Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Halfway House Inn Country Lodge 3 stars

Ilchester Road, Chilthorne Domer, Yeovil, BA22 8RE, United Kingdom

#6 of 7 hotels in Yeovil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 560 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in the room in the main building and it was facing the busy road it was quite noisy breakfast wasn’t good maybe instead of walking through other room s to get to cold buffet they could set up on a trolley maybe having tea and coffee brought to your table would be great

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in the main hotel very dingy. No real atmosphere

    Bedroom nice and clean, unfortunately we are non smokers and a party of workmen we're staying at the same time and our room was in the annex as we are slightly disabled, it was VERY HOT and we had to keep our door shut as they were smoking just outside our room until gone 12 midnight. Food medioca. Young staff very pleasant especially the bar maid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    The size of the room was good, I liked the bed being...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot when I arrived if the front door blind had been down that would of helped. I think a fan would be a good idea as it was a very hot couple of days. The room could do with a coat of paint.

    The size of the room was good, I liked the bed being upstairs, with the addition of garden area for my dog and having the lake for 1st and last thing to walk her around. Was able to park close to room. They set me a table in bar area for breakfast so I could take dog with me and not leave her on her own.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    The selection of food was great both dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From our room you could hear the main building extractor fan throughout the night, which led to a distrubed sleep pattern. Bed was comfy but the pillows, even two together, were very flat. The room was also very warm in this heat, I wish I took my fan from home to use.

    The selection of food was great both dinner and breakfast. The cooked ham was really tasty and thick cut, and the portions were big and plentiful, I couldn't finish it all. At breakfast there was a good selection of cold buffet and the sausages in the cooked breakfast were some of the best I've had. The morning toaster was a bit slow to toast but the jam selection made up for the wait. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar was well stocked. There was plenty of parking and no barrier meant we didn't feel we had to rush back from the wedding we were attending. We had our own entrance onto the courtyard as well which was handy for unloading and loading suitcases. It felt like a one bed chalet rather than a hotel room, which I liked as you didn't have to clamber through hot corridors in the heat. The windows didn't open very wide which meant it was hard to cool the room down, even with bathroom door and window open as well. There was a nice selection of toiletries and tea making facility in the room as well, though all we used was the bottled water and chocolate biscuits. The lake was picture perfect at sunset.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Great food, great company with super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was uncomfortable and it was hard to get enough air through the room due to the security limits on the windows (but it was 30 degrees).

    The room was clean and well stocked with toiletries. The bedding was perfect for the current heat wave, I assume they use heavier bedding when required. The grounds and setting are superb, didn't take any fishing gear but the Mirror Carp that were swimming around looked a decent size.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    The room had a mini kitchen with sink and fridge and french...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was there was no windows other than the garden door.

    The room had a mini kitchen with sink and fridge and french doors out to a small personal garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable dog friendly and relaxed. Good food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disabled room needs some updating redecoration repairs, to keep on top. At weekend probably most important time to keep beer on tap and able to change barrels the best beer ran out! Also have enough deserts available, very limited Sat night.

    Ground floor with confined dog area. Lovely grounds to walk round. Easy location. Comfy bed! Have a useful disabled room. Lovely food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Goog food large portions and staff friendly & very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a little makeover bit tried Need more disabled rooms only one & no wet room only showers in bath

    Goog food large portions and staff friendly & very helpful change are room to ground floor as have bad knees find stairs hard Nice surrounds lake etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    It was ideal for our one night stay and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking was for double, with lake view, but were shown a small dark twin room with no view next to pub garden seating. However, when we said we had booked a double room they changed us to a double with lake view as they had one available.

    The setting was beautiful. Staff very helpful. Very good menu and good quality food for evening meal. Very clean. A good basic all rounder.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great overnight stopover. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed here on a stopover on way to Cornwall. Had a nice evening meal, FANTASTIC cooked breakfast and facilities were clean. What's not to like? Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Just what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had the room with the disable bath with a shower above it, the shower curtain stuck to you and shower head could not be adjusted.

    Good location half way to where we were going.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent country inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and clean and the bed was really comfortable. The staff were lovely and friendly. We had the full English breakfast and it was freshly cooked and very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Good for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner. Grimy shower mat which was in dire need of good wash. Toilet had sealer on to prove it had been cleaned yet the bowl was full of toilet paper on arrival.

    Breakfast included, nice outdoor area. Spacious room, nice selection of toiletries. Parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room, great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable and clean. Food was fantastic! Good portions of tasty homemade favourites, the steak pie was the best I’ve had. It’s worth a visit for the food alone, the staff are all very nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable, but spent a fortune on taxi's!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room six, rather tatty and long overdue some updating., lovely garden to sit in at the back, overlooking the lovely lake, but rather spoiled by the mountain of rubbish stacked up at the back of the hotel, not a very welcoming sight for guests I'm afraid.

    For the price, a little gem, with very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Great accommodation and excellent food for the price!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal is very weak in the rooms which are at the farthest end of the block. Otherwise fine.

    Excellent food and outstanding accommodation for the money! The service was good too. PLenty of choice for breakfast with cearals, fruit, yoghurts, toast, fruit juices and a very good cooked breakkie too. The accommodaiton is extremely good for the price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Great short stay accommondation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mention dirty spoons in room ,some sockets do not work also bedside lamps wasn’t working at all .They have to fix it

    Quiet place to stay ,fresh bed sheets ,free toiletries,free coffee and tea ,great breakfast .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    No window, just a skylight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No window, just a skylight. The blind across the skylight was missing the catch for the pole to latch on to. The bathroom light stopped working. There was some sort of air conditioner which would not cool the room below 24C, which is much too high, and it was incredibly noisy. You could not hear the TV above the noise it made. Breakfast was not served until 8:30 on the Saturday which was too late for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    A good location for our house hunting trip.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really needed wifi to cope with what we had to do. It was useless. Network down, we were given wrong passwords, or passwords that didn't work. There was a connection in the bar. Not ideal for concentration. This lack of connectivity cost us dearly.

    We needed a base in this location; central to the area we were searching for a new home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere, lovely food and very reasonable. Nice location for getting out and about. We went to the fleet air museum and Clarke's village

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs refurbishment. V dated. Bathroom was freezing no blind at window although frosted glass and even with window shut v cold. Shower tray had mildew on base. Needs replacing. No hairdryer in room. Couldn’t close skylight in room. Tv kept gong on the blink. Food ok.

    Girls on reception v friendly and nice welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit more space around the breakfast things. Only room for one person at a time.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable and the linen is lovely. Food was excellent and great value. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Great views, nice and clean, cheap place to crash
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was adequate, there was no friendly chatter such as "how was your journey" however when shown to the room we were told to just ask if we needed anything. When entering the room it had a damp/musky smell, this did go after we opened the rear doors and didn't return whilst out in evening. The shower controls were very hard to turn and ran hot and cold for the duration.

    The view from room 8 was lovely. The bed and pillows were very comfy. Payment and booking was quick and easy and checkout was fast HOWEVER confusing as we drove round to front door and had to drive back. The bed up in the mezzanine was a nice touch and made the living and sleeping space separate. Given that we paid £60 it is definitely value for money. It was very clean but needs some TLC if wanting to increase ratings/prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very welcoming and helpul both at check in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the Wifi, the signal was so poor (in room 10) it just wouldn't connect for long enough to use.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpul both at check in and breaksfast. After I left a camera battery and charger in my room they kindly posted it back to me within a couple of days. And a very nice breakfast served quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and smiley and the food was simple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little noisy at the front overlooking the main road. My friends room at the back overlooking the lake was lovely though. Overall good value for money.

    The staff were friendly and smiley and the food was simple but homemade and good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a headboard on the bed , pillow slipped down between the bed and wall , bed is on wheels so moved away from the wall when sitting on bed trying to watch tv. Apart from that was all good.

    We only stayed 1 night , room was very comfortable, bed was very comfortable, slept very well. Breakfast was very good value included in the price of the room , wish we had arrived earlier as the food looked very nice and would have eaten or dinner here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Delivered what we needed very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little tired but that did not detract from a great value for money, comfortable.

    Did everything we neede. requested a quiet room, bath and it was sorted. friendly staff especially at breakfast. Excellent hearty breakfast kept us going for most of the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Place to stay on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the place could do with an update in the bar and restaurant area

    Friendly staff with lots of safe off road parking. Nice food from the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    A good value for money budget hotel. I would happily stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom floor was uneven. The pillows were a little soft for us but would be ideal for others.

    Staff were friendly and the property was clean. There was plenty of parking and the lake was very pretty. We were able to set the room temperature to one that we wanted. The food was nice and overall it was good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Friendly staff & well worth what we paid Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    On arrival was greeted in a friendly manner. Then what was expected of the accommodation was exceeded. In the morning was greeted by friendly staff, was shown to our table where the breakfast was served hot & was more then worth what was paid within the full price of the stay. Would stay again if passing that way & need somewhere to stop overnight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.8
    Ok for overnight
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a very damp smell No curtain or blind in bathroom No spoon to stir my coffee Extremely noisy neighbours Was not asked on check out “ how was your stay?” Breakfast : black bits floating in the milk, dirty utensils and plates, toaster didn’t work very well, bread bin was filthy

    Convenient location Nice grounds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    really good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing

    I had been travelling for a couple of days, and was needing vegetables in my diet. Their chef created the most delicious mushroom stroganoff for me, and they bought it to my room piping hot. The breakfast was great, they have a lovely lively morning person, who was kind enough to pop an ironing board outside my room. Really lovely funny personable people run this hotel- I would like to go back again if I was in the area again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay would return again & would recommend it to all over nighters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Background noise in room overnight like a perpetual drone - not sure if it was a water pump, heating or something else ! However once asleep it didn’t wake us up.

    Very comfy bed - excellent home cooking - staff extremely welcoming. Superb value for money. Ideal stop off point halfway to Cornwall from London ! Beautiful lake to sit beside in the evening at the bottom of the garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Recommended, especially for those with own transport and working in the Yeovil/Ilchester area.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and bright rooms with tea/coffee making facilities. Plenty of storage space but also sufficient space to move! A desk/working space was a welcome bonus. Very friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    One night business stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    I had steak pie for dinner. It was homemade and was undoubtedly the best pie that I have ever eaten (by a country mile). Comfy room with views over lake and countryside. Really friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.1
    This was nice but a tad tired and is value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal preference, the bed was a tad hard for me. The floors and fittings through its popularity you can see its been well used, I would stay again, a 7

    This was a great place, lovely people lovely bar, the evening meal could have been better, the staff and the ambiance was cossy the locals were friendly, the breakfast was good, the morning cook/chef was so nice and it was a pleasure to be there. I would stay again, 100%

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Very cosy halfway house!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The staff were really lovely and despite a slight hiccup with payment it was a pleasant stay. The breakfast was amazing and vegetarian friendly!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Quiet & Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water from shower. But when discussing with manager, he came to a very amicable arrangement

    Booked the disabled access room. Lovely large room with small kitchnette including fridge. Large bathroom suitable for disabled/less able bodied. Sun flooded room which was lovely. Good choice of breakfast. Friendly staff. Lovely and quiet. Will stay here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant...ideal for what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice to have fridge im room but maybe a microwave would be an added advantage. Also stated a hairdryer but our room didnt have one. Luckily i took my own .

    Very homely and friendly. Breakfast fab

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.5
    It was value for money,the hotel was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a sole traveller without transport,the location was not ideal,after 8pm no bus service ,i had to rely on expensive taxis.Obviously not the fault of the hotel.Local transport was OK during the day.

    It was pleasant little hotel,friendly staff,very clean rooms,good bar ,good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Lovely place, fantastic privacy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged an extra £20 just to check out 3-4 hours later even though I booked the rooms for £40 per night.

    The room was lovely, and spacious. The staff were amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Beyond reasonable!Fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly welcome, really accommodating at breakfast time, really clean room, all the facilities i needed and all at a very reasonable price. Can't fault it. Thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Amazing stay was shame only for one nite and didnt get chance to have full english 😊
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearly missed the entrance into carpark as right on bend but thats out of their hands

    The staff were great..amazing room and breakfast for the price i paid. Felt safe staying alone as a woman

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints other than we had to switch on the heating in our room.

    Staff are friendly, location is quiet. When stood outside Room 1 you had a nice view of the Fishing lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Beds were comfortable and well heated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No veggies sausages at breakfast - this wasn't communicated when ordering. Minimal toilet roll provided. Cleanliness of family room. No large bath towels. Poor showering facilities in family room.

    Beds were comfortable and well heated rooms. Twin room had been updated was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    It was good for our 1 night stay
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the room very hot, couldn't turn down the radiator.

    the bed was excellent. the quick service for our full english breakfast was good. Our room was clean and nice products in the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.2
    Would not go back until I was assured that they would not let out rooms like this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room room 7 was in a very poor condition, the bathroom was full of mould and the floor tiles were cracked and as you walked water came up between the cracks and joints and had black mould in every joint and crack. We had no room service so when we got back on the Saturday night we had no clean cups, all the dirty towels still in the bath waiting to be changed. Thank goodness we was in Yeovil to visit our daughter so had a shower there the next day. When we checked out we wasn't asked if we had a pleasant stay, they just wanted our money. The towel in the pictures was the one we put on the floor in front of the toilet so we did not get wet feet. It was a family room but I would not want any child in that room. This room wants closing until it has been completely gutted and refurbished.

    The staff was very pleasant and the food good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Staff were friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly & helpful. They prepared us a breakfast tray before we went to bed so that we could have something to eat before going out early in the morning. Rooms were clean & comfortable & mine had a great view over the lake/pond behind the hotel - not that I had much opportunity to admire the view!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice cottage style room with noce view
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the hot water problem I didnt took shower because no hot water

    All staff are really nice smil face specially the old women who arrange for breakfast are really a wonderfull and nice lady All staff are nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Very dog friendly and great value for money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most dog friendly accommodation we've ever stayed in! Our room even had a little garden with a gate at the bottom leading towards a lake we could walk him round. He was also allowed in the bar where we could eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    good value and lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for 3 star it was excellent, we did not wish for more

    Staff were super friendly and the food was like good family cooking and very plentiful, served nice and hot. The room was a self-contained chalet with adjustable heating and very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the £75
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked a lot nicer in the photos, booked for 2 adults and 2 children and got there and they didn’t know about the kids so they huffed. Room had screws sticking out the floor in places were you catch your feet and cut them bits falling of the wall. Full English breakfast consisted of 1 small sausage, 1 egg, 1 bacon which tasted like cardboard and some beans and a very dry hash brown.

    The beds were comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    3.8
    Too expensive for what it was. Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper greeting on arrival. Shown quickly to room, no explanation of how to use anything and heating was not on so room was cold. Rooms were not cleaned properly, muck on floor and cobwebs on ceilings. Dirty carpets and stained furniture. Shabby decor needs decorating urgently. Toilet handle broken, dirty string for pulley light no end. General disrepair.

    The breakfast was ok but it was so disorganised and rushed. Chef followed you in with a pad asking what you wanted before you even had a chance to find a table and sit down. Brought in main breakfast before we had even finished cereal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the property and we found the traffic noise was a little bit loud. Were awoken by this quite early.

    Property was clean. Room was nice and large.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant would go back without hesitation if I need accomodation in the area in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would have preferred was an earlier breakfast, not served until 8.30 at weekends.

    Room was warm, clean & a good hot shower in the en suite. Good home cooked food, Staff were pleasant & friendly. Stayed with my 8 year old son, he wants to go back for another stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Really good for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is simple but good enough.

    Really good for the money. Nice place to stay while on the road. Excelent food and good staff. Really good wifi connection for working.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Fiendly, enjoyable, conveniently located and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lick of paint here and there, a better vacuum cleaner and routine checking of light bulbs but nothing major for me. The car park entrance is on the inside track of a double white line bend so can be a little awkward exiting.

    Pub at the front that was reasonably priced. Accommodation separate from the pub was good at the rear with ample parking although not very motorbike friendly due to the presence of loose gravel. It was split level with the bed upstairs and the living area with tea making facilities downstairs. Staff were friendly and the evening meals were value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    We would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been hotter for me!...but was clean and nicely cooked.

    The beds were very comfortable. The staff were truly helpful with an unexpected hiccup and resolved it amicably.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    As it was the venue of our grandsons wedding the day went very happily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of fruit was poor & not all items of the English breakfast were hot with the bacon being off in taste.

    the choices were good in that there was cereal, fruit & a full English breakfast on offer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.4
    Summing up, I was very disappointed overall and would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was not properly cleaned with the bagged bin contents left on the table, dog ends all over the patio along with an empty beer can and the furnishings smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. If my wife had been with me we would not have stayed. The bathroom was clean enough but whoever carried out the finishing with sealant and grouting needs to wear glasses. Wifi poor in my room, to the point of failing to connect. If the room had been £20 cheaper all of this would have been less of an issue, but at the prices charged and not discounted despite my complaint, I wouldn't stay here again, particularly when it was intimated that I should wait until the morning to pay when leaving so they could sort out something regarding the issues with my room. Morning staff new nothing of this..... so full price charged because I booked through Booking.com

    Food was quite reasonable both in price and quality, portion size was over generous for some things which is not necessarily a bad thing, but a little wasteful as I could only eat half my lasagne!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    A convenient and comfortable base for our motorbike group visits to local museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The approach road into the carpark is a little uneven for motorbikes and the gravel surface might be challenging for some.

    A great location for our motorbike group visit to the Tank Museum (about 35 miles away) and the Fleet Air Arm Museum (about 5 miles away). Plenty of parking for the bikes. Good menu choices with reasonable prices in the restaurant. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    nothing to right home about
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy light fitting like sharing a room with a wasp , no windows in room . no air in room other than a very noisy air con device .

    food was good , room was poor with no outside windows .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome. The accommodation is in a very nice setting with only a very short drive into Yeovil town centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.3
    This is showing 3.3 when I would assess 1.8 out of 5.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture old and worn. Smell of old sofa on landing smelt of sweat. No window in room but skylight that would not open. Relied on window in bathroom. Bedroom too hot. Stained and sticky carpet. Shower moldy. A stuffy claustrophobic room. Window open too much road noise for peaceful night.

    The sausages. Staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    Would make a great property with a bit of work!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last major cleanig probably 10 yrs ago. Bathroom filled with dead and Alive bugs and spiders.

    Big rooms, nice rural area and very peaceful and quiet. The lady serving breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upkeep. We have been staying at this hotel for a few years now and on our last visit feel the place needs a bit of tlc. However. That being said we will still return because of the staff.

    Area. Breakfast. Customer service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Met my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy when trying to get to bed as you can hear the noise from downstairs (it is a pub though so can appreciate it is tough)

    Helpful and pleasant staff Little disappointed with the room but met my needs Quite far away from where I was going but not the fault of anyone

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Adequate for the purpose but I won't rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in the single room, just a very high velux. As I arrived in the dark and left next morning this wasn't a big problem, but it did feel a bit like a cell. Pillows very poor, which is a shame as bed was lovely.

    Extremely comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    A nice venue at a reasonable cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room furnature was a little sparce, and the shower was not the most straight forward to operate.

    The bed was extreemly comfortable, and the food was very good, all at a reasonable cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    We wouldn't really recommend it for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location very difficult to find. Our GPS took us to the wrong address many times, so we had to stop a few times. We feel this place is very suited to business travellers but not tourists such as ourselves. The room had no real facilities in it and was very stark.

    Friendly staff, the breakfast lady was just so nice and obliging. The bed was comfy enough and the unit was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    2.9
    Let's just say NEVER AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of the shower arm falling off the wall. The filthy ceilings, the springs poking through the mattress and the black mound around the shower unit. The cracked TV control, basically half missing, very sharp and very dangerous!!! Best was a wardrobe with no hangers. A joke!!! Have photos of all of this and will be telling Trip Advisor along with the photos.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Very good value accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike, sadly the hotel cannot guarantee good weather :-)

    Clean chalet style room with mezzanine floor above for the bed, so plenty of space. Country views from the room, Lovely staff, who arranged an out of normal time breakfast, so we could make an early start in the morning. You could not ask for more, we keep coming back to this one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay, but next time it would be longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to go back home.

    we enjoyed the sunrises and the sunsets most of all, they were fantastic, and the birds and wildlife excellent. Would stay here again if i have to come to this area. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.0
    Dirty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On first look it all seemed nice but then the description on booking.com said disabled access most rooms were up two steps so I had a shock to be faced with a big metal stair case outside to get in and out my room. Luckily my disabled parents were downstairs but having ataxia the stairs threw me and had to have someone help me up and down. My parents room the blind didn't close properly with people outside the room in and out them pub until late and mine had the kitchen extractor. I think I could have forgiven all that but the room was so dirty, I had to sleep with a dustbin of someone else's rubbish that was still in the room with stinking fruit and the toilet had a cleaned for you sticker over it yet had someone else's pee all down the seat, parents room had a dirty bed so they slept on top of it with their clothes on and I had a sticky carpet. My towel has coffee cup stains on them and half way through the night I noticed little bugs jumping on me from my bed so sat up the rest of the night and couldn't bare it in the end leaving at 6am while still dark going down slippery metal steps but couldn't wait to get out. £80 a room I expect a lot more but it was really disgusting. Could be an amazing place with a good clean and a bit of tlc. Feel utterly ripped off and spoilt the first holiday in 14 years. Shower didn't work in one room and lights didn't work in the other with plugs crackling when using them so really upset and embarrassed to bring parents.

    The location was great and friendly chatty staff. Lovely lake out the back and views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    2.9
    A truly terrible experience and we will never come near the place again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was abysmal, the room had damage throughout, the bed was uncomfortable. There was water marks coming from sky light and the property smelt of damp. The breakfast was poor and cold and the cleanliness of eating area was terrible

    The fishing lake walk late evening

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Halfway House Inn Country Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: