Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hartwood Hall 3 stars

Preston Road, Chorley, PR6 7AX, United Kingdom

#6 of 9 hotels in Chorley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 362 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 10, I wanted a bath and apparently room 10 had one, so I changed rooms, big mistake, the duvet was very heavy for the weather as the room was very hot, no fan and unable to open windows due to being adjacent to the A6, it did have secondary double glazing on one window but half of it was missing on the big window so it was extremely noisy, also it didn't have a mirror apart from the one in the bathroom, apparently there was a full length one in there but it had been broken! Only enough coffee sachets for 2 cups of coffee.

    The location to the hospital, and the manager who checked me in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning, there was a coach party in early so the staff of two, Ben and a fellow member were doing their best to provide a service. The residents were placed at the other end of the restaurant where not much was prepared from the breakfast bar however the traditional breakfast was excellent.

    The location of the Hotel was a short distance from Goodwin's Restaurant where you check into your hotel. The staff, Julie and Manager Mark were very welcoming and the food in the evening was excellent and even the manager was hands on and serving, very nice team work. Nice touch was coffee with Fudge nugget and not a biscuit. Brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the Hotel is right next to a busy roundabout on a main route to the motorway out of Chorley so the traffic noise was intrusive.

    the meal in the restaurant was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very compact, the shower was ok but quite small. The bed was very firm unfortunately so didn't sleep that well. The wifi did not work in the bedroom which was disappointing.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. Plenty of parking. Handy restaurant. Bedroom very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot...and with the windows open the road noise wasn’t great... but nothing compared to the cockerel that did what cockerels do from 4am to 5.30 am! Not good if you are a light sleeper.

    Room was small but clean and looks like it had been recently refurbished. Restaurant next door served a good breakfast and evening food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the adjacent A6.

    Although the room was a little small it was very clean and well presented. The decor, toiletries and tea/coffee made it feel more expensive than it was. Great to have the bar/restaurant next door, but just far away not to be bothered by it. All staff were very helpful and attentive, cant fault them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor continental breakfast service. We had to ask for everything , restaurant opened late. Main meal in the evening brought to the table before starter finished. Steak fit to keep warm & when returned the steak knife handle burned my partners hand. No signal on tv so no viewing during our stay.

    Near to venue of our event

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wait for coffee to be personally served and no pot left on the table for breakfast, the same with juice it wasn’t readily available!

    The facilities of Goodwins right next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room could have been better as not much natural light gets in. Bed was comfortable but it could have been better.

    Very clean room and staff were so friendly. Good selection of breakfast available and quick service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    The bedroom was extremely comfortable and exceptionally clean throughout whilst the standard and variety of food on the menu in both the restaurant and bar was high. The staff were very helpful at all times and appeared happy in their work. I particularly enjoyed the "fish & chips" sponge puddings and very reasonably priced breakfasts. The porridge is a must !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The postcode for the hotel did not take us to the hotel/ restaurant so maybe worth looking into. The room was small but perfect for a short stay.

    The room and bathroom was clean and tidy. It looked like it had been recently refurbished. Very nice and the restaurant it is linked to again looked really nice and the breakfast was excellent as well as the customer service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. No complaints at all.

    The warmth of the staff when we checked in. The helpfulness of the staff in Goodwins for breakfast and dinner and at the bar and the lovely food we had. The cleanliness of the room and its facilities. I have stayed before so I was delighted to return for a family wedding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is run by the staff at the bar/restaurant who can’t answer the phones when serving. I was due to arrive late and was concerned at the 11pm cut-off for check-in. I tried to call 5 times during the day, but no call was answered. This made my journey unnecessarily stressful. An answering machine would solve the problem (as long as it was checked regularly).

    The room was spotless and well maintained, the bathroom was small but sparkling clean and well presented, with a really good shower. The breakfast was good and served by friendly, helpful host. All staff were warm, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at Goodwins was limited, 2 items asked for yet not available, was average what we ordered. Only items from the menu available for breakfast, no fruit or cereals, although an excellent breakfast when we got it.

    Clean, good shower, separate hotel to bar area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £4.99 for a bowl of cereal at breakfast is absolutely ridiculous. Especially as they imply residents get it for free.

    Room was a good size. Clean and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located on a busy road, next to a roundabout and as my room was downstairs at the front, I found it noisy. Having said that, I am a light sleeper so I maybe noticed it more that other guests would. I would certainly stay there again.

    Comfortable bed and the room was spotlessly clean, if a little small

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super easy to find Parking was just outside Hotel is in deprecate building, but just outside of the pub Rooms were small - but super clean and comfy Breakfast was an absolute bargain and so fresh and delicious!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodation whilst clean and tidy rather restricted space wise especially if booked for 2 adults, but will use again.

    Excellent Bar/Restaurant (Goodwin's) adjacent to accommodation offering good food at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in main room was adequate but position of lamps and main overhead light was not helpful when using mirror in main room.

    Newly refurbished, the bathroom was excellent. Great shower and a mirror that stayed clear from mist/steam.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing and no way to increase the temperature. Spoke with management on site who didn’t know what to do. Moved to a new room which was slightly warmer but again no way of increasing temperature.

    Food and decor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The booking site doesn't mention breakfast so when checking in I asked about it, the bookibg didnt ibclude ut but the bar was open at 7am and you can purchase it in the morning. for a full English the cost is less than a fiver and is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing I would change!

    Beautiful room! Super clean (I'm a head housekeeper myself & it's the first thing I look at. The house keeping staff should be very proud!). Very nicely decorated & comfortable. I didn't want to get out of bed. Great that the accommodation is separate from the main bar area so noise is very minimal if at all any. Staff at bar lovely & food is great. Will deffo be back!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant not that great but wen u have traveled it’s was better than nothing breakfast next morning was ok though couldn’t get a drink after 11pm as they said they were closing although we were residents

    Room fine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are really nicely done. And food and staff in restaurant are great. Julie served us for evening meal and was great and really helpful. Thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever.

    The coziness, staffs ease and welcoming manner, design, location. This really is state of the art place with heart and soul. Despite being small, it can teach other properties a thing or two about being a fantastic place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in one of the rooms a bit on the small side for my husband but not unmanageable.

    Very clean comfy rooms. Excellent breakfast. Outstanding staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in a building that looks like a lodge on the pub car park. The exterior not up to the interior. Good car parking outside the lodge not on the pub car park. Thought as it was on a busy crossroads it may have been noisy but it was not.

    Room was very nicely decorated, bathroom was really good. Food in the restaurant was excellent and service was prompt. The room had a large tv, hairdryer iron and ironing board. Also tea and coffee in room. Good bed linen. Recently refurbished to a good standard. Quite a lot of thought been put into the decor. Easy access to the pub and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff looked shocked when I walked into breakfast at 0830 the cleaner was still cleaning the restaurant when breakfast states 0730-0930 strange I felt very out of place however breakfast was very good

    Easy booking in Andrew was very professional friendly and smart

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a busy road

    Basic business accommodation, on a busy road, next door to the restaurant. No air-con or fan, so room very hot, but on a busy road so you can't open the window. The accommodation is unmanned (you check-in at the restaurant). Room was clean, comfortable and modern. Food was very good at restaurant next door, there is ample parking and staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the fact that the room had been beautifully refurbished, the bed was extremely hard which is not good for anyone as it causes pressure on the body and caused us not to sleep hardly at all and we ached after each night. Mattresses should be soft/soft to medium so as not to cause pressure on the body, but to make sure of a good & restful nights sleep! We were extremely disppointed that they do not serve beer (bitter) or Guinness, which for a Nothern establishment we found strange. We do not touch any sort of Lagers regardless but that is all they had. If they had had cans of bitter & Guinness that would have been ok but they didn't even have that!

    Full English breakfast & meals in the resturant were very good. Room & ensuite were very clean and stylish

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expected a twin bedded room but on arrival found one double bed. There was a trundle bed that was made up for us. As it turned out the double bed was very comfy and spacious enough even for unfamiliar sleeping partners.

    Very comfy room and lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable room. Modern look with good facilities and extras like tea making facilities. On site restaurant and pub although didn't eat there but looked very popular.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were on small side, especially the bathroom but not something to put me off staying again.

    Rooms are beautiful! Staff excellent, Food very fresh and well presented. Very relaxed and welcoming. Very good at customer service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast set up a little haphazard in that had to ask for more juice, butter, croissants and not a good choice of cereals . only a few bowls and no side plates on the serving table - looked a bit meagre. Tables not set up for breakfast. Full breakfast was good for 2 of the party but scrambled egg on toast for the other 2 was cold.

    Rooms was nicely decorated and clean and bed comfortable. Bathroom roomy and liked window ledge to put toiletry bags etc on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As i am diabetic i do nead a small frige in my room wat wood be nice to have this hoption back a small miny frig that hold 2 to 3 cans wold do xx

    Breakfast was good price and well set out no rushing round. Diner tasted nice i had pie my husband had fish we was full well set out on plate

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated towel rail was left in the bathroom on so the room was very warm despite having the windows open - only a very small thing as overall very happy

    Great value, newly refurbished, as nice as the pictures, good food/drinks in the bar/pub next door

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for breakfast in the printed menu is a bit confusing as it doesn't state coffee/tea are not included but quality of breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal hotel in a good location for where we needed to stay. Room was small but newly done up so it was clean and comfortable. The only issue is there was no air con so the room was absolutely boiling throughout the night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems at all. This property exceeded my expectations although I don't really know why my expectations were low in the first place.

    The friendly greeting on arrival and the proximity to the motorway network. Varied reasonably priced menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but was adequate . The noise from the road could be heard and this was all night.

    The hotel was nicely decorated due to being recently refurbished, the restaurant looked popular . Didn't eat here but seemed popular with locals. It was clean, nicely furnished, staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a little noisy due to traffic on roundabout but nothing that could be done about that. We had a great night's sleep anyway!

    The staff at the Hotel were so helpful! I needed something printing - a voucher I was giving as a wedding gift, and the lady on shift printed it for me without hesitation. The barman also sorted a taxi out for us as we had no idea of numbers to call as we are from the Wirral. Facilities clean and modern. Cheap bar prices too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was nothing we didn't like, but would mention that the room was a little cramped for a three night stay.

    The hospitality and enthusiasm and friendliness of All the Staff we met.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of TV, on top of wardrobe.A little too high for comfortable viewing. A little expensive for what it is. Bed not very comfortable.

    Recently renovated so all nice and new and clean. Good parking. Fantastic shower good range of temperature and pressure. No street noise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiators were switched on and it was a boiling hot day, said it was a twin but was actually a double bed however the single room had a queen size so lots of room.

    Lovely decor and very modern. The bathroom was nice and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really wanted a bath!

    Loved the facilities food was spot on. Staff were all really lovely. Room was great,bed super comfy and a great sized tv! Really impressed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and stiflingly hot - window would only open about an inch giving absolutely no ventilation; smell of paint was overwhelming. Woken at 5am with people next to me slamming door (only way to close any of the doors). Tv was not set up for any channels.

    Friendly staff; room was very clean. Freshly renovated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Just about everything. The room was a good size for a single it was very clean & had a nice shower area. The staff were fabulous being extremely helpful and considerate. The restaurant provided a good variety of food at a difficult to beat price. I particularly enjoyed the fish & chips and the variety of low key low cost breakfasts --delicious. Try the original sweets on offer! I have stayed at four star hotels who could not match this Goodnight Inn which offers real value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't great and pillows not great either. I actually thought the £40 rate I paid included breakfast. £40 wasn't good for the room. The shower had mould growth above the tiles of the shower which let the room down a bit.

    Staff were friendly & helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Proximity to a busy road junction. No place of interest listing in sat nav. Suggest premises number is included in address details forwarded with booking.

    Good full cooked breakfast. Good facilities in room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy overnight , Heat & Vent system needs attention Told building due for refurb, that should fix it

    Excellent staff and brilliant location. Excellent value for money food menu

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the main menu a full vegetarian salad would have been good, with more than just lettuce and shavings of cheese.

    The staff were so helpful, pleasant and accommodating. Nothing as too much trouble in any way about anything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A.

    Very good value for money. Staff really friendly and accommodating. Loved being next to a pub. Good size rooms. No issues at all. I stayed here for two nights because my boyfriend is in Preston hospital...and I had a great experience staying here which made the situation that little bit easier. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cramped especially around the bed area. The lock on the front door was loose & the staff were aware of it. The cold water ran warm unless left to run for a few minutes. The room was definitely in need of some tic.

    The location was great. The staff were helpful especially at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole room was terrible, uncomfortable squeaky bed bathroom needed a complete revamp and extremely noisy. Definitely would not return

    The pub and breakfast were really good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room had a smashed in door with a make shift lock we could've been locked in with.. luckily we got moved but to be kept awake all night with banging heating pipes.

    The staff and meals we had there were fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff, no croissants, fruit, muffins or crumpets at breakfast. Took me to ask the cleaner twice to even get service. The room smelt very damp, the lights were so dim it was difficult to get ready.

    Beds comfy, good location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for food at hartwood. Very average. Other members of party stayed at premier inn, better rooms and quieter. It was very loud at night from both people in rooms and people outside. Exact same price too. Ultimately the stay was ok, apart from the noise. Not particularly good value for money either.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not one fault situated near a busy main road and could not here anything.

    Stopped in a few budget priced hotels this was by far the best friendly staff spotless rooms excellent food what more can you ask for thank you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to use any power socket as all electric plug sockets were positioned immediately above shelves or headboard and did not allow enough room for plug and sealed lead to plug in safely.

    Warm room & comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    did not have breakfast for personal reasons but was unsure it was part of the cost any way ,

    location was perfect for my stay and the room was as expected

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 45 quid no complaints can be made

    Room compact but quiet for being on main rd, staff were highlight and ease of getting to bamber bridge where my meeting was

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole experience. (The hotel from hell)!!! AVOID!! 1. The room was not fit for purpose, and a health hazard. Mouldy, Damp, Cold. 2. No heating for the first night and no assistance given (extra duvet portable heater or blankets), despite being requested, NO Mention of any problems at check in. 3. Day two, after complaining! A portable plug in heater was given for the rest of the stay. (Which made the mould and damp smell almost unbearable in the room). We were offered free breakfasts for two days. Despite an engineer supposedly being called out the radiator was barely warm. 4. The room smelt of damp and there was mould around the windows, on the skirting boards, inside and outside of the wardrobe. 5. The hot tap in the bathroom would not turn off properly and dripped ALL night. 6. The shower flooded the bathroom during every use. 7. The fixtures and fittings were dusty, rusty and mouldy. (they fell off the wall in the bathroom). The toilet seat did not fit. (see photographs of above issues and other problems). 8. Day three, finally able to speak to the manager and was offered a percentage refund. 8. Although the staff were friendly, the communication with management and customer service were unsatisfactory. 9. Promised refund only partially given at check out (had paid in full), NO communication from the Head Office despite contacting them on return home.

    The food, apart from breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not helpful...obviously not used to give service just take money Room you could not swing a cat in. Busy main road right next to the window Room totally different from advert Food average

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was noisy because of the road nearby. My room (nr. 7) was the best I guess (most off the road)

    Good food and beverages. The room was big enough and provided with everything needed. Making tea at the room was also nice. People are really making an effort to make it as cosy and comfortable as possible, well done!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the rooms could be decorated a bit, looks rather tired. But not a huge problem

    Lovely small hotel, great value for money and nice clean room. Slept soundly and peacefully. Food really good, super choice even for vegetarians like me!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked as attended a private party in Chorley. Room was perfectly fine for price paid. The only tiny negative walls are paper thin and the door had a air vent in which meant when people walked past door for breakfast talking it sounded like they were in room lol

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    The heating in the room didn't work properly, and the hair dryer didn't work. I reported the hair dryer and the management laughed and said that the spare one must of disappeared. My wife had to travel home with wet hair after she had a shower.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror light in the bathroom didn't work Light over room mirror didn't work One plug socket didn't work Blind had no pull cord and was broken No heating on in room or bathroom when we arrived. The heating was not working properly, I called reception in the morning and was told there was a problem with it and there was nothing they could do about it. We couldn't shower or have a bath it was so cold. It was a very cold and uncomfortable stay which wasn't helped by the fact that the window wasn't sealed properly so was draughty and noisy from the traffic outside. The other window had a tree right up against it and was constantly tapping and scraping on the glass.

    Bed was comfortable and the water was hot.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy because room next to the road. Also the bar staff were lovely but very stretched should have been mire staff. As a regular client - loyalty points for discount may be a thought.

    I liked the comfortable room and tea and coffee facilities

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room facing on to main road very noisey until late at night then very early in the morning. Windows could do with improved double glazing.

    Good location for where working and value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not been able to get on the Internet.

    All ok. Good enough though for the money. Room was clean and fresh feeling and large enough. The room had a good feel it was just getting to it that wasn't as nice. The halls and reception wasn't as good feeling as the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 9 was a nightmare the traffic noise was endless all nightlong no sleep had to check out ASAP. The room was a little on the small side.

    Staff were very helpful many thanks

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky here but ..Window was broken .

    Bed so comfy ..room was clean .extra bonus it had a bath lovely romantic bubble bath with candles topped the weekend of nicely xx

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food terrible. Didn't go for breakfast as eve meal was so poor, this is in the pub adjoining the rooms where you check in and have breakfast (at extra cost). Bathroom door hit toilet on opening and closing. Room quite dark.

    Late check out

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first night in the bedroom no 9 was a nightmare. Crazy noise from the busy road. The second night at the back would be OK but it was a couple next door watching TV and making noise late. The 2 last nights were quiet at the back. The wifi never worked. The water of the shower sprayed everywhere.

    Very warm welcome. Very friendly staff and very helpful. Big parking. Clean. Pub next door for food.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: