Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hawksley House 4 stars

John Street, Sunderland City Centre, Sunderland, SR1 1NA, United Kingdom

#7 of 18 Holiday rentals in Sunderland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 32 apartment reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything but the lady who had to give the keys out was not very happy or helpfull

    The property was well equiped lovley and clean and very central and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No on park parking but plenty of local parking available so not much of an issue

    The flexibility that an apartment provided over and above the accommodation offered by hotels, very central, really well equipped

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really dark in the rooms as you can not open the blinds or Windows. 2 hair towels and one bath towel for a family of 5!! No extra bin bags or washing up sponge's or cloths. No cleaning materials. No Hoover, sweeping brush, dustpan and brush. No extra bedding sets or duvets or pillows. Ensuite shower room absolutely freezing.

    Spacious, and excellent location. Clean. Modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The write up was wrong there was a double blow up bed in the living area. This should have been sofa bed. We could not use the table for meals. I emailed hackett propery no reply and also booking.com. Which i ve had no reply.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative whatsoever

    The property was so central yet private and quiet, lovely spacious, clean and the Hacket staff at the office were lovely and helpfull

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in bathroom so unable to give kids a bath as too cold. Second time we have visited in under 2 years and it didn't work then either!

    Brilliant location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    House was cold on arrival. Would be nice to have it warmed up a bit before we arrived.

    Great location, big place, clean and comfy. Wish we could stay there longer! We were able to walk around town and over to the stadium, so perfect for our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the 2nd bedroom was very small. It was noisy when people outside the restaurant when closing. I didn't like how I had to make 3 calls to find out where to collect the keys from

    The apartment was really nicely presented. It was very neutral for where we needed to be. The apartment was clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be any better.the place was amazing.

    The place was comtable and very relaxing.the children loved it and said they want to do it again.thank you so much for our stay.I will definitely be recommending. Yous to family and friends

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The motion detectors on the wall. They made me feel uncomfortable. I personally didn't like the idea of beeing watched. What also is not so ideal is the parking situation.

    Everything was clean tidy and the bed was just amazing. Also the stuff was perfect. Did a booking for the wrong day and they just booked it to the right one without any trouble. Also the bed was fantastic and despite that breakfast was officially not included in the ad they provided cereals. I just had to buy a milk round the corner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the kitchen could have been cleaner there was dishes that had been left in dishwasher and the handles on the drawers were sticky red stains on living room carpets

    Location size of apartment ammeites

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Double Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t very good

    Was a beautiful apartment and had everything needed and so close to everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Double Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Very clean and very comfy in a great location would 100% stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That a bed was in the living area not a sofa bed as stated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice apartment. Well situated. Good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location yet not noisy. Right next to the park.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Collecting the key from somewhere else was a hassle.

    The space of the place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1-Bedroom Double Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi

    Very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Super venue!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Double Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was of poor quality and neither of us slept well

    The room layout was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The apartment was not clean,the internal blinds, windows, carpets etc were not good. There were 11 bulbs out in the apartment including the one in the ensuite which meant shower in the dark on the Friday evening. The fridge freezer was frozen solid so couldn't use it for ice etc.

    The location and size of the apartment was ideal.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Family with older children

    Having no parking with the property and very limited availability nearby. It's a shame there is no 2nd toilet with the en-suite facility

    Nice big comfortable lounge. The staff helped us with a put up bed for my son.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only down falls are that the offices are closed on the weekend and I had forgot whether I was meant to post the keys through the letter box of the office or leave for the cleaner 2 pick them up from the room but I ended up posting them and never heard anything else so must of been right and the wifi i can't comment on because I forgot to ask about it.

    I liked mostly everything. Nice size for just the 2 of us. All the shops were close by and the apartment was very clean and presentable. The biggest down fall in this apartment was defiantly the leaving it part i wanted to stay again ..... defiantly be showing a face again.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sofa bed was broken

    Bed was comfy very well equipped kitchen

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A black out blind in the bedroom would be a definite advantage :)

    The location was great. The apartment was HUGE!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    BEDS WERE REALLY COMFORTABLE AND LOUNGE WAS PERFECT FOR OUR VISIT

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No praking

    convenient for central town

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only 1 double bed prefered 2 singles.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was perfect for train station,shopping, restaurants and theatre. The rooms were nicely furnished and comfortable .

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stains on light coloured carpet need to be steam cleaned. Lack of parking- cost of available parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    W C would not stop flushing. needs some TLC. Sea Gulls very noisy

    Location , Staff

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have more breakfast food for the price e.g sausages and toast. Also cooking equipment a bit old and rusty over used.

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location , ant the apartment

    An amazing apartment central to everything

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything about the apartment and the location.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Didn't know until now that we actually got free wifi.

    Room was very clean and modern. Situated in a brilliant location.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: