Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Herrislea House Hotel 4 stars

Veensgarth, Tingwall, ZE2 9SB, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Tingwall

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 53 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Well located for what we anted to see during our stay on Shetland. Would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a lovely ambience enhanced by the friendly owners and staff. There was a lovely blend of Scottish and African cultures with many artefacts collected by the owners during their time overseas.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Each day was an exciting exploration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The wind!!!

    The courtesy, the friendliness, the feeling of happiness in the household. The location is so central for touring Shetland, and yet has easy access to Lerwick. The beds were really comfortable and the peace and quiet made sleeping easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    The last resort in town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is average, and please change the mattress: those things need to be changed every 10 years in case of once own, I guess it’s every 5 years in a hotel. The hall and the restaurant are scary: those animals trophy’s head... disgusting. It’s a hotel, not a display of personal tastes and hobbies. It’s supposed to be neutral not aggressive. I hate hunting and taxidermy

    The owners are really nice as I ended up there in the middle of the night, although they were supposed to be closed. So thanks for arranging something in such short notice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    What should have been a pleasant stay was ruined by noxious fumes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard - manageable because I asked for a second quilt and slept on top of that. The quilt covers were synthetic, not cotton. Despite it being a non-smoking hotel they did not intervene when their guests smoked inside the bedrooms/ corridors. My major complaint was the choking chemical fumes permeating my bedroom from the ensuite bathroom which made me progressively more and more unwell during my 12 night stay (with difficulty breathing, a hacking cough, generally feeling unwell, and waking up with a pounding headache every morning). These symptoms improved a little when I kept the ensuite door closed at all times and fully resolved within days of leaving the property. The adjacent room was even worse (I know this because it was occupied by one of my friends) but the rooms of my other travel companions were fine. I realised too late what was making me ill (after wasting 5 hours of my holiday in the hospital emergency department). The hotel was fully booked by then so I couldn't have changed rooms, and I feared it would just spoil the holiday for me and my friends if I made a fuss. However I am certain my hosts knew about the problem but weren't honorable enough to do anything about it, which is unforgivable.

    The hotel had a great deal of quirky character and charm (spoilt somewhat by the myriad hunting trophies and pelts of dead creatures), serves excellent hearty breakfasts and has a good restaurant menu. Both the sitting room and dining room are very comfortable and served as a delightful "home base" during my twelve day stay at this establishment. In general the managers made themselves pleasant and accommodating (apart from the unforgivable lack of integrity described below) and the other staff were charming. The location is good and a short drive to Lerwick but a car is essential if you are staying here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    We felt we could ask for anything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all

    This is a family run hotel so not posh but extremely well run so completely comfortable and relaxing Staff welcoming Sitting room cosy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location, easy to park with very pleasant helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great base from which to visit all the Shetland Islands. Hosts were very friendly and provided lots of information about the islands and travelling around them. Lots of parking and pleasant location only a short drive to Lerwick.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were old & flat, spare pillows in wardrobe didn't have any slips on & were old & stained. Bedroom décor is dated. There was no hairdryer in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.3
    Not good. Would not recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor location opposite unsightly and noisy scrap yard Very expensive but poor quality evening meal (mainly potatoes - grey and undercooked) & awful sweets - felt ripped off Charging 4* prices for 0* accommodation Very run down premises with awful decor - full of animal heads and skins, very depressing and ghoulish Incredibly lumpy, old matresses Locals told us (after our stay, unfortunately) that owners are running down the hotel. It certainly bore no resemblance to their website

    Decent shower. Reasonable size room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    The staff was very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very attentive. The meals were good, especially dinner. The location is great for exploring Shetland, easy access to all major roads; can drive to Sumburgh airport without driving through Lerwick. Lerwick is only 4 miles south.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant stay in a central Shetland location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. I liked the slightly old fashioned feel of the hotel. Tingwall is a convenient area for exploring Shetland from by car although a little remote. The Lock of Tingwall nearby was great for bird watching

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    A good insight to encourage further trips to Shetland
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our bathroom was difficult and slightly dangerous for an older person to use.

    The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable about Shetland which increased the pleasure of our stay enormously. The staff were all very helpful and worked very hard. There were plenty of leaflets covering different aspects of Shetland in addition to very interesting history and books about the area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.8
    More a guest house than 4 star hotel. Very expensive, poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food on offer poor, 3 out of 4 evening meals was a set boring menu, no choice. Breakfasts did not offer individual packets of cereal or jam/marmalade pots, just open large packets and jam jars. Only a rather nasty orange juice on offer. No yogurts or kipper available on our last morning. Not acceptable for what was described as a 4 star hotel. One member of staff very truculent to the point of rudeness on a couple of occasions.

    Not very much. Old fashioned and dated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing and NOT value for money (£234 for two nights)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath and shower difficult to use for 'elderly'....TV in room; unable to watch due to poor connection. Aerial and power cables dangling from ceiling; poor reception.

    Breakfast average..6/10

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    A jewel in a gold setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The managers were exceptionally helpful and friendly and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable with a great bed and wonderful view. The restaurant food was OK but the service was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.1
    The location was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It should be regarded as a B&B rather than a hotel IMHO. A hotel should have a proper bar etc this didn't.

    The location was OK. The two members of staff were excellent and very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Evening dinner was not available.

    Very good breakfast. Good location for fishing and walking and close to Lerwick for shopping and eating out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    excellent all round

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited evening meal choice

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Suited our purpose to a T comfortable and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Nice place in a rural setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    sub standard for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    emailed one day before arrival to be told no evening meals available due to staff problems. extractor fan broken, kettle leaked, mattress tired

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place, great food and friendly hosts
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cuisine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, relaxed and friendly small country house hotel. Food excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wider choice of dinner menu would have been good.

    Relaxed country house hotel atmosphere and very friendly and helpful owners. Food excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Non smoking, comfy lounge,excellent dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Non smoking, comfy lounge,excellent dining

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Memorable visit to Shetland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Suited our needs. Food good, staff friendly, rooms and bathrooms up to expectation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    Owners, Marjory & Gordon Williamson were very welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level generated by other guests

    Owners, Marjory & Gordon Williamson were very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Gave me a good welcome and most helpfull and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Bed a little to hard.

    Good sausages. Lots of drinks in the fridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Convenient for Lerwick and exploring the south of the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient for Lerwick and exploring the south of the island

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    A great location from which to explore the beauties of Shetland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A friendly welcome. Very comfortable room with seating. Excellent breakfast, well cooked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Nice hostel on shetland
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very good dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Just outside Lerwick but ony a short drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just outside Lerwick but ony a short drive. Has a slightly old fashioned/traditional confortable atmosphere which we all liked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpets in public areas need cleaning/updating.

    Location. Room very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    9.6
    Food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found nothing to dislike at all.

    Food was excellent Room was most comfortable Shower was great View from bedroom was most relaxing Everyone was so friendly and interested in what we were doing and how could they help Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    7.1
    Quiet countryside location, and not to far from Lerwick.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bar, limited breakfast on the last day due to lack of items. Very poor TV reception due to mobile phone interference, not possible to watch any programme all the way through due to pixilation on the screen.

    Quiet countryside location, and not to far from Lerwick. Room was adequate, clean, and a comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    7.1
    staff very friendly and helpful, food excellent but a little...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    dog in restaurant , had trouble finding hotel unable to see sign when traveling from Walls area

    staff very friendly and helpful, food excellent but a little pricy

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    The staff were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed at the lack of evening meals with no other local options. Fully understood their reasoning behind this though.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    We received a very warm and friendly welcome are hosts were...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike.

    We received a very warm and friendly welcome are hosts were extremely kind, generous and informative. Our stay along with my husbands colleague was a very relaxing and comfortable experience. Breakfast was very good an excellent menu. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The quality of our bed had been slightly bad. All hotel employees have been Polish time-contract workers knowing nothing about Shetland.

    The owners are very nice and helpful in exploring Shetland islands and very flexible in early access to the rooms and extended staying due to the ferry schedule. You can hear many stories about the past of the Shetland islands from them. The traditional decorated living room of the hotel is the best one I have ever seen so far and very nice to spend there some time especially in the evenings.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    5.8
    homely place warm cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bad location far from Lerwick lack public transport overpriced shuttle needed to bring in guests from Lerwick ferry terminal or airport

    homely place warm cozy feel at home nice building style

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    Went to Shetland to say goodbye to our dear brother, was...
    • Couple

    Went to Shetland to say goodbye to our dear brother, was made all the more bearable by the sympathy and friendliness of not only the people and staff at the hotel, but all the folk we met on Shetland. Will definitely go back

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    10
    Quirky hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quirky hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.6
    Old world type situated not far from Lerwick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed creaked a bit.

    Old world type situated not far from Lerwick. Ideally placed for travelling about the islands.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.9
    Very brief visit, staff seemed efficient & friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very brief visit, staff seemed efficient & friendly. Room was clean & comfortable. Bathroom was clean, Shower over bath worked well.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.4
    Size of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No evening meals available

    Size of the room.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Overseas collection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Overseas collection Decor Off main road Confusion re overpayment corrected pleasantly

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    Walking the area
    • Solo traveller

    No bus, only hitching a ride or taxi

    Walking the area

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    5.4
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tired décor and amenity. Remote from Lerwick. Unrealistically high cost for overall value.

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.9
    great views, lovely breakfast and a comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    great views, lovely breakfast and a comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    Food , dog, staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    10 min away from Lerwick by car

    Food , dog, staff

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: