Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Radisson Collection Hotel, Royal Mile Edinburgh 5 stars

1 George IV Bridge, Old Town, Edinburgh, EH1 1AD, United Kingdom

#16 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1199 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is really poor, I have ordered omlet and it came after 45 minutes and burned, it is only simple omlet !!!, we have booked three rooms and two of their air-conditions were broken down and we have packed our luggages again then moved to the another room, it was not very good while in the holiday.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room with a comfortable bed, nice and friendly staff, amazing shower, great location, fab breakfast. There was nothing not to like! A nice hotel to escape the crowds on the Royal Mile. I thought it might be overpriced and not a great experience given that it is handy for the all the sites but was pleasantly surprised and had a really nice stay and felt very relaxed. I stayed a night and was by myself. Lovely! It was not cheap but it was a great treat and enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One elevator needed repair throughout our 4-day stay. The breakfast was good, but the restaurant was understaffed to accommodate a large tour group staying while we were there.

    We had an attractive, comfortable room, with a great view. The staff was nice and helpful, and the welcome gin and tonics and treats were a nice touch. The hotel is right on the Royal Mile. That is good for seeing sites there, but we found it very congested with tourists and would have preferred a less busy area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could possibly consider having a Courtesy room to enable you to freshen up before leaving if your train/transport is late leaving on the day of your departure, I had to use the public restroom which wasn't ideal after a long day of hiking.

    Perfectly situated to visit all the attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was unavailable. Junior Suite was lacklustre and Bland. Too much empty space. Ikea-ish Furniture. Downgraded to a smaller and cosier room.

    Amazing Location. So Central. Right By the Royal Mile. Great Staff! Especially Niamh at Reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is superb, few steps away from the castle, staff are also friendly. While breakfast was included in our room fee, everything in the minibar was also free!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast unfortunately was a bit of a disaster. Waitress didn’t offer us menus, then wanted to take our order. We asked for coffee and got cold half cups of coffee. When we asked for hot milk she came back with cold and sighed as she put it down on the table. Food was good tho.

    Neive at front desk was so lovely, and because we were very newly wed she upgraded us. Delighted!! Lovely staff, room was gorgeous and clean!! Great views onto street. Complimentary mini bar and tablet. Great service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very cramped on the Bank Holiday Monday & we had to wait for a table.

    This property is very clean & very well located. The staff are very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel using a SAT NAV was nearly impossible...and frustrating!

    Right in the heart of the Royal Mile...close to all the main attractions...friendly staff...clean room with all the facilities there to make your stay enjoyable! A*****

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of gluten free choices on evening prior to run resulted in us sadly cancelling table and dining elsewhere.

    Warm welcome by the lovely Niamh on reception.Took the time to ensure there was gluten free porridge available for breakfast to fuel my marathon run.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the old part of the hotel with original windows and very poor sound barrier glass. This led to 2 nights of very poor sleep as being in the royal mile, the noise from the road goes on late at night and starts very early. The window blind shutter set up was annoying.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room spacious clean and the shower excellent. Loved the coffee machine. Complimentary breakfast for the marathon runners was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though it's a large chain hotel, it has a boutique sort of spirit. The room was not large, but it was laid out quite comfortably, and the bathroom was fantastic. Overall, it has a very modern, playful feel, and it couldn't be in a more prime location for exploring the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice bed / linen friendly staff great location good breakfast overall 8/10 I'm a club Carlson member but didn't use my card .... does it matter ?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small sink which was much to low to easily use, especially to shave. I would not have wanted to stay in this room if I had been travelling with my wife.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains light from road shines into the room. Street light from road is very bright. I would suggest curtains to fix this. I couldn’t sleep with the street light glare.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Quick WiFi service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "breakfast team" created total chaos: one day, we had to wait in a very long line to get access to the breakfast room. The other days, they weren't able to find us on their guest list (they did, after a while). No rolls at the breakfast buffet, only one single loaf of bread for dozens of guests. If you arrive a little bit later (>9am), the buffet is more or less empty, no bread, no plates, just the remainings of a battlefield. You get one fork and one knife and have to keep them, even if you switch from salmon to orange marmalade... This is a pity, since the fish was excellent and you can order several freshly cooked items, in addition to the buffet. The stained cushions in the restaurant could be cleaned or replaced. We intended to go to the hotel restaurant, but the light there was very dark and greenish, the lounge music quite loud. Consequently, there were no guests at all and we decided to go somewhere else. In our room, it was not possible to open the window, we had to keep the air con running day and night. We learned that the hotel recently changed its name. Perhaps they are still in the process of finding the right team. We assume this will be solved sooner or later.

    Stylish room, very comfy bed, large shower. Staff was very friendly (even though - not very organized). Perfect location within the old town. Not too expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Good spread of continental side but cooked breakfast could be improved. Staff little disoriented but very friendly. Each morning we asked for toast but did receive any. Muffin was soggy due to poached egg not being drained properly. Belgium waffles was used for bacon and waffles which was shop bought and didn’t really go for a breakfast as they were too sweet.

    Fantastic location. Friendly staff. Good house keeping. Lovely welcome of pastry’s as we were celebrating anniversary. Would certainly stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast was limited due to a problem with gas, which lasted 3 of the 4 nights of our stay over Bank Holiday, this had a knock on effect in the evening when dining at the Cucina Restaurant. A bedside table with a drawer rather than a block table would be handy to store meds and odds and ends rather than piling on top. An alarm clock is needed. The wi-fi wouldn't work on ipad. The TV sound was out of sync and the loo fill didn't cut off and was constantly running - minor details which I managed to live with and report on leaving.

    room 315 good walk in shower, efficient lifts, perfect location for castle and cafes and bars, short walk to National Museum , very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy outside at night due to the nightclub across the road.

    Great room with a lovely outlook. Bed was very comfortable and mini bar well stocked. The hotel staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Excellent customer service from beginning to end . All staff very friendly and welcoming . Valet parking an added bonus . Welcome drink . Nothing was to much of a bother to the staff . Thank you to them all for an amazing stay .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive as a boutique hotel compared to Fairmont. A number of things not available on room service menu. Taxi drivers didn't know where it was and dropped us at wrong Radisson.

    Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Arrived tired from a delayed flight, pleasantly surprised by the locale and modern interior. Staff on reception very pleasant and efficient and offered us a G and T ! Great room, great breakfast and staff couldn’t help enough with enquiries, booking restaurants , taxis etc Will visit again ....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a couple of things: There was no information in the room about the hotel, check out times, breakfast times so there was a lot of confusion when we arrived down for breakfast at 10.30am on Monday morning and it was finished since 10am. 4-5 other guests arrived down after us and they were surprised that the breakfast had finished too. I had to ask when check out was so maybe put some basic info in the rooms on these things to avoid confusion. Just on the breakfast, it was lovely and lots of choice, but I felt we had to ask for toast, it didn't come standard with a cooked breakfast and then nobody thought of bringing butter with the toast. Just tiny things really!

    The location was so central! Within walking distance of everything really. The hotel was so modern and snazzy. I really loved it. The room was gorgeous, bed comfy, views stunning and had air con which really helped as hotels can be quite warm. Complimentary mini bar was cool, nice to arrive back after walking around Edinburgh and relax with a glass of vino! Staff were fantastic, so friendly and helpful. Bar was so retro! Gin and Tonic on arrival was such a treat!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything really. We didn’t eat in the hotel so can’t comment on the quality of the food

    The hotel was lovely, clean and bright and the staff so helpful. The location is superb. The little extra touches in the room was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I could not fault our stay at all there were 6 of us in 3 rooms staff were top class we were even able to check into our rooms at 11.30am. The cleaning staff were also very friendly and polite when you passed them in the corridor 😊👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like!

    The breakfast choice was excellent and the rooms and decor also. The reception staff where wonderful. We found out our train was cancelled and the reception staff phoned the train station for us. The staff couldn't have done more, they where wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wait for a table at breakfast, which would have been better managed with communication but unless you were at the front, the staff ignored you. Table lay out seemed bizarre, design over practicality (big empty table at the entrance with pillars that no one was sitting at) Many others were getting frustrated and left. I felt for the price, the hotel room didn't feel luxurious enough, it was modern but didn't feel high end, this is the reason I wouldn't stay again (there are plenty other hotels in the area that would offer what I was looking for, for that price).

    It couldn't be more centrally located, we had booked a restaurant 5 mins away. Check in was a good experience, a welcome G & T was a nice touch. The bar is good too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell emanating from the shower drain. Small amount of money taken from purse. Overpriced snacks in mini bar. Queue at checkout

    G and T was a pleasant surprise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked two signaturerooms and both given disabled rooms without advising. Hope this isn’t what they do for bookings made through external websites.

    Location.. couldn’t get any closer to the action

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were brilliant and as it was our anniversary they prepared a nice platter of homemade pastries and a nice card for us. The room upgrade was well worth it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa was closed. Could walk down the road to Radisson Blu, but....

    Free G&T very much appreciated. Bar is good (although could stay open later!) and cocktail specials were excellent. Staff were all so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rain head shower was too small. Mirror chipped in bathroom. Potato scones underdone. Sausage very fatty.

    Contemporary decor nice. Luscious carpets in guest room corridor. Beautiful room. Very comfortable bed. Mirrors all over bathroom and massive black sparkly walk in shower looked awesome. Breakfast buffet and cooked off menu good. Valet parking if you reserve ahead for a space (we got lucky getting last one available when we arrived)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very spacious and nicely furnished. Would have loved a bath not just a shower but that is personal taste. Staff very prompt and extremely friendly and helpful. Location was simply superb just a couple of hundred yards from the castle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress on the bed was a little hard for my liking.

    The power shower was amazing and because it was our anniversary the staff gifted us complimentary G&T's and mini patisserie items on arrival and were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge bar only did nibbles to eat. Some bar food would’ve been lovely too. Also there were no plug points anywhere near a mirror for drying my hair. Lighting was also a bit dark in the room. Minor problems really. Worth coping with just for the atmosphere though.

    The property is right in the royal mile and very central to all the attractions. The room we had was one of only 2 character rooms. It was beautifully decorated and we would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t very comfortable. I visited in March and the room was freezing cold so I turned the radiator in but then it was too warm. There was no happy medium.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The complimentary toiletries were brilliant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary drink on arrival, water and tea and coffee facilities although coffee machine difficult to use and milk was off on first day.

    the room was very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV in our bedroom was broken - it either turned itself off completely to black screen, or the screen froze completely - we kept having to turn it off and back on again. I notified Reception and they send a member of staff to take a look. He eventually got it off the wall to turn it off and back on again. It went off again after 20 minutes. Disappointing!

    Did not have breakfast but did have dinner with friends in the restaurant upstairs. Menu a little limited but our risotto was delicious. Service efficient and friendly. Loved the general decor throughout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in system was not good which could be either from booking.com or the hotel. No one takes responsibility. I booked for 3 nights and already got confirmation from booking.com. When I arrived, hotel reception said they only had booking for one night. Hotel said they will let us book directly for the missing two nights. After second night, while I was out around noontime, they called me to my International phone and asked about my check-out time for that day. They said they only found booking for two nights. I responded that I booked for 3 nights. Everything got resolved in the end but it was not smooth and a bit of headache for us. One more thing, the hotel just recently changed the name from G&V to Radisson Collection Royal Mile. Beware! Local taxi drivers may not know the change of the name yet. Edinburgh have another hotel called Radisson Blu which near Royal Mile so please make sure you get to the right one.

    Overall great hotel. Location was superb as expected, just right in the old town. Walking distance to Edinburgh Castle, victoria street, royal mile and more. Breakfast was really nice more than expected which included buffet (i.e. yogurt, cereal, juice, cheese) and a choice of hot dish (i.e. fish, eggs and more) We got the room with the view of St. Giles Cathedral which was nice. Great sunrise view. Window is fixed and cannot open. Air-conditined is available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit odd as I was in the older part of the hotel. Bed was fine but cushions and duvet not to my personal liking.

    Breakfast was good, staff friendly and great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast was nice but it was lacking at a bit of extra special i.e. no beans. We asked about getting a spa treatment & we were told that there was no one in there & we we would get a call in our room to let us know what treatments were ready & when it was available after 40 minutes we had heard nothing so then went out. A bit disappointed not to be informed that they were busy

    The room was clean, the shower was excellent, we asked for an iron & it was delivered promptly. It worked out more cost effective to book a cheaper package & then upgrade on arrival. The view from level 4 was really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved the design room category and was given a room with dingy white walls that looked like a motel. Begrudgingly moved to another room that was somewhat nicer. The staff wasn't very friendly or helpful.

    It has a good location. Public spaces are nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Design of bathroom door meant condensation ran down the outside of the bathroom wall making the paint run. Staff at breakfast were not very efficient, didn't bring milk with tea and coffee (had to be asked a second time) even though dining room was less than half full. Also food crumbs were brushed from the table onto the floor and seats once people had finished eating. We were seated at a table which had crumbs on the seats and scrambled egg debris around our feet. Not very pleasant. Also they have decided not to have lidded sanitary towel bins in the ladies toilets near the breakfast room. After breakfast when I went to spend a pemnny, the cubicle I went in had an unraveling used sanitary towel on full display in the bin. Not great really....

    Good location, nice room with big windows, good shower and comfy huge bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the option in the restaurant where the somelier would suggest wines to go with the meal and so that is what we selected. However, this would have been better if the suggestions were made at our table so that we could say yes or no. As it was, two glasses each arrived unannounced. They were very agreeable choices though.

    Liked the little carton of fresh milk in the room. Best solution to the milk issue I've seen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was unable to order from the dinner room service menu at 9:50pm even though it stated on the menu "until 10pm" I was told the kitchen closed at 9:45pm - I would advise the hotel that this should be stated on the menu if so.

    Loved the bed, the coffee and the design of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm even with air con at lowest, no windows Breakfast was not a 5 Star breakfast, very poor In general, hotel was a 4 Star and not 5 star as advertised Only good thing was kocation I guess which must make it a 5 Star!!

    Liked the bed and location of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing negative about the property.

    Staff were fantastic, when we arrived we were offered an upgrade with breakfast at a very reasonable cost that we could not refuse and the room was brilliant with a great view over the city. Thanks to all the staff for a great night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you were staying for more than a couple days I'd say that the storage space for clothes is a little light. But for all I know they have rooms with wardrobes or chests of drawers etc.

    We were welcomed with a drink at the Radisson and the lady who checked us in was very helpful. The room was beautiful and the restaurant was fantastic, both beautifully decorated. The breakfast was great, both hot and continental, large choice and delicious. The location is excellent, just walk down the hill and you're on princes street and Waverley station is nearby too so getting there and enjoying the city is no problem. We xould definitely recommend it for anyone looking to enjoy the city with a touch of luxury. We didn't have time to enjoy the spa which is a shame, next time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was unable to provide cooked breakfast . Miny bar empty when we arrived & not replenished to following day. No milk provided for tea & coffee. Staff explained due to bad weather hotel did not receive deliveries .

    Hotel staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was really lovely and very clean. The hotel was in a fantastic position to enjoy everything Edinburgh has to offer. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help with anything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m only sad I couldn’t move in permanently 😂

    Everything was perfect, the location perfect, our view from the room exquisite, the breakfast to die for, the staff were fantastic, friendly and attentive and they even brought a personalised bun selection to our room because it was my girlfriends birthday. Loved it and will definitely go again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking charges and confusion about what public car park to use and get discount on means we were sent to the wrong one

    Hotel was nice, room was comfy, staff were polite and breakfast was tasty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel Very comfortable Lovely design, fantastic staff, stylish, had a lovely nights stay. Room was better than expected - more spacious than looked in photos Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather?

    Reception - exemplary. Location - just perfect. Bed - soooooooo comfy. Staff - well, whoever recruits and trains your staff should be very very proud of what they deliver. Your staff are exceptional. The cocktails aren't bad either. Breakfast - well, you would have to travel very far indeed to find better - the Brioche would out Brioche the french.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After paying near enough £600 pounds for a two night stay over the new year, we were given a disabled room. The room was very plain with very little furnishings and the ones that were there were very basic. Not what you’d expect from a 5 star hotel. We asked to be given another room but the hotel was full until the next day, the next day we did get another room which is priced exactly the same and what a difference! Much nicer decor and furnishings so I was happy about that. Was rather annoyed by the fact that the people who check into the disabled rooms and pay the same amount as anyone else are given such a plain basic room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi could have been better.

    Extra comfy bed and great bathroom with under floor heating! The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful and lovely room overlooking Royal mile. The best hotel I have stayed in in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Closet space was small. It was not quite five star in my opinion but acceptable- especially because the staff was so accommodating. My daughter and I were there for barely 36 hours visiting the University. I knew we wouldn't have time to visit the city so I asked for a room with a nice view. We arrived to a room with a very small window and I was disappointed. The next day the staff (I think Natalia) put us in a room with a wonderful view and it was exactly what we had hoped for.

    The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to meet our needs. The bed was comfortable and the shower a decent size. The view was lovely in the end. The breakfasts were very good with a nice choice. The location was as good as it gets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Temperature with the AC was a little wonky, I'm impartial to down pillows so I sank often in my sleep, there are zero signs indicating that this property abides and honors eco friendly standards as they kept replacing our towels, and bath mats with new ones, and replaced our shampoo/soap/conditioners with brand new bottles after only one time use (plastic waste sucks). Parking is £35 a night (!) and we circled the block twice until calling and learning that you could pull up to the curb (taxis were blocking initially, so how would we know?) Otherwise, the location, cozyness, and staff totally sold us :) overall, a great experience

    Excellent location! Just a corner turn from Grass Market and the Royal Mile & Castle. Service is exceptional, super friendly staff, helpful and informative. There is a spa here as well, which is great and they had a 2 for 1 special going for massage and facial (great price). Also, it's super cozy with a fireplace downstairs and ample seating. Room was spacious, with a great walk in shower - and they provide you with products for showering.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price, I paid £60 extra for a better room and unlimited mini bar. I only wanted still water and I only had 2 small bottles and no refill. Coffeee machine didn’t and told reception and it wasn’t fixed so didn’t use it

    Great staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service menu choice becomes very limited after the restaurant closes at 10pm.

    Room was spacious and the hotel has a great location next to the Royal Mile and close to the museum in Chamber street and the grass market area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A panoramic view of the city and beyond would have been nice! But a hotel only has so many rooms and it's the luck of the draw.

    The staff were exceptional! Friendly and obligingly helpful. All that we wanted to see and do during our visit was withink easy walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were way too soft, and disrupted sleep, car parking was very expensive

    Check in was quick and easy, Octavia was very knowledgeable about the hotel and surrounding area and after listening to our requirements gave recommendations for restaurants etc, room was clean, modern and quiet. Large choice for continental and cooked breakfast, fast and efficient service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    see above

    great bed and bed linen, room a bit dark and cluttered with furniture, hotel totally overrun with outsiders on Friday two weeks before Christmas so bar area was so heaving we had to leave hotel. I would have thought that hotel guests would be their priority but not when the place is over run with pre-christmas party revellers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was on the edge of too expensive though I absolutely could not fault the service and the quality of the room

    Fantastic location, staff very friendly and offered everything without asking - opening doors , carrying bags, holding bags on check in day and check out day so we didn’t have to carry them around. Wonderful setting with nice decor and extremely large and comfortable bed. Great coffee in the room... A great stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be due to the time of year I booked on but the hotel was very overpriced.

    The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms were nice and big plus the location of he hotel is perfect with everything in walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the wooden floor in bedroom it made the room feel cold. Did not like the noise from the street below at night.

    Loved the staff and how helpful and friendly they were.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast not included which is a trait of all hotels but not great ones.

    Staff, rooms and bar. Very attentive staff who were helpful in all aspects of our stay. Bar is well organised and cocktails very good. Excellent location for the old town and near to the great Bow Bar. Very good location for the festival for future reference

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited space to put suitcases and access luggage. Went to the bar for a drink and snacks for dinner. Service was unfortunately poor and slow for an all round orherwise great hotel. Pizza seemed to be shop bought.

    Breakfast was great, bed was very comfortable, loved the nespresso coffee machine offered and also the robe and slippers amazing. We loved the bathroom products. Yummy biscuits complimentary and also milk to have a tea or coffee. Great view of the old town. USB ports, modern technology, good variety of tv channels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! More staff and staff who knew their jobs.

    The location. The rest of it was a nightmare. There is no concierge. Many of the staff seemed to struggle with understanding English. Room service took over San hour and a half to get and when it came some silverware was missing along with condiments. It just seemed very disorganized and like people just didn’t know their job. It was certainly not worth the price and was very disappointing. I had to return to the front desk five times to get my room card reprogrammed so it would work. The check out was the final nightmare with questions of charges taking a half hour to straighten out. I can not recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. It was my 21st birthday and they upgraded us to the penthouse suite, which was very unexpected but an amazing treat!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn’t change a thing.

    Superb hotel, amazing style, food and beverage choices were exceptional, and located right in the heart of the Royal Mile. Top choice for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 5-star hotel by any means (e.g. no attention to detail, basic amenities, wooden floors not in good condition, coffee machines with empty water so customer has to fill them in -- which would be fine in a normal hotel but not a 5-star, not a lot of choice for breakfast despite nice presentation, etc.). I would rate it a 4-star.

    Excellent location, spacious rooms (even the 'petite' room was big), double-glazed windows with nice views, quietness, great staff who prepared a welcome birthday surprise in the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid in advance and they put me up in a room suitable for people with pushchairs, so everything was set uncomfortably low. The room service wasnt good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure the £60 room upgrade was worth it - free mini bar, fancy walls, rainfall shower and a "view" of roof tops towards the sea. The "full length" window wasn't to the floor and was only about a quarter of the wall long. Central location but very steep walk, or many steps into main shopping area.

    Beds and room (delux) were very nice. Free minbar, and rainfall shower. The staff were lovely and the breakfast delicious. Good central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was contacted by a member of staff Over the phone that my carpark reservation was double booked and I now had to find my own parking. After driving around for 40 minutes trying to find one I phoned the hotel back to find out if there had been any cancellations when I was then told that I had a car park spot already reserved in my name and that I wasn’t double booked, so I was given wrong information.

    The location of the hotel was ideal and the style of the hotel was beautiful inside and out

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: