Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Oxfordshire B&B and inn reviews
  4. Oxford B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Head of the River

Reviews of Head of the River

Folly Bridge, St. Aldates, Oxford, OX1 4LB , United Kingdom

#27 of 90 B&Bs and inns in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1290 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2019

    6.7
    Fun; busy; love the breakfast and the early morning walk on teh river. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at reception. Beds too small. No Parking.

    Breakfast is fantastic. Location is great. It's actually a very noisy, very busy pub which is great sometimes - but not if you want quiet! Tasty pub grub. Service at reception is difficult because they have to notice you and then stop serving customers at the bar to attend to you. Stylish.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2019

    5.0
    Nice location but have stayed in better for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fairly basic for the money paid, not to mention all the dead insects that fell out/were squashed in the roller as we closed it at night time. Not acceptable when paying £260 for the night. When I tried to mention it staff weren't interested.

    Location great

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    9.6
    great accommodation and food in the heart of Oxford, lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not check out parking in advance and therefore city centre overnight parking increased the cost significantly. we need to plan parking better on our next visit

    although small the room was well dressed and cosy, very helpful staff, quiet although in a busy location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    5.4
    Pricey for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is essentially a pub with some bedrooms upstairs. I don’t think I would have booked here if I had known.

    The staff were really helpful and the pub was nice.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2019

    8.8
    The rooms are lovely and well decorated giving it a cosy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The downside is there not being any parking. This means extra money has to be spent on parking further away which can be a pain when carry lots of bags. This didn’t ruin the stay and we parked at the Redbridge Park and Ride

    The rooms are lovely and well decorated giving it a cosy homely feel. The bar downstairs is lovely and there is a huge seating area outside for when the weather is nicer! The breakfast was nice, with a good selection on the menu.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    7.5
    Comfortable and convenient, but not soundproofed and needs refinement for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting was poor in the bedroom. There was a nightclub close by that played continuous house music until very late and I was repeatedly woken up by it.

    The location is good. The room was comfy and very cosy. Bathroom clean, with a strong shower and big soft towels. Bed was comfortable with good linen. breakfast was standard, but in no way outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    7.1
    Mostly great,was here for my sisters funeral and it rained constantly-would love to return and see i
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold hollandaise sauce over runny poached eggs Not enough soap,body wash but replaced when requested

    Pleasant staff,funky,interesting room,comfy bed Lovely rain shower tiled bathroom.Good croissants and coffee-tea maker and water in the room-nice view of the river even in the rain,would stay here again

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    10
    Great location, room was lovely, decor was quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing apart from the weather!

    Great location, room was lovely, decor was quirky. Everything you could want apart from an iron and ironing board however on request it was there within a few minutes. Staff were great too.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    5.8
    Popular, convenient pub with accommodation, but without attention to the small details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bedroom, especially for the price paid. No proper room cleaning during stay, so for example the in room tea and coffee cups were left uncleaned in the room after we used them. Bar\restaurant looking quite shabby. Don't serve Cappuccino at breakfast, only available from 11:00 onwards?! Also, it's a very busy bar during the day, so long wait to get served. Because its a popular pub with plenty of outside seating it is noisy in the evening, although they do stop serving around 11:15 - 11:30 pm to prevent very late noise disruption to guests.

    Location, great river side location and outside seating area. Short walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    7.5
    Very safe bet if you're looking for somewhere to stay in central Oxford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice if the room were a little larger.

    Amazing location and some great breakfast options. This accommodation meets very good standards across the board. I would recommend this as a very safe bet if you're looking for somewhere to stay in central Oxford.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    10
    Great stay in excellent location for Summer Eights week
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All beds are doubles. Would have liked to see a twin room option when travelling with family.

    Staff were really friendly, very helpful. We asked for an extra person to join us at breakfast and staff arranged this without fuss, for no extra charge. Great! Food at breakfast was varied and delicious. Rooms were stylish and clean. Loved the view of the river from the window in room.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    9.2
    location: beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing negative to say really except some of the staff had a little less than stellar attitudes - but not all, and people are just people. Otherwise a stellar property and stellar experience.

    location: beautiful setting. overall quality of property. breakfast was banging!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    8.8
    The location was perfect for a stay exploring Oxford, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms could have been a little cleaner (dusted!) but were not dirty or didn't really impact the stay - just an observation. Wi-Fi could have also been better.

    The location was perfect for a stay exploring Oxford, easy to access (we used the Park and Ride which stops very close) and a beautiful setting by the river. Very easy and lovely walk into the city centre. The bar/restaurant area of the hotel was great - nicely and quirkily decorated, very welcoming staff, good selection of gins and delicious food! Our room was comfortable and simple with a great waterfall shower.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    7.5
    City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's not alot not to like really. Beautiful location near the city and park and ride, great service - despite being short staffed, rooms are well equipped. The food menu was OK - tho quite fussy for some with not many trusty back ups. But I understand they change it quarterly.

    Location, service, friendly, relaxed, accessible, great atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    9.2
    Location to city centre and the park and ride was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location to city centre and the park and ride was great. The setting was lovely, especially sitting in the beer garden in the sunshine enjoying the view of the river.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, quaint bedrooms, busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If your room is facing the pub terrace/street you’ll likely be disturbed by noise throughout the day and night. Wouldn’t recommend if you’re looking for a quiet/long stay.

    Beautiful bedrooms, very charmingly decorated to the Oxford theme (each room named after a celebrated alumni), all the amenities and variety of tea, coffee, water included. Good breakfast. Riverside views.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    9.2
    Breakfast was good and location right on the river was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a room with a view of the river further away from the road .... and not to have been allocated a room with a 'disabled' bathroom.

    Breakfast was good and location right on the river was good.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    9.6
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When it rained there was not a lot of places inside to stand and drink as tables were full.

    Location.staff very friendly and welcoming great choice of refreshments alcoholic and other

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    10
    Really nice little spot in Oxford!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's not very clear how to get into main building after pub closes so would be helpful to let guests know whilst checking in

    The view, beer choice, breakfast, best chips ever! Rooms are very clean well decorated and super cute

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    8.8
    Good confort, good location, I recommand.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much noise from my bedroom, terrible soundproof Dinner at the restaurant was definitely not good enough for such a great place

    The room was so confortable, and beautiful. Staff members always helpful and nice to me. The terrace is amzing by the river, and breakfast amazing !

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    7.5
    Great setting, nice breakfast, staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little bit noisy at night due to the road, but it was a Saturday night.

    Great setting, nice breakfast, staff were nice. Rooms are cosy and all individually decorated. Easy to walk to / from the station and close to everything in Oxford (all within walking distance).

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2019

    6.3
    There was a big hole below the window that was impossible to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a big hole below the window that was impossible to close so it got cold during the night + because I couldn't close the window I heard people outside talking until 1am so I couldn't sleep . There is no lift so I had to carry my bag up four stairs.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The blinds in the room were a light colour so weren't very private, particularly as there were pub tables outside the window.

    Beautifully decorated room. Complimentary bottles of water in the room every night. Tasty cooked breakfasts. Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    5.0
    The room was nicely decorated and has good extras eg...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very expensive for the size of room. The staff were too laid back for my taste and I felt I was always waiting around for someone. Whether this was to check in or to order dinner, breakfast etc.

    The room was nicely decorated and has good extras eg nespresso machine and bluetooth speaker. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    6.3
    Nice but over priced and too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shaver point. Had nice view but looked onto very busy road and there had been no attempt at sound proofing. Secondary glazing would have been of benefit to the room. The MP3 device in the room did not work. The larger coffee cups did not fit under the coffee machine.

    Staff very friendly and attentive

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    5.0
    The staff are great, food good, lively restaurant area with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The biggest fault the Head of The River has is the lack of immediate parking near to the building. With a daily need over 6 days to unload and load then re-park the car, twice a day, it's tiring and uncomfortable in the heat. I would have moved but the rooms themselves are good and it was near to the venue I was working in.

    The staff are great, food good, lively restaurant area with nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    10
    We loved this hotel in Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe the car noise from the street. But was ok in the end.

    First of all, the room, was super nice designed, with a perfect view over the river. Also, the staff was super friendly and helpful. For sure we will remember that delicious english breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    10
    Would love to come back- top score on everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far better than we expected for a pub stay. The rooms were spotless and intersting. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    7.5
    Super location and great staff. Would visit again without hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't too clean but the staff were brilliant and sorted it out no problem.

    Great location and staff. Location was fantastic and within 5 minutes walk of the city center. No car park but park and ride close by and easy to access.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    8.3
    Location is good, charming alongside the waterfront,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a room on the front which was very noisy (road) and the bed is (too) small so very nice when you are a cosy couple but less convenient of you are with a friend or family

    Location is good, charming alongside the waterfront, friendly staff and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    10
    The room was well equipped especially liked the Nespresso...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was well equipped especially liked the Nespresso machine and Dyson fan. The atmosphere was cozy and felt very clean and looked after, I'd definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    9.6
    Fabulous location on The Thames, friendly, polite...
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What is not to like - it was a Superb stay and relaxing , thanking the Team at The Head of the River.

    Fabulous location on The Thames, friendly, polite professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    9.6
    Great river location with lovely, comfortable and stylish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our original room was quite dark and pokey but because the light was faulty the lovely reception staff moved us to a much better suite.

    Great river location with lovely, comfortable and stylish rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast - just fab.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely stay, comfortable with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    Breakfast was lovely. We both had dinner on both evenings, but found the menu limited fo choice and variety. Although we stayed in the Lawrence room and the lighting scheme was appropriate my partner would’ve preferred more light.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    10
    Head of the River. Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room overlooked the courtyard. With it being bank holiday it was a little noisy but we expected it and did not deter from our stay. Outside the building walls looked like they could use a lick of paint

    Bed comfortable Friendly staff Breakfast choice good

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    6.3
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking Bed was two singles pushed together and they dipped in the middle so we had a terrible nights sleep. Room and bathroom was extremely small

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    9.2
    Great escape for a few days and a few pints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Someone had previously spilt coffee in the room. There was a stain on the carpet and splashes on the wall, which could have been cleaned up. Sleep on first night was disturbed by roadworks, but we warned about this in advance.

    Great location. View of the river. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    9.2
    Glad we chose this accommodation and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is traffic noise from the fairly busy road outside and the windows didn't appear to be insulated. Perhaps this was because they were Georgian and retained original style? However we got used to the noise and the positives of the stay definitely outweighed the noise negative.

    Nice furnishings, modern bathroom and great shower. Excellent breakfast in an attractive dining room overlooking the river. Location in Oxford is excellent - within a few minutes walk of Christchurch College and Meadow.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    10
    Lovely rooms, great location, great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a very minor thing - hand held shower in the bathroom had been removed. Would’ve been handy to have.

    The rooms were comfy and quirky with great facilities. Breakfast (included in the price of the room) was excellent - the eggs were cooked perfectly both times we visited! Would definitely recommed this place.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    10
    Very enjoyable- I would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The council resurfaced the road directly outside from 8 pm- 6 am and very much disturbed my sleep. I appreciate that this is outside of the control of “ Head of the River.”

    The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean & spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    8.3
    Would definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road works took place all night on the bridge next door and were very noisy. We had been warned and there was nothing that could have been done.

    Breakfast was great, good choices available.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    9.2
    A great friendly place to stay, nicely designed with great staff and fab breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a bigger room for the money but the service etc made up for it.

    This beautiful pub hotel exceeded expectations. The room was small but ok, sweet shower room but where the place excelled was in service which was super friendly and helpful. And the breakfast was top class! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    10
    Good location, lovely bedroom, good choice of breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location, lovely bedroom, good choice of breakfast included in the room rate. We arrived later than expected, but were still able to get a meal at 4pm - fish and chips done in a lovely light and crispy batter and a good selection of real ales. Staff were friendly and helpful. A good choice of venue.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    9.6
    Really recommend this hotel! The location by the river is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our overall stay was fab, Great location for all the sites and the room was really comfy with all the mod cons. The pub itself was lovely, food and drink superb.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    10
    Great location, great ambience, comfortable spacious room, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The evening meal was not as good as we had expected nor value for money.

    The ambience was lovely. Breakfast eggs benedict was tasty. Staff were accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    5.8
    Nice hotel and pub and great location but terrible service and average food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The member of staff who welcomed us was very rude and unfriendly. The service generally was very poor and staff forgot our breakfast items, there were no croissants and pastries left by 9.00 and they were not replenished. I could hear everything in the room above ours and was woken very early in the morning.

    Great location and nice rooms

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    9.2
    Very cute place with great staff and food, walking distance of everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and shower specifically were a little small (my husband is 6'4 and struggles with smaller spaces). Otherwise, no complaints!

    We loved our stay at Head of the River! The staff was really friendly and accommodating to our needs, and the food in the restaurant was great. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends! Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    8.8
    A nice pub and rooms. Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First allocated room was noisy with a motor running in the cellar below, but on request moved to a quiet room

    Good location, direct route to park and ride, great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    8.3
    Perfectly adequate for a short break to explore Oxford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was rather small and suffered from noise disturbance from other guests, pub clientele and traffic on the adjacent road (single glazed windows did not help here).

    Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Good location within walking distance of attractions.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    8.3
    Really pleasant stay in good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely bed linen but bed wasn’t great and springs could be felt also the bathroom had a bad drain smell.

    Lovely staff. Great location. Food was good. Boutique style room with a great shower.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    8.8
    The view from our room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little dusty but otherwise very nice

    The view from our room was great. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was good. The location was close to town centre which was helpful

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    7.5
    Cosy room and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The roof in the room was quite low, would have been a problem if we were above 190cm. Could have been cheaper.

    Nice and cosy hotel. Relatively close to the city centre, just a few minutes walk. Breakfast was good. Big bathroom. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.1
    The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was quite...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small, particularly given the price. There was quite a lot of noise from the road outside and the bar downstairs.

    The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was quite spacious.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    10
    So charming and easy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Each room is unique and the entire place is beautifully designed. Waking up overlooking rowers on the river was a nice bonus. The pub downstairs included several classic breakfast options and was also great for dinner and drinks. Highly recommend trying one of their specialty pies. I took the sweetly biased recommendation from the French waiter to try the French pie (can’t argue with chicken and bacon) with a local gin and elderflower tonic. One of my favorite meals of the UK trip. Everyone on the staff was warm and welcoming. Felt like staying at a friend’s cottage for a few days.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    9.6
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only criticism the room was a little noisy - you could hear people above you and on the street. Earplugs helped with that, but it would have been hard to sleep if you didn't have them

    location breakfast style of hotel room better than expected

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    10
    Hotel great and Oxford too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rain

    Superb breakfast great service. Excellent range of ales and plenty of spacious seating. We stayed in March and as its beside the river it must be wonderful to sit outside on the terrace when a bit warmer. Our room was overlooking the river, nice and clean and a fantastic shower. Bed was comfy. The receptionist was really helpful to find train times for us and book a taxi. VERY HELPFUL as we're all staff. Oxford is a very interesting place to visit. Do not miss the covered market loads of places there to eat and not expensive.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    10
    Perfect spot for an Oxford weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely staff - very helpful and chatty. The room and bath were bigger than I expected, having stayed above a pub before. The location was great for sightseeing and for walking in nature. I will stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    7.5
    Cosy rooms, friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Eat elsewhere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from fried eggs and toast (breakfast) or dessert (dinner) the food was awful.

    Friendly staff, great location, within easy walking distance of the sites of Oxford. Nice tea and fresh croissants in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    9.2
    Torpids weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking makes it a bit awkward but there is a 24h car park nearby.

    This pub has a great location with river views and was ideal for watching the rowing. Very helpful and friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere, charming room and lovely breakfasts!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    9.6
    The pub/hotel was ideal for our visit to Oxford, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pub smelt strongly of cooked fish

    The staff were very responsive to my wife's request for a few items for our Foodbank - this impressed us greatly.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    6.0
    We had a lovely break in Oxford......but it was no thanks to Head of the River.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom was dark and gloomy. Watching tv was uncomfortable, having to strain one’s neck to see it high on the wall from the sofa! Our room overlooked the dustbins, where the staff also congregated to smoke. Staff were indifferent, one manager not even looking up as we returned the room key before we left. Coming back from an evening out (22.15), we wanted to buy a drink at the bar, but were told we had to take it up to our room to finish, needless to say we declined.

    Breakfasts were good, bed comfortable, bathroom clean and adequate.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Perfection at the Head of the River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was perfect.. can't complain or criticise anything.this

    This place is spectacular we had a great room in a separate annexx comfortable and clean and very stylish.The staff were very friendly and efficient and worked hard.The food was excellent cooked to perfection and very tasty . absolutely no compaints.The location is beautiful and only a short walk into town.would go back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    7.1
    Lovely prime location on the Thames, very close to Christ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bags we'd checked with the hotel we're mistakenly put in another visitors room. The bag was recovered and nothing was lost however the hotel's concern didn't seem to match our own on this. Also one morning there was no hot water in the shower, we went for breakfast and came back at which time we had hot water though this is disappointing in a hotel which is trying to feel more upscale.

    Lovely prime location on the Thames, very close to Christ Church College and a short walk into the city centre. Nice old pub right on the water with river views from our room. We could see students doing rowing practice in the morning which very much set the mood of Oxford.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    5.8
    Location, atmosphere, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water in the shower overflows. Toilet seat doesn’t stay up, No bin in bedroom. Long wait to check in. Very confused. Focus is on bar guests rather than hotel guests. Staff very confused and service poor. Main breakfast arrived before porridge but was tasty. Room cold and heater didn’t warm up. Can hear all movement outside room. Quiet at night but very noisy in day and in morning.

    Location, atmosphere, breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    10
    Perfect hotel - great location, quality room, delicious breakfast, friendly staff. Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were very impressed from the minute we arrived - the staff were really friendly and helpful, our Lewis Carroll themed room was beautifully decorated with lots of luxury touches (amazing shower!) and the view was beautiful overlooking the river. The room itself was very comfortable, quiet and private. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts - very welcoming environment, fantastic food and excellent service. Although there wasn't parking available, this was easily resolved by using the Park and Ride service - really cheap, very frequent buses and the bus stop was pretty much opposite The Head of the River so very easy to use. The location was perfect - just slightly out of the centre of the city (10 minute walk to restaurants/shops). We really couldn't fault this place! If you are looking for a romantic place to stay in Oxford we can thoroughly recommend this venue.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    9.6
    A great backdrop for the start of our daughter’s 18th birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were spacious and comfortable and shower excellent. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. Our daughter who is at uni in Oxford joined us for breakfast and when we came to settle the bill for her joining us, we were told that as it was her birthday, her breakfast was complimentary! A lovely start to a special day.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    9.2
    Clean, neat, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just needed a small fridge to keep few things refrigerated

    Clean, neat, comfortable. Great breakfast! Rooms are spacious enough and bathroom is of good quality and well functioning

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    7.5
    Nice place, not cheap - and they need to soundproof the windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in a corner room on the road side and the windows are single-glazed sash. On the first night, I found it hard to sleep with the noise from the traffic on one side and from the geese on the other. On the second night, I bought some earplugs and slept better. I don't know if there are planning restrictions limiting what can be done with the windows, but they really need to improve the soundproofing.

    The breakfast was better than other reviewers had suggested - as long as you wanted something hot. The cold selection was pretty basic, I suppose, but there was a very good choice of hot options and the portions were huge. The location was convenient for the centre and scenic. The rooms had been decorated with a lot of care.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    7.9
    Super stay in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The street noise woke us up a few times but I don’t really begrudge students having fun at the weekends! However, if I’d an important meeting the next morning I may have been less pleased

    Staff are very friendly, food good, atmosphere great.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    10
    5 Stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The slightly noisy geese, but this isn't the hotels fault :)

    Everything, such an amazing Valentine's day. The rooms are gorgeous, so well presented, probably one of the nicest we've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Single glazing windows! And the ducks in the river waking me up before my alarm!!

    Great staff. Good food and excellent beer. Cool location down by the river.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.2
    Perfect location and really friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the bed was uncomfortable - but thats probably our own judgement. We did not pay attention to parking the car when booking our stay so got caught out by massiv parking fees

    Food and breakfast are exceptional and the staff is really, really friendly and helpful. Also very clean. The location is also perfect.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    7.5
    Overrall we had a good trip and stay in the hotel , the room size was the only problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did book a small double but it was tiny , enough room to hang a couple of things and that was about it , we didn't unpack half our stuff as we had nowhere to put it ! The road outside the hotel was quite busy and noisy , not that the hotel can do much about that but I would pack some earplugs .

    Staff were very good and friendly . Great location on the river and close to the centre

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    10
    Loved it, walked for miles on the Thames path and got bus back,easy,bus stop just down road,great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is an issue,they found us a spot which was so great,but at busy times it will be up the road

    Excellent location,lovely staff,food excellent,we ate here on both evenings,managed to get the table in front of fire,which made the cold winter evenings very cosy

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.2
    Great location, great food, great value, would definitely recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    Great location on the river. Large comfortable room, good tea & coffee making facilities. Restaurant located in the hotel was fantastic, delicious home cooked style meals and breakfast was really delicious, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Head of the River Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: