Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guidfa House 5 stars

Crossgates, Llandrindod Wells, LD1 6RF, United Kingdom

#3 of 12 hotels in Llandrindod Wells

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 37 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My host, Anne was so pleasant and helpful. The House is lovely, standards are high and it is very clean. I rate it very highly

    Wonderful home made croissants and a very comfortable bed....but Ive already done a positive review of this excellent Guest House and submitted it?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I literally don't like to say, but if I had have had to wash my hair the shower would have let me down, not powerful enough

    The bed!!! I stayed in Room 3 and seriously the best bed I have slept in, in ages, very comfy. I'm a frequent traveler for work and mainly stay in hotel chains. It was lovely to feel like you were being given a premium service. Tony and Ann were the very best of hosts, with lots of amazing personal homemade touches, they really do want you to have an amazing stay. They even gave my other colleague who could not book in recommendation and directions to somewhere else locally that they felt would offer a very good service. Customer service is on point.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm welcome, friendly cosey accommodation. Had best nights sleep in ages, such a comfy bed. Breakfast great local food yummy. Would definately reccommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been more comfortable, maybe a new mattress, male host could have been warmer and try to smile, we didn't feel he liked his role. House is on a roundabout, shame

    Superb breakfast, homemade croissants, jams etc, food hot and well presented, cosy diniing room but a bit too warm, female host nice and friendly, lovely house and garden, just a shame it's on a roundabout, but all said we hardly heard traffic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it other than we couldn't stay longer as we had other places to go.

    Anne and Tony were excellent hosts. The house has wonderfull ambiance and we were made to feel right at home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed our stay the only constructive suggestion I can make is to consider some soft background music in the dining room at breakfast to add to the ambience.

    Lovely friendly welcome from the hostess. Freshly baked croissants and home made preserves at breakfast. Quirky wooden puzzles in the lounge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. The owners were fully aware of my coeliac (gluten free) condition and supplied suitable .bread. The owners were veryfriendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was a good size, great king size bed,,breakfast excellent,nice garden and grounds though not large. and a lovely residents lounge. A very classy guest house.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING!!!!!

    Lovely property and surroundings. The accommodation was comfortable, superbly presented and well equipped with up-market facilities. The owners are helpful and courteous and the scrambled egg with smoked salmon breakfast is not to be missed. The hotel is perfectly positioned for accessing the surrounding beautiful countryside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hospitality at Guidfa house was so good and welcoming. Underlying it, in all the touches provided, you felt that the establishment understood what the customer wanted and catered for it. Quality was achieved in all the facilities provided. The attention to detail in the appointment of the room was excellent and reflected this quality. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were 'just right' (superb) as was all of breakfast; special mention to the rhubarb and ginger homemade jam. The local knowledge that was volunteered anticipated one's needs and was very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality food cheap sausages Tinned mushrooms Smoked bacon as the only choice Cold bathroom floor not even a warm towel rail and a trip hazard in the doorway And a dodgy tv which kept losing signal

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. The bed really was a small double. The breakfast choice was limited. I do not eat a cooked breakfast and the fruit choice was poor. Not everyone likes stewed fruit when there are strawberries etc around. Natural yogurt is ok for those who like it but we prefer flavoured yogurt. The room was very hot.

    the large shower even though the bathroom was small. The blanket as we do not like duvets

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome arrival cup of tea. Excellent variety of breakfast with home made croissants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful, friendly hosts. Excellent breakfast, very civilised place to spend a night or two. Will stay again when in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particularly

    Comfortable corner room Warm welcome Convenient for the venue for a meeting the following day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very gracious, beautiful house, tastefully furnished, good breakfast and charming hosts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfy and owners very welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely victorian home ~ great hosts and food ~ very helpful with ideas for things to do ~ highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts brilliant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely place, lovely hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pub nearby

    The owners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very well looked after for the whole stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Don't hesitate to book, its first rate in every way

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spotlessly clean. Great decor. Efficient hosts who are full of useful information

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was intermittent

    Friendly , well cooked food local ingredients . Comfortable bed and room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great

    Loved the room, lots of nice touches and an extremely good shower. Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room, lovely breakfast with home cooked croissants. Very friendly owners and a welcome tea and cake on arrival.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent, absolutely first class guest house, would highly recommend this place to others. Rooms tastefully furnished and clean. Ideal location for getting around the area.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was well appointed, quiet and very peaceful. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was first-class and very tasty, including the French-pressed coffee!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I couldn't fault it!

    We received a warm and friendly greeting when we arrived. It was a comfortable stay in a clean room and the breakfast.was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The property had real character, our room was excellent the bed was huge and really comfortable. Our hosts were knowledgable about the area and friendly. The food was restaurant quality.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike

    Private hotel run and staffed by the owners. On arrival we were immediately offered a cup of tea and home made cake. The hotel no longer offers an evening but advised us of all the places to eat nearby with personal recommendations. Well looked after, clean and spacious rooms

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all really

    Quiet Location Very Comfortable room Use of sitting room in evening Very friendly staff A lovely area for walking. relaxing, touring

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing all superb!!

    Loved the room, spacious, comfy bed, spotlessly clean. fab hot choc and Biscuits Amazing breakfast, fab host and even had home made jam. So hospitable faultless, thanks so much would definitely stay again

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    N/A

    Loved everything about our stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great hosts, excellent food and lovely accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast, attentive owner.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The feeling of being a valued guest, not just a number. The special luxury touches made so much difference and we loved it.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcome on arrival. Rooms beautifully furnished. Food excellent. Value for money good.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    liked everything from the first moment we arrived, the welcome was excellent and would stay again

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    had to drive to go for dinner (but knew this in advance, so no issue)

    everything!

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Guidfa House was a very pleasant and comfortable place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    En-suite a bit crampted for my liking, also over a mile away from somewhere to eat at night.

    Lovely room and great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    brilliant location for the sporting event we were attending - owners were attentive and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    well run establishment

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is a great place to stay! Comfortable, with great food, service and attention to detail, really nicely decorated and super-clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Host was very cordial and helpful. The facility is beautiful and professionally managed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences at all

    Everything was wonderful from the bed, room, location, service and food

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very warm welcome with tea and cake on the patio. Nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable accommodation with a super breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and gracious host and hostess.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: