Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hackness Grange Hotel 3 stars

North Yorkshire Moors National Park, Broxa Lane, Scarborough, YO13 0JX, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Quiet, relaxing and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole pleace needs more maintenance but it doesn’t detract from the overall appeal.

    Location is superb for a quiet retreat - although I imagine this changes if there is a wedding on so probably best ti check.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful location that is all I can say about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was deplorable in the dining room. The younger staff need guidance.

    The bed was very comfortable but unmade for the next day. Toiletries not replenished.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    It was fine. A nice break. Room could have small improvements at little cost. Staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No chest of drawers to put clothes in. No shelves for just putting odds and ends on. No electric plug near dressing table - had to move kettle to small table between beds. Wedding party guests coming in at 3.00am - very noisy.

    Staff vey friendly and helpful. Cold water tap in room was jammed and would not work. We reported and it was fixed pronto. Food obviously cooked by a good chef. Nice location and plenty of on-site parking. Room comfortable and good en suite - good shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very attentive and friendy. Thoroughly relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We'd booked a bargain last minute room only the day before. Some decorating was going on, so we were immediately upgraded to a room away from the work. Didn't even need to ask.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Remote location lovely and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt like a sweaty foot. Hairs and grime in the condiment bowl. No change to give upon check out with cash. Not everyone pays with card they should facilitate this. £36 for 2 mains and a medium glass of wine.

    Remote location lovely and quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities were perhaps a little basic in the room. Fire doors in corridor were very tacked on and ugly in and otherwise attractive house.

    Easy quick check in and had very nice staff at the bar and restaurant. Dinner was very nice my compliments to the chef. Overall very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    We paid a great price for a room last minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room would have been perfect had it not been for the spiders in the corners and dust we cleaned them up but it would be so easy for the staff just to sort this before putting anyone in a room. Only other suggestion we have is for a few more vege options on the evening menu then we would probably have ate in the restaurant.

    We paid a great price for a room last minute. The location is wonderful and the welcome we received was fantastic and very friendly. The grounds of the hotel and the terrace are really lovely. We had a comfy and quiet night sleep

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    brilliant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WOW, what a setting, the house, grounds and surrounding area is just stunning, the staff are really friendly and are very welcoming, the catering is to a high standard, would visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Didn’t get the breakfast packup I’d asked for as I was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get the breakfast packup I’d asked for as I was leaving early, but that’s the point of a packup, because you’re leaving too early for breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice Villa in a nice setting. Perfect for a relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a terrible wine selection. In fact they no selection of wine at all. The few whites they had, were old and bad. I suggest to whoever is buying the wine to take a quick course and learn. It is better to have one white and one red for quick consumption at low prices. Then have a small selection of good wine which people would not mind to pay knowing that they are GOOD wines.

    The location is excellent for a relaxing stay. It is far away from any othe activity other than walking in the countryside. The Staff is excellent and overworked. They wore too many hats but did it well and with a smile. It might have been an unusual busy weekend. Other than that everything was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Really nice location, in the middle of the North York Moors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't expect to have the worst sleep ever! The room we stayed at was super noisy, not just the TV and the people next door, but when they showered, it sounded as though an engine was whirring next to us the entire time!!!! Not even exaggerating, nearly had a heart attack when they started the shower, the sound proofing was that bad!! Then the fan was on the whole evening, sounding like someone was cutting the grass with a lawnmower the whole night! Not sure how this place is 3 stars.

    Really nice location, in the middle of the North York Moors. Great place to unwind and to unconnect (with technology). The staff was also really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, lovely service, lovely area: you are really lucky to work there!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were leaving before breakfast started, however they kindly offered a packed breakfast with bacon/egg sandwich, fruit, drink and shortbread: really really appreciated this because we were headed for a very long day! Thank you again :) Steak dinner in the evening was spot on: expected to pay more for the quality. Staff were very chatty and obviously enjoyed peoples company, loved helping folk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing nothing was 2 much trouble Also the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing only a little sun shine would of added to a brilliant stay Thank you Malcolm and all your staff Mr and Mrs Hardaker

    The staff were amazing nothing was 2 much trouble Also the nice little touches like hot x buns at breakfast and Easter eggs all over the place for all to find and eat A lovely Easter break Well done

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Utterly beautiful but marred by hunting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The experience was marred by the daily ritual gunshot that echoed through the valley and spoilt our hiking experiences. Sadly, apparently hunting of birds takes place - we were cautious about where we walked due to this.

    The most exquisite setting and magnificent hotel. The location is just so, so beautiful and the hotel perfectly situated and decorated - a trip away from it all and back in time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no issues at all

    The grounds around the hotel are excellent. It was the best breakfast I have had in a hotel for a long time. Staff are very attentive and sort out ant little issue you may have.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    perfect location for walking and visiting places of interest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was the perfect location for a three day break. staff very helpful and courteous . The Hotel is situated in its own grounds with amazing views of the countryside. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Charming , and peaceful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose an annex room to assist with our access problems, and the room layout was due to be updated , but was perfectly acceptable ,and clean .

    Friendly approachable staff who went the extra mile to oblige . Food excellent .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall excellent stay, lovely staff, would recommend without hesitation,big thank you to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a little steep,if a breakfast had been included would of been fully satisfied,was a bit chilly in my room, the rest of the our family who stayed in the courtyard rooms said there's were fine,and our twin beds which were quite comfy were just a little small,the weather was very wet and cold which maybe would account for our room being a bit nippy,and perhaps you pay a premium for the beautiful surroundings.

    Brilliant staff, manager Malcolm was like one of the family such a nice guy,loved the hotel, stunning area,lake and gardens well kept, restaurant beautifully presented,as was the decor in the rooms,a big thank you to the barman who looked after us so well, as indeed did all the staff nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxed stay and definitely will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything but room was a little cool. But it’s very high ceilings.

    Staff very friendly, room a fantastic size ( room 5 ) very pretty grounds. Food lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    A good 1 night stay , although a shortage of food options on the bar menu .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception very disorganised, after a lengthy call 3 days before highlighting who was in which room and we would all split the bill , this seemed to present a problem , also having to pay for rooms immediately when we got there , and then pay again in the morning for food and drinks seemed a little odd ?£50 charge for lost key / or key ring !!! Although we wasn't charged for a broken wooden key ring , it was implied that we should .

    Excellent location , lovely clean rooms , although some were showing their age but I believe it is under a programme of refurbishment, Malcolm was most helpful and pleasant .with out his help and professionalism I wouldn't be writing should a good review. He should be made manager .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.4
    Weird, creepy, expensive, not worth it and a total mistake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself has a strange feel. Eg the only local amenities they list in their guest information is local churches You have to leave your key with reception if you go out, which I refused to do We left the do not disturb sign outside on the door only to find that someone had been in our room whilst we were out. This felt massively intrusive and I would not go back just for this reason alone. The grounds are more like a playing field. The restaurant has a dress code, and also when we went to breakfast we saw a bride to be and her mother walking around in her dressing gown. Her party planner then started putting up a metal archway very loudly right in between and very close to us and the only other table in the restaurant. Not impressed as they charge £15 for a full English. The shower was more like a mouse spitting on you, and the water just went all over the floor as the screen was just not big enough. All in all I wish I had stayed someone else!!!! Waste of money.

    The location - 20 minute drive to Scarborough with plenty of nice walks close by. It was remote enough to feel like you’re getting away from it all but things were easily accessible by car

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.0
    I stayed here during a wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here during a wedding. The staff were rude when bringing out the food for the wedding breakfast. They asked who had ordered the duck starter, and as we had RSVP'ed six months ago, no-one could remember their order. We asked if they could quickly run us through the options and more than one staff member replied in a 'funny' tone, 'you must know what you ordered, you chose it yourself - we don't know what you've ordered'. I mentioned it to reception when checking out and the staff said that they offer a service where you can have a name printed with the meal choice and that the bride didn't pay the extra 'small charge' for the service. I said that I didn't need to know the ins and outs, and to me, it doesn't matter about the processes, the bottom line is that they were rude. They seemed rather defensive and, sadly, keen to pass the buck. In other news, the tap in my bedroom was juddery and spurted onto my wedding outfit, the water in the shower was tepid at best and the bed was very uncomfortable. To sum up, not good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.8
    A very pretty place, peaceful and surrounded by stunning countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy fan in the bathroom. The corners of the bathroom, the ridge on the bath, behind the toilet on the outlet pipe all needed a good clean. The breakfast bacon was soggy, was it steamed? Definitely not grilled

    The view from the room was very pretty, overlooking the garden.The round breakfast table in the window also looking onto the gardens, and the croissants were light and crispy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    A good place to stay for a peaceful break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom was quite tired and the shower was in serious need of attention/replacement

    The room was a good size and very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and the staff attentive. It's a very nice, quiet and relaxed place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    friendly staff good breakfast evening menu was varied and reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when i booked my booking conformation said we were in the main house this was not so, we were in the stable block which was fine but not what we expected.

    good location for walking helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    Beautiful on the outside. Poor, very poor on the inside. Begrudge paying and want refund
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a courtyard building which frankly was disgusting, not cleaned in months judging by the spider nests and the maintenance program needs severely looking at. Stains on pillows which appear more than suspect were very much not appreciated and topped off our feelings about the cleanliness

    The grounds and main building were stunning to look at

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Haven on the moors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Everything was excellent. Lovely comfortable bed. Large room and very good bathroom with nice toiletries. The best asset of this hotel is the staff, especially the lovely guy on Reception who was really helpful, friendly and professional. Beautiful location too. Extensive grounds. Breakfast was superb. Plentiful and perfectly poached eggs. We loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay as the kids liked sleeping in a separate room together it was a very Casey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets was dirty on the stairs And our shower didn't work when we all needed a shower the next morning The breakfast wasn't good the bacon was barely cooked I felt like it had been sat under a heated light for a while. If the breakfast was fresh and looked better we would think about coming back. The wifi didn't work

    Me and my family really liked the dale suit and the fact it had a little sitting area We really liked the gardens too

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    great and would book this hotel again, emjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan not working in bathroom hence mirror steamed up after showering, no remote for the TV. No WiFi available. Check in could have been a bit earlier around midday would be nicer.

    Location, clean, excellent breakfast,hotel staff efficient and polite.easy to find. Very comfortable bed, room was a nice temperature. Nice lounge and excellent bar with pleasant staff. Main house was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place if you want peace and quiet with beautiful areas to walk and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms a little tired, however they are renovating as they go

    Staff were brilliant, especially the waitress, Andrea I believe her name was, she is a credit to the hotel -always with a smile and could not do enough for you. Hotel is beautiful setting and the meals were outstanding

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Tasteful, tranquil stay and well looked after by hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure if all the rooms were of the same standard.

    We probably had one of the best rooms which was bliss. The evening meal (chef's special hand-raised pie) and breakfast were high quality and staff were attentive. Sitting on the terrace for morning coffee, listening to the birds was delightful. Would definitely recommend Hackness Grange.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Would check to see if there is a wedding party staying before I booked again, pity !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for a quiet weekend for a special occasion! Very large wedding party, which we should have been told about when booking, not acceptable!!! Could not even get into the bar on arrival, had to travel elsewhere! Room in courtyard, noisy! Not the fault of guests who were enjoying a wedding party!

    Super friendly staff, good food good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fried breakfast cold when it arrived at our room. Wife asked for continental breakfast and only got an apple, yogurt and croissant.

    The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, We loved the the grounds and Hotel .Will Be Back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found a blanket in the room that looked as though it had been used to lay a child on,to change a nappie.It appears the blanket did not belong to the Hotel and someone had exchanged it for the Hotel blanket.There was also some drawing a child must have done on the wall near the pillow area of the bed near the wall,No problems to us as we were enjoying ourselves but may upset others. No mobile or internet signal may annoy some,but may be appreciated by some also.

    We loved the place and will certainly recommend.Did not put room temperature as top answer because at no fault of the Hotel, but on the day we arrived it was extremely cold for August so the room was slightly colder than anticipated.The grounds and area is very romantic and peaceful and tranquil.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Lovely from the outside needs updating and cleaning to make us stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated. Dirty looking- netting, mound in pot pouri, dead flies in window sills and loads of cobwebs. Miserable older lady on breakfast- would of turned milk sour, locked doors at 11pm and no signs or notice of this on checking in! (Locked out for half an hour with a cold 3 yr old!!)Cracked sink and bath, no wifi in rooms and limited in bar area, breakfast was average at best!

    Great location- gorgeous from the outside! Gentleman in charge at breakfast and sometime on the bar in the evening was brilliant, friendly and great with our 3 yr old! He saved it from being a total wash out!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    The place was set in a beautiful place, and the building was lovely. Staff very welcoming, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought breakfast was included, so didn't expect to pay so much over the cost of our stay.

    The area was lovely, and the staff was so friendly. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely scenic area and stately building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs updating and couldn't get WiFi away from the main house.

    Breakfast was good, sausages tasted quality. Staff were attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    2.5
    Great place as near to the moors and sea side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of been nicer not having our room above the toilet, as kept hearing hand dryer.

    The staff were friendly, the breakfast was excellent and filling. We had 2 meals one from the bar the other in the restaurant both excellent food and great value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Shabby chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was lumpy (and therefore uncomfortable), the room decor very dated and the room is somewhat shabby. (purple striped wallpaper). This facility could be very attractive but requires a considerable makeover and large investment.

    The location is very pretty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Relatively pleasant short break , but the hotel could do so much more to improve the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not available when required. Facilities very tired. Room layout poor with steep step within the room and two steep steps up to the bathroom. Bathroom fittings very dated , with chipped loo seat and chipped bath. Breakfast on the first morning lukewarm.

    Location was good , although a little of the beaten track

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff. Would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an evening meal on our first night. The food was all excellent, however the vegetarian tart offered as a main course, was not substantial enough to be a main course. It would have made a nice starter,

    The location was excellent and the staff were friendly. Very good value for the accommodation offered. The lounge as very nice to sit in and have a drink. The breakfast was very good with a wide range of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Head for hackness if you want a break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warning that there is a poor mobile signal as unable to use phone. Plus side was it was peaceful.

    Hotel was chosen for its proximity to Scarborough Northcliffe Golf Club. Location was quiet and rooms had all that we needed for an overnight stay. Breakfast was cooked to order which is much nicer than having to help yourself to food from a hotplate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    Great rehab for phone lovers no signal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cot was not made up for us going we had just been in a car for 7 hrs . The room was clean but on the way into the room it needed a good scrub update. And decore change loads of dust and spider webs We didn't have towels. In room which was annoying as had a small baby with us tv. Was shocking. It did not work right also wifi u had to go into hotel to get wifi but with these few changes this place would be awsome. But staff went above and beyond. Would. Highly recommend after these We changes.

    I loved how friendly the staff were how accommodating they were . Stunning hotel grounds. Very relaxing .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Need a better cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was dirty, spiders and webs in the rooms. For what it was the food was expensive

    Lovely location and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not too good & no mobile signal at that location.

    Excellent staff & service. Very good, clean & spacious room. Beautiful location & grounds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    A very enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was in the bath and the bath was high-sided, so I had to have help getting in and out, but that is not unusual with the older type of hotel. There were also a few cobwebs in the room, so perhaps not used so much at this time of year. Other than that, no complaints.

    The room was in the courtyard, not the hotel itself, as my husband and I both have problem knees and the staircase was high in the hotel. The bed was very comfy and the area very quiet. The food was good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. I couldn't get a signal on my mobile, but the management very kindly allowed me to use the hotel phone to call my daughter. The gardens were interesting, but the weather was not conducive to walking round. The hotel itself is in the countryside, but not too far away from Scarborough, and is in really good condition, good furnishings etc., and a bar and comfortable lounge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable but the bathroom could really do with an update. We were in the courtyard annex and could not connect to WiFi properly

    Hotel is in a beautiful setting, very quiet country location. They serve a really good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Peace and quiet just what you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signage to the hotel is poor and does reflex the type of accommodation the hotel has to offer. The main sign to the hotel has been there since the seventy's and is old fashioned.

    The location which is peaceful and quiet. The hotel is set in nice grounds and is very comfortable with friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi in courtyard rooms.

    The location is breathtaking! If you want somewhere quiet and scenic this is the place for you. Coupled with the fact there is no phone signal, it is the perfect retreat location. The grounds are beautifully kept, lots of wildlife to see. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfy bed , very polite and helpful staff ,breakfast lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners arrogant manner towards his staff which we witnessed , yet he was pleasant to guest

    Comfy bed , very polite and helpful staff ,breakfast lovely and hot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the room(s) was below standard. Offered twin on arrival (double booked), offered a suite (use term suite loosely), no heating, fire door gaps at the bottom had to use a blanket to keep out the draught, fire door unable to open should the need have arisen, wash hand basin plug did not function and hot water flow next to nothing, carpet was stained, constant sound of flowing water from water tanks overhead in loft area. We were advised on arrival that we could not eat in the restaurant as we should have booked before 7.30pm (only arrived at 7.30pm), rooms at top of building were accessible by a very narrow staircase extremely difficult to carry your case up and down. The manager stated "you are only paying £70.00 these rooms are usually more expensive" and offer us an executive room with an added cost of £30.00.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice peaceful location in a stately home type hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not the best i have had. Was included in the room rate but a little on the sparse side.bacon was small and a little undercooked.

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Great country manor
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately one downside . I asked before I left for my meeting what time I had to be back as I might be late . I was told anytime however I get a phone call about 23.30 regarding how long will I be. Basically had to get back a.s.a.p as there was no night porter.

    Very good staff very helpful and friendly fantastic setting tranquil peaceful it's a pity I was only there for 1 night and the weather wasn't that brill but hey I'd recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    When booked said breakfast included but when got there, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booked said breakfast included but when got there, they said no it wasn't and wanted extra. Went without instead as it was supposed to be included.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really nice country hotel. The staff were friendly and the location is fantastic for travellers looking for a country retreat. We stayed in the main house and our room was comfortable and of a really good size. The breakfast was excellent. The accommodation was good value for money. I am not sure that I would want to stay in one of the lodges as a reason for visiting this type of hotel is to stay in nice accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    I like its location that it was out of the way but only a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like its location that it was out of the way but only a 6miles away from Scarborough. The breakfast was good and had a good selection for both a cooked and non cooked foods I loved that fact that it was a little out dated but had some real caricature about it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Reasonably priced but could do with a bit of a refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I booked a double room in the main hotel residence but on arrival we were given a twin room. The helpful receptionist managed to change us to a double but it was in the courtyard area and was unfortunately not as large or as nice. The rainfall shower looks the part but unfortunately there was not enough water pressure which made for a poor shower experience. Also no WiFi available in accommodation which makes life difficult when there is also no mobile phone signal.

    Staff were great. Particularly the receptionist who checked us in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Stunning location. Sub-standard catering
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A dress code for dinner in this day and age! Breakfast- ordered sausages and fried bread-got black pudding and hash browns.

    Stunning location with beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    beds are amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smell in my daughter and granddaughters room stair carpet dated and lots of bugs in window sills

    the best thing about my stay was the bed it was the most comfiest bed i have ever slept in the rooms were a little dated but still nice got my daughter a twin room above ours which i couldn't have slept in as there was a smell of feet or some thing very old carpet i think but my room was fine the staff were lovely didn't read my daughters room proper so ended up paying for her breakfast extra which made her room as expensive as our more luxury room but they enjoyed it the staff were excellent couldn't fault them breakfast top notch would go again but would have loved to stay in the main house which was rather lovely :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Be a country lord and lady for a day in this magnificent country lodge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down side was that we couldn't get any Wi-Fi or phone coverage in our room; and this seemed only to be possible in the main building (adjacent to the courtyard).

    A stunning location, and an exceptional building. Gardens are well-kept and facilities are clean and well-maintained. Our room was in the courtyard and it proved quiet and private--just as we had requested. Hotel staff were helpful and attentive. The grounds are inviting and we enjoyed a wonderful walk around the hotel. Ducks, geese and goslings were paddling around the pond...idyllic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.1
    Was OK for our one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property seemed to be changing hands seems previous owner was keeping new management right. Breakfast was below par scrambled eggs a bit of a let down as they had burnt them and mixed it together and still served them, sadly previous owner wasn't about when scrambled eggs were served. Drinks a bit expensive so only had the one

    Was OK for our one night stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.1
    Average but enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't overly sold on the room which was in the building detached from the hotel at the back. There was some kind of ball on whilst we were present and our dinner reservation was cancelled a few days before we arrived due to this - We therefore had to make last minute plans. Someone called our room in the middle of the night which we suspect was someone from the party calling all the rooms. Took us a while to get back to sleep. Despite all this, the Hotel is set in lovely grounds, Staff were pleasant and the food we had was good (Breakfast and Afternoon Tea). I would consider booking here again.

    Nice grounds - Decent breakfast selection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    Untrustworthy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As above

    Communication awful. We booked this through you in the Autumn 2016 only to receive an email from them after Xmas saying 'there had been a glitch and they were booked for a wedding this weekend and couldn't accommodate us!!! We informed you and asked for your help at the time with no reply. Unlikely to use you or them again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.8
    I was defeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi..decor..style design..property very very tired..bedrooms with horrid plastic kettles. Screaming party goers shouting yelling ..the public toilet below my room where you can hear the air hand dryer going hundreds of time each minute when you are trying to sleep..drunk people.I slept for one hour then I gave up and departed unable to cope it anymore ..you defeated me.

    staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Peaceful Beauty Spot in the North Yorkshire Moors near Scarborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not a big issue but we normally eat breakfast earlier than 8.30 am. Don't expect good radio / phone reception but Hotel WiFi was fine.

    The evening meal was excellent in both quality and quantity. The chef came to chat to us about it. We had a lovely bedroom with view over the lake in the grounds. This is a hotel with a remote location feel in the beautiful upper Derwent Valley but only about 5 miles out of the centre of Scarborough. Having stayed once before, it was our first choice when coming to the area again. This not the Ritz in the City Centre so come here if you look for peace, calm and beauty. Our first visit was in an outer lodge type room, so check what is available. We went for a 50 minute walk before breakfast in beautiful scenery and historic local hamlet buildings

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At reception I was told straight away I would have to pay before given the key so was made to feel like they thought we would skip before leaving. Room was outside in court yard. Nothing was said about facilities with the hotel itself so didn't dare go in. Room decor was dated and in need of attention.From our room it overlooked kitchen staff in their uniforms smoking constantly so hence we didn't bother eating breakfast. I felt like as we had booked through booking.com we were second rate.

    Sadly I didn't enjoy anything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.0
    Lovely traditional hotel, staff mostly fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on duty Friday / Saturday, were excellent- friendly welcoming & couldn't do enough to make us feel comfotable- David, Chris and female Manager- dark hair. Sunday morning the restaurant staff seemed to make a point of ignoring us to the point of just blatant, no pleasantries, no offer if tea/ coffee/ toast- had to politely shout over to ask even though they'd all seen us and walked by our table averting their eyes. No "morning" or happy easter- no nod to the fact that it was Easter Sunday. At the bar asking for a hot chocolate and a coffee on Sunday was even worse- one man in a suit simply walked off & the older blonde lady (again!) simply ignored me - I thought I'd ordered she didn't serve me.I sat and waiting & asked again- same scenario as in dining room at breakfast. The evening before she'd treated my other half exactly the same- he was just asking for ice. He is so laid back & polite that he didn't even mention it to me until we were home yesterday- but he'd been ignored several times- just blanked, like me. Why us this woman working in hospitality? The other breakfast staff on Sunday were almost as bad. David, Chris and female deputy manager& other staff on Friday were exceptional. No internet / mobile network no phone in daughter & mother in laws twin room meant we couldn't contact them- we were in main building & they weren't. All rooms need phones. Dinners- need portions of veg please- nice food- just need veg / salad. We had intended staying on for our Easter Lunch but decided against this because if this one particular woman and the other staff who had been on duty in the dining room during breakfast. Shame as great service and great staff really make a world of difference to any stay. It is the impression which stays with you.

    View fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    A one-night stay during a trek from Pickering to Whitby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the decoration is a little bit tired, but this all adds to the old-world charm.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location. there is a lovely view from the lounge and the evening meal was delicious!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful anniversary at a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a wonderful stay, couldn't complain about anything 😊

    Beautiful, quiet location away from the bustle of Scarborough, but convenient for the coast and the North Yorkshire Moors. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient, and the food excellent. Great personal service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.9
    The place you're pick if you want to get away from it all
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No telephone signal. Room was not over big, (however In light of what we paid it was fantastic value.)

    Bed was very comfortable. Very attentive staff. Location great if you want to get away from it all.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.6
    the location and hotel are excellent,and from our room in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location and hotel are excellent,and from our room in the main building over looking the lake,couldnt ask for more.didnt have evening meals,but full english breakfast was spot on.all the staff were helpfull and friendly,would definetly go back again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like - which is a personal preference - was the shower over the bath (which seems to be a very English thing)

    The staff were amazing! Very welcoming. I was in Room 6 and it was really comfortable with everything you needed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable - No Wi-Fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complete lack of WiFi in court based rooms. Apperently an attempt was made to cure this, but the hotels literature in the rooms said there was no coverage in this area. I also didn't like the collection of dead insects in the bedroom ceiling's overhead light.

    General cleanliness, excellent parking even for a large van

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended for a relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of any negatives as if you had a problem Lenny would go out of his way to resolve it

    Very welcoming and helpful staff,excellent location,lovely country house accommodation and excellent on site restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, proper country house hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rest of the experience was so good that the lack of hot water in the morning, due to a boiler problem, seemed a very minor thing.

    Lovely peaceful proper country house feel, extremely clean and well looked after. Probably the nicest and most attentive staff we have met anywhere who really made us feel welcome and comfortable. Nice open fire in the bar to relax in front of at the end of the day.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: