Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hallmark Hotel Carlisle 4 stars

Court Square, Carlisle, CA1 1QY, United Kingdom

#27 of 28 hotels in Carlisle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1152 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Grat business hotel right by station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Watch out if planning to stay on a busy day for the city (such as football or similar) as there a few late closing bars and if you get a room on the 'noisier' side, are not a heavy sleeper AND have the windows open (like July 2018 when it was realy hot weather) then you might get a disturbed night until 0300 or so. OR make sure that IF you are a bery light sleeper and it's hot and the city is unusually busy, then get a quiter room!

    I stay at this hotel when I am in Carlisle and on business, arriving by train. It's so close to the station that I find it brilliantly convenient - but more than that the staff are extremely friendly and accomodating. Most of the rooms are well equipped but a tad on the small size: however there are a few bigger ones, wiht larger beds and make for a more comfortable stay. Breakfast is good: starts at 0700 and the morning waiting staff can get a bit tetchy if you try to get in early (it's because the croissants only come out of the oven for 0700!).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Very central and good location, Quite noisy as next to train station but guessed it would be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom to small. Strange way to get to car park through train station car park. HIDDEN CAR PARK COSTS very expensive £10 per night. Didnt book breakfast as Wetherspoons 2 buildings away and you get good cheap breakfast there

    Bathroom was very small, Bedroom funny shape as bed was in one corner. Features in room could be used more. In need of update

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a wonderful stay in this hotel,it was the perfect location,the breakfast was amazing,I had a lovely bottle of prosecco and a cake woop woop.. I would like to thank Jade from the bar for her company and to wish her a very happy birthday on Sunday .. I will be back in the very near future..thank you to all who made my stay amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room stuffy and hot, Windows don't stay opened.lots of noise from night clubs till early hours then noise from trucks emptying bins. Breakfast poor, and staff looked like they would rather be in the dentists. Avocado bathroom suite with black toilet seat . Drive through ncp car park to enter hotel car park, not conveyed properly so extra cost for parking.

    Close to train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired, dated rooms. Breakfast was awful, as though it had been sat out being kept warm all night! The room we booked wasn’t “available” when we checked in so we were given two tiny single rooms instead. Won’t be rushing back!!

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay near station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast starts at 07:00 and whilst the chef gets all the hot food out at about 1645, croissants are fresh at 07:00. I'm only writing this because sometimes they get a bit shirty if you try to get to breakfast at 0650 before they are completely ready....

    Great location right by the satation. This hotel has a variety of rooms: their standard is a tad on the small size, but there are some larger ones (sometimes referred to as Executive rooms) which hare more spacious and have a larger bed as well as a larger bathroom. Some of these are great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Location excellent staff were so lovely bar area spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was 206 and because of the hot weather we had to leave the window open and it was so noisy because of the pub below the fans were running all night hardly slept

    Location excellent staff were so lovely bar area spot on

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Our visit was okay but could of bin a lot better we won’t be comeing back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was ok but need some gidece as it was our first time in for breakfast

    The room are very run down furniture all knocked about stains on the carpet needs some T L C

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location to explore Carlisle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The warm weather meant the room was hot and with no air conditioning or ability to open the window it meant w had trouble getting off to sleep immediately.

    Great central location and easy to find and park our car. Used it as a stopping off point on way to Glasgow.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    2.9
    Good, decent hotel by the station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OK. I stayed on one of the hottest days in July 2018 and the hotel bedroom was not cooled. A smallish window with sliding pane double glazing meant that I just could get decent airflow so it was a tad hot. But is that the fault of the hotel? Guess not.

    Because the hotel is right by the station its a great place to stay if you want to be in the City. Service is really friendly at all the times I've stayed and what is good is how one can leave bags in their care if one needs to go to meetings elsewhere before taking a train somewhere else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location but attention to guests at breakfast needs to be addressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - limited selection, fried eggs sitting for ages. Service poor due to lack of trained, attentive staff.

    Room was a good size and very comfortable. Reception staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    Ripped off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy, out dated, leaking shower, small room, locked out at night, no atmosphere, very expensive, no air conditioning....extremely disappointed.

    Nothing, apart from location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location next to Carlisle train station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired inside. In need of a refurbishment. Very hot inside as it’s a older building and even when the windows are open very little breeze due to it being next to the station on one side and a 2 story pub/restaurant on the other. Always try to make sure to request a fan upon check in.

    Great location next to Carlisle train station. The staff are always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Nightmare apart from lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above

    No telephone in room defeated me walking down to order room service, still no phone brought up after reporting and so when bath tap starting full flowing at 1 in the morning I had to suffer it rather than get fully dressed and go down to reception. It was a nightmare stay and I usually love it at this hotel. Worst nights sleep ever, couldn't wait to leave and get the noise of running water out my tired head

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though the hotel is comfortable and clean it is in need of a 'makeover', but that didn't detract from my visit.

    The hotel is next to the railway station and within walking distance of the Castle, Cathedral and town centre shops. The dinner menu in the restaurant was excellent and there is a good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location and kind staff on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom. Sink was filthy. Only one pillow per person and when requested another pillow they only had one.

    Good location and kind staff on arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    won't be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    leaking bathroom. was asked not to use the bathroom because water was leaking directly down to the hotel reception which was located exactly below our room on the first floor. the half board package did not really deserve recommendation.

    fantastic location. within 50 meters of Carlisle train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    It's okay but you would want more for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was dated, room small - and no brekkie for £80 ..

    Very average hotel in a great location. The rooms are dated and quite small, facilities ok. I expected better for £80 a night without breakfast. The Ibis round the corner is so much better. I wouldn't return but then I do like nice rooms, nice décor and stylish bathrooms. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location! Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor in the rooms and bathrooms is looking very tired and dated - could do with a major re-decoration.

    I've stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions as my son was studying at the UoC - it's been my 'go to' hotel for whenever I've visited him in Carlisle. The staff are always incredibly friendly and efficient. The location is great - close to station, ample parking and easy walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    On arrival we was given a filthy room with broken toilet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff at first

    On arrival we was given a filthy room with broken toilet after over 2 hours argueing we got moved to another room that was much better

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with room even after being moved to new one. Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower that didn’t work in first room. Kettle that didn’t work in replacement room . No non slip mat in bathroom despite signs saying you should us it.

    The location . Good nights sleep despite nearby night club

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small & not very clean in the shower cubicle.

    We got charged £10 to park our vehicle in a unsecured car park. Our bedroom was very noisy because of a concert which was on in the ballroom, also people sitting in a courtyard at the pub next door was very noisy till quite late. Food was good & staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Great friend staff... Made our stay really
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stopped bank holiday Sunday and the late night revellers were a little noisy

    Staff were really good. Friendly and Helpful really made us feel at home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Underwhelmed for an old railway hotel I maybe expected a bit more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was very tired a bit dusty and the bed was very soft also the shower and washhand basin dripped and the cistern overflow ran all night maybe I was expecting a bit more for what I paid but we just got on with it and it didn't spoil our short break

    The buffet breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t a great set up I don’t like when u have to take Jam out of pots I prefer individual portions. The black pudding wasn’t nice and there could have been a better selection.

    Its location was perfect and it was ideal for a one night stay with a really comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    ok would stay again
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my wife noticed that there was mould on the high level windows and dust fluff hanging off the ceilings, The hand basin taps needed some maintenance, otherwise we enjoyed the time there and would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated tv remote did not work as there was no batteries no shower mat hall way to room dirty fire doors all scuffed with people cases banging against the doors

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Perfect for train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't serviced so we had to ask for clean towels and more tea coffee etc. The shower leaked badly hence the need for more towels. Public toilets were a little dated.

    The staff were friendly. Breakfast was good. Rooms were warm and we were able to open a window easily. Really close to train station and the staff were happy to look after our bags till we could check in or till the train was due.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    The Tired Hallmark
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately will be my last stay at the Hallmark. Firstly the £10 extra parking charge was a shock this morning when I checked out. This hotel needs a complete make over I’ve been staying here on and off for the last eight years and I cannot say it has moved with the times over these years. The room was old fashioned ,shower very poor and then the telephone didn’t work for room service so had to go downstairs and order! Certainly needs some money spending this tired Hotel!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    A bit 'iffy' depending on the room you get. But you cannot fault its location by the station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture was from really old (not in an antique way, unfortunately) and complete with numerous chips and knocks. The shower screen (never the easiest to clean) was very mouldy and blacked at the edges which was a bit of a put off. I didnlt try the breakfast as I had to leave late, but it did look rather nice.

    As at May 16 the hotel was undergoing a staged set of refurbishment and renewals to the rooms. In my case there had been some work done: the television was housed in a relatively new surround: the floors appear to have been renewed in the last (10) years or so and the bed was OK if not up to IBIS standards.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor is a little tired but it was spotlessly clean. Some of the breakfast items were a bit cold but it was still really delicious.

    Really comfortable bed. Generous and tasty breakfast. Good range for vegetarians. Lovely staff who made us feel welcome and cared for (special mention to Stuart on reception for sorting a problem quickly and good-naturedly)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Noisy hotel wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was broke for part of stay and hotel was very noisy through night with other guests, was nosy again with the sound of bottles getting put out through night.

    Central hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Literally 25 feet from train station! But quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didnt work well, husband had to open up tank to flush.

    Lots of room, comfy bed, large bathroom. Literally 25 feet from the train! And near city center and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Location and a good deal on the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude receptionist, could have explained the way payment was handled a lot better and not with a obnoxious attitude.

    Location and a good deal on the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Availability of single room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a desk lamp. The main room light wasn’t really enough to work by in complete comfort.

    Availability of single room. Single room had a bath, not just a shower. Plenty of power points both at desk and bedside, and good-sized desk with tea & coffee tray well off to one side. Very central location by station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    Not a 4* facility at all...sadly
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    uncomfortable bed, lukewarm water in the shower, level of cleanliness in the room and bedroom, size of the room, small parking

    breakfast was very good, close to the station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    The member of staff on reception was really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I went into the first room I was allocated, it was clear someone had been smoking in the room - it reeked. This should have been spotted by the staff member who cleaned the room a the smell was strong! However this was quickly changed. The hotel was immaculately clean but is looking a little tired - distressed furniture that is not meant to be, beige bathroom.

    The member of staff on reception was really helpful. I couldn't remember the registration number of my car and had to walk back to the car park to get it in order to register it. He noticed my disability and showed me a short cut through a side door. He also promptly changed my room when I said it was unacceptable (see dislikes).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.0
    Booking 2 rooms and having 1 on level 1and 1 on level 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking 2 rooms and having 1 on level 1and 1 on level 2 after requesting connecting rooms. The condition of the room on level 2 (209) executive room ?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.8
    Don't stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was tired and filthy and the room was very warm but the heating could not be adjusted,there was wholes in the carpet the toilet was disgusting.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.4
    A bit disappointing. Food ok(ISH) £15 a head for breakfast is outrageous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks very tired and scruffy. In dire need of an update. Our room and the bathroom had not been properly cleaned.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok in need of modernisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated, hole in the floor (dodgy floorboard) . Windows rotten and bath all marked. Generally in need of modernisation.

    Location very good. Room was warm and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.5
    it was ok, at best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a charge for parking not made clear on Booking.com. The electric shower, even when turned to maximum, was at best cool the room was too hot and control difficult.

    room was quiet and bed comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    Beds,clean and comfy, reception staff and house keeping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room - tv was poor only BBC channels available, poor digital signal. room only set up for 1 not a twin. Net curtains were very dirty. Windows were frosted out so no outlook. Hum noise from outside constant, kitchens or air con ? Not sure what. Bathroom, plug in sink got jammed a chain broken, asked reception to sort out with TV but not looked into. Breakfast wasn't the freshest

    Beds,clean and comfy, reception staff and house keeping staff we polite and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Was ok but doubt if would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not too good. The shower curtain was covered in mildew. One of the towels was dirty.

    The beds were very comfortable.The evening dinner was very nice. Breakfast was ok. All the staff apart from one were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel lighting is very dark and dreary rooms are old and need a touch up especially for money that your paying expected it too be a bit more modern the gentleman on reception upon our arrival wasn't very nice however I think he needs more training in speaking too customers as he wasn't very welcoming and we found this quite off putting if we were anyone else I think the situation would have been worse

    Bed was comfy location is perfect especially since I was on crutches wasn't far too walk too most places

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.6
    great location near the station but in need of modernising
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    in need of modernising. shower and bathroom facilities were really out of date. the overall cleanliness of the room wasnt great. Struggled to sleep as i had noisy neighbours making noise and laughing till the early morning on two of the 3 nights. To add the shower kept dripping all night and not allowing me to sleep. quite dissapoineted as the Hallmark is a great brand hotel.

    location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Very helpful staff
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location (or at least the room we stayed in) was noisy into the early hours due to local nightlife. However, the front desk gave me earplugs and offered to find me another quieter room. Car parking was £10 - not clear if that was per night or for the whole stay.

    Very helpful staff that dealt with an issue as best they possibly could.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Moderate at best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited staff, twice no one at reception on checking in and out, limited staff at breakfast, Breakfast meant to be at 7 during weekdays but on Monday was 7.30 but was informed otherwise. Staff at breakfast were never present to check you in at the table and would take a while to seat you in. Room was clean but quality of the bed with regards to comfort was poor. Cleanliness was ok, with bathroom facilities in need of repairs

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.6
    Hotel tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired facilities and basic restaurant/bar.

    Hotel tired. Carpets and facilities need updated. The extra £10 per night for parking was unexpected and make a significant difference to overall price when staying for 3 or 4 nights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.6
    Been there, seen it, would highly recommend Carlisle but won't be back to this hotel in a hurry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 301 - Great view of dirty brickwork and pipework at rear of property from windows in bathroom and bedroom, generally a very run down looking room

    Central location right next to train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    A bit of a gamble, really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for two nights. As the window of the first room could not be opened it got very stuffy at night. We requested another room and were given a much better one. I just feel sorry for the people who were put into our first room (the hotel was full, so somebody had to sleep in that rather grim room).

    Excellent location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed with my experience of staying at the Hallmark hotel in Carlisle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of service at breakfast table ie dirty dishes and cutlery not moved after previous use. These remained throughout my time at the breakfast table. I waited a full half hour before being approached and asked if I wanted tea or coffee. Bedroom had no heating on when I checked in. Had to move rooms on second day of stay due to wind blowing open and breaking window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, varied facilities, lovely staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (416) was situated on the top floor which seemed to be next to the water tank, noisy, and I hardly slept.

    The staff were attentive, helpful and courteous. The breakfast was a varied choice with freshly made omelettes if preferred.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Staff and breakfast was good, but wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was poor. No pressure and not even warm. Sink taps were loose and hanging off the bathroom sink. Water there though was hot ( why not the shower ). Not very clean behind bedside cabinet or inside widow frame.

    Room was warm, bed was fine. Tea and coffee supplied in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    2.9
    Entrance was shabby, not told to keep a card open of wanting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance was shabby, not told to keep a card open of wanting good or drink after 11pm.Needs update dramatically only positive thing is near to train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    very relaxing pleasant stay and food was great rooms very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel could do with more than one lift for the size of it as it was during our stay the lift broke we were on the third floor my mum is elderly and has mobility problems to there due the Hotel organized breakfast our room we were allowed to stay in the room over the checkout time free of charge and they called the engineer, the only thing I would ask is that they would review there policy regarding this for future reference. this did not take away from a very good experience and stay. All was well in the end and we caught our train though had to walk mum downstairs.

    The hotel as a whole was very good food was good staff were helpful room was pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    an ok hotel for one night but dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    first room offered not up to standard overlooking an ally way with loud extract noise from other buildings second room was ok but hotel needs some renovating, also the front entrance was dirty

    THE LOCATION

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit stingy with loo roll, the roll was nearly finished when we arrived, asked for another and they gladly replaced with a roll that was 1/4 full. 🤔.

    Beautiful room and comfy bed really clean. Staff fabulous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Great overnight trip to see friends in comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was extra wide and very comfortable. The room and bathroom were large and very comfortable. The breakfast and dinner that we had in the restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.8
    Good convenient location and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the bar and restaurant staff I encountered needed much better training. The hotel needs a really good makeover to bring it into the 21st century.

    Good convenient location and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location and price
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows weren't comfortable, the shower head was fixed at an awkward height and had to squat to fit in

    Great location and price. Good sized room and warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Despite the failings, the hotel was excellent value.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had poor lighting. I notice this more than most being visually impaired. Could not find any bars of soap in bathroom. Am I old fashioned? Shower was very poor for both pressure and warmth. We had no view out of our window despite asking for one. We were only there for two nights, so not a big deal.

    Room was a decent size, if a bit tired. Same could be said for the bathroom. Bed was comfortable and spare pillows were available in the wardrobe. Tea/coffee making facilities were good with even biscuits provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.5
    One of the worst hotels I have stayed at.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dirty It had a tv remote that did not work I had to clean it myself The maid left no toilet paper or tea making things I had to spend about 2 hours chasing up basics myself Staff did not even know where milk could be found Above all else the heating was ineffectual and could not be turned up by staff who tried. I could not buy a small cider at 11pm because when I checked in nobody told me that this could not be done. The night staff (and others?) were asleep at 6am when I wanted to put bags into the trunk room .They would not turn any lights on and I carried cases unaided in pitch black. I complained to night staff the receptionist on days and was told to return to the hotel to speak to the duty manager who would sort it out. This made me wait 3 hours for a train to gey home on and was a waste of time as all she did was deny/justify what had happened and said that all she could do was pass my c omment ontlo the manager who would phone but who has not yet bothered to do so. The fault was all mine apparently becaused I took too long to makr complaints...I had hoped that things would improve but they did not.e.g.the maid actually opened the window on a freeing cold day to make the room even colder. I have been treated v shabbily. I actually booked in to ensure that I could get to work on tim e at a v different hotel...at my own expense.

    Nothing I have tried to make a complaint 3 times and am getting nowhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Valued customer who had relaxing and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Honestly only saw 2 staff on reception on my stay who were both pleasant. Couldn't have expected breakfast as well for price.

    Lovely comfy bed. Got an upgrade as booked a single. Very good value as paid £80 the sat before at another city centre hotel...In the annexe and no meals breakfast or room cleaned at night. Also problems with room and being small. I was very cross! So thankyou for a much better experience. When I need to i'll return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Mum and daughter shopping day and chill time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service for evening meal was slow it took us 2 hours to have a 2 course meal and there was 3 serving staff and only 7 tables in.

    The beds were so comfy and as I suffer from arthritis I find it difficult to get comfort. Also the food was spot on.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Extremely close to the train station and the bar staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massively over priced given that the whole hotel is in desperate need of a refurb. My bedroom furniture was cheap, old and peeling. The bathroom was shocking in how uncomfortable and dated it was. The lavatory was straight out of the 1970’s with disabled rails everywhere. Cheap & small bathroom products. The room although being very clean smelt of feet. There was no air conditioning & the heating was on full blast (old victorian radiators) so it was so hot I had to sleep with the window open in mid-February! Bedroom faced the front and was very noisy. Got woken up several times during the night and early morning due to external noise (no double glazing). I have stayed at much much better b&b’s for half the price. Totally over-priced.

    Extremely close to the train station and the bar staff were excellent and friendly. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Most things are excellent have stayed many times
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not very warm & £5 tray charge meant I went for a takeaway when I would have used hotel menu.

    Most things are excellent have stayed many times

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    The reception staff were so friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet took several attempts to flush. I turned down the heating in the evening as the room was uncomfortably hot but temperature never changed. I had to lodge the window open to get some cool air.

    The reception staff were so friendly! Location was so central and perfect for catching an early morning train the next day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Not what I expected but fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet ran all night and was very annoying. Black mould on bsthroom ceiling. White grime (like powdery excess cleaning products) around sink.

    Central with car park

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.8
    The bedroom was acceptable but the bathroom was old and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was acceptable but the bathroom was old and outdated. No water pressure. Terrible quality for an executive room. It took a long time to check in because there was not enough staff at reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 10 minutes late for breakfast and we phoned to see if we could still come down and get something but the receptionist refused point blank and didn't try to go out her way to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location basic room don’t stay out too late you might not get in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get into the hotel at 1am as the door was locked. Spent 10 minutes ringing the bell and phoning the number but could not get anyone. Eventually had to bang on the door which I hope didn’t disturb any guests to get in.

    The location was perfect and being next to the station you couldn’t ask for better and although it’s next to the station the rooms were quite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Great staff! Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't great. The food was cold and dry. It had obviously been sitting out for sometime. I would not have the breakfast if I was to stay again.

    The location and the staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.7
    Thankfully one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You get what you pay for. No towels, cracked sink, rusty bath plug, decidedly grubby. overheated and smelt of curry, no ventilation in bathroom or bedroom. Could hear the people in the adjoining room.

    The location and price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    Won’t come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy shower curtain Shower didn’t adjust/work £10 a night parking Fire doors repeatedly left open

    Staff responded to concerns Near centre of town Comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hallmark Hotel Carlisle traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: