Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guyers House Hotel 4 stars

Guyers Lane, Corsham, SN13 0PS, United Kingdom

#5 of 7 hotels in Corsham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Made a businesss trip very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nikki and the team were extremely friendly and accommodating throughout the stay. Nothing was too much to ask for. Will be recommending and returning! The grounds were lovely if you wanted to walk around and although not in Bath City Centre was a 10minute drive away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    A very happy stay in delightful surroundings. Thank you all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed a week and had a rather repetitive menu each night.

    You allowed us to share food courses. Food excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. Your hotel manager did a wonderful job with care and kindness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Very good conference facilities, friendly staff and lovely...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't have enough pressure to be useful which was a disappointment.

    Very good conference facilities, friendly staff and lovely gardens. Breakfast (Eggs Benedict) was a highlight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed. I have stayed there 3 or 4 times before, but this time around, it was disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower had no hot water. They had no emergency toiletries available for purchase, and the receptionist was just short of rude.

    Very comfortable room, very clean. The bar meal was lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.3
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were put in held no resemblance to the room with the four poster bed pictured on your site. The same picture was printed on my booking print out, the room was dissapointing in comparison, In the night the bathroom door handle broke giving us no access to our bathroom all night. We were given use of a bathroom across the corridor. However our belongings were in our bathroom, and there was no bath in the second one. We did not gain access until after breakfast. We paid rather a hefty price for a room that was definitively not as illustrated - and gave us no access to our bathroom. So overall we left rather dissapointed by the visit

    Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Receptionist very welcoming Excellent evening meal ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very slow on Sunday morning-- they did not seem ready for 8am start !

    Receptionist very welcoming Excellent evening meal All spaces were pleasantly warm It was a lovely place to say after the crowds of Bath

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.6
    Poor value at £170 a night, will not return
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As my wife has limited mobility, I had asked for a ground floor room or one near the lift (didn't know the hotel). So to find we had been allocated a second floor room, with no lift was disappointing. We were switched to a ground floor room, but this was rather small. I ordered breakfast in the room, however it took two phone calls, after it was due to be delivered, before it eventually arrived

    Leaving

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    I had a very enjoyable stay at an excellent hotel in a lovely part of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that I didn't like.

    The bed was very comfortable, and the position of the room (6) was excellent: I particularly liked the window seats. The garden was lovely, and I enjoyed my walks around it. Breakfast was very tasty, and the combination of buffet and service was good. A particular mention for the waiter at breakfast - he was unfailingly polite and friendly, and made a big contribution to getting the day off to a great start!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay in a country hitel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit far out.

    The service was good. It is set in lovely environs albeit rather far from the centre of Corsham ( too long to walk for me due to a knee problem). The food was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.0
    We would not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt the hotel lacked a professional touch. The first room no 18 was stuffy and very small and not what you would expect for £179 per night. We then changed to room 31 which was better.

    The restaurant manager Daniel was extremely helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Excellent pleasant location with very friendYl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service a little slow and the bacon was like leather - I think it had been under the hot plate to long!

    The gardens were beautiful and colourful an absolute delight

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect atmosphere, style, comfort and location for,our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed in the restaurant food. Although the hotel has a magnificent kitchen garden there were not enough vegetables, duck breast was tough, helpings a little small. However breakfast was excellent.

    Beautiful garden. Hotel felt like a private home, lots of space to wander round. Very tasteful decor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was disappointing, shower was over the bath and poor Bed was very soft and the person upstairs sounded like a 20 stone man doing the marathon. He was annoyingly noisy. If he had carried on later I would have complained to reception!!

    looks good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    Quaint country hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a very small single room with a narrow bed that was a little cramped. Although the staff were friendly, they seemed a little overwhelmed by being asked to cater for a business event customer and we did not get the fastest response.

    The hotel has the quaint atmosphere of an English country house and lovely gardens. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Almost perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pop music played in bar. Although it was low level it was distracting and totally inappropriate in such an exquisite, period hotel. I would suggest, if they absolutely insist on inflicting music on guests (nobody ever requests it), it should be classical or tasteful music - not whining pop/rock vocals. Sadly, this enforced noise pollution is everywhere these days.

    Every detail was perfect. Beautiful gardens and tastefully decorated lounges, dining room and bedrooms. Staff were polite and attentive. With the exception of the piped pop music in the bar, altogether a delightful experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.4
    Lovely location mixed experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower water pressure was poor and there was a water in the pipes noise that kept me awake all night Staff were not attentive at breakfast and food kept running out same with the wedding food the evening before and the drinks expensive

    The room itself was gorgeous and the toiletries were different, I loved the biscuit jar in the room with proper biscuits in it and the decoration was very authentic with comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not very clean. Only one hand towel for two people. Shower was a trickle and went cold if other people were using hot water (in other rooms). Lots of ladybirds and moths in the room my kids were given which they didn't like! Room decor very tired and dated.

    Staff were very friendly, pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Really lovely comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a disabled toilet though. Plus disabled spaces need to be near the path to the reception as the gravel is difficult to push a wheelchair on.

    Beds were really comfortable, staff very nice and polite. Very smartly dressed. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.2
    A lovely place for a restorative country break; great food & drink; excellent, friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One brasserie meal had uncooked chips. Not a real problem, given it was rectified straight away and all the other food was superb. The breakfasts were excellent, as was the service from all concerned. The main restaurant was a very civilised experience, all around.

    Country "feel" & location, charming & helpful staff, great food, not having to drive in the evening/free parking, proximity to Bath. Overall, a very good choice. Good value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.4
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average when supposed to be award winning, vegetarian sausages took ages to arrive as the chef forgot about them. Bedroom was small and old - the bathroom was nothing special and the furniture was like a grandma's house.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    A delightful stay full of English charm & history
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room could do with a little more atmosphere perhaps

    The house & grounds were amazing. Despite there being a wedding it was very peaceful and the double bed for a single booking was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.1
    Attractive and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weekend stay slightly compromised by inevitable wedding party but nothing serious. Warm and stuffy room

    Super comfy bed, nice atmosphere, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    great place to stay, lovely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our friends room was supposed to be a double room, but in fact it was two singles pushed together

    The hotel with all the outer buildings was very nice. Staff were excellent and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful country hotel with great room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar was unmanned in the early evening. Television was very old fashioned with few channels. The bedroom decor dated

    Room service was excellent. Breakfast and all of the food was superb! En-suite was excellent and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Quiet, relaxing hotel in spacious grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was very good, well presented, local produce. Cooked breakfast was very good. Again fresh local produce. Friendly staff. Extensive gardens to wander round. Rooms were quiet, overlooking gardens.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't dislike anything, marked down facilities but only because I hadn't seen or used whats there.

    Only stayed 1 night for a wedding but will definitely return, the full english was very very good. Staff were wonderful and the setting lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.5
    Really good stay at Guyers House
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For nearly £100, I thought my single room was pretty basic and the bed not particularly comfortable or sturdy.

    Location and general feel of the hotel - excellent. Staff were very kind and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    A wonderful hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No criticism whatsoever

    Excellent staff. Friendly helpful reception staff especially. My wife stayed at the hotel while I was on business in Corsham and the staff kept on looking after her long after they needed to. I cannot recommend them enough.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.5
    Attractive grounds and character property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining was expensive and restaurant lacked atmosphere .In fairness it was quiet on the Sunday that we ate there.

    Lovely grounds and pleasant staff.An old character property well located for exploring the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single bedroom to small. Mattress needs changing. Not worth £105 a night. £50/60 more like it.

    Beautiful location. Great cooked breakfast. Most important it is clean as it should be.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place, lovely staff and food. Spotless. Could do with being just a tiny bit cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too expensive

    very clean and loved the rural setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.5
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't praise the staff enough. Every single member of the team were a credit to the hotel. 5star.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    It was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far from bath

    Everyone was great the breakfast was delicious I really enjoy staying in it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent great excellent great excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Everything, staff, room, bed, resturant, all were just great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay, nice breakfast, but too expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Nice place but not in the league that it charges reflect

    Beautifully kept old style

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful food, home grown vegetables friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Very good all round.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water not hot enough.

    Good bed & excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Great food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only one small point menus for brasserie conflicting (more than one menu otherwise excellent

    could not fault room staff or food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.0
    Underwhelmed and not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, poor wifi, picture on booking.com website shows a superior room as a double. Very misleading. Room smells musty

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    All in all top stay, very nice indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure a little useless

    Very comfy and 20 mins drive from central Bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent to return from a days shopping and enjoy a quality meal in pleasant atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar facilities

    All in all ,the breakfast was good, and so was the he a la cart dinner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderfully comfortable bed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    The staff were polite and efficient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were polite and efficient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Bathroom dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom dated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful spot, welcoming retreat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly, welcoming, helpful staff made me feel at home even though I was traveling alone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic friendly staff nothing too much trouble. Beautiful surroundings I will definatley stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Fantastic friendly staff nothing too much trouble. Beautiful surroundings I will definatley stay at this hotel agian, very highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We only stopped one night but all was very very good. It was my husbands 70th birthday. So just what we wanted thank you

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.7
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the bed uncomfortable

    The location and the peace and quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Excllent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was first class

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    3.3
    Disappointment with Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and dirty Shower was falling off wall Food was over priced and below average

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Firendly and attentive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Firendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Relaxing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Rooms were clean and tidy and the food was excellent. Staff were very attentive without being over the top.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Recommended - very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Amazing attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing attention to detail.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely place, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere Claenliness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.5
    Lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    two flights of quite narrow winding stairs were awkward with a couple of bags.

    Smoked Salmon and scrambled egg at breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    I will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot breakfast was a bit slow. Not a real problem unless you are in a hurry.

    Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.0
    Greater attention to detail would go a long way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities in the room were a little basic considering the price. Housekeeping could do better with the cleanliness.

    Location Staff Food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic service, staff were so attentive and highly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic service, staff were so attentive and highly trained providing excellent customer service throughout our stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Great location to stay when visiting Bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to mention.

    Comfortable bed and had a good nights sleep, the grounds were nice to walk round.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    6.7
    The buildings and setting are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a hotel charging top notch prices we felt there was a mismatch with what was actually on offer. The room was small, decor a bit dated, public rooms not great, cold options at breakfast were limited and had run out by the time we got to our table.

    The buildings and setting are beautiful. The cooked food was good.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    6.3
    Lovely setting, nice rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Lots of noise in the bedroom from downstairs and other rooms. Service was average. Continental breakfast selection was below average.

    Lovely setting, nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    5.8
    Relaxed atmosphere and friendliness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bedrooms were extremely hot (even with window fully open) Shower in one bathroom was very poor ? Regarding value for money (£250 per night for double room)

    Relaxed atmosphere and friendliness of staff. Quality of food in Restaurant was excellent

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Lovely rooms nice facilities beautiful location quiet at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I cannot think of anything ?

    Lovely rooms nice facilities beautiful location quiet at night excellent breakfast and lovely staff we had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to anyone

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Everything was as to be expected at such an establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was as to be expected at such an establishment. Friendly, helpful staff in every part of the hotel. Food was very good and well served. Delightful setting in a rural spot. Would certainly stay again.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    6.3
    Great staff especially in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was pricey for what you got and not a great selection for dinner. Room could have been cleaner e.g. Lots of cobwebs on the ceiling.

    Great staff especially in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    We had a very enjoyable stay here and we were upgraded to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all superb

    We had a very enjoyable stay here and we were upgraded to a superior room free of charge the food was beautiful and the staff were very friendly will definitely stay here again many thanks

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of attention to detail:- main room window would not shut, shower room window frame mouldy, shower room was a disabled facility! (Not requested). Sink tap loose, toilet too high, shower wet room meant everything gets wet when showering. Very noisy extraction fan, ( could hear next doors fan also). TV not working correctly.

    Breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    Everything, especially the relaxed atmosphere, pleasing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, especially the relaxed atmosphere, pleasing decor, comfortable lounges with log fires and extremely well-trained staff who attended to our every whim, but remained discreetly in the background. A delightful experience.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.9
    The Guyers is a Lovely hotel in a Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really, other than the pressure of the showers are a bit light, seems to take ages to get wet if that makes sense.

    The Guyers is a Lovely hotel in a Lovely location.The main hotel is a beautiful building and has a very relaxed atmosphere and some areas to chill out in the evenings after your meal.The food is of a high quality as is the accommodation.We stayed in the coach house part of the hotel and have previously stayed in that part which we have found to be quiet and very cosy with lovely views, the staff are in the main friendly professional and do their best to make your stay as nice as possible. If you go onto their own website you will see they have various offers which combine your stay and meal which reduces your overall costs. This is a hotel which has happy mememories for us in the main.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    10
    My room was very pretty, overlooking the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was very pretty, overlooking the garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food at the bar was superb. A lovely quiet retreat in a historic building.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.7
    Stayed in the annex on the courtyard, Although it was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed in the annex on the courtyard, Although it was very well decorated the room stank of mold. not something you would expect in mid September. There was mold stains on the bathroom ceiling. You seriously don't expect this when paying these prices.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    Stayed for 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service in the restaurant, although very pleasant and welcoming, the staff were quite slow and disorganised. It seemed very much like a Sunday night service which should not really be an excuse. We were also reminded that we weren't part of the secret escapes package which included dinner which was said quite loudly and was actually quite off putting and embarrassing. The food was average considering the cost but overall enjoyable.

    Stayed for 2 nights...The location and surroundings were very nice! Clean rooms, plenty of parking and overall an enjoyable stay. Staff very welcoming at reception and during breakfast. The breakfast was nice and cooked to order.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.8
    tthe quiet and helpfullness of staff although they seemed...
    • Solo traveller

    lack of bottled water in the bedroom

    tthe quiet and helpfullness of staff although they seemed rather scared of the management.the party was well organised

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Guyers House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: