Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heddon's Gate Hotel

Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Martinhoe, EX31 4PZ, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Martinhoe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 105 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful building in an lovely natural setting handily placed for a stop along the coastal path
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room felt a little bare and impersonal - some art on walls or colour would have given it a more homely feel (though the view from window itself was as good as an oil painting!)

    Owners very friendly and helpful - lift up to hotel from Hunters Inn very much appreciated and also booking of meal at Inn on my behalf. Large and comfortable room with great views and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Quiet days in the Exmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel lays in a quiet and green valley. The area is perfect for hiking in the Exmoor and on the Exmoor coast path. The owner Pat and Mark are very friendly and can give you a lot of hiking advice. Close to the Hotel is the Hunter's Inn (belongs to the National Trust) where you can eat delicious meals. There is also the starting point for many hiking tours. The Hotel is casual, cosy and clean and the cooked breakfast is fresh and nothing was missing, we even had fresh figs from the garden. The Hotel has excellent WiFi, a good Bar and a beautiful garden. The Hotel is perfect if you like to spend some quiet days in the nature. By car it is around 15 Min. to Lynmouth, where you can find nice shops and more restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and all the little luxuries. Chestnut was a beautiful room with an amazing view and comfortable bed

    This was a hotel in one of the best locations I have ever stayed in. The owners Pat and Mark were so welcoming and helpful. Some of the best walks I have ever been on. A must is the old carriage way walk from Heddons Gate (5 mins away) all the way to Lee Abbey via Woody Bay and back via the South West Coastal Path ( about 18km) it’s stunning. There is a fabulous cafe selling the best Cream Teas in Lee Valley. A must visit also the Valley of the Rocks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    A hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and good for walks. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfect and catered for vegetarians. This is a hidden gem with real and honest character in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Peaceful hotel in a hidden valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and comfortable. The hotel has been modernised without losing any of its 1930s character. Lovely feature windows make the dining room bright and airy. A snug, well furnished lounge with an open fire. Large terrace and lawns with amazing views catches the afternoon sun.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Exceptionally friendly and relaxed site, isolated fr k the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally friendly and relaxed site, isolated fr k the surroundings MFA in a very gone d way. Great venue to “get away” even though it is not far form many other attractions and sights

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Welcoming, stunning scenery and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hospitality was exceptional! Such lovely owners went above and beyond, called me to see if they could make dinner reservations, or if I would like chocolate cake on arrival! From the moment I arrived I had the best service, so warm and friendly and chocolate cake and tea were served to me on the patio with the awesome views! I wished to watch my favourite program on TV and I was encouraged to join them downstairs and watch with them on the big screen TV, invited to join the drinks at the bar and generally included despite travelling alone. Breakfast was great and nothing was too much trouble, walks from the hotel were recommended and the scenery is stunning well worth the drive off the beaten track, peace and nature with an overwhelming sense of being welcome. I would definitely recommend to any traveller the owner speaks many different languages and was always engaged in conversation with all the guests, both English and from overseas. What a gem of a place!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location superb with lovely views over the Heddon Valley. Ideally suited for my main purpose of seeking out rare butterflies in the vicinity.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved how the hotel had a vintage vibe about it. I got shown around all of the rooms, as my stay was that good I'm wanting to book my parents into the hotel as well. The owners are so friendly and really made you feel welcome and at home. The bed was super comfy, the room was a great size, the bathroom was brilliant and the view in the valley was unreal from my room. Also the breakfast was delicious. It's a great place to relax and unwind and to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. I will definitely try and go back. Thank you for your hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Charming hotel, lovely food and people with spectacular views and walks literally on the doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving !

    Fabulous location, great hosts, great food and just a wonderful place to spend some time...well lots of time ! The owners and staff made us very welcome without fussing, I asked if we could make a couple of changes to the rooms booked and we had a vegan with us, everything was accommodated thoughfully and with a smile. The place is a gem as are the people running it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    A peaceful escape in natural beauty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was uncomfortably hard and could feel the springs

    Excellent hosts; Beautiful property in stunning setting; Close to great hikes in amazing natural beauty; Food was fresh and delicious; Loved the soaps and lotions in the bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic HGH
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    I booked this as a little day off to see North Devon whilst in the area. After a day of sitting in a room with no windows I arrived at HGH. I was greeted with tea on the terrace! My day was improving already. I was then given a map with the local walks, which start at the end of the road. I was fortunate with the weather and had a lovely walk to woodybay. Great for just an eve walk. I then had a lovely meal at the hunters inn, before heading home to the hotel. The room was very comfortable and kindly they had upgraded me to a double room, at no extra cost. Breakfast was fantastic, which set me up for another great day hiking. Everyone was so friendly and Mark gave me ideas of what to do with my day. The other guests talked about how lovely their evening meal had been. Maybe next time. Will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Couldn't be surpassed- thank you, Pat and Mark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great to be able to help selves to coffee at breakfast (although we were offered coffee at frequent intervals). Apart from this minor personal preference, all was perfect.

    Owners were just great...welcoming and friendly...beautiful, peaceful setting... relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere... deep sleep courtesy just-right mattress...owners highly considerate re dietary requirements at dinner (and recalled at breakfast without being reminded)... highly flexible/helpful re changing original room choice...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Grand room, lovely bath, fab surrounding beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished dogs could be left to nap in the room while we ate breakfast.

    Lovely breakfast served by the owners, just how we asked for it. Beautiful bedroom view and four poster bed made me feel like a queen!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    We enjoyed the lovely walks from this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked because of the good food reviews, however when we arrived we were told that the restaurant was closed for the winter. Our room did not have a shower, which I did not realise from the booking information (and no view). The place needs a refurb - dated decor, and single glazed which meant we found the room quite cold (although a heater was provided).

    A characterful place with an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    As above
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an excellent place to stay. The proprietors were extremely welcoming and friendly and could not do enough to make our stay a great one. Would recommend it to friends etc. Would also return for another visit. The food was outstanding especially as we are vegetarians The chef made a special effort to accommodate our needs. Our dog loved it too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic accomodation, great walks and varied weather conditions
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coming home and leaving that wonderful place.

    The Hotel was just perfect. The owners were friendly, welcoming and made our visit just perfect. The food was very varied, well presented and tasty. Fabulous area for walkers. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Lovely get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think being dog friendly there should be a room dedicated to leaving your dogs instead of putting them in the car

    It was lovely and quiet and the property was huge

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing stay in a beautiful location. A hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a bit too soft for my liking.

    Hotel was in a fantastic location if you want to escape and relax. Even better was the fact that you couldn't get any internet or phone signal! Fabulous place to get away from it all. Excellent hosts and staff. So friendly and welcoming. Surrounding area is stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Utterly wonderful, don't miss it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a beautiful, quiet wonderful getaway. We were welcomed at the front door, shown round, introduced to other staff and generally made to feel entirely at home. This is a beautiful place, ran by such lovely people; we came with our three teenage children but will be back, just the two of us as it is perfect for walking, quietitude and lavish meals. What more can I say? Thank you so much, this is beautiful in every sense. Kate and Will McConnell Imogen, Angus and Muffy. xx

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    North Devon charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family booked an evening meal at the property after a day walking...Sunday roasts and I must say it was exquisite. Truly delicious meal enjoyed by all - their restaurant, bar and all staff were definitely 5*

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    It became "Heaven's Gate" to us!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a very friendly reception. Mark and Pat were kindness itself Nothing was too much trouble. As a getaway from it all it was a fabulous location. We had the Acer room, Which was an excellent size and very comfortable. More than happy to go again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful with wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The headboard banged every time I turned over in bed. Problem solved by a cushion. Walking back up to the hotel from the Hunters Inn. The 1 in 4 hill was a killer!

    Lovely choice for breakfast. Pancakes was a real treat. Good size room with wonderful view. So peaceful. Beautiful gardens. Loads of parking. Great place to relax and perfectly placed for walking (if that's your thing)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Average at a push!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was poor quality in some cases and generally not great value as all at a set price, £15 for over cooked pasta doesn't seem great value! The hotel is quite dated and in particular our room which had an old divan double bed and the bathroom light was missing the glass cover. The room had no view and was overlooked by another room so blinds had to be kept drawn to maintain privacy. Although credit cards are accepted they charge 2% on top of any transaction. Generally quite poor standard, it's a big B&B being described as a hotel! Not recommended for anyone under 45!

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Attractive property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Attractive property. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent food, much better dining here than at the nearby Hunters Inn with its rather ordinary pub grub and service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Great base for walking the coastal path. Owners very friendly and helpful. Food was good and also so was the bar. Very easy place to relax and get away from it all. Great to eventually find somewhere with no mobile reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Delightful family hotel in superb setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little cold at times....and few things missing in bedrooms, tissues Etc

    Great attention to meals with chef taking a greAt interest in evening meals . Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.8
    Soso
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main sitting areas smelled musty The property is listed as being in 3 acres so we chose it hoping to go for some lovely walks with our dog but there is hardly any level outdoor space at all so the walking paths are tarmac from the hotel The property is not easy to find. When I spoke to staff on the phone for directions they told us to get to some pub then ask for directions from there - but that pub was hard to find ! They suggested I ring them when I got nearer but I was dubious about mobile reception so asked for an email with directions which she seemed reluctant to send - thank goodness I pushed the issue as there was no phone reception and it would have been incredibly difficult to find otherwise especially as we were arriving at dusk. When we arrived at our room it would have been helpful to have been given the basics - dinner and breakfast times, checkout etc but nothing was said. We could look it up but it's nice to be told. I went to go out to my car after 11 pm and the front door was locked and it was pitch black outside so I couldn't go. It would have been nice to be told beforehand when things close down. And maybe for there to be a note at the reception with a strong flashlight in these circumstances es. Finally we were charged £8 for our pet. I couldn't see anything about this in the booking confirmation so upon reading the fine print booking.com says there may be a supplemental charge for a pet. It's just nicer if these things are more transparent so there are no surprises. The breakfast buffet was very basic I'd read it was great so this too was a bit of a letdown

    The twin room had a nice view Owners were friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. It was really difficult to find for someone who does not know the area. I suggest phoning Mike, the owner, ahead of time, and he will give you good instructions on how,to find it. Quite isolated but that is not a negative.

    The hotel was gorgeous. The owners are lovely and very helpful. The environment is beautiful. The hotel is not easy for find, but well worth it once you arrive. We had a delicious evening meal. We wish we had more than one night there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Peaceful stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in rooms, only in the lobby. Not a problem for me, but might be an issue for those on a business trip.

    Great location, excellent food, clean comfortable room and very welcoming owners and staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Location and the friendliness of the owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the friendliness of the owners

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Super staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not too powerful.

    Super staff. Made to feel very welcome. Very doggy friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for location, hospitality and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Room and bed were really comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cosy hotel surrounded by a beautiful landscape, lovely owners!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Very kind and attentive owners
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind and attentive owners Very comfortable bed Charming room Excellent soft-boiled eggs Very dog friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.5
    great owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great owners...V peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Exmoor Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..it was all good.

    Remote location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly, helpful and approachable staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location, very friendly helpful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, very friendly helpful hosts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    A very relaxing and comfortable weekend, thank you.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All wonderful. The food, the hospitality, the comfort, the log fire and of course, the location !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    We are happy to return and recommend to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looked after and spoilt, the food was excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Secluded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Secluded

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Warm friendly relaxed away-from-it-all vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee!!!

    Welcoming host and hostess. Friendly staff. Relaxed environment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Great staff - nothing too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel let down by the food

    Great staff - nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    perfect place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect place. i will go back again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Excellent place to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Friendliness of the staff, nothing too much trouble. Great location for peace & quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Great experience in a most beautiful part of the world, but don't let anyone else know!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is superb. Hospitality of the owners is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Romantic break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have stayed longer!

    Everything, lovely welcome, excellent food, beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    All you could wish for
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only leaving

    Staff and facilities both excellent with no request being too much trouble

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly management and staff would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    liked everthing

    This was a walking holiday and Heddons Gate Hotel is ideal for this

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely quiet hotel with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked us both to be given a menu at the evening meal rather than one to share.

    Food good & very hot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    We loved it! So beautiful. Lovely breakfast. Great hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Excellent cheers..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay, everything was wondrful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Light and airy and very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like a bed and breakfast rather than the hotel I was expecting.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Lovely quiet place to stay. Great for butterflies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff and good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location and very attentive owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard

    Excellent location and very attentive owners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Great stay all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay all round. Comfortable, very warm welcome and above all a really wonderful place to relax and unwind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming, friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Welcoming, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    complementary tea and biscuits on arrival

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Looking forward to coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff, amazing location, very good service, clean and tidy hotel. Looking forward to coming back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    A chilled weekend 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike 😊

    The hospitality was brilliant ,nothing was too much trouble, well worth a visit ..Can't wait for our next visit 😊

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Amazing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely people, will go back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Mark and Justin did all they could to make our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some areas slightly dated but they have done great things to the hotel in the time that they have owned it.

    Mark and Justin did all they could to make our stay memorable. Fantastic food, prepared by Justin. Mark was an excellent host, welcoming us in after a days walking on the South West Coat Path.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.2
    Very helpful and friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A steep hill to the hotel - fine in the car - hard work if you're walking.

    Very helpful and friendly owners. The view from our room. Somewhere to walk the dog. Food delicious including the pancakes for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    The owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and if you're looking for a quiet rural location right near the coast this is a fantastic spot. The evening meal was excellent too!

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    The location of the hotel is fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel is fantastic! We found ourselves in a secluded place surrounded by peaceful and tranquil woods. The only sound was the wind in the trees. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The common areas are beautifully decorated and cozy. Mark and Pat the owners were friendly, accommodating and helpful. They did all they could to make us feel welcome. A small tip – reserve a table for dinner. The chef is great and the food fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    Location and welcome were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shame the restaurant was closed the second night - food down the road wasn't a patch.

    Location and welcome were great. Extremely helpful on the local area. Food was superb.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Staff were very helpful nothing was too much trouble to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very helpful nothing was too much trouble to make our stay as comfortable as possible on our first night away with our dog. The room was spacious and comfortable. Evening meal was lovely and recommended after a day walking.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    I have never felt so at home at a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No reception in area and it was a struggle to get WIFI signal. It was nice to not be getting emails etc but hard when trying to plan the next day out, it was hard.

    I have never felt so at home at a hotel. The owners are the nicest people you'd meet and they make you feel so welcome. Hotel is beautiful and the area is incredible. Contemplating moving there

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Friendly greeting & hospitality by the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find would suggest getting directions from the proprietors before setting off

    Friendly greeting & hospitality by the owners. Food was very good and a resonable price. Bar prices were also reasonable.Unique location

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful surroundings and ideal for walkers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful surroundings and ideal for walkers. The owners made us really feel at home. Th children loved the amount of space within the hotel and outside. Good size family room meant we didn't feel we were sleeping on top of each other.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    Friendliness and Helpfulness of husband-wife team
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendliness and Helpfulness of husband-wife team Their knowledge and expertise in walking Totally honest and high integrity The work they do is clearly very hard but they rise to the challenge

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: