Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Haughton Hall 3 stars

Haughton Lane, Telford, TF11 8HG, United Kingdom

#15 of 18 hotels in Telford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 674 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Menu choice was a bit limited, when staying for several days and quality of food varied a little.

    Our four poster bedroom was huge and sky tv was a bonus. We stayed in the main part of Haughton Hall which was very characterful, with a grand staircase and large picture windows. Staff were very friendly too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double check the bill to ensure accuracy. Not a problem getting in sorted but it did need the check.

    Quaint rooms, plenty of space and good facilities. Beautiful country setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certain parts need updating, Bathrooms and fixtures Attention to Detail Clear Signage to Reception.

    Good Location Leisure Facilities, nice Pool Area Good Quality Breakfast Boardroom Bedroom, was huge, great value. Well kept Grounds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel awkward to find, better signage off main road would have helped.

    Found hotel pleasant. Dinner with guests was good and staff helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby/tired building. Blocked/overflowing gutters. Dark/tired decor. Uncomfortable bed and a wardrobe whose door didn’t close properly. Rattling sash window, which I had to wedge shut with loo paper. Broken tiles in bathroom and noisy plumbing. Iron burn on the carpet in bedroom. Waiter who splashed me with pickled cucumber chutney when serving my starter then later whisked my wine glass away as soon as I put it down (he could have asked if I wanted another). Very poor value for money.

    Location is beautiful. Some staff were very helpful, like the man who assisted me get the luggage in from the car even though I hadn’t asked for help, and the chef who offered to adapt any evening meal for my wife, who is allergic to egg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was in an outside annex which meant a walk across the car park down some stairs and up a flight of step winding stairs. With luggage this was not an easy task and no help was offered. The changing rooms for the leisure facilities were very limited and rather tatty. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss with sometimes helpful attendance and other times limited rather uncommunicative staff. The cooked breakfast was a bit greasy.

    This is an old property and has all the expected charms and challenges of an old property. The surrounding land is lovely for a stroll or to practise qigong or yoga in. The pool and jacuzzi were adequate and warm. Breakfast was cold buffet and hot English. The cold buffet was limited to cereal and fruit but was adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings, room very nice, clean and spacious. Did not use the spa, gym or pool but would do on another visit. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel in general looked "tired" and in need of a facelift . The pool and gym didn't open until 7pm !!!!There was a wedding which meant we were kept awake by disco and general rowdiness till early hours

    Staff were friendly, bed was comfy, shower was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom had no heating. i complained to the staff, who said they'd send someone but never did. eventually was told to use the electric heater in the wardrobe. Shocking that they let rooms which don't have heating! On check out i explained that i wasn't happy with paying the full rate. this was met with "well other guests have said it was too hot". So, they have lots of complaints and I'm a liar clearly! They offered me a paltry £20 reduction off the invoice. I won't be staying again.

    Nice location, nice bar area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bed was not comfy, and the pillows had seen better days. We expect better pillows in this day and age. There was no heating in the bathroom and I didn't expect to have to plug in a heater to get some warmth into the large room. The bar area was also cold and draughty.

    We checked in a little earlier than expected which we were grateful for as we had travelled a long way. There were delicious home baked brownies and biscuits in the room and a very spacious room. The furniture was tatty which was a shame but overall it was clean. Breakfast was cooked tomorder which we like but the fruit available wasn't in abundance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outside the main building so if wet you will need a brolly also you need to book a table for the restaurant as it has more guests than table's

    The staff where very friendly and the location very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com got all the rooms wrong. We booked for 4 adults and only 2 were on the hotel system. Our friends booked for 2 adults and a child and booking.com only had 2 adults

    The staff member Sharon was amazing. She couldn’t do enough for us. She made our stay a 10 +++ experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel could be so much more! Beautiful building, stunning setting but once you are inside it lets itself down. Plastic flowers on the dining table. Service at dinner was so slow it was funny - very Fawlty Towers. A little more attention to detail and this could be a winner. Sorry but have to be honest will not be back.

    Evening meal was scrumptious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian breakfast was disappointing - replacing black pudding, sausage and bacon with one very over cooked Linda McCartney sausage. Rooms are very outdated and the bathroom with bath wasn't at all inviting. Not what we were expecting at all and we had a large room with four poster bed.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    First room we had did not like at all moved straight away to a better room bigger bed nice view so excellent Food was excellent hot and lovely presented Staff always polite and willing to help Will go back again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the Telford Suite..was an amazing room couldn't fault it one bit..had wonderful room service and breakfast the next day..An amazing stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room way to small for a couple dusty damp and broken taped up window in room we upgraded and paid more so I dread to think what we would have been provided with had we not done so we have stayed on previous occasions and have been really happy I would like to mention that the staff are excellent so helpful and accommodating the food is also good but I did notice that the breakfast selection has been vastly reduced it was so much better the last time we stayed

    Peaceful location and pretty grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that a child was told they weren’t allowed an extra sausage at breakfast - especially as not everyone in the party even had sausages!

    Although the room was cold the bedding was warm. Lovely curry in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor. Only prefab sliced bread, no marmite, my bacon and tomato was half a slice of bacon and half a tomato! All bit in need of renovation. Radiators didn’t work so had to use stand alone heater which took up one of the very few power points meaning I had to keep plugging and unplugging tv, kettle etc to charge my phone etc Not great really

    Location was great for me. Lovely grounds although no time to explore them!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hotel had nice features, our room was huge. Reception staff very helpful. Spa needs more padlocks we had to leave valuable in office due to no where to lock them safely away.

    Needs better pillows condensed and hard. Staff at the bar area not the best.. especially one guy hadn’t got s clue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing not to like tbh. very relaxed atmosphere to meet up with friends

    liked the 'old style' of the original house with original features with wood internal window shutters etc along with original wood panelling; really quiet location near to the Telford International Centre which was just what we were after. With the arrival of the mini 'beast from the east' the snowscape was the icing on the cake. Enjoyed the spa facilities. Excellent breakfast cooked to order :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms were freezing. No heat at all and the additional electric radiator provided did not work. The rooms were in an add on to the main building and it was extremely cold. The duvet was definitely not thick enough considering the weather outside, in fact it resembled a sheet.

    Food was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt really dislike anything just feel that the rooms could have a bit of a freshen up and the lovely bannisters need a polish .I understand this all costs money.

    We had the same room that we have now had for 3 years running. The staff are always very friendly and the facilities are good. Yes it could do with a lick of paint in parts as it is an old historic property but the rooms are clean and spacious and the home made biscuits are a nice touch. The swimming pool is very nice and spa facilities are good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    unfortunately my room was located in the ‘new’ (mid 70s) annexe, which was characterless, cold, and smelt of paint. The bathroom was not clean, and there were damp patches around the windows. The bed was very uncomfortable, and was obviously well used Long walk when carrying lots of cases, and the number of stairs, twinned with doors that were a different combination of push/pull made this even more difficult. We had to ask if anyone was serving in the bar, as there were no staff around.

    The old part of the hotel was lovely, unfortunately my room was located in the ‘new’ (mid 70s) annexe, which was characterless, cold, and smelt of paint

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    As our room faced East on a sunny morning it would have been better if all the curtains hung properly without so many gaps

    Dinner menu was very good - the Sea Bass was superb!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing on arrival. Radiator had been turned right down. Electric heater soon had it warmed up. The whole place felt a little tired and dated

    Breakfast was lovely. Great staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I must say that the breakfast wasn’t quite wide in terms of choices and they made me pay for the hot drink as I ordered a cappuccino instead of an expresso or thea. But it was worth it and cheap

    Staff really friendly and realiable ( we checked in past 10 pm and there was not any issue at all ).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed my stay, Hotel & staff very friendly helpful. Travelling on my own never once felt lonely The Rooms were excellent value for money & Spa area lovely & clean too.. The other thing would have the hotel to do is advertise how easy it is to get to without a car & only use public transport & even with disability.. I would be highly recommended to this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room was clean the hotel is really in need of renovation. We chose this hotel mainly because we liked the building and we were disappointed when we arrived.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Nice building and grounds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not meet none of my expectation for £82.00 per night. Poor quality of furnishings and the room did not smell clean and the carpet is worn and dirty. You need to invest money in the overall condition of the rooms, to charge high rates was very cheeky and inconsiderate. You can keep the original features of the property but still have a decent level of decor and bathroom facilities. Very dated and I would not recommend this hotel On a positive note the breakfast was good and the views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are either one of the following A) old style and no double glazing so very cold in winter B) new style with double glazing and hot pipes in the room making it very hot all year

    The building is excellent looking at first arrival. The restaurant and breakfast is superb. .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    attention to detail. had to ask a couple of times for same item. Hotel was not busy so no excuse BUT second request Sorted!. Thank you.

    Location is fabulous. Walking distance to small town. Driving distance to Ironbridge World Heritage Site. So So quiet at this time of year. We had the best room ever! Get real.... the windows are not double glazed at the moment BUT fabulous wooden shutters and great fabric curtains sorted cool temps. Amazed this hotel was so quiet. Food real good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sky box wasn't working. Shower stopped half way through a shower, but started again after a minute or two.

    Comfortable room and very good food. Excellent staff, nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had telford suite was a bit disappointed glass shower enclosure was cracked cobwebs in shower room and chocolate marks on pillow not it's usual standard

    Stayed there several times always had a good stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that they took my booking knowing I was traveling for business/work and they had a disco playing until 12.00 at night under my room. Not happy these rooms should not have been let to anyone unless attending function

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a four-poster room in the main house. Room 27? The room was, on first sight, lovely. However, when you looked closer it was just a bit shabby. The bathroom was damp, the 'pictures' were squares of wallpaper, not even framed, and the carpet was wrinkled and stained. The room was cold. The duvet was thin. The bathroom was damp. I met a friend for dinner, but the restaurant was closed and so we had to eat perched on uncomfortable bar stools which were too high. The food was mediocre and the service nothing special. Although a fire alarm can go off at any time (it always seems to happen to me), the staff did not seem to know what they were doing at 4:30 in the morning when guests were outside at minus 2 degrees. We were not told if it was safe to go back in, so just ambled back in after about half an hour of standing in the freezing car park. No apology was offered at check out, although there was a sign on the reception desk. The receptionist tried to make me pay again for a room which had been pre-paid. All in all, a nice building, although shabby. Lack lustre food and service and staff who behaved like headless chickens in the middle of the night when there could have been a real emergency.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I was being really picky I'd say the sign outside needs to be lit up a bit more as I passed it twice before seeing it. However other than nothing I'd improve.

    Beautiful property in keeping with its grade listing inside, wonderful grounds, nice choice of food. Staff wonderfully welcoming, very attentive. I will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could do with an update a little too firm and lumpy. And to be picky - the wait staff could do with a little more training (offer to pour/taste bottles of wine bought for dinner)

    Lovely setting - friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 4 poster bed rooms I've stayed at here are large with great space, furniture and a comfy bed. The Boardroom suite (pictured) is by far the best I've stayed in with a great sized bath too. Great surroundings and friendly staff with a hearty breakfast using some locally sourced produce too. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some grumpy and inattentive staff. Scruffy reception. Bar unwelcoming. Unappealing furniture and decor. Limited choice of food and drink; quality of food mediocre. Interior drab and dated (there is a clear difference between run-down 20th century tat and genuine historic charm - which this place lacks). External utilitarian extension to premises, further despoiling historic character. Gardens not maintained - effectively just rough-cut grass with trees. As for the room, it was clean and spacious, but has a very small and distinctly utilitarian, and old bathroom for what was a relatively expensive four poster room. Cheap carpets, upholstery and decor. Lack of curtains on four poster - essentially just a rattly wooden bed in a room which also includes an obscurely placed empty 1980s style reproduction mahogany china cabinet! Poor choice of beverages provided for in hotel room - only instant coffee, tea and water as standard e.g. no herbal tea without a special request. Detached (completely separate) building for gym and swimming pool - rather onconvenient in cold autumn weather. Overall, all of this points to inaccurate and overblown advertising for a rather mediocre (yet relatively expensive) hotel experience.

    The best feature of this hotel is probably its proximity to Ironbridge with its industrial legacy, interesting history and some quality and distinctive eating establishments. Otherwise it has little to commend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were freezing and the cleanliness of the entire place left a lot to desired.

    The rooms were freezing and the cleanliness of the entire place left a lot to desired.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast starts too late - 8.00 AM, for us problem - at this time we had to be in work. So we got toasts only. In the evening instead of dinner in hotel resturant we had to sit in the bar, not comfortable for dinner. Restaurant was completely reserved for people who were not hotel guests. Strange.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed in room 15 . The room was cold , very tired decor and the stench of smoke is in grained in the mattress . When I spoke to reception they just dismissed my complaint and said it was just down to allocation . Didn’t even bother to look my profile up on the system and see when I last stayed ? So unfortunately this was my last time !!. Couldn’t sleep and would never recommend again

    Breakfast always good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress on the first night (room 55) was a bit uncomfortable

    Great location for Telford, plenty of room and quiet. Friendly and professional staff. Good evening meal and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The room was large with a proper wooden bed frame, fireworks on the first night was a great surprise, the leisure facilities were excellent. Restaurant food was mouth watering.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In some areas it could do with a little TO.

    The suite was beautifully set out and comfortable. The history was brilliant and the period features were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small touches in room were missing, sitting room could have benefited from a lamp, there was no desk and stationery in room folder included a window envelope which didn’t convey the right impression. Breakfast a bit disappointing-no local produce and rather bland.

    Great location. Clean and attractive suite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location, ideal for a quick break, staff friendly and helpful, great view over the gardens. Although menu was rather limited the quality of the food was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps some sprucing up to be done in some of the older rooms, better lighting would be appreciated.

    Brilliant breakfast, clean rooms. Location was good hotel was quiet, grounds lovely. The service was professional, helpful and friendly - we have stayed here several times now and would be happy to return again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of my room (damp) Size of my room (my room was the smallest and most expensive of all my colleagues) My room was freezing cold The fact that I had to wait 30 minutes for my food, after my friends had finished their food despite it being ordered at the same time! It took 30 mins to check out Despite having complained the night before about my room the receptionist was unaware that I had any issues and when it came to checking out there was no manager on site that was able to offer any kind of compensation (I had previously asked to be moved but had been informed the hotel was fully booked) And the fact that despite me marking them down in every category above it still leave a 2.5 rating which is far too generous in my opinion!!!

    The massage

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When booking the room I have a budget however the actual costs of the room is charged at different rates so on some nights the room is good value but not so on others. Distance the room appears to be from carpark.

    Comfy room. good food. very helpful staff. The chef adapted a meal from the childrens menu to make an adult portion.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a lot of noise (creaking floor, walking and banging around) above the bedroom non-functioning lighting on steps down to the coach house bedrooms muesli very sugary cheap marmalade and jams

    very good cooked breakfast good and tasty bar food friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast the Fruit Juice was in container with a tap that did not work, the staff said it should not have been used because they have had previous issues. Staff was very good and helpful at all times.

    Staff was very helpful, quiet pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The four poster room was amazing - lovely furnishings and loads of space. Only disappointment would be there are no USB ports to charge mobile devices, though this is a minor issue. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room 15 the bathroom door lock was jamming, requiring a hefty pull to open it. I forgot to mention it on departure.

    Nice breakfast, lovely staff. Great leisure facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    small things missing like a double room with two guests only being provided with a single set of towels, the radiator needed a visit by a member of staff to function properly - both put right without delay. food was reasonable but not outstanding

    good atmosphere and very good staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel as a whole could do with a refurbishment, the decor and carpets are tired and grubby looking. The room smelt of stale smoke when I first went in although it dissipated when I opened the windows. There was a huge stain on the carpet. The wardrobe door nearly came off in my hand. The hotel is like a rabbit warren so it took me a long time to find my room!

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was warm. The ability to open the windows was much appreciated. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were extremely tired and unclean in places. We had a huge stain the size of a dinner plate in the middle of our carpet. The bathroom was grubby and basic. The service in the bar / restaurant was extremely slow and inefficient. Meals were missed off the order, food arrived over a period of 20 mins for or table and one person was missed altogether. Once we finished, our plates were left on or table for over half an hour before we simply retired to our rooms!

    The breakfast was nice, although I did only have beans on toast so not sure you could go far wrong with that. The location was convenient for our business conference.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room over looked the car park and also there wasn't a lot of privacy as all the windows looked in to the hire suits next door.

    The breakfast was amazing and the rooms where huge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really tired and dated. Marks on the walls. Carpet needs replacing. Got wet going from our room to the restaurant or visa versa as our room wasn't in the building. Overcharged on our bill but it was rectified.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Customer care or respect!!!Extremely rude, inconsiderate Manager, made me feel very unwelcome after trying to rearrange dates that were made in error, did not even attempt to try to help my situation and accused me of being stupid enough to input the wrong dates, suggesting I should find somewhere else.

    location out of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was very dated, stained carpets, stained toilet mouldy silicone in shower. We were celebrating my husbands birthday and was really disappointed in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite a walk away, upstairs and then up and down levels which was a bit awkward with suitcase. (no lifts) Breakfast was not optional (I don't normally eat breakfast and object to having to pay £10) Plus it was not brilliant. Hot food served on cold plates! Squeaky doors on corridor made for a noisy night. (suggest a can of oil )

    Friendly welcome. It was clean and well appointed. Food was delicious and excellent value (as were drinks) served in bar or restaurant. All staff were very friendly. Swimming pool , sauna ,steam room and Jacuzzi were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place was tired and extremely dated, both inside and out. There needs to be a complete renovation of the whole place.

    The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Dinner/breakfast in the restaurant was excellent. Rooms clean and comfy. Lovely leisure facilities. Staff helpful and friendly. Bar prices not over the top too. Lovely place and I would recommend it to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    lighting could be improved as you walk out of the hotel grounds

    all the staff give first class service team that were working at breakfast were excellent breakfast was fresh and perfectly cooked

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the room was very dated and quite shabby for £97 per night! There was no dressing table mirror and there were no sockets conveniently placed for using a hairdryer. The restaurant meal was overpriced and bar meals were the same price as the restaurant.

    The room and bathroom were very spacious. The pool was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked I asked for a room with a bath as my wife has arthritis and likes to soak in the bath to ease it but when we arrived it had a shower, we were told somebody should have informed us when we booked that it had a shower, we were then told we could have a room with a bath but it would cost an extra £20 for the night, if I had known earlier I could have booked elsewhere as there were other hotels nearby with baths for an extra £5 to £10 a night.

    quiet, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Manor House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the room I asked for a different room when I return in October I also wrote them a letter plus an e mail but they have not bothered to reply SLOPPY'11111111111111111

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cobwebs in corners 3 mini milk cartons behind bedside cabinet no teaspoon Used shower cap out of packaging left for use Lack of attention to detail overall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did point out that there was silverfish in the bathroom and there was also a mouse in the room one morning.

    Overall the reception staff and the food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 20 for our wedding night. We booked a four poster room as we wanted something special. Unfortunately the bed was extreamly uncomfortable and you can almost feel every spring. Definitely needs a new mattress for what you pay. This was a real let down for us. Shame as everything else was rather good. We would have commented on check out, but we weren't asked how our stay was.

    Size of the bedroom was great and we liked the decor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a rather poor stay having been postioned over the wedding marquee - the wedding itself ended at 12am and I'd had a long journey down to the venue so I needed a rest. I called reception who were very apologetic but I feel this could've been organised better by ensuring all the wedding guests' room were near the marquee. My kettle didn't work unless I keep my finger on it until it boiled and my cheeseboard did not contain the walnut bread, as on the menu

    The staff were so friendly and lovely I couldn't fault them

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the leisure centre. The pool was lovely but there were only two sun loungers and several people wanted to use them. It's not as relaxing sitting on chairs. Also the lockers didn't have locks?! So where are you supposed to put your phone and purse etc especially as there are no room safes.

    Hotel in beautiful setting. Staff were welcoming. Room was very comfortable and clean although sound of movement does carry from floor above. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was beautifully cooked. Breakfast was good too and staff helpful. Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived back from V Festival on Saturday evening at 10.30pm and the bar was all locked up and shut - the night manager (who was quite miserable) begrudgingly served us a drink!

    We were allocated a bedroom with 2 double beds which was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: