Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hatters Birmingham 4 stars

92-95 Livery Street,, Birmingham, B3 1RJ, United Kingdom

#62 of 78 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1850 hostel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Using underpass when walking from Snow Hill Station (down Livery St can be a bit unpleasant especially at night or early on Sunday mornings (it stinks) but I have never had any trouble... its worth mentioning.

    Was lucky enough to find a double for single occupancy with ensuite rather than dorm - worth the extra money. It is only a very short walk from Snow Hill Station (NB: there is a lower station exit so you dont have to use the underpass, but has limited opening hours) and up to Jam House etc. Felt safe walking around by myself late at night. Only a short, pleasant, 15mins walk along towpath to Arena Birmingham. Room was clean. Old building so quirky and needs reburb in areas but value for money given dedicated room and location. No food in-house late at night but quick walk to garage for snacks / drinks and Dominoes Pizza. Also a drinks and snack machine in reception. Quite young, international, guests who were friendly. It is a cool, fun, hostel for a night to go to gig or event in Birmingham CBD.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Basic hostel but great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels cost extra - £2 when I stayed. Not particularly a problem but booking.com did make it look like towels were included in the price. Sheets and bedding was included.

    Nice hostel. Basic but comfortable and a good location for me being close to town. Surrounding area felt safe. Breakfast was tea & coffee, toast and a choice of cereals. Room was clean and the hostel was quiet when I stayed (although I did stay on a Sunday and Monday night).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Value for money but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the building has many facilities for guest to use, but the building is starting to get a bit run down. Lockers in the rooms are a bit small for space. They do have a luggage room with a security camera near the lobby that excess items can be placed in. There was problems with power outlets in the room I was staying in. Only two sets of outlets worked. Room also had a very strong odder...

    Close to a train link, but felt a little unsure of the safety of the area. Only five minutes to that station though so not too bad. There is also a shopping area about ten minutes away. The staff are all really nice and helpful. It was nice to have a garden to sit in. There is also couches in the lobby and plenty of space in the kitchen area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Basic but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very basic with just some pastries, toast and cereal on offer. The bathroom was quite noisy but to be sort of expected from old property.

    The room and bathroom were both good sizes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly, bed was comfortable, there was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dorms were very very plain and basic but really if you're stayimg here you're probably not going be spending much time in the dorm. So it's not really an issue. Not many choices for breakfast though

    The staff were very friendly, bed was comfortable, there was a comfortable commmon area with armchairs and sofas to relax

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Disapointed with the single room...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room I got was really tiny with a tiny window. The mattress should have been replaced ages ago - there was a hole in the middle of it- one can figure out quite easy that mattress has an "expiry date" too. I payed extra money, expecting some more comfort of a private room and I had a worse night than if I stayed with 10other people. Waking up like 5 times during the night. Also, it looked nothing like in the pictures...

    Nice lobby, interesting neighbourhood, short walk to trains. OK breakfast. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    I do not reccommend this place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was assigned initially (shared all female dorm) smelled awful and the beds looked unmade and the bathroom was dirty. I was given a room swap in a shared co-ed room and the glass window panes in the bathroom of that room were broken. The free breakfast had flies all over it in the morning, I didn't help myself to any.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location, in a quiet area not too far from the city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found bed bug stains on the mattress. I left as soon as I realised that, and asked for a refund, but the manager refused, and tried to argue that it was just normal wear and tear. The room looks nothing like the pictures.

    Good location, in a quiet area not too far from the city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost nothing, booked through here for a day but stayed for a week. Shower is dirty in the corners, isn't cleaned, Housekeeping only does beds that checked out that day, beds stayed the same for days. You get hot water after minutes... If you're lucky. Mattresses aren't changed in ages I bet. Kitchen is so dirty, fridge smelled every time I went there, not cleaned once, didn't have any breakfast knowing where it came from. Room I stayed in had no window. You can feel and hear everything when people come through or talk. In the middle of an heatwave in the UK, snack machine had no water available, only sugary drinks, chocolate and chips. All in all, very very bad. You get what you pay for. Avoid.

    Location to snow hill station;free coffee/tea. Reception is the best area really, and that's what deceives people into booking really, the rooms in the basement don't have a single photo

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    1 night at the hatters
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was in wasn't well ventilated and unfortunately was really hot due to the weather.

    The staff were very polite and helpful. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay! Quaint hostel with exellent private rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities were a little old but everything was clean and well kept. Definatelly worth the money

    Individual room was great and felt like I had enough privacy. Staff was very friendly and location was great, just a few minutes from the city centre and most attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Happy with the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostel was quite alright. We booked a double room; photos shown when booking a specific room are rather misleading as actual room, while okay, was not nearly as nice. Some staff very friendly; some didn't bother to return greetings when entering the hostel on several occasions.

    Happy with the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Lovely and cozy place
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the place amazing, young and cozy. The staff is always available to help you. I booked a single room but, as they were finished, i had a double at the same price which was really lovely and clean. I certanly will come back as soon as possible!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    very dissapointed wont be staying again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i had booked a 4 bed and had to be asked to move rooms as at midnight another 3 males entered room very drunk and loud i was trying to sleep as went there to work asked them to keep noise down but got load of abuse

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff were lovely and very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi would not stay connected to my phone, which was a little inconvenient. However it worked perfectly on my laptop, so wasn't too much of a issue.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. The room was lovely and the shower warm. I had an interview after the check out time, but they allowed me to store my luggage in the luggage room which was very helpful for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Basic rooms, good communal areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not very clean. Shower had rust and mould. Bedroom clean except window area covered in cobwebs. Had a funny smell.

    Reception staff lovely and helpful. Nicely decorated lobby area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Hatters is OK, for a night ot two for culture/gigs and other activities in Birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was below ground level, so not much of a view, however light does come in from the high windows, but nothing really to look at. Breakfast was basic, but did the job, and coffee. Breakfast room wasn't the best, but was OK for one night.

    The beds were firm and comfortable, room and shower were about right. The shower did sputter a bit, but was big enough, and worked OK. Bathroom was big, and all was good. Towels provided. The ventilation in there wasnt too bad, and slept OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    I would stay at Hatters again, it is a good hostel, any faults can be easily fixed
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a few things...mattresses and pillows are very thin. So bed not very comfy. And NO way to dry hands or dishes in kitchens or upstairs bathrooms, no paper machines, no cloths. Bit weird, that. Lastly...Hatters always seems a shade too cold, and the basement r n r room has screamy disco music at all times, sometimes with the TV on as well! Perhaps then a little quiet room?!

    Hatters is a good hostel, well run, personal lockers, nice way to arrange the 24bed dorm into little groups of 4, privacy curtains and plenty of showers n toilets. Breakfast is included, served for a long time and plentiful. You can use tea and coffee facilities for free any time. Also good quality shower gel and hand wash for free in all bathrooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    After Digital Society relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin/triple room doesn't have any room furniture to deposit clothes. Also, it is recommended to bring your own towels, because the hostel will charge you 1.5£/towel. Another thing that I didn't enjoy is having to pay 0.20£/page when I asked if I could print some boarding tickets (bus/plane).

    The location of the hostel is at 15-20 min walking distance from the city center area, near an overground metro station (St. Paul's). The hostel offers twin/triple rooms (with own bathrooms) besides bunk beds in shared rooms. The conform is decent, the room was clean upon arrival. Also, there is a shared kitchen at the basement for every guest to use for cocking there own meals/dinner. Also, the kitchen is where the breakfast is served every morning. The hostels staff recommends that you label your any food/drinks left in the refrigerator. And one of the main conditions of using the shared kitchen is to clean after you use it. The hostel provides in the kitchen (basement) free coffe/tea/hot chocolate 24/7 any no extra charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to open window in dormitory and 6 sharing. But the staff did provide a fan and much appreciated.

    The staff were very helpful. Close to the centre of Birmingham.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Basic breakfast from 7:30, the rest is more less ok for a hostel, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door of the toilet inside my room was broken, you couldn't go to the toilet or have a shower with privacy. The breakfast was from 7:30 am, in my opinion, late for England. If you need to leave the hostel early in the morning you will need to have breakfast somewhere else. And the breakfast is a basic one (you make your coffee with the hot water, you put the bread in the toaster, etc) so I jus't don't see the point. It isn't like other places where somebody of the staff makes your coffee, etc.

    The staff was kind and effective. They had a Spanish girl during my check-in. That's great for Spanish speakers. The included breakfast was ok (basically cereal, coffee, orange juice and toasts).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.9
    Toilet door has brokean so I felt uncomfortable when I take...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet door has brokean so I felt uncomfortable when I take shower. and I had to pay 2pound for using tower because they didn’t offer tower. breakfast was worst. dish was dirty and they offered terrible breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    3.8
    ABSOLUTELY AVOID.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large dorm in the basement has visible black mold on the walls and smells awful. The lockers are very small and all of them were broken. Multiple light fixtures did not work. There were 2 toilets for 24 people, and little privacy in the showers. It looked like the carpet had not been vacuumed in days or weeks. I couldn't breathe well due to the mold, so reception moved me to another room upstairs. The upstairs room didn't have mold but instead had strange stains on the walls and the bed frames. The corners of the room were very dusty. The bathrooms were dirty and had water on the floor. All the beds are noisy, and some of them did not have curtains. The mattress was sagging and uncomfortable, and my sheet had a hole torn in it. The timer circuit for the lights was broken, and the lights stayed on all night. Reception staff simply said "I know; I'm only here for two weeks, there's nothing I can do". After reading old reviews, I see that many of these problems have existed for at least a year. Absolutely not worth the price. If you do stay here, do not book the cheap basement dorms.

    Decent location, simple free breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    Birmingham was nice. Only use Hatters if you don't mind waking up involuntary at the crack of dawn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds in the bedroom was broke and looked like it had been for a while. Letting in the early morning light!!! Some staff could not speak very good english so any problems we had were not resolved due to lack of understanding. We booked the double for 2 nights not worth the money we paid. Pictures on booking.com did not reflect what the room actually looked like....very poor!! No remote for the t.v in the room and members of staff unhelpful. Hahahaha....breakfast included!? What breakfast? Toast and a cup of tea more like....

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some people seemed a little unfriendly

    Friendly staff - met some really nice people - i felt safe and comfortable - great location for me. would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Unclean even for the low prices.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel really is not clean compared to most. Bathroom in particular had not been cleaned for some time and was not cleaned for the duration of my stay. Not enough plug sockets in dorms and the staff are friendly but not very useful.

    The free breakfast is nice and there's plenty of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Decent for the price, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No luggage lockers in the rooms, toilet in my room was clogged.

    Staff was helpful when my card key didn't work, the front desk is manned 24/7 so early checkout (I needed to leave at 3am) wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Expectations aren't managed - photos aren't realistic. Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't a lot I liked. Hatters clearly haven't used the right room photos for the women-only dorm. The impression the images give is that it's light, airy and with recently redone decor. This is not the case. The room was dark, with water damage on the ceiling and nowhere to store anything except lockers without a lock. No plugs near the beds or reading lights - note that Hatters responded to a comment on this in February saying they were installing reading lights. Clearly they're in no rush. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned for 4 nights. The mattress in my bunk had a massive dip in the centre and the pillow was so flat and hard that I woke up because my ear had gone to sleep. Terrible experience. When I checked out 1-night early all the receptionist had to say was 'Oh. Sorry'. I would not recommend staying here.

    The location of the hostel is ideal for the city centre. The lobby and reception area are nice with a shabby chic look and feel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    The localization is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I needed to print my airfare in pdf , a simple document, and I received the information of the reception that it was not possible due to an error (???). An errror with a pdf document? Then I have needed to go to Library to solve this. (Thanks God there was another place to do this). Since my English is not so good and I know that probably the English of several people is not too, I notice that the reception was not patient with this, given answers some unpolite. Reception people needed to nkow that not all people will have appropriately comunication, so they need to be polite even with what they think that is stupid. eg. I informed that I would bring my card to pay the print if had ok, and the recepcionist looked to my face and asked me, "will you pay this with card???" She would ask me politely, such as "do you have any coin to pay this, because we don´t usually receive a card with this quantity of payment. I did not like the attendance. In my Country is possible to pay any amount of payment with card. So a polite answer would be more acceptable.

    The localization is good. Looks like a safety place. Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    The location was great and the staff were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was nothing like the pictures. It didn't have windows so smelt musty and damp plus the bathroom was dirty and an odd layout. It just seemed like they have done so well in doing up the front (and maybe some of the other rooms) but has neglected to do the back rooms. Wouldn't really pay what we did for it again

    The location was great and the staff were awesome. The entrance area is very trendy and modern and the communal area was nice and big too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cobwebs everywhere, they have a "Week plan" of events and things going on but none of them happened. So much for a "Famous Barcrawl." Loud parties in rooms passed 1am.

    Nice staff and other people staying were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money and cool staffs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is lacking of protein. Maybe some eggs will be a good addition to the meal!

    Staffs are really friendly and helpful. It is also very good value for money and it is in walking distance to the city center. The private bathroom room is nice and in good condition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    cool setting but quite far from the station, my room was stuffy and hot, not very comfy stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room (102) which is in the basement was very stuffy with so many people in and being unable to open the window, it was quite a challenge to get a good sleep. I don't wanna see what is like in the summer. Bathroom was dirty but again with so many people in the room no surprise. Also, no lock in the bathroom, so anyone could enter just at the moment when you're on the toilet - how exciting...another toilet available is pretty far.

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Good improvement since previous stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets and showers could be cleaner. Room door could do with a wipe. Aside that, was good.

    The croissants were great, coffee smelt nice, cereal, milk and breal all fresh. Thanks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Was only for two nights.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water in the morning for the showers - not recommended for wheelchair uses

    Was only for two nights. Comfortable beds quite. Shower wasn’t warm it you get what you pay for. Breakfast was nice in a large room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, good WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The card reader for the room didn’t work, so had to rely on fellow roommates to let me in. Apparently this had been a problem for weeks and staff, though friendly, had not been given any solution to help with this. If the issue of gaining access to my room hasn’t been there I would have loved my stay.

    Friendly staff, good WiFi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Great chain but bad management.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top manager being extremely rude to customers, need to take urgent lessons how to be polite, he shouted agressively and chase a polish customer for no apparent reason. There should be more fridge space. The parking outside is tricky and you have to move before 8am.

    The accomodation is pleasant, good size common room and the linen is clean and does have a very good feel, all junior staff are well mannered and accomodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Value for money!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast can be better having butter or cheese or both may also have some fresh fruits had no towels but I am not sure if the service includes that

    Friendly atmosphere, really eligible location and staff well informed and willing to help...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Cheap clean place for shortstay at B'Ham
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing that I can think of as I was there for only one night

    The evening Receptionist Aurora was very friendly and helpful and looked after me when I requested a quite room and a wake up call

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    It was good but not amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really cold and the 'hot' water in the shower was only luke warm.

    The room was clean and the staff reasonably friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was quite good for a hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, clean room, city centre location, excellent value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soundproofing was not vey good, but I can sleep through most things, so not too much of a problem. No tea or coffe making facilities - it would be nice to have a kettle in the room. No plug in the bath and the window had no latch so did not close properly - not too much of a problem as the weather was not cold, but it did mean the noise from outside crrie into the room. But, these were minor niggles and, overall, excellent value for money.

    Really friendly staff, spotlessly clean. A few little niggles but for £40 for the night with a comfy double bed and own bathroom it was excellent value. I like the little touches that you would not have expected for such a good rate - water & biscuits in the room and a free tea and cake from the cafe. I really was very pleasantly surprised by the accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    It is all right for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in shower room is quite cold. The curtains are sort of transparent that they are not lightproof obviously.

    Staffs are friendly and hospitable, the location is good, the breakfast is basic and simple. Everything is not bad though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasnt very clean and you had to rent a locker to use, I believe a locker should be allocated for each bed.

    Cheap rate, relaxing lounge area, free breakfast, people in my room were quiet and respectful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    The internet was ok.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far away from the New street station. The location was a bit difficult to find and did not seem so safe.

    The internet was ok. The breakfast was included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    22- bed rooms were really good, we had more privacy than we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little weak, we only had bread and cereals available, coffee machine didnt work.

    22- bed rooms were really good, we had more privacy than we were expecting!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast is simple but included in the room rate.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too soft and the blinds are useless to protect from the daylight.

    The breakfast is simple but included in the room rate. Relatively easy to park nearby. Walking distance from the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A white light showing though a window all throughout the night and guys talking loudly in reception at 3.30am. Bed too short.

    It was available and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, friendly and convenient but disappointing breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area had most things broken, like the toaster did not work or the coffee and juice machines and most of the days I was there they had no teabags or milk so the breakfast was basically hot water and buttered bread. I thought the free breakfast was a good deal when I booked but I would rather have paid a little extra to get a decent breakfast.

    Bedroom and bathroom were clean and tidy, there was not too much noise at night. The staff at reception were very helpful and the location was convenient for the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The confirmation e-mail did not state clearly that I was going to get a gender-mixed room, and the reception staff did not inform me that either. I did feel a little uncomfortable sharing the room with 3 guys while I was the only girl in the room. Lighting in the room was really dimmed all the time.

    The breakfast was okay. Love the location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    2.5
    wish i took photos absolutely disgusting!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    God where do I start! Before entering the room, the smell of musk and dust was unbearable, I got into the room that was allocated to me and before I even sat down I had a look around, I was so disgusted I had to up and leave at 11:30 at night, there was bits and hairs all over the bed like someone has slept init, the smell of damp from the bathroom was overpowering and the room was bitterly cold. I asked politely for a refund (for a room I never stayed in) but the man I spoke to was very rude laughing and smirking thinking something was funny, he rang his manager regarding the situation but kept walking away like there was something he didn’t want us to hear. I would never normally go out of my way to write a review (good or bad) but the service provided in Hatters is absolutely atrocious I would not recommend anybody to stay here not matter how low the price is.

    nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold even with heating, making it hard to sleep. Shower was lukewarm, and there was peeling paint along the windows. Breakfast was literally toast (and it was a toss up on whether your toast would be burnt in the machine) or cereal. Overall for the price and location it's fine, but I was eager to leave.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the stairs were pretty cool to look at the are very noisy at night when people walk up and down them as they are metal.

    Loved the decor, the atmosphere and the staff! The bathroom was lovely and the bed was really comfy - definitely worth the money. Also breakfast was included which is always a bonus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Pictures on website are innacurate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked nothing like the pictures. The double room was cold and sparse, the shower could have also done with a good clean.

    Staff were veey friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Can't complain
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just don't understand why in my room there were 6 bunk beds in my room and the staff assigned 5 people to only 3 of them? It should be better organized so that they can take full advantage of avaliable space on behalf of guest's comfort. Also, lockers were really tiny, what could have been a problem. Location wasn't as central as I would have appreciated.

    Breakfast was very simple but pleasant. Lovely staff and atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    All of the staff were really pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't very clean but nothing too bad.

    All of the staff were really pleasant and helpful. Bed was comfortable. Lockers right next to beds. Bathroom was really big. Location was great as it was close enough to the arena. And of course the price was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    If you need something cheap and close to everything in town...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    If you need something cheap and close to everything in town it’s the best hostel ever! Bed was really comfy, breakfast delicious, wifi works really great. For this price it’s really good accomodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    A friendly place to stop-off, a few brief and cheerful encounters, on the way, no problems.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obviously, hostels get busy and with only one member of staff to do the dishes some things don't get done, but the dining hall tables could have done with a wipe and guests had left the kitchen in a mess. The dormitory was a little too warm and the dining hall a little too cold and draughty. The wash-room was clean but needed soap. All small matters, one supposes, but perhaps something could be done to encourage good habits of recycling and energy conservation or at least sensible self-management by guests.

    What really appealed was the somewhat anarchist sense of self-organisation, with no one to interfere or pre-judge ones workload or contribution. The Wi-Fi was easy to access and gave no problems in use. The electrical sockets worked properly and were not broken, hanging off the wall, or blocked by remnants of previous users' plug-in devices. The bed was clean and the dormitory was warm, with locker available and easy to use door key. There was a choice for breakfast and I enjoyed a good bowl of muesli, supplemented by mixed fruit in syrup and topped with Coco-crispies; an excellent completion was to follow by the taste of real coffee and the option of wholemeal toast. The self-catering kitchen also had a good range of facilities - all working and in good condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.4
    Bittersweet experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first two days the bed sheets were clean but the third day they change it for one that has stains in it. The bathrooms were really dirty.

    Breakfast was good and with a lot of variety. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, easy to get to from city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold ( radiator only came on intermittently), breakfast was just toast or cereal, blind in bathroom didn't give any privacy

    Friendly staff, easy to get to from city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    One of the worst hostels I have been to
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not cleaned. Housekeeping would simply take the rubbish out. The bed was completely uncomfortable!

    The price, the staff and wifi are the only things I liked about the hostel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.2
    Disrupted. Unpleasant. Worried. Weird.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To start off, we arrived to be told there were no locks available for the lockers provided, therefore, our belongings were exposed to the other 20 guests staying in our dorm. It was a Saturday night, St.Patrick's day, my birthday. We were listening to music quietly in our small dorm and having a few drinks before heading out. We had other visitors intrude into our dorm on three separate occasions. One asking for a comb and the other asking us to be quiet twice. If you wish to enjoy a weekend away with your friends and wish to go out and get drunk. DO NOT stay here. Recommendation: Have a dorm specifically for those who are wishing to go out so that they do not disturb other guests who are clearly staying at Hatters for another reason.

    Location as we were walking distance from a pub. The layout of the hostel is pretty cool, quite quirky. Simple but effective. Staff are friendly. A female member of staff greeted us on arrival, was interested in why we were staying, willing to help where she could. Another male member of staff allowed us to lock our stuff away in secure storage as we were worried about our belongings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    O Dear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. The bedroom windows are in desperate need of renewal. The curtains need to be better at cutting out light. The breakfast would benefit to having a better variety of food.

    Walking distance from town and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfy stay nearby city center with polite staff and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was absolutely perfect, I will put little minus for a room without a window, but we just came here to sleepover, so we didn't mind. Hostel provides a wide choice of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    I've enjoyed my stay , felt in a pleasurerebel atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Staff was super great!! Always smiling ready to help and ask any questions 👍 little bit complicated un wrapping the Blanket properly while drunk but for the rest really Great 👍 just on breakfast some juice would've been really nice , and many dishes weren't properly dry

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Dump
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean at all dust mould

    Bad decor needs lick of paint in sleeper rooms showers was awful mould on above mattress above my bunk bed not good for breathing in dirty carpets behind beds so much dust , u stayed in hatters in Manchester and Liverpool they was clean and fantastic this one was dirty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    Good for short trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super small room, the tv was useless as it wasn't working properly. And the breakfast wasn't very appealing. Had some butter for toasts, but not even a jam. It's very noisy at night and early morning, if you need a good rest it's not the best place.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.2
    Worst stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything wasnt made clear it was a hostel until we arrived bathroom stunk of damp and the bed were awful to the point I have now pain in my back and hips. And all you could see and hear were the trains and early hours were workmen working on the train tracks

    Staff were polite and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.2
    Not the best stay, not the best value for money for single room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room fairly small, little space. Intelligent light in the bathroom really annoying.It would switch itself off after just a few seconds I had to keep waving my hand to keep it on while brushing teeth etc. Fire alarm went on around 6 am on Saturday morning, no sleep anymore. Afternoon no electricity, means no reading, no television. WIFI patchy, poor signal in the room.

    Good location, close to city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    Mis-sold room, noisy, smelly and poky
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a single room with a double bed - I don’t usually stay in hostels but the photos showed a very nice double room. I was given a small poky windowless room with a single bed, and they claimed not to have received my booking for a double. WiFi was on an unsecured network so not usable. Breakfast was very sparse and they’d run out of clean cutlery. Very noisy and smelly from other peoples’ food. At £49 it wasn’t particularly cheap, given Airbnb would charge less.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Very good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good facilities. Rooms are excellent for a hostel and staff are always lovely. Pefect location fir me needs and would stay here almost all the time when im in Birmingham for a short stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    2.9
    Do not stay here
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were traveling with work and needed cheap accommodation. I telephoned to confirm they could allocate us a room with only our party in it. I was told this would be no problem. We arrived as an all female group, checked in, went to the room. To find a man in bed. Nobody had for warned us. We went back to reception, they apologised and gave us another room with a promise that no one else would be joining us. Reassured we went out to eat. This time on return to our room we opened the door to find 2 elderly ladies in bed. Again I returned to reception. There was a queue and whilst standing there I witnessed the same employee who had dealt with our party promise another customer that she could have the room to herself and no one else would be joining her. I complained and the manager was telephoned, I was told I would be able to claim a refund if I sent an email to the manager as by now it was late at night. So Far I have sent two emails with no reply at all. Terrible service, unreliable staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    4.2
    It was a bed & roof for 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told triple room had double bed - it didn't Breakfast facility extremely poor - bread hard & uncovered - no clean crocks or cutlery - not worth anywhere near £60 per night

    The shower worked & was a large enough cubicle

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Beds comfy but wouldnt stay again due to cleanliness and coldness. Was glad to go.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I waited at least 20 minutes to check in in a very cold reception area as the guy on duty was quite slow - and only one person on duty. The kitchen was not clean there was dirty dishes/cutlery in the sink for days. The breakfast was poor. One morning there were small pan au chocolate but normally very basic cereal and bread/toast. Only one toaster so lots of waiting. Coffee machine didn't work so all had to wait for the kettle ! no juice. It was cold everywhere but my dorm. Toilets in the kitchen area were disgusting. I used them on 2 consecutive days and they had not been cleaned - there was excrement on both of the pans. The floor was mopped but toilets not cleaned. All but once there was only one member of staff on which is not enough in such a busy hostel, many people waiting while person on duty dealt with one thing at a time - you need more staff. My door key had to be re- programmed twice in 3 days! I had to leave before breakfast officially started on my first morning. I was under the impression breakfast started at 7am not 7:30. Only had a piece of bread and butter and cold water as the juice machine did not have juice in. I had asked if I could have slightly earlier breakfast and guy on duty said he would ask but it wasn't done.

    The dorm was heated and warm and the beds were clean, comfy and the duvets warm. The bathroom was a good size. I shared a female dorm so it was quiet and clean. It was about 15 minutes walk from the Indoor Arena where I was volunteering and the city centre. I was able to leave my bag after checkout, staff rang a taxi for me. Staff were generally helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    Cheap but not worth it
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the spell of cold weather, the basement / foyer where u can sit, watch TV, eat were freezing. One morning a waterfall was coming through the ceiling in the kitchen - they still served breakfast that day and the nxt - not sure on healthy and safety on that one. Toilets in communal area very evidently hadnt been cleaned in days. The shower was missing its head and was more like a water tap - at least the water was warm. I won't be back. Definitely not up to the standard of other hostels I've stayed in.

    Handy location and cheap

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Its a hostel no suprises
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a hostel so no real surprises. The building is old and I was put in the basement so no surprise that I was cold. Lots of young people so no surprise that the toilets in common area were disgusting, breakfast was a free for all too, again not really a surprise. Well done to the lone staff member in the kitchen/common room, you did well in difficult circumstances. The beds were clean and comfy, moved me when I felt uncomfortable, toilets and showers in dorm were great, no real complaints about staff or place.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hatters Birmingham traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: