Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harrabeer Country House 4 stars

Harrowbeer Lane, Yelverton, PL20 6EA, United Kingdom

#2 of 11 hotels in Yelverton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.5
    A pleasant country hotel experience. Would recommend to friends visiting Dartmoor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hosts Mike and Amanda are a delightful and engaging couple. We enjoyed tea and scones on arrival and especially appreciated being able to have dinner at the property even though we had not pre-booked.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful friendly hosts - Relaxing, comfortable and very clean - great place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good no complaints and very good value compared to other b & bs/hotels we have stayed in recently.

    Wonderful welcome and conversation over a cup of tea on arrival. Really important after a long journey. Beautiful house, interesting and comfortable. Very clean and great breakfast. Amanda and Michael excellent hosts.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay at and experience the warm welcoming of the southern UK countryside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 7 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took us a good 20 minutes to find the place, the GPS in our rented car led us to a private house around the bend and down the street as seemingly carrying the same address.

    Amanda and Michael were awesome - they are funny and energetic hosts that instantly made me and my wife feel at home. Also, our room (no. 7) was very cozy and welcoming and the breakfast is among the best we've had during our stay in the UK. Also worth a visit is the local pub, The Rock which is a few minutes walk from Harrabeer Country House. There are some nice day hike options in the vicinity (we went to Burrator Reservoir).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    A great guesthouse, comfortable, cosy, friendly and superb breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 7 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    Extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful owners. A wonderfully comfortable bed and the best breakfast ever with a huge selection, cooked to order!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    We will defiantly be going back to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom - Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I can say that i didn't like about our stay at The Harrbeera

    The hosts were so wonderful friendly ..our suite was excellent the bed was very comfortable .The breakfast room and breakfast was exceptional in that there was so much choice we didn't know where to start. The whole experience of staying at The Harrbeera exceeded our expectations. We will defiantly be staying there again and will recommend it to our family and friends. .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Scrupulously clean Lovely owners Comfy bed Warm welcome Great breakfast Organised a packed lunch for the day we went hiking Provided all usual amenities in room (soap, towels, kettle etc) but also herbal teas and even a sewing kit I would definitely recommend it if you need somewhere to stay in the area. Great B&B, easy access to Dartmoor, and a lovely pub in the village (5 minutes walk)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Very warm and friendly welcome when we arrived, Amanda...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 7 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm and friendly welcome when we arrived, Amanda offered us a cup of tea before we were shown to our room, the room had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable, the breakfast was fantastic and Michael was very friendly and made us feel at home, we were offered Muffins and we asked if it was ok for us to take them with us as we were full from the breakfast and when we ate them they were really tasty, we will definitely be staying again,we would highly recommend a stay here if you are in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Marvellous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like that we had to leave! Lol I don't have anything negative to say about our stay! Only that we wish we could have stayed longer.

    The hosts, the beds, the food, the location! It was better than we expected, Amanda and Michael are the A Team. They really did make our stay memorable, they open their home up and bend over backwards for their guests! The food Amanda made was delicious, it wasn't something I would have picked of a menu, so I am grateful that Amanda has introduced us to new tastes. The beds were more comfy than the Hilton at the airport we stayed in the night before, then you have small things, like water pressure, and nice towles and lighting!! Then the little details you find in your room like a hot water bottle, sewing kit, cotton buds, that really show the care Amanda and Michael go to in giving their guests the best homely experience. The location is just a few minutes away from the small town that has the facilities you need, and then of course you are in the middle of Dartmoor! I would stay again in a heartbeat! I never expected to get greated with a treat, tea & coffee, and some local delights to nibble on while we sat in their garden listening to the birds, The room was kitted out with kettle, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and plenty of little pots of milk to which I was grateful as I am a milky coffee type of girl! We had drinks in the bar area with friends, shockingly good prices, cosy and comfortable to sit chatting away :) I would return in a heartbeat, and I am so glad we decided to stay with them... instead of a "Chain" or more "Staffed hotel" if you know what I mean haha My tips: Ask Michael for pink toast with sparkles at breakfast... he actually pulled it off hahaha, kinda hahaha and Amanda likes Cadbury Milk Tray ;) (As she was so amazing we got her a box)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay again, and we had to pay the £85 extra which were not advised off when booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole ambience. I was advised whilst paying for the two bills, accomodation and unblockage charge , that a previous guest had the same problem and had to pay the charge aswell for unblockage. To sum up the room, there were two doors leading into the en- suite, and another door which was locked leading out of the en- suite to the landing. Basically the en- suite has been built above the stairway , hence no sanitary drainage except saniflow system, which as it is clearing the toilet, shower and bidet, is likely to block up through any of these three sanitary items.

    We were not advised that our room had a en- suite with a saniflow system for the toilet, shower and bidet. The owners were supercilious. We felt uncomfortable as they were very gushy, and you felt you were being watched over. On coming back from a day out, the landlady came out and advised me to drive down the lane and come back, and let my good lady get out so I could park next to a wall. The kerb coming into the car park is high and consequently driving in was a no no as my car has a low front valence. The landlady then directed me to the rear of the property to park next to their car which i duly did. It didn't end there, as when I entered the property I was told that our toilet was blocked due to wipes being put down it, and as it was a saniflow system we would have to pay £85 to call an engineer to unblock it. I was not too happy with this, and I was then advised that there was a notice behind the toilet on the wall axplaining this. We feel that when booking , guests should be advised of this problem, as they can then access whether it is a suitable room or not, as the system is loud when in operation. The worst part was we had to use a bathroom across the landing , which was basically a storage cupboard with a bath and toilet and sink, plumbed into the mains. There was a vacuum cleaner, bags of toilet rolls etc, which impeded my partner's entry into the bath and as she has osteoarthritis and osteopetrosis, so eventually she managed to get in and subsequently turned the shower on to be scolded with the water that was set far too high.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Small rooms, clean, kind hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was quite small, this is not a place to stay for multiple days.

    Very kind and helpful hosts and very clean. Breakfast was good, too. Value for money excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Amanda & Michael go to extraordinary lengths to make your stay memorable even when a personal health problem occurs it was business as usual. Would certainly recommend to family & friends.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Incredibly warm & welcoming, with comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom - Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    The welcome from Amanda was so warm. She served us with tea and scones, before showing us our room. In the morning Mike was serving in the Dining room, he was so warm and funny. Amanda came in with freshly made muffins, that she offered to eat now or pack up for later in the day. They couldn’t of been better hosts

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Almost everything, from the large and comfortable bed to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small, but it was clean and it had everything we needed.

    Almost everything, from the large and comfortable bed to the amazing breakfast. The hosts were really nice and friendly!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cant think of anything. From choice I would stay in an on suite room not because there was anything wrong with the bathroom or its location opposite the bedroom, for me it was the difficulty of remembering the key! My problem not the Management.

    A very comfortable stay . Amanda and her son made us extremely welcome. Great location for Dartmoor and the coast. The breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Very homely and friendly all rooms were lovely the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike it was a little eccentric but that suits us

    Very homely and friendly all rooms were lovely the food was good but the best bit was the warm welcome received on arrival and during our short stay from owners mike and Amanda they were lovely people kind, helpful and funny but not intrusive would certainly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    A great stay for a Dartmoor experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A quirky Devon hotel with stacks of character. Looked after us really well with a warm welcome and friendly smile. Local knowledge was great. A diverse range of guests and nationalities. Easy to find and well located near to a pub and restaurant. Great access to Dartmoor and good for cyclists doing the Devon C2C.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Right in the heart of Dartmoor ponies, sheep and pure country!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 7 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property itself couldn't be better, but the village Pub was a bit disappointing, but lots of other good places around to visit anyway, and a well-equipped bar in the Cottage itself too!

    Amanda and Michael (the proprietors) were simply wonderful; breakfast was fantastic and catered for all needs, even the croissants were the best you could ever hope for outside of France

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Michael & Amanda was really a great host so accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Michael & Amanda was really a great host so accomodating. Michael has good sense of humour. We have very good breakfast so abundant with food. We had a comfortable stay. Thanks to you both for looking after us during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 4 and ensuite a little small but good value for money.

    A nice large comfy bed. Excellent breakfast choice. The owners went out of their way to be welcòming and do that little bit extra. Evening meal was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Would recommend the hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather! It rained for the first time in weeks but it was lovely to go back to our room and chill.

    The bed was so big and comfortable. Hosts very professional, met their lovely son and his dog. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice, cooked by the expert chef! That's Michael, the proprietor. Amanada his wife baked and offered fresh muffins every morning for us to eat when out and about. Lots of history about the hotel in a folder for visitors to read which was very interesting. Close to Tavistock so no problem finding somewhere to eat..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hosts made for a pleasant break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Glow" light on emergency lighting in room very bright.

    Hosts were excellent. Very attentive from arrival to departure. Wide choice of breakfast options all well prepared.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful! Very friendly & warm welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment on as it was super!

    Great place in a quiet setting. Lovely hosts and a super breakfast. Amanda made some muffins & kindly offered some. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable,relaxed a real gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The owners Micheal & Amanda couldn't do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. Good selection of breakfast options, lovely evening meal, Helpful advise regarding local places of interest

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Pink toast ?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom - Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice, humorous hosts: Amanda is a Queen of Breakfast (fantastic!) and Muffins, Mike the very likeable Head of (pink) Toast - we had a fantastic time (worth mentioning: slept perfectly, it’s so silent out there - great) and enjoyed our stay there very much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Harrabeer House - definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom - Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great.

    Lovely location, lovely friendly hosts. We especially liked the tea and scones on arrival and Amanda's home made muffins!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Michael and Amanda could not be more helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Michael and Amanda could not be more helpful and accommodating they ensured the start of our adventure to John O'Grotes started well and the four of us rated there stop as the best of the 14 day trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant Value, very clean, good food and fabulous hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Just a brilliant place to stay. Hosts very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Would definitely stay again. We had the smallest room, but it was not that small and offered us all we needed in space, after all you do not visit Dartmoor to spend time in your room. Breakfasts very good and would like to have sampled the evening meal but it just didn't work with our activities. If you are coming to Dartmoor stay here you cannot find better. Thank you to our wonderful hosts Michael and Amanda.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Like visiting good friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    Very friendly couple who could not do enough to help you enjoy your stay. Wonderful breakfast. Amanda would arrive at breakfast time with sweet or savoury homemade cookies to take away for enjoying later.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Hosts so welcoming,kind and very generous. Nothing is a problem. Fabulous stay .
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. We loved it !

    The choice at breakfast was fabulous and delicious.We had our rooms cleaned everyday with fresh towels etc. Hosts were amazing so kind and generous.Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was perfect.

    Amanda & Michael were the ultimate hosts, they love the place and take pride in what they are offering. Best bed we have had for two weeks on the road. Breakfast was excellent. Very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything, a really great place to stay, would highly recommend.

    The property was better than we expected very homely with a lovely cosy feel. Amanda and Michael were exceptional hosts, very attentive, they went out of their way to make everything perfect and nothing was too much trouble. All the food was delicious, Amanda is an excellent cook and her baking was a real treat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Amanda and Michael are excellent hosts, always keen to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 7 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amanda and Michael are excellent hosts, always keen to ensure that you enjoy your stay. With a shared sitting room and bar there is plenty of space for other friends. Super breakfast in the dining room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place in a peaceful location with fabulous hospitality.
    • Group
    • Master Bedroom - Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble. Like a home from home. Lovely views from the bedroom and beds were very comfortable. Good choice at breakfast and the added touch of a home made muffin was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The confirmation e-mail from the property came across as a little off putting, although our fears were completely allayed when we arrived as they were lovely

    The hosts were lovely and made us feel really welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, accommodation, hosts and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom was a twin which was one of smallest rooms I've stayed in. Not enough room for two ladies with their belongings. Thankfully the weather beautiful so outside a lot.

    Beautiful house, brilliant breakfast, lovely big bathroom (although the toilet struggled at times, great hosts, very welcoming and fun! Bonus - the garden was delightful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic. Amazing and stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi connection and TV reception seemed to have a mind of its own.

    We will be back!! Michael and Amanda made us most welcome and nothing was too much trouble. If you want a laugh with your breakfast - vast menu choice then this is the place for you. Cooking by Amanda was amazing. Perfect hosts in more ways than one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Nice 2 night stay, great breakfasts and a very comfortable king size bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Appreciated a cup of tea was given to us on arrival, and offered on other days, free of charge . Wi-Fi was available in all bedrooms and was an excellent connection and speed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Couldn't recommend this hotel enough - a great value base to explore dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfasts (included) were delicious and Amanda and Michael were excellent hosts. They have recently upgraded the WiFi which was high speed, and the tea and scones on arrival were greatly appreciated! We hope to be back soon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A real country house hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 7 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amanda and Mike were charming hosts, making us very welcome from the outset and doing everything they could to ensure our stay was both comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Very lucky choice. Cosy not posh which suited us. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better!

    Particularly liked the personal touches. Tea and scones on arrival much appreciated. Delightful caring hosts, felt like staying in a private home. Delicious home cooked dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Ideal location – convivial hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is set in a quiet location but for (us) walkers ideally situated close to exhilarating and scenic walks along with easy walking distance to town centre. Hosts were enthusiastic about their business with nothing being too much trouble: breakfasts were tasty and plentiful (with a couple of added, and much appreciated, extras each morning!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable and relaxing visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    A very welcoming and relaxing environment. Nothing is too much trouble. This was our third visit and we hope to return. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    relaxing , with everything thought of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - nothing

    Hosts Amanda and Michael went out of their way to make it wonderful -from being met as we drove up, tea and hotcross buns in the bar to relax before being shown to out room, great food and expert local knowledge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom - Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast. Some things were under cooked and some things overcooked. Having said that, im too shy/too polite to tell the hosts how I'd prefer they cook it. The hosts seem like the sort of people that if you pointed out how you didn't like the cooking, they would adapt and cook it how you want.

    The hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Just a lovely Hostess, lovely hotel, service was lovely, rooms lovely, Bed well I slept like a log .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best night sleep in months, Amanda was amazing , tea and scones on arrival super. Nothing was too much trouble. Amanda gave us 1st class service. Definitely will stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Loved the owners, friendly, professional , helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms/ ensuite. Outdated, uncomfortable . Thought the bedrooms need updating

    Loved the owners, friendly, professional , helpful. Breakfast excellent , evening meal excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hosts who couldn't have been more friendly or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 7 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower cubicle was a bit small but shower itself good.

    Lovely hosts who couldn't have been more friendly or hospitable. Despite lots of modernish houses round about, Harrabeer House has lots of olde worlde country charm and comfort. Bed very comfy. Breakfast terrific.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Good quality small country house hotel well located for touring the area by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Harabeer is well located for visiting Plymouth, Dartmoor, Tamar Valley, North Cornwall and provides parking. Michael and Amanda are very good hosts - the rooms are very clean, beds are very comfortable, breakfast is good quality with a nice variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Proximity to places we wanted to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattress was a little too firm and pillows slightly lumpy (just nitpicking)

    Proximity to places we wanted to visit. Breakfast and dinner were delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Perfect break
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only possible complaint, I found the bed was a little too soft for my liking but I have terrible back problems, so it's only a personal point. Otherwise it was all excellent.

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended on all aspects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom - Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking is a bit tight but nothing the owners can do about that - this hotel is in the country!

    Couldn't ask for more, great hosts, lovely comfortable spotlessly clean room/bathroom, beautifully cooked meals. We only had an evening 3 course meal the first night as we were visiting relatives so ate with them - everything Amanda cooked was delicious & lots of it. Had a full English breakfast every morning which was also delicious & lots of it! The atmosphere is very relaxed and Mike & Amanda made us feel very at home for our 3 night stay. The morning we left they were off on holiday themselves but were still cooking breakfast and making sure their guests had everything they needed. Much better than staying in a big hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    The owners were very friendly, accommodating, sincere couple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was first class.

    The owners were very friendly, accommodating, sincere couple who went out of their way to make our stay extremely good. Accommodation was excellent and services and food were first class. Very recommended and will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Lovey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom - Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any thing ,

    Absolutely lovely couple that made you feel Very welcome . The place was very peaceful and quiet . Food excellent , will definitely be staying again next time we visit Dartmoor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    First class stay & will definitely go again, soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing we didnt like.

    Hosts Amanda & Michael welcomed us the moment we arrived with tea and scones in the garden. We were given the lower suite as an upgrade due to length of stay and it was excellent. We had dinner at the hotel one evening and it was delicious. Hosts were both friendly and would do anything to oblige and make our stay enjoyable, Breakfasts are excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    The rooms should include small sitting areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room accommodates just a bed. There were now chairs or a small table to make a tea/coffee. Fortunately we had a large bathroom - we kept suitcases there! Access to the house by car can be difficult for non-experienced drivers and parking is not easy although the hosts were helpful with this.

    Home atmosphere, possibility to use the sitting room and bar area in the evenings. They offer a good English breakfast, fruit salad and yogurt. The house is very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Would have liked better weather..... but nothing the location could have fixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking facility was very small and difficult to reach. There were no other options to park in the facinity

    Breakfast was perfect. Served with a smile

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel, second stay as good as first
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing even the weather was kind for us

    Stayed here before, everything was as we remembered it, nothing was too much trouble, umbrella brought to car door as it was pouring down when we arrived, lovely coffee and freshly made cake to enjoy on arrival too brilliant few day

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Trifling points but natural yoghurt at breakfast please, ....and for us there was no need to turn the bed down, although I expect some people like that, to be fair.

    Bed very comfortable, nice garden view, excellent home cooking, nice extra touches like coffee and cream tea. Hosts always very cheerful and chatty, nothing too much trouble. Good selection of leaflets for local walks and attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower pressure was a bit low and took a while to heat up. Bed slightly oversized for room. Small car park with tight entrance. The raised bump at the join between the driveway entrance and road scraped the underside of the car when turning up the hill. (Standard hatchback car, not low profile either) better to exit down the hill.

    Good breakfasts. Comfortable bed. Friendly, humorous but a little abrupt hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Home baked muffins in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi only available in the reception area

    Home baked muffins in the morning. Complimentary tea/scones each day we came back in. Very comfortable suite/ Excellent facilities and staff very friendly and very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    The most wonderful and welcoming hosts you could meet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The colour of the bathroom suite, but it was clean.

    Our hosts are very friendly and accommodating with a wonderful sense of humour. They work extremely hard to make our stay comfortable, which they achieved easily. The property is a lovely old house. Breakfast is delicious and served most cheerfully. In all a very good experience and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our hosts, Mike and Amanda, were the most welcoming and friendly people. Nothing was too much to ask. You just don't find such top rate hospitality anymore. Loved the cozy atmosphere and the opportunity to mingle with other guests in the small bar area and at breakfast. Amanda even made us a picnic lunch to take with us to our next destination.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The streets to reach it are extremely narrow, some being one lane and winding so a little scary.

    More a guest house than an hotel with extremely friendly owners who actually seem to delight in talking to their guests. Good sized rooms with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    A perfect stay with truly remarkable hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great! No wifi in the room unfortunately, but at least at the bar. As we actually enjoyed our stay so much, this was not really a remarkable flaw, though. Great job!

    Harrabeer Country House was a true delight! Michael and Amanda were great and really pleasant, helpful with everything, knowledgable about the region and totally adorable. Their house is beautiful, furnished in a very British old-fashioned B&B-style and comfortable all over the place. Our room was small, but perfectly fine, everything clean and with some really convenient beds. The whole room was arranged perfectly well with everything you might need: Water, cofe and tea facilities, water kettle, hair dryer, complimentary sanitary articles, travel information about the region and everything. We enjoyed dinner which was great, especially the never-ending selection of tasty desserts. I was also pleased by the great selection of wines offered to the meal. Next morning we were treated perfectly with a wide selection of breakfast varieties. We enjoyed very much our stay at Harrabeer Country House and having been guest to many B&Bs in England, Scotland and Ireland I am pleased to declare Michael and Amanda the most likeable and humorous hosts so far. It would be great to come back during another trip!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts Amanda and Mike, Attention to detail was fantastic, Amanda and Mikes knowledge of the area was very helpful in planning days out. We would definitely recommend staying here. Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation with great food and lovely people who run the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The fact that the hotel felt like a home away from home to me is down to the taste and period of the house and especially Amanda and Mikes welcoming and sincere love of what they do. I will be going back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were met with a friendly face as soon as we arrived and were invited to sit in the beautiful garden with a cup of tea and a delicious scone. The rooms were smallish but had everything you could want and were spotless. The breakfast was delicious using local produce and there was lots of choice. There were different communal areas to relax in which was nice after a long day. We would definitely return to Harrabeer Country House if we were in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Amanda and Michael were the perfect hosts-nothing was too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amanda and Michael were the perfect hosts-nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast and evening meal were absolutely lovely. A beautiful old house it was a real pleasure to stay in

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Great value for money with friendly helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Bedroom - Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get WiFi in our room but that was mentioned and it didn't matter for us, so not an issue.

    We had the master bedroom which was lovely and spacious with very comfortable beds. Amanda and Michael were so friendly, although as we were out every day visiting family and friends we couldn't avail ourselves of the lounge and bar areas which would have been a welcome relaxing area. Breakfast was always plentiful, freshly cooked and having fresh fruit just added to the enjoyment of the food.We would definitely stay again if we are in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Travelling Kiwis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have stayed longer

    Extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the area which was extremely beneficial Felt like visiting old friends and the humour was first clasd

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    LOVELY PLACE TO STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were greeted with tea and scones on arrival which was very welcome and unexpected. Our stay was lovely, the accommodation was very comfortable and clean. There was an excellent choice for breakfast. Michael and Amanda were very friendly and helpful during our stay. We would recommend Harrabeer Country House and look forward to a return visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice peaceful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Standard Double/Twin Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The en-suite in our room was functional but very very small. I did have a little problem turning around. Also a little noise from the adjoining bathroom.

    Lovely and friendly owners, good food, comfortable bed, really good atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Great B&B in a lovely location with owners who couldn't have been more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Standard Double Room (En Suite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really springs to mind.

    Owners were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was lovely with a very good choice. Room was very comfortable .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hosts and an enjoyable stay!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a really enjoyable stay at Harrabeer Country House Hotel and cannot fault the friendliness of the hosts.

    The Upper Suite was perfect. Amanda and Michael were perfect hosts and made us more than welcome, and nothing was to much trouble for them. The breakfast was superb! We look forward to our next visit, when we will definitely ask for the Upper Suite.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.2
    Warm welcoming friendly stay with an awesome breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 6 - Standard Double or Twin Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 100's of nick nacks in the house. That's a personal choice thing.

    Breakfast! Very warm welcome and very friendly hosts. Lovely log burner

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: