Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Haselbury Mill

Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne, TA18 7NY, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Crewkerne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 260 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little lumpy, other than that it was perfect

    Lovely room, really beautiful tranquil setting with a pub and lovely restuarant a few yards away perfect. Staff were really great too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside at all was some other guests who felt the need to be outside talking very loudly until the early hours of the morning but this was obviously not the hotel’s fault in any way.

    Staff were very friendly, location idyllic, breakfast delicious. Restaurants looked lovely but we didn’t use them - we’ll be back to try them!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    20mins to check in is a joke.. no phone reception . dated and tired rooms / reception areas . only a few members of staff knew how to use computer which made check in slow as they weren't on site

    really good breakfast. great products and nice breakfast room .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sticky table tops in restaurants - please revarnish!

    Good parking, polite staff and excellent breakfast especially the chef who personally cooked and delivered to our table my delicious blueberry pancakes 😋

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't stay for long enough!!

    Haselbury Mill is a wonderful place and we can't wait to go back there again. This was our 4th visit and we loved every minute.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    We stayed in Magnolia, and it was a very impressive room, a massive bed. Everything was very clean. Wonderful surroundings. Staff were very friendly and a special thank you to Minnie, for making our stay special. Would definitely return and recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked a superior room for a romantic weekend. Our dog was travelling with us, and we had an upfront mail communication about the 10 pound extra payment. We got a friendly welcome, but the room was a shock - small, shabby and no view, no similarity with their advertising. Only when going back to reception we learned that dogs were not allowed in a superior room - no mention of this in any of their upfront mails. So we had no chance than to squeeze into this very small and quite run down room. And next morning we had to fight for a fair compensation of the extra we had paid for the superior room. Never again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wedding in the Tithe barn was a little noisy.

    Friendly staff and excellent value for money. The location was perfect. Excellent breakfast and dog friendly environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of any things I didn’t like, other than the weather!

    The whole place is warm and welcoming and the staff are all fantastic. You feel not so much in a hotel as in someone’s home!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sqeaky bed, TV remote did not work properly (very minor issues)

    Location to Ariel factory, general feeling of the place, friendly staff and fantastic food, will be returning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism was no full length mirror in the bedroom. We ladies like to see a full image before venturing out!!

    Beautiful location - all in excellent taste. Loved the vintage cars and gypsy caravans dotted about.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the classic cars quietly rotting in almost every vista.

    the breakfast room and the lovely fresh flowers were beautiful, plus the good quality breakfast bacon, sausages and eggs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Could not fault it, Booked at very short notice, as I was unsure how far I would get that day, and the staff could not have been more helpful. Great relaxing location, full of character and quirkyness. Great food and atmosphere both in the evening and at breakfast the following day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike about this lovely venue

    The whole experience at Haselbury Mill was very pleasant and we have no complaints would most definitely visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's different. Quirky. It is barn conversions that work together. Set in the countryside with lots of classic cars and train memorbilia. So much nicer than a bland chain hotel that looks the same whichever town you are in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was amazing!! Beautifully cooked and excellent produce. Amazing location and so many things to look at. I can see why it is a popular wedding venue.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault anything

    Really helpful, friendly staff, great food and very pleasant comfortable rooms. Handy location not far from A303 for our business trip to Crewkerne.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This stunning venue hosts weddings and other parties. If you want an early night and are not part of the celebrations, it is a good idea to tell the staff and they will make sure you get a quiet room away from the festivities.

    Beautiful location, huge comfortable bed, elegant restaurant, delicious food, good choice of drinks, masses of hot water in the en suite shower, lots of car parking space, charming, helpful, professional staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Haselbury Mill is close to many of Somerset's attractions and easy to find with a sat nav.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!

    The building was lovely. Old stone. Surrounded by green countryside. Quiet and comfortable. Food was good and staff, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    I have reviewed Haselbury Mill before and this was our 3rd stay & the 1st time for Christmas & Boxing day and the best way I can sum our visit up was the moment I got home I booked next Christmas for 2018.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointed with the size of the room ,I suggest dropping the "superior" part of the description and settling with a more realistic double room with en-suite

    The efficiency of the family and staff wilst trying to maintain a laid back atomsphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange odour in the room - possibly from the foldaway bed. Decor and general finish left a lot to be desired. Need to lose the artex ceiling, improve colour scheme and furnishings, proper curtains needed. One window had no blinds or curtains at all so you had to expose yourself between bedroom and bathroom. I had to stick toilet paper on the window to give us some privacy!!! Also, better to install carpets in bedrooms. Wooden floors not great and it’s noisy room to room. Re-install the door to the bedroom - would reduce noise from communal areas and keep room warmer.

    Spacious room and bathroom. Pretty clean. Helpful to have an iron and board. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a reasonable choice at breakfast. My husband chose the full English breakfast and I chose poached egg with one rasher of bacon and one sausage. The egg was fine, cooked to order. Sadly it would appear that the sausage and bacon had been cooked earlier and kept warm. Consequently, they were dried out and the bacon was almost impossible to cut.

    Nice clean bedroom, bathroom and communal areas. Comfy bed with good quality bedding. Lovely large shower. Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel restaurant and bar very clean. At breakfast it was nice to have a choice of how your eggs were cooked and they were cooked to order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really uncomfortable beds staff did change our rooms immediately but beds were the same . Spoilt our stay due to no sleep . Rectify that an it would have been perfect .

    Beautiful surroundings great staff great food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast could have been abit better it was mainly self serve and some of the cooked breakfast was cold.

    The room was lovely very clean and nice comfortable bed. The hotel has beautiful surroundings was a very peaceful place to stay. We also enjoyed a very nice meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only slight downside was that we had a put-me-up bed which was uncomfortable - we ended up putting extra pillows under the mattress to make it more comfortable over the springs. We'd booked very late and there were no twin rooms available so we were grateful that we could get a booking- and to be honest these put-me-ups are never hugely comfy. Not a dislike exactly but a little information about my average rating in regards to safety for baby's toddlers- this is to do with the water/ponds on the property which are not fenced- so provided you're watching your child (which hopefully you are) there shouldn't be a problem- more of a watch out for if you are enjoying the grounds.

    The location was fantastic - a great place to stay to explore the beautiful Dorset/Somerset/Devon countryside. There's a lot that you can do/see in the local area. The property is gorgeous- the food was great with an amazing selection from the Windy Miller pub to the a la carte dining. We even had the carvery on the Sunday which was great quality. The prices charged were really reasonable. The staff were really accommodating and informative.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not much room in the bathroom around the loo, that's all.

    The staff and owner were very helpful, I am disabled and without even asking the set up breakfast for us on the ground floor so I didn't have to go upstairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff and owner. We had to set off very early after our stay and they did everything they could to make sure we didn't leave with an empty stomach!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good nothing negative to report.

    Lovely location, splendid room set in very nice grounds. Staff were delightful and the food was very good both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were limited vegetarian options - but what we had was lovely

    Our room was lovely & the en suite was massive! The staff were so helpful and friendly, have already recommended this hotel to some family & friends. We had the tomato soup starter for dinner and it was the best we'd ever had - we'll definitely be returning in the future! As we only stayed one night we didn't manage to explore the grounds - what we saw was very picturesque though. Our dog also enjoyed the fuss she received from the staff and guests alike :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities too small in our room....ok for skinny people!!! Cups but no saucers in room..add saucers or change to mugs. One pack of biscuits for two people is a bit tight considering the cost of the room.

    Room was clean and nicely presented. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff extremely helpful room upgraded as husband couldn't manage stairs to room booked this was a better room at no extra charge to us , the grounds are superb and collection of vintage cars and gypsy Caravans were fascinating , the restaurant evening meal was one of the best and morning breakfast equally good , would like to return one day, this is a unique quirky place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was quite small but it didn't bother us as we were lucky to get a room at all as there was a wedding there and we booked quite late.

    The staff were fab, the food was delicious, the noise was minimal, all was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was damp smelling, and so bad for my asthma. There were a number of spiders in our room- it certainly wasn't dirty but am not sure it could have been dusted properly. We found about about 12- and as neither of us like spiders, we were creeped out by this. The staff were great, and helped get rid of them, but didn't sleep well because of this. It wasn't cheap (£115) so would expect the room to not be damp smelling.

    The grounds were beautiful and it was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was disappointing particularly given it's cost, variety and quality. Steak was tough and of poor quality. Breakfast service was very poor. Cooked breakfast buffet - eggs were all overdone, only plates available were side plates. Staff were not coping with service and were slow to serve coffee/tea and had to be prompted again. Disappointing.

    Lovely location, friendly staff, spacious clean room with comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could do with sprucing up as was a little tired in places. Very hot as small windows but the fan helped. Restaurant was also hot and again needed some TLC.

    Lovely location and beautiful setting for drinks in the garden. Food very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to the Tithe Barn to look at the venue (following a prom party the night before) to book it for a special party, I was abruptly and rudely challenged by one of the cleaners as I looked and picked up a sweet from a bowl left over from the night before... she shooed me out and slammed the door behind me not allowing my wife a look.... oh well we will book some where else :-(

    Just the whole stay and experience.... fabulous place :-))

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The excellent customer services including the owner Nothing we could fault and never get bored in this beautiful property and its grounds can't wait to return

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very tired looking hotel throughout. The rooms looked as if they had been furnished from a junk shop! Outside catering outside of reception area.....smelt of pizza.

    The staff were friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome wasn't the best I've ever experienced - there was a new member of staff who wasn't very confident in dealing with customers and didn't get the basics right so should have been more carefully supervised. My room was quite small.

    The hotel has many things going for it. Breakfast was great - the produce is top quality, and it's well-cooked to order. The grounds are lovely, with lots of spaces to relax in. Wifi is fast and efficient and worked well throughout the hotel. I appreciated having decaffeinated tea in the bedroom!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was tricky to get the right temperature, also it wasn't adjustable and wet your head even if you didn't want it to. The cubicle door was also a bit stiff and hard to operate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so comfortable - I wish I could have fitted it in my car. The shower too was brilliant. The food was fantastic. We had a galf board deal which was well worth it. I was very impressed and cannot remember the last time I had such a lovely meal. The breakfast too was delicious and plentiful Thoroughly recommend

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot - the weather was really bad for early June!!

    Staff were excellent and accommodating to our requests. A slightly eclectic collection of "memorabilia"gives the whole place atmosphere and interest. Location was great, in the middle of the countryside but easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report here

    TripAdvisor gave it many very positive reviews and I can only add that it exceeded my expectations on so many levels, such courteous and friendly staff, outstanding food quality both main meal & breakfast and very, very pleasant surroundings indeed, like stepping into a film set! Our room was spaciouis & well appointed and now look forward to returning in Autumn

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small with no wardrobe or hanging space for clothes. The bathroom was minute as we only had enough room to accommodate one person at a time and no room to dry ourselves in there after taking a shower. Very expensive and poor value for money. We will not be staying there again and cannot recommend it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was shut at odd times.

    The mill was quirky and in a beautiful location. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing that comes to mind

    we had a very good experience and the staff and owners were very attentive and we all enjoyed the food and the friendly attitude in a rather unusual place to stay. we would always go back if the opportunity arose

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location very picturesque! Lovely room in the coach houses, Food great, breakfast exceptional! Only wish we stayed a little longer to really give Haselbury Mill a more indepth review.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was up 3 flights of stairs in the attic with views over the car park though it was called Lakeside View!!!! Very basic.

    Friendly staff. Food was good, though breakfast was limited!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quirky but exceptional welcome and standard of service and food. Location is very central for loads of different places of interest. We'll worth a visit!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor considering the price of the room, with tough sausages, flavourless bacon and cold beans. Also the continental breakfast options were relatively limited, mainly cereal and toast. Some of the information in the guidebook may have been out of date: one cab firm I telephoned had a number that was unreachable so may have been disconnected.

    The bed was very comfortable, the staff were very helpful, the location was very convenient for the wedding I was attending in a nearby village.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we could complain about

    Staff were excellent nothing too much trouble We were there for our 50th wedding anniversary we had a drink on the house

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a superior room, as it was my wife's Birthday. It was the same standard that we have been in, on previous visit here. No extras. Very enjoyable though.

    Staff were excellent. That was one reason why we return to Haselbury Mill.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was in the main house where sound proofing seems to be non existent. Although modern and spotlessly clean our bathroom was too small.

    The staff are a delight and couldn't be more helpful and both dinner and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely spacious room, comfy bed. Friendly staff, excellent evening meal. Wish we could have stayed longer than one night, we will be back!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault the place at all.

    A real West country welcome,fine dining,good wine ,a very convivial and fascinating host.I travelled with my elderly father,We were very pleased with our stay,and shall definately be back..RC

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more time to explain the breakfast routine. Tea and coffee at breakfast to be made to order

    We were greeted like family and shown to a very comfy, clean and spacious room. Although we had been previously told of a reunion being held at an adjacent building this did not disturb us. Food was fabulous.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room at the very top of the building was stiflingly hot,had no seating area & a very unpleasant smell in the shower room which was not sorted out by the time we left. The first night in the restaurant was very disappointing,the food was not good at all. The second night was much better-a birthday meal so we were pleased with the improvement,although for the second night running we had to firmly decline being moved to the upstairs dinning area,having already requested a table downstairs in the main restaurant. Breakfast was chaotic on both days & was not of a good standard.The poor staff spent most of the time apologising to everyone.

    Lovely location & grounds{except for some of the bizarre 'rusting motor exhibits'). Cheerful,friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was delicious and used local produce. Staff were friendly and helpful. Setting and buildings beautifu l- Old Mill, Granary and Tithe Barn. Enjoyed exploring the grounds especially the vintage cars, WW2 vehicles and gypsy caravans.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small and quite noisy as other guests passed by.

    Bed was comfy - restaurant good and setting beautifully furnished with all manner of interesting items.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Comfy, cosy with plenty of interesting areas around to explore. The food was very good & staff friendly. Hope to return when going that way again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff were all friendly and helpful, Staying on Business can be sometimes lonely and boring but the staff took time out to chat and make you welcome, The food was fantastic and at a very reasonable price, If your a cooked breakfast lover don't miss out all cooked fresh to order, The highlight of the stay was the very potent cider and at £2.80 a pint it would have been rude not to partake in Somerset's traditional tipple, I will be returning with my family at some point for a nice relaxing Weekend 10/10

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom (bridal suite!) a bit dark and gloomy, especially on a grey, cloudy day. Room lighting not bright enough for reading a book before bed. 4-poster bed frame hard but mattress set inside it was comfortable. Musty damp smell in bedroom and bathroom, probably from the wooden-floored en-suite.

    Good food, great atmosphere, lovely grounds, friendly staff, interesting decor. A bit tricky to find but worth the effort

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waggon had probably not been attended to prior our arrival as everything was shut tight and air very smelly and musty. Aeration and switching on the heater fixed it over the two days. If the property took more care to neaten up the waggon and it's surroundings as well as the bed it would be very marketable. As it was presented on our arrival we think many people would have refused the offer.

    Hotel had overbooked. Put us up instead in a travelling performers waggon from the 40's. We saw it as a zany alternative from the norm of dreary run of the mill hotel rooms. We probably preferred the waggon over any standard room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were pushed to having dinner in the upstairs dining room( don't! ) but stuck to our guns and stayed downstairs. The starter was nearly inedible but the main course delicious... The room in the main building was good but the one we were originally offered in an outbuilding was dingy...

    The setting is wonderful; a little quirky and superb grounds. Our dog was made very welcome and the staff were really good. We had a glass of the Apple Brandy after dinner; Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find any negatives.

    Quality of hotel , luxury of bedroom, great food and fantastic team who made you feel very welcome. All the staff were so friendly and enthusiastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Staff Breakfast all great

    Everything was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent experience. Overall very good. Nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress wasn’t the best

    Staff were absolutely brilliant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice room. Great location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and food amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fine. No complaints

    Great location and good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was rubbish.

    Nice place. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's quirkiness and history. Its food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room interior was quite dated

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: