul for a lovely stay at the guest house, he was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thanks to Paul for a lovely stay at the guest house, he was very friendly and interested in making our visit pleasant & enjoyable. The room was very comfortable & the shower was lovely & hot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location for Woodbridge attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot (not the owners fault, just the weather) but a fan was supplied. Had to have the windows open, the road was very noisy.

    Good freshly cooked breakfast. Large car park and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location for seeing Suffolk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room looked out onto a brick wall with an alleyway running between us and another building! No outlook at all! Twice in 4 days were awakened by loud banging on bedroom door by staff early morning to say workmen were going to be at our window so would we please ensure we had a closed blind! Not what you want when expecting to lie in of a morning when having a break! Early morning noise every day as we were opposite a kitchen door that was permanently open. Bathroom a bit damp and in need of a refurb.!

    Location -business and leisure trip so very useful site to be on to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My sisters and elderly mum stayed for weekend. Staff were brilliant so helpful. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and food very good and so was the breakfast The web site says food is only served Mon to Thurs in evening but they will also do food Fri and sat just need to let them know . The lounge was great to sit in the evening and there was a small bar. Very close to A12 but noise wasn't an issue for us. Would definitely stay there again if we were in the area. Would like to thank the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle a bit small and toilet seat kept falling on your back when sitting down.

    Very friendly staff and helpful. Wouldn’t rate as 4 star though. Would say 3 star. But was ok for couple of nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    King room was large and bright with huge bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the A12 and noisy with windows open. The windows are triple glazed so no sound with windows closed.

    King room was large and bright with huge bathroom. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were great - friendly, helpful anď hard working. A very nice stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent B&B cum Private Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say on this

    Warm welcome, efficient reception. Plenty of off road parking. Very clean. We had a large king room with big bathroom including bath and separate efficient shower . Very clean, plenty of hot water. Good sound insulation. Breakfast excellent. Will stay again next time in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Grove Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the proximity to the A 12

    The triple glazed windows which counteracted the noise of the traffic. The hospitality was good and the bed was very comfortable. It has been hot and a fan was provided. The room and bathroom were very clean.The owner was heplful giving us directions and also showing us where we could sit in the garden with a cool drink. We stayed a night. The hotel was well situated for us to explore that part of the Suffolk coastline and Woodbridge which is a vet pleasant town. Also Sutton Hoo is of high interest. My daughter is vegan so we couldn't have the cooked breakfast or meals but that wasn't a problem as we like to explore the local food outlets of which there are plenty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff went the extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff went the extra mile. Fearing the bar would be closed after an anticipated late return from concert, we purchased a bottle of wine but asked if it could be put in the fridge for our return. No problem, and if we weren't back in time it would be put in our room in an ice bucket. That's what we call service!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being familiar with the area, I did wish that I had telephoned the hotel and found the exact address, I.e the number on the road. I had initially looked on the wrong side of the dual carriage way. Once you have found it , it is quite obvious as it does have a prominent sign.

    The cooked breakfast was tastefully arranged on the exceededplate - it looked good as well as tasting good. Owner and staff very helpful. Crisp sheets on beds. Very handy being able to have dinner in hotel in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing stay: poor room for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room, tiny tv. claustrophobic. No windows, only 2 skylights: choice is to darken the room but one has to keep skylights closed (suffocating) or keep open and be prepared to wake up at 5 a.m. with sun shining down! Breakfast ends at 08:45, unfriendly deadline. I am from the Continent and abhore a 'full cooked English breakfast'. Most accommodation, such as this one, take it for granted the guest will have such a breakfast and this is in the price they charge. I prefer a continental breakfast: cereals, toast, pastries, fruit, coffee & juice. I paid too high a price for our stay here.

    Good wifi. Good shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and comfortable stay. Excellent location and within walking distance of Woodbridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dodgy bath sink taps and very squeaky bedroom floorboards.

    Comfy bed, good full English breakfast. Large bedroom and bathroom with powerful shower. Staff ( especially Rory) very pleasent and helpful .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    This was by far the worst place we have ever stayed in and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hair in the bed, the blanket was old, faded, and dirty. The shower looked like there was mold in there, so we didn’t use it.

    Nothing. We were booked for two nights and stayed one night. If it wasn’t so late we would have gone elsewhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet seat was poorly fitted and moved around when used. Cups were not washed up after using them on the first night.

    Breakfast was very good and no trouble to cook a combination of anything on the breakfast menu. Bed was very comfortable room clean on arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    We were down for a Wedding only stayed 1 night, but would highly recommend Grove House Hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Cleanliness was excellent, very comfortable rooms you had everything you needed. All staff were friendly made you feel welcomed. Breakfast was very good as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi driver parked his car under our window while dropping off other customers(or staff) and left the engine on for good 20 min. This was Easter midnight and this woke us up.

    The room was clean and tidy. All important thinks were there but not too many. Just great. Room was situated in to the off road parking. So quite room. My husband really appreciated the curtains that won't allowe any morning light in (it would wake him up early)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    A nice base for a couple of nights in Woodbridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It was excellent value for money

    It was all good. Breakfast freshly cooked. Lots channels on TVs. Very clean. Very quiet A very pleasant 20 minute walk to town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great breakfast . Lovely hosts very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    There was a little problem with the room we originally booked plumbing issue . But gave us another room .so apologetic also gave my wife and myself two free glasses of wine for any inconvenience.a lovely touch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice central place to stay for exploring Suffolk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    Easy to find and plenty of parking. Friendly and helpful staff and a breakfast that really sets you up for the day. The hotel is in an ideal position for Ipswich as the park & ride is only 10 minutes drive away, the coast, the town of Wood bridge and to travel a little further, a must is Flatford, and Dedham - Constable country.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    We will be back...!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rain ...but we can't pin that on Grove House Hotel. We will be back, hopefully on a number of occasion, in the future, using the Grove House Hotel as an independent base to visit our grandchildren

    The general ambience and care were excellent ...and sincere - with a touch of humanity and humour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very cold when we arrived as the heating was not on, although it was turned on when I mentioned the coldness to the manager. There was another radiator that we could plug in, but it took some time to warm the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Great stay recommend for anyone visiting the area to book this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was meant to be from 8 am to 10 but I had to catch a boat at 8 am it was very nice of the young employee to get up early and cook a breakfast for me so that I would have a good start for the day.. that is going above and beyond a great customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable but not private
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry but wont be staying there again as the walls are paper thin and I could hear the man next door going to the toilet in the night. Horrible and all the talking.

    Lovely room and very clean and comfortable and warm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Initial issues were sorted out quickly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the room we were originally put in had a draught letting in cold air and traffic noise. Also the chair was covered in hairs?

    Rory really helped us when we said the rooms window had a draught. We were able to move to a more suitable room when we asked and Rory was glad we had pointed out the draughty window.He also got us an exra heater as the room was cold. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Not convenient location for visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t pay by credit card without 2 per cent surcharge which was now against the law from Jan this year Mentioned this to owner and he tried to tell me he was in his right to charge. He clearly needs setting right on this matter

    Comfy bed and decent shower and good size room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant enough but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's decor was quite dated although it was clear that efforts had been made to try to modernise it a bit (paintings/curtains etc.). The walls and ceiling were quite thin and we could hear other guests, waking us up in the morning. Customer service could have been better. We left our key at the reception desk having been advised the front door would be locked at 10:30pm the previous day. Upon arriving back at the hotel at about 8:30pm we found the front door was locked and had to disturb the owners to let us in unfortunately. We were very apologetic but felt the owner was quite gruff with us. In hindsight we should have taken the key as advised in the hotel manual and we were sorry to disrupt the owner's evening but even so, we feel the owner could have been more polite with us.

    The cooked breakfast was very good - fresh and tasty ingredients - decent portions. The continental breakfast was a bit bland - options on offer seemed cheap and pretty standard - nothing special. The bed was comfy and the shower was hot and powerful. The location next to the A road meant that you could get on the road quickly to get to where you wanted to go although may have proved noisy if staying at the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Was overall very clean and well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not putting us near to other people would be good. They should spread people around as I don't think the hotel was full judging by the cars parked. Walls let a lot of noise through - I could even here the words others were saying in the adjacent room. Not as soundproofed as a Premiere Inn. Rest of it was great though.

    Was overall very clean and well presented. Creaky floors, but quadruple soundproofing on the windows.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent affordable B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are paper thin, so you hear your fellow guests a lot. Also, it's on a dual carriageway so if traffic noise bothers you it may not be the place for you.

    Clean and comfortable. All the staff were incredibly friendly and polite. Excellent cooked breakfast brought out swiftly. No complaints!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    would go again but request a room in main house.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom shower slow to heat up. Very small bathroom. Poor pillows. Rooms noisy as not in main house and walls very thin. So very difficult to get early night sleep needed for business meeting next day.

    excellent breakfast, friendly staff and nice lounge and bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Very comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was very cold when I arrived but I am pleased to say the member of staff I spoke to got the problem sorted. However I was aware other people had also complained it would have been nicer to have sorted it before the whole hotel became so cold.

    Very comfortable beds! I got a great nights sleep. The staff were very helpful when we asked for the loan of a phone charger, a real help!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed but disappointing shower - however suited our needs for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was appalling! A dribble that wouldn't even stay put in the bracket on the wall and kept falling out/ facing the wrong way

    We left our room key on the table and the owner kindly rang us and let us in when we returned

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Parking was easy, with plenty of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is the location on a dual carriageway which means you have to use a car to get into town. That said, the hotel is very well soundproofed so the traffic noise doesn’t intrude.

    Parking was easy, with plenty of space. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable with a disabled friendly bathroom because I use a wheelchair. Breakfast was well cooked and generous, and my fussy husband enjoyed his coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff although I was surprised that the price...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff although I was surprised that the price agreed through Booking .com had 2% added. because I paid by Credit Card. Never seen this before

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay with great food and manager. Would stay again for sure!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of a dual carriage way so not easy to venture to near by pubs/shops. Only have one lager and limited spirits which could be improved on but certain things should be nudged into current times!!!

    Paul is an excellent manager and obviously believes in good quality customer service!!! His homemade cooking is excellent and goes out of his way if you need anything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast serving times are slightly early (7.30 to 8.45). Wouldn’t say the owners were the most welcoming but pleasant enough. Being told by the owner he would only give us ten minutes past the last check in during a nightmare journey wasn’t the best of starts to our two night stay.

    Breakfast was pleasant and room was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Good welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good and friendly just what we needed as we were staying for sad family event in Woodbridge

    Property was well appointed and room was a good size. I thought being near the road would bother me but was quiet in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    An enjoyable stay, comfy bed, excellent service throughout.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were greeted by a lovely young lady on reception , we were fully informed about Grove House. We opted for dinner in the hotel and it was excellent. There is a well stocked bar and the house red wine was good. The room was comfortable. After breakfast in the morning we departed. I shall use this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant enough place for a night in Woodbridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As they don’t have single rooms I had to pay £80 for one night (£70 for the non-refundable option) - which wasn’t really good value. Being on the main road, there was some traffic noise.

    They offered free cancellation up till shortly before departure (for an extra charge) - which I took advantage of. Although the hotel is out of the town centre it was a pleasant walk down.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    Apart from the above criticism it was an O.K. stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    En Suite very small. A large person would have difficulty Breakfast ending at 8.45A.M. Leaving hotel at 10.30 A.M. Not good for a leisurely break as I felt rushed. £10.00 much too expensive for a breakfast

    The bed was very comfortable and the room had a good temperature

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Excellent little friendly hotel that I would definitely stay in again when in that area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that could have been changed that would have improved my stay on this occasion. There was nothing to dislike about any aspect of the hotel, its hospitality or standard of accommodation.

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Parking was very good. The food was cooked fresh to order using good locally sourced ingredients. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.2
    Just pleased we only stayed for one night, would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny with only sky light windows, felt like a prison cell and very claustrophobic. The toilet flush didn't work properly and my friend used the toilet in the corridor. The manager said he called a plumber but he refused to come out ! The breakfast is not included in the price and costs £10 irrespective of what you order.ie scrambled egg costs the same as a full English. The hotel is situated on the A12, the main road through this part of Suffolk so is very noisy. There is no mention of this in the hotel details.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.5
    It served its purpose but it was not value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast would have been nice. It wasn't even offered. One of the two mugs in the room was stained inside.

    No breakfast - £72.00 just for a bed was overpriced, since someone else staying at the same time paid £70 for bed AND breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly efficient family run hotel pleasant good sized room with comfee beds and good breakfasts. On site parking and nothing too much trouble for these owners. Would I go again? Yes. Would I recommend? Yes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable bed and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a little dated and the room was good but a bit cramped. Better insulated walls could have helped muffle the snoring from the next room!

    Very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    pleasant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed clothes to warm. would have liked top sheet and just one blanket instead of duvet. I am sure this would have been available if we had requested them.

    breakfast was very good, good selection of food, well cooked, staff polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    3.8
    Try to find somewhere else to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was not good, towels were not adequately replenished, a towel was very damp and we worried that it was a towel picked off of the floor, there was no shower mat, smoothing or making of bed did not occur and items (that are paid for in 'rent') were not replenished on day 2. There was poor care or support, no one was there when we had a question/need and everything was dark, locked up at 8p.m. General lack of interest in us as guests. We did not opt for breakfasts so cannot comment but feel glad of it due to the general demeanour and lack of attention or interest. There is a 'rules' booklet which I have never known in a hotel before (I have stayed in hotels very frequently). It advised financial penalty for eating smelly food in the room or vomiting! Generally this hotel felt uncomfortable both physically and generally walking past the staff. Was not made to feel welcome after the initial patter of introduction to the room.

    There was parking. We had a room at the back of the property so it was quieter, if it had been at the front of the property it would probably have been noisy due to being on the A12.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay in a lovely part of the country.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were very comfortable. I had the best 2 nights sleep I've had in a long time! The full English breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and approachable. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Despite the hard mattress and noise, it was a pleasant stay. It did not put me off staying here agai
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hard mattress and the noise from guests as they tend to slam their doors and talk very loudly as they get in late at night. Also the guests above are so heavy footed.and moving things around. Was kept awake and therefore only have no more than an hour's sleep.

    I like the cleanliness o this place. What pleases me so mulch is the fresh clean white sheet and duvet cover. Considering it's a bank holiday weekend, to get this room for slightly over £79, I think it's very reasonable and therefore did not mind paying an extra £20 for a lovely cooked English breakfast. The staff were fantastic. The only problem is a bit of a stretch from town if you haven't got a car. It is close to Sutton Hoo and the tide mill. Two very interesting historical places to visit.....For the health conscious, it's a great place for morning walk or jog in the beautiful woods.it would appear there is no public transport nearby and therefore best suited to car drivers or bikers, though I think there is a train station in the area. Didn't sleep very well due to noisy guests next door and above.If you can't sleep on hard mattress, then you have to take this into consideration too. My advice to the owner is to leave a mattress topper to elevate this problem. Also one get very hot.if I would stay there again, I will request a flat sheet as duvet can be a problem in a hit summer;s night. However despite all the little things, the stay is rather pleasan as my main priority is cleanliness and friendliness. If you just want a clean place for the night, I would recommend this place. I would definitely stay here again as I am sure the staff would have try their best to erase those little niggles if I would have raised the points to them during my stay. I didn't want to make a fuss just for a one night stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and friendly, although small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are on the small side, although comfortable. The food choices on the menu are limited.

    Friendly staff, made to feel welcome, good quality food. Comfortable bed and good shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.8
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything provided in meagre rations - bathroom stuff, tea, coffee etc. Sense of penny pinching didn't make a good impression. Breakfast milk cold, not enough milk provided for tea and coffee, had to constantly ask for things to be replenished. Definitely NOT four star experience!

    Clean and comfortable. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    The food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was tiny.

    The food was excellent. We had our first night's evening meal there and it was really good. All the breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Staff pleasant and helpful, food good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little small. Definitely needed at least one comfortable chair rather than the small kitchen style chair provided.

    Staff pleasant and helpful, food good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location. Good access to local sight seeing and villages
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not have food in the bedroom but no facilities for eating nearby. Inconvenient when I had a youngster with me. Also the room was not very soundproof and noisy neighbours upstairs caused disturbance.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Great breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    As we were only staying one night, it was ok. The bed was comfortable. Pretty basic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proprietor was a bit miserable, especially at breakfast. Not much to add.

    Premises were close to Rendlesham Forest where we were joining family for the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was quite disappointed with the family room as the sliding door to the bathroom did not close well and gave no privacy from my two children in their bunks opposite the bathroom! I also felt to charge £90 for a family room then £25 for an extra bed very strange? When there was only 3 of us? 1 adult, 1 x 13year and 1x 10 years? There was no extra bed in the room? This was the normal layout! Just an expensive stay at £115 for me when a similar no frills option nearby would be £75

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My meal was disappointing; cottage pie that was rather runny, and therefore not very tasty; more water than gravy. I did not complain, as the other meals my companions had, were very nice. It seemed to me that it had been deep frozen, and thenleft to thaw out with lots of ice. I would also recommend that breakfast time be extended to 10am, rather than 8.45am, which would make it a little more leisurely in the morning, and a thus better for holiday guests. It would be less jarring if the waitress could be a little less shrill and not say, "my love" all the time.

    This was likel a comfortable home, rather than a hotel. Comfortable, quite cozy. Excellent breakfast choices. However, it clearly is a misnomer to describe it as a hotel. It is a guest house, and none the worse for that. Owners may feel it gives greater value to say it is a hotel, but it is notI.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Near Woodbridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smallish (but efficient ) shower, apart from that every thing was good.

    On arrival bags carried up to room. Nice room. Good breakfast cooked to order . Evening meals available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Our overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - for us it served our purpose satisfactorily.

    For us the Hotel was a convenient overnight stop on our journey. The ChefManager was very helpful and friendly and the hotel was a 15/20 minute walk into the town centre with a number of decent looking restaurants and bars. The room was clean, comfortable and had all the usual facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    The general freshness and cleanliness was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The general freshness and cleanliness was very good. The friendliness of the staff - nothing was too much trouble. I look forward to returning for another stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location, if attending event at local Woodhall Manor.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we were not affected at all, the A12 road runs close to the hotel.

    Breakfast was good. Bed was very comfortable. Allowed into our room, 2 hours ahead of check-in time, due to a local event we were attending, following our request. Staff very obliging.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: