Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gyllyngvase House 4 stars

Gyllyngvase Road, Falmouth, TR11 4GH, United Kingdom

#36 of 45 hotels in Falmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 487 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from the main road and other quests leaving and departing from rooms the decor needs updating but you get what what you pay for and we would not like to pay any more due to this factor.

    Breakfast was excellent freshly made good choice and very friendly staff and a good welcome. Good price and a good size double room clean but tired looking in decor. Parking is a bonus at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outside appearance looked a little weather worn and wasn't a great first impression. In fact the place had a bit of a 'dated' feel to it compared to other places we have stayed in Falmouth. The shower we had I would suggest is no more than adequate.

    The location was perfect - close to both the town and the beach. Off road parking is a real plus in this part of Falmouth. The cooked breakfasts also come highly recommended and service was great too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    The room was lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast (and choice) excellent. Just a 4 minute walk from Falmouth Town railway station, 10 minutes stroll into town and close to Gyllingvase Beach, we found it a very convenient position to explore Falmouth from. There is a slight, short hill from the station, but not strenuous if you are of normal fitness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old-style room witha hand-basin in the bedroom and a shared shower/toilet . I was a little concerned that the toilet had no hand-washing facilities.

    OK for a short stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    General shabbiness and need for refreshing of paintwork, carpets etc

    Location excellent. Breakfast OK, but would much prefer real kippers not orange fillets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was dirty/stained, a lot of cobwebs which resulted in a lot of spiders! Room was very musty smelling. Not what we expected so we booked another hotel for the last night and ended up spending double the amount.

    Location, friendly staff, parking and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pushchair access was poor, could get the chair through the front door. Booked a family room and it was on the first floor with stairs leading to it (this seems to be common to a number of hotels/guest houses).

    Great location for the beach and just a short walk from the town centre. Parking available, as parking can be a problem in this area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I never could get my laptop to connect to the wifi and I've never had a problem with it before... This meant I had to buy a couple of hours of access to the BT network which was frustrating.

    The staff were friendly & the breakfast was excellent, plus very close to the lovely Gylly beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shabby peeling exterior brought an "Oh-Oh" on arrival. Interior felt damp, carpets and shelves covered in dust. Toilet floor tacky; good job we can clean for ourselves. Heating came on for 2nd and hot day!! Wardrobe doors wonky and interior very dirty. Most paintwork grubby and very old. Mattress lumpy and not the best. Front door "protected" by a number code. Really bad security as the code is provided, written on a card. So, photo and circulate by social media possible by the unscrupulous!! Please take note because that is guests property you are looking after. Fortunately, we were only in the building for sleep but two days was more than enough.

    Food good, but I've never know cereals to be measured for you, rather than help yourself. We did not sample cooked breakfast but porridge was excellent and plentiful. Parking plentiful, but not many people with vehicles. Location (on foot) is 10 minutes from Gylly Beach, 15 minutes from town, so excellent. Good shower and plenty of hot water. WiFi good. People seemed OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the full english breakfast... sausages were grissley and not warm in the middle bacon not cooked enough and the eggs looked like they had been done prior to breakfast all yokes were hard and congealed.

    Very clean warm and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating wasn't on in the room when we arrived at 16.00 on a very cold day, when snow was forecast. Also the dining room was large but very cold as well. We had quite a large downpour of snow on the Saturday so heating would've been appreciated.

    The location was good being close to the town centre and the beach. The room was good for what we needed. The pub in the harbour was good when the weather was pretty poor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the one downside - squeaky floorboards on the way to the bathroom

    The room was light and airy. The bathroom was spacious and nicely decorated. The breakfast menu was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was a bit hard in our family room. Personal preference would be a slightly softer mattress.

    It has a calm, peaceful feel about the hotel. Staff are really friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit cold in my room on the first night as there are only single pane windows so would have benefitted from some extra blankets in the room

    The location of Gyllyngvase house was exceptional. Staff were friendly and the choice of breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast disappointing - was looking forward to it after reading reviews but it was a let down. Got the feeling the owners didn't really want us there.

    Location was good but lots of road noise

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That my room didn’t have an en suite, but to be honest wasn’t a massive problem because the shower room was still so lovely.

    I loved my stay. I had come down from Cambridge for an interview at the university on my own, and the staff had drawn up a little map for me to get around easily, etc etc. Thoroughly enjoyed my whirlwind trip. Will definitely be booking again for the summer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean and quiet B&B. Great location close to theatre, town and beach. Easy to park on site and plenty of parking on the road. Lovely delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't incredibley comfortable and my own fault but I didn't realise it was a shared bathroom. So that just made me personally uncomfortable.

    The breakfast was amazing. Two courses at no extra charge. Served by lovely staff and with music.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi connection a bit hit and miss in our room but not really an issue for me.

    Good location, very good breakfast, comfortable room, friendly and efficient staff. Nice lounge available for guests to use.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Arrived late - had phoned to warn. The girl who welcomed us was friendly but had no idea where our bedroom was and just left us to try and find it. 2) Couldn't log on to internet 3) breakfast portions on the small side.

    Clean and comfortable bedroom with good mattresses.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    knowledge of which of the Falmouth train stations is the best to reach it.

    It was quiet and comfy-but I was secure in the knowledge that someone was around to ask questions. I liked the location as it was also near to the beach. I definitely will recommend this

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel on arrival was a little difficult in the dark as I didn't have the address to hand as I thought I knew where it was. After that it was easy and parking was fine on the front drive.

    The Hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were efficient, the breakfast's were delicious and plenty of choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The en-suite could of been better. The sink was placed outside in the bedroom, whilst the toilet and shower were in the en-suite. Because the house is quite old I do think that might of had something to with it.

    The breakfast was excellent, the staff were very friendly, the room was comfortable. The staff were able to give advice on the best places to eat and dine out and also they were able to tell us some of the best places to visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom. It was very small, the en-suite was only the width of a shower cubicle and we had to dry ourselves in the bedroom. We are both small people but still struggled when using the small sink. Wallpaper was peeling from the ceiling and paintwork flaking in the bathroom. The whole room needs refurbishing.

    The breakfast was good although the fresh fruit salad didn't look fresh but it tasted ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for me but didn't realise we had a shower, not a bath. Might be worth mentioning in case someone actually wants a bath (I prefer a shower anyway!)

    Great location, friendly staff, very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. See above

    Nothing, it is a typical British seaside hotel/guest house. Tired, old fashioned and Poor value for money. The room was cold, tiny and cramped. The bed ancient and uncomfortable. The "ensure" a complete joke!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately I found the bed to be fairly lumpy at one side and uncomfortable. The room was a bit cramped, but okay for a short stay. The hairdryer kept cutting out and the lead wasn't long enough to reach the only mirror over the washbasin . I asked for a full length mirror which a very helpful member of staff found for me, but before I had chance to use it, it was removed and given to another resident! I had to pull out heavy furniture in order to reach the sockets in order to plug in the hairdryer and phone charger etc. Wi-Fi in the room was very hit and miss, though in the room info it did say there may be better reception in the lounge. I had to ask for coffee, tea, milk etc for my room several times and would have expected these to be replenished on a daily basis. The door lock didn't work on a couple of occasions, but a member of staff was helpful and tried to fix it.

    The breakfast was very good and lots of choice and a lovely lounge and gardens. A good location for both the beach and the town. Most of the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains in our room were faded and need replacing.

    Relaxing atmosphere. Very quiet within the building and little traffic noise. No loud doors closing or noisy plumbing. Beds comfortable. Slept really well. Bathroom very clean. Breakfasts good choice and very friendly service. Nice view of garden while eating. Very good value but may not please folk who like everything to be modern. Lounge sofas. Newspapers. Decor subtle colours but artwork added interest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was freezing in the hotel (and outside) however the owner informed my partner that the heating is not used until November. We were given a heater to use between our 2 rooms but it did not keep the chill away an was also chilly in the other rooms. I had a sore shoulder after staying for 2 nights and this appeared to have been caused by the cold. My daughter ordered 2 egg soldiers and was brought on boiled egg and rectangles of toast with no butter on - the cold did not help when trying to butter the toast.

    Beautiful property and the owner is very helpful in a great location near to the beach and harbour. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Also good choice of breakfast. Clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no blackout curtains, so the morning light can wake you up, especially if your window is facing East, like the main façade of the hotel is. I had a double room, and it would have been a bit small for two people, same thing for the bed.

    Breakfast was quite good! Cleanliness also was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Knowing the family room was on the 3rd floor would have been useful as I plan to take my disabled mum next time and she would not have managed, however, I would have asked before booking anyway so not really a negative.

    Proper 5 star quality from bedding to service in the dining room, very comfy beds, would go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel situated very near the beach and within a short walk of the town and its array of restaurants. Room was very comfortable with small bathroom stocked with toiletries. Staff were very hardworking and attentive. Breakfast exceptional. Plenty of guest parking which was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark and dull, Dinghy dark room 10 . Dripping fan light window in bathroom. Fire doors wedged open . No heating so towels didn't dry .

    Ample off road parking. Very clean , lovely waiting staff. Lovely cleaner obliged with fresh towels . Comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was incredibly small with a very small window which had no view at all. The bed was soft and made a lot of noise when one turned over. My husband developed a bad back through the softness of the bed. To many stairs up to the room. Requested a ground floor room. I don't think there were any but we were not told that. We won't be staying there again.

    I liked the breakfast and the dining room with a very nice view over the garden. The shower was good and easy to use.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather! But not the fault of the b&b! And a lot of stairs, but all the b&bs in Falmouth are a similar style building, so would have the same issue.

    Lovely b&b! Friendly owner, lovely breakfast room, and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No view from room's window (Rm 18: looked out into the full foliage of a tree). Bed's mattress was awful (no support in mattress, could feel all springs in it 1 side and the other felt like you were sleeping on the slats of the base of the bed. Didn't get a refreshing sleep in all of our stay). En suite was very nice but could do with some sound proofing on it. We may be married but we don't want to hear each other on the toilet! Basin in en suite needs to be bigger. Breakfast needs reviewing - sausages were grisly and too little portions and luke warm.

    Very friendly staff. Easy to find establishment. Close to town. Very close to beach. Bedding extremely soft.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom. Remote needed new batteries for TV. Sugar and coffee and milks may have been in room a while

    Cheap, right by the beach and town. Clean and breakfast was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast for meat eaters was good, the vegetarian was just a small breakfast with no meat - no extras, so not really value for money. The bed was really soft and I came away with a back ache, the pillows were terrible too.

    Good location, close to town and the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom bin hadn't been emptied from the previous guest. The bedroom was very warm all night, there was a fan which we used that helped a little bit.

    Both proprietors and staff friendly and helpful. Very good location for the beach, town and train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small thing the outside could do with a paint but this is really trying hard to find a bad point it is excellent and a fab location.

    room was really clean and great shower. staff helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It was next to the main road out of Falmouth--this was very handy for us but meant we had to have the windows closed at night when we prefer to have them open. Earplugs worked wonders so we did not loose any sleep. My husband ordered boiled eggs for breakfast, they came hard boiled--so how can you dip "soldiers" in them? He ordered them again on another day, specifically asking for soft boiled, but they were hard. He still ate them, not wanting to say anything and next day stuck to the scrambled eggs, which were delicious.

    The breakfast room was very open, you didn't feel cramped and the choices for breakfast were excellent. The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. It was nice to have a paper to read over breakfast or during the day in the very comfortable lounge. Toiletries in the spacious bathroom gave it an extra touch and a lovely hot shower was most welcome after a day's walk on the SW coast path. The bedrooms were clean and beds comfortable. The beach is a very short walk away and it is an easy to walk into Falmouth for evening meals in the numerous restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't very good, if someone goes in before you then there's no more hot water after that. 😔

    Very helpful and friendly staff, had a lovely stay and was really close to the beach at a competitive price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    Nice, friendly and relaxed atmosphere without the rules and regs others have. Within easy walking distance to shops and beach. My sister and I very much enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was diasppointed in our room. It was very cramped and quite dark (we needed a light on all the time) but we might have been unlucky. There wasnt much room to put toiletries for example.

    Location was great - very close to the beach and town and an easy walk so could leave the car at the B and B. The breakfast choice was good and very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property could do with some TLC. Room decor a bit tired and old-fashioned. Didn't feel like use of the lounge was encouraged in the evening. Could hear noise from other rooms.

    Location. A good base for exploring south Cornwall. Comfortable and clean. Good breakfast menu but continental option would be good too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little on the small side, however, we had only booked a 2 night stay.

    The location was good, near to the local beach and not too far from the town. The breakfast was lovely with a good choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only thing that was not good is there were lots of seagulls making so much noise all night ended up not getting a lot of sleep

    the breakfast was nice very clean good hot shower easy to park in the front also had a great looking garden that you can chill out in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - near the city centre and the restaurant that was a nice walk from the BnB. Room was on the first floor which was comfortable and accessible via the stairs. Lovely large light sitting room area and good sized dining area. Breakfast was ideal. Good help with information to drive to various locations. Great to have on site parking - but you have to get there first, otherwise, on the road outside is fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I asked for a sea view if possible. Instead, we got a 'tree view'. We were on the top floor and all we could see was a massive tree right up against the window, making the room dark and dingy. We had to have the light on all the time. We couldn't even tell if it was sunny or not to decide what to wear. The bathroom was very nice, modern and clean but having the shelf over the sink made it difficult to wash your face without hitting your head on it and splashing water all over the floor! The WiFi signal was very weak.

    Good sized room, nice breakfasts, nice modern clean bathroom. Close to beach and shops, plenty of resurants nearby. Enjoyed the sea safari.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived early and they were very accomodating. Breakfast and service were excellent. Room was comfortable and clean. Cleaners found my charger after I had left and handed it into the management. The site is in a great position for the town, beach, harbour and trainstation, I am unable to find any problems even the weather was great!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Bed very comfortable. Great breakfast with proper butter and marmalade!! Nice touches eg bottled water in rooms, good quality hand soap and lotion, a door wedge ,which might sound not much, but SO useful when negotiating through the door with luggage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking on-site a bit cramped, 10am checkout a little prompt for my liking 1030 would allow a less hurried 'getup-breakfast-go' schedule, after all we were on a break not off to work and we left on Sunday! Can't say I've experienced 10am kickout before and i definitely won't again!

    Perfectly situated for seafront promenade, beach and bar/restaurant within 2min walk; seafront theatre and restaurant 1min walk; shops,restaurants,bars in main street less than 10 mins

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is starting to look a little tired, could do with just a spruce up, literally a lick of paint.

    Perfect location. We stayed here 2 years ago and it was great, same again, 2 nights, perfectly clean and adequate, excellent breakfast, and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot of "good personality " which we should expect from people running a guest house.

    Nothing much to say , the male staff member was not around much for local information. The rest of the staff just OK.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was way too hot to even sit or sleep in and they were unable to provide a fan Wi-Fi non functional (but there was BT Wi-Fi available, if you have access to that) Service could've been better

    Lovely full English breakfast Very nice room decor Location close to city centre & beaches

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms especially for overseas travellers with luggage. No towel racks in bathroom or anywhere to put personal items!

    Great stay and very convenient to everything!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a guest house trying to be a hotel.

    The food was good. The room was quite small and sleep was difficult because of road noise. Bar facilities were very poor. This property is certainly not a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room window was overhung with a large tree which made my room very dark, but it was peacefully quiet since it was at the back of the house rather than at the side which faced a main road.

    The situation, on a hill between Gyllingvase beach and the town, makes this property quite well situated as long as you are able to climb hills. The lounge and dining area were spacious and comfortable as was the bed in my room. There was a good choice of breakfast and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor for bedroom & bathroom , paint peeling off walls otherwise rest of guest house okay !

    situated very close to Falmouth Pavillions which was the main purpose for our visit!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow I missed that there was a shared bathroom! Bummer! Room was very small and there was almost no place to put my stuff! No fruit for breakfast.

    Location was fine, near the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was quite small.

    very decent staff, extra pleasant and helpful. very nice location, close proximity to the beach and also not that far from the main shopping area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the Wi Fi difficult in the room - I had to go downstairs to get internet and then it was tricky. This didn't seriously spoil our stay though. All was good.

    Nice garden where you could have sat out. Closenesss to the beach was great. Good to have parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host/manager was not terribly helpful or friendly. Seldom seen and when seen he was abrupt and short. The room was extremely small. We could barely move around and had nowhere to place our cases.

    The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices for a hot breakfast. There was an outside deck which would have been lovely if the nights had not been cold.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodation would not be suitable if you were disabled or very old as there are no lifts and all the rooms were up steep stairs.

    We liked that we could walk into town or to the beaches and didn't need to take the car. The owner and his staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old decoration ,old plumbing, and a meagre breakfast Had to ask for a bowel of cereal which was brought to the table ,half full For £86.00 this was poor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were super comfy, ensuite bathroom was lovely and clean, staff were very friendly and it is in a great location - a short walk to the beach or into Falmouth town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have somewhere to eat, even if it was a space to bring our own food.

    Breakfasts were nice and prompt. Great location where we could walk to everything. We had a nice new bathroom and the toilet flushed properly!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We have just arrived back from the Gyllyngvase House with all our family, we had a sea view room and son, daughter-in-law and grandson had the family room, stayed Saturday to Wednesday, all rooms very comfortable. Breakfasts were lovely and the lady (sorry didn't get your name) made a real fuss of our grandson. Perfect location, short walk to the Beach and a short walk into the town, would definitely return to another visit

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the room was very tired and dated, and needed decorating, carpet in the bathroom ?? The price we paid I thought we would have had a much better room.

    Breakfast was lovely couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location - 2 minutes walk to the beach and coastal trail, 10 minutes walk into town Comfortable bed - single room right next to bathroom Good wifi Lovely breakfast and really good range. I needed to be out early for work, and they were very happy to have some breakfast prepared early for me

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was very small with en-suite even smaller also loud snoring from the room next door made it difficult to sleep obviously bad sound proofing. Breakfasts ok .

    Lounge and dining room and bedroom very tastefully decorated ,lovely garden excellent location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather over the weekend we were there was awful, high winds and wet, which somewhat limited our plans to walk the beaches and headlands. Not the fault of the location obviously, but it did rather take the shine off things !

    Busy little town with a good variety of shops, plenty of restaurants and cafe's. The Guesthouse itself was very comfortable and clean and all the Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet was invisible. It did not work for more than three minutes. That makes it very inconvenient - especially when free wifi is listed on the hotel information page.

    The location was great. Breakfast was very good, though the server was rather unfriendly. The breakfast room and lounge were spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the manner of the person who greeted me. The room was so tiny and there were cobwebs with spiders in every corner of the ceiling. There was dust on the skirting boards, sockets that were unreachable i.e. behind furniture. The bathroom was across the hall and was freezing with no mirror or window & the water didn't flow away in the shower quickly enough so you were worried it was going to overflow all the time. If you are sharing a bathroom there should be cleaning products & cloths in the bathroom so you can start your shower in a clean cubicle. The kettle was precariously perched on the windowsill which made making a cuppa very difficult & not very safe. I had to request a larger towel as the one provided would barely cover a childs modesty let alone an adults and when you have to travel across the landing to get to your room this is not acceptable. I did not stay the two nights I'd previously booked things were that bad.

    The only nice experience about this place was the lovely young lady that took my breakfast order.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window kept banging in the night which is due to the building being old but kept us awake. We had to get up early and the heating was not on so it was very cold getting showered and dressed. The towels could do with being bath sheets not bath towels.

    As we had things to sort out we were unable to have breakfast so I asked if we could have a takeaway bacon sandwich which they did for us. Reception was helpful when we arrived.i

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: