Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 3 stars

Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5JS, United Kingdom

#66 of 79 hotels in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1514 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone was smoking in the hotel and making fire alarm go off. It wasn't the staff's fault. They handle the guess who was responsible well and professional.

    I like the bed, the room, the gym, the garden and the jucazzi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed uncomfortable. We both woke up every day with back aches. Disappointed breakfast was buffet style and set price of £15 per head was steep as neither of us would want full English breakfast. Both prefer freshly cooked food brought to table and no queueing! Thought car parking should be free for guests. Likewise there shouldn't be a charge for use of spa facilities ie pool, sauna, jacuzzi especially when treatments have been booked.

    Reception staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to say if you want to pay nearly five pounds for very flat beer/lager.and four pounds a bottle of water.and burnt food.no air conditioning noisy traffic at front rooms of hotel and staff are not to bothered about your stay.and dogs being brought into the dining room.and it wasn’t a guide dog etc just someone’s spoilt pet.then this is the place for you.never again there are better hotels and a lot less to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice to have a fridge in the room and the spa area need a bit of attention as it is looking tired.

    Had a lovely stay in a nice large room that was clean and tidy. The fresh milk for our drinks was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got moved about because of work going on in hotel. Hot water some days, barely warm on others. Maybe due to work going on. Needs a good facelift in hallways and bedrooms.

    Breakfast fair. Dinner really expensive for what you get. not a lot of choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘double’ bed was instead 2 single beds pushed together and secured in the middle which was uncomfortable and disrupted my sleep. The water pressure was extremely low and the hot water was warm at best. This Hallmark hotel was not as good as others in different locations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit dated downstairs was very nice but rooms a bit of a disappointment although very clean bathroom was ok but sink was cracked and overall bathroom a bit shabby but clean. Parking was not free a charge of £10 per day.

    The reception and bar area were very nice and modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities not great, sliding door with no lock, lukewarm shower, cracked wash basin, and toilet only sometimes flushing. Scaffolding up infront of windows at the front, so couldn't open them. Bar very expensive over £11 for a glass of wine and a small bottle of Peroni!

    Staff very friendly. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Along with other guests, we were unable to access our room via the keycards for over 24 hours. We were left waiting in the corridor on several occasions to be let in to our room with an emergency key! The shower head kept falling down when turned on, and the food was not of a particularly good quality on this occasion so we dined out elsewhere on our second night. We were tied to breakfast however as we stayed on a b&b basis. It was a real shame because our first stay (although 9 years ago), was absolutely top notch which is why I booked this hotel again. Perhaps we caught them at a bad time, but based on this latest stay, it is unlikely we will return for another stay.

    We had the superior double room which was clean and spacious and comfortable also. Bathroom was a good size too and the room was quiet. The staff were fairly accommodating but I think they were somewhat flustered by some ‘technical issues’ during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really .... Around the sides of the pool could have been cleaner... Also one night we were watching the TV not loud... But got a complaint that it was.... It was only 23.15 so not overly late...

    The room was clean and chamber maids very helpful... Spa area was gd.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled with a 1 and 5 year old yet put family room was only accessible via stairs which was difficult with a buggy. Also there was a problem with the key system and I had to return to reception every time I wanted to enter my room upon finding the key not working. It wouldn't have been so annoying if I wasn't having to traipse up and down the stairs with a buggy and a toddler.

    Breakfast offered a wide choice and was very nice. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Swimming pool was nice and warm so no shock upon getting in. Lovely garden area. Close to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left a pair of earrings in bathroom value of around £100 ,rang hotel an hr after checking out, was told they would get back to me, had to ring again the next day has they didn’t get back to me only to be told no earrings had been handed in very annoying has they were definitely left in bathroom as my partner seen them but I forgot to pack them!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key cards to the doors were not working.

    The staff were very helpful,friendly and made our stay very pleasant. The breakfast variety was really tasty and the spa facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is tired and needs some tlc. Our sink was cracked and the edging of the sink unit was broken. Communal areas like the bar needed hovering. Breakfast was not worth £10 a head.

    The bed was extremely comfy and the spa facilities were great. Staff were very helpful and location was really good for town and beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting could be better in the room & Jackson behind the bar is not as friendly

    the hotel facilities are good, from the spa & gym to the pool - staff a mostly friendly especially Jason behind the bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price as whole hotel needs upgrade!

    Staff friendly but Badly in need of refurbishment! Spa/pool need up grade along with exterior awful! Wires hanging down from building - not a good look!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had a very faded and worn look, very much ready for an upgrade but can understand the huge job that would be involved. The exterior was very disappointing and off-putting, with the exception of the reception area. Badly hung curtains were a big issue from inside and outside. We changed our room after one night as it was very small and inaccessable, to a superior room much bigger and easy access. This clearly cost us a lot more.

    Very good beds and linen. Good standard of cleanliness. Excellent position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and en-suite were a bit tired but work being done to improve the situation.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast and evening meals excellent ,although a little more vegetables would have complimented the dishes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed updating. The radiator was stuck on hot as the rad valve did not work. The bathroom towel rail actually burnt my wife's arm. The bathroom floor tiles were cracked and grout was missing. The shower head would not stay in one place and it leaked water out of the fitting. The hair dryer overheated as it was not maintained well and there were cobwebs from the light fittings. The bed sheets were very scratchy as well. BUT the staff were lovely. We were not looking for a refund or any special treatment but it would not be somewhere we go again.

    The staff were very friendly and attentive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is "tired" and in need of upgrading (Letter to Manager)

    The room although very small had a comfortable bed. The leisure facilities were fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were really hot , no fridge in the room to keep water even. Room was clean ,bathroom tub was really dirty please ask the staff to bleach it properly if possible.

    It was a good hotel clean and caring staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location: If you're travelling by train and arrive at the Bournemouth train station then it's approx 40 mins walk to the hotel. But we took a taxi on our way back which took less than 10 mins and costed £8 (cash only). Room: The main radiator in the room was constantly on full power even though we tried to switch it off and we had one of the most hottest May day bank holiday weekend/Monday so it wasn't pleasant but opening all the windows wide open and using a fan helped us to survive the heat! This might be useful in winter but certainly not in summer. The double bed wasn't really a double bed as the two single beds were put next to each other and there's a bumpy line in between. Inside the room: The remote for the TV wasn't working very well so I had to fiddle around with it to make it work. There is a fan in the room but it wasn't oscillating (but I'm sure they can easily fix/replace this). It'd be great if there was a fridge inside the room but none available. Facilities: The gym facilities need to be looked after and wiped clean. The shower room inside changing room in the spa wasn't so clean.

    Overall it was great. The beach and the pier are nearby which is awesome. And the town centre takes about 15 mins on foot. Before setting off to Bournemouth, I've confirmed with the hotel by email whether our room would have bath or shower and they said all double bedrooms have baths (which is what we wanted). But the room we were allocated had a shower cubicle - so not all double rooms have baths! But the staff kindly rearranged our room to meet our needs. There is cold water dispenser available for free in the gym and spa which was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent 3 nights in the hotel. Here is my review....There is no small refrigerator in the room to keep any food cool. Room key/card cannot read by the card reader to get lights working. Complained to reception, and they fiddled the card reader and said it’s a loose connection hence need replacing. Just like everything else in the hotel I guess. Breakfast was interesting. No fruit at all, bit of fruit salad for yoghurt. Paid £10 for breakfast coffee jug only contained hot water. 🙄Unbelievable! Either the waiter forgot to put the coffee in or he just picked the wrong jug. Couldn’t even bother to complain, we shared the tea Jacuzzi can be use only if you pay £8.00 for Spa. Dressing gown is £2.50. The day we were leaving, we wanted to leave the car for another couple of hours. Hotel asked £8.00 for it. I wouldn’t book this hotel again.

    Staff weren’t too bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool and changing areas were a little tired and looked a bit dirty. My daughter who is a keen swimmer did not want to visit a second time. Our room service was not good, however this was dealt with well.

    Staff were on the whole very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms are of poor standard. The last room I was allocated, was very small, broken tiles, leaky tap in bathroom sink, no pressure in shower, broken shower head, broken seal around the bath, broken wooden door

    Good hotel in a superb location close to town centre and the beach. I use it both for business and leisure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First couple times using the sauna the pool was a bit too cool for my personal liking but the last day was warmer? Breakfast times were busy but was expected as was a weekend, staff found it challenging to keep on top of supplying enough bowls and plates. Food was constantly being refreshed and was nice and hot though! Staff coped well under the pressure remaining calm and polite. Bar is quite pricey.

    We came here for 2 nights! we were allowed to check in early, is a 5 minute drive from station and cabs were fairly priced and a 10 minute walk to the seafront or shops. We paid extra 8 pound for unlimited use of spa which was so lovely and we made good use of it seeing as the weather wasn't great. It has 2 indoor pools (1 of which is in spa area) and 2 sauna rooms (dry air and steam), aromatherapy room, relaxation room and a Jacuzzi. For an extra 8 pounds this was very good and was open early at 8am and closed at 9pm. Towels, robes and slippers supplied for you! Staff were very polite and helpful and always available at reception. The room was very clean and modern, comfortable and had a great nights sleep! nice choice of coffees, teas and biscuits on tray which cleaner kept topped up! Breakfast was buffet and there were plenty of options from cooked breakfast to continental breakfasts such as cereals, toast and granola. Staff sat us down and brought over coffee or tea depending on your preference. There was also fruit juices as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tired in great need of a revamp, the shower was too hot and uncontrollable as far as the cold was concerned, the food was very poor ie bread was dry and crusty and the service was terrible ie two hours for a meal???? would not recommend !!!!

    the bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV reception and programmes was very poor. We had a superior room and asked to change it as the deco was very poor and marked, bathroom dated in the original. The new room was better but the bathroom also dated. No aircon so we had to sleep with windows open and road noise. The breakfast food was cold as the food heaters were poor and the food precooked, so we only had one breakfast and went into town for other days. Noisy from hen night at 3am. Overall a bit dated for the money paid.

    The spa facilities. Hot showers. Bar relaxation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Se above. Cold breakfast, no basin in separate toilet.

    Nice big bed. Bath was nice. Nice warm swimming pool. Didn’t like that toilet was in a room at the other side of the bed from the bathroom. No wash basin in toilet. Double basins in bathroom. Breakfast was not hot. Eggs congealed.,but otherwise a god selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    key card for room dont work had to get reception to let us into our room every time Not enough towels left out Bathroom had Shower Curtain over bath kept sick to you when you had a shower Double bed two singles put together could feel cap

    Location Pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a different Hallmark hotel and paid a lot for it. Only afterwards I realised it was not the same my sister had booked who I had not seen for years booked a few months before. So I paid for two rooms, And I didn't even get a breakfast included! One sausage,a slice of bacon and few beans and mushrooms cost me £ 15 pounds extra. All together, that one night cost me my weeks wages and I am not coming back unless I get my money back. And I will tell other people as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were only net so got woken up very early by the light as there was no way of blocking out the light

    Style of hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast, plenty of parking, nice stay overall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast host was very friendly and it was fantastic you allowed dogs in the property and room-also great we could take our dog to breakfast in the conservatory with us as it was warm and cosy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and dirty. There are cracks on the walls and the doors can not shut properly. The cleaner came into our room and left the door open, because they are hard to shut.. the food is poor quality also.

    The free parking on the main road

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grumpy restaurant manager making us wait for a table in near empty dining room, noisy hen parties and wedding reception keeping us awake, crowded spa, dirty bath. Not a place for a relaxing weekend and felt superior room was not worth extra cost. Having to get to breakfast early before self service buffet runs out . I only wanted toast and cereal and had to wait ages for both to be replenished

    Gym was lovely a d good central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bed was two singles attached and was hard down the middle. I was offered a room change, however. TV platform is not user friendly and remote controls are old and unresponsive. Cooked breakfast was pretty tasteless.

    Great location. Excellent staff, very helpful. I didn't use the spa but went down and had a look and it seemed really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think having to pay extra to use the spa isn’t great, considering the tiles are chipped and the water is filthy! The net curtains on our ground floor room had mould on and they put us in a room that was unfit for someone to be staying in! The ceiling sounded like t was going to fall through and we got no sleep!

    I have stayed before and I like the location and breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The plug in the bathroom was stuck so we couldn't use the sink,the barman took our order for coffee at lunch time but kept us waiting for 15 mins to get it whilst he served at least 8 other people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was an odd lay out. Bath and basins in an ensuite on one side, loo and shower in another ensuite on the other side of the bedroom! We had a small concrete balcony which one person could stand out on but it had cigarette butts and can ring pulls left from a previous occupant. Room was really tired. I left my phone charger in the room and called the hotel...still waiting for a callback!

    The bed was comfy.. we both had a treatment at the spa. My therapist was lovely and friendly. Breakfaat was OK. Bit dried up as buffet style but fairly tasty. Didnt have dinner there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tired looking building needs updating. Could have told us they had a Christian convention staying there all weekend-was so noisy! Kept up at night by the loud noise and ran out of some food at breakfast due to large groups having huge amounts of food. Waited 45 minutes for our lunch which was a cold lunch.

    The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cot bed was not safe or clean so we couldn’t use it, also stairs to the spa are dangerous as my 2 year old nearly fell down them. Pool changing area was dangerously slippy- more mats needed not just wet towels laid down.

    Beds were comfortable and bar and restaurant area nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't very clean the toilet roll holder was hanging of the wall very noisy room with a beeping til early hours and started again In the morning ordered twin beds and they were put together to make a double when questioned this with staff member she said we don't do twin beds this is how they are so don't order twin beds if you don't fancy sleeping next to your guest(I ordered twin beds as my daughter hits out in her sleep and sleeps sideways . Swimming pool was very nice and not to busy a few members of staff were very happy a few looked not too happy. The member of staff when we arrived was very happy and welcoming

    The swimming pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated and looked nothing like the pictures on the website, staining on the carpets, windows broken and noise and draft issues, stairs leading up to the room were so steep, the room we stayed in was not suitable for a family with young children, nor older people.

    Breakfast was nice, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above and also the room was Very warm. Although we had a fan it was noisy and also the iron didn’t work I advised reception but it was never replaced it was Lucky I bought my travel iron!

    Only had breakfast which was nice but didn’t like having to wait for them to replenish the food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that there was nothing that we didn't like.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, a couple of minor concerns were dealt with quickly and efficiently. The spa is available for the length of stay at a very reasonable cost - my friends were very impressed with it and enjoyed using it. My friend's son bought her the spa membership saying that it was a treat for her birthday the next day - the next day she was given vouchers for free drinks to celebrate her birthday! There is also a small indoor pool and gym which can be used at no extra cost. The hotel is close to Bournemouth, both the beach and shops, where there is much to do and see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner wasn’t that great - fish n chips on 1st night, fish batter was oily and limp, mushy peas was smeared over fish and had mint in it which made it disgusting!! Asked for fresh mushy peas and was served crushed garden peas. Menu was not child friendly Was told we had to pay an extra £8-9 to use the spa even though we had paid for treatment This should be complimentary for guests . This was the only negative part of our stay

    The staff were really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not match the pictures shown on the website , funrniture was really old , rooms had cracks on the walls , extreeemly hot rooms

    Only the location of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was intermittent and sink didn't empty water properly. However these issues were looked at and sorted. The room was unbearably hot for the first day and there was no thermostat to adjust temperature. The second day there was no heating and when I enquired at reception I was told that there was a problem with the boiler and that the heating had been turned off to ensure there was enough hot water for the guests to shower. The hotel itself is in need of a coat of paint as it's a bit tired and tatty in places but I believe it's being taken over by another company so this may improve.

    The pool was good. There is free road parking near the hotel. It's in a good location for the beach and town centre. The room was quiet. Staff were polite. I stayed there because of the leisure facilities and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was too hot and the fan did not work, the room was average but not up to standard and didn’t meet my expectations. I wasn’t able to get a goodnight sleep and kept waking up through the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we were allocated was small, dirty, had a view of fire escapes and the walls were so thin I could hear next door having a conversation. The room we were then moved to was much nicer, however the shower didn't function properly. I mentioned to reception that the shower was broken and they promised to have it sorted that day - unfortunately this was not done, so for three days we had a shower that had minimal pressure and warm water at best.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The first room was bitterly disappointing however the second room had a wonderfully comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with lick of paint, no frosted glass in bathroom

    Really big bedroom, very comfortable bed, staff were lovely, loved the pool, very quiet at night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room opposite the lift which was a disaster for out small dogs who barks up to midnight every time people got into and out of the lift . This was not good . Should have been away from lift . The bathroom windows didn’t open . The cold tap wasn’t fixed dowm properly

    The bed . The nice tea bags in the room !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready but the rest of the days the cleaner was knocking on the door at 9 o’clock , the cleaner left the door open on our day two was not happy . The door card twice would not work

    Chairs in room 200need mending the bottoms are falling out so uncomfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resturant food was very very poor quality,small and was cold by the time staff brought the cutlery out, not the same standard compared to other hallmark hotels ive stayed in, not good value for money at all.

    The gym and pool were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charges of £15 per night for a dog, regardless of length of stay. No info on this when booking on line. Very poor reception staff. Paying on arrival then being asked to pay again at check out. Lift didn't work a the time, no action taken even though reception were notified a number of times over a number of days by different people.

    The pool is free to use and very pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing was unfortunately not up to scratch so the shower was terrible but overall the facilities were great!

    Very good hotel, great location for the beach and shopping area. Staff were very helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park charge (not stated on website) £25 charge on card as a “deposit” in case you don’t pay your tab... what happened to trust? If we were a hen or stag party I would understand this but we were a family with a 5yr old son. Drinks prices were high for the type of drinks they serve £17.95 for two average cocktails. Breakfast was cold, sausages tasted and smelt off. 3 lights bulbs in the bathroom didn’t work including light around the mirror above the sink.

    Good location, Swimming pool, Clean, Comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was dirty and a small box! Second room given to us was bigger but dirty towels in the room and badly in need of decoration. Bed was poor quality and soft. Spa facilities in need of cleaning and refurbishment. Wasn’t obvious that parking was £10 per day extra when booking.

    The room was quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom, run down hotel, failed to provide prearranged champagne without prompting, no cold water, and hot tub made our eyes water due to the amount of chlorine. Cleaners were very loud every morning and the key card didnt work every evening. Charge for parking but abundant amount of free parking nearby.

    Didnt like a lot really

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both partner and I woke up with a bad back and aching all over after every night which we found the mattress to be misleading as we both thought it was comfortable until we went to sleep that was.

    Perfect location for walking into town or to the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very close to Bournemouth for shopping and entertainment, the hole hotel was very clean and tidy,very friendly staff and very helpfull, the food was excellent value for money,checking in was fast and car park was value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were excellent but breakfast was supposed to be till 10 30 yet a little after 10 tea and coffee were not replaced the scrambled egg had black bits in it and the first plate I picked was dirty having already plated a number of items then had to wait almost 10 minutes for bacon !

    The rooms were a good size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was awful 2 singles zipped together had to sleep on one side as it was really uncomfortable. phone didn't work in room either, very dated room

    staff were lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prise - quality for.the food. Nice breakfast but the dinner and the kitchen need to improve on the quality of.the products used.

    Location, and dedicated to customer service staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have paid breakfast with my room however I have been told we need to pay extra if we want omelette or anything. However they have it on their website and menu saying that you can order porage or omelette.they should have it clear on the menu .

    I like that the staff are friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin you hear banging doors all night...you can hear conversations from the room above...the hot water was intermittent when showering...rooms need serious updating...rooms not reflective of reception, spa and restaurant

    The staff, restaurant and spa

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner pre paid for a bottle of wine to be in the room on arrival as it was my birthday but the hotel failed to deliver, she had to go to the bar and get it

    Pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa rooms and corridors small, decor dated and problems with locks/ key cards.

    Spa was disappointing tiles falling off poole temp was cold. Crowded and poor storage arrangements

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am Female and was alone for the first night. When I was settled in for the evening I was making sure that all the windows were locked eccetera and one of the window wouldn't lock as the lock was hanging off, it wouldn't have been such an issue only there was a roof below my window and somebody could have literaly stepped into my room. I reponded it immediately and when I left three days later nothing had been done.

    Nice hotel and friendly receptionists and housekeeping staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    me and my husband stayed here for our anniversary, to be awoken at around 12-12:30 to a group of men and women swearing and shouting in the hallway out side our bedroom door, then for it to continue into the bedroom right beside us.

    The spa facility's were lovely and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was blocked on arrival. Maintenance unblocked. Woke in the morning for it to be blocked again and had over floxed onto bathroom floor. Party at hotel meant music was thumping till 11pm and I mean thumping. Only good thing was they 'refunded out 10 parking fee and gave us another room for an hour so we could shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a group booking and not everyone had been allocated a room, the spa was awful and way over priced for the services, they also messed up the spa bookings and the hotel restaurant was shocking!! My friend ordered a meat platter and pizza, the meat platter was basically a sausage roll on a board and the pizza was from a supermarket and was brought out in a box! They didn’t even provide plates!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brown water running from bath, shower didn't work, sink didn't drain, roof in bar area dripping with water buckets all over the floor. Staff ignored our request to look at our ensuite, £300 for three days of hell!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time away with my husband and without my three children for three years and this hotel is just what we needed. Staff were polite and friendly and our room was perfect great decor room 204 if you want a nice room and the spa was just the icing on the cake for us . A place we really could relax and take time for our self. Great night sleep and the breakfast was one of the best I have had in ages there was so much to chose from I was nearly rolling back to the room full . We deffo be back again hopefully when there is better weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window sash didn't close properly therefore being at the front of the building traffic noise was very noticeable even late into the night. The bathroom didn't have an electrical socket for an electric razor.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: