Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4 stars

Sedgefield, Sedgefield, TS21 2EH, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Sedgefield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 910 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    perfect location for races.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff at breakfast were bickering throughout. SMALL small fans for the room in the middle of a heat wave

    perfect location for races. nice and quiet in a park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Food was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated with several lights out, dvd broken and a lot of water came out of the shower all over the bathroom floor

    Food was amazing. Bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The home made croissants were delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee was poor; too much volume and too little flavour. I do not know what Italian guests would have thought!

    The home made croissants were delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful! !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the bar prices and the power shower wasn't as powerful as in other rooms but the bath made up for that.

    Everything - the scenery was great and the room was gorgeous. The staff were very accommodating with the children and the elderly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Post a concert - they were not really ready for more guests
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know there was a concert the weekend before - but the corridor floors were dirty and the not hoovered for the 2 nights that I was there.

    Initial room was small, dingy and smoky - although the staff were vere very friendly and moved me to a better room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Check booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought had booked a double room for 2 people only to find out next day the booking was only for 1 and was charged extra for breakfast even though on check in the hotel knew there was 2 of us cost me an extra £12,50

    Everything else

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely setting, good rooms, great shower, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was ok but not as good as we have had before and very slow even though we were practically only people there

    Room had lovely view, bed comfy and linen pristine, large clean bathroom, breakfast tasty

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing stay
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waste pipe on the toilet leaked all over the bathroom floor, nightstaff on desk didn't look at all interested. Moved rooms and shower wasn't draining away which resulted in me and my husband using towels to dry the bathroom floor to stop it going into the room.

    The grounds of the hotel are fantastic and peaceful, the food is beautiful, and the rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect night away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn’t really like, but if the rooms were a little cheaper it would have been better.

    My favourite part of the stay was the bathroom. The big fancy bath and big shower was just what I needed after just finishing work! Plus the massive bathroom with 2 sinks made it so much easier for me and my best friend to get ready for the party we were attending... just what us girls need!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    A romantic night's stay in a lovely hotel set in exquisite grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We were given an upgrade to a lovely room with huge comfy bed and a beautiful view. The breakfast was outstanding. The grounds are delightful, so secluded with sylvan views of the beautiful lake. Just wonderful for an early walk on a glorious summer's morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    The property is on its own grounds which are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sleep people up and down corridor all night absolutely waste of time. Tiniest room above a kitchen so the smell was horrendous. Not good at all

    The property is on its own grounds which are good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.3
    Below parr
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service from staff on bar/at wedding were inexperienced and underprepared Many wedding guest have been ill following the event Bathroom was unclean - specifically shower Breakfast was underwhelming Overpriced

    Comfy bed, picturesque grounds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    The room was very good, the staff very pleasant and we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice with regard to Real Ales. The only hand pull was Black Sheep. The ony alternative was keg John Smith's.

    The room was very good, the staff very pleasant and we were very comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, peaceful bedrooms at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a bit on the expensive side.

    I have used this hotel before the room was excellent, the bed was very large and a large bathroom. The cleaning staff are friendly and gave us additional tea/coffee, overall the staff are very good and polite at all times.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Food was absolutely gorgeous, location is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was so noisy on a night, got woke up a number of times by people arguing and the noise of the lift.

    Food was absolutely gorgeous, location is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Room very clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scope for improvement at breakfast.

    Room very clean and comfy. Dinner in Rib Room excellent. Very good food, attentive staff and great little restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Great venue if you're on holiday, no good if you need to work whilst staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi, or lack of it.

    The staff were helpful, especially those in the restaurant, the room was very spacious, but why can't a modern hotel get wifi to your room. It was a real pain having to go to reception to use it. Plus to be told by the receptionist that there were only a few rooms where the signal was weak, but most of our party of 14 had poor wifi coverage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    The location was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom small.. but adequate for our requirements. Bathroom door was sticking & very difficult to open! This was not something that just had occurred. Room extremely hot & stuffy.. Could not sit in there & relax with current weather. Hotels need to start to invest in air conditioning facilities in rooms or at least overhead fans!! Uncomfortable sleep

    The location was lovely. Nice walks. Nice lounge area as you walk through into the hotel. & staff lovely & helpful..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in on this occasion was not as nice as previous ones. There were items in need of repair, a bad smell from the bathroom and we were next to the lift which was very noisy all through the night.We usually book direct but they were sold out so assume they sell the less nice rooms via third parties. I'd stay again but book direct with the hotel. There was no difference in the price.

    Another lovely stay. Lovely food, location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Nice place shame about the room location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the bottom floor nd guests were chatting and smoking outside our window and with it being warm we needed the window open .

    The location. And the staff we go there for our anniversary

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Love the location of Hardwick hall hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a big king size bed instead of two single doubles.

    Love the location of Hardwick hall hotel. Nice fresh feel to it as it has recently been redecorated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Gorgeous room and a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was absolutely beautiful with a gorgeous bath and traditional country-estate-style decoration. Our room was large with plenty of furniture and equipment to improve our stay. We ate in the rib restaurant and the staff were excellent and the food was fantastic. The nearby Country Park offered a lovely walk where I proposed to my girlfriend. A wonderful weekend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, in beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and nice atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs up to reception, which had the doors open to the rear of the hotel (staff areas) needed a good hoovering! The shower was super, but with a very small drainage hole, which meant that the water had the tendency to go over the tray and into the bathroom.

    Complimentary upgrade of room, which is always a nice surprise. Room very clean, and spacious, with a beautiful view of the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful weekend
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were quite lardge and Clean, Bathroom was alway quite lardge with both bath and wall in shower, loved our stay here.Location was also great. Would go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a premier room as we had stayed in the Asian inspired room on our last stay, which was beautiful. This time we had a different room which was nice but not to the same standard, it had mis matched furniture but not in a way that works think it could have been up dated. The main issue with our stay this time was the location of our room, we were put next to a wedding party who had four rooms right next to ours. It was noisey and people would knock on our door thinking we were with the wedding party. They went to bed late and got up very early as you would imagine for a wedding. We went away for a break and were more tired going home. We spoke to reception on check out as they asked about our stay, we explained the situation and that they should not put other couples next to a wedding party, infact they should be away from a wedding if they are not the guests as is will be noisey all the time. The receptionist apologised but did not say much else. We would definatly if we go back ask if there is a wedding on the weekend and ssk to be put away from that party.

    We have stayed at this hotel before so we knew what to expect. We love the hotel and the rib room is amazing for your evening meal. The bedrooms are always clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Picturesque location in the heart of England. It's like you're living in a novel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of our favorite places we've stayed. The rooms are beautiful, the location is beyond scenic and the food is amazing. I could stay there for weeks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel ,Fabulous views ,fabulous wedding venue .Would return again .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the Receptionist must have been having off day ,her fellow Colleague was professional, and give excellent customer service .The other one let the rest of her Team down badly ,was surly & rude. Not what you expect for 4star Hotel. Walk in shower was clean ,pity the same care and attention wasn't shown to shower tiling on floor, grouting loose and some of it had come away .I had stood on it couple of times . The room was let down as it was very hot & stuffy evening ...height of heat wave and no air conditioning .

    Stayed here as our friends were getting married here. Beautiful venue with stunning views of the lake & gardens. Brilliant wedding venue ,friendly & helpful staff ,apart from one of the Receptionists ,who must have been having off day. Nicely decorated .Food and drink lovely .Rooms very comfortable ,spacious & clean Comfortable beds. Lovely waitress at Breakfast, Cooked Breakfast excellent quality ,not greasy. 10/10 food .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location with large comfortable rooms in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful in resolving a problem (brought about entirely by myself). Property is located beside a nice park and small lake providing opportunities for walking or jogging.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Location was good, amenities, really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, it was beautiful

    Location was good, amenities, really good. Food and beverages excellent and reasonably priced. Friendly staff and very helpful. Weather was excellent and to sit outside and enjoy the gorgeous view of the lake was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous place to stay to visit the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit warm, probably because such warm and lovely weather is rare.

    Hotel staff were lovely. They accommodated our every whim which included eating outside because of the lovely weather.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Brillaint stay!
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attended a wedding reception in the marquee, very rude, immature staff. Seemed like they couldn't really be bothered doing there job.

    The hotel was fantastic, gorgeous surroundings, so much to do and see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff beautiful room and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I would.change was the bathroom is very out of date. Plus it was strange that you could see through the glass into the bathroom.

    Staff were lovely. Said happy anniversary as this is why we were staying. Food lovely good choices. Room was so nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    It’s a beautiful place it’s very friendly the grounds are gorgeous and I would stay again we had aft
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like I would stay again and I would suggest to my friends to stay for the weekend

    I’ve stayed at the Hardwick a couple of times and I find the staff amazing friendly and it’s a beautiful place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay in pleasant surroundings giving us the opportunity to visit family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a couple of stains on the bedroom carpet & some areas of the paintwork that could have been refreshed.

    Our room at the front had a lovely view of the lake & park. The breakfast was excellent, good choice, well cooked & pleasantly served.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    I WILL STAY THERE NEXT TIME I AM IN THE AREA & WILL RECOMMEND TO FRIENDS ,AMAZING .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THERE WAS NOTHING THAT I DID NOT LIKE

    IT WAS A DELIGHT TO STAY THERE ,SITUATION AMAZING ,ROOM VERY SPACIOUS & COMFY ,GREAT FOOD , I WAS SORRY TO LEAVE .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    A great place and location to base yourself for a trip to the North East.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The WiFi signal was at best erratic during our stay.

    Our room was exceptional value due no doubt in part to the free upgrade that we were provided with at check in. We stayed one week and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel. The grounds including the lake were superb and were ideal for walking, jogging or even running around and the bird-life was amazing with Swans and Canada Geese raising their chicks during our stay. So peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful location but unlikely to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff particularly in the breakfast room were more concerned with their ease of work rather than helping the customers. Normally they offer a la carte items in addition to the buffet items but these were not offered. When I queried this I was told that they had a wedding party and were very busy so were concentrating on the buffet. I queried this and was reluctantly offered an a la carte item. Generally the breakfast room staff appear to need retraining in customer focus

    Hotel is situation in a beautiful location, rooms are clean and well maintained

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Was lovely because of who I was there with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As lovely as the staff were, they didn't seem to be alert. Could definitely do with a supervisor on the floor.

    The area where the building was located. The scenery was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Out of this world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was no ideal.

    Everything was amazing, from driving into the grounds and checking in the expierence was fantastic. The room itself was lovely and the bathroom was the best I have seen, the drinks in the bar was not too bad priced considering the hotel being so good. This hotel is above what you expect for luxury !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with an update. Poor customer service when requesting an iron and ironing board as it never arrived after requesting for it twice.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and too hot Window didn't open Toilet was broke as system didn't stop filling was told to shake it Sandwich was terrible value for cost

    Grounds were nice and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Overall was very nice and looking to stay again
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap dripping in the bathroom all night and the fact we couldnt open the window in the room at all,it was stuffy in the room at nights.

    The surroundings were lovely. Plenty of room for parking and space in the hotel. Nice and quiet venue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    OK, but not somewhere I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No children's menu available or offered by staff. Pretty poor in this day and age! Rooms a little dated, would have been better to have more toiletries to cater for more than 1 guest.

    Location great, right on the park and large bath tub, great for the kids.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel with great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    On arrival we were upgraded to a much larger room as the hotel wasn't too busy. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was large. The view from the room was fantastic, overlooking a large lake and well maintained grounds. The food was good, especially the breakfast. Would seriously consider staying at this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful, polite and professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful, polite and professional staff. Clean, cosy, and spacious rooms, and very nice restaurant and breakfast covering all tastes. Overall I was very happy with the provided service. The location of the hotel right in the middle of Hardwick Park is also great; I enjoyed jogging around the lake and the woods :-) My overall impression was great and I'll stay there again when I'm back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Stunning views, good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel can get busy particularly during school holidays. You pay for the extra bit of quality.

    I have stayed at this hotel many times and it has always been very good. All the more impressive by the view of the country park as you enter the hotel. Go for a walk around the lake.The food is good, although some vegetarians may be put off by the meat locker as you enter the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    The bedroom was very spacious and clean as was the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very good Sunday lunch with 7 family members was somewhat drowned out by the loud piano entertainment making it difficult to converse.

    The bedroom was very spacious and clean as was the bathroom. Views across the lake would be spectacular when the marquees are not there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Be prepared to totally fend for yourself.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff never told me how to get to my room or where the lift was located, I was not told if breakfast was included in the rate or where breakfast was served, nor where the restaurant was, or where I could find a menu. I had to ask for everything and even then her answers were vague. She mentioned suites/rooms as if I'd been to the hotel before and I knew where everything was. I had to ask where everything was, nothing was volunteered - it was a struggle each step of the way. It made me feel very unwelcome and that she didn't care whether I was there or not. The staff at breakfast time were stoney faced, rude, lazy, more interested in standing around. There was hardly any bread, I had to ask for everything, a napkin was left on the floor and staff walked by it many times, an older member of staff back answered me when I asked why I'd only received half a tomato when I'd asked for a whole one - she said "that's how we do things here", she gave me a tiny cup of coffee and never offered me more so I had to help myself, never welomed me or bid me a good day, I asked a younger female member of staff for something and she told me it wasn't her job and told me it was someone else's and that I'd have to ask them. The only member of staff that was pleasant was the lady on the bar when I ordered an evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t come back!
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crazy guest running around corridor screaming and shouting at 1pm, night porter didn’t care less. Then I had to spend half hour on the morning after my wedding on my hands and knees mopping up water from a floooded bathroom, staff just handed me more towels!

    The location and weather were beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    We stayed at the property for a function and received a...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight problem was that the iron in our room didn’t work and my partner had a shirt to iron before a black tie function. We managed to sort it out though.

    We stayed at the property for a function and received a lovely room upgrade. The claw-footed bath and walk in shower were particularly good. I didn’t get chance to walk around the grounds but what I did see was gorgeous. All the staff we spoke to were very pleasant and welcoming. Impressively, all the food was served really promptly and warm - which isn’t always the case at a big function! It was all excellent, and people with different dietary needs were well catered for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ensure guest rooms are fully checked before guest arrives, make sure your staff know the procedure for when a power cut happens, you shouldn't have to be trying to contact the owner for instructions, your poor staff in the restaurant were not happy to stay downstairs in the dark, claiming it was rather 'spooky'

    Power cut during dinner, no emergency lighting in the older part of the building where my room was situated. Reported that there was no bulb in bedside lamp - was asked what size bulb I needed!! Someone came to check the required bulb and said they would be back in a few moments - never arrived!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    My birthplace revisited !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault during our 3 day stay

    Great location, well appointed room, clean and comfortable. Good selection at breakfast with attentive professional staff. The conference/ suite facilities were in full use during our stay with weddings and annual dinners, but this did not impact on our room or stay as it may do in some hotels. Highly recommended with the bonus of a superb park to explore in the grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Stuohotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning hotel in fantastic grounds. The view from our room across the lake and parkland was amazing. The restaurant was first class for both evening meal and at breakfast. All the staff were friendly and very attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Nice chilled break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, we were in room 202, could hear every word said , also constant click of heels and shoes. Woken at 6.30am every morning due to staff working from room/ cupboard opposite. Sky tv offered on website but wasn't available in the room !

    Ambience and food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    fantastic , certainly go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you need to book a table for dinner as we had to eat quite late having been told we had no need to book , so check when you arrive

    great location spacious room , superb food , excellent staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel , perfect for a wedding venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked last July 2017 , for a deluxe room which was lovely , but we were on the ground floor so our view was not of the lake which would have been nice , booking that early I would gave thought that we would have been given one of the rooms with a nice view ,

    Room was large , bed good size , nice to have a walk in shower plus a bath for choice, decor lovely throughout , breakfast good staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable stay in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. The staff were attentive and pleasant. My wife was born at Hardwick Hall in 1944 and when I told the receptionist this she took us to see the room that my wife was delivered in which is now the hotel boardroom. A very nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay in very comfortable surroundings. Dinner experience again lets hotel down.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner at restaurant still lacks experienced head waiter or front of house. Little understanding of what sauces compliment which meals. Failed to clear plates away. not fully conversant with Menu.

    Breakfasts were good and service at breakfasts was excellent. Kippers were tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    our 39th anniversary spoilt by untrained staff.next table had same service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having weetabix myself for breakfast my wife requested porridge at same time asked if we wanted hot food we said yes but 5 mins later asked again they forgot porridge and on request porridge was served with hot food.

    everything except from breakfast experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Really restful whilst enabling us to entertain friends and family who live in the the locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They ran out of porridge at breakfast! However everything else in the dining room was excellent.

    The warmth and quiet attentiveness of the staff ensured had a pleasant break. The excellent setting meant that, despite poor weather, we could enjoy walking in the grounds after excellent meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with good facilities, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was disappointing, very uncomfortable, which was a shame because everything else was perfect. A more comfortable night's sleep and our stay would have been excellent.

    Room was really nicely decorated and a good size with everything we needed for our stay. Overall enjoyed our stay and would return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Graceful hotel in lovely parkland.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On Sunday I was looking forward to a classic afternoon English tea - it seems the perfect venue. I was told it had to be booked in advance. In an English 'stately' hotel. What a disappointment. Put me off eating there altogether. I'm sure the food is excellent, given the slightly higher than standard prices.

    The lovely thing about this Hardwick Hall (not to be confused with the great and famous Hardwick Hall near Derby) is its setting, just as its builder planned it over 200 years ago. The walk around the parkland is a visual delight, from the swans in the lake to the classic little Tempietto to Minerva. Room was small but manageable. Bath/shower was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a quiet location with plenty to do nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was superb

    This property is beautiful set in its own country park. The Hotel is very clean and the rooms are very spacious and well furnished, Everything about it was first class. Well recommend this hotel for a business trip or a weekend away with your partner. Nice bar and lovely restuarant also. The price I paid was incredible for this type of accommodation I would have expected it to be twice the price. Staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was luxurious and relaxing. The room was superb
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table cloth at breakfast had large coffee stain and was overlarge for the table so we kept standing on it, risking table contents landing on the floor! Also reception staff taking bookings and not acknowledging my presence at the desk. Eventually another staff member dealt with me and that was fine except a little eye contact- rather than speaking to the computer screen- would have been polite and appropriate. All probably solved with a little staff training Also smoked salmon not available at breakfast

    We had a free upgrade to rm 207 which was beautiful with a fabulous view of the garden and small section of lake. The room was very comfortable and stylish The bed was a dream!! SO comfy. The bathroom was one of the best we have ever stayed in. Luxurious and very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel ,great staff ,amazing food, lovely walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid extra for a premier room which was brilliant but spoilt by banging hot water pipes constantly during the night very limited sleep

    great walks around the lake, lovely bar area with comfy chairs ,fantastic restaurant with amazing food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    This is a lovely location with direct access to Hardwick Park from the Hotel grounds.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Excellent dinner with a very good choice; large portions and served with a smile. If you are interested in wildlife take a walk around the lake in Hardwick Park with direct access from the Hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable,a pleasant stay and would return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No set dinner menu even though advertised on web site. Breakfast was good but we thought a bit expensive at £12.50 each

    A lovely location covienient for our visit to family in the area. We were given a free upgrade on the room which was very spacious and had a view over the lake. We ate in the Grill bar food and service was good at average prices although I was disappointed that the set menue advertised on the web site was not yet available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable. Nohassle. staff friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have said before Service in the restaurant for dinner needs an experienced front of house or head waiter.

    Kippers for breakfast were excellent. During the night it had snowed but before 8.00am the car park and road had been cleared to ensure could drive out of hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Room was spacious comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get a gluten free sandwich had to order a panini which came with a gluten free bun as extra don't know why they could have not made it in the GF bun

    Room was spacious comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and comfortable stay with beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Lovely room excellent breakfast and great location for walks took the dog for a walk prior to going to kennels around Hardwick Park. We travel internationally for work and use a lot of hotels but Hardwick Hall is a very handsome hotel. Thankyou.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    I stay here often and I am always very happy with my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the shower was not very strong, and had temperamental hot water

    Location was great. Hotel cleanliness and furnishings were above expectations. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant is lovely (but a bit pricing) and Bar is welcoming and well designed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    We were attending a family wedding called the closing ceremony. had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of breakfast was a little expensive.

    Lovely Room, hairdryer, tea coffee making facilities, large bathroom, little things like a sewing kit and shoe cleaning pads well as toiletries. All things you might forget to bring with you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a little refresh in some places. Radiator control a bit battered but needed adjusting to get the room warm as the room was chilly on arrival. No spare sockets by bedside.

    Good size room, comfy bed, excellent bathroom and superb setting. Good value. Great breakfast. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Bargain late buy in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing i wasn't keen on was the statue of a waiter/ butler at reception and it freaked me out each time i saw him.

    Beautiful exterior and grounds. Felt like i was stepping back in time inside the building. It was grand and beautifully furnished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Sadly our room was over/close to a function room so on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly our room was over/close to a function room so on one of the two nights we stayed there was continuous loud music until midnight. Our room was next to the staircase directly to the function room. I asked to be moved but the hotel was full. This is fair enough but this room should perhaps come with a disclosure so that people are forewarned. Other than that the hotel is lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: