Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Higher Faugan Parc

Chywoone Hill, Newlyn, Penzance, TR18 5NS, United Kingdom

#26 of 42 B&Bs and Inns in Penzance

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 85 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.5
    Relaxing but some distance from amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Long drive meant a drive or long walk to access shops etc. no food or drink outlet at venue.

    Very quiet and comfortable. Easy parking. Extremely generous continental breakfast in room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    A restful stay in a beautiful location. All facilities first rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2/4)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful location and welcoming hosts. Really good quality accommodation and excellent, self-serve healthy breakfasts. Hotel constraints for breakfast times do not apply.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    The location and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged us for the room twice. And refused one once left. Which left no spending money for the weekend. Breakfast was standard nothing exciting and not alot of choice for the price or 2 people.

    The location and grounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Great, and spasciouse. A bit restrictive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (1/3)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately a most of the grounds are private and you can’t take a walk around the garden. The little sitting area by the pond is fenced and it doesn’t feel like you are invited to use it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous place will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Beautiful comfortable room, absolutely pristine, good choice of breakfast offered. Staff we very friendly and offered lots of advice about local area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Relaxed and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (2/4)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    The property was very clean, tidy and well equipped. It was very quiet and peaceful. I personally liked how breakfast was arranged (in the room) so that you could eat when you wanted. An ample breakfast was provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    We recommend this wonderful accomodation to anyone visiting this area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (1/3)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent!! Extremely comfortable accomodation

    Room on ground floor was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast is supplied in bedroom. Definitely recommend this lovely accomodation to anyone visiting the area. The owner was extremely helpful is guiding us as to what to do and see in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    We felt that given the price charged that a 'do it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (1/3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt that given the price charged that a 'do it yourself' breakfast in your room was a 'bit of a let down.' Not sure if this was explained when booking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Like being a guest in a (wealthy!) friend's home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to access the wi-fi though it wasn't essential for one nights stay; had we contacted the owners I'm sure they would have resolved this.

    Full size toiletries in bathroom Cafetiere with fresh coffee an unexpected treat,plentiful fresh fruit and quality bakery items Lovely china,and wine glasses provided in room- Doug invited us to take our own wine to enjoy by the fish pond in the gardens

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Good quiet location with no parking worries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not expect to have breakfast in our room. A B&B this size should have a dining room and offer a cooked breakfast.

    Spacious room and lovely grounds. Good, quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in a house with a history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (1/3)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access road is a long private track very narrow and could be tricky if meeting other vehicles. Although the house has a great history having been built by renowned artists Stanhope and Elizabeth Forbes who founded the Newlyn School. Although this adds much interest to the stay perhaps the room rate is a tad high specially as the breakfast is d.i.y. continental in your room.

    Large room with kitchenette. A nice quite location and a quiet room. Privacy very much respected.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Very nice stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except wifi is not very stable.

    The room is very beautiful with very good cleanness and decoration. The view from the window is excellent and surrounding is absolutely quiet for leisure stay. The staff is very kind to introduce dinner restaurants upon our arrival and kindly help to tidy up room. Thank you ! Location is not that easy to find and mark is clear and google map can find the right way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Great for a night or two. Fab bed.Need a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (2/4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dining area in the room or communal room that wasn't a bedroom ( if there was it wasn't shown to us) so for more than a couple if nights it would have been a bit too cosy for three adults sharing a room. I guessed there might be rooms with better views too although it was a garden view. All good though, that's being picky and I'd stay again for a night or two.

    Very comfy bed, clean and just the job for a one night stopover. Nice quality help yourself breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    A better class of B&B!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2/4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was a beautiful house in fabulous grounds. The facilities in the room were first class and the owner was very welcoming. I would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay to visit Porthcurno
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (1/3)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a book for 3 persons (2 adults + 1 child) but booking.com hasn't informed the hotel and they charged 20 pounds per night for the child Price is expensive

    Excellent hotel, very quiet, very nice decoration Big room very nice bathroom Breakfast in the room with a kitchenette Great location: Near St Michael's Mount, Penzance, Mousehole, Porthcurno beach, Lands' end

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    A good choice for those who need a retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor needs to be updated (although the bathrooms have been recently done) and carpets need to be changed. It is not within easy reach of restaurants, shops and attractions if guests do not have transport.

    It is in a pretty hilltop location in Newlyn, just outside Penzance. It offers a garden setting and plenty of walking areas nearby. The room is clean and very spacious and has a sofa, writing desk and kitchenette for guests use. Continental breakfast and tea and coffee facilities are readily available but there are no public sitting rooms and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Best choice in Penzance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (2/4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short a stay to do justice to the Penzance area!

    A lovely property with beautiful view; very convenient location; a most welcoming and accommodating host who was incredibly helpful with travel arrangements.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful house immaculate in every way, and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful house immaculate in every way, and the room was clean and modern. The breakfast food provided in our room was more than adequate and was wonderfully fresh.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Hidden luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Packaged breakfast was a bit of a let down and lights to read in bed could be brighter.

    We liked being out in the country, yet close to the town but a bit tricky to find. Helpful owner who gave us an upgraded room as season at an end.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite (2/4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal service from staff Tranquility & privacy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, comfortable, luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail, historical theme, engaging and interesting host, beautiful building, peace and quiet. We will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    We booked two room both were very nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Take serious note of owners instructions regarding GPS.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What is there NoT to like. Stunning and exceptional value for A+ service, style and value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointed at the welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant staff

    Room furnishings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    No cooked breakfasts and plumbing bad but a wonderful location and good host and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (1/3)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing needs a serious upgrade

    Beautiful gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable and very well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Perfect

    Comfortable and very well appointed. Doug was very gracious and helpful about the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (2/4)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi kept going on and off.

    The staff were great. The place is awesome - very stylish. Loved the place. Good hot water. Very very clean place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant and look forward to returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could find find nothing to dislike

    Great room and breakfast and fresh fruit was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Really nice place to stay in Cornwall. Nice spot to base yourself and drive around the peninsula
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (1/3)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice property, easy car parking. Would recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Peaceful getaway with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good customer service. And nicely located close to Penzance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, beautiful grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is already provided in your room for the next day. May suit some people but didn't suit us.

    Good hotel, beautiful grounds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Very good but too much expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive ...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    PEACEFUL SETTING, OFF THE MAIN ROAD VERY CLEAN AND ROOMY AND...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (1/3)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NA

    PEACEFUL SETTING, OFF THE MAIN ROAD VERY CLEAN AND ROOMY AND QUIET

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.6
    Doug, our host was extremly helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Doug, our host was extremly helpfull. And the room we found tastfully decorated and very clean. Everything you needed was in the kitchenett. And breakfast you made yourself,when and what you wanted- everything was well provided(no possability to cook) . The grounds and surroundings well taken care of and the house was close to everthing.. a nice pub 5 min away!!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    5.8
    Poor wifi connection and no cooked breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi connection and no cooked breakfast. The bathroom was too small. The foam mattress wasn't comfortable at all, I felt back pain in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    The warm welcome when we arrived and the owner was there to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the memory mattress not being used to sleeping on one.

    The warm welcome when we arrived and the owner was there to say goodbye when we left. It was good to have the freedom to come and go as we pleased

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.2
    We arrived at the lovely building and the owner showed us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything

    We arrived at the lovely building and the owner showed us to our upgraded room ( there was some water damage in the room we originally booked) he advised us on nice places to go for food in the evening and to watch the rugby . The room was immaculate and had a lovely feel. A wonderful stay

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    The guest house is beautiful inside and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The sofa bed was slightly uncomfortable but mainly because the mattress was so thin (being a sofa bed) but the main bed was perfect

    The guest house is beautiful inside and out. Beautifully furnished and peaceful. I only stayed for two nights whilst visiting relatives but it was very quiet and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    The place so clean,probably the cleanliest accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place so clean,probably the cleanliest accommodation I've ever stay in uk. Suite room so big and got plenty of socket (including usb socket) for charging all gadgets.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    Absolutely wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing! It was that good!

    Absolutely wonderful place to stay. High class set in beautiful surroundings. You can land your helicopter there, seriously there's a helipad. Doug the owner(?) is a real gent too.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    The whole experience was great-the room was very clean, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    As an advice to Luke or Doug, I would recommend a microwave is placed Room 6- where we stayed, as routine other than for your guest to ask for it-as we did. That was the only feature lacking in the room.

    The whole experience was great-the room was very clean, very clean and updated bathroom, great location away but, not far from town. Just right. Fantastic customer service and we were made to feel welcome and respected, as individuals. Great job - Luke and Doug.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.3
    House is lovely.
    • Couple

    No option for cooked breakfast. Continental breakfast facilities in room okay, but a bit cramped and certainly not value for money at £120pn

    House is lovely. Set in nice gardens, but advised not accessible to us as residents.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    It was secluded and private-a perfect retreat for an older...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was secluded and private-a perfect retreat for an older couple after their wedding. The owner and his son were very helpful and friendly and supplied everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Very comfortable rooms and owner is very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Difficult to find but worth it.

    Very comfortable rooms and owner is very accommodating. Nice kitchenette fully stocked for breakfast in our large room.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    8.3
    The house occupies a quiet situation in pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were disappointed with some of the self-service breakfast ingredients, except for the fresh fruit. Provision for disabled guests could be improved such as grab handles in the bathroom and handrails up steps to the front entrance.

    The house occupies a quiet situation in pleasant surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.1
    The property is in a beautiful location set back off the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My pregnant wife and I wasn't allowed into the property until after 3pm even though we were only 1 hour early and had emailed via the booking site explaining we might be early, not the welcome we needed after a 6 hour drive. No cooked breakfast as you would normally receive in any B&B, food left in freezer bags and in fridge for you to make yourself. T.V wasn't tuned properly and kept losing its signal. We were left feeling stupid by the owner, apparently if you read there website it has all the answers even though we booked through bookings.com Not the service we had hoped for our anniversary

    The property is in a beautiful location set back off the main road with fantastic grounds and views. The room was clean and spacious with a bowl of fresh fruit and free WIFI. Parking was on the door step and easy to use.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    10
    My niece & I stayed just one night as we were going to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My niece & I stayed just one night as we were going to a concert at the nearby Minack. We were warmly welcomed by Geoff & delighted to find we had been ungraded. Our room was lovely-large,bright,nice view & spotlessly clean.The bed was so comfortable & the room very quiet so we slept very well.We really enjoyed the breakfast in our room at our own pace-a great alternative to a cooked breakfast (having had a little snack on our return from the gig too,I'm afraid we finished off most of it!).Although we had a short stay,the house & gardens had such a feeling of peace & tranquility, we would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    8.8
    We were upgraded upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A proper cooked breakfast would have pushed it to be excellent.

    We were upgraded upon arrival. High spec suite room.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and courteous. Room was immaculate and v comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room Gorgeous outlook Really comfortable bed Excellent cleanliness Very relaxing Friendly , privacy respected

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    Lovely location, perfect to roam around West Cornwall, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely location, perfect to roam around West Cornwall, good spacious room

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    10
    The owner was a very nice and helpful person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was a very nice and helpful person. It was a lovely place, newly fubrished and clean. I would deffinitely like to come back one day.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Breakfast service, help provided by host, room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast service, help provided by host, room

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    10
    Great location, friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location, friendly owner. The breakfast in the room was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    The house was beautifulalso the grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house was beautifulalso the grounds. The owners went out of there way to make sure you had everything you needed.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    The location and the bedroom were perfect, everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and the bedroom were perfect, everything was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    The room was beautiful everything was so clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was beautiful everything was so clean. Beautiful gardens and very quiet location. The host was ver helpfull

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    30mbit wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    30mbit wifi Great breakfast Very friendly staff Beautiful Garden

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Very clean and comfortable and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very clean and comfortable and spacious. Slightly out of town but still very accessible. Lovely views from our room.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    8.3
    The beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Luxury bed carpet room sofa chairs breakfast greeting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Luxury bed carpet room sofa chairs breakfast greeting

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.6
    All of it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was wonderful, very clean very welcoming, lovely stay.

    All of it! Will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    Quiet grounds, convenient location, parking space,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet grounds, convenient location, parking space, facilities in our room were excellent.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: