Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Henry VIII 4 stars

23 Leinster Gardens, Westminster Borough, London, W2 3AN, United Kingdom

#788 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3878 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly the next time I’m in London I’ll look for a place that’s in the same general area, but I personally would not stay here again. I found the place unclean and the front desk staff to be the most unhelpful boardeinf on rude individuals. The free WiFi was poor at best and when I finally complained after days of it being that, there was no offer of resolution. The phone in my room also didn’t work so I was not able to call front desk at anytime, when that was mentioned the front desk last just stared at me blankly - no offer to resolve that issue either. The area around the pool looked and felt unclean and I actually changed my mind about using the facility. Don’t expect spacious rooms in London but this one was so tiny that there was little room for our luggage. Don’t be fooled by the pictures, ensue you look at the measurements and ensue your party will fit. I hd 2 with 2 check bags and 2 flat board carry-on. Cases and it was right.

    The property is located in a nice safe and clean area in walking distance of the park, restaurants, convenience stores, shops and the train station (though not with a lot of luggage as this would be a ways surface of the sidewalks). The breakfast was also very good and the dining staff were the nicest and most helpful of all staff there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had telephoned to amend my order after booking and the amendments were not added on. Therefore we did not have the extra bed I had requested. They did squeeze a put up bed in.

    Location was good for Hyde Park. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    I won't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at check in was terrible. It took 20 minutes to book in and I had to wait while the 2 ladies on reception stood and a stand up argument. The room was small and cramped and the air conditioning didn't work.

    Breakfast was good. Plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    Loved the location but travel lodge and holiday Inn would have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard Other guests doors slammed shut Air conditioning didn't work had fans blowing hot air around Room required better maintenance Breakfast was warm not hot

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was very basic . Breakfast wasn’t good at all . The swimming pool was freezing. Clean and tidy but old and run down . Staff were very blunt .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and beds were far too small - not enough space. Air con didn't work - had to rely on manual (and therefore noisy) fans.

    Breakfast was about the only decent thing at the hotel, and that was at best reasonable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Do not stay here, extortionate and rude. Photos are misleading . I never complain but this is bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were miserable , rude and extremely unprofessional and unhelpful. The rooms were in a poor state, the TV , Kettle and Air con didn’t work, the shower was like a dripping tap. There is no early check in and if you dare to ask you will be scorned. The pool looks big and inviting, it is actually small, smelly and poorly lit and generally old and tatty. The restaurant is old and poorly lit and the staff were also miserable. Now we are very experienced travellers and would give this a good rating if it was a hostel for £50 a night, but it is about £200 a room at the weekend!

    The location was good for Hyde Park which is why we chose it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is at a very good location, close to restaurants, bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is the same everyday, had lots of trouble with our key cards and rooms are very small.

    Hotel is at a very good location, close to restaurants, bus stops and metro. Love how close it is to Hyde Park!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.9
    The staff were so rude I have never come across such an unprofessional establishment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny very basic, curtains didn’t even cover the windows, air con didn’t work! Staff were so rude especially the evening reception staff!

    Location was good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Poor standard for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets torn in room Bath panel smashed Air con completely switched off to hotel Fan in room nosey Sauna didn't work Pool looked really cloudy and dirty

    Check in was quick

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were small but beds super comfy and in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was poor, instead of dealing with customer in hand we were ignored for someone else butting In wanting a taxi booking. Instead of asking lady to wait a moment she went off to sort taxi out. We then spent 10minutes waiting,. Very rude!

    Rooms were small but beds super comfy and in a great location. Food was great too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    It's a lovely hotel but the staff at reception were a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff

    It's a lovely hotel but the staff at reception were a little unhelpful and a little bit stressed due to the British summer time An early check in time would have been better and more staff on reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    Awful time at Henry V111 London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was stated on the web site but not available the room was boiling ,the room its self was appalling holes in the walls bathroom door had screws in the bottom to keep the panalling on, carpet stained furniture chipped.went to reception staff not trained well enough to deal with the 3 people complaining asked to see the manager and was informed she wasn't around and they had no contact details not good if there was a fire! Another customer complaining said she had been told for 2 days the manager was coming but had not showed up I asked for an additional 2 fans and extention lead this was originally met with a shrug of the shoulders but in the end I got the additional fans not sure why this has a 4 star rating as I have stayed in better 2 star hotels had I not spent £200 on tickets for sites in London and paid for the room I would have gone home will never stay here again and my faith in your reviews and ratings has been severely dented

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Great overall and you get what you pay for £400 for two for 3 nights/breakfasts... outstanding value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not as nice at I had hoped.

    It was a nice hotel for the price. Central and clean over all. It's not luxury and the rooms are small with a small bathroom. Great for sleeping and out all day. The staff were friendly and always there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    Bloody awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing

    The hotel is in bad need of a major update, its website photos and discription do not equate to what the hotel s condition is, room very very small no air conditioning ,the room was unbearable hot, I was allocated a room on arrival and when I entered there were already 2 people sleeping on the bed! On arrival 2 other guests were making similar complaints , the hotel phone is never answered, I would never recommend this to any one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Was broken/not working for 2 whole days. Didn’t even have power for one whole night!. Had to move rooms twice. Elevator was broken/out of service. Overall was Very poor. Wouldn’t go back!

    Staff tried to be helpful given the circumstances.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Close to the tube station and Paddington station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good value for money! The air-con was broken! And they didn't tell us! They only gave us one towel for a double room so obviously there were two of us! The staff weren't very available to help! I called the reception 3 times and no answer I then called room service 3 times and no one answer!

    Close to the tube station and Paddington station!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Will never book to stay there again and it's nowhere near worth the cost that we paid!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING!!!

    The only good thing about our stay was the location. they even took the overpriced payment for the room twice and I had to kick up a real stick to try and get a refund!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Fair enough for the price, but not worthy of 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was lots I didn't like! And this is not what I would call a 4* hotel at all. The room was tiny, could barely walk around the bed, and the bathroom was so small you could touch both walls at the same time and had to contort to get the toilet paper. The decor in the main part of the hotel is very tired, with carpets that are threadbare in parts and the whole hotel is like rabbit warren so it wasn't clear at all where to go. The staff were monosyllabic and not very friendly.

    The good things about this hotel are the great location and the low price. We stayed there as we were at a gig in Hyde Park and it was perfect for there, and there's plenty of transport links nearby. It was also really reasonable for this part of London.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great stay, clean comfortable room and beds, good staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting what we asked for on our booking so we didn’t lose precious sightseeing time

    Initially weren’t given room with bed configuration we booked. But staff sorted the problem within half an hour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Close to Hyde Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the staff is friendly does not help that you have to sleep in a sauna basically. The air conditioning did not work and all we had from the reception staff when we have asked about it , it was "oh, sorry, is not working in any other room". It was like, making us aware about the others misery would make us happier. Even worse, in lift (only one out of two working), we have learnt from other clients that the hair dryers are not working as well. Breakfast was fine though. Never again.

    Close to Hyde Park

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Far too expensive for what was there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was a total waste of money. It is not worth the prices they have set. The rooms are incredibly small, and the level of upkeep around the hotel was very poor (broken lifts, poor decoration, shower door wouldn't close, broken tv remote). The shower didn't work properly, and the heat was unbearable. While there is air conditioning, it apparently 'wasn't in the hotel' and the bedroom was stiflingly hot (while the lobby, where the staff were, was being air conditioned despite their statements that there was no air conditioning in the building). Really don't bother - go to the nearest Travel Lodge instead.

    Good buffet and breakfast, comfortable bed, high standard of cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    A great stay .I would like to come back .It was great with the swimming pool.😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was very poor.And the hotell ned some new interiør a bit more light colours would hjelp a lot.

    The breakfast was very nice.And the room was nice and clean.The staff was very helpfull.I can recomand this hotell to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, the whole hotel was around 85-90 degrees

    Very honest staff, I left Money in my room and staff had it safely stored and returned to me. Thanks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Desperately needs refurbish. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna didn't work, even after I reported to Reception. The swimming pool was dirty without any water circulation. Caught skin infection. Toiletries were poor quality. 4 stars?? Hmm...

    Breakfast was good. Water pressure in shower was good. Quiet and convenient location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    2.5
    Waste of time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Apart from leaving the hotel.

    The hotel was a complete shambles. Still awaiting communication from hotel in regards to my issue. I would never recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.5
    Angry to say the least
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was broken and I made a complaint during the night as the room was like a sauna and promised a refund by the receptionist in the morning. It came to the morning and I was told there was no chance of a refund which was upsetting to say the least.

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    Outside was really nice but when you got into the hotel it’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The member off staff was on was rude and bad body language. we changed rooms twice both time problems with the room was small , unclean and not very good for a 4 star will not be staying there again.

    Outside was really nice but when you got into the hotel it’s not

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    The photos on the website do not match up to what it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on the website do not match up to what it actually looks like at all. The carpet is dirty the room looked nothing like it did in the photos and there was stains all over the floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    2.5
    Not what they say they offer. It's a false.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lie and cheat you and when you realized they lied when you arrive and find no A/C and poor Wi-Fi and it's a, father distance to the underground station than they claim, you cannot cancel! You're screwed. I'm contacting my credit card services for partial refund for promised services not rendered!

    They don not have A/C and when I questioned why their property description includes A/C they denied it did but it's written in English on every online description of the place. Also I had to fight to get the wifi login info and once I finally did it went in and out and I continually had to get new login info from the front desk. Workout Wi-Fi im London my phone is useless. I can't even offer am uber! They lie and cheat you and there was a used condom under our bed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing -
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small, not very clean and very worn and dated. The pool is unserviced, grubby with tiles missing and a very dated changing cubicle. The Breakfast was one of the worst I've ever had, cheap, limited choice and over cooked - help your self watery drinks in a dingy dark out dated dining room.

    Location, good price for London - breakfast included

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Henry V111
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the middle of heatwave and there was no air con, no explanation and no apology. The staff were adequate but not very friendly or engaging.

    The hotel was clean, the breakfast was good, the pool was nice and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    Not what I was expecting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC in the room wasn't working, the carpets were old and discoloured and there was a kind of damp smell around the hotel. The pictures seen while booking did not match up to the reality and hence it was not value for money.

    The breakfast in the morning was satisfactory and the staff were polite. The room size was decent too. There was a pool at the hotem and there was fruit and water at the reception for people to have.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.5
    Tried hard to think breakfast was nice but in a gloomy stale...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What was there to like, smelt old and looked tatty. 4☆ can't believe it has 1 star. Air con didn't work not just my room others complained. Room was dingy, very over rated and unclean.

    Tried hard to think breakfast was nice but in a gloomy stale room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed to small staff not really helpful and mostly speaking to each other in language in the customers presence .I find this quite rude sauna defective water dispenser empty

    breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    2.5
    Pay a little more and avoid this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not like the pictures advertised. Very, very old and dirty. Location is not good. I'd advise to pay a little more and choose another hotel rather than stay here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    London stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small for two People.

    Location was perfect, 15 min walk from Paddington station. Room was clean and tidy a little on the small side. Would of up graded if offered. On the plus side swimming pool was an added bonus. Staff friendly and helpful especially with dietary needs. We understood we had a continental breakfast so were really pleased with a cooked buffet breakfast. Set us up for the day. Room service was daily. Hotel reception was open all the time. Trains didn’t keep us awake at night either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.8
    Very poor hotel. Didn't provide the room that I had booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was the smallest I have ever stayed in and very noisy. The bed was very uncomfortable and the bathroom was miniscule. I won't stay there again.

    I booked a double room and was given a twin which wasn't great for a weekend away with my partner. The hotel were unhelpful and despite promising to move us twice, it didn't happen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice breakfast (not much variety but pleasant).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old in terms of space and decoration should be refurbished. Rooms are very small. The employees are friendly but few. The reception is constantly without employees, and sometimes it is quite a long time to be serviced.

    Nice breakfast (not much variety but pleasant). The quality matches the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    OK place to crash for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cracked sink basin in one of the rooms, rooms very small. Long wait for check in, then given keys and pointed toward the lift but not told which room numbers we had been allocated, went back and the receptionist had disappeared. Hotel pics on booking.com are not representative of the hotel in reality.

    The location! And the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    So disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not reflect the website pictures at all. Very disappointed with the price we paid for what we got. The breakfast was horrible. Check in was a disaster we turned up at 13:50 to be told we needed to wait 10 mins even though someone was there at reception, then there was a massive queue. I don't expect to be told rudely by receptionist, wait 10 mins. The room was boiling hot, air con didn't work, room was so shabby. I have stayed In loads of hotels In the same area, and this was not a 4star.

    The location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Avoid this hotel ... its adequate but run down, needs a refit and the maintenance cant fix faults
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did't live up to the expectation generated by photographs. Room was like an oven. Air Con was inoperative. Had to have two fans noisily running through the night. Plug wouldn't fit the wash basin. Water flow was almost a trickle Tried to plug in iron, fuse missing from plug. Reported it and was told "we know about that ... and the Air Con"

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    London accommodation redeemed by its great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bathroom sign announcing 'Free soap' for guests, raised the alarm bells. One tiny piece of soap for two nights! Dust floated off the overhead fan when we turned it on to air the room (the aircon wasn't working). Fans and high ceilings can be hard to keep free of dust and cobwebs.

    This hotel is popular with people from all over the world and there's no skimping on the English breakfasts. The location, within walking distance of Kensington Palace and Hyde Park, is the best feature of this accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Decent location, breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on here really over sell the reality. The bar in the reception is a joke...no pumps & hardly anything in the fridges either

    Decent location, breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    hotel was fine for a weekend with a friend. good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was ok. sausages were hard and couldn't even put fork through them on first day. bit better the following day but still not ideal. plenty cereal and toast or fruit etc to have instead though. the photos made it look fresher than it was. bit shabby at places ie carpets, walls, swimming pool tiles etc but was still fine for weekend away with a friend on a budget.

    staff were very friendly and helpful. rooms were very clean. location was excellent with a small walk to hyde park. few bars 5/10 min walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Not fancy and new, but I never slept so well in London
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, quiet room, comfortable bed, a little pool, ok breakfast included. I’m frequently in London, and never had a good nights sleep in any of London’s overpriced hotels. In Henry VIII for the first time, even if the place looks a bit like in need of renovation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff were helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and not large. It was ok but not more. There wasn’t a refrigerator in room.

    The staff were helpful. Hotel is very close to Hyde Park which is a bonus. The hotel pool was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could definitely have been more spacious. The food was tasteless and i find it difficult to understand that a hotel is unable to provide something as simple as a corkscrew when requested.

    The room we stayed in was tiny, the breakfast was probably the worst ive had and the staff were anything but helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    OK location, OK hotel, you'd find better elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel smells of smoke, décor is very old and dated. The lights above the bed in my room didn't work, just flickered on and off. Room was fine but nothing special. Whole place needs a refurb!

    Swimming pool was good, small so not great for serious swimmers but good for a morning dip! Room was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Was good till incident at breakfast, which is unresolved so far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loose tiles on bathroom floor. Incident involving damage to me & no help from staff plus still 3 days later still no reply/response to my emails!

    Location, good choice of restaurants,cafes & bars close by. Value for money, good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    Complain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good evening, I would like to place a complain regarding my stay in Henry VII hotel.  We arrive to hotel 1:45 and been informed that check in is available from 2 p.m what was totally understable. At 2:10 p.m waiting at resepction I asked again if I can check in to the room and another receptionist gave me key to my room without problem. Me and my girlfriend left our bagage in room and went to swimming pool which wasn't look at all like on booking.compicture, a lot od mould,shoe rack very diety,whole area very old and need serious refurbishment. Sauna didnt worked even we fallow instruction next to door. I went to the reception to ask for help few minutes later came maintenance and fixed sauna. After we went out to view the city for a couple of hours. When we came back to the hotel we want to turn on the TV and air condition we realise on the top of TV is massive dust the same as an air conditioned top of wardrobe Lights next to the bed and also on the pictures and mirror on the walls. After eight PM and Again to the swimming pool to relax. There was a couple of people sauna again doesn't worked I go to the reception to ask for help. Unfortunately there wasn't maintenance anymore and the receptionist didn't have no idea how to turn on the sauna she didn't give any solution how we can fix it or how we can use it. Sauna Was One Of The reason Why we choose that hotel I want to take Rest in the evening after whole day in the city. I would like to find out what kind of discount or refund could I apply for all these reasons and standards of the hotel which I didn't expect. Kindest regards. Tomasz Puchalski 

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Had a great weekend even though disappointed with the standard of the hotel. Has great potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel needs a complete overhaul. The laminate floors in the bedroom were worn along with the furniture. Bath broke and no anti slip mat in the bath. Bed hard and air con broken. Fan in the ceiling did work but was full of dust. Throughout the hotel carpets and decorating worn. Pool did not go in as again worn and not inviting. Breakfast room too dark needs more lighting. As it was in Kensington would have expected better. Not 4 Star. Glad we’re did not pay full rates for this property as would not have been pleased. However, if you just want somewhere just to sleep and out all day site seeing it was ok for a base.

    The location was great. The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and hard working. The hotel and room were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Love London and enjoy the location of the Heny VIII hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the location. Close to Kensington & Hyde Park gardens. Not far from 2 Metro stations, Easy to get around and into London proper. The staff was most helpful, especially when we needed to change rooms, so to be on a lower floor. Breakfast was very good. The hotel has a lot of character.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    Worst place I've ever stayed but at least no bed bugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small to open a suitcase (smaller than cruise ship), sink was clogged, air conditioning had "no service" (which I assume means they don't want to pay to fix it) so it was extremely hot and we had to ask for a fan, and there was not even a clock in the room to tell time! Oh and the "free toiletries" mentioned so prominently everywhere on their website and in the hotel itself was actually just a tube of shampoo/soap in one... I've stayed in many hostels across Europe and thought I was getting an actual hotel for once but nope, this waa awful, stick with a hostel and you'll have a better stay.

    Location is good. That's the only good part.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    This hotel is definitely worth booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot & air con unit did not work Couldn’t keep window open as a external generator was nr us & loud.

    Breakfast was very good Staff very accommodating Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    No frills hotel but good breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a basic "double" room. Make sure you read the small print carefully re size of rooms and beds. It was the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in and the "double" bed was four foot wide and pushed against the wall. After a dreadful night with no sleep I asked to change rooms and was immediately accommodated. New room was still small with two single beds pushed against opposite walls with a little space in between but was better than original room. The beds/mattresses were comfy enough themselves just on the small side. From what I could glimpse of other rooms all had beds against the walls.

    Good breakfast and close to two tube stations (three different lines) so easy to connect to anywhere on tube system. Also right beside Hyde Park and Kensington Palace and gardens. Lovely for a stroll in the evening. Lots of cheap and cheerful shops and restaurants within five minute stroll of the hotel. Communal areas were a bit shabby/grotty but bathrooms are recently renovated. Also pool was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Very Average Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in staff terrible,had to wait 40 mins to check in, room not ready.In room safe did not work,No iron,no fridge cracked glass in window,extremely small room and in poor condition.Room needs maintenance immediately

    Good location,hot shower,comfortable bed,quiet room,average breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    Bed,breakfast reasonable but breakfast room needs brightening up its dull and depressing
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on reception were rude and unprofessional 😡 The hotel could do with refurbishment The pool area could do with seating better showers and changing area And the bar area needs upgrading 🍺🍷🥂

    It was a place to rest our heads and was close together the underground An unhappy customer 😒

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Awful hotel - Reception staff are Spanish and seem to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful hotel - Reception staff are Spanish and seem to be totally clueless Also during our stay, We know that another guest, a middle aged woman had her ipad stolen by a cleaner. Would never stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much sound proofing in the room, could hear neighbours tv, could have done with more selection at breakfast

    Lovely location, helpful staff on reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived our booking could not be found the two staff members we're dealing with had limited English and we had no Spanish.Also entrance needs updating

    Crossiants dry and bed very comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel great staff would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything vwas as expected

    Free use of facilities and excellent choice of breakfast from buffet - no food served of an evening but Leinster Arms pub over the road is excellent food of an evening

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    I would not stay here again unless it has a total rehabilitation and made larger rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was worn out and has holes in the wood floors..walls were dirty and so were base boards and windows. The bed was not comfortable. AC didn’t work. My luggage didn’t fit in the room as it was very small..I asked for a change of room,they said no. The bar opened at 8pm.. it there was no one there to serve us. The TV was put In a place that you couldn’t see it from the bed..in order to see the TV you had to lay sideways at the end of the bed..and there was only room for one person to lay.

    Location was great. breakfast was good and included in the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    very good apart from the one rude staff member,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very rude female staff member at breakfast. face like thunder and very unpleasant. I left the dinning room to go to the toilet and when I came back She refused to let me back in because it was past 10. Every other staff member was pleasant and happy looking,

    I thought the house keepers went over and above with standards. cleaned our room as soon as we left etc and daily with fresh towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.0
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No idea how this hotel is rated 4stars. Decorated at least 20 years ago, carpets totally worned down, furniture and appliances are from last century for sure. A joke.

    Location only

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    We would stay again purely for location and swimming pool and breakfast. Can’t moan for what we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist very rushed and not welcoming. That was not an issue for us though. Sauna not working. Bar only open for a few hours. But for the location and price we paid we were ok with the general feel of the hotel

    Breakfast was good quality food. Swimming pool good and deep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    The type of mistake you make only once
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff as well as those at breakfast were pleasant and helpful, the others were unresponsive. Calling reception was a complete waste of time as the phones went unanswered and when they were answered the staff were unhelpful and almost dismissive. The hotel generally looks rundown and is badly in need of some attention - the flooring is creaky and uneven; the carpeting is ripped and uneven in some places and is an unfortunate colour. The bed was like sleeping on a slab of concrete with pancakes for pillows. If you need a taxi for any reason be sure to specify a legal black taxi or you may end up like me travelling to Paddington in what I am sure was an illegal taxi.

    The location is the best thing about this hotel and is the real reason I chose it. There is easy access to public transportation and bus tours. There are also a few pubs, several choices of restaurants and Hyde Park is a few minutes walk away. Added to that, Oxford Street is relatively nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location - poor everything else....
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a hot day for check in. Air conditioning in room didn't work so switched on overhead fan - large clumps of dust proceeded to fall onto bed - urgh. TV didn't work - good job it was a business trip and I was out day and evening. Breakfast was poor - on the first morning we were seated to a used table and had to ask for it to be cleaned so we could eat. Coffee machine had run out of milk halfway through the service so only espresso available. Bed was solid and difficult to sleep on. And watch out for the showers, scalding one minute and freezing the next.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    Not the best pick. But if your just sleeping there it's ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We satyed in room 2. The room was very cramped and the carpet didn't look clean around the edges. The only things that worked in our room was the main and bathroom light and the bedside lamps. NONE of the plug sockets worked. The bed was extremely hard. Couldn't open one of the wardrobe doors because the bed was in the way. The Air conditioning didn't work in any of the rooms. The view from our room was abit of a disgrace and not pleasant because it was of what I presume was the middle of the building looking at the broken air conditioning fans. The window was dirty. Even thought the DO NOT DISTURB sign was on the door the maid still came in both mornings whilst we were in bed. The room that breakfast was displayed in was big but hot and stuffy and there looked to be sticky pads for mice or other creatures to be fought on. So it put me off breakfast.

    The location was fantastic. Close to the train stations and Hyde park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn't go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con broke, plug sockets didn't work, beds and pillows were hard and cheap. Staff didn't understand English very well. Tiny bedrooms not enough room for 2 people to move about.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.2
    very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were paper thin. Felt like the people in the next room were beside us in bed. We got no sleep. The hotel was dirty. The breakfast was poor.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Great location but wouldn't recommend this hotel, plenty of others in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom didn't drain properly, the plumbing definitely needs addressing as the toilet was smelly with a very cheap seat. The room was tiny for a double and the breakfast was really not very appetising at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    The up side to the hotel was that the pool and breakfast...
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff tried really hard to help but their English was quite poor and so communication difficult. The air conditioning was not working and so the room was hot and stuffy. Television and hairdryer did not work.

    The up side to the hotel was that the pool and breakfast were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Fairly close to everything, However extremely disappointed with the size of the room.
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was like a box room, me and my partner could bearly move in it. This was not displayed on the photos when i booked it. I have never stayed in something so small in my life.

    The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Mostly positive experience - thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No response to current email for information Requested 'wake-up call - never got one poor wifi connection.

    Central location to London sites. Cleanliness Politeness of staff

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Henry VIII traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: