Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Highfield House Hotel 3 stars

119 Highfield Lane, Southampton, SO17 1AQ, United Kingdom

#15 of 31 hotels in Southampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2659 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    We had a great time for our weekend in Goodwood and our stay at Highfield House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough parking spaces and a fridge would be good in the room to store cold drinks

    Clean and comfortable room with excellent facilities nothing else really needed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Bed seemed ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floor tile grout was non existent , bathroom too small , not aircon , badly patched up ceiling , poor paintwork Shower was loose and not easily adjustable . Decor dated and quite frankly not worth the money

    Bed seemed ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Needs care and attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't look very clean on arrival. The reception definitely needed a good hoover. Our room looked as though it needed decorating and the bathroom was in need of care and attention. The room was on a main road and was very noisy til at least 2am.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    It was a great place to stay. Highly recommend it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The key to my hotel room didn't work a couple of times and had to be reprogrammed. It was a little inconvenient to go up and down expecting it to work.

    The service and the cleanliness were impeccable. Thank you for everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    The staff were polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot and noisy. The breakfast was just passable. The hotel was in need of a refurbish as the carpets were stained and the bath chipped.

    The staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Sraff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. It was England's heat wave so only had a fan. Shouldn't affect hotels rating though as NO Hotels there appear to have it in the price range.

    Sraff were great. Shops very close.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was convenient but other factors made it a hotel I would not stay in again, or recommend.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has no elevator and it is three floors high and no one offered to help us with our bags. Staff was more interested in the computer. "The carpets are tired and need replacing. The hotel has no air conditioning and there were no fans, so we had to keep our windows open, and being on the street side, there was noise most of the night and it was hot. The breakfast was good, but they staff could do with a refresher Food Safe course. Granted the hot food was tested to make sure it met regulations, but one of the staff was carrying out two stack of mugs using her cheek to steady them. She also put her fingers in the mugs to stack them and she was not wearing plastic gloves. Sort of negates keeping the food at a proper temperature in my mind.

    The situation of the hotel made it easy to catch a bus into Southampton

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    The staff were very unfriendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very unfriendly. The blonde lady couldn't bring herself to smile. Like guests were a bother to her. I work in the service industry and interaction with the staff will encourage me not to come back. Adjoining room was not mentioned and had to call the reception to ask my neighbours to be quieter as it was nearing 11pm and I could hear every word of their conversation. Overall disappointed. I'll pay more to go elsewhere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    These are just little nit picks really... Hotel was busy so we couldn'the park. We arrived about 11am and wanted to check in but not go in room, as we were out till late. This wasn'the allowed which meant that there was a queue to check in late in the evening, when everyone arrived back from the days event. On my previous visit to this hotel check in was allowed in the morning. Also.. it would be really nice to have a pot of tea/coffee served with breakfast rather than DIY. When paying over £100 for a night away a little bit of being spoilt is nice.

    Room was as expected. Good breakfast selection

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location for purpose of trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for purpose of trip. Breakfast not as good as previous visits, had to wait for food to be cooked on both mornings and a long wait for tea/coffee. Always seems to be a mix up with rooms when checking in but this could be booking.coms fault rather than hotel?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t check in beforehand, we have done in previous years and we were not expecting our room in advance, we were going to a all day festival and there was nearly a hour queue at midnight to check in. We witnessed someone checking in the next morning at 10am with no problems. Also the breakfast was shocking, there was nothing left at 9am and even asked they did not replenish. So I paid for beans and a sausage. Very disappointed this time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    The bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sausages at breakfast were disgusting, the staff at breakfast had the worst attitude. I paid for breakfast before we got there, and then the receptionist told me I hadn't, even though it was on the booking form? It was not worth the 9.50. I would've rather gone to Wetherspoons. Nothing stood out for us at this hotel, safe to say we won't be staying again.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    The hotel simply met our needs and no more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel appears to have many regular residents who are contractors working in the area. Things appear to be more suited to their needs than the leisure traveler. A significant downside was the strong smell of tobacco smoke in the corridors. Kitchen and waiting staff standing in the dining room discussing their private lives whilst we breakfasted wasn't exactly professional.

    The bed was comfortable and the shower efficient. Breakfast was worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Hotel side very good but breakfast was a complete let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast!!! Really let this hotel down only 2 staff on - lots of tables needed cleariyand had long wait for food to be replenished - coming out with 3 eggs at a time when lots of people was waiting. Coffee and tea machine broke

    Location and size of room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    The reception staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in dire need of total renovation and certainly a good clean. The breakfast for an extra £9.50 was shocking. Lukewarm greasy food with very little choice.

    The reception staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    i could leave a long message all i would say is i was disappointed by the older lady who dealt with
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room we had no shower head got transfer to another room but had problems switching shower off the next day when we returned could not get into room because it had not been programed for 2 days

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money, nothing fancy but served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioner so it was super hot, also there was no air circulation in the bathroom at all.

    Good value for money, nothing fancy but served its purpose.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Convenient, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast was included. Clean but found a cigarette butt on the surface top, bedside table leg broken. Noisy due to the bar below and needing widows open due to heat, thankfully wax ear plugs helped! Non the less if need be we would stay again but request a room away from the bar

    Convenient, spacious room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Godd hotel for the price and short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little tired and overall decor old looking and dark.

    Location a little noisy and no air con in room. Not hotels fault the weather was very hot though. We stayed one night so we didn't have to travel far for our cruise the following day so it met our needs at a reasonable cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Fairly good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, hot, badly vented room. Not particularly clean upon arrival, dirty bathroom.

    Fairly good breakfast. Location close to the University of Southampton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable! The Location is also good! You have loads of stores nearby and you can easily get to Southampton City Center!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location for trips to Southampton University.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfy and the room very clean. The bathroom could do with a few tweaks but is still very functional and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. This is our second stay here and would happily stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed my stay,I will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath taps didn't work,I prefer a bath to a shower.

    The breakfasts were excellent,the staff were friendly. The hotel was on a good bus route that could get you in to Southhampton in minutes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    It was nice but probably wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggled with the stairs as in parts they were quite steep, pulling luggage up and down as well as having a small child made this quite awkward.

    The breakfast at a the hotel was lovely and we enjoyed it the two mornings we were there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect stay in very comfortable friendly hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of done with a bit more room so if somebody was at dressing table nobody could walk bast had to go over bed. Also no where to park when we arrived although reception advised it would quite later & then to move car which was true.

    Room very clean & comfortable. Good location with bar underneath.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location for the student quarter, with ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Hard Bed. Cheap mattress. Noisy. Floorboards in room above very squeaky. Silverfish in the bath in the morning. Big gap under room door, so more light and noise entered the room at night than necessary

    Convenient location for the student quarter, with convenient parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Good location for university campus, excellent wifi, clean,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated look, but really who cares about that when staying for work?!

    Good location for university campus, excellent wifi, clean, 24/7 reception, iron in the room (never knew that would be important to me), excellent value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    Outdated and worn accommodation in dire need of an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is quite run down and my hotel room was a nightmare throwback to the 70’s - dated, worn and completely orange. The bathroom was extremely small and with chipped tiles. No air conditioning and more importantly no lift or elevator.

    Not much,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    NOTHING AFTER OUR EXPERIENCE (SEE BELOW)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO WATER OUT OF HOT TAP AT ALL !!! AND COLD WATER PRESSURE RUBBISH ? WE WERE MOVED TO NEW ROOM WATER PRESSURE AGAIN NOT GOOD. HAD TO HAVE SHOWER KNEELING IN BATH HOLDING SHOWER HEAD IN HAND TO GET SOME WATER OUT. WHEN MY WIFE COMPLAINED THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD TELL MAINTENANCE IN MORNING. NO APOLOGIES OR OFFER TO MOVE US THEN IN MORNING WAS IGNORED BY THE SAME RECEPTIONIST.

    NOTHING AFTER OUR EXPERIENCE (SEE BELOW)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Been staying at Highfield House regularly for the past 3...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been staying at Highfield House regularly for the past 3 years. It's gone up in price, breakfast not included and it's all just looking a little jaded and worn now. Needs a good refurbishment at the very least. Pity!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked breakfast included in price for better value for money

    Property was in a good location and all facilities needed, room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Handy location, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on the second floor, very stuffy and hot in the afternoon and evening. Mould on shower head. Hot water tap not working at all on arrival. Problem fixed after having reported it. Luck of free plug sockets, the only ones in the room were already used by hotel appliances.

    Comfy bed, lovely feel linen, free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Room and bath ok
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I are 80. The web suggested the hotel was modern but there were 7 different flights of stairs from registration to room. Short flights but almost impossible, and at check in no one offered to help with cases. I got some help on leaving but the check in was horrible .

    Room and bath ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Literally needed a room for the night and everything was as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout time was not given by staff on arrival - turned out to be 11am instead of 12pm. Very thin walls between room and corridor, could constantly hear guests coming and going from the early hours, which affected my sleep. Floorboards were a bit creaky. Bathroom tiles were cracked.

    Pleasant Staff upon arrival, very comfortable bed, ensuite bathroom, blackout curtains, location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Simply the best
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfiest bed I’ve ever slept in, I even got up at 5am and took a photo of the mattress make before departure, location is just off a busy high street, cheapest by far in all of the area, perfect for workers looking for a place to stay and I would even bring my family back if I were ever in the area, staff were fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Miły wystrój i sympatyczna obsługa.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    According to opinions on booking.com we were expecting some outstanding breakfast, unfortunately we were quite dissapointed. It was very typical english breakfast and quite poor in offer, to be honest. The price according to the offer and quality was way too high. If anybody expect the typical english breakfast won't be dissapointed. Unfortunately the breakfast offer was way below the standard shown in other hotels.

    Miły wystrój i sympatyczna obsługa. Blisko do centrum Southampton jak i na lotnisko.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was what to be expected for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could here the people in the adjoining room very clearly!! Thank goodness they did not stay up late!!

    Very comfortable. Thought it would be noisy as our room was on main road side, but did not interfere with our nights rest!! Other residents banged the doors a lot, but I think you would get that anywhere. The buffet breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location for the place I was visiting, and as I am from southamptonit was handy for getting ar
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the panel on the side of the bath, had been replaced I would have rated it higher, but water ad got into the panel and made it look bad.

    Lovely clean room, well ventilated, breakfast excellent with plenty to choose from, lovely bar next door selling good food and drinks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    decent hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the road so noisy if you have a front room. No ac. Limited parking.

    Young guy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful - one of the best I've ever encountered. Older lady wasn't so.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    Didn’t meet my expectations.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like my room , didn’t like the breakfast, didn’t like the smells in the hotel. The location is good as you have a restaurant next to it , and the food was really lovely.

    It was ok for the money paid fir the night , but efforts should be put in redoing the decor in the room the carpet smells a bit overall the room is not very clean there were marks on the chair and the table in the room. The bath had cracked and no mixer tap you can’t switch from bath to shower which most hotels have the room I stayed in didn’t have that there was a shower but you can’t switch from bath to shower it looks like is broken or something.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    Fair . Location and parking was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No opening windows and no air conditioning. Breakfast trays were empty had to ask to refill.

    No opening windows, no air conditioning Room was very warm. Expected breakfast to be included. Had to pay for breakfast separately. Felt misled by booking.com Breakfast was standard. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Great location at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flushing system in the bathroom was slightly defective.

    The staff was friendly and accommodating. They offered us a fan heater when we told them that the weather was chilly despite the summer. It is also close to the high street. A short walk away to many shops, banks and eateries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    2.5
    Not the best stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night. Mattress not good and room needed a makeover. Breakfast experience was quite poor.

    Had a nice bar and restaurant next door. Parking facilities were good. Location was fairly convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    Won’t be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allocated a room that hadn’t been cleaned from the previous guest. Dirty bed sheets still on the bed. Allocated another room on top floor. Heat rises. It was uncomfortably hot. No air con in the room. Had to open the windows which had little effect. Left windows open all night. End of University term so the noise outside went on all night. Other guests knocking on doors and shouting to each other at 4am. I have stayed here many times but feel it has all got a bit dated and grubby. Booked in for two nights. Left after one. Won’t be staying here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Not a good night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy didn't get much sleep. Avoid rooms 1-20 above the bar very noisy wth thumping music till late then noise from people in rooms above. No aircon so you can have windows open and it's too noisy to sleep or windows closed and too hot to sleep. Rooms at the back on the top floor are probably OK.

    Friendly staff. Good location. Parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff in general were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so need to carry suitcases upstairs unless a ground floor room is available. Some decoration and new furnishings needed and breakfasts not great.

    Staff in general were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Just OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much in need of updating, probably no investment in the room for very many years.

    The bed was very comfortable. Check-in was easy and efficient, reception staff very friendly. Noise insulation (from the road that the room was facing) was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Reccommended for price and location for short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room was overlooking rooftops. The bed was not comfortable. The overall appearance gave a B&B impression rather than a hotel, which needs some modernising with the decor.

    The buffet breakfast was good. Tea and coffee facilities in the room. Plenty of hot water and fresh clean towels. Good location to pubs, restaurants and supermarket.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    OK - but lack-lustre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'll list these: 1) Lack of information - I asked about a Launderette but was only offered the hotel laundry service at exorbitant cost (I didn't use it); not informed about risk of fines in car-park if car not properly logged on the hotel's computer system. 2) Domestic standards - dirty glasses in dining room (they looked hand 'washed' not machine washed & were greasy); No glasses in the bedrooms; bedroom smelled of cigarette smoke when we first entered; 3) Food - no prunes at breakfast; strange peparation of some foodstuffs (huge chunks of apples in water (all going brown) as a breakfast fruit); delays in fresh trays of cooked food to replace empty trays in breakfast bain-Marie. 4) Two staff stood out as friendly & helpful. Most however were non-communicative. When we checked out there was no 'Thank you' or enquiry about our stay or friendly comments about safe travel - the desk person was indifferent & perfunctory. 5) - Wifi unsecured & required re-registration evry time one returned to the hotel. 6)- Our ground floor room had a locked internal door to the adjacent room. The door was of a flimsy material & not sound proof. Conversations in the adjacent room were audible. On the last night the next door occupant had appalling sleep apnoea which was so loud & stetorous it sounded like it was in the same room - I haven't had a night like that since my youth-hostelling days!! We learned on arriving at Highfield House that it had changed hands since we were last there 3 years ago - we will probably stay again because of the convenience factor but it is certainly not as good now as it was under previous ownership.

    The location is good for us, near family & cafes. There is never a problem with parking. Breakfast is adequate. The rooms (I've stayed twice before & my husband's parents 50 years ago for his graduation) are OK too, especially the beds. When we asked to change rooms because access to our appointed room was up too many stairs we were given a ground floor room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Ideally located, friendly staff and comfortable. What more would you need?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a very limited number of plug sockets in the room which hinders the charging of multiple devices. In this case this was only two mobile phones.

    The dining room staff were especially attentive and communicative. Breakfast was well cooked with a constant refilling of items conducted by staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely beds, good night sleep, go else where for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was not as good as usual, and the coffee has changed, so not as good. staff were not as friendly as previously experienced. we are use to all food being available even at 9:50, but it wasn't this time. The food that was there looked rather "sad"

    comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Staying at the highfield was surprisingly enjoyable and very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike, everything was up to scratch.

    Option of a bath was noted. Location was excellent near to centre wilst pleasantly remote from city hubbub. Room was very comfortable and well equipped.the hotel did not seem to lack anything and I will have no hesitation in recommending it to others. The highfield was pleasantly unpretentious and very good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning

    It was easy to get to. Very good bus services to get us where we wanted to go. Very clean, WiFi was fast, excellent idea with the handy phone. We would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    The place it was in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great but the staff on the other hand were overly pushy . For instance me and my partner got up to get our breakfast after finding a table and our cups were taken away . The people next to us on a table were eating but placed there knife and forks down to have a drink and the staff came and started to take there plates away. The customers had to state they hadn't finished eating. The pillows on the bed were very flat . Didn't sleep well at all . Matteresss was old and extremely uncomfortable . The room was extremely hot due to heating being on . The cups in the room were filthy

    The place it was in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice staff but slightly out-dated and overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was really soft and I found that quite uncomfortable. The whole property could benefit from an update (especially carpets throughout, which didn't look very nice). There was enough variety at breakfast, but I would definitely welcome more vegetarian options (e.g. veggie sausages for English breakfast, some cheese, dairy milk alternatives for people who don't drink cow's milk - and I'm not too fussy about these things actually). I also didn't like that there were people hanging around the hotel (and sometimes at the reception), who didn't seem to be accommodated there and it didn't feel very safe. Coming from Newcastle, I'm not familiar with the prices of hotels in Southampton, but I paid £154 for a single room for 2 nights, which seems too much given the above, but since it's one of the few hotels in the area where I need to be, I might book again.

    The staff at the hotel were friendly, and the bathroom was very spacious in my single room. There was a high street with cafes and a shopping center nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff nice, managers need to organise things better, good staff, clean and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price for this is £ 89 & £ 99 room only no brekkie, £ 98 & £ 108 with, by over labelled I mean that as a "hotel"you expect more then a B&B, or at least I do, when I looked up how much they charge I was surprised, and I have to say it is not worth that. I arrived a little before 1400 and was greeted with very nice receptionist's, booked me in nice and quickly but only told me the day after I had to register my vehicle in order to avoid a fine, the walk to the room was not a maze which I liked, but there was a couple of sizeable piles of dirty sheets in the hall ( bear in mind the price ), it was cleared away within 30 mins of my arrival, but still this is not " hotel standard". I had my music on and bear in mind this is a Saturday late afternoon / early evening so its the start of the weekend, still complaints where made, the staff asked me to turn it down after 2230 which I did, the point is that it is a city hotel on the weekend and guests should understand that this is the start time of the weekend in the city, not a monastery or a convent, so if you guests really cant stand the sound of people having fun then get a darn life eh,or at least let us have ours and buy some ear plugs. Again room was small for the price the usually charge, as was the tv.

    Location was great, so close to everything you can literally park the car up and walk or taxi to everywhere, Liked the bathroom which had a shower and bath, the staff I met briefly seemed like nice people. Good parking but I think they rely on some people using public transport, if everyone had a car i think they would struggle. Over labelled as a hotel ! Use of mobile phone although I did not try it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.0
    uncomfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the top floor so not great if you have loads of bags, The room was red hot with no fan so you have to sleep with the window open, which is horrid because it is super loud outside! Also the car park was small and full of vans and wagons. - wont be staying again!

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant pre cruise overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot weather when we stayed and the fans the hotel provide were totally inadequate to cool the room.

    Hotel was in a quiet area, and it was only a short walk to a good selection of shops & amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.3
    Hell!!! And staff are very unterested in making it a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't waste your time putting in special requests they don't do them especially early arrivals!!!£137. was a complete rip off!!! Nearly double the price it is normally is, not acceptable considering it was a tiny room and kept awake all night by drunk football fans all night!!!

    Bed Comfy, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    PEACEFUL COMFORTABLE BRILLIANT THANKYOU
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    WiFi free and fast room excellent comfortable and quiet which is not bad considering the hot oils on a main road.Food is BRILLIANT £9 for all you want or can eat,conti or full English

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable! Would do it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As Americans we like our AC & miss it when not Available.

    Dian was so helpful providing fans for our rooms, ice when needed, & information about area attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    I would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very friendly and helpful male receptionist on arrival. Self service breakfast room is spacious and all the hot food was well stocked.. Restaurant staff friendly and tables cleared promptly. Free car park at front and rear. . There is a bistro next door with outside seating which apparently gives 10% discount to hotel guests. Vending machine in reception area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    we will not be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were no sockets near the bed ( i had to go to reception for a lead ), the heating was full on in the room and bathroom , on the hottest day of the year !, we moved the bed and found a packet of very strong painkillers on the floor, bedroom was small, the stairs were a real pain. all seems a bit tired and dated.

    it was ok for what we wanted - but more than two nights would be a bit much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    reception staff ok,bar staff excellent ,disappointed by door slamining by staff in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired and needed up dating . We were women in the morning by a member if staff continually allowing their store room door slam shut which was next to our room which woke us up and disturbed our sleep .

    The hotel was well situated to restaurants and bars. The hotel bar was very good and the staff excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Reception guy lied!!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy who said he’s going to come with the extra duvet but didn’t. We were waiting for long and fell asleep. Especially as I was having health issues, we had asked for it.

    The property is quite nice and calm. Quick check in and check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    It was very good and the main thing was that me and my partner slept well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear the floors creak above and it would be great if there were sachets of hot chocolate with the coffee and tea section. The TV was hard to get on with because the controller didnt make the TV do anything.

    The double bed was very comfortable and the power of the shower was great too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.2
    Poor, could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been here a few times, but is time, the people next door could be heard with really bad language through an interconnecting door. The room was acceptable, but the breakfast which we paid extra for was much poorer than previous visits. We won't go again as it needed a revamp, looking tired, and cleaners who were scruffy hanging around the reception wasn't inspiring!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Adequate accommodation, but facilities need improvement
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor The dining room was in poor condition, chairs stained and tables scratched. A lot of street noise. Room was very hot.

    The price Close to University accommodation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location and decent place to stay for a night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed a little uninterested and not talkative. Here’s your key and it’s upstairs, not much of a welcome.

    Good location and decent place to stay for a night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is basic but clean cheap and cheerful breakfast was...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing it didn’t have was a lift fine for me . But Mum can’t walk far so I would ask for ground floor next time . Apart from that can’t fault

    Hotel is basic but clean cheap and cheerful breakfast was good would stay again for price !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.3
    The worst experience from all the hotels through booking.com I have stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff let it down. The night staff was ignorant and condescending, the day staff seemed to have a similar attitude, perhaps they are not used to complaints. No caring, compassion or interest in trying to appease us or offer any form of redress. If My staff acted this way towards a customer they would be terminated

    Check the small print, we thought breakfast was included only to find on arrival that it wasn't, we tried to ask the night staff about it and were met with a very condescending and patronising attitude. At the end of a very long and tiring journey all we wanted to do was get into bed, when I said "this is getting no where, we've had a long journey, I'm tired and just want to go to the bloody room, please give me the key and let me go to bed" he threatened to cancel the booking. His attitude was atrocious. When we asked for the Managers name and details he lied about the manager's whereabouts, telling us he would be in the next day, however the manager had left for Florida! To top it off My partner had to clean pubic hairs from around the toilet bowl, and the room has a musty smell

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    Awful, would never stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dusty, the toilet was dirty and the bed was awful, we had a terrible nights sleep and couldn't wait to leave. The area surrounding want great either with rubbish on the floor and dodgy people hanging I street corners!Bed desperately needs a new mattress and the cleaners need to be shown how to clean the edges of a room and how to clean a toilet.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    It was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It got very hot in the night so i struggled to go back to sleep. There was black stains in the bottom of the bath.

    The staff was nice. The bed was comfy and couldn't hear other people in their rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    I booked at short notice and would definitely stay again when we visit family in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rather hard, the toilet in the bathroom kept blocking up and there weren't enough power points to charge phones and iPads!

    Location was good and hotel had free parking. Free WiFi was excellent throughout the hotel. Staff were friendly and breakfast was nice, although not everything was replenished.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    If the place was as good as the staff it be five star!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needs a good bit of updating but I guess the money is not there as it is a small operation. It could happen if it was part of a bigger chain of hotels. It is a pity as the people were so nice!

    The staff were all very nice. There was a room behind the reception for lugguage so I did not have to bring it up to my room on the third floor. Tommy the Scotsman would not accept a tip for carrying my suitcases.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: