Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Highfield Hotel

101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton le Spring, DH5 9QT, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Houghton le Spring

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1094 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Good hotel, good trip and convenient bus service into Durham to attend the Miners Gala
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found nomfaults

    The hotel and the staff were excellent, definitely return there, well placed geographically, bus stops outside to travel to Durham or Sunderland. The room was spacious and comfortable, service was excellent. We dined in the Thai restaurant and had bar meals as well. Pricing was good, service was good. All of our party were very pleased and satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Would use again and recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Directions to the hotel need to stress that you go to the B1284 Rainton Meadows Arena turn off and approach from there,it's only a few minutes extra journey .The sat nav,and the road signs from the south said turn off the busy dual carriage way and turn right.There is a very short run to turn off in and it is approached a bit suddenly which is o k if you are familiar with the area other wise it would be safer to carry on to the next junction.

    On main frequent bus route between Sunderland and Durham and easy to get to A 1 . Great Thai restaurant ,breakfast good and all staff helpful and friendly. Will use again if visiting area if I could get a room as it is very busy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay good clean value for money hotel will be booking for next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was noisy due to traffic and it was too warm to shut the window Air con would have bee n wonderful

    Very clean rooms excellent bar and restaurant areas good bus link to Durham. Friedly staff and locals in the bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Didn't fail to meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and freshly decorated room and landings but done by family or staff i assume because the standard of finish was very poor in places.I am a decorater so notice these things.Bar area probably needs a bit of renovating.

    Room spacious ,good bed,excellent ,clean shower room. Location of hotel made it a good base for all the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for a weekend 'getaway'.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needed more attention to detail (there was no waste paper bin in the bathroom, plus the toilet roll wasn't replenished when the room was serviced).

    Good location, friendly staff and clean room. Handy for Durham, 7mins to Belmont park and ride. This was my 2nd visit, and it won't be my last.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice spacious room, king size bed, excellent Thai food restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower door didn't stay where it should have, never the less it kept the water in the bath which was it's main purpose.

    We only stayed for one night but what a night, it was the England match. The locals were very friendly as we joined them in the bar to watch the match. Must say we enjoyed the Thai meal very much from the attached restaurant, they brought it through to the bar area for us, 10/10 for that. The room very spacious and contained all the usual things you would need and included the bonus of a balcony. The bed was a super king size (if there's such a thing) it was huge and comfy too. Cooked breakfast served was great, all in all an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    It was only one night would of liked to stay longer although alone the staff in bar made me very wel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything else I needed the taps made a strange noise and if more room for cars to park at side of hotel the view would of been lovely but no problems really

    It was very comfortable nice to have tea and coffee in broom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    We stayed for 3 night's from 02/07/18 ,staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 night's from 02/07/18 ,staff were very pleasant and more than helpful .Hotel was clean and comfortable ,food very good. Ideally situated for Durham, Beamish and many local attractions would definitely stay here again. Many thanks for making our stay most pleasant .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Felt at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv did not work but the owner did his level best to get it repaired.

    Felt at home. Everyone served with a smile and nothing was refused or impossible. No timings for breakfast and the produce used was fresh and good quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Value for money, clean and friendly with all you need for a night or two.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. There is no reason to dislike anything here. Maybe road is a bit noisy but it's an 'A' road so it's expected.

    Staff (Marcus, I think, was running the show with a genuine smile and chat. Perfect hotelier) , pleasant room, good shower, clean, breakfast, Thai meal, view was superb. Approx 20 mins by bus to Durham centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy bathroom fan and a door that did not shut properly. The extra cold Guinness in the pub was not good quality.

    The staff were very friendly. I tend to sleep appallingly badly in hotels for the first few nights even the really expensive ones...in this one I slept very well. Not entirely sure why but that’s good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    A hotel offering good food, comfortable accomodation and in a convenient position for travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neighbouring rooms seemed to have doors which slammed shut from 5.30 in the morning. We appreciate that these are fire doors but it disturbed our sleep.

    We enjoyed the atmosphere of this hotel, especially the pub it was attached to. The room was spacious and well furnished, and the double glazing ensured that street noise was minimalized.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Arrived late welcomed by staff very pleased with everything
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed over night but there wasn’t anything I didn’t like

    Room 14 was excellent beds were very comfortable stayed with my mon and my daughter there were two rooms with a very large bed in one room and two single beds in the other breakfast was a good qualuty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Brief. I got there at 01:45am (should’ve been around midnight) and left early (08:00am).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t find you! My satnav stopped short of where you are. I drove round for ages trying to get to you.

    The room was big and spacious. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    The staff are friendly.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was warm, but no air conditioning and no fan is provided. But there is a compressor, which is extremely loud when operated by neighboring room, near the window. The ventilation in the toilet is extremely loud.

    The staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Too brief but well worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a deluxe double room the facilities were basic. There was no wardrobe but a unit that was not large enough to hang my suite. No where to place case, no drawers or hairdryer and no shelf in the shower for shampoo to stand.

    Friendliness of staff, cleanliness of room and bar had a good choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next too a busy road and very noisy. Guests were very noisy and no sound proofing. Shower over bath but shower screen did not stop water going over floor and bath very slippery without a safety mat as none supplied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable, great food, friendly staff, and well-located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am personally not a big fan of sachets for shampoo and shower gel - they are fiddly to open if your hands are wet. (It's trivial, I know, but there was really very little else to fault).

    The Thai restaurant was very good for dinner, but I'd also recommend the bar food (we had lunch there one day too) - even the sandwiches came with a large side order of chips, becoming a substantial meal. Hotel is also well located to get to Durham - the Belmont Park & Ride car park is a five-minute drive away - and to Sunderland and other places. We went to Seaham for a couple of hours - it's a short (10-15 mins) drive to the beach there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to hang your towels in the bathroom!

    The family room was amazing with a small kitchen and separate room area for the children, brilliant. Breakfast was good with a good selection of most things.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    we enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the shower was new it didn't have anywhere to put shampoo etc when in the shower. The room was large enough to have TWO chairs

    The room was large and quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Bed was very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room reservation was mixed up and ended up with a lesser room than what we booked. Staff were apologetic and more than happy to refund the difference though.

    Bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in Newcastle
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for my parents. Only thing they didn't like was the noise level from traffic.

    Hotel lovely and clean. Staff very obliging and welcoming. Lovely meal in Thai restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    great for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed was not comfortable son not a great sleep Shower was hard to control speed and temperature Would be great to have room service for breakfast

    The rooms were clean water for bath was hot. Food good in restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Very confortable and well decorated rooms with the added bonus of an excellent Thai restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking we were told we could check in from 2pm, however, when we arrived at 3pm, the rooms weren't ready and we had to wait another 20 minutes. Not enough milk in the rooms, only 4 small sachets, having said that, when we ate in the restaurant, we asked for more milk and we were given plenty. Apart from that, no issues.

    Size of the room, bathroom and bed was perfect and very comfortable. The whole place was very clean and very well decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a long time to check in as desk was not manned after ringing bell took a very long time for somebody to answer. Meal in hotel was okay they had sols out of a few bits on menu. I was served mouldy cheesecake which was replaced. The walls were very thin so heard next doors argument and the tv. Check out nobody answered bell again so ended up just leaving our card on reception .

    Room was large and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to where the family lived. Close to Durham where we spent a lovely day. Walked to Rainton nature reserve to get some exercise and lovely easy walk. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Good choice for breakfast. Celebrated family members birthday with a meal in the Thai restaurant in the hotel. Had a family room for 4 adults and everything you needed was there including a kitchen,fridge and microwave. We all had a marvellous time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for my needs, location and price for one night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time very limited, finished at 8.45am. Curtains at bedroom window were very thin and I was at front of hotel which was very light. Generally dated feel around the hotel but bedroom was OK.

    I loved the Thai food and been able to take as room service. Also very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok for the price but headache from paint fumes unfortunate ... at least they’re doing it up!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv only worked on BBC , internet very variable but main problem was smell of paint in room lack of hangers / waste bin drinking glass Breakfast skinny.

    Good bed friendly staff Option for real milk good idea instead of those awful little pots

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    We love the hotel and will always stay there every time..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like everything was great.

    It's easy to find, love the hotel and the staff are lovely they are always smiling and very helpful. We always stay at Highfield's. Very happy bunnies

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place - recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to main road, but excellent sound-proofing, so would not disturb sleep unless you wanted to have an open window.

    Clean, modern and very well run. Food from co-located Thai restaurant excellent and very good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent food, drinks and hospitality at a very affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent - thank you

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Lovely Thai restaurant on site. large room with great shower. Breakfast freshly cooked to order. Amazing value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    We enjoyed our stay but the limited facilities and the disruptive nights put us off going again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception wasn't manned most of the time we passed. The facilities were a little basic. The restaurant and pub was pleasant enough, but we felt the breakfast options and main day time menus were a little restrictive. We personally don't need our room tidied every day, so a "do not disturb" option would have been nice. As visitors to the area, there was very little information about the area for tourists. And it's our belief that the Thai restaurant staff possibly live in the hotel because our neighbours were very loud and speaking Thai until 3-4am every morning...!

    The bed was comfortable and the staff were polite and friendly. The room was cleaned daily, although there wasn't an option for "do not disturb" anyway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Extremely clean and tidy, you can tell pride is taken by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely clean and tidy, you can tell pride is taken by staff to ensure this. Very friendly and punctual staff, we had a room upgraded on arrival. A very good quality and choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Rooms were fresh and clean and the beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located overlooking the highway which wasn't ideal, but fine for our one night stay.

    Rooms were fresh and clean and the beds were comfortable. Easy to get a family room that suited our needs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Very welcoming and would definitely stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few breakfast items ran out but were filled up eventually but that’s just me being really picky.

    Everyone was so friendly and the view from the room was stunning. The bar was also very welcoming and even though there seemed to be regulars in the bar, they didn’t make you feel awkward or unwanted at all. The food was also tasty too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    My wife and I enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It was a no frills hotel but was very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a disabled parking space to be available. Also the toilet cistern dribbled and made a tinkling water running noise in the quiet of the night. There was a distinct lack of places to put things in the bath room.

    The Bar and Restaurant were both very good especially the way breakfast was ordered by paper slips. This ensured your choice was correct. I also liked the lift to the upper accommodation floors. It quite near to the park and ride scheme for Durham. Well worth a visit to the Cathedral. Have a drive to spend the day at Beamish open air museum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and welcoming and within easy reach of many exciting tourist experiences
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything

    We have now stayed at the Highfield Hotel 3 times. The staff are very welcoming, professional and courteous, rooms are very comfortable. We love the family atmosphere and that we are recognised by all the staff. An added bonus is the award winning Taste of Siam restaurant within the hotel. Another great stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    everything was good but we did not know it was on a main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tinned tomatoes

    everything was good but we did not know it was on a main road but the thai food made up for that,,the breakfast was poor ,,I dont expect tinned tomatoes..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and already booked another stay
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Twin bedded. One matress soft and found unconfortable and did'nt get the best sleep. Return journey of 2,5 hours would have been easier with a good nights sleep.

    Room facilities, bar and breakfast excelent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Good apart from the lack of sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    20 group scouse dance troop as quests - I appreciate the hotel is cannot "vet" the guests before booking but this party was only one level above pond life - their conduct & noise they generated from 6am was disgusting.

    Service & food excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Overnight stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything as expected although felt breakfast organisation was a little strange especially since nobody explained the process. Lift was a bit faulty towers like in operation but caused us amusement rather than annoyance.

    Check in easy, breakfast hot, room warm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    We have stayed at The Highfield at least 6 times time now...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed at The Highfield at least 6 times time now when visiting the Beamish Museum. The management and staff greet us as old friends. The Star of Siam Thai restaurant is absolutely fabulous and we like the atmosphere and the food served in the pub. We would not consider anywhere else when staying in this area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Pleasent staff ,breakfast lovely just road noise was a problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sockets too low, had to plug kettle and boil on the floor. Bit noisey not very good double glazing so traffic noise was an issue.

    Ample food for breakfast and staff very obliging. Sheets and towels clean and welcome package ie .tea coffee and soap,shampoo were nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location for our trip, staff were very friendly and...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing as it was warmed up and restricted to 5 items Bedroom doors could do with a slow close as I was woken with a start early hours by a door slamming next door

    Great location for our trip, staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean with all the essentials you would need - hairdryer, toiletries etc ..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    As expected, no real issues.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of bulbs out in the room - sorted by staff. Wi-Fi was a little temperamental.

    Thai restaurant v good. Nice pint(s) of Motörhead ale as a bonus. Staff gave me a room away from the dual carriageway which is, obviously, busy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Convenient for purpose of stay
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not spend much time in hotel so no bad comments

    Only stopped for 1 night due to funeral nearby, restaurant and bar was excellent, great service and plenty of choice on the menu

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    A really wonderful experience had to stay an extra night due to bad weather the staff were extremely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed too firm for me but my husband was perfectly happy did miss having a clock in the room

    Everything staff food and very reasonably priced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Really nice and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good, room was a fair walk away, didn’t know if there was any room service options

    Comfy bed, room got a bit warm at night, but not a bad thing especially because it was snowing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and we will visit again if we’re in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All great.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and large room. Good bar and restaurant and very convenient for the show we were attending and tha A1(M).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast tea was weak apart from that no complaints

    Room was large and bed was comfortable. Staff were very helpful. The bar had a good choice of drinks very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    First class great food great service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nil

    The food was totally amazing £9.95 for a 2 course you could not get a takeaway for that. The service was first class especially the young man behind the bar. I even had a bit of banter with the other guests at the bar about James Bond movies which sums up how friendly the place was

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    Don't think we will be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could everything inside and outside the hotel. Very noisy as out right next to the main road

    Room was right on the main road. Very noisy and no view at all

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Safe, friendly hotel in which to stay during snow blizzards.
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A luggage trolley would have been useful as I travelled with elderly parents and had to manage a lot of bags.

    Fabulous staff during unusually inclement weather

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    as allways we enjoyed it and will be back sometime in the future if god spares us many thanks
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed I found comfortable but there was ciggy burn on the cover the room was cold the fan heater that was there did not work and the expelair fan in the toilet rattled all the time even after the light was off no glasses for teeth brushing but other that we had a good stay

    we have been there before and found the staff very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    Could be great, but for the penny pinching.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet could've done with a hoover. Felt gritty underfoot. Bit mean on the biscuits - management policy only to get a biccie in the room on the first day, no matter how long one is staying. Very petty. Only had soap on arrival. Shampoo & Shower gel arrived day 2 & 3 after I'd already bought some. Could be a great place to stay, but for the penny pinching on those special touches.

    Good location & good restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    I was in Durham for one day and stayed in this hotel, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    I was in Durham for one day and stayed in this hotel, very clean and warm and had a balcony in the room. Location was good, close to highway so traffic was convenient. Staff are very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Excellent :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner was not a huge fan of the breakfast and the lack of it and for £6 a person it’s not really worth it.

    We weren’t expecting much of this hotel to be honest because it was so cheap! We thought we’ll just stay there the night before a friends wedding, the location was ideal and the rooms were comfortable and clean! We also had a meal at the Thai restaurant which was amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location for the area & the Thai restaurant is an added bonus (ordinary bar meals in the coma
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather hot room & next year - we WILL stay there again - we will ask for a room at the rear away from the noisey road (once we opened the window).

    Straight off the main road, an unexpected Thai oasis inside with huge bar area (plenty of comfy seats/ bar meals), equally massive Thai restaurant beside, & another large comfy room next to that for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    Cleanliness lacked, found hairs in bedding and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness lacked, found hairs in bedding and bathroom. Mould on the bathroom ceiling and a large damp stain on the ceiling above the bed. Bedding had cigarette burns on it as well as off white stains.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.6
    The room and facilities was absolutely fine but let down by its cleanliness and poor dinner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't the cleanest. I stayed on a Tuesday and had to return on a Thursday, I actually got booked into the same room on Thursday and found some of my rubbish from the Tuesday night! The Thai restaurant downstairs was very busy but I decided to have a stake from the bar, it smelt odd; either bad meat or unclean grill.

    the room was adequate and there was plenty of parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Have stayed previously, hotel excellent. Breakfast first class, Can’t fault anything, also ate and drank... in the bar, again no complaints, food was very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Very acceptable for a couple of nights.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Following my first night there was no replacement coffee tea or milk provided. The bathroom was functional but could do with refurbishment.

    The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the location was excellent. Good atmosphere in the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Had to use a tea cup for water no tumbler in bathroom apart...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to use a tea cup for water no tumbler in bathroom apart from this everything was okay. On one morning it had been snowing there was no one on hand to put down grit or salt so that the people with cars had a big problem trying to negotiate the hill on leaving the car park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ambient room temperature a little uncomfortable even with no heating and window open

    Excellent evening Thai meal. Excellent breakfast individually served to order and well cooked

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good clean and spacious base for my business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking spaces a little narrow especially if you had to park next to a van !

    Very clean spacious and comfortable accommodation. Modern aspect and well laid out room. Good base for my business trip staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bell not working on arrival, having to go find someone to be able to check in, then them not knowing how to print off the booking in sheet

    The food in the bar was lovely, the room was lovely and warm on arrival

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Amazing stay will definitely be back. Food perfect and loved breakfast in bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass of wine was £5.60 so opted for the bottle instead.

    Stayed in bridal suite, very good value for money 6ft4 hubby fit comfortably in the bath, tea and coffee in rooms, breakfast was served in our bedroom, the pub menu is small but food was lovely and beautifully presented on the plate, excellent value for money too. Lager was cheap, nothing was too much to ask.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.9
    The pub area was quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room I had was ready for renovation. Nothing really wrong with it, just old and tired looking.

    The pub area was quite good. The hotel represented reasonable value for the price paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Okay for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boxes lying around public areas A little run down Strange system at breakfast quite a wait and had to fill a form in at the actual table with room number on staff didn't know where you were sat which resulted in room numbers being shouted across dining room Why couldn't there be a number on the actual table?

    Pleasant staff nice quiet room away from the road Lovely big fluffy towels Large comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant place for a relaxed comfortable stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly and caring staff and a lovely relaxed atmosphere along with a beautifully clean and comfortable room. Lovely bar food and I enjoyed the guest beer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    good clean hotel with good staff and fair priced good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am a light sleeper and noise from the road can be heard through the night when any noisy car or truck goes by

    good clean hotel with good staff and fair priced good quality evening meals I would have scored this hotel higher if it was not for the noise from the main road

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    It was OK and for the price the facilities were fair.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cereal options were not great. I just had scrambled eggs on toast which was alright.

    It was OK and for the price the facilities were fair. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the sewer in the bathroom and the breakfast was poor value for money tea and coffee were like warm water

    The room was ok and it was easy to get to

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Overall excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast choices are good but the hot items you can choose 5 were a little on the cold side like they have been sat under a hot plate lamp! Would be better if they were piping hot It would not put me off staying again but just a point

    Overall great place to stay for my business related visit. Very clean and comfortable rooms the showers are really powerful great wake up in a morning! Staff very polite and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Can’t wait to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    This place is a little gem, it really doesn’t look too much but when you get inside it’s something all together different, the bar is big pub full of atmosphere where you can always find a friend. Then there is the best Thai restaurant you’ll ever want to eat in, it’s fantastic, the staff are friendly the rooms tired but comfy and we will come back every time! The view is to die for!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: