Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harrow Inn 3 stars

Warren Street, Lenham, ME17 2ED, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Lenham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Harrow Inn 😁😁😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, for me and my partner, the evening was brilliant.

    The location was beautiful, the inn had lots of character and the room was spacious. The bed was so comfortable, we had the best nights sleep. The jacuzzi bath for 2 was amazing and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Surprised by the luxury of a four-poster bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only slight downside is the narrow lanes leading to the venue

    Surprised by the luxury of a four-poster bed. Very quiet location and a perfect stop prior to catching the cross-channel ferry in the morning. Very satisfied with the good "pub" menu for an evening meal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.9
    This was a grim and sad place to stay, needing investment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor grim. Shower-rail covered in rust. Bed uncomfortable. Bathroom floor grubby and tacky to walk on.

    We did not like anything about this sad and dismal place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.8
    unpleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very run down. Bed was extremely uncomfortable, the bar was unable to sell any beer except bottled. The whole place had a damp smell about it.

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.2
    Harrowing !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start, run down place in need of a serious makeover. Stayed in the family room as there were 4 of us. Room was freezing cold, beds were so uncomfortable. Medieval style bedding which served no warmth at all nor was aesthetically pleasing! We upped and left at 6.30am to head home to comfort. I would NOT recommend this place unless it was completely refurbished. Wish we would have saved ourselves £140 😤😡

    It was close to the party we attended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were plentiful but my wifes steak was overcooked and a little tough.

    Accommodation very good and the building was very characterful. Staff were very good and the breakfast also very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    An enjoyable and comfortable stay, but don't expect up to date standards for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi very poor. No ale available at the bar. Kitchen service prompt and good selection and what we had was good and tasty, but.. no scrambled egg for breakfast? Whole place is perfectly adequate, comfortable, value for money and very friendly but really needs some investment and modernisation.

    Character. Friendly and attentive staff. Lovely big comfortable bed. Room has all you'd need without being modern. Cleanliness. Value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay;will return.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat in bathroom was broken.

    I enjoyed the rural and remote location which meant my room was quiet. I chose a basic room which I was happy with as although basic it was quite roomy. Very friendly staff and attractive location. Free parking. Practical for staying with my dog as room was on ground floor. (Supplement for dog is £6) Bar and restaurant also available but I didn’t try the food this time or see a menu.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Would visit again, but given the remoteness, was hoping for a quieter building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double glazing(but isn't a modern building), less creaky floorboards around the place, not being put together with the other couple guests, not being able to hear the TV from another room at 6am, being able to order half a pint of beer(they come in cans), less mould in bathroom. Couple of miscommunications on dinner and breakfast, but sorted easily.

    Super comfy bed, radiators worked well so we could dry our our soaked clothes and shoes from before the stay, excellent location, ample parking, food wasn't too shabby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Quirky overnight stop en route to Dover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is about 1 mile from the A20 up a single track lane. Luckily no traffic but could be tricky.

    Comfortable bed. No issues with thin pillows that others have noted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Was a nice little hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the showers weren't very powerful but would definitely stay there again because it felt like a real hotel as opposed to a more clinical travelodge/holidaying.

    Was a nice little hidden gem. Perfect little place in the countryside. Was a really nice 17th century inn.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    OK for a stop over but the business/facilities need a little attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pork cassoulet cost just under £10, it was the worst dish I've ever been served. Also none of the beer pumps were working.

    The bar man/waiter was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Could do with a freshen up maybe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Boiler in entrance to room - luckily only started up once during night but on and off almost constantly from around 6am......no door to bedroom so boiler really loud!

    Not a massive amount - food was allright - no draught though as cellar recently flooded

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.0
    Nothing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a revamp.... don't think it will be open much longer....

    Nothing....no wi fi no signal for mobile phone no fraught beer.In the middle of nowhere. 10 min drive to Lehman which is a lovely village.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    A bad idea!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every where could do with a good clean, there was no towels in the room we had to ask, the manager bordered on being rude not very welcoming at all, there was no draught beer, a problem with the gas ?The whole property had a run down look with cob-webs every where, weeds growing out of the patio's the place needs a complete restoration and update, perhaps re-invent itself with some sort of theme. all in all a disappointment, paid £100 for at best £60 room

    It was a lovely building, the meals were good value. bed linen and carpets were clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.5
    Lovely location- very shabby hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one on Reception when we arrived. It was locked with a note telling us to go in the bar area. Waited 5 mins before being acknowledged and sent back outside in the rain to the reception area to wait for staff to unlock the door. Room was dirty, dead flies were squashed on the walls and curtains. The bathroom walls were mouldy, the showerhead was black with mould and limescale, the toilet seat stained. Windows and frames were filthy. The dining area was very dirty, dead bluebottle flies all over our table and dirt, dust and cobwebs everywhere. The grounds were overgrown and uncared for. Staff cleared tables but didn't wipe/ clean them before resetting the table. Breakfast was expensive, we didn't want bacon and sausages so had a few mushrooms, 1 egg, half a tomato and cheap value, sliced bread for £6 each. No vegetarian option was offered.

    Location was peaceful and pretty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.3
    Below par and very disappointing. Only nice aspect was the staff - pleasant.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was over pub and was noisy until after 11pm. Bathroom floor had cheap linoleum that was not glued down and I kept tripping on it. Windows had massive dust and cobwebs everywhere. Hot weather made the room horrible to sleep in.

    Did not eat breakfast - left too early (6am) Had evening meal in pub attached that was fine. Dog had place to be exercised

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    Ticked a box but unfortunately that’s all. Look after the barman!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking was messed up. Apart from front of house chap the staff were grumpy. The room was dirty with cobwebs and dust in high volume.

    Gentleman who worked the bar and front of house was a star.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.8
    dated ! over priced
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 male staff reception and bar are very rude men. not disabled feiendly no beer on pumps (flood) excuse we be had sun for 12weeks selling multipack cans behind bar for 4weeks I know of.. food ain't so good vege option poor bed was broken mould around baths water pressure is terrible over priced for what you get

    big car park wifi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.0
    Inflexible and poor attitude. Not in the business of keeping return customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude and manner, except man who served breakfast, he was very good

    Comfy beds, nice breakfast however rude and unhelpful staff and extra costs added on because we asked to collect a key early as were going to be out at a wedding until late. We had three rooms and had to pay £10 extra per room for the privelege of having one key early (didn't even need to access the room early just to be able to get in late at night). Breakfast server was friendly! Breakfast window was only 8 to 8.30 and a couple who had paid for breakfast were refused it because they arrived at 8.31! All in all, you get what you pay for but with extra charges and taxi fares as quite remote, actually no cheaper than staying more central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    3.8
    Nothing of significance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet seat, mentioned but not fixed or repaired Very dated, paint peeling off wall Very dusty Mould on windows and in bathroom Poor shower

    Nothing of significance

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Basic but cheap and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a revamp but again it currently matches the current price of rooms

    I read the reviews on trust pilot and I was concerned but it was fine. Basic but that reflects in the cost. I needed somewhere cheap to stay to attend a party. The Harrow inn was in a perfect location for me and there was plenty of parking. The rooms were basic but clean, a good size and bed was fine. I would book again if the need arose

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    The inn has character and was comfortable, overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floor linoleum was warped, loose, and nailed into the floor around the edges. The shower mat, when unfolded to place in the bathtub, was caked with mildew. The dining area in the pub needs the large amount of dead bugs and cobwebs cleaned off the ceiling and walls near the door to the garden area.

    The inn has character and was comfortable, overall. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Staff were lovely and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very soft and bathroom was not as well-presented as we would have like. Flooring was ill-fitting and hair in the sink.

    Staff were lovely and very welcoming. Evening meal was great and very good value. Great location for Eurotunnel in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    We had
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was fine.

    The Harrow Inn is a 17th century property therefore it is old and full of character. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.3
    Extremely unpleasant. Unprofessional and rude management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is in need of repair and certainly not up to the the usual standard of Booking.com properties. I have attached photos of the state of our room number 9 and other problems. Extremely Rude and aggressive manager. My partner turned up for breakfast 8.50am on Saturday 30th June, which is ten minutes before end of serving deadline. We did say on arrival we would want breakfast around 8:30 am. We overslept a little but thought we had until 9am to order. When my partner went to breakfast room the manager (Who was foreign and not brilliant spoken English) said to him abruptly "Finished, no food available, you are late", with no alternative for breakfast. My partner came back up to room to advise me, so I too went down to breakfast room, and was also welcomed abruptly, telling me off for being late, I answered we were told 9 am deadline so why can we not have our breakfast which we paid extra for, he replied "you take the piss out of me and my staff, expecting us to wait behind after hours just for you and make breakfast?? I said well if the cooker is off can we please have cereals or something and he replies NO. I was really annoyed and asked for a refund of the breakfast and asked what the hell are we paying nearly £100 a night for in place with bad customer service and filthy accommodation. He followed me out of the breakfast room through the courtyard and abruptly pointed to a notice on the door stating if you do not turn up for breakfast you are still charged, but we did turn up!. Be it ten minutes before deadline. Later that evening when we came back from dinner at another establishment, the manager and two staff were sat outside in the front courtyard, they all stared at my partner and I with a really scowling look. The following morning we did not want to go down for breakfast as did not feel welcome at all, I felt they would probably of sabotage our food before giving it to us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Convenient-we were walking the North Downs Way-but first choice would've been in central Lenham
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and restaurant were dated and in need of a refurb. Vegetarian breakfast was a stripped down "full English" with no extras or alternatives.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Silver fox
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single track road on the approach to hotel was a bit daunting. Check in was very vague. Entrance to the grounds was very scruffy.

    The up grade to a large room with a four poster . Which wasn't requested. Lovely. Tea making facilities. Breakfast in morning was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Dceent enough but a little dated
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that I didn't really like, my only observations really are that the Wi-Fi wasn't great in my room, but it was adequate and that overall the place would really benefit from an uplift in terms on decor both inside and out, as in truth it looks a little tired and dated, but compared to the prices of other accommodation in the area this is a fair bit cheaper.

    Due to difficult family circumstances (a bereavement) I arrived much later than intended (around 11pm) I telephoned in advance and the staff were really good, although the bar was closed when I got there, after showing me to my room the owner got me a pint of beer which after driving around 400 miles that day I really appreciated. Breakfast was very good as well. There was plenty of car parking space. The location is problematic for mobile phone signals and there is nothing the owners can do about that but they very kindly allowed me to use the hotel landline at no cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    ok I guess but with a little modernisation this place could be significanty better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I guess you have to take the price into account, £70. The property is quiet and tucked away; quite isoltaed/secluded. However it is tired and in need of an uplift. The menu is basic and reminiscent in style and approach to the 70's. The salad was just cucumber, tomato and lettuce; the prawn cocktail basic and the rare steak served near well done. Coffee is only instant and in this day and age that's really not acceptable. Staff were friendly and helpful and i guess with price paid the place is ok but it does need to move into this century really.

    Ok if you like standard meat and 2 veg and 1970's cuisine or you are on a budget

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Friendly clean comfortable place to stay whilst on business, more personable than the chain hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    locals in the bar friendly without being intimidating to lone female traveller - smiling faces despite the pub being flooded out in storms the week before. Clearly some other people had stayed at the Pub/hotel before and were being greeted by local friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    2.9
    Very basic, poor quality bedding and mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic, poor quality bedding and mattress. TV didn’t work. Unclean, very out dated. Bathroom wasn’t great. Wouldn’t return and wasn’t worth the money at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Such great potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little run down and in need of a good spruce up inside and out. Dated decor poor quality furniture and beds with poor facilities. If this was done it would make the place far better.

    The staff were excellent and made this place thoroughly worthwhile going above and beyond. Despite the problems mentioned above the place was very clean. The food from the restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast in the morning, concentrating on fresh local produce. The bar was well stocked with local beers and excellent wines recommended by the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Great rural location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately due to exceptionally heavy rainfall the hotel's cellar was flooded on the day we arrived, there was a brief power cut, the WiFi was out for a day and the TVs didn't work for the whole of our 3 day stay. The general decor would benefit from refreshment.

    As we were walking the North Downs Way, the rural location <1 mile from the trail was ideal. The member of staff manning the bar was very friendly and helpful; the cooked breakfast was great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A apart from breakfast. We refused to pay extra for that.

    Very quiet, surrounded by trees and singing birds. Excellent bed and perfect Jacuzzi on a very elegant bathroom. Very good sleep, no noise from other customers. Absolutely perfect for those who like old properties.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seemed dirty toilet seat looked stained.

    Bed was extremely comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. The hotel was scruffy and uncared for. Would go back for a short stay. Lovely location and good helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Quaint, traditional Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with many places like it, the decor and feel of the place is a little well worn and could do with a refurb. However this does not diminish the character of the place, and almost adds to it in places.

    A traditional British Inn located deep in the countryside. Quaint building and rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the OS map on the bar had been on the reception desk then I could have used it for my pre dinner walk

    The location was more isolated than I expected from the address.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant table legs and cross bars were very dusty and condensation on the Windows left very black marks on paintwork. Hotel needed a good clean and upgrade! We didn't realise hotel was not in Lenham itself but down a winding single track lane to Warren Street.

    Breakfasts were good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.0
    We were charged for breakfast which we didn’t have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their attitude

    We were charged for breakfast which we didn’t have. When we phoned the Harrower Inn to ask why we were charged they replied staff were there to serve us and they would not give us a refund

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed considering the price of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor and bathroom badly needs updating as its very old and tired looking. The bed was uncomfortable and was given a single duvet for a double bed. It was hard to take a shower as barely any water came out of the nozzle.

    The towels and bed linen were clean. The owner was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Good enough for a couple of nights, if you're happy with comfortable but basic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In need of renovating. Not 5 star by any standard, but adequate if you just want a bed and a beer.

    Reasonable price for what you get. OK pub food. Helpful staff. Parking. Country location. Quaint old English pub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    Food and Hospitality great, just needs some tic to bring it up to a better standard.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in room 7 was very disappointing, the floor was disgusting. The bathroom needs a complete refit. The bedroom was adequate but very tired, needs to be completely redecorating. If the bedroom and bathroom in room 7 was much better I would have rated the whole place and experience 100%.

    The food and bar area was great. The fact that our dog was allowed to join us in as great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful location, good value, little tired in places. Manager needs a little help with smiling
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager could have been a little more welcoming. The room carpet needed a good clean. The steps in the car park area need some serious attention in terms of repair and removal of vegetation. The extract system in the bathroom needs attention.

    The room was warm, dry, en-suite, had a coffee/tea provision, had clean bedding and very hot water

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    3.8
    Awful, I cancelled the room for return trip and got Holiday Inn Sevenoaks for £25 less!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Filthy room, bed covers included, uncomfortable bed, worst night's sleep in ages ahead o a 12 hour drive the following day. Bathroom even worse - toilet wouldn't flush properly, cold tap wouldn't shut, toilet seat loose...

    Location, close to channel crossing with a room that accommodates 2 adults and 3 children

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant short stay with good food. Very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head didn’t work so had to have a bath. The place is a little dilapidated and could do with a makeover

    The room was comfortable and very warm The food was good and the staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.0
    A disappointing venue for our w/e stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a general feel of dilapidation and possible imminent closure of business. Admittedly we stayed during the very low season. There was just not a jot of ambiance.

    The friendly barman Colin, helpful. A good cooked breakfast was served. Very basic choice for continental. considering the price charged separately for this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast but room and bathroom very old and dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness.

    The accommodation was comfortable but dirty. The bathroom was old and very worn. However the staff were great and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Stayed here 3 times-now and can not find any faults.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are friendly and accommodating, they even kept their restaurant open for just the 2 of us to eat when we arrived late. It has a real personal feel to it .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was closed all day and all evening! Not what we expected when we returned after a long hard day looking for a relaxing drink with friends

    Not much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    1) Barman was especially friendly and talkative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Room 10 - mattress needs replacing, too "saggy"! 2) Bath in room 10 had slight traces of mold in the tilework grout - could do with a regrout or refurb. 3) Middle of winter and the main pub bar heating was out of service.

    1) Barman was especially friendly and talkative. 2) Awesome local sausages at breakfast! 3) Nice old pub in a deeply rural area atop the N Downs - very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly staff made to feel really welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No signal on pnone and although there was free internet it was too poor to do anything with. That is just one of those things when you are out in the countryside.

    Very friendly staff made to feel really welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi Fi reception was very weak.. explained beforehand but off completely on 2nd day...not a major problem for 1 night though, but could be with extra days stay..

    Good size room...quiet enough and decent bar facilities downstairs.. I was shown to room which was a nice touch..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Not wonderful - but acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You had to go out of the restaurant area to access the accommodation - not too good in bad weather. Was difficult to find even with SATNAV.

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant, but slightly diminished by issue of bed.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not the most comfortable - possibly base needs changing? Was slightly squeaky. Not so bad for one person but would imagine uncomfortable for 2!

    Clear, attractively decorated reasonable sized room. Nice new en suite bathroom. Quiet. Could have dined there if wanted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    Comfortable but in need of some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was outdated and sloppy finishings. No Wi-Fi as detailed, bed made up was not very stable.. sink through the mattress and bed frame to the floor.

    Great location and large room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.8
    overall we enjoyed the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was dated, The shower taps would not work properly, and its very dated in the room so could do with a make over badly..Staff were like robots and when I told them about the taps I was told to have a word with another man in the morning...The place would be very nice if it had the once over...

    overall we enjoyed the area...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.0
    clean but low quality accommodation.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room shabby,with damp patches. Smelt damp. Bed rather saggy. Needs a lot of updating. Nobody to greet us although we stated the time we would arrive. Had to phone through to get key as place was closed. Bit shambolic

    Food good. Landlord friendly. Was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    Good value for money, remote location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was good although bathroom needs updating, wifi signal poor in room, better in the bar.

    Service from the barman was good, extensive menu, nice restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Don’t believe other posts. Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found little wrong, but the washbasin sink could drain quicker. ( that really was all I could fault at the prices charged)

    Read a few reports prior to vist, don’t think they stayed at this hotel. Will definitely use again when in this part of uk

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    ONLY IF YOU NEED TO BE CLOSE TO TUNNEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Previous reviewers as well as the manager have mentioned that the property requires and is scheduled for refurbishment. Couldn't agree more. The whole place is tired and would greatly benefit from an upgrade.

    The only thing going for this property is its proximity to the Eurotunnel and it's very quiet with plenty of off-road parking. Room adequate at best. Breakfast passable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Clean, quiet, friendly, affordable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No phone signal, possible signal at the end of the car park, but hey, great way to get off grid and relax for the evening.

    A bit out of the way and no phone signal. But for £45 I can live with that. Good sized clean rooms with hot showers and clean bedding. Bar if you want a drink and restaurant if you are hungry. Very quiet. Stayed a few times now when the price has been right. If the price remained static I would book it every time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.3
    Convienet location but stayed in better for less. Unlikely to use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taking payment 48 hours before arrival and thought it expensive for the rooms we were given and the general facilaties

    Nice menu and a selection of real ales

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.0
    The standard of the bedroom let the place down. We kept telling ourselves it's only 1 night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the whole room needs completely refurbishing. It is very old and shabby and not in a shabby chic way! The bathroom was quite grim, the grouting filthy, nothing looked clean. The bathroom actually needs gutting and starting again.

    The room was spacious, host was friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    With a little updating this could be a really amazing place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having a spa bath in the room was great - or would have been if the spa function had worked. The bath was OK, though, with oodles of hot water. We did report the failure of the spa function.

    Food in the bar was superb and the best value for money that we enjoyed during our UK visit

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged for breakfast even though we didn't have any! When queried I was told it was clearly in their T's and C's and clearly shown at reception. I don't remember seeing it st reception. At the time of checking in my adult daughter advised we would go for breakfast at 8 but as it happened we couldn't go for breakfast due to the children being somewhat tired from a late evening. I was told the charge was for the 'preparation of laying the table'. I would not return to this hotel

    The room was well situated and plenty big enough for a family of five although the 'double' bed was more like a three quarter sized bed. The bathroom though left a lot to be desired and wasn't particularly clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Not good!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife got the key to our room but by the time I reached the front door with our luggage it was locked. I rang the bell twice but there was no answer, and I had no phone signal to call my wife. Eventually she appeared and told me the manager had said he would unlock the door, but clearly he didn't. Luckily it wasn't raining so I was able to 'enjoy' the night air for 20 minutes! We asked for a top floor room but we're not given one. There were only 6 cars in the car park so I'm sure there were top floor rooms available. The floor above us was creaky and we were bugged by the noise of creaking floor boards as the resident(s) above us walked about. Finally, I was appalled by the thick black grime on the inside of the window frames. I tried scraping it and wished I hadn't! Oh, and breakfast cost extra. So, although the location is convenient for us, I won't stay here again!

    It's a good location for us, but I'll look elsewhere in future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.4
    Did not feel comfortable, very poor condition, bathroom was diabolical, room was damp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely run down and shabby. Damp and in need of a full refurbishment. We booked 3 nights but felt so uncomfortable that we left after 2 nights as we did not want to go back there.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    relaxed the wifi is not reliable so you can relax away from the mad world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wish we couid have stayed longer

    fantastic old inn is the woods, great spa bath quiet relaxed and the the staff could not be more help full, antoine who is on reception as does anything asked a fantastic guy. we had too cancel our last night due too work commitments the next day and they offered money of our next stay. will definitely be going back for another weekend break . its so quiet.oh and the food is good too with big portions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.3
    Should have stayed at premier inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Land lord played with lap top too much. Dampness in room Freeview tv only 2 channels Virtually no signal on phone Wi-Fi poor

    Big room Plenty of hot water bar staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.5
    'The Harrowing' ....I think this should be its real title!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired decor, dirty bulb in family room smelt of fish when switched on, argitrive fell off wardrobe door when you closed it. Big family room, beds o.k.

    Its location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.8
    Terrible and very disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The accommodation was very tired and disgusting, the bedding smelt musty. I would never stay there again. The staff, one man was not very friendly. The beers were flat and disgusting. I cannot believe the price I paid for one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.8
    Ok but b&b needs some tlc
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude breakfast was terrible my son who was 11 wanted pancakes they said no !we got 1egg 1 sausage 1 bacon and small portion of beans,bathroom was dirty the room was terrible,150 pound so not worth the money !

    Area was lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.4
    Off the beaten track!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom! Very outdated and dirty. Would also benefit guests by providing some information on local amenities. The hotel is very old fashioned and needs to lose the 80's look.

    We stayed in a family room two adults, two teenagers, plenty of space and we all had proper beds as opposed to put-me-up beds for the kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    3.8
    I wouldn't return - not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very tired and needs updating and modernising throughout. Bed covers appeared a bit worn and tatty and just generally very old fashioned. Outside needs a really good clean up and repainting.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: