Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harbour Inn 4 stars

Commercial Road, Porthleven, TR13 9JB, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Porthleven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 436 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly, nothing to much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room called Blue Buoy. Extractor fan for kitchen right outside bedroom window and very noisy. Started up at 7am so no chance of sleeping in

    Very friendly, nothing to much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little on small side and band on Friday night very loud in room, we didn’t mind but could annoy some people

    Lovely stay, staff very friendly, food really good. Would definitely stay again. Location perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were hot and although windows did open it was then very noisy

    Excellent location, friendly staff. Good pub atmosphere in Inn below and beer garden that looks out onto harbour

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely setting, beautiful room and pleasant staff. Shame about the dining fiasco and noisy extractor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room had a hideous view and was over the extractor fans for the kitchen. They turned on at 06.00 and stopped at 21.00. Sounded like a battleship on manoeuvres. There was also a distinct smell of urine near the stairwell. Priority was given to diners from outside and there was no designated area for residents to dine - a bit like a busy cafeteria and if you did not book a table you were out of luck! We dined out most of the time.

    The staff were welcoming and friendly especially the person who handled checkout, served our lovely carvery and handled breakfast. It was very busy yet she made all the difference as she was consistently helpful and always smiling. Room was tastefully decorated and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Shows Cornwall for what it is superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room view fantastic, Young woman who booked us in was really nice and helpful, she also ran the breakfast the next morning which was really great. I will stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    A very nice pub serving lovely food and with a great atmosphere. Rooms quite separate to pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was close to outdoor drinks area so noisy until about 11.00pm.

    Excellent breakfast with caring staff. Comfortable room with plenty of space and lovely shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    WE had a very enjoyable and restful few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise from the kitchen air conditioner was disturbing (Blue Boy room) especially as in the hot weather the windows needed to be open .

    The very helpful staff, the excellent 'pub grub', the clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    A really great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a problem but this is to be expected in a location like this. We managed to use the public car park which is free after 4pm anyway and there is on street parking 5 minutes away most of the time.

    The room was large, comfortable and beautifully presented with excellent views across the harbour. Staff were friendly and helpful and food in the restaurant very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only aspect which was less than perfect was the side entrance and corridors: somewhat tired looking.

    This is a traditional English inn in the centre of Porthleven and an excellent choice for anyone staying in town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay, but not very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not asked whether we preferred a non-smoking room and were put into a room that faced a smoking area. It isn't great value for money considering how big the rooms were, so I guess you're paying for location!

    Standard double was cosy and clean. Staff were friendly. Location great for Porthleven.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Well worth a visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is limited

    Great harbour position, even though it was a harbour side pub you have a separate entrance for the accommodation. The pub had a great feel with plenty of choice on the food menu and very busy which is always a good sign.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay, Good value for money and food was good too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    IT was a little noisy when the kitchen was open due to the ventilation system.

    I liked the view, the central position, and the comfort of the rooms. Ours had a settee and plenty of space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Very clean welcoming room spotless cleaned to a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the band which was a bit loud but other than that break was very good. Maybe a bit of a warning live music. If there was a warning I'm sorry but I didn't see it. However I didn't let it spoil our stay.

    Very clean welcoming room spotless cleaned to a good standard. Staff helpful and charming. Food was of a good standard, breakfast was very good ( Cornish cooked breakfast ) good and hearty, would had liked a bit more variety of cereal some fresh fruit had fruit cocktail but would have been nice just fruit. Check in was easy without problems check out was the same polite helpful. The harbour inn was great location plenty to discover nice walks relaxing break. Thank you to the staff at the Harbout Inn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Despite what I wrote about no air con in the room, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has no aircon and it was very warm at nighy (in early of May) so we need to open the door that lead to the small balcony otherwise we cannot sleep.

    Despite what I wrote about no air con in the room, the room itsef is clean and bed was comfortable. The bathroom also spotless. The location is central and beautiful right at the harbour! It’s a perfect based for exploring the area. The meal in the restaurant was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon was overdone on one of the breakfast but overall it was good.

    Lovely lady to greet us and shows us the room and also the lady in the morning at breakfast was so happy and friendly very refreshing to see happy staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    We were only there for one night. The Inn was very comfortable and we would certainly go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no specific parking for guests, but we were lucky enough to find a place not too far away.

    Our room was really comfortable and had a lovely view across the harbour. There were comfortable chairs in the bay window from which to watch the goings on. The evening meal was good but not exciting. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Great scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very hot in the evening a portable fan would have been useful. Towel rail could not be turned off in the room therefore reached extreme temperatures - think thermostat is broken

    What a beautiful location with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    In all other respects it was a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a Retinitus Pigmentosa sufferer I cannot see well in poorly lit areas. I explained this when advance booking a table for evening meal. Unfortunately, being put near a window didn't help as night fell I couldn't see my food. We asked at bar for a candle or table light but told the one light they had was broken. After a rather difficult and unsuccessful attempt to eat my meal I requested to speak with Mike the on duty manager who apologised. However, I asked him to be more mindful of receiving other guests like me and to have at least one table light (battery if necessary) to help in this situation.

    The friendliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in lovely Porthleven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in and check out takes place in the pub itself which can be a bit chaotic if it is dinner time! Although it wasn't an issue at all.

    We absolutely loved Porthleven and the location of the Harbour Inn couldn't be better. The room was really comfortable and clean; the bathtub was also nice. The staff are kind but the whole experience felt a bit less personal in comparison with other places we stayed in during our trip. The food in the pub is quite nice (the seafood platter was delicious and enormous). The breakfast was great too. The location is ideal if you are thinking about exploring Cornwall for some days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous friendly and fun
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal areas need update, parking bit obscure, needs picture to see where to go

    Friendly excellent food/value, location perfect, room well appointed Comfy bed. Plenty of locals good atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could go on for a little longer, as the times were quite early for some guests.

    Our room was lovely, overall it was a very lovely stay. The nachos in the restaurant are worth a try!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    All lovely apart from window repair team!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that having checked into my room to rest ( convalescing from recent operation) the management saw fit to send two window repair workers into my room whilst I was there, to assess window repairs. I was not happy as I wanted to rest but didn’t seem to have a choice!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing - you've got it right!! Well done to all.

    Location overlooking the harbour from our room excellent. Staff, cleanliness, food all excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Harbour Inn - a lovely port of call.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location matched by excellent staff service. Breakfast and evening meal very good -chef helpful when asked about one of the ingredients. Appreciated the thoughtfulness. Room good size and very clean with good selection of tea bags and other extras. The only problem - we didn't stay long enough!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    We have been there before and will go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was spacious and clean. However it could have felt more homely with some pictures on the walls, as they were very stark and white/cream in colour.

    The bed was comfy and clean etc. The breakfast was very good, lots of choice, and the staff very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    A little expensive for a view of a rooftop room, in Feb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overlooking a roof top, only having a door to open for fresh air as no window to open. not being told there was live music on until we’d checked in, trying to get extra milk for our drinks (in room) was met with enough for one more, worn bedroom furniture

    Staff friendly and helpful food good. Beautiful bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Pleasent and comfortable stay with good food and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lucky dip parking could give problems in high season.

    Very good breakfast. Harbour views. Lively Saturday evening with good band. Good atmosphere. Great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to visitors entrance has expended in wet weather and has to be slammed to close which makes it very difficult to sleep in the very expensive suite..!

    Great location, staff really nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Perfect location, wonderful room with a view
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - one of the best stays of our visit to Cornwall

    Great location, and our room overlooked the harbour, with a bow window thoughtfully kitted out with two chairs to enjoy the best view possible. Comfortable bed, good bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location with large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit hit and miss

    Very good sized rooms with great bathrooms. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good breakfast and restaurant/bar. Great location on the harbour

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and happy. We had an evening meal and breakfast and both were really good. We stayed in a harbour view room which was very comfortable. The complimentary Cornish biscuits were a lovely local touch, plus we liked the Orla bathroom showergel. Overall a great place to stay, excellent location and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    No fuss, relaxing, ideal stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel and the area is very popular. The accommodation is very nice, modern decor in a traditional building ideal for a short break.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    A comfy stay with outstanding food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small grudge that I believe after hours residents should be given a little longer to relax and have a drink.

    Lovely comfy room though very hot! Amazing food as always, good selection at breakfast and a shower I didn’t want to get out of, amazing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely setting and a cosy, welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to say, we had a lovely time.

    Location was great, food was good, staff friendly. Room was small but very nice. Nachos were amazing, were there the night of their pub quiz, good fun, made welcome came second :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful location, right next to the Harbour.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location, right next to the Harbour. We arrived in the dark so couldn't see much but it was so gorgeous at sunrise. The little town is lovely with lots of places to eat and drink.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Very good value and beautiful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in the bedroom just patio doors which we couldn’t open it was too windy and wet. The bed was too firm so I didn’t sleep too well but the shower was amazing so powerful.

    Quite a relaxed feel about the place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Great value for money ( £59 single occup. in a double room) in a pictureque Cornwalll village port
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room didnt have any view but not a loss as it was already dark on arriving.

    The room was very well decorated with a comfy double bed. The breakfast was exceptional with local fish options i.e. Haddock fillets, kippers as well as tradutional full english. Great location on the harbour (as name implies!) opposite a Rick Stein restaurant. Nuff said!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished at 9.00 Breakfast was mediocre Staff cleaning while breakfast is being served

    Very clean! Location ! The Sunday carver was fabulous!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The band on Saturday night were quite good, but we had no option other than put up with the fact that we could not escape them as they were very loud even in our room!

    The location, breakfast and evening meal were all very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Overall it was a good stay. But too noisy for old people like us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy dinning area. Also a band playing until 23.00 was plain to hear from our room, even with the telly on. We went out for a meal on the second night for a quieter dinning experience.

    The beer was excellent. The hotel is owned by a local brewery so a nice choice of beers too. Our bedroom and bathroom were very spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a personal preference on the bed - too soft, but others may like it that way. Oddly, the TV came on from stand-by all by itself - twice - after about an hour. Bit freaky the first time. Might have been linked to a dodgy light fitting above the mirror. Loo paper - haven't had such harsh and shiny loo paper since primary school. Oh and we doubt the "Dorset cereals" advertised on the breakfast menu were genuine - why decant them into plain dispensers if you've bought into Dorset branding?

    Smart room - looked newly refurbished - with good sized bed and bathroom. Bathroom towel rail super hot - welcome in November.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much, would have to be very picky to find fault

    Room was not massive but so well appointed; plenty of space to hang clothes & shelves. Comfortable bathroom. Location superb, overlooking the harbour; thought parking would be a problem, probably would in height of summer but we were lucky and parked right outside where the street parking was FREE!!!!! At least 3 very good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    A quality stay with a lovely vegan breky @views to match
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent views went down for breakfast was met with a smile she was aware i was vegan and proceed to tell me what was available Inc vegan sausage /hash browns mushrooms that were uncooked in butter etc lovely stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant but not good enough to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no window - very, very claustrophobic - feel we should have been warned. Shower was really low - my husband coukdn't stand up under it. Worst thing was breakfast - 35 minute wait for a very mediocre meal - tinned mushrooms for heaven's sake...this isn't the '70's!

    Lovely welcome. Nice decor, comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Super base in Porthleven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the back of the hotel so did not have a decent view, and the noise from the kitchen extractor system was noticeable when it was running although none of this really bothered us. Rooms at the from have super views over the harbour but of course you pay more for these I believe.

    The Harbour Inn is perfectly situated on the harbourside of Porthleven and has a lovely outside terrace overlooking the inner harbour. It is set in a parade of buildings containing fashion shops, local arts and crafts etc and if you don't want to eat at the Harbour Inn there are four top class restaurants within easy walking distance. The Inn itself is spotlessly clean and our room was a good size with excellent facilities. Breakfast was excellent and the English was generous and very nicely cooked to order.The staff were efficient and courteous and the bar area was comfortable, not at all noisy and had an excellent selection of cask ales and other beers etc. We did not eat there but looking at others who did, the food looked very appetising indeed. All in all an excellent base from which to explore Porthleven and surrounding area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    A perfect location right on the harbour wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room seemed to be very warm even when it was 15c outside

    Excellent choice at breakfast of both freshly cooked breakfasts & cereals & fruit. Shower in th bedroom was great & the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    It was ok the rooms were clean and bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a smoking area in the courtyard directly below the room we stayed in that was used by the bar customers and staff As is was hot we had the window open( no air con ) so consequently had smoke drifting in the window and heard every word that was spoken To be fair it didn't go on until the early hours

    Good entertainment in the evening The staff were very attentive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable time in this scenic village. Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the four nights the parking was full, we had to stay at the public carpark. That said, the public car park was free overnight and was only 100 metres away, so no big deal. Have a later or longer breakfast times.

    Harbour view was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely, however the window backed on to what only I can explain as an outdoor passage for staff, which made us feel overlooked. We didnt feel comfortable to keep the curtains open. Also, at night if we kept the window open we got a smell of smoke which I'm assuming was customers smoking outside of the pub.

    The breakfast was lovely, with a great selection of cold and hot breakfasts, and teas (my favourite). Staff were very friendly and attentive. Room was decorated lovely and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location and good for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been helpful to know where the hotel and its parking was.

    The lady serving breakfast was super friendly and better than all the other places in Porthleven

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic place, would highly recommend the Inn plus Porthleaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't fault the place other than the parking but how can you create parking spaces in such a lovely old place. The supermarket car park was £5 per day which is good but can be difficult to get a space if you have been out for the day and return at tea time.

    Everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay at The Harbour Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Porthleven is very crowded with tourists.

    The Harbour Inn is located along the small, charming, marina of Porthleven. Large and clean room. Nice terras in from of the Inn. Food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was great, especially the welcoming staff.

    Although tricky to park a car if you were unfamiliar with the hotel's access, this was what made Habour Inn's location so good. Steps from the harbour's edge with all of the villages charm on its doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.3
    In a nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled really bad and we could not change the room until the last night because the hotel was full. Room a bit noisy.

    In a nice location. Breakfast was nice also and the staff made us change to a bigger room the last night. Wifi was working very well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    A return to Porthleven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately we did encounter the Cornish Mist/rain and would have liked a guest sitting room where we could have relaxed with a drink (or two). The bars were always so packed with families (understandable in a popular inn at the height of the holiday season) and therefore rather noisy to hold a conversation together or with other guests.Pity about the hotel parking but we did manage to squeeze in every night. Overall we DID enjoy our stay.

    The facilities within the room first class - wish we had a front room but we were a late booking so realised we would not have choice. The rooms have been updated to a high standard. A little disappointed in not being able to have Sea Food Mornay from the Specials during our stay - my wife says the bubble and squeak was great. Staff there work hard and found time to be pleasant to us despite being so busy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent. We are talking about staying again in a few months
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't clear where to park but the staff were so helpful. This was soon rectified

    Breakfast and evening meal was great. Shower cap in the bathroom Door opened up for great ventilation Was a fan Great decor Real comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Busy Inn in great location, on the quayside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a large, waterside outdoor terrace right outside which means that it isn't the most tranquil location if you are wanting to get an early night! Breakfast service finished at 9am, which seemed early for a holiday destination, especially as it was available much later to non-residents.

    Busy Inn in great location, on the quayside. Pleasant, recently decorated room with sitting area overlooking harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.6
    breakfast was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room with a view was the extractor & cooling fans right outside our window which ran all night therefore a poor nights sleep.The meal we pre-booked the table for took 1.20 to arrive (the chalked notice said delay of 30 mins) & my scampi meal was poor.

    breakfast was fine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect in Porthleven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My ONLY criticism was that we had French doors rather than a window so a bit worried about leaving them open at night, because of possible banging and security.

    Location, cleanliness, lovely staff and huge breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Really enjoyed Porthleven.A lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anything the noise that came from the smoking area at night. Maybe I'm being a wee bit picky.

    The cleanliness of the room and the hotel. The staff were most helpful and friendly. Tha food was good. Best of all the bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location, very clean and comfortable, very friendly and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms was a bit hot air conditioning would be a plus but not the end of the world.

    Old traditional Inn with some modern additions. Sky TV. Really important so I could watch the Lions! Great welcome and friendly people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Friendly, welcoming Inn. Ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be difficult.

    Ideal location. Very comfortable room. Staff were always helpful and nothing was too much trouble. As a Coeliac I was catered for very well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    We came to celebrate a special birthday and had a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    don't know can't think of anything

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good, room excellent with lovely view. Although we tarried late with friends on the last night over a meal there was no push to get us out of the door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The band downstairs was really too loud in all honesty. Some people may not want to hear such music when relaxing in a hotel by the sea :)

    Customer service from Wayne was exceptional. Booking.com didn't seem to pass on the fact that I had reserved the room for 2 people (there must be a glitch somewhere but unfortunately they never replied to my feedback). Wayne made sure we were looked after and was so attentive. I would definitely stay here again!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Harbour inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Special offers on prices would be a bonus

    Staff were friendly and provided an excellent service. The room was very comfortable and we had an amazing view of the harbour sitting in the window when it rained. The harbour itself is a peaceful beautiful place where i hope to visit again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent short stay and would go back for longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central position. Room had view of harbour. Helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Had suite with sitting area. 2 TVs. Many interesting places and good beaches nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Short stay in a cute Cornwall town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was only okay, and the assigned seating meant we were stuck next to the noisy breakfast bar (with the squeaking toaster and harsh lights) while other tables remained empty during our entire meal.

    The room was compact but very comfortable and overlooked the harbor. Porthleven is very small, so everything is within a few minute's walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Near Perfect Harbour side hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little dedicated parking. Some seating in the restaurant was a little grubby.

    Hotel was in a very good position and was exceptionally well presented and maintained. Furnishings in bedrooms were very comfortable. All staff were happy to help with any enquiries. I would definitely return here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Great accommodation for my trip down memory lane
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the kitchens at end of night from staff talking very loudly when clearing up. I couldn't get to sleep. I was in blue Buoy room.

    The position of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Good location, nice breakfast, but that's about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The offer of breakfast is not very wide, but the food is really good. There was a noise coming from the corner of my room, Rinsey, which was quite anoying. Also if you arrive on Saturday night, don't expect to go to bed early, as music was quite loud until 11.20pm. I also sent a message to the hotel through booking.com, which I never got an answer.

    The food offered for breakfast is really nice and tasty, nice pastries

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful inn, friendly staff and lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish our view had been better, but it didn't really matter!

    Staff were wonderful and friendly. The breakfast was great. The room was beautiful and spacious, very modern and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Friendly Staff & Modern Decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really very small given the price, but understandable given the location and the investment made in refurbishing the rooms to a high standard

    As a walker I'm always grateful that St Austell Inns provide consistent standards of accommodation in popular areas where there seems to otherwise be a lack of accommodation. They seem to have invested a lot of money in keeping their inns' decor fresh and modern - the Harbour Inn was no exception. Porthleven is a beautiful place and our room had a lovely view of the harbour - even through the pouring rain! The staff were eager to please and do all they could to make our stay a pleasant one. For example, they saw that we were dripping wet from our walk and expedited our check-in so that we could go and get a hot shower as quickly as possible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Pottering around Porthleven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The allocated parking for the hotel was limited which meant trying to find a parking space on the narrow road in front of the hotel. This wasn't too bad on the rainy day that we arrived but was a little more taxing on a sunny Sunday afternoon when the area is buzzing with visitors. It wouldn't however stop me from staying there again as it is such a lovely area and the staff at the Harbour Inn are very friendly and helpful.

    Our bedroom was spacious and nicely decorated, with a lovely comfy bed and sofa. I was a little disappointed not to have a harbour view but the room was very clean and comfortable. If I was to stay there again, I would request a harbour view room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful location, super Inn, lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was difficult at times, but we coped, it can be irritating when after a long day I had a difficult time searching for parking space, it did not spoil my holiday, but I think it really does need investigating. I thought the bed room needs checking on how it should be laid out, the bed itself although very comfortable was to wide for the space allocated for it, it left every little room either side, especially with a radiator reducing the space between bed and wall. The radiator could give you a problem, especially when the bathroom in the middle of the night, I actually gave my left foot a nasty whack, which left me yelling blue murder. Lastly I cannot remember not having a telephone in a holiday let, but just accept that as my misery aching, although my wife would not agree. But really we would like to thank the Harbour Inn staff for all their advice. Thank you ALL.

    The breakfast was outstanding, the choice was enormous.and very tasty. We recently returned from Silema in Malta our room overlooked the bay to the Capital Valletta, which has been acclaimed as one of the best hotel views in Europe. We can say the view from our room at the Harbour Inn, can match that view! The Staff e.g. Room, Bar, and waiting were excellent including the Supervisory Staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    Good location, very clean, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was above the kitchen and we couldn't open the window for long periods without the smell of the kitchen coming in - not really a problem - but a bit annoying

    Good location, very clean, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: