Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Haisthorpe Guest House 4 stars

Holly Road, Windermere, LA23 2AF, United Kingdom

#5 of 75 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 283 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room by our standards, although I'm not sure what is considered small or big room in the UK.

    A great place in terms of the location and the hosts. Lovely breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about. Even the weather was perfect!

    The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The room and bathroom were imaculately clean with lovely view from the window. Perfect location, 2 minutes walk from Windermere centre, shops, restaurants and bars. My wife and I will certainly chose to stay during our next visit to Windermere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast which was also great value. Tea on arrival at check in. Bottles of water and fresh milk in the fridge for our use. Great knowledge and advice on surrounding restaurants and hiking routes. We would definitely come back to stay again, can’t recommend this place highly enough!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house was a in a great location, with plenty of parking which was very handy. The guest house it’s self was lovely, clean and very comfortable. Would definetly recommend to stay here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about this property.

    The property was lovely and clean and catered well for our needs. The hosts were really attentive and gave us excellent advice on places to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its along a picturesque road where nice houses wz pretty flowers n trees with a river nearby. Its a short stroll fm train stn n bus stp is at rd corner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great.location is great.The hosts Tim and Cathy are very nice and helpful.3 bed room in which we stayed was very nicely decorated. Beds were super comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Just a 5 minute walk into Windermere town and a 20 minute walk into Bowness. there's a bus stop just a 5 minute walk from the B&B and is just a 10 minute journey into Bowness. Our room was lovely, everything we needed, lovely spacious bathroom and a really comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Tim and Cathywere excellent hosts, very welcoming and friendly. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. Bathroom a treat. Breakfasts were ample, fresh and nutritious Tim’s homemade marmalade very good! Guesthouse is well located close to the main centre of Windermere with good restaurants. Excellent laundry service in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is lovely. Hosts are really nice and helpful. They give some very valuable advice as sois as I arrived. The location is also good. 10mins walk to the railway station and 20mins walk bowness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    Cathy and Tim are warm, friendly and very accommodative. My single room was well appointed and very comfortable. I recommend the homemade marmalade.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, a few minutes walk from local shops and restaurants, and not too far from Bowness either! The room was clean, quiet and spacious. We all had two wonderful nights sleep. The breakfast was also perfect, great value for money. The hosts (Cathy and Tim) were very accommodating and friendly. They provided us with plenty of useful advice about where to visit and where to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tim and Cathy both made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived at the property. We were greeted and immediately offered tea/coffee From suggesting local walks and trips to recommending the best restaurants in town Tim and Cathy really ensure their guests are looked after. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Will definitely be returning to this guest house in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hosts - Catherine and Tim - were terrific. Their breakfasts were perfect and their knowledge of the area was most helpful. There is also off-street parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay extra for the breakfast.

    Room was very comfortable. The owners were very nice and also helpful with local knowledge. Breakfast was delicious although i did have to pay extra for it. Excellent central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was so sweet, lovely decore and a nice chair to sit in. The owners were so lovely and took great pride in making sure you had the best stay possible. They were so helpful and have me recomendations for things to do. I didnt have a car and it was still very easy to get around. I would highly recomend a visit to this BnB, it will make your stay in the Lake District even better as you explore a beautiful part of the english countryside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would absolutely recommend anyone who want to visit Lake district to stay at this place. Tim and Cathy were very kind and polite, the room was very clean and comfortable. Also, the breakfast here is amazing, you dont need to find a place for breakfast somewhere else. Would 100% sure to book here if i visit Windermere again. ^^

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a bit difficult in the peak season but this happens in most of B&B in Lake District ....

    Cathy and Tim are very lovely and gave us very useful directions on where to go considering our short stay. They are the best B&B owner l have ever met. Also the B&B room is very clean. Definitely we would like to come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service and lovely cooked breakfast! Location great for both Windermere and wider area. Would stay there again! Thank you to Cathy and Tim - great hosts!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay at Haisthorpe House. Very comfortable and quiet room and a great breakfast in the morning. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating, wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    l have been coming to the Lake District for more than 25 years with my wife,on this trip l went on my own as l do a lot more walking than my wife.Found this accommodation very homely,Cathy and Tim were friendy and made you very welcome.On arrival l was offered a cup of coffee which was a nice touch as not many do this.l would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tim and Cathy were so kind. As option, we can take breakfast at 8:00or 9:00. It was first time for me to eat British style breakfast, but it was very delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable and cozy single room. All things were clean, tidy and well thought. Tim and Cathy were very nice and helpful. It can’t be more happy to stay at their house in Windermere. Will definitely come back to their place when I come Lake again. Cheers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is very difficult to find fault with anything -- the only criticism that occurs to me is that the curtains let a bit of light into the room (although they could be closed completely, without any gaps, so this was not too much of an issue, and it did mean there was a welcome glow in the morning).

    This guest house is outstanding. The proprietors were friendly and highly knowledgeable about the area, and were most welcoming (made coffee upon arrival, and carried suitcase upstairs). The room (including en-suite bathroom) was clean, warm, well furnished (bed high enough to place large suitcase underneath, plenty of hangers, &c.), and quiet. The visitor information folder had plenty of guides, and more could be found in the lounge. There were also several maps in the lounge and on the corridors -- ideal for planning a long walk! Guests also had the option to add breakfast, by 19:00 (7pm) the previous evening. There were three tariffs for breakfast, depending on what and how much you wanted: I opted for the middle tariff, which comprised: continental buffet (included home-made marmalade!); cooked eggs; and either mushrooms or beans. Breakfast could be taken between 08:00 and 10:00, and the cooked facets were prepared upon the guest's entering the lounge, and therefore very fresh! Guests were also able to avail themselves throughout the day of fresh milk and bottled water from a refrigerator in the lounge. The property is easily walkable from Windermere railway station (it took me, travelling with a large four-wheel suitcase, under ten minutes), and the proprietors were happy to store luggage on my day of departure. In summary, I would happily stay at this property again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it is a quite old house, the sound proof might be not that good. However, it's not that bad either.

    Very beautiful house with super helpful landloard! The gave me all the information I needed at my arriving. The room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast is also briliant!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tim and Cathy were warm, hospitable hosts. The room was lovely with a fine view over the town of Windermere. Location was excellent with street parking!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay breakfast as an extra....owner has reasons for doing it this way but I didn't find accommodation price cheaper than other similar properties which include breakfast

    Very clean property, excellent breakfast, very pleasant owners

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were welcoming and made you feel like you were at home, The house itself was spotless and the bedrooms were lovely with tea and coffee provided every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only critique would be in our room is the television could be bigger as it's very small. Although rarely used but when we were there for a little down time would have been nice for a reasonable sized tv.

    Amazing location 5mins walk to the village which is still busy and only 15mins to main town. Cathy and Tim were brilliant providing great information about the town and mountains to climb. The free bottle of water each day is a nice touch for when your climbing. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Choice of having breakfast or not.friendly owners,Tim and Cathy,comfy beds,quiet location and Jasper the black Labrador...an elderly gentle friendly soul 😌

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit small (but bathroom is spacious). Heat in the room is automatically off after 11 pm until 9 am in the morning. The faucets in the bathroom are separate by hot and cold water and, because the hot faucet supplies really hot water and the cold faucet supplies extremely cold water, in my case I would need to mix them up and tried not to get scalded.

    Location is great; only a couple minutes walk to the Main Street where all restaurants, cafes, shops and grocery stores are. Free parking around the neighborhood. Although it is an old house, bathroom is renovated with hot water and heat supplied. Tim and Cathy have been helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about the property was amazing. From the owners to the room. They couldnt do enough for you. Highly recommend this property if you are wanting to visit the lakes. Thanks a million Aaron and Tori

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance from lake Windermere and train station with nice bars and shops to access. Me and my partner enjoyed the area and we will prefer staying at this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tim and Cathy are great hosts, I really loved my stay at their place, especially as I was travelling alone and they really made me feel welcome! The room was lovely, very clean and with everything you need right in it. The breakfast was also very good, there were several options and all of them looked delicious. Haisthorpe Guesthouse is right next to the center of Windermere, approximately a 10min walk from the station, so perfect if you want to travel round by train or bus. I would recommend this Guesthouse to anyone who likes a quiet place and loves getting in touch with their hosts! Thank you:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top poached eggs and local walking knowledge - including a thoroughly enjoyable scenic route to Bowness - courtesy of Tim. Can't wait until our next stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Our hosts were wonderful....the breakfast excellent... The towels white and fluffy Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't fault anything!

    Location was ideal & the room was comfortable & extremely clean. Breakfast was optional but we liked the basic breakfast as juice, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, coffee & toast was perfect for us - but you also could have added eggs or full cooked if you preferred. All fresh & nicely presented and very good value. Tim & Cathy were professional & personable, a winning combination. Would definitely recommend their B&B to all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you shower late at night, the hot water may stop working (because of the boiler system...I assume).

    Frankly, the best guesthouse we have ever stayed in! The room was beautiful and breakfast was great. We were most impressed by the two lovely hosts who showed us around and served our breakfast! Lovely stay. Would like to go back again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - You cant improve on perfection

    Perfect stay, owners were so warm and friendly. We arrived early and they even made us a cup of tea while they were busy servicing rooms. Both of them were amazing, friendly and hospitable. The best guest house I have ever stayed in. Room was perfect, clean and tranquil and modern bathroom. Would recommend to anybody visiting Windermere to stay here - 100%

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather. Came to support our son in Great North swim, unfortunately his event was cancelled due to extreme bad weather on Sunday. Still, there,s always next year and we still had a great weekend.

    Lovely warm welcome. Room spotless and very comfortable bed. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great little guesthouse, the owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfasts were fantastic. The room we had was spacious. tidy and well set up. Being welcomed with a cup of tea or coffee and a chat is a lovely little extra that I think adds such value. The location to the centre of the town is great, just a three or four minute walk gets you to all the restaurants and bars in town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is very clean though a double bed is a little small for two.

    Hosts are very gentle and considerable, gave us lots of information in Lake District such as good French restaurant in town and the best view point in Windermere. They cared every guest like their family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A very warm welcome from the owners and a nice cup of tea too on arrival. Owner was kind enough to make room for my other means of transport. The information folder in your room is very useful for all. The room was ideal and cleaned daily. No noise problem from traffic or people near by to disturb a goodnights sleep. Breakfast choice is excellent. Eggs were done properly. A short walk for local parking, public transport, shops, pubs and places to eat in or out. It was hardly a 5, 10 or 15 minute walk for either of these places so that was very ideal for me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had an absolutely brilliant stay here. Perfect location to access Windermere and the surrounding villages. Friendly, clean and really helpful during our stay giving reccomentations where to visit. Superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location, very clean and homely. Friendly and accommodating hosts who couldn't do more to make stay anymore pleasurable. Beautiful room, very modern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The hosts went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect.

    Comfortable rooms and beds. Plenty of breakfast options with fresh home-cooked food and local produce.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope.

    Tim and Cathy are both very nice and thoughtful! Rooms are clean, bathrooms are clean, very cute and cozy area where the breakfast served. BTW, the breakfast is just amazing for starting a day!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hosts were very kind and friendly. Free tea and bottle water. comfortable bed. Enough mirrors in the room, which is very important for two girls!lol

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little far from the ship location. The wifi upstairs is weak.

    Near to the train station. Staff are really lovely and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. It is really a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi signal could of been better as it kept disabling.

    Cathy and Tim were very welcoming making our stay as comfortable as possible. Even though we didn't order a cooked breakfast, the continental breakfast was delicious with homemade marmalade and lemon curd. The hosts also advised on places to eat on a night which assisted our stay, therefore would definitely recommend the Cafe Italia nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the bed a little squishy (but that can be personal taste so isn't a complaint)

    Tim and Cathy were very friendly, knew lots about local eating places and walks in the area. It was lovely to be offered tea or coffee on arrival and the breakfasts were excellent too. Very easy to walk into town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was a little small particularly small for me as I am 6ft 6 but the staff warned me of this prior

    Homely, hosts were friendly and attentive, breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    may be slightly noisy when crowded...but this is really just me ranting.

    EVERYTHING! Hosts are so caring! I was greeted with a cup of tea and a nice conversation. Breakfast is cooked fresh with asking what you would like in advance. My room was cosy and nice and fairy-tailish, with a kettle and some tea; very comfy bed. Location is good - very close to train station, and 25 walk down to the lake, exactly a stroll you might want. I highly recommend this place!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guest house was lovely located in the perfect spot to access the village and a short walk to Bowness, with Cathy and Tim being perfect hosts they seemed to have thought of everything to make our stay the best it could be! The room was warm, clean, quiet and comfortable- the perfect size for a couple with a lovely en-suite. The breakfast was also amazing and great value for money. We can't wait to book our next visit, wholeheartedly recommend staying there and thank Cathy and Tim for helping us fall in love with Windermere and making our stay perfect!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not finding this site sooner

    never used B&B before as always hotels on company business. However this accommodation was excellent ,spotless and one of the best breakfasts i have had on my travels . i have no reservations about recommending this location and venue . FANTASTIC

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Central location, quiet road, easy to walk to Windermere and Bowness. Parking out the front of the guest house (probably harder to find a park in summer). The room was clean and warm. Friendly hosts. Would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were extremely welcoming and friendly. After a long drive the offer of a cup of tea on arrival was a blessing! Lovely guesthouse in a fantastic location. Free bottles of water was an appreciated touch.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cathy and Tim are very kind, they treat you as you are they family, it's worm for traveler in strange country. They give you choice if you want pay for their breakfast or not. Actually, you should try it. it's awesome, especially their homemade jam with beautiful view outside...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hadn't realised breakfast was extra, should have read the small print!

    Home made jams, great breakfast. Very friendly owners. 5 mins walk from Windermere station. Lovely walks from the door, no need to use a car.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was well maintained and the bed was extremely comfortable. Very good place to stay! Great value for money. The owners did everything and more to make it a memorable stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stay was great. If we had to suggest something that could be improved, the TV could have been a bit bigger!

    Tim and Cathy were perfect hosts - very knowledgeable and lovely people. Breakfast was gorgeous and the room was lovely, cosy and warm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Information said private parking. This is there but VERY limited and street parking is really the only option which can be difficult. There is a public car park nearby but you have to be wary of the times.

    A pot of tea on arrival was welcome after the M6 and a comfortable bed to sleep in. The information said that there was no breakfast included which is what I wanted but they do provide, as an optional extra, a very good breakfast at a very reasonable extra charge with a continental option. A friendly and warm welcome in a clean and comfortable house! Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dear all: Not suitable for family with kids. We were basically very disappointed with our stay at Haisthorpe house. We are family of 4 people (2 adults and one 8 years old and one 3 years old, both are girls). We booked a family room for 3 adults,as we thought our 3 years old could sleep with us together on the same bed. As we arrived, we were told that kids under 7 are not welcome, this was very upsetting for my girls, the big one were scared and cried and did not want to stay anymore. In fact, the first night, we were not provide with any extra service, onlything we got is we are not welcome, just because it was late and we have no where to stay, as a guesture,we were allow for one night. The next day, we were told that we need to pay 15pounds extra for the 3 years old, eventhought, there were no extra bed provided and no extra service at all. We were very disppointed, we do not mind pay extra money, if that was they wanted, but they should not make us feel unwelcome and bad, plus charge us extra money for a 3 year old for providing no extra facility and service. It basically ruined my holiday mood. The couple are too much money oriented, the total booking is 310 for three nights, just because we have a 3years old, we were asked for extra 45 pounds with no extra facility provide, in addition to the extra charge, we been humilated like how stupid i was dis not see on their website that they do not want kids at all. They make us feel like they are doing us a favour to allow us even by charging us more. Disappointed and unhappy client. We will not recommened them to none of our friends and definitely not going back to them again. Kind regards, Helen

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything.

    The owners were lovely and welcoming and tea in the pot as soon as we arrived. Chatted about the best walks in the area The room was ideal for a couple, the bed was so comfortable, a lovely place overall and would definitely stay at Haisthorpe House again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly larger en-suite would have been nice, however it was more than adaquate for us.

    Really well kept property with warm and friendly owners. They were very informative about the local area and were possibly the nicest couple you'll ever meet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower a bit temperamental

    couple running the B&B were exceptionally helpful and friendly great breakfast with lots of nice extras e.g. home made jam, fresh fruit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hosts were so welcoming and friendly and helped you get acquainted with the area with plenty of leaflets. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. One of the best features is their breakfast arrangement, where you can choose whether or not you'd like a continental, full or no breakfast. I would definitely recommend Haisthorpe Guest House to others!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking area/garden

    A very welcoming couple especially giving useful tips and places to eat - thank you!! Would however recommend that breakfast to be included in the price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. A great cooked breakfast with continental option provided and flexible on days we took (or didn't take) breakfast. The location is perfect. Very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Cathy & Tim were very thoughtful & took good care of us. This place is very accessable to the market, bus stop, The co-operative & Sainsbury Local.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included in the price website showed it was included. Bathroom had an odour. DoOr bell kept ringing from 2am every hour until 6pm.

    Bed and pillow was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a little lamp at the dresser as it could be quite dark and so writing was a little difficult.

    The room was very comfortable and clean, nice having a little jug and tea facilities, lovely breakfast option, hosts were so friendly, we had a great stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! Cathy and Tim couldn't do enough for us. Really nice room, good breakfast and location was great for us to go exploring the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything there is excellent!

    We travelled around UK for 22 days, this one is the best hotel/B&B/ guest house/hostel! Excellent ! The couple are very very kind and nice, and the room is very warm , tidy , clean and comfort, the breakfast is very cheap but of quite good quality. I really love this house, my sweet home in windermere~ my parents are also very satisfied and happy, we are so lucky to have lived here for three days~

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very beautiful and clean house located in a silence and adorable block. The bed is super comfortable for me and the facilities are complete. The households are all very nice people who gave me help and useful travel advices. Thanks for that!

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: