Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harcourt Hotel

Fore Street, Ilfracombe, EX34 9DJ, United Kingdom

#5 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in Ilfracombe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    A nice hotel close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all ok met my needs for my short stay

    stayed here 2 nights good breakfast any thing you wanted just have to ask fruit cereals owners chatty and informative bed was comfy ensuite room suppried how big the hotel is just up the road from harbour and local eating places

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great visit to Ilfracombe and stay at the Harcourt Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just me but I found the fabric conditioner used for the bed linening over powering very strong fragrance.

    Great stay very clean rooms quiet at night lovely breakfast and friendly host good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    A perfect little hotel and a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I didn't get a sea view room but I hadn't requested one either, I was just hopeful as I knew there were lovely views from the back rooms. No lift either but thankfully I was only on the first floor. Only one floor above that so not too bad.

    All of it. Room spotless. Best Miles teabags in room. Comfy bed, nothing too much trouble. Great location but as I used to live in the town I knew what to expect. It is on a hill though for those who would find that a problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff pleasant, room very clean and tidy.. even had a early morning alarm( fire alarm )
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit chilli.. could of been a bit warmer than it was.. other than that great

    The bed.. smelt very clean.. everything was clean and tidy... can’t fault it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Home from Home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable with everything I needed, breakfast offered but declined so a packed lunch was made for me instead, a lovely touch which made my stay even better!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was lovely and would consider going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A down stairs room for my partner who struggles to get upstairs and 4 flights of stairs to climb at least 3 to 4 times a day was a bit munch

    We both liked everything about the hotel and the owners were very friendly polite and helpful the view from window was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in Ilfracombe is an issue. We managed to park outside the hotel the first night but had to find a car park for the second.

    We had a lovely 2 night stay. The owners were very welcoming. The room was comfortable and our dog was made welcome. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked and enormous, with a range of options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Kirsty and John were excellent hosts who helped us resolve...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kirsty and John were excellent hosts who helped us resolve transporting our bikes unexpectedly and were very understanding with checking in and out when we needed it. Nothing was a problem, they were so helpful. Very clean and well presented rooms and excellent breakfast selection including gluten free options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Warm, friendly and inviting. Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not anything to dislike. The location is fantastic, the rooms comfortable and clean, the breakfast was excellent and as already said you could not fault the staff. We had a wonderful weekend and when next we visit we would book here first.

    The way we were treated by the staff from first arriving until the end of our stay was exceptional. Their consideration was above what you would normally expect, to the point that when they cleaned our room and noticed we had brought a bottle of prosecco with us but no glasses, left two champagne flutes for us. This on its own was thoughtful but add it to the fact they would have had to go down and back up 4 flights of stairs to our room (as we were on the top floor) meant a little bit more! Definitely appreciated the thought and subsequent action.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Ace!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly welcome. Helpful staff. Great breakfast which you can choose what you like. Overall fantastic family run hotel and couldn't ask for mate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    First class , great value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 3 parking spaces at property . Nearest carpark is only 200 yards away , but that weekend was birdman contest so had to park about a mile away until late evening .

    Great breakfast . Packed lunch on day I missed breakfast .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Flexibility on breakfast time to get to the harbour by 9am
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that two adjacent similar rooms (admittedly one was a double used as a single) were so different in price - £34 and £74

    Flexibility on breakfast time to get to the harbour by 9am

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Lovely couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This family run hotel was wonderful. There was plenty of choice for breakfast . The hotel is situated really conveniently within the centre of Ilfracombe .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no negatives to our stay

    The hotels location was excellent, we also managed to park outside the hotel in a private drive. Delightful owner, and a lovely cooked breakfast, good choice available. Very clean and well equipped room, good view of the sea. Would stay there again...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic family friendly holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither can be helped by the hotel but the only things to bear in mind are to keep an eye out for parking restrictions & move car as soon as have unloaded bags into hotel if arriving between 10am-4pm to avoid getting a ticket. And be prepared for achy legs if choosing to walk the hilly route to the sea front.

    Staff were very welcoming, was like home from home for our 4 year old. Cleanliness was great, would never have guessed it is a dog friendly hotel. I liked how you can choose to use the ensuite shower or the bath in a private lockable bathroom which my son loved. Breakfast was outstanding, cooked to order whatever you liked & more than willing to refill refreshments in bedroom. Lots of local restaurants, all with 5* hygeine rating serving lovely home cooked food & plenty to do walking distance or local day trips by car. Lovely town with its own little weather system, was beautifully sunny when we arrived despite the entire journey there being dull & foggy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    My first choice as a place to stay in Ilfracombe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location in the heart of Ilfracombe. Close to all amenities and a great selection of places to eat. Planning my next visit soon. Looking forward to seeing Kirsty, Jacqui and John.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    9.2
    Friendly family run hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is limited and couldn't be guaranteed, although we did manage to get a parking space when we visited. You are asked what time you want to have breakfast and what you want to eat (cooked breakfast) for the following day. I understand that this means you don't have to wait long for it and food is not wasted, but you may not necessarily feel like what you have ordered the following day. However this is just a minor point.

    The location was very good, only a short walk from everything. Breakfast was good with a help yourself buffet of cereals and fresh fruit followed by a made to order choice of cooked breakfast and toast, which was plentiful. Room was spacious, clean, with tea and coffee making facilities and had a sea view. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restricted car parking. Seagulls used my car for target practice overnight but in fairness staff very kindly provided hot water for cleaning purposes

    Friendly staff. Closely located to both high street and bar/resturant shopping. Good bedroom and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The friendliness and the offer to provide an early breakfast to accommodate my travel plans. This hotel totally understands its market and gives very real value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    The staff were really friendly and very welcoming, The breakfast was superb and loads of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very welcoming and friendly. Our room and the breakfast room were spotless. The breakfast was amazing, couldn't fault it in any way. The room itself was large with plenty of storage. It had tea and coffee facilities, beds were very comfortable, best nights sleep I have had in ages. Our room also had a sea view. There was also car parking space. Thank you for a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking was a nuisance, although we knew there was no parking and we found off road parking it just meant a little planning was needed.

    Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Just fabulous. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. Highly recommended!

    Fabulous warm welcome. Young children made very welcome. Great location. Spotless and well equipped rooms. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    As a resting place while walking the SW coast path, all you could ask for, and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location, an old street, with character, and would have enjoyed the bar had it been open - great views. Friendly owners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not great.

    Location and the food and cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking can be an issue but the public car park is free after 6pm until 8am.

    Great location and lovely rooms. It was quiet do a good night sleep too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Comfy Bed, Great Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy Bed, Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and welcoming, just what was needed after a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and welcoming, just what was needed after a hard day cycling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    It was a nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I did not like was the double flight of stairs

    It was clean and tidy relaxing and breakfast hot could get what you want

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great Gem of a Find!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hosts, welcoming and very helpful - lovely place, clean and very comfy and great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots stairs

    Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Good place to stay for short break over the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room a bit too small. a bit too hard to move around.

    good location, friendly staff, nice breakfast, cosy room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the middle of the town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Small,comfortable and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely breakfast,warm cosy room,excellent host

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like happy with everything

    We liked everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice welcome, friendly people and super breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Comfy and clean place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast by John. Excellent clean room with good sea view. Great friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Hotel was very clean, the facilities were very good, The room was nice and a very good size

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Great to see the area and ideal for short stay in devon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was a bit slow

    Room very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Best hotel in ilfracombe,my second visit ,staff are so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Best hotel in ilfracombe,my second visit ,staff are so friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Perfect... :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect.... :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    A hotel that tries hard to maintain an excellent standard of service.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Very clean room, plus a sea view. Quiet enough to have a good night's sleep and all appliances worked! No complaints at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Don't change a thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't change a thing.

    The room was wonderful, quiet and had a lovely Sea view. Shame I only stayed one night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Great location, easy to find, lovely owners and staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, easy to find, lovely owners and staff, perfectly clean, comfortable, fantastic breakfast. The way life should be.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    nice short break very close to all amenities
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rain

    good welcome from john and kirsty very pet friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom but was fine for the night I stayed so not really a problem.

    Friendly helpful staff, beautiful location, comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Excellent friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking maybe,but ilfracombe is a pain for parking

    Staff extremely friendly and welcoming,they even got all the guests a creme egg as it was easter

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    BRILLIANT!! Highly recommend!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are brilliant and couldn't do enough for us! The location is excellent and everything is in walking distance

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Brill
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Comfy and lovely welcome top breakfast too !!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Did what it said on the tin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The particularly relaxed, friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly owner. Breakfast great and cooks what you request. Rooms very tidy and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and freindly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location and lovely people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Home from home....truly a special experience. Kirsty and family make you feel so welcome. Have been before and will return again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Fantastic customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nil

    Fantastic customer service. Just quality, value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, perfect hosts, perfect accommodation and food!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money. Friendly. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Standards every establishment should aspire to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind. Happy with everything.

    Friendliness of all the staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Our anniversary break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was WiFi that's it.

    The staff couldn't do enough for us :). Food was lovely cooked for you what you wanted :).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Everything nothing was too much trouble we were looked after...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything nothing was too much trouble we were looked after well and Samson my bull dog was spoilt rotten Thank you x

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.3
    Great location, staff were really helpful and breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, staff were really helpful and breakfast was brilliant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Service was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn;t realize that the restaurants all closed so early...and Pubs didn't serve food after 9:00pm.

    Service was wonderful...beds were comfy bathroom was clean...food was delicious, hosts were friendly and very helpful. Loved being near so many stores, old churches and eateries.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    The owners are lovely ppl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being so tired after walking the SWCP from Croyde Bay to Ilfracombe..Actually we loved the hotel.👍👍and yes we will stay again..

    The owners are lovely ppl.Nothing is too much trouble.We needed a taxi..It was ordered for us!!Brilliant!If other meals are like the breakfast then your in for a treat.I even had soldiers with my boiled eggs.👍

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Visited ilfracombe probably a month too early as very little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Visited ilfracombe probably a month too early as very little was open around the harbour area, however it was worth it to stay at this lovely hotel. The owners are very welcoming and the room was lovely. We had everything we needed in the room and the shower worked well. The bed was soft and comfortable and the view was great and would've been even better had the sun been shining. Hairdryer, tv, tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast was a feast with homemade fresh fruit salad to start then full English and toast (with black pudding which i love) my husband had kippers and poached egg and there really was a lot of food set you up for the day. Very friendly and helpful and gave us some ideas of places to go our way home..we took their advice and visited lynton and lynmouth cliff top railway..which was an experience. There's a few spaces to park outside the hotel or a car park round the corner Tip..There's a no entry sign at the top of the road but underneath it says access only..so you can drive the hotel and unpack your bags even if you can't park actually at the hotel. We will return in the summer :-)

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom was a bit cramped. Sink was over my knees while sat on the toilet.

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly. Only a 5 minute walk to the sea.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    9.2
    Clean and tidy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room overlooked the street and the hotel's outdoor drinking area. Not a problem on a wet Wednesday in February, but might be a different matter on summer weekends?

    Clean and tidy room. Comfortable bar and dining area with good beer and imaginative food. The hotel is right in the town centre so very convenient and easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    9.6
    The minute I arrived I was greeted and made welcome by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The minute I arrived I was greeted and made welcome by the owners. My room appeared to have been recently decorated and bed linen looked new. The room was clean and warm with the added benefit of an electric radiator, cosy. The bed was very comfortable and the tea/coffee facilities were well stocked. Multi channels available on the TV. My en-suite although small it was clean and well stocked, great drying towels.There was a great choice on the breakfast menu and the breakfast itself was delicious. If I'm ever down in that area of Devon again I will most definitely stay at the Harcourt Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.5
    Staff were great, view is stunning and the hotel's both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor's pretty dated and other rooms a bit too audible.

    Staff were great, view is stunning and the hotel's both central and a 2 minute walk from the water.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Staff extremely accommodating.
    • Solo traveller

    Staff extremely accommodating. I booked for my dad who hurt his leg after i booked the accommodation. Although he was due to be on the first floor, on arrival his room had been swapped to the ground floor. Fantastic breakfast & great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    I've now stayed here three times and have found it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I've now stayed here three times and have found it perfect for my requirements on each occasion. Always a friendly welcome. Rooms are comfortable, well-furnished and spotlessly clean. Plenty of complimentary tea & coffee and good quality toiletries. Breakfast is well worth getting up for and the scenic patio, overlooking Capstone Hill and the Bristol Channel, ideal for taking your coffee out if the weather's good. Location is also excellent, being next to the High Street, just up the hill from the harbour area and about 5 minutes walk to the Lundy ferry mooring.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Jackie and her staff were very friendly and made us feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Jackie and her staff were very friendly and made us feel most welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and we were served lovely cooked breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Jacqui bent over backwards for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a bit creeky but that's it!

    Jacqui bent over backwards for us. Arrangements were made so that we didn't have to pay for parking. We were guided to particular restaurants and trips that are dog friendly. We were able to leave Coco at the hotel while we went for an evening meal. They have a pool table, dart board, fusball table and a bar for entertainment in the evening and a wonderful relaxing garden with a great view. The back garden has an exit down towards the beaches. The perfect location!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    It is not always easy travelling solo but I felt totally at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As a person with mobility problems I found the parking very difficult but realise that that was out of their hands.Sadly this means that I would not be able to do a return visit which saddens me as this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.

    It is not always easy travelling solo but I felt totally at home and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were amazing and the breakfast excellent

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and helpful at all times and there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to use stairs, which my partner who is registered disabled, found a bit difficult at times. Off street car parking is very limited.

    Staff were friendly and helpful at all times and there was a good choice of breakfast. The cooked breakfast was superb.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    - Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Noisy street outside - Bathroom door wouldn't shut - Couldn't park outside

    - Excellent breakfast - Fantastic hosts - Mints were a nice touch - Good location near all the restaurants and close to the harbor - Shower and TV actually worked properly where as most places I have stayed in ilfracombe had a problem with a least one of these -Wifi :)

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: