Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Grove Hotel 3 stars

High Street, St. Davids, SA62 6SB, United Kingdom

#16 of 18 hotels in St. Davids

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 740 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed a handy man to spend a couple of hours in there and tidy it up especially the bathroom. Meals are expensive and I didn't really appreciate the tables and chairs being dragged around us to set up for breakfast while we were eating our evening meal.

    Great position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower kept spraying uncontrollably so I had to hold it to wash. And the housekeeping knocked pre-checkout during what was obviously coitus (I heard laughter so clearly they were aware they were interrupting) and it really ruined the mood. Up until this point I thought the staff were friendly.

    Lovely location and friendly front of house

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the ground floor. The room was dark and needed a lick of paint to freshen it up. We didn't have an evening meal so can not comment.

    Friendly staff. Good choice for breakfast. Reasonable size room with complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits & bottled water was a nice touch. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They couldn't find our reservation, and somehow this was _my_ fault, despite me having written confirmation with the correct dates on it.

    Beautiful room, right in the centre of St David's.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful hotel centre of village. Room spacious parking in grounds. Easy walk to pubs church shops etc Staff very pleasant Breakfast plentiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedside table lamp had no bulb when I asked at reception I was told there were no spares. The room was tired and shabby. There was a very strong smell in the bathroom, when I mentioned this at reception I was told they were aware of the problem and that there is a sewage problem. This room should not be rented out until this problem is sorted. The room (No6) and bathroom showed no resemblance to the photos displayed on the hotel website.

    Staff were pleasant and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have asked for two single beds and got a double bed with a common blanket, which is not exactly the thing as we are a mother and son, not a married couple

    The hotel has an excellent location, easy walking distance to all interesting palces (well, hardly otherwise, as St. David's is the smallest British town), parking available. The staff is very pleasant and friendly, good breakfast in a cosy conservatory

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No window (although we knew this at booking - it was very hot). Tables and floors 'sticky' - as if not washed properly. I think the wrong varnish that has been used as I saw the tables being cleaned.

    Close proximity to St David's, staff friendly and helpful. First hotel with avocado smash on the breakfast menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tables in the dining room were sticky as if they had been cleaned with dirty cloth. Shortage of waiting staff for breakfast and we had to wait some time to be seated then for food. Bathroom basic and door could have been wiped down to remove fingermarks.

    Decor in doing room was lovely. Staff very friendly despite being overworked. Nice size room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed upgrade very tired bedroom very hot

    Staff friendly and efficient but more staff required for busy lunchtimes and evenings.Decor very tired our tap in basin hanging by a thread but location excellent and beautiful walled garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really can't think of a thing, it was a perfect stay

    The linen on the bed was gorgeous and our room was tidied every day. The breakfast was delicious and the staff, especially Sally, were friendly and helpful. Beautiful and enormous garden for a summer drink behind the hotel which I didn't realise was there. I couldn't recommend The Grove more highly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant declined our request to have an evening meal even though restaurant was not full. They also tried to over charge us

    Location and car park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt a bit damp, there seemed to be slight damp problem in the room

    Staff were very attentive and friendly Room nicely furnished bedding crisp white bed linen

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold, and not keen on the slate tiles on floor. Also needed more light to read with.

    Location, friendly staff. Food good. Sally in the mornings greeted with a smile and cheerful conversation. Nothing too much trouble. Comfortable large bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In need of some redecoration.

    Excellent breakfast with imaginative options. Staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Very good dinners and enjoyed a drink in the peaceful walled garden. Well situated for exploring St David's and the surrounding area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a little to eager I felt that because only a few residents staying Sunday night they could have held back skittle when serving

    Despite above comment the staff where helpful and courteous, hotel clean and comfortable Aw

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room 4.scruffy dirty and in need of a total revamp.loose tap in bathroom.picture missing above bed but screws and screwholes still there.dust everywhere.long wait for food.evening meal fish and chips one was cooked fine the other dried out where it had been kept warm.exactly the same at breakfast fried eggs hard bacon and sauges dry.

    friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were allocated had a leak in the bathroom. We were given another room and there was a leak under the sink, the toilet seat was loose and the flush plunger was broken. The evening meal was tasteless. Breakfast was another let down. My husband ordered Egg Benedict and the poached eggs were hard. When I complained the waitress said "oh dear". My scrambled eggs were dry and served with a hard thin bread. We were not offered any extra toast to have with preserves. We will not be staying there again and would not recommend.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The live music from the bar wasn't great but maybe the people in the bar enjoyed it!

    The facilities were excellent, staff friendly, both dinner and breakfast very good. However having booked with Booking.com I found that a) there was no record of a booking and b) the nonexistent booking had been cancelled by booking.com without my authorisation at 2.00 pm before my arrival at 5.00pm. So I was lucky that staff found me a lovely room, and I will book direct in future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were rude, room needs a good clean and could do with a paint. No food after 9pm! No room service. 1 teabag and 2 pkt coffee. 2 pkt sugar and 1 pkt milk!

    The curtains!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed updating. Insufficient power points in the room. Internet did not work.

    Good location and excellent parking. Staff were friendly and a hearty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very cheerful and obliging The breakfasts were good and plentyful and the dinner menu was value for money.If the weather had been warmer it would have been lovely to sit in the walled garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing in the en-suite for my room could best be described as eccentric. The cold tap invariably began by running warm water for up to a minute and the diverter on the bath taps was seized and so would not allow a shower.

    Food, staff and dining facilities all very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stair access hazard for elderly. Bedroom door a fire hazard...non compliant fire/smoke stopping Bathroom door unable to close No mirror light in bathroom .No supplementary electric socket in bathroom. Wall crack behind wash hand basin harbouring bacteria Sash window poor condition .. external call rotten....

    Food fair

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feather pillows would be a plus, even if as an extra.

    Excellent staff and so friendly, positive and always smiling. Nothing was a problem and they constantly made us feel very relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (Double)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing often noisy and needs attention. Wine list sounds impressive but in reality it is cheap rubbish. Needs a new agency for wine.

    Excellent room (3) , very good food in restaurant and marvellous service (thank you Sally!). Quiet, pleasant, well located and well above your average pub accommodation and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive for what it was.

    Location was good with ample parking, clean, friendly staff, good value food in the hotel restaurant, breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a very small bathroom with little shelving for toiletries

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great location, excellent meals , great value. Lovely relaxed ambience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, particularly bathroom needs upgrade if you want to charge a high rate. The room didn’t correlate with the charge. Room was small but Extra wardrobe not needed.

    Staff excellent, location perfect, breakfast room brilliantly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked a more expensive Executive room (room 10) we were shocked by a strong smell of sewage in the bathroom, Grubby grouting and walls in the bathroom. Paint peeling off walls in the bathroom. Door knobs missing. Cobwebs on the ceilings. Breakfast wasn't fantastic. Large pothole in the car park.

    Bed was comfortable, shower worked well, nice size room, tea and coffee facilities were good. Manager understood my dissatisfaction and was happy to accept a reduced payment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only disappointment was that the menu was not as extensive as that on the Brains website and sent to us prior to our visit. We asked the staff and were told that they were in the process of changing to a new menu, hence why some meals were not available. This was a pity, but the food that we had was of good quality and well priced.

    Good value accommodation, well situated, very attentive staff, excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu was a little boring. All chips and no fresh vegetables. It would have been good to have rooms vacumed

    The room was good and the beds very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet had been used (toilet paper in bowel) when we went into our room, floors tiled and dry but sticky underfoot - had it been cleaned ???!!!!

    The bed was comfortable, friendly breakfast waitress

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we were given had an issue (smell) but we were moved without fuss.

    Very good choice at breakfast, comfortable bed, spacious room. The hotel is in a great location. We had to rearrange our night stay and the hotel was very accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor quality breakfast (amazingly poor orange juice, undrinkable - not a big deal but symptomatic); noisy aircon or similar equipment plaing all night

    good location for centre of town and easy parking, good sized room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of dogs around, so if you’re not a fan, it might be annoying. WiFi connection was a little poor.

    Especially the rooms downstairs are spacious, comfortable and stylish. Really nice bathrooms too. Staff is lively and atmosphere is cosy. Very nice place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (Double)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building and fittings in desperate need of improvement. But the bed and linen were immaculate. Breakfast. A tea pot rather than just a cup please. Decent muesli please. Fresh fruit including grapes, blueberries and pears please. Proper whole meal bread please. Dead flowers on tables to be replaced please.

    Great staff. Manager professional but not obsequious. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was OK but nothing special. However, as an inclusive breakfast it was acceptable.

    Friendly attentive staff. On site parking Walled garden ideal for families Broad menu covering a range of styles of cuisine. Reasonably priced. 5 mins walk from a a range of other restaurants and pubs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    The hotel offered a warm and friendly welcome the room was bigger than we imagined the restaurant was great value and the staff were always ready to help and make the stay special the car park was free and the hotel was well located to use as a base to visit so many breathtaking views of the coast within 10 minuets walk we will be going back and recommending this establishment to our friends and family

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe during winter season the warming could be put on in a room before the guests arrive.

    Very nice location and a nice little hotel. Super friendly staff and good food. A nice stay in all. Parking place is big enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the grove were so friendly and would go out of their way to help you. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. Bathroom was quite small but clean. Excellent location for walking, and wandering round the small city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff. Very cheery. Good value for money hotel and good food in restaurant. Decent wines, too, and worth paying a little more. Room very comfortable. Great location for St. Davids and a lovely area for walking. This was our second visit and look forward to returning. We visited in March, this year and had great weather, which was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the bed was a standard double it felt very small.

    Staff were very friendly and efficient. We enjoyed the music on Friday evening. It wasn't too loud but the singer was excellent. Very good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have loved a bath in our room....we were not offered one when booking our room. (other rooms did have one) The shower cubicle was somewhat small and the shower unit was broken in places. Walls downstairs could do with a paint refresh as looked a bit grubby in places, so did the radiators.

    A beautiful hotel located in one of the most stunning areas in Wales. The staff were excellent. Very attentive and friendly. The rooms are a bit dated and in need of a refurb, the bed was excellent tho and lovely bed linen fitted..clean and fresh. Everything worked but could see evidence of wear and tear. The downstairs seating area and restaurant was pleasantly bright and clean, but again, perhaps a new coat of paint on the walls and skirting boards wouldn't go amiss. (being fussy now!) The evening meal was very good, and well priced, and even tho i feel the hotel could do with a decent upgrade we will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor need updating

    The hotel is at a convenient position. Staff very friendly. Breakfast good. The hotel is clean, comfortable but decor needs updating as rooms are dated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a bit of TLC, a refurb would bring it fully up to scratch. Also, they had run out of some drinks but I assume as it’s a quiet time of year they don’t order too much. Would also benefit from having the traditional SA and Brains dark and not the Black and Gold.

    Very friendly and attentive staff, made to feel welcome. Food was very nice and service was excellent. Overall a very nice stay and would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    General decor looks tired Could do with updating paintwork Picture removed from wall in our bedroom leaving wall plugs with screws in on display Stained carpets Needs a refurb

    Location breakfast parking and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed moving around the room, no bed side mat just bare floor, cobwebs on the ceiling and in the bathroom, and paint falling off the wall in the bedroom. Dust all over the pictures

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel had all of the Top 5 things I look for 1) It felt safe 2) It felt clean 3) I could park my Car 4) It had a Bar to unwind in and a Restaurant 5) Room had everything you would expect, a TV, Wi-Fi so could relax and entertain myself. Bed was very comfy, and nice clean sheets was nice and quiet so had a good nights sleep. The bonus was that the Staff were very hospitable and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls in the bedroom were very thin which is no fault of the staff, I was woken at 1 a.m. by our neighbours tripping over something and crashing to the floor when they came in after a night out, that would have been fine but one of them then proceeded to snore so loudly that I couldn't get to sleep for the next four hours. I tried moving to the other end of the bed and my partner slept on the sofa but this didn't help. There were a couple of silverfish in the bathroom during the night but at least they were quiet :-). Maybe the rooms could be changed about somehow so that the beds were not put on the same wall as the room next door? Sadly it ruined our stay in a very nice place.

    Room looked lovely, perfect place in the village and breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only one moan room 7 must have been above the kitchen and the fan was on for a long time

    nice clean room good food lovely helpful staff. will return hopefully in the summer weather permitting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear noise of the extractor fan when they switched the light on in the bathroom next door. This happened very early in the morning. But it wasn't very bad just a little disturbing. But overall excellent room!

    The whole place was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable. We had dinner there and it was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lacked the fine touches and could have done with a really good clean. Great location and the hotel could do so much better

    Great location and breakfast was good and lots of it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Connect4 game only had 3 yellow pieces! That is the tinniest of tiny gripes though!

    Tremendous breakfast - would highly recommend the Eggs Benedict options

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a pot of tea at breakfast instead of flask hot water. The hot water plumbing in room 8 requires attention. No hot water at the basin unless the hot water bath tap is run first.

    The friendly welcome of staff and the help we received to overcome a situation that arose. We would recommend The Grove Hotel to anyone under the present management. M&D.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in room 7 really needs sorting.Flushing the toilet alerts everybody in the kitchen downstairs you have been to the toilet.Its really not a problem.😂😂

    The staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was quite cool - albeit it in cold winter weather, with two outside stone walls - but we used the second duvet on the first night and staff provided us with an extra heater after that. Would also be useful to have a note indicating that the white panel is, in fact, a heater and the controls hidden from initial view !

    Very welcoming and friendly staff and excellent food in the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the rooms, there were considerable amounts of cobwebs. But i felt this maybe addedto the rustic feel. But it does need a good dusting above head height. Being tall i saw it all.

    A lovely hotel. We were in room 9 and loved the rustic look. The old fireplace and stone wall. The bed was comfortable. The extra electric heater came in handy. Not that the room was cold anyhow. Just adds a little extra snugness, when its windy and cold outside. The breakfast was the best we have had all week, as we tour around. And the staff are very friendly. Without a doubt, i would stay again. Great value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 7 and there was an almighty noise that lasted a long time whenever toilet was flushed. Room was adequate but on the small size. No lift so we struggled a bit up the stairs with pram.

    Good location, ample parking, polite staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. I short walk to the centre of St David’s. Newspapers to hand to have a quiet read in the lounge. Great breakfast. Staff welcoming, chatty and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms needs a bit of modernising (we were in the twin room so could only comment on that room) and it needs a bit of paint here and there.

    Location good, breakfast choice excellent and good, very warm and pleasant, menu very good and staff were very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (Double)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything i didnt like.

    Awesome experience, fab suite, great food and friendly / helpful staff. Couldn't have asked for anything more. If you're travelling and staying in St David's then I recommend you stop here or pop in for a drink or for food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although comfortable, the bedroom was quite small with limited storage space. Better for a weekend rather than a week or longer if you have a lot of baggage!

    The staff are The Grove’s major asset. They’re friendly but professional. Excellent breakfast options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn't affect our stay as it was winter, but there seemed to be a public terrace with suites directly outside our room window. This would be intrusive if in use. The bathroom was lovely and clean and very large but it was very cold, even with the radiator on full blast.

    Great size room, more like a suite, with comfy bed. Staff very attentive. Overall a great stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Décor past tired now tatty. Mould and damp patches on walls Carpet very very dirty though bed and baths were clean No food available on Sunday late afternoon/evening - told kitchen closed as out of season but this was week before Xmas and not even sandwiches or snack available

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Bed comfy. Big fluffy towels Good breakfast Location very convenient to access St David’s

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more attention to detail with the room cleaning. The first room we were put in was clean but there were cobwebs in the window corners, behind the lights and fittings and on the ceiling between the beams. Wife couldn't stand that so we asked to be moved and we were with no problem into a bigger room.

    Really friendly staff, good room with good bathroom. Lots of space. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was fine, however the traditional British breakfast could be better.

    After 11pm it was absolutely quiet, like in a real village. The room was quite spacious as for British standards. The staff was professional and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other than the conservatory/bar area, the hotel is a bit tired. Website says Not pet friendly so we boarded our dog out, only to discover once we were there that dogs are welcome - need to update info on website!

    Staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very good (we only had breakfast!). Perhaps put butter on the buffet table along with the croissants!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms are generally ok, but the furniture and décor are tired.

    The staff who work here are absolutely brilliant. They couldn't do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Very accommodating. The location is also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a downstairs room which was slightly noisy with other guests going back and forth to other rooms.

    The room was nice and comfortable and the staff were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired and grubby. Mold on the walls in the bathroom, BAD smell of drains, awful pillows, disappointing breakfast, over heated room.

    Some of the staff were quite helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged for a room in st David's UK and we had requed St. David's Newfoundland. Riped off, tried to call but number would not go through from st. David Newfoundland, no hotel just big dairy operation. Was charged for room anyway. I will never use booking.com again!!!! Big ripoff!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 10 badly needs updating as do other parts of the hotel.The lighting in our bedroom was poor but even so we could see a lot of dust around the place. Breakfasts were not up to expected standards so we relied on cereals. Paying £135 a night we would expect better accommodation

    Very pleasant staff.Hotel location was good.Evening meals were excellent.Bed was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place needs a major refurbishment. Downstairs is tired 1980's. My bedroom looked like it had never seen any renewal since the 1960's. Dirty and worn carpet. Shower room grubby and unclean. To cap it all when I went to my room at 9pm, I was greeted by booming music from underneath. Turns out that I was above the kitchen where staff like to play music really loud. Following two requests to the resident manager it was finally was turned off, only to start up again at 0700 the following morning. My evening meal in the near empty restaurant was at best a poor quality ready meal at, worst close to pet food. I travel a lot, with many bookings made through Booking.com. This place is the worst hotel that I have experienced for a long time.

    Location. Good breakfast served by a very friendly staff member

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously needs a refurb. Bed was too small for 2 people. Room (room 1) was way to warm, needing an open window all night.

    Staff couldn't be more helpful. Good choice of wines and beers, good menu. In an ideal location to walk into St Davids. SIGN THE PETITION AGAINST PREMIER INN!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: