Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Highfield Park 3 stars

Church Lane, Hook, RG27 0LG, United Kingdom

#6 of 10 hotels in Hook

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 320 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very amenable and the hotel had a very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Main House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room needed updating. Couldn’t get BBC on the television. If you’re a tall person you would have struggled in the room we had. Shower was very small.

    The staff were very amenable and the hotel had a very nice vibe to it. Lovely afternoon tea and a lovely relaxing conservatory to sit in.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location, very peaceful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were abit small but tidy nevertheless. Just watch out if you’re ground floor as you may hear the floorboards creaking if anyone’s upstairs.

    Amazing location, very peaceful. The grounds were lovely. Clean hotel and friendly staff. Lots of refreshment areas. Food was excellent!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Great friendly service and good as always.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Accessible Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great friendly service and good as always. Bar food good choice served until 10pm if you arrive late like I did and dinner in restaurant was excellent too. My room was comfy and parked right outside. I got married here they made the most important day of my life very special and so I return for a fix as often as I am able. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    Only at arrival I was informed that the entire place was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only at arrival I was informed that the entire place was booked out for a wedding and that the restaurant wasn't available. It was quite noisy until midnight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    But view from main house and bar was stunning
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The initial room we were given was tiny, with barely enough room to get into the bed, but alternative room was given which was better. View over empty building plot

    But view from main house and bar was stunning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Peaceful location, twin room would be better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    A shower head in the bath would help in the absence of a shower. Very small single person room, although there is space for storage. Bed was uncomfortable and on the short side for anyone over 6' tall.

    Peaceful location and good meal in the restaurant. Good value for money hotel booked last minute. The the staff are most welcoming. Good location between M3 and M4 motorways and local to Hook,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Overall, very good. I'll be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The short walk to the bedrooms....but it was a nice evening and the location is lovely.

    Fabulous location. Free coffee and fruit station. Food in the bar was good, good place to do some work on the laptop

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice place nice staff good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is the usual de Vere offering. Commercial caesar salad dressing on a halloumi salad but it was delivered with such good service that it made everything taste a bit more wholesome and interesting.

    I usually groan when I know a hotel is owned by a big company but I thought this represented amazing value for money and staff could not have been more helpful. Setting is also lovely, decor surprisingly tasteful and rooms well thought out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Very original British place with great surroundings and friendly staff. I would happily stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to not like about. Continental breakfast a bit small and it took about 10 min before I received a cup of tea for breakfast. But that was maybe due to me getting ther 15 min before breakfast closing time.

    I received an upgrade due to the room I was meant stay in having been smoked in recently. If you like proper English breakfast, then it was good. But the continental section was a bit small. The location is beautiful and very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Bad sound insulation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling and walls must be very thin / badly insulated, as I could hear the bathroom above, people STOMPING upstairs, the corridor door slamming shut.... ie, sleep was possible when the 'neighbours' went to sleep and before they got up. Pity that they seem to have saved money on sound insulation as the premises and environment are generally very good. It is a long walk carrying bags from the car park to the accomodation. The blinds didn't cut out the light, so woken at 06h00.

    Views, Park Bar meals (restaurant not available...)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location, room needed attention!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the dining room was much too bright. Bathroom ceiling was peeling, lights were going rusty round the edges and grouting was mouldy in places. Bed was pushed against the wall, so difficult to get to that side. If the desk had been rectangular instead of l-shaped, there would have been enough room to get to both sides of the bed easily!

    Lovely quiet location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Shame I couldn't stay longer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage could have been better and more lighting as the buildings/rooms are across an estate and at night its hard to see. Plus it was so hot and the room had no aircon and the windows were closed so was very warm to start with.

    It was a unique location, looked pretty, shame I was literally there only a few hours

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    we would stay at the hotel again but would not eat here
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Main House Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaraunt was a disaster this beautiful hotel deserves a lot more from the reataraunt choice, on the first evening it was buffet with absolutely no other choice than sausage, and on our second evening we chose from the bar menu which is very limited and the driest cardboard burgers i have ever tasted we thought the food was 1/10 for choice and less for quality this is a real shame as the hotel is beautiful

    The hotel and grounds are exceptionally beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unhelpful room wasn't ready at allocated time and questioned by staff while sitting with partner with in grounds having a picnic being asked "where are you from " !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm 5ft7" and my feet dangled over the end of the bed because it was so short. I was in a single room so that could be why. It was also unbelievably hot in the room. We are in the middle of a heatwave, so I expect under normal circumstances it wouldn't be an issue - I was very grateful that a fan was provided!

    Hotel was very clean, Bar food and atmosphere was lovely and the staff were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    As a last minute get away, excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Main House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When booking table sunday evening in the resturant, we should have been told it was a bar menu. but our waitress Leanne went that extra mile to ask Chef if there was specials on offer. food was great.

    Beautiful location, a real retreat in the country, staff helpfull and accommadating, large wedding going on our first night, but staff happy to move us on the sunday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, grounds beautiful
    • Family with young children
    • Main House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food well over priced, room was nr engine room...constant humming all nite, so room got hot but due to noice couldn’t open windows

    Nice location, grounds beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Convenient stay in luxury surroundings
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Accessible Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had disabled room and the shower made the whole bathroom floor wet. I get it is supposed to be a sort of wet room but not much fun brushing your teeth with a wet floor.

    Beautiful setting and quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Stunning surroundings, peaceful at the end of a tiring day, shame about the water being cold.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water in the morning and no suggestion of recompense. Rectified by the second night.

    The views and the wildlife. We watch 10 red kites circling over the harvesting in the field next door, and in the morning we were greeted by a barn owl swooping across the meadow hunting for its breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Manor House Hotel, lovely location, overall good, would benefit from detail changes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cramped and frustratingly lacking in sockets to charge devices. Whilst the bathroom was clean (shower room actually) there was nowhere to place any toiletries so I was constantly running between rooms whilst getting ready, not the end of the world but a simple shelf would make a big difference!

    Lovely setting and grounds, bar area pleasant and food was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    An excellent location, place to stay, very comfortable room, staff were very helpful, will stayagain
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could do with some upgrading.

    The room was comfortable, very good value for money, the location superb. The hotel could do with some upgrading but overall excellent considering what I paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Good but needs attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor in bathroom full of dust. Room safe broken. Electrical testing on appliances out of date. Lamp shade burned and discoloured.

    Staff pleasant. Comfortable. Good location. Price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Just OK and servers its purpose, nothing grand to experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't fully cleaned, signal on TV was poor, the rooms wasn't very sound proof and you could hear people walk and talking past with doors closed

    Whole Property was spacious and decent enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable accomodation for the price but starting to feel like a really budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    On this occasion, the room had a pungent odour which I assume was caused by a drainage issue in the bathroom. The bed was very uncomfortable and it was likely that the mattress required replacing. The room was looking a little tired and overall I felt that care and attention to detail was no longer apparent, which is a real shame.

    I've stayed here on a number of occasions, usually for 1 night at a time and it typically does the job. Staff are pleasant and friendly, bar meals are usually good and the atmosphere is quite relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding value and comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom on the small side.

    Value for money is outstanding, as is the location. Although the bathroom was small, the room was extremely comfortable; the breakfast generous; evening meal excellent; and staff very welcoming. Essential after a long journey.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel and good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be great to be able to switch off the towel rail in the bathroom. The annexe is a little way away from the main building, so winter time means it can be quite dark and wet. Smokers sometimes congregate outside the entrance to the annexe which can be off putting.

    Reception staff always friendly and helpful, room clean and comfortable. Limited Bar Menu for food on offer, but it is always very nice. Wifi is good throughout the building (including the annexe). I stay here quite regularly and haven't had a bad experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    The main house is beautiful and grounds are well kept
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and although we tried to turn the heating down the room temperature was like an oven

    The main house is beautiful and grounds are well kept

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    Typical country house hotel where money needs spending inside to match exterior promise.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor wifi in H16 H16 room very pokey (even for a single). Suggest using it as an annexe to H15. Heating very erratic, either too hot or too cold.

    Nice country house in grounds Reception and breakfast staff very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Best hotel in the area for business travel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have done with a bit of a refurb; it wasn't terribly old fashioned but could just benefit from a freshen-up.

    The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is set in some really beautiful grounds. I was very impressed by the variety and quality of the breakfast on offer - from full English, to continental meats and cheeses, to fresh fruits and cereal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.0
    Never book again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the room not being in the main building. Bad wet/mudday path/road to walk over there. Also unfriendly staff at the reception at check in as well as unfriendly AND unpolite male staff at the bar. Power plugs in the bar not suitable for larger Apple power supplies (no room to fit them). Unfriendly staff at beakfast. No tooth picks available (very strange for a restaurant). Very small room and pictures on the web were way better looking.

    The interaction with the female staff during dinner and the Shiraz/Shirah discussion

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast and beautiful surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The route from the main building to Fir Tree Court needs to be clearer and better lit - though a short distance, it's not a very clear/welcoming route on foot on a winter's night.

    I stayed in the Fir Tree Court building - it was a bit of a pain to have to walk there in the rain and dark once I'd checked in, but I was impressed when I got to my room. It was very clean, looked freshly decorated and had a very large bed. To my great delight, there was a good room service menu so I didn't have to leave my room again that evening! I was also very impressed by the breakfast served in the pretty main hotel building - there was a good choice of hot and cold food and it was good quality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    3.8
    Wont stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated hotel, rooms very small (I had the smallest shower I had seen) very noisy heating through the night, very expensive breakfast for what you get - wont be staying here again

    Ok hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    The bed was 2 singles pushed together on rollers that kept...
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Accessible Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was 2 singles pushed together on rollers that kept rolling apart during the night. Very uncomfortable! And the bath tap dropped all night which was frustrating. It was a nice stay and the room was beautiful but for the money I would of expected a little more comfort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable for the night but wouldn't want to stay there for a long period of time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had some sort of wedding or event on so they asked me to sit in a room on my own with no bar or staff and someone would be through, I was waiting about 10 minutes before someone came through. There persona was good but felt like they didn't really want to be there or serving me, which is sometimes a little bit disappointing.

    The place was perfect for the evening stay before a training day. I got there about 7.30 so I decided to ask if they have a bar to use so I could get a drink and a snack. I went and dropped my bag in the room and went to the building for a drink. Nice bathroom in the room, plug sockets near the bed would have been nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Great. Ask for quiet room.quiet area. All perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Accessible Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing fab evening.

    On arrival the staff gave us a free upgrade. The bar meal was lovely fish. The bar staff LEANNE was so friendly and Nothing was a problem for her. Overall could not ask for anything better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    I just use hotels fr quick stopovers and look for cheap clean rooms this was ok but not the best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small the heating was poor due the changing off radiators The bathroom was small smelt of damp and the shower head was broken

    The place was in a really nice area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable relaxed stay with pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cramped (single room) Room kettle lead so short that kettle needed to be placed on floor when boiling for safety - need longer leads or better plug positions As is often the case in hotel rooms the lighting is a bit dim

    Relaxed atmosphere Lunch buffets were good Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again if in the area!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was immaculate, the staff were ultra friendly and the food was amazing. Having arrived late and with work still to do they brought the food to my room at no extra cost and it was delicious. Can not fault the hotel at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Cheap but cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The teeny tiny room.

    This booking represented great value for money in terms of the per night cost - I think the best I have ever had in the UK. Also the grounds and main building were lovely, and breakfast was tasty. BUT - i have never seen such a tiny room, and I am an extensive traveller of many years standing. a Tune hotel room was spacious in comparison! There couldn't have been more tham 1.5 square metres of floor space in the room. So little in fact that I had to have my suitcase up on its end, and it had to block the small wardrobe provided. Luckily I was only using the place to sleep - you would go crazy in there if you did anything other than go to bed, get up and go out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast, friendly bar staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance road is very dark and has no clear signage as to where to go. On checking in I was not told how to find my room F12. F12 is not on any of the signs, so I was walking around trying to find my room. I was also not told where the bar was or where breakfast was going to be serves.

    Good breakfast, friendly bar staff. Looks like a great hotel and location but difficult to tell in the dark.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Frustrating due to the noisy guests
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room & bathroom. Ok for one night...but poor value for the money really. An initial complaint was to be investigated & I would be contacted. Left it 2wks, contacted the Kirsty the General Manager who sorted this to my satifaction very promptly

    Quiet apart from a few loudmouth at 2:15am on a Monday morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small but adequate. Corridor Doors tend to bang a lot in the annexe (Fir Tree Court). Difficult to regulate the heat in the room due to the towel rail not having an "off" function.

    Stay regularly here and find it convenient, comfortable and clean for a competitive price. Everything worked as it should and breakfast was good although can get very samey if you stay often. Location useful in relation to the office.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and Pleasant but small rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was compact (small) and temperature hard to regulate often they get quite warm (due to their size) and that sometimes the heating and heated towel rail cannot be adjusted appropriately.

    Had a room in the Fir Tree Court Annexe. Single Rooms measure up slightly bigger in this area compared to the main house. Generally clean and comfortable with a good WIFI connection. Breakfast very good as usual.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and Convenient, although rooms can be quite small
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms can be quite small and some feel quite cramped. Difficulty in some rooms trying to regulate temperature as some radiators / towel rails cannot be adjusted.

    Ideal location for Hook, Hartley Wintney and surrounding areas. Rooms are generally clean and comfortable and the breakfast is always very good. Staff are very friendly, polite and knowledgeable. Ample Parking on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    A reasonable stay but better nearby eg Norton Park at a similar price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no mobile phone signal on vodafone so wont stay again Car park very dark at night and route to reception poorly signposted Room Small and a bit like a studenthall of residence

    Quiet so slept well, good breakfast, attentive staff, broadband worked but a bit slow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    boring, transactional, cold staff, cold room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Accessible Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    no heating in room, no obvious thermostat. TV had audio description turned on all the time but i tried everything on google but could not turn off. could not ring reception as did phone did not work and room in a stable complex away from main reception. on arrival i got the sense from the receptionist that we weren't important - no welcoming smile, all very transactional not engaging. yet they gave lots of attention to previous wedding couple - forgive me but i'm a paying customer too.

    parkland setting a first glance looks nice, room was clean as much as a travelodge so ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Very clean and acceptable for 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Poor TV quality. No lounge/central lounge for people in 'F' accommodation.

    Quiet seclusion, parking not convenient. Didn't use catering facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    location was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Accessible Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the moment as the roads are closed, it was difficult to find the hotel. Our room was in an annexe away from main building and was very small.

    location was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location and comfortable, but attention to detail could be improved.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV didn't work in the room, although I didn't report this until the following morning as I had my own portable DVD player with me. Additionally, there was no information relating to room service in the room.

    This is my second stay at Highfield Park and generally everything was okay. My room was a single room in the main house (I previously stayed in the Annexe). Small room but perfectly adequate with a comfortable bed. Shower worked well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Adequate but could do better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eggs for 1st day breakfast despite waiting 15 mins after request to replenish the tray. Burnt breakfast bacon every day. Tiny room. Shower over bath with no flat area to stand - an accident prone way to provide bath & shower facilities in tiny bathrooms.

    Generally helpful staff, curry lunch on last day of 3 night stay. Quiet country house setting far from urban areas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall nice place to stay. Nice, helpful staff. Reasonably priced. Comfortable bed and good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found that the duvet was too thick, even though I opened the window. The walls were a bit thin and could hear other guests returning to their rooms.

    The staff were very helpful when I arrived. As I was leaving the hotel early before service started the following morning, they organised a continental breakfast. As I was having some cereal the chef did walk through and kindly asked if I would like something cooked. The shower was really good. I ate in the bar and service was prompt and the food tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Stayed with 15 year old daughter as it was convenient for where we needed to be next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I have stayed at this property before. However, since last time it is under new ownership/management and so a refurbishment has taken place. Rooms excellent. In the past we were put into the annex outside but this time was surprised to find we were in the main hotel which was a bonus. This is an historic property but with modern interiors. "Free coffee" machine. Did not have time for breakfast but free fruit was available. Lovely, helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall very comfortable, WiFi needs some attention
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in the room was looking a little tired and in need of TLC. The WiFi in the Annexe was variable at best and often non-existent, although much better in the main hotel. The room was also quite small but didn't spoil my overall enjoyment.

    Good Location, efficient / friendly check in experience and comfortable bed. The Breakfast was very good and the grounds are lovely to walk around if you have time. The setting is quiet and peaceful. Would definitely book to stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    2.9
    if you were 2ft tall the room would have been ideal food is shocking and choice even worse
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all of it to be honest

    food was uneadable rooms are tiny manager was arragant drink was over priced staff were lime trainees absolute nightmare of a place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    great little stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea in room but brought over when requested

    Stunning farm surroundings with a little chirch and long drive. Room was small but adequate for an overnighter. Breakfast was very good. Reception colleague was really cheery & helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant location with Countryside Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too large for the room .... or room too small for the bed! No bedside table on one side of the bed. Wi-fi in the room was adequate but not very fast. No croissants for breakfast and the fried eggs were overdone, but otherwise a reasonable choice of fayre available.

    Comfy bed. Countryside environment. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Comfortable Single room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one glitch. After a long tiring and wet muddy day i was looking forward to relaxing stay in my nice clean room on the second day, only to find the hadn't been serviced even though i had left a sign on the door that said "Please Service my Room". Apart from this misunderstanding everything was fantastic.

    All in all very good. Stayed in a single room which was an excellent size for one person and very comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Great peacefull place to stay. Will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a lovely place to stay, the room was excellent, very clean. The staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast was great, a large choice, clean and freshly prepared.The grounds were immaculate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower did not work due to broken mechanism so could not shower and receptionist did not even comment when I told her, no apology no nothing, very unprofessional a let down to other helpful friendly staff and a lovely hotel.

    Everything except broken shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Room was clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV had a weird audio description on, which was a bit annoying at first. Plug in bath didn't work

    Room was clean and tidy. Staff very nice at the front desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.4
    Not a great experience!! Book with caution!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to a wedding on 3 of 3 nights staying here we were unable to use the bar or restaurant. We were shown to what looked like a small library and told drinks / food could be brought to us there! Simply not acceptable.... when paying for a hotel you expect access to all of the facilities, not just a small room with 6 seats and 2 coffee tables!!! Also charged £14.95 for breakfast when it's advertised as £12.00!! AVOID!!

    Hotel itself was nice, grounds and location very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Quiet, comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent and a good selection of choices. Beds were very comfortable and the bed linen was beautifully white with a luxurious feel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    The choice of TV channels in the room is poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The choice of TV channels in the room is poor. Probably about 10 channels and then these were duplicated but with either subtitles or AD. In this day and age, with Freeview being available you'd expect this to be better. Free WiFi requires logging in, again, after approx 1hr.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Great location and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps having a room in a different building but it wasn't a major issue.

    Breakfast was excellent, as were the staff. The hotel is in an excellent location and easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    Marred by miserable staff, serving a miserable cold breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom cramped Room very warm Management were rude and uninterested (after 3 keys failed to unlock our room) Breakfast overpriced, poorly organised, low quality and cold. Also served by miserable staff.

    Bed comfy, grounds well maintained and main house very pleasant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful place Staff brilliant some issues but overall I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some aspects of the room/furniture looked tired. It was generally clean but possibly not been used for a time as the room was quite dusty and mirrors and windows marked.

    Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Amazing grounds and great location for our trip

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place for an overnight stop or longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were soft but not 'squidgable' as they were polyester filled so didn't have very good night's sleep despite the bed being really comfy. Was a wedding on so we had to use a side room for food and bar. Knew this before we went but it meant we didn't really experience the whole hotel. But maybe that is why the room price was so good!? Would be good if there were sockets near the bedside tables so you can charge a phone and still see it overnight if you need to. Only one set of sockets above table area near window which meant you had to get out of bed to access phone if needed.

    Bed was spacious and really comfy (two singles together). Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely grounds and great views from the main building. Food was very nice if a little pricy for what it was. Was a wedding on and we were in the outside lodge section and weren't disturbed at all. Still plenty of parking despite the wedding. Sweets on reception were very nice! Large, clean bathroom and lovely absorbent towels. Nice toiletries.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.7
    Lovely grounds , basic accommodation.
    • Couple
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs a bit of tlc, carpet on steps into bathroom dirty, walls scuffed, ceiling stained. Ironing board on wall could do with replacing or just covering up to Make it look tidier. Room pretty small.

    Parking was good, bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.8
    Nice for an event venue, average for an overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was very small and needed refurbishment. Everything looked scuffed and a bit shabby (paint on window frames flaking, shower edging was brown and coming away, stain on the blind, table legs wobbly). It wasn't dirty but not very enjoyable.

    I liked the location (great view), functions rooms, garden, bar, coffee facility, lunch and dinner food, free wifi, nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    This hotel is the perfect place to stay for a lovely relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised that guests for a 2pm wedding could not automatically check in early. We had to work hard at that one. Other than that no complaints.

    I loved the location. Beautiful countryside. Breakfast, well plenty of everything.Delicious. A perfect setting for the wedding we attended. Staff couldn't have been more helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely country house hotel in an excellent location for the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really to dislike, although be aware that it is prudent to park near reception for check in, as you may be accommodated in a separate block beside the main car park. I took my baggage to reception, and then retraced my steps, passing my car en route, to where my room was.

    Lovely country house hotel in an excellent location for the M3/Hook. Good buffet breakfast. Room of a good size for a single, and was well appointed and very clean. Most of the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Main house single
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 20 Far to smal even for a single room. No drawers. Very. Very poor wifi. Bar credit card machine never works. Very embarrassing for customers and your staff.Your basics need sorting out.

    Hotel very nice. Countryside locacation great views. Nice Staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Clean Comfortable Convenient
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think a homely small dining and sitting area could be provided for those wanting to eat when a function or wedding is on rather than the library

    Bed was comfortable Room Clean and Tidy Staff were so helpful - As travelling alone everything was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    2.9
    Very dissapointed, rooms very tired and staff not very accomodating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was initially put in a room that wasn't made up and was filthy. I waited 20 minutes and was moved to another room which was tiny. It was also was very noisy with a water tank constantly filling and general noise from door banging outside the room which kept me awake most of the night.

    Not a good experience

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Modern room with comfy good sized bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fir Tree Court Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small although bed of good size for a single room - more like a double bed size

    Modern fixtures/fittings. Good sized bed for single room.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: