Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hazeldene Guest House

Lake road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 2JJ, United Kingdom

#9 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Excellent nothing was a bother for them they were a lovely couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could say that was wrong, it was good value for the money

    The breakfast was exellent there was a vast choice.. They make there own marmalade and jam there to die for.. We have stayed here before and we always buy their marmalade for ourselves and family.. The bed was very comfy we had a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Hazel Dene Guest House a Bowness treasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was very surprised when we arrived, we were met by Lesley who was very welcoming and explained everything thoroughly. The guest house was very homely and spotlessly clean. When meeting Paul at breakfast which was superb he was very friendly and informative regarding the local area. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was an exceptionally small attic room. Had no room to leave two suitcases open and accessible. The booking details mention the room is smaller but perhaps should say not great for two people.

    Very friendly. Breakfast lovely. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Wedding anniversary break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent 3 night stay, clean comfortable rooms, excellent location, Paul and Lesley are brilliant hosts. Lovely breakfast, good choice and selection of lovely homemade jams. Bonus of having a car parking space. We stayed in room 2 which was a good sized room with great views of the lake. Room was ready on our arrival even though we were early, would certainly recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    My sister and I had a fabulous time, Paul the owner was very helpful and gave us lots information .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft to our liking but others may prefer it that way. Walls are thin which is typical to this old buildings but luckily most of other guests that stayed were nice and quiet.

    Great location and hosts and breakfast and our room had almost everything a traveller needs. We had room 4 and had good views. Room is so so but kept clean throughout the property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    The guest house was lovely ,we got a lovely friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we booked it said that we where in room 5 ,but we didn't know it was going to be on the second floor. I am disabled and find it hard going up one flight of stairs never mind 2. I think it should be wrote on if it's going to be on a higher floor.

    The guest house was lovely ,we got a lovely friendly greeting,the guesthouse was nice and bright and had a nice homely feeling.the breakfast was and there was plenty of variety to those from.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Convenient parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a power cut one evening, not the fault of the owners. It was fixed outside in the street but the whole block was affected. Given Windermere etc are one of the top tourist attractions in the UK this should not happen. The Local Authority and power suppliers need to get together and proved Investment to bring these items into the 21st century. Well done to Paul for keeping us updated on what was happening!

    Convenient parking. Very friendly owners. Good breakfast. Very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    We loved that Paul and Lesley cared about what we were doing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved that Paul and Lesley cared about what we were doing helping us every way they could. Breakfast was made delicious. The location was central for anywhere we wanted to go in Windermere. Great hosts and would defiantly stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Lovely Silver Anniversary break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Got home yesterday after a lovely 3 night stay for my wife and mine's silver wedding. Paul and Lesley were brilliant hosts, very friendly without being over bearing. We were greeted on Friday afternoon by Paul who checked us in and made sure we were settled in. As it was an unusually hot weekend, were very happy that the room had a fan in it which was great at night. Breakfast was lovely, a choice of 2 types of sausage (also 2 vege options if you prefer), and cooked really well, and good selection of cereals. There was a huge selection of homemade jams and marmalades which we didn't try but sounded really nice. Thouroughly recommended for anyone visiting the area!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Really good location, clean rooms, lovely breakfast, really friendly and helpful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast slot was a bit narrow being served from 8.30 am till 9.00 am.

    Breakfast was wonderful everything you could want starting with fruit juice, cereal, followed by a full English cooked by Lesley. If you can manage toast too there is a wide selection of tasty jams and marmalade’s made by Paul.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great stay, lovely guest house and a friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of the rooms require you to climb several sets of stairs, not a problem for us but it may be worth enquiring about the lower rooms if this is a problem for you.

    Great location near the centre of town with lot of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Dedicated parking at the rear and parking permits available for nearby towns. A very friendly guest house, very well maintained and a jovial host who cooks an excellent breakfast with many choices and options. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Wished we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good , it was in an excellent position to explore the lakes. Also, the private parking was very invaluable as parking was very difficult in this area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Clean and comfy room, freindly approachable staff, parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfy room, freindly approachable staff, parking. Close to local shops and small town area and lake. Breakfast was lovely nice selection of jams.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Lovely guest house perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel very welcome by Paul and Lesley the guest house is in a great location and is spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely will definately return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no pavement in front of the Hazeldene so you have to be careful crossing the main road!

    The hosts were extremely pleasant and helpful - and the breakfasts were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    GREAT many thanks, we'll definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a complaint, just an observation that the water pressure from the shower in the rooms at the top of the house isn't great, but it's not a big problem. It's a shame that Booking.com shows the negative before the positive ???

    This is the second time we've stayed at Hazeldene and, as last time, we were very impressed by the cleanliness and attention to detail, comfortable beds and high quality bed linen, plus the friendliness of Paul and Lesley and Paul's local knowledge. Paul's breakfast is fantastic, FAR superior to the MacDonald hotel down the road :0)))))

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great stay, would definately stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, easy walk to the lake, Great hosts and great view of the lake from the room. breakfast was really good and the service was great too. plenty of information available about the local area and beyond. good location for visiting all of the other lakes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Great weekend spent in Bowness-on-Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and friendly hosts. Clean and comfortable and close to all amenities. Would recommend this guest house to all and look forward to spending time there on our next visit to the lakes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hosts, breakfast good, room comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't care for the feathers sticking out of the duvet and prickling us so we disguarded this on the second night and used the throw.

    Paul the landlord is quite a character, he made us feel right at home. The room was a good size and very clean with enough storage space. The shower room was very clean also. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful place with great hosts in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault I had was the mattress in our room was way too soft for me.

    Paul and Lesley were excellent hosts, really friendly and always happy to help or answer any questions. The place was spotless. Breakfast was excellent with a really good choice that you picked the night before. Really good location for exploring Bowness and the surrounding area with free parking too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, clean and comfortable. Considerate and friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't really want to post anything within this section, as we had a lovely stay and would return. However, there are 2 things that prevented me from rating our stay as a 10. The shower in our room wasn't very powerful. My wife has long, thick hair and she had quite a challenge trying to wash and rinse it. The second was that the room was on a slight tilt (including the bed), so I felt like I was going to roll out of bed whenever I rolled over!

    The owners, Paul and Lesley, were lovely. They were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean and warm, and there were lots of little extra touches that made the stay that little bit more special. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Bowness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Perfect guesthouse, perfect hosts, perfect break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the main road but that was the only room left when we booked. I’m a very light sleeper so it was only an issue for me. My husband wasn’t phased at all. This isn’t a complaint just a personal issue. I’ll try and book a different room next time but would still be happy with this one if that’s all that is available.

    The personal touch. Paul is the perfect host and from the second you arrive makes you feel like you’ve been friends for years. Sadly we didn’t really see Lesley much apart from the morning but can confirm that she makes a mean breakfast! Just what you need to set you up for a day walking (from pub to pub :-)). Great location and is central to everything. We will definitely be returning and will recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend Hazeldene to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend Hazeldene to anyone. Paul is very welcoming and friendly and gave lots of little tips about the area. The view from Room 4 was excellent. The breakfast was very good. It was a lovely walk from the front door down to the lake and easy access by car to lots of other places of interest!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    An amazing two night stay at the Hazeldene
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly couldnt say a bad thing about the place.

    Lovely guest house. Very close to everything needed. Paul and Lesley were the perfect hosts with amazing homemade Jam. Will definately go back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room had very poor pressure. Room was warm but bathroom wasn't

    The great attention to detail from the owners to make your stay memorable. Nothing to much trouble

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.0
    Paul and Lesley nice people but will not be returning to the hotel because of the above comments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the building needed painting. Didn't like coming out of the hotel straight onto road,no footpath. Hotel not recommended people that are unsteady on feet or have sight difficulties.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good accommodation and hosts with lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Paul and lesley made us very welcome. Always very helpful with restaurant/bar suggestions and places to visit and transport info. We had room 2 with lake view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Paul & Lesley were really warm and welcomed us into their home. The guest house is spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed. Nothing is to much trouble. Veggie breakfast is good, so are the marmalades and jams which Paul makes himself. It is in the centre of Bowness. The walks are beautiful, surrounded by fabulous restaurants and pubs. The small cinema is lovely too. We will definitely be going back to Hazeldene Guest House.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    brillant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paul and Lesley brilliant hosts .Guest house spotless and breakfast to die for room lovely spacious would recommend to anybody .Near Lake .shops and bars ,restaurants .Would definitely go back .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Cosy guest house near the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing very happy with this booking

    The room was spotlessly clean. We had a lovely view from our room which had a comfy chair to enjoy it from. The breakfast room was light and airy and the breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and well organised staff. Great location and we had a wonderful trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to get wifi on the first night but it was great for the second day. Our room was small and the television could have been bigger.

    Excellent hosts and location. Property was very clean. Excellent breakfast and free parking next to property .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    amazing staff beautiful breakfast room very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The little added touches like noticing that we didnt use the flora on the first morning and just giving us butter The homemade jam option to change breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Robert and Lorraine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was our second time we have stayed with Paul and Lesley and again an excellent stay. Breakfast was amazing and sets you up for the day. Two lovely people to stay with and the amenities in the rooms are above and beyond Thank you both xxx

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Another great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly service from an excellent host. The place is unbelievably clean. Wonderfully organised. Excellent breakfast with homemade jams and marmalades.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    This is an excellent choice of venue on a trip to the Lake District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the parking is at the rear of the property, it is a steep climb back to the property especially if you have suitcases. There is no pavement at the front door so visitors have to be careful of the traffic on the busy road.

    Location of propert was great with plenty of bars and restaurants close to hand. The room was very comfy and breakfast selection was very good including the selection of homemade jams and marmalades.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Happy Hazeldene
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property opens out onto the main road, lots of stairs to the top rooms. Too many instructional notes on the walls, albeit fairly helpful.

    Friendly staff, who made an extra effort to remember your name and encourage conversation between other residents. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and homemade jam was a bonus. In an ideal location to explore the area!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast window of 30mins. Not a fan of choosing my breakfast choice the night before. No fresh fruit or Yoghurt available anyway.

    Friendly hosts.The location and the parking. All the facilities offered

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    best place in bowness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect everything is 5 minutes or less away. The breakfast was delicious especially the jams. And the owners were very friendly and helped us alot during our stay. Would definetly recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Lovely quiet place to stay by the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners were very friendly and made our stay comfortable. They knew all guests by name and made sure to give everyone recommendations about local walks etc. 5/10 min walk to the water with lots of places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Hazeldene Guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation has no footpath to the front of the property but the hosts are not responsible for this and can't do anything about this unfortunately !

    Excellent location helpful and pleasant hosts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were a lovely idea, perfect to come back to after a day of walking. Good choice of breakfast in the mornings made to order. Paul and Leslie were very friendly and made you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic b &b....under rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Paul was excellent with his information and friendliness. Personal choice of breakfast was a nice little touch. Room facilities excellent. ...tea...coffee....milk...sugar...kettle...mugs...glasses. Nice little extras like toothpaste and brush at a small cost.....invaluable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Enjoyable break at Hazeldine Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hosts were friendly and helpful. Room 2 was very comfortable nice view and some comfortable seating. Nice large wall mounted TV. Breakfast was good always served in an organised manner, with a good choice of homemade jams and marmalade.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    The service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All is excellent.

    The service was excellent. Paul is the greatest. He is polite, helpful and most pleasing. With a guy like Paul it makes us most easy to check in. The breakfast was way above par. A great time we had at this guest house. Will certainly come back. Take Paul and Leslie.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    delightful guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    location was spot on for our plans. Guesthouse had parking available. Small welcoming guesthouse. Clean rooms, friendly owners who were chatty and helpful, took pride in the service they were providing. Paul was very helpful in advising about walks we may like to try. Would definitely return ,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location to explore, eat and drink!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, awesome owners, very friendly and plenty of information about the surrounding area! Bowness Pier is 400m away, places to eat and drink on the doorstep however there's no trouble with noise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean, well appointed with free tea, coffee facilities. Comfortable bed. Owner very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast with great service. Not too far out from the shops with plenty of nearby pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Good weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really nice and clean, bed was nice and comfy. Had a really good stay and would definitely recommend it, the owner Paul was very helpful friendly and him and Lesley also make a great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Great location and friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely lake view (room2), comfortable bed and great hospitality. Owners very friendly and knowledgeable about the area to advise where to walk. Breakfast very good and filling. Tea/coffee etc replenished in rooms daily. Good location. Free wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Waterson - October 2016
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Extra comfy beds. Fabulous breakfast. Spotless rooms. Location excellent - everything literally on the doorstep. Private car park. We stayed in room number 1 on the first floor. Bonus side view of Lake Windermere. Owners Paul and Lesley really welcomed you to their home. Friendly, helpful and great sense of humour. 😊

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location, friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed could use a new mattress. Not horrible, but did feel like its best years were behind it. Kind of like me.

    Paul and Lesley are a charming pair, and made sure that we felt very welcome. The proximity of the house to the centre of the village couldn't have been better, and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    The room was lovely and the owners Lesley and Paul were so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and the owners Lesley and Paul were so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful.We would highly recommend and will definitely be visiting again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Good accommodation. Friendly staff. Good location for Bowness area shops and pubs in walking distanc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front access directly on to the main road.

    Personal touch like make-up remover cloth and toiletries in the room. Off road car parking space.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great weather, fantastic location and area. What’s not to like!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Rooms were great, breakfast was very good and staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Excellent trip and would happily go back to the Hazeldene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    How clean the room was.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness Comfortable bed Great hosts Super breakfast Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    🤔

    😁

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    superb as always . weather was a little bit iffy but as always the guest house was and is superb .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing at all

    lovely place lovely super location . superbly run guest house

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Was spot on, only place weve stayed that has usb charger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was spot on, only place weve stayed that has usb charger sockets.. Stay was nice and comfortable and well located.. Breakfast was ok..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast good selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent breakfast good selection. Paul and lesley were very good hosts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    BEAUTIFUL Hazeldene GUEST HOUSE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything beautiful clean place . LOVELY people very well organised very very welcoming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    paul and leslley they felt like old friends who wanted to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i loved paul's sense of humour.

    paul and leslley they felt like old friends who wanted to take care of you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staicase

    breakfasts good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    it was great value for money and would recommend the hazeldene to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    there was a choice of breakfasts and about 15 different jams.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    We had a lovely room with a view of Lake Windermere, Lesley...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like

    We had a lovely room with a view of Lake Windermere, Lesley and Paul were lovely people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    An absolutely fantastic holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked everything it was perfection,staff were great,easy parking.great location,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    excellent break an could not fault anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent break an could not fault anything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Best find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated leaving

    Everything. Paul was an excellent host in this superb guest house. He even does his own jams and marmalade

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A lovely guest House close to lots of bars and restaurants .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely guest House close to lots of bars and restaurants . Paul and Lesley are perfect hosts and cook a great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Great location. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous district to visit with super accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance dangerously close to main road

    Large, comfy room. Great breakfast, genial hosts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Paul and Lesley were wonderful host...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable.

    The location of the guesthouse. Their homemade jams.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View - Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good

    Lovely views from room 5 Comfy bed Fantastic breakfast Friendly and knowledgeable staff Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: