Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heatherleigh B&B

17 Queens Road, Shanklin, PO37 6AW, United Kingdom

#26 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in Shanklin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very homely and comfortable rooms. Loved the breakfast and caring host.Also perfect location as less than 5 minutes drive to the beach and restaurants. We will definitely be back again :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was unfortunately a bit chilly :-(

    We really enjoyed our two nights stay. The owner lady was very kind and very helpful. Breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.Everything was great

    Probably the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in. Amazing proprietor who made our stay relaxing and stress free. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay longer !

    Jackie our host very friendly, kind and helpful and informative. Nothing was to much trouble , breakfast amazing with plenty of choice , great location, room clean and comfortable adequate for our needs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second room size wasn’t very big, could only just squeeze between the two beds.

    The room was very clean, bathroom especially. The dining area was lovely and breakfast was fantastic. The lady couldn’t do any more to help us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything not to like to be fair.

    The owner Jackie was so lovely nothing was to much trouble, along with a fabulous breakfast that set us up for the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Friendly welcome from the owner. Delicious breakfast plenty of choice. Really warm and comfortable spacious, clean and newly decorated room. Good location, we plan to return for a longer stay at Heather Leigh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The property was lovely, clean and Jackie was very helpful and friendly. There was a good choice for breakfast and the location was great not too far from the beach or Old Town. Our dog was also made welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could have been warmer (the heating didn't come on until relatively late in the day, and seemed to go off early). Bed not the most comfortable. Bathroom a little cramped.

    A very good breakfast. Friendly welcome, even though we arrived a bit early.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is 8.30 - 9.30 and check out is 10am, which I felt was a little early, especially as check in is not until 3pm; but I guess it is a bed and breakfast, not a hotel. The bulbs in the bedside lamps were bright white, which doesn't create a very cosy atmosphere.

    The Heatherleigh is very clean and tidy, furnished basically, but comfortable. The location is great as it is within easy walking distance of both the beach and the town. The owner was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was larger than most with plenty of room for the dogs. Probably the best breakfasts too. Full English was very good quality, delicious and not greasy. Very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stay there for 4 night and staff were friendly helpful and welcoming. Dog friendly for sure, everything went smoothly and in the flow, really enjoyed my stay there. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was quite small but well equipped.

    We really enjoyed our stay at Heatherleigh. The owner was friendly and helpful and could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We arrived outside the check in time but she was very accommodating and welcoming. The rooms were clean, well appointed with comfortable beds and the cooked breakfast was excellent. We would not hesitate to recommend the Heatherleigh to anyone wanting to visit the Island.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great no complaints

    Very friendly owner could not do enough to make our stay comfortable the breakfast was great had so much choice and was cooked very nice was very helpful with finding out places of interest to visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really of note

    Information on local sites and restaurants. Thoughtful touches like bottles of water provided for our days walking. Friendly service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    99.9% of the isle of wight is dog friendly. This b&b is dog friendly if you lock your dog in your room while you dine downstairs because they are not allowed there?????? Went to a place along the road who greeted us and offered doggie treets and a water bowl whilst we ate our meal!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely stay so our quibbles are very minor. Because the rooms are filled with so much light (which was lovely!) we would have benefited from thicker curtains to avoid being awoken at dawn.

    Charming hostess and warm welcome. Breakfast was superb! Great shower and triple room was a suite - offering the privacy of separate rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved staying here, rooms are very clean and spacious, and so cozy! Located perfectly close to the sea and town center, breakfast was delicious and Jackie the host is so lovely and helpful, we can't recommend it enough!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    A warm welcome and we were made very comfortable we stayed 11 days rooms were brilliant. Nothing to much trouble for Jackie Great location and free parking on site. Would recommend and would stay again Breakfasts excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well situated to Shanklin Town and beach, less than 10 min walk. On site parking, rooms spacious, clean and comfy. Breakfast was lovely. My partner fell ill during our stay, meaning a late departure but Jackie the hostess was very accommodating, Thank you so much.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    When we arrived we was greeted by a lovely lady who was a pleasure to talk to,this was the owner of the bnb. she showed us to our very nice and spacious room and welcomed us nicely .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very friendly arrival even though we arrived early, a good size room clean, with a comfy bed. A hearty breakfast with everything that you required was available which set you up for the day ahead.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get the electric shower to work, looked everywhere for secondary power switch. Suggest placing a note to assist inside room information booklet.

    Family run B&B which is kept clean throughout the premises. Comfortable room provided with all facilities required for your evenings and getting off the blocks in the mornings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been even better if there had been a common room / lounge room for guests to sit in.

    The proprietors were very friendly and helpful and breakfast had a good choice of options. Its location was very convenient with good access to the beach, old town and public transport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did on one of the mornings go from hot to cold then really hot

    The room was very clean, great location near to beach and local shops. Breakfast was 10/10

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really really small point - would love to see more locally sourced food if possible.

    Warm welcome, nice breakfast included in price, easy access to the sights, and dog friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Myself and a friend stayed for a night at Heatherfield guest house and received a very warm welcome from the owner. Nothing was too much trouble for either her or her son who had only just taken over the guest house from the previous owners. They made us welcome and the room was clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed a good breakfast which set us up for the day ahead. I have no doubt that the new owners will make the guest house their own and make a great success of their new venture.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge

    Lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostess was very friendly, always trying to help and just very hospitable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Owner very friendly and welcoming. Room was large, clean and had everything you could need or want in a B&B. Breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely people but the room was a bit could

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could have had better mattresses.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Very friendly and a very nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly Welcome and a good variety for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower room was a bit small, OK for us a we are not giants

    Conviently located, pleasant owner, first rate breakfast, good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit cold in room. No extra blankets.

    Lovely homely. Parking outside. Short walk to the sea. Fabulous breakfast. Good host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Large room and bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed more comfortable

    Breakfast excellent Friendly service excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot open the heater in the room by myself which makes it feels a little non-convenient.

    The breakfast was really nice! Incredible!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly owner and great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostess was very friendly, the room was tidy and clean, and the breakfast was super. Certainly worth a visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The landlady was very friendly and the room was lovely. The best thing is they service delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great, very close to the beach. B&B is nice, comfortable, great breakfast and amazing host!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent stay, very helpful and welcoming host, and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful owner with excellent service and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly service, great breakfast and good-size rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    heater

    great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice place.

    Nice, comfortable, clean room. Excellent breakfast. Free parking. Dog friendly. 2 mins cliff walks. 5 mins walk to town centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal Welcome

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made to feel very welcome and hostess went the extra mile to cater for individual dietary needs. Thank you for s lovely stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Top location close to the beach, room was spacious and a very kind host.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of the property, central to the village , nice restaurants and pubs. full English breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hangover.

    Great host, close enough to everything, highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a thing

    pleasant alround top stay

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly & helpful owners. Only charged £30 for cancelled room on the day. Large & tasty bfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The owner is very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the plastic concertina door on the en suite.

    A very warm welcome and throughout the stay. Very nice room with everything you could want, nice comfey bed, good shower etc. . A very good freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly atmosphere and good service

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Kim is a very kind and friendly lady, and the breakfast is delicious, we are very enjoyed the stays here.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly hosts. Great breakfast. S Spotless room

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful owners, nothing was to much trouble. Always eager to help with advice of where to go or where to eat.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: