Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gwesty'r Webley 3 stars

Poppit Sands Pembrokeshire Coast, Cardigan, SA43 3LN, United Kingdom

#13 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Cardigan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Great spot for watching nature and enjoying the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place a little dated, with some 'tired' bits.

    Room with double aspect, one window giving the estuary view and another of animals in the fields. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    Overnight stop with hubby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very dated and in need of replacing, shower head fell off wall while using. Breakfast over cooked. Bed very low and very soft.

    Excellent location, pub meal during evening very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful venue with incredible views and we would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the food was cooked to perfection the menu was limited if you were staying for a few days.

    The staff were excellent and breakfast was very good and cooked to order. The view was to die for and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.2
    The location was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very tired, decor dated. The room wasn't that clean, shower head filthy, grout all mouldy. Everything just needed updating. It all looks d rather sorry for itself. Breakfast OK but said he had customers asking for other types of milk but couldn't be bothered to keep them. So it was full fat only. There is obviously a demand, so why not keep even some long life cartons just encase. They don't open on a Sunday night

    The location was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is in an idyllic location and well run by its managers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I agree with others that the hotel needs updating this is more than made up for by the hard working friendly managers.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. The managers did everything to ensure our visit was enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blood on pillow and other pillows stained. Shower not working properly. Windows had condensation because seal had gone. Toilet Seat Hinge ruster and disgusting. Wires on hand towel rail not finished properly. Understaffed as the barman was serving customers so we had to wait. Food pices too expensive. Guinness too expensive and warm.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Love the Gwesty'r Webley!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The local teenagers that work in the guesthouse are very sweet and charming but could use a bit more training in terms of service.

    I love this place and plan to return in the future. It is a traditional, modest, British/Welsh guesthouse so one can't expect everything to be the latest and greatest but to me, that is what makes it even more charming. The location on the edge of the Tiefi River estuary is fantastic and I loved relaxing, having a drink, and watching the tides come in and out. It is obvious that the owners are making a real effort to satisfy their customers. The included full Welsh breakfast was more than I expected and the evening meals in the dining room were very good, although the service could be more polished and attentive. St. Dogmaels is a charming village and the surrounding area is full of things to see and do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    The room was comfortable and nice and bright and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would have liked a room overlooking the estuary but understood that all the rooms could

    The room was comfortable and nice and bright and clean.. The pub served nice food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    A great location but the hotel glory has passed it’s glory a long time ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel was outdated and in poor condition. The room was very.tiny and a very tiny bathroom, the bed was poor. The hotel has had it’s glory but this was 30 years ago.

    The location is beautiful with a wonderful view on the beach although it is along a road. The meals were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Happy customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a makeover

    Comfy bed, quiet beautiful setting, Simon who runs the hotel is fantastic, very friendly and a credit to the buissness, all staff were great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice views and outdoor area if weather is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and a bit dated. Not walking distance to anywhere except Beach. Nothing around, nearest pub a mile walk through dark country lane.

    Nice views and outdoor area if weather is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable. Service and location out weighed the tired look of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration inside and out needed.

    Overall we had a pleasant stay. Staff were very attentive and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent with plenty of options for both. The room was large with a huge ensuite and views from this particular room were lovely. The only downside was the place was desperately in need of luck of paint both inside and out. Our windows were so badly condensated that the view of the estuary was spoilt. We had to open the windows to see clearly. However I would stay here again even in its present state. It was superficial refurbishment needed. The place was very clean. Recommended. Four stars ✨

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    If you want to relax and unwind and enjoy some of the best coastline in the country stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The en-suite bathroom was huge but had some issues with the tiling in the shower - it could use some attention.

    the most amazing outlook and views. Excellent breakfast with attention to detail and pleasant friendly service. We had a bar meal here and the food was very very good and great value. Very welcoming and the staff were happy to supply information on the area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    The food was very good and the towels/bed were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sub-standard and would benefit from upgrading. Also there were cobwebs around the fire alarm and in various corners. Overall the place needs a makeover to bring it up to standard. We have stayed in quality hotels for the same price.

    The food was very good and the towels/bed were clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    What a location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms need a bit of tlc but that is only superficial.

    The location was exceptional. The staff were really helpful. The food was plentiful and to a high standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous two night stay in charming hotel in such a peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Came across this hotel almost by chance but what a find it was. Amazing location, right on the estuary - so peaceful. The main beach at Poppit Sands was a lovely 15 minute walk away (2 mins in car) but the other beaches in the area such as Aberporth were just a short drive away. When we were there in mid-July the ducks and geese and other birds outnumbered the people and it was lovely to be able to sit with a drink outside the hotel. The hotel itself had a lovely comfy feel and the proprietor (Simon) was so helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a faceless corporate style of hotel this might not be for you but we absolutely loved this place and our room had everything we needed - comfy bed, large bathroom, clean bedding, etc. However we did fail to work out how the TV worked! We did not have a meal here as unfortunately we had not realised the restaurant was closed on Friday night but the breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruit and the usual trimmings. If I had to comment it would be to possibly have the option of a vegetarian breakfast for us non sausage/bacon eaters. We would certainly make a return visit to this beautiful unspoilt hotel/location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Anniversary stay a big disappointment..room given to another couple 🙁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked someone else into our room, had to stay elsewhere in the property very disappointed, also not much been done to the place since we visited 7 years ago, our 1st night off our 2 small children for over a year for our anniversary so can’t help feeling very disappointed

    Views are beautiful, sun trap out front & the fish & chips were delicious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs updating and modernising, BUT the hotel is lovely if basic, the food nice, beds comfy, location unrivalled. I would go again.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    A good location for a four night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our bathroom was in need of modernisation and for safety reasons a grab rail on the wall above the bath which was partly recessed in an alcove would have been useful. The hose of the shower wasn't long enough. A lot of the hotel seemed a bit tired, especially outside.

    The breakfast was good especially the fresh fruit offered with cereals, welsh cakes and pastries along with a full Welsh breakfast. The location was good. We had a good view of the estuary from our window.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The bed was so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of selection of alcoholic drinks

    The bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was huge. The food was very nice. Staff all very friendly and the view was magnificent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the place is leased and the owner has made zero investment for a long time, it is all very shabby & run down and overall a bit sad. This is a pity because the people who run it are pleasant and the location is terrific. It could be a gold mine.

    Nice staff. Food OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    We only booked a short stay here as we went for the setting sun scene of the longest day and we were
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy toilet on refill.

    Very Pleasant Manager a good conversationalist . clean large comfortable room , a good Menu can certainly recommend the the fresh fish .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    At the start, initially, I suspected I had made a mistake. I was wrong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower units are hard to adjust. Maybe some extra towels (I could have asked)

    Breakfast, Beer, Dressed Crab, WiFi in the Bar, View, Surrounding Area, Peace and Quiet and the Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Escape to the coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a little last minute escape to the coast the near by town is lovely there's even a chippy in walking distance from the hotel which made for a fantastic time sat looking over the estuary, We loved the location of the hotel its friendly staff that couldn't do enough to help, the room was clean comfortable with a view over the estuary. We will definitely stay again and let are friends know what a little gem this place is!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor beginning to look a bit tired Water pressure in bathroom could have been better

    Comfy bed Excellent food Brilliant location Very helpful owner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The property was slightly unkempt from the outside but once inside the staff were very friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the 2nd bedroom

    The bed & room was comfortably furnished but there was dirt left in some places.The bathroom mirror light did not work

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location, good food and beers, quality accommodation and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful location on the edge of the estuary which provides lovely views from the hotel and also from the outdoor seating areas. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the landlord goes above and beyond to ensure that you have a good stay. The hotel is clean and well maintained, our room overlooking the estuary was very spacious with a large bathroom. Food is good quality and there are plenty of options available. Only a short 15 minutes level stroll to the fantastic poppit sends and within easy reach of the many attractions that West Wales has to offer. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and helpful owner. Bed very comfortable and room clean and relatively spacious. Enjoyed drinks on the lawn overlooking the estuary. Good and generous breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Despite some shortfalls, we had a very pleasant stay due to location & the friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness was lacking and the general appearance of the hotel was tired and tatty. The place is in desperate need of a face-lift or refurbishment.

    The bed was very comfy, the view from the room was excellent and the manager and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money compared to other accommodation locally that has updated decor and facilities.

    Close to the start of the Pembrokeshire Coast Path and great views of the Teifi estuary. Landlord was quite helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic and a little dated. Noisy air locks in the system when running a bath. Bed dangerous as wood all around the mattress. Cheeseboard very poor for the price.

    The location of the hotel is stunning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    great location for exploring Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please please get rid of the wooden toilet roll holder, wooden toothbrush holder and upside down wooden shelf then lower the mirror lol

    The couple who run this place are very friendly and are trying hard to give a good service.Good food.Room was adequately comfortable for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent Friendly Staff. the bed was comfy slept like a log. The food was of a high standard and plenty of it, we especially enjoyed the Breakfast. Good Bar, well stocked I was surprised to see good draught beer on tap for this time of the year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Another restful stay in glorious surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal seemed rather expensive and so we then ventured into Cardigan where there were many reasonable eating establishments. This was a shame as we would have been happy to eat in if prices were lower.

    Comfortable, quiet and picturesque. This is the third time we have stayed, and it is a gem of a place close to so many beautiful beaches. The staff work so hard to ensure all your needs are met.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Fresh fruit for breakfast , property needs to be spruced up,...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows that needed repairs doubl glazing especially. Marred the lovely views

    Fresh fruit for breakfast , property needs to be spruced up, first appearances it all looks very unloved ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Very quiet and calming position in the countryside with a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better. The modern/traditional mix of furnishings was not to my liking. Disappointing dinner - good but not good value.

    Very quiet and calming position in the countryside with a large garden adjoining a river. Lovely old house with large rooms. Very polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather! Hotel and hosts were excellent

    Simon and Sandra were exceptional hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. Sandra’s home made pies are gorgeous......

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.4
    The food was very good and the pub/restaurant facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room condition and comfort needs a great deal of work. Reminded me of British hotels in the 60s.

    The food was very good and the pub/restaurant facilities very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, warm room with a spacious bathroom and pleasant, welcoming hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small compared to the bathroom and it can be difficult to navigate with two people in the room. The windows aren't double glazed and on the night we stayed (during Storm Brian) I could hear the wind outside and some banging. Too tired to care about this and still slept through the night.

    I have had a bad experience in the past with memory foam mattresses but the bed was very comfortable and I slept really well. The room temperature was perfect. The bathroom is very spacious and has a separate bath and shower, which is perfect if one likes a bath and the other likes a shower. The breakfast the next day was tasty and the owner was very accommodating about what you could have e.g. a full welsh breakfast minus certain items. A great experience and I will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    4.6
    We were glad it was only for 2 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the property in general is in poor repair outside and in whilst our facilities in particular were in need of maintenance. For example the toilet seat was dropping off, the tv was irritatingly difficult to operate, very little hot water in the morning and ceiling paper coming down!!. Overall the room had a spartan, cheap feel with no attempt to make it feel comfortable or welcoming.

    the breakfast was excellent, particularly the bacon and cold buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful location overlooking Pippin Sands, and within walking distance of Cardigan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything.

    Terrific place, with a really friendly, family atmosphere - great room, with a comfortable bed, and a really tasty breakfast. Very reasonable prices, and a superb location. Really tasty pint of Brains bitter too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    We had a such a lovely, relaxing break we will definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a beautiful location, and only a short distance from an excellent beach. The beds were very comfortable and it was good to have a bath in our ensuite. The staff were helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Freindly Welsh Welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In House Taxi Service Or Ferry over to The Cliffe Hotel Maybe Ha Ha,

    Very Friendly WELCOME from SIMON. EXCELLENT CHEF Superb Dinner for 6. Cosy Comfy Bed. Super View over The Estuary. Very Good Breakfast (with my friends Local Jam *JOY'S JAM) !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    very pleasant, really helpful and nice food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pity about the blown double glazing in the window overlooking the front , but otherwise really nice spot to stay

    food was excellent- especially ginger and garlic prawns just fantastic, bed great , bathroom terrific - would definitely book again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely welcoming place in a beautiful location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in one of the two apartments which ideally suited our needs with two large dogs. Simon was very welcoming and made us feel "at home" straight away. The views from the lounge and bedroom windows were spectacular! Apartment had everything we needed. Food was fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the apartment so maybe a file with local information would have been helpful but not essential.

    The owner was really kind and welcoming. We had a family emergency and due to poor phone signal he was more than helpful and gave us use of the land line to call home and this was really kind. Lovely food and much needed R&R :D

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    The area is fantastic. The hotel is run down and a bit chaotic. But a very nice manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very shabby. Broken shower rail . Wallpaper coming off walls.Serves very good food in a very mediocre bar. Loud music playing nearly all the time. Shame as a fantastic location

    Good breakfast. Very pleasant manager

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable guest house serving good quality local fresh food, coupled with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little tired but otherwise a comfortable clean place to stay. Great location on the Teifi estuary with easy access to surrounding area.

    Location was great, accommodation also fine, although decor a little tired. Very good food in the bar/restaurant and good selection of beers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very satisfied and would certainly return in the future,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff nice and friendly. we had a great view of the bay from our room. evening meal was excellent and after a great sleep got up to a great breakfast. Very satisfied and would certainly return in the future,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was a bit dated furniture wise. Not a problem though.

    Our host was very accomodating. Nice quite place for a relaxing time. Pub meal was excellent. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hot water in the shower and mould on the grout in the shower cubicle. Also the window was very dirty, the TV was about the size of a laptop and there was no wi-fi in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating but that said, it was bery clean and comfortable!

    Location to coastal path and friendliness of staff. View! Food And service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money in pleasant surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression was a hotel with a fantastic view over the estuary.Friendly atmosphere, efficient service good selection of quality food both at breakfast and evening.Comfortable room and enjoyed a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    It was a bonus being able to have a decent meal in the hotel without having to drive into Cardigan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly on small side with a cramped bathroom off. The shower was not the best.

    Location - superb. Friendly and attentive owners. Room overlooking the Estuary.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay with outstanding views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could be a bit better.

    Comfortable and clean with very helpful friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent value from locally sourced produce. The breakfast is probably one of the best. With food cooked to order and a great selection of juices, fruit, cereal and pastries. We will definitely be returning! Please see photo of crab salad. Delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic service, food and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and owner couldn't do enough for us. The service was fantastic. The views from the hotel are stunning and there are lots of lovely places to look at within a short car drive. We had the lamb rump on the 2nd night of our stay and it was absolutely delicious I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will definitely go back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Webley is well worth a visit !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some area could do with a lick of paint but this adds to the charm !

    Staff were so incredibly friendly and welcoming .especially the owner and his wife ! Location beautiful Evening meal far exceeded expectations - so lovely- presentation and taste - beautiful !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful room, wonderful meals, fantastic staff what more needs to be said?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Excellent. Delicious meals. The owners were so dedicated at making your stay as comfortable as possible. The owners worked so hard which was very impressive. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable, spacious one bedroom flat in a great location with unbeatable views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen is tiny but the owner does not market this property as fully self-catering. It provides more spacious, private accommodation as an adjunct to the hotel

    This was a spacious, comfortable flat with absolutely unbeatable views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely view, close to beach.. great food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone signals were poor and very limited wifi...

    The food is excellent everything we ordered was lovely.... the view from the outdoor eating/ drinking area is outstanding you can sit and relax and enjoy the view... Simon and his team couldn't do enough for us... well done....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    A great place for a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poppit sands is divided into a dog friendly and human friendly (dogs banned) beach, make sure that you pick the right side!

    Guests are made to feel very welcome throughout their stay and the hotel is ideally located for the beach at Poppit Sands, walking sections of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, and watching the world go by (pint in hand) on the Teifi estuary. The food was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Fresh fish on the menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gwesty'r Webley is just outside St Dogmaels overlooking the river estuary. We enjoyed our one-night stay here. Strolled up the coast path to Poppit Sands and back before eating a very good dinner in the bar. Good menu choices, with fresh fish specials. Friendly staff too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very hot and stuffy. When you opened the window and had to prop it open, there was a very noisy exhaust from down stairs. Probably the kitchen

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable small hotel at the beginning of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside probably needs a coat of fresh paint, but such work is on-going and probably has to be prioritised in the case of a small private hotel, somewhat off 'the beaten track'. The interior welcome was the important thing for us, though some people may - and do - judge on outward appearances only. It looks a bit 'tired' compared to the big corporate chain hotels, but the welcome is first class!

    Excellent breakfasts, with a choice of 'full Welsh' and/or continental. Evening meals also very good, ranging from fresh local crab (when available), big portions of fresh mussels with very good bread for dipping the first class 'Celtic juices' up, and also very good local lamb, either taken in the bar or dining room. Extremely obliging staff, stunning views over the estuary from the gardens and terrace, and right on the start of Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, which is why we were there to walk our last stretch of it (it actually starts up the road about 15 minutes walk away), and also on the 'Poppit Rocket' 405 bus route, a big plus for covering the trail down to Fishguard if you don't want to use the car all the time. The rooms are probably on the small side (but the hotel was built in 1800 and the internal structure reflects this), but our room (8; lovely views) was nicely furnished with a small en suite and with TV, tea and coffee etc. Some good beers on in the simple bar. As we were checking out, a couple of walkers called in for a coffee, and though the bar was closed and the owner was busy cleaning it, he obligingly made them one, which rarely happens in bigger hotels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is wonderfully located just yards from the water's edge with marvellous views. There's a huge beach 2 minutes up the road but the outside table service makes tearing yourself away difficult. Plenty of off-load parking, too. We booked late so had a room with no sea view (popular place), the room was small but comfortable with a good size bathroom. The food was good and reasonably priced.The service and warm welcome from owner Steve encourages a return visit. Recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    Location food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression not good. Bar tired and view of a junk room,all the windows bar a few had seals broken and u couldn't see its best asset the view.

    Location food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely position and perfect for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double glazed windows had obviously broken down and looked scruffy. The bathroom was a bit dated and would benefit from a revamp

    Comfortable bed; really great food; quiet; wonderful host.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the double glazed window seals had blown, and therefore the view was not clear.

    Beautiful views from bedroom windows, comfortable room, delicious food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place needs a coat of paint, new double glazing and our bathroom needed an upgrade. Very poor wifi and mobile signal but that's the area in general and not the fault of the Inn

    Breakfast, location, the welcome and the view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    A warm Welsh welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted by the owner who was very helpful and keen to offer the best service possible. The location was ideal for our purposes- right on the coastal path and with lovely views on to Poppit Sands. Our evening meals and breakfast were good quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic service and value in such a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi coverage could be better, although it was nice to escape the online world for a couple of days.

    Very friendly service, great location, great food and good, clean room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay - would stay here again if and when in area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside could do with a lick of paint

    We perhaps were fortunate in that the weather was great. However Staff were friendly and helpful Room and En-Suite were spacious, clean and comfortable The food was very good and the location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Excellent value stay in stunning area of Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this was a value for money excellent weekend break ! food was excellent room was clean and comfortable location superb ! views of the estuary were stunning and plenty of parking space . for what we paid this was 5 out of 5 excellent !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at Webly Hotel, Cardigan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent views of the estuary. Good substantial breakfast with wide choice. The restaurant offers a good choice of meals including fresh seafood; the steak was especially good. Everyone made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The picture shows the view from our hotel bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.3
    BedComfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room cramped. Couldn't work TV Bathroom toilet seat broken, nowhere to hang clothes or towel Breakfast room light and airy and good variety of cereals and fruit but cooked breakfast overcooked.

    BedComfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: