Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harbourside Hotel

86 Montgomery Street, Irvine, KA12 8PW, United Kingdom

#8 of 14 hotels in Irvine

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 475 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in back room.

    We were in a family room so had plenty of space. We were able to prepare simple meals in the room. Parking was no problem. Liked the added touch of a welcome basket, and plenty of tea and coffee. One negative was the wifi did not work in our room - but I found it would work just outside the back door.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit on the cheap and cheerful side, also the fridge in our room was noisy and right next to the bed.

    Location was handy with pubs etc in walking distance, free parking opposite, welcome basket with a beer, crisps, porridge wine and cakes, microwave and fridge in room. Very reasonable price. Ensuite facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay, and the weather really made out stay enjoyable. Staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out is 10 am.

    Staff friendly, and beds clean. A fridge, micro wave, hair dryer and kettle were available, and nice white towels. I must admit though, the shower was badly in need of repair. A few cracked tiles, and grouting needing cleaned. Apart from that a good time was had by all. A good walk to the beach, which we thoroughly enjoyed, as the weather was glorious. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants and bus stop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Perfect for our reason to stay, i.e a base for our stuff and free parking to visit nearby family.
    • Couple
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath,

    The bed was extra comfy the fridge and TV made the stay perfect the seats and table outside the room (11) was brilliant in the sunshine. The location to shops and seaside walks were superb.plus free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Ideal place to stay close to everything and doesn't break the bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being picky the beds had no headboard.

    Good value room on ground floor .The welcome hamper was a lovely touch.The location is great,right next to train station,shops ,pubs restaurants plus located at the harbour.We will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    This is suited to contractors and as such was fine
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom an odd and awkward shape in our room and could of done with some better light proof blinds in room as sun woke us up at 430am not a problem in winter

    The welcome basket was a nice touch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    nice place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    didnt realise no resturant so had to go out for meals so room only but with asda and weatherspoon close by it was ok

    enjoyable 2 night stay on arrival shown to room and shown a welcome basket with wine , can of lager, porridge etc which was brill room was clean tidy and comfortable . location was great close to harbour shops pubs etc esp the ship pub , great food friendly staff made to feel really welcome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Great value and location if you're not looking for anything fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic, you need a phone to gain initial access because of offsite staff, it would be great to see a bit of TLC for the room instead of the "like this page for the free welcome basket" It's really needing some work done in the bathroom, though it is functional enough. It could be a really nice room with just a little work.

    Great location, great price and clean enough, close to lots of excellent restaurants, cafes, Irvine railway station and the local retail park. On the main road but our room was at the rear so no traffic noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Good.. many thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to have chance to meet the staff at Marina inn which I wish to meet any of them

    I booked for Harbourside hotel on web booking.com.. but they change me to Marina Inn which were nice of them ..because I would have panic if can’t get room at last mins..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Cheep and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previos guests drinks still in fridge and tv set to record freeview channels so kept changing while we used it. Small double bed.

    Cheep and good value for money. Good location with easy access to nearby area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.3
    Horrible
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lower end accommodation. No toiletries so bring your own soap to shower ( none provided ) and extra toilet paper ( we ran out ). Staff is on site only during the day. Contact phone number on the entrance door for staff after they all leave for the day. Bed mattresses are cheap so not good for a long stay. Our floor was bouncy in places ( trip hazard ) . Ward robe door hinge broken. Keep your shoes on inside your room. All stairs to access rooms.

    Great location. Close to shopping, restaurants and transit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Great room even with the toilet hiccup.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in room 4 didn’t flush and had to take the cistern cover off to manually flush the toilet.

    I stay there all the time when I’m visiting friends in Irvine. Everything I need for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a paint

    The housekeeper was a lovely girl couldn’t do enough the girl on reception had a terrible attitude said we could check in at 11.30 but she told us to come back at 1pm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Convenient and cheap but you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was tired and in need or some TLC if not a full refurbishment. The bathroom suite was old but functional, although the shower cubical leaked; the wardrobe doors were not fitted properly meaning that they could not be used easily; directly outside the window of room was very untidy with rubbish and lots of cigarette ends which was unsightly.

    Very friendly welcome; easy parking and access to nearby bars, restaurants and shops. They also offer a hospitality basket but if wishing to accept you must 'Like' their page on Facebook.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Family night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower never worked had early start and shower was either scalding hot or freezing so no showers for 4 off us 😣. Pillows could do with renewing no support for kneck as too thin 🤔

    Room was ideal, welcome pack was much appreciated, plenty room for double and 2 twins and very spacious bathroom 😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Val was really nice, showing me around, checking if everything is OK. Great place :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sheets were not totally white for one of the beds in the room. I am sure the bed-sheet was changed but maybe it has some stains.

    I love the location and the welcome pack :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Location very good with lots of amenities and near to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light bulb not working. No plates/dishes or cutlery & cracked mug. Bed and pillows very soft. Could put in chairs and another bedside table instead of an extra single bed.

    Location very good with lots of amenities and near to a great beach and walking areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Great sized family room and with a lovely welcoming basket
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't comfy and squeaked every time you moved. Also the flooring. There was no lighting that worked in the hall. We were on the top floor and we had to use the torches on our phone as we got in late due to being at a dance competition.

    The size of the room and bathroom was a perfect size for the family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was basic but comfortable and good location at the harbour side of Irvine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People smoked outside our room in a small courtyard, when it was supposed to be a non-smoking hotel (which wafted into our room), and smoked outside the front of the hotel, making it look a bit seedy. We didn't see any staff the whole time we were there, so no-one to query anything with, you had to make a phone call to speak to anyone. Not even sure if we've paid yet.

    The room was spacious and clean. The welcome basket was lovely and useful as there was no breakfast included (we didn't realise this when we booked, although it is stated on website). The location was good, near to facilities, restaurants, supermarket etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Very good value but a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Squeeky door and floorboards outside my room which disturbed my sleep. The car park area to the rear is not good for motorcycles , the chuckies need to be compacted to allow easy movement.

    Location was excellent for my needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress was far too soft, couldn't find my room lack of signage. Squeeky floorboards and could here the neighbours but good value for money for some sort of a sleep and heat.

    Was cheap

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hospitality: we were 20 minutes to wait outside the door despite our communication of the arrival time included, however, in the check-in time frame given by the structure

    price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic, good as a base if you are going to be out all the time. The rooms are a little old fashioned and could do with a freshen up with paint

    The welcome basket you receive on arrival is very nice. The location is very central and there are plenty of lovely walks you can go

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful economy hotel!
    • Group
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old and the decor rather dated and in need of upgrade.

    This hotel is set in an ideal location at Irvine Harbour. I particularly enjoyed having a fridge and microwave in the room. The room was a decent size and had a large bathroom. The welcome pack is a nice touch! There are several eateries in the area. It was quiet in the evening and during the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel at a Good Price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room definitely exceeded my expectations. The bed was very comfortable.. I was surprised by the welcome pack. Very clean. And to top it all excellent value for money. I would without hesitation stay at this hotel again. The hotel is situated in a great location for the train station and the shopping centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    A truly pleasurable stay for travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had three beds. Two of the mattresses were very comfortable indeed but the other one felt like it had seen better days.

    The location is perfect, next to the station, and there is a lovely walk along the river to the beach and a park. The room was very comfortable and the welcome basket was very welcome after travelling. It had biscuits, porridge, beer, rose wine, ginger bread, chocolates and pringles. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    For our one night stay it was perfectly adequite
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facade and entrance hall is dark and not very welcoming.

    Facilities in the room were good with microwave(not used), tv,iron,hairdrier,tea/coffee making facilities and fridge, welcome pack(beer,water,biscuits and porridge. The door to the stairs and rooms has a security code pad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice size family room and was peaceful and quiet enuf. & nice touch of hospitality basket - thankyou
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the bathroom seemed a bit uneven when u walked over it and also there was an issue of another guest or guests that had been smoking (&myself+daughter have asthma) I don't know if was coming from above us or next to us but was just the smell of it! ... we just kept the window open but reported it to owner in am. it is just an office area with someone there til abt 5/6pm then just rooms ...I don't think there are staff on overnight? but u do get the phone no to call if u need anything. good value tho for just a stop over to stay the night inbetween journeys etc .

    wasn't any breakfast facilities. (ud think something with the name hotel in it would) but there was a micro & fridge in the room but on my teaspoons for the coffee so we had to get plastic forks from nearby. The room was nice enuf (x1 dbl x1 single). We did however get a nice hospitality tray just for liking & sharing on Facebook so that was nice of them x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Bed was comfy and room had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfy and room had everything we needed...It was nice and warm too.... A lovely wee welcome basket was left for us .... This was a return visit.....The hotel is in a good location for shops and transport links.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    We were in the "granny flat" at back of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable. Wifi didn't reach our room.

    We were in the "granny flat" at back of the property so it was quiet and a good size. The welcome tray was above expectation. Kids enjoyed the stay so will come back in summer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Fine for a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and family room was on the top floor so we were hauling a pram up 2 flights of stairs daily. Not their fault but there was roadworks at the time of our stay which went on till 10pm, not great when you’re trying to put 2 children to bed!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Checking in and out was quick and easy. Great location, very central. Right next to the train station and a short stroll from the shopping centre and harbour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Will definitely book again
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Train station is steps away. Perfect if you plan to stay in beautiful countryside but have to go to Glasgow city as train is frequent. Facilities very comfortable and clean - beds, toilet, microwave, fridge. Perfect for a small family. And the welcome basket was very thoughtful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Visiting family in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything good.

    The room was extremely comfortable and bed very cosy as it was winter so much appreciated. The welcome basket was a nice touch , the location if your a tourist was good right near the harbour and a few restaurants and bars near by. The staff were very friendly and helpful would definitely stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    It was certainly value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had noisy neighbours but the Hotel wasn't to blame for that.

    Very impressive welcome pack on arrival. No one was on duty but was easy to access with the information we got from the Hotel. The location was great and very near the train station and as we don't drive it was easy to get to other places.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Kids were happy so that means I was happy..it's in safe area an it's so quiet an peaceful..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like all was great

    The room was clean.. plenty of space..towels lovely an soft..staff 100%..It's beside everything u need for that break away..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.5
    Basic hotel but in a good convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating on when we arrived Roadworks outside our window Bathroom needs updating, broken shower tray and toiler seat

    The bed was comfy and good bedding

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Good position near the station and the harbour.
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good position near the station and the harbour. Excellent value for money. Accommodation only but breakfast and dinner places nearby. Good welcome tray in room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Beyond my expectations- thank you
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cool shower

    The owner/ Manager was exceptionally hospitable and personally kind as he drove me to my place of work and came to collect me to catch my train. Fantastic !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    great location wound stop again if better shower and locks on doors
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor shower locks need up graded to make me secure the door when locked/ had lot play in it so it could easy be forced

    nice hospitality tray warm room and tidy clean. poor shower/ door locks poor needs better locks for me stay again over all good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Perfect location for restaurants/pub in the evening and the shopping centre was minutes away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time I've stayed in a hotel where there wasn't anyone at the main desk through the night Felt a little uneasy

    The room was very comfortable with everything we could possibly need for our stay The welcome basket was fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    Lovely welcome pack fridge and microwave in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame the beds are not comfortable because the hotel is is nice. This is my third time staying here in three different rooms and not one of the beds have been comfortable.

    Lovely welcome pack fridge and microwave in room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice place with everything you need also close enough to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, Only the bed was very uncomfortable and told one of the staff and they gave me a mattress topper.

    Nice place with everything you need also close enough to the town centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    you get what you pay for !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy rooms and bathroom grubby... we were kept awake by the adjacent room bathroom extractor fan going off every couple of hours. this is definately an issue.

    it is a friendly accommodation keenly price and the trains are near by

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.5
    Exhausted!!!🤬
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it was all workers that stayed there being woken up at 6 am every morning was terrible we went there to get a rest but came home exhausted and the noise factor from them was awful !!! Don’t stay there unless u want a 6am start in the mornings !!

    The central location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    Cheap hotel which is just fine for a short stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast service, but there's basic requirements in-room with kettle, etc. Heating was only just sufficient and shower was pretty small and fragile. Beds are quite old and thus a little noisy.

    Within walking distance to a shopping centre, the train station and also the harbour for drinks and/or a meal. Bed linen clean, and spacious shower-room. Easy parking and 24-hour access.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    The phrase "It is what it is!" sums up the hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nobody there when I arrived and had to wait until another guest let me in! They appear to wish to have some restrictions of sites you can access using their Wi-Fi, If I wish to view porn then it is not up to them to stop. Luckily a quick download of some VPN software bypassed their nanny state!

    Location was the only redeeming thing, room was cold but quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Harbourside Hotel .5⭐
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.xx

    It was well situated..right by main shopping mall.little quaint pubs and cafes....Rooms were immaculate...iron, heater microwave and kettle already in room..even welcome pack on arrival..amazingly good value..Staff were lovely..No Access restrictions or time kerfews..Thoroughly enjoyed stay there ..would definitely use again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    For the price we payed we were really happy with the service we received, we will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little bit cold, there was an additional heater in the wardrobe but as the room was quite big it didn't make a huge impact, however it was a particularly cold night outside, so this wouldn't put us off staying again.

    Really liked the fridge and microwave in the room, especially as we were travelling with a toddler. The welcome pack was a lovely added bonus. The room was and bathroom were very spacious. The room was very clean The TV had a good range of channels and the free wifi was very handy too. There were ironing facilities available

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    amazing and friendly place to stay with a fantastic welcome pack.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there wasn't anything we didn't like,it was wonderful.

    everything was close to the hotel,train station,shops,bars,restaurants,greggs,art centre,shopping centre,a brilliant place to stay and very nice people,pleasantly surprised how cheap it all was,and a lovely welcome pack of proscetto,lager,marshmallows,shortbread,pots of porridge,bottles of waterand a pack of pringles,absolutely fantastic,thank you harbourside hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out seemed to be a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was a case of DIY or head in to town.

    Nice welcome ggodie basket when I arrived. Very handy for the station - I had a very early start and late arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice cheap and clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no breakfast, but there was a few goodies in a basket which more than compensated for this, and you could get breakfast nearby

    It was everything we needed at a nice cheap price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    The welcome pack was a great idea;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It might have been better if we had a room facing out front of the property, but someone has to stay at the back and this is certainly not a complaint.

    The welcome pack was a great idea; for the price of £50 per night i would thoroughly recommend this accommodation - it is not the Ritz, but it does not pretend to be and it scored a solid 8 out of 10 from us across the board.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed and lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go out for breakfast, as when booking breakfast wasn't an option.

    I liked the layout of the family room, really nicely decorated, we had a fridge an tea making facilities, we were able to come an go as we pleased. The staff were on hand if we needed anything,numbers were left on the door, but they didn't contact us, We had free WiFi, a welcome basket, able to leave keys instead of checking out.There is 2 little cafes which do breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one to greet us. Security light right outside glass door so everyone who passed set it off and it lit our room up waking the baby! Room tired and shabby toilet dirty.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Would not return to this particular hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We appreciate that it's a very old hotel, however it's obvious no money has been spent over many years, badly in need of upgrade to comply with today's generally expected standards.

    None of the above ratings would suit this property. We consider the property to be not good value for money in its present state. We do not understand the rating of 4.6 This would only be suitable if the top score is 10.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    All in All,we had a great overnight stay,,great wee pub's around,plenty to see during the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i did'nt like was that i was told we paid on The property,but The money was taken from my card.

    The bed was very comfy,The wee basket on arrival was a nice touch,& plenty of tea & coffee,i like'd how all The detail's were sent directly to me,,,,ie,,,door code's.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Hooray for the Harbourside Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent large family room with lots of amenities. Super quiet spot close to transport links but close to bars/restaurants. Good base for family excursions! Had a lovely experience! Will certainly use again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable.

    Excellent value for money. Fridge and microwave worked very well for us. A very special thanks to Andy and team for refunding us for two days as we had to cut our stay short!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    This is an excelent stop over for the ferry to arran.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was only using it as a stop over so it didnt matter but it seemed a bit out of the way.

    The welcome pack was very welcome. I was very tired and hungry so it put me on until I took the short walk to Asda where I bought some food and cooked it in the microwave in my room. The room was well presented, the bed was very comfy and all was nice and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The let your self in pin number was a bit confusing but that could just be me!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    it was an old building and was ok for one night but wouldn't want to stay more than 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy but a little too soft. Cars, evening revellers walking home and seagulls! didn't make for a quiet sleep

    The welcome pack was good,a Beer, a wine,porridge, crisps and shortbread. Also had a fridge & a microwave + teA & coffee etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    It was really good stay, all we needed as we were out and about all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like someone had been smoking in it. The mattresses all felt as if the springs were coming through them. The whole room needs a make over. Room 11

    The early check-in is fab

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    The bed was very comfortable (to my liking), Location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable (to my liking), Location was handy for local amenities. Easy on street parking. A much appreciated "Welcome Pack" and a bonus bottle of Prosecco. I had left my jacket behind and contacted the hotel on returning home a BIG thank you to Andy and his staff for posting it to me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Was perfect for our needs and would look to book again for group of visiting golfers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fridge and microwave in the room which was good for storing our food / drinks for packs ups as we were attending the Scottish Open . The location was excellent in terms of closeness to railway station , shopping centre and Weatherspoons and other pubs .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Good Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome basket was a lovely thought and a nice surprise. Only thing I was unhappy about was no heating on , other than a small heater which was a bit wobbly. It can still get a bit cool at night especially when mum is 89 yrs

    Room was clean and tidy and good value for what we paid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.4
    Adequate for one night short stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms....family room was spacious....second double room was very small....there was a loud dripping/tapping noise on ceiling of room 7 all night

    Rooms were very clean and beds comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Amazing, didnt want to leave. Will be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Staff were extremely friendly. Loved the hamper and so did my partner (got two cans of beer). Microwave and (full sized) fridge were a great perk. Room size was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only issue was with our double room which smelled heavily of cigarette smoke,however it seemed to be recent and the staff(Andrew) very kind about it when I notified them and offered to help us

    We had rooms that were outside of the main hotel, and as we had just come from my 21st, we didn't have to worry as much about disturbing the other guests -it was very close to the station and the venue plus the rooms themselves were lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    whole family had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was more like a mini apartment ,everything in it you could need,also had a lovely touch with a welcome basket waiting for us ,it was in a great location ,had small car park behind property,but train station was right next door also the shopping centre,and harbour was just a walking distance from hotel also the maritime museum which kids loved .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    6.7
    Room very small for price. No breakfast unless u walk 300yds to Wetherspoons
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom cabinet made it difficult to brush your teeth. Decor a bit 80's, could do with a bit of colour, very brown n beige! Overpriced, considering we could have stayed in the Premier Inn (not too far away) for half the price, and had a bigger, more modern room and facilities.

    En suite shower was lovely. We had a fabulous meal at The Ship Inn (further along the same road toward the harbour)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    Great time had by all. Would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The early check out time . Would have liked atleast another hour onto this time but I understand that it's 2 give u time to get the rooms cleaned for the next set of people arriving due to your early check in times.

    Location of the hotel was great so handy to shops etc and an early check in time. The hospitality tray was a nice idea aswell.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    Friendly, organised staff, comfortable great location
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street side was a little noisy.No shelf or place to put toiletries. No mirror in the room near a plug and no plug near the mirror in the bathroom. Couldn't dry my hair or use straighteners. A couple of coat pegs near the door would be great.

    The welcome note on the door. Extremely helpful staff. Couldn't do enough. Freedom. Welcome goodies basket. Full size fridge. Coffee and tea. Microwave even tho we didn't use it. We will come back but book a family room downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic little hotel with everything you need provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value for money. Warm and comfortable with everything I needed provided plus a lovely little hospitality basket of goodies. Excellent customer service and communication from the staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again when we return to Irvine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Complimentary snacks and cereal for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is quite small for 3 people, let alone 4; but you get what you pay for (it's really cheap).

    Complimentary snacks and cereal for breakfast. No interaction with staff, which could be both an advantage and disadvantage (depending). Separately spaced rooms mean no interference from other guests. Overall a great value for money accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy outside. With windows open it was quite hard to sleep from the noise of revellers. Microwave wasn't clean however this wasn't a reflection of the rest of the room.

    Free hamper was excellent. Beds were comfortable. Excellent value for money & convenient. Room overall was clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice welcome pack in the room, good WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Double Bed and 2 Single Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be doing with an update, however it was clean. No slats on the middle window, they were in the chest of drawers plus there was a draught coming in, room was a bit cold so we plugged in the halogen heater which was in the room. 1 of the single beds has a bit of a dip in the middle of the mattress.

    Nice welcome pack in the room, good WiFi. Having a fridge and microwave in the room came in handy, they were nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: