Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of High Fold Guest House 4 stars

High Fold Guest House, Troutbeck, LA23 1PG, United Kingdom

#1 of 5 hotels in Troutbeck

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 56 hotel reviews

9.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    10

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable with an amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the fault of the owner. GPS instructions can lead you up a very narrow road. Check directions with owner.

    The highlight of this property is the view. It is off the main track which is its charm. Our room was three floors up with a lovely view. Only a problem if you can't manage stairs. Excellent breakfast and information regarding where to go in the area, and how to get there. We were welcomed with coffee, juice and biscuits, including a gluten free option, which we enjoyed while looking out over the property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Lovely setting in Troutbeck the views from the hotel were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, spacious and lovely owners. We would certainly stay again, highly recommended.

    Lovely setting in Troutbeck the views from the hotel were stunning, it was the perfect location for the surrounding area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Clean room with superb service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room with superb service! If you want to explore troutback area, this is the place to be. Hiking route right outside the B&B, good for both short and long stay: Local waterhole mins away, highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    it was a very pleasant couple of nights stay in a place we did not know previously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    access to the garden with somewhere to sit quietly would have been nice in the lovely sunshine. somewhere comfortable to sit indoors would be good if the weather were not so wonderful.

    good tasty breakfast. very helpful and friendly owners. pleasant room and very clean. comfortable bed. it was very nice to have a tray of tea as soon as we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely, comfy, clean. Nothing too much trouble for owners Sue and Les. Fantastic breakfast. Vegetarian and gluten free options catered for. Troutbeck has a small village shop/cafe and two pubs, Townend a national trust property which is well worth a visit and lovely walks one which takes you into Ambleside. So good booked to stay again this October.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t stay longer

    An oasis of calm in this mad world... the room was beautiful with a huge comfy four poster bed the room had amazing views. Breakfast was by far the best iv had in any hotel from the fresh fruit and yogurt to the choice from full English to individual items (I’m a veggi) the best veggi sausages. The location is perfect for walking or for driving around the Lakes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly welcome and the owners chatted to us throughout our stay always showing they were available if necessary. The rooms were beautifully decorated, each with information on nearby walks and leaflets for attractions in the lakes. Beautiful view of the mountains from our room and during breakfast also. The food was gorgeous, and having a selection of other foods available as well as cooked meals, made it all the better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    definetly in another world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing we didn't like

    Everything was just right, I cannot put more words into this as it was perfect in every way, the manager was even helpful on directions to places you may want to visit. Perfect for walkers, but also great for couple who just want to relax and visit places by car. You have to see the place for yourself

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic, Speechless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    The whole set up was great I am Gluten free, and they catered for all my needs, it was really great The BB was all great, cannot fault them in any area. Very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Stayed here for a weekend break with my partner. Great location for walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    What a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. This is a real gem in the heart of the Lake District. The room was exceptionally clean and well furnished with breath taking views. Breakfast was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. I would highly recommend High Fold.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Loved it. Would have no hesitation in booking to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to leave this little paradise and come home!

    Room was spacious, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and the huge bed was very comfortable. The view through the window from the breakfast room across the valley was amazing, as was the wide variety of birds on the feeders outside on the patio. A wide range of options for Breakfast was available, all perfectly prepared, cooked and presented.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, welcoming fantastic hosts,offering great advice, stunning views, lovely room & toiletries, yummy breakfast, attention to detail is first class. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    A wonderful experience, excellent value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Inn was spotless, shower was hot & powerful, hosts were friendly & accomodating, gorgeous setting, a beautiful walk to the nearby "Mortal Man" Inn which had a great selection of local real ales, as well as delicious food...everything was magical!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Perfect retreat in the Lake District!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely Devine place to spend a few days away in the Lake District! I'd keep it a secret, if I was selfish as it's so unspoilt and Les the host and his wife Have the perfect balance of hospitality and luxurious comfort on offer here. Our super king size bed was heavenly with quality bedding. Bath House toiletries, and a large TV with sky gave an end of day treat. The breakfast was delicious, we ate in the bay window by a roaring open fire watching the birds at the feeders. The views are stunning up to the mountains! Perfectly placed in Troutbeck, just a few minutes from Bowness in Windermere and Ambleside. We will be back!!!!! Thank you for such a lovely base for our weekend away

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    A great place to stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything.

    The owner was friendly and very helpful, he even carried the case upstairs. The room was lovely and well equipped as well as having spectacular views from the windows. The breakfast buffet offered an amazing range of fresh fruit, yoghurt and nuts as well as the usual cereals and cooked meals. All in all a great place to stay. We will be back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    A perfect break in the Lake district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room in a great location. The owners were very friendly and accommodating for vegans. Couldn't ask for more, absolutely excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great weather and fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views great breakfast great room. Hospitable and friendly hosts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our satnav took us off course. Needed to have checked written instructions

    Fruit platter at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Has to be the best Guest House I've stayed in. It was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Super clean rooms with welcoming hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super clean rooms with welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Great easter holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big and clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, immaculately clean, welcoming owners and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, immaculately clean, welcoming owners and gorgeous breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Excellent all round. Owner very helpful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location and b and b

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location & stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful location & stunning views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    We will be returning very soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful and relaxing mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Les, the owner was so warm And friendly.. his attention to detail like having torches out to borrow in the evening was really helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay, would love to return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. The room; the host; the breakfast; the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Location and bathroom was lovely, nice shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and bathroom was lovely, nice shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the choice for breakfast was vast and of a high quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely owners and very good cooked breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    A loverly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No you could not

    It was like home from home. Made very Welcome. Thanks Les and Susan

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful B & B with great views and outstnding breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We can not think of anything

    Wonderful quiet location, lovely views, great breakfast, very good shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Lovely B and B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely B and B. Breakfast exceptionally good especially the fresh fruit!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and Scenic :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Les and Susan are great and have very good attention to detail. Keen to help and clearly passionate about The Lake District. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Comfortable, great service, excellent atmosphere, super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable, great service, excellent atmosphere, super fresh/clean bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    Very very good fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic cant wait to go back. Lovely room perfect views food and hospitality excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    First class accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The healthy breakfast in front of an open fire which sets you up for the day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    A most enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    I loved the Kentmere room, the bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the Kentmere room, the bed was really comfortable. The location has an amazing view and it's peaceful and quiet. I loved the selection of fresh fruit and herbal teas at breakfast. You can see little birds feeding in front of the window in the breakfast room :)

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.6
    All the food was just right, choices and personal touches...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only way it could be improved but is obviously not possible and therefore not really applicable, would be for disabled access and residents. But, it is clear they would have to stop elsewhere.

    All the food was just right, choices and personal touches all accommodated. Room excellent and bed very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    9.2
    The location of this fantastic little B&B is simply...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a personal opinion, but I felt that the bed was too hard for me. Everything else was perfect.

    The location of this fantastic little B&B is simply beautiful. Just outside of Bowness and wonderfully peaceful. Les was a fantastic host and his breakfast was one of the best I've had.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    10
    Fresh fruit, lovely breakfast, friendly helpful staff, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little less rain.

    Fresh fruit, lovely breakfast, friendly helpful staff, great room, amazing views.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    I think is a splendid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I think is a splendid! Thank you very much

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly reception and helpful advice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly reception and helpful advice. Beautiful location away from traffic. Delicious breakfast with good choices.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    Fabulous views and a fabulous breakfast, pub within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous views and a fabulous breakfast, pub within walking distance, we will be back!

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: